Avalon South Region - St. John's District
"The Daily News"
YEAR END EVENTS 1938The records were transcribed by JOHN BAIRD & SUE O'NEILL. Formatted by GEORGE WHITE While we have endeavored to be as correct as humanly possible, there may be typographical errors.
|END of YEAR REVIEW Published by the DAILY NEWS
Saturday December 31st 1938
A DREAM OF FRUIT AND CREAM
Many Improvements to Plant Service—Also Carry Full Line of Soda Fountain
Fruits and Syrups.
For Brookfield Ice Cream Ltd., 1938 has been a year of success and advancement in many ways. The “Dream of Fruit and Cream” in its various attractive forms has increased in popularity both in the city and at out-of-town centers where “Brookfield” is distributed. Service to the public has been improved wherever possible. The firm manufacturing “Brookfield” has co-operated with a large clientele of dealers throughout the country in assisting them to procure in assisting them to procure electric refrigeration. Thus many more outport distributors of the popular product have been enabled to carter to their customers in a convenient and modern manner.
At home Brookfield has been busy renovating the factory and redecorating the rooms. Neatly done in white with washable oilcloth on the lower walls, the home of Brookfield Ice Cream is as spotless and as attractive a factory as can be found.
Improvements have been made to the Cold chambers where the ice cream is stored prior to delivery. The office has been renovated throughout and is now enclosed by four wall of attractive ply-lock board. Externally the factory on LeMarchant Road has also been improved during 1938, and the grounds fronting on the street are beautifully laid out and well cared for. Further plans are contemplated for the beautifying and improvements of the Brookfield Plant.
Brookfield Ice Cream Ltd., are the sole agents in Newfoundland for H. Baron & Co., New York, and a full line of soda fountain fruits and syrups is carried at all times. Glassware is also stocked for the conveniences of parlor patrons. This latter line is the most recent addition to that service to the public program which Brookfield Ice Cream, Limited, are ever seeking to perfect.
RAMBLING THROUGH NEWFOUNDLAND
By Stanley T. Brooks
Carnegie Museum Radio Series Tales That Nature Tells KDKA
Newfoundland, a part of the oldest land making up the North America Continent, England’s first Colony, and the beginning of the mighty English Empire. That is the small Northern Island whose fishing industry has fed so much of the world, that is the land discovered by Sebastian Cabot only seven years after the discovery of America, and it is the last part of the North American Continent, the last solid land to be seen by the many intrepid trans-Atlantic fliers as they faced the vast unknown of the air. Historical in setting, historical in tie, and still making its place in the scheme of life, in the Island of Newfoundland.
My travels in that land were for scientific purposes; to determine, if I could, characteristics of the island, to study those animals left there after the great ice-sheets of the Glacial Period has retreated. I found the animals and my studies are not completed yet, but so far have yielded species new to science, and others new to the knowledge of that area. This was the purpose of my trip, but the greatest pleasure was in knowing the land and its people.
First Glimpse Entrancing
The first glimpse of Newfoundland is entrancing. The air of Scotch-Irish respectability, the tall austere facades that crowd the sidewalks, the rambling cobble-stone streets, all lend a feeling of age, of thoughtfulness in living, and respect for traditional custom. This is St. John’s as one sees it for the first time. The cobbles resound to the hurly burly clatter of the small Newfoundland horse and the two wheeled carts, and they echo the muffled, low-toned voice of the boats as they pick their way out of the narrow harbor. These ships, the passenger steamers, the “bankers” with barrel-lashed masts, the scarred and beaten cargo vessels, laden with paper, timber, and the fish — these ships are the life–blood of Newfoundland. Newfoundland, the sea-faring nation which for several hundreds of years has wrung a livelihood from the cold, forbidding Atlantic, and from her vast forests and mountains, is utterly of the sea. One can smell it constantly, taste it in her fish, and drink it, possibly, in her brownish, sour rum.
At every intersection stands the rigid form of a Policeman. His white cuffs extending to the elbows, he directs with a grand flourish, the rushing horse and motor traffic, along the narrow streets. He is young, quite and alert. The American must watch his step and reverse his habits, as the traffic all follow the English custom of proceeding along the “wrong” side of the street.
At the quaint hotel, quaint but very nice and in keeping with the purse of a Zoologist, I met the politician, the fisherman, and the logger also a newspaper man, and he jots down your presence, your work, and your aspirations. He then asks, “What good is all of this?’.
The Logger told me of the Northern Coast and the wild storms. He spoke of the boats loaded with paper, plying their way to England and to many ports in America and Europe. And he too talked of the hardships of the forest. It was a game to be played when the marked for fish was low, but it was a game for the patient and the hardy. The flies, a general name for the black flies, punkies, deer-flies, mosquitoes and “stouts”, all consorted to make life as unbearable in the wood as possible. He told me of the dark, greasy concoction called fly-dope that one used for protection, and how the skin grows darker each day, until one becomes the colour of an Indian. The dope, he explained, was not disagreeable, simply a mixture of tar, oil, penny-royal, and perhaps citronella, all combined. After these stories, I purchased a goodly supply of the fly dope, and after was extremely thankful I did. Not one word he spoke was an exaggeration. In fact, he could have magnified it many times and still have been within the realm of possibility.
