Search billions of records on

|| Home || Welcome || Carroll Co. Marriages || Carroll County Cemeteries Menu ||
|| Carroll County Genealogy Links || Photos || Group Photos

Carroll County Genealogy Web Site

Seeking Photo of Carroll County School Groups
Contact Fleta if you have a Photo of a Carroll County School Group to share.
Back to Group Photos
Green Forest, Arkansas Post Office

Green Forest Post Office, ca 1913

Click on the photo for a larger view. Use your back button to return here.
View Another Green Forest PO Photo

CCHS Quarterly, June 1968, contends a post office was established 16 November 1855 in Section 4, Township 19 North, Range 23 West near where the town of Green Forest now stands. A. M. Deshields was the postmaster. This post office was discontinued 8 August 1856 and was not restablished until 29 July 1867 with John J. Grimm as postmaster. The new post office was about 1 mile west of the present town of Green Forest in the Grimm home. At this time, the mail was carried by stage from Carrollton to Eureka Springs. Around 1897, the office was moved to the north side of the square where the Wells Furniture was in 1966. When Andrew J. Tabor became postmaster in 1911, the office was moved to the east side of the square. Around 1915, the office was moved to the west side of the square in what was once know as the Swor building. In 1946, Geeen Forest was made a second class office and Buell Crawford and Fred Miller errected a new building about 1 block west of the square on Main Street. In 1989, after more than 100 years in exsistance, the office was moved again to the outskirts of the city, having made a circle all the way around the square, north, east and west, then on down highway 62 west, almost to its place of beginning in 1855.

Postmasters of Green Forest Post Office

If you have photos of any of these Post Masters, please Contact Fleta . We would like to add individual photos to this page.

A. M. Deshields - 1855 {office discontinued 1856}
John J. Girm - 1867
Edward Harbert - 1871
John Pendly - 1874
Jacob E. Harbert - 1876
J. P. Harbert - 1878
Mathew S. Ely - 1882
Jame McCoy - 1882
John T. Gibson - 1885
John A. Buel - 1889
George M. Wallice - 1893
Columbus B. Grimm - 1897
James L. Rhodes - 1905
Andrew J. Tabor - 1911
Henry Clay Maples - 1915
Garland S. Russell - 1923
Jewell I. Braswell - 1932
Logan Staffore - 1936
John L. Conley - 1950
Virgil McCurry - 1940
Mrs. Andra McCurry - 1942 military acting PM
Virgil McCurry 1945
Walter W. Parks, Jr. 1972

If you can add to our history of the Green Forest Post Office or have early Carroll County photos to share contact Fleta or Teri Gregg.

Back To Top

Carroll County Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc.
P.O. Box 249
Berryville, AR 72616-0249
Phone 870 423-6312
|| Home || Welcome || || Carroll County Cemeteries Menu ||
|| Carroll County Genealogy Links ||
Mail comments & Suggestions to Webmaster