Search billions of records on

Twickenham Town Chapter, NSDAR
Huntsville, AL






























Contact Our Chapter by Email


Updated Last on June 23, 2015

First chapter regent Sarah Robins Tappey
On May 19, 1908, a group of ladies met  at the First Presbyterian Church to discuss the organization of a new chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution.  Shown to the right is the chapter's first regent, Sarah Strothers Robins Tappey. 

Organizing members were:

Leila Coles Anderson, Maude M. Broun Betts, Sallie LeRoy Betts, Margaret Walker Bolling, Mary Blassingame Glenn Brickell, Kate Coles Donegan, Alice Dashiell Garth, Lena Garth, Juliet Whitthorne Grayson, Ellelee Chapman Humes, Lucy Anne Spragins Mastin, Henrietta Austin Matthews, John Nathalie Matthews, Alice Reed Murray, Mary Lee Murray, Eugenia Nance, Elizabeth Caruthers Newson, Sarah Strother Gregg Robins, Margaret Du Bose Smith, Sarah Strother Robins Tappey, and Alice Crockett Webster.

Typical early meetings in 1908 included two subject presentations, plus a reading.  Examples of these presentations included Knickerbockers and Their Descendants, Colonial Landmarks and Legends, The Society of the Cincinnati, Capture, Trial of Aaron Burr, and The Real America in Romance.

The rose was chosen as the chapter flower, and "God, Country, Liberty" was the chapter motto.  Twelve copies of the ritual were ordered for the total price of $2.70.  Meeting locations and times were announced in the newspaper, and it was moved and seconded that each member be responsible for notifying the hostess if she could not attend.  Guests were always welcomed, and it was not unusual to have as many guests as members present.

Community Efforts

Early on, the Twickenham Town Chapter felt an obligation to preserve Huntsville history. A committee was formed to identify American Revolutionary soldiers in Madison County. On March 23, 1909, six graves were reported to have been located. On July 3, 1909, a marker to be placed on Franklin Street was discussed. The purpose of the marker was to commemorate the location of what was called the First Legislative Hall, the building where 44 delegates met from 22 counties to draw up a constitution to petition for statehood. In April 1910, it was announced that a bronze marker was being made to mark Legislative Hall and it was decided that the marker should be installed on a boulder of suitable size. The marker is still there.

In March 1910, a chair that belonged to Governor Bibb was donated on behalf of the chapter to the Alabama Room at the NSDAR Continental Hall in Washington D.C.


Celebrating our 100th Anniversary, with a beautiful, framed certificate from NSDAR, recognizing the original 1908 Organizing Chapter Members. Celebration was held on May 9, 2008, at the home of  Mayor Jerri Phillips McLain, in historic Mooresville, AL, in her 1860's Antebellum home. Jerri is a past Twickenham Town Chapter regent and long time member.


First Presbyterian Church  

This is a drawing of the First Presbyterian Church where the chapter was organized.




Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.