Search billions of records on

Listing of Virginia Counties


County Year of Formation County Seat Parent County
Accomack 1663 Accomack Northampton
Albemarle 1744 Charlottesville Goochland, Louisa
Alleghany 1822 Covington Bath, Botetourt, Monroe (W. Va.)
Amelia 1734 Amelia Brunswick, Prince George
Amherst 1761 Amherst Albemarle
Appomattox 1845 Appomattox Buckingham, Prince Edward, Charlotte, Campbell
Arlington 1801 Arlington DC, Fairfax - Alexandria Co., until 1920
Augusta 1738 Staunton Orange
Bath 1790 Warm Springs Augusta, Botetourt & Greenbrier (now W.V.)
Bedford 1753 Bedford Albemarle, Lunenburg
Bland 1861 Bland Giles, Tazewell, Wythe
Botetourt 1769 Fincastle Augusta
Brunswick 1720 Lawrenceville Prince George, Isle of Wight, Surry
Buchanan 1858 Grundy Tazewell, Russell
Buckingham 1761 Buckingham Albemarle
Campbell 1781 Rustburg Bedford
Caroline 1728 Bowling Green Essex, King and Queen, King William
Carroll 1842 Hillsville Grayson
Charles City 1634 Charles City -
Charlotte 1764 Charlotte Lunenburg
Chesterfield 1749 Chesterfield Courthouse Henrico
City of Alexandria - Independent City -
Clarke 1836 Berryville Frederick
Craig 1851 New Castle Botetourt, Montgomery, Roanoke, Giles, Monroe, Allegheny
Culpeper 1748 Culpeper Orange
Cumberland 1749 Cumberland Goochland
Dickenson 1880 Clintwood Buchanan, Russell, Wise
Dinwiddie 1752 Dinwiddie Prince George
Elizabeth City 1634 Hampton -
Essex 1692 Tappahannock -
Fairfax 1742 City of Fairfax Prince William
Fauquier 1759 Warrenton Prince William
Floyd 1831 Floyd Montgomery
Fluvanna 1777 Palmyra Albemarle
Franklin 1785 Rocky Mount Bedford, Henry, Patrick
Frederick 1738 Winchester Orange, Augusta
Fredericksburg (City) 1721 Independent City Essex, King William, King and Queen
Giles 1806 Pearisburg Montgomery, Tazewell, Wythe, and Monroe (now W.V.)
Gloucester 1651 Gloucester York
Goochland 1727 Goochland Henrico
Grayson 1793 Independence Wythe
Greene 1838 Stanardsville Orange
Greensville 1780 Emporia Brunswick, Sussex
Halifax 1752 Halifax Lunenburg
Hanover 1720 Hanover New Kent
Henrico 1634 Richmond -
Henry 1777 Martinsville Pittsylvania
Highland 1847 Monterey Bath (VA), Pendleton (now W.V.)
Isle of Wight 1634 Isle of Wight Warrosquyoake County from 1634-1637
James City 1634 Williamsburg  See New Kent County
King and Queen 1691 King and Queen New Kent
King George 1721 King George Richmond, Westmoreland
King William 1702 King William King and Queen
Lancaster 1651 Lancaster York, Northumberland
Lee 1793 Jonesville Russell
Loudoun 1757 Leesburg Fairfax
Louisa 1742 Louisa Hanover
Lunenburg 1746 Lunenburg Courthouse Brunswick
Madison 1793 Madison Culpeper
Martinsville (City) 1873 Independent City Henry
Mathews 1791 Mathews Gloucester
Mecklenburg 1765 Boydton Lunenburg
Middlesex 1673 Saluda Lancaster
Montgomery 1777 Christiansburg Fincastle (abolished county formed from Botetourt)
Nansemond . Now City of Suffolk -
Nelson 1808 Lovingston Amherst
New Kent 1654 New Kent York, James City
Norfolk 1691 Originally Portsmouth Lower Norfolk County (Now City of Chesapeake)
Northampton 1634 Eastville  Original name, Accawmack
Northumberland 1645 Heathsville Chickacoan District
Nottoway 1789 Nottaway Amelia
Orange 1734 Orange Spotsylvania
Page 1831 Luray Rockingham, Shenandoah
Patrick 1790 Stuart Henry
City of Petersburg 1850 Independent City Dinwiddie, Pr. George, Chesterfield
Pittsylvania 1766 Chatham Halifax
City of Poquoson 1952 Independent City York
Powhatan 1777 Powhatan Cumberland
Prince Edward 1753 Farmville Amelia
Prince George 1703 Prince George Charles City
Prince William 1730 Manassas King George, Stafford
Princess Anne 1691  - Now City of Virginia Beach
Pulaski 1839 Pulaski Montgomery, Wythe
Rappahannock 1833 Washington Culpeper
Richmond 1692 Warsaw Old Rappahannock
Roanoke 1838 Salem Botetourt
Roanoke (City) 1874 Independent City Roanoke
Rockbridge 1778 Lexington Augusta, Botetourt
Rockingham 1778 Harrisonburg Augusta
Russell 1786 Lebanon Washington
Salem (City) 1836 Independent City Roanoke
Scott 1814 Gate City Lee, Russell, Washington
Shenandoah 1772 Woodstock (called Dunmore until 1778), Frederick
Smyth 1832 Marion Washington, Wythe
Southampton 1749 Courtland Isle of Wight, Nansemond
Spotsylvania 1721 Spotsylvania Essex, King William, King and Queen
Stafford 1664 Stafford Westmoreland
Surry 1652 Surry James City
Sussex 1753 Sussex Surry
Tazewell 1800 Tazewell Russell, Wythe, Washington
Warren 1836 Front Royal Frederick, Shenandoah
Warwick 1634 Independent City Now City of Newport News
Washington 1777 Abingdon Abolishment of Fincastle
Westmoreland 1653 Montross Northumberland
Wise 1856 Wise Lee, Russell, Scott
Wythe 1790 Wytheville Montgomery
York 1634 Yorktown  Renamed in 1643 from Charles River County