Search billions of records on

Maps, Churches, and Villages

Now, with links to available online records!

The Azores are a group of nine islands situated in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. They were discovered in the 15th century by Portuguese navigators and colonized during the reign of Prince Henry the Navigator. They were given the name the "Azores" after a hawk that circles the islands.

The Archipelago of the Azores (Acores) is composed of nine islands, largely volcanic. They are located 1190 km (740 miles) from the southern coast of Portugal and 3900 km from the North American coast. The islands are divided into three groups.: The Eastern Group consisting of Sao Miguel and Santa Maria; the Central Group of Terceira, Graciosa, Sao Jorge, Pico, and Faial; and the Western Group of Flores and Corvo.

The map below contains links to pages on each island showing its map as well as a listing of the Churches found on that island, with the name of the village or town in parentheses. Unless otherwise stated, the Churches are all Catholic. The dates following each entry, are the dates that Church records are available through the Family History Centers of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. If you are researching your family's genealogy, your local FHC (as it is commonly called) is the best place you can start your search. For a small fee, you can order a microfilm of any of these records as well as other records you might need such as Census, etc. If you need a place to get started, the FHC is it! Just check your phone book under Churches -- then Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

In addition, most Azorean Church records are now available online at either the Centro De Conhecimento Dos Azores (CCA) site or the Universidade do Minho site. When these records are available online for a particular village, there will be a link to indicate that.

Click on the map

Azores MapSanta MariaSao MiguelTerceiraSao JorgePicoFaialGraciosaFloresCorvo

Back to the Top of this page