History of Alaska Society NSDAR

The first DAR chapter in Alaska was organized in Sitka in 1903. This chapter disbanded circa 1909.  The Alaska Society NSDAR was organized by Mrs. Rae Stevens Hoopes.  At the time the Alaska Society was organized, there were three chapters in the state:  the Alaska Chapter, Fairbanks; Colonel John Mitchell Chapter, Anchorage; and Mt. Juneau Chapter, Juneau, Alaska.  The Mt. Juneau Chapter disbanded February 8, 1992.  At the present time Alaska has four chapters:  Alaska Chapter, organized November 21, 1925; Colonel John Mitchell Chapter, organized October 25, 1952; Sleeping Lady Chapter, Eagle River, AK, organized  December 10, 1980; and Natalia Shelikof Chapter, Kodiak, AK, organized October 7, 1982.  The first state conference was held in Fairbanks, Alaska on October 24, 1958 with State Regent Rae Stevens Hoopes (Mrs. Robert Hoopes) presiding.  The Alaska Society celebrated their 56th Annual State Conference in March 2013.  

Home    History    Objectives    Eligibility   
Chapters    Alaska Flag