Search billions of records on

Nevada County

Arkansas Trails To The Past Logo

March 20, 1871

Trails To The Past Logo

Help Wanted

Join Trails To The Past Logo

Arkansas Trails has several counties and projects up for adoption. If you would be interested in adopting a county or project look at the Arkansas Trails County Page. If you find one that you would like to adopt e-mail the State Administrator State Administrator.

[ Being a County or State Administrator is fun and rewarding. If you have an interest in the history of Arkansas and the genealogy of it's residents please consider it. If you think "there is no way I can do this" there are many people ready, willing and able to help you. It's not near as difficult as you might think. ]


     Nevada County is Arkansas's 63rd county, formed on March 20, 1871, and named for the State of Nevada due to the perceived similarity between their physical shapes; the Arkansas county's shape roughly follows the same outline as the state's boundary when inverted. Contrasting with the name of the U.S. state, the local pronunciation for the southwestern Arkansas county is "nuh-VAY-duh". The first county court convened on May 8, 1871, at Mount Moriah, a country church that served as a temporary county seat, since no incorporated cities or towns existed in the new county. Mount Moriah is still an active Methodist church between Prescott and Rosston. In 1872, a governor-appointed commission established Rosston as the county seat. On May 19, 1877, voters elected to move the government to the newly created railroad town of Prescott, where it has remained since July 2, 1877.
    Stephen Vaughan and his wife, Polly, came up the Ouachita and the Little Missouri rivers possibly as early as 1812, settling at a place on the Little Missouri later known as Janes Ferry. Vaughan was the first person in the county to be granted a federal land patent. He bought four tracts along the Little Missouri from the public domain. But he had been dead for two years by the time the patents were granted on December 5, 1823. His widow established her claim to his estate and for years ran a ferry and an inn for travelers heading north to Hot Springs (Garland County). Another early settler was named Bassett. Little is known about him, but two creeks in northeast Nevada County that flow into the Little Missouri were named for Vaughan and Bassett. Thomas Mendenhall of Jackson Township (then in Ouachita County) was a North Carolina native who spent years in Alabama before moving to Arkansas.


Free Records Search at Familysearch Org

Nevada County Cemetery Listings on Arkansas Gravestones Project

Nevada County Cemetery Listings on Interment Net

Nevada County Cemetery Listing at Find A Grave

Arkansas Dept of Health

Arkansas Dept of Health
Division of Vital Records, Slot 44
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205
(501) 661-2174
Fax: (501) 663-2832
  • Vital Records is responsible for the collection and issuance of birth and death certificates and marriage and divorce coupons.
  • Birth and death certificates serve two purposes. They are the definitive legal documents of identity and they collect important medical information about the two most important events – birth and death.
  • Marriage and divorce coupons are so called because they are removed from the bottom of marriage and divorce certificates, the original of which is retained in the offices of the county clerk of courts; these coupons contain limited information.

Arkansas State Archives

Arkansas History Commission
One Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201
The History Commission, the official state archives, is a facility in which those interested in Arkansas history may engage in research. The staff does not undertake research requests from the public. The Research Room is open from 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M., Monday through Saturday. It is closed on state holidays. If you are traveling long distances, please call to confirm hours/days of operation at 501.682.6900.

Arkansas Genealogical Society

  • The purpose of the society is to promote family history research, to educate persons in genealogical research methods and the use of historical records, to publish articles pertaining to Arkansas ancestors, and to preserve and make accessible historical, genealogical, and biographical sources pertaining to Arkansas.
  • AGS has contributed to the genealogical collection of books and other materials at the Arkansas History Commission and State Archives, the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies, and at other libraries and archives with genealogical collections. Books sent to AGS to be reviewed in The Arkansas Family Historian are always donated to a library that does not possess a copy. AGS sometimes purchases and donates special resources, such as the films of the Draper Manuscripts at the Arkansas History Commission.
Circuit Clerk
215 East 2nd St.
Prescott, AR 71857
Phone (870)887-2511
Fax (870)887-5795
County Clerk
215 East 2nd St. South
Prescott, AR 71857
Phone (870)887-2710
Fax (870)887-5795
Nevada County Depot and Museum
Peggy S. Lloyd, Curator
403 West First Street South
P.O. Box 592
Prescott, AR 71857

E-Mail Lists and Message Boards

Arkansas Mail List on Rootsweb

Nevada County Mailing List on Rootsweb

Nevada County Message Board on Rootsweb

Nevada County Message Board on Genforum

Adjacent Counties

Clark County | Ouachita County | Columbia County | Lafayette County
Hempstead County | Pike County

Last Updated, Thursday, 28-Mar-2013 09:09:02 MDT
This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated without consent.
All rights reserved. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited.
The copyright (s) on this page must appear on all copied and/or printed material.

© 2017 by Nevada County Administrator