Search billions of records on




Pre-1905 Calif Death Index


Santa Cruz County is one of the original 27 counties created in 1850. In the original act, the county was given the name of Branciforte after the Spanish pueblo founded there in 1797. Less than two months later, the name was changed to Santa Cruz. Established in 1791 and completed in 1794, the Santa Cruz Mission was destroyed by earthquake in 1857, but a smaller-scale replica was erected in 1931. Santa Cruz signifies "holy cross." Territory which was once in Santa Cruz County is now in San Mateo County.





copyright 2003 - Pre-CADI Phoenix Project.

 Please report any difficulties with these pages to Sharon Dulcich, Webmaster.