Fisherman was a slightly erroneous designation for the other man in the hotel lobby; he was a reality a fisherman-manufacture. His has been the happy idea to make oil from the cod-liver. As he said, he has taken Old Man Depression by the horns and was making him pay. The same vigor, push, breeziness, and self-assurance of an American business man was here; the American trait under a different flag.
Along the wharves, the row of drying racks filled with cod and mackerel, load each and every zephyr with the pungent odor of salt fish. Bales of rope, scattered coils of rope, and long lines of drying nets, shed a perfume far from disagreeable, tar, salt, hemp, the briny smell of seaweed, and the odors of many catches, mingle in the crisp air. Each boat at the many piers has it characteristic odor. Some are grimy, steamy, coated with the accumulation of hauls long forgotten. Here the greasy smell of the large pot of “fish” and “brews” coats every particle of air. I see labour, hardship, and poverty in this questionable fragrance, I can see the dismal days and nights upon the cruel, heaving deeps, and taste in the odor of this fish stew, some of the futility of never ending toil.
Close by is another ship. She is heavily loaded and rolls sluggishly in the ebb tide. Her decks are splintered and scarred with toil. The mast is rugged and the rusty anchor contrasts grimly with the well oiled deck hoists. This boat is a lumber ship, and as I go closer to the great yawning hatches, I catch the heavy rick pine and hemlock odors; all topped by the fragrance of wood burning in the galley stove.
New Experience in Scents
A few hours on the narrow gauge railway, and I am introduced to an entirely new experience in scents. It stole upon me, shocked me with its constant domination. This odor is of fish, not salt fish, not dried fish, but fish with all of the elements of Nature’s worst brew. The Newfoundland fisherman-farmer not being content in “going down to the sea in ships” must needs bring the sea to the farm. For generations he has been bringing fish, caplin, and spreading them upon every portion of land under his control. The caplin, in its natural and undefiled state, is one of the most delicious food fishes in existence, but the way in which Mr. Caplin is met, within the “Outports” is appalling, there he lies in all of his fading, silvery beauty, a mute, decadent thing, reaching to high heaven with sulphurous, damning arms. Every field, every hamlet, every wagon on the road, meets you with the same olfactory insult, until the pine-scented woods of the interior are reached; away from the sea, away from man’s efforts to add to the fecundity of Nature.
Day are spent in the fertile valleys of the Exploits, and along the great rivers laden with pulp wood. Days of happy comradeship with the paper makers and their families. But time flies and I must go on.
I board the boat at Corner Brook and steam away through the beautiful Bay of Islands on my way to the Long Range and Bonne Bay. The boat is a coastwise vessel, and supplies every hamlet and store on the West Coast. Here passes the kaleidoscopic life of Newfoundland. Fishermen, loggers, mothers with babies, girls, boys, a tourist or so, that is the passenger list. The only means of transportation for this entire great area brings every type together.
As we steam out into the Bbay into the setting sun, the cool, crisp sea air whips the fog-scud back along our wake. One makes his way with difficulty along the crowded deck. A variety of odors tingle in one’s nerves. Barrels of gasoline, distinguished by their red-banded sides, are lashed to the rail of the fore deck. Kerosene, with its bland, soft smell, reminds one of home and the point-stopped oil-can of his youth. A crated engine reeks of fuel oil, and we wonder what fisherman’s boat, what life depended upon this trivial thing of gears and cylinders. The flour dust from the large barrels of ship’s biscuits, is dissipated in the breeze. The steam from the galley door tells us tales of hot corned beef and cabbage. You pass several men heading for the cutting in Labrador, and the odors of sweat and fly-dope, tell you of their profession of the woods. The odor of face powder strikes you as you open the door to the dining room.
Docking in a Small Port
We draw in to a small port. The air from the damp and cooling forest springs from the shore, and tosses the smoke of our stack over the waves of the bay. Voices from the pier call to voices on the ship; gossip is exchanged. The boom creaks, and coffee, canned goods, gasoline, oil, swing over the dark band of water to the wharf. It swings back, and another net full of life’s necessities are landed. The whistle sounds and backing away from the dock our boat noses out into the channel.
Bonne Bay; a night has flown and the crisp air is laden with the silvery droplets of dew as the rising sun sends its first bright bayonets over the edge of the world. The deep-throated whistle signals to the approaching shore, and soon, with the recurrent creak and clatter of the windlass, we warp in to the wharf. The whining winches awaken the village. Smoke begins to pour forth from many chimneys, and shouts of children can be heard, as they race each other to dress, and scamper down to meet the boat.
My bags are unloaded and accommodated in the friendly house of the Dock Master. Fish is frying; large white hunks of cod, and dull pink pieces of salmon crowd a china platter. The warm odor of fresh bread and hot tea assails the nostrils, and one realizes that it has been some hours since the last meal.
A morning in the woods follows, tramping the new path and seeking amongst the hills for the illusive flower, butterflies, and snails. Bonne Bay; it might well be called the Bay of Hope or Last Haven Bay, for here it was that the plants and small animals lived when the great ice mountains came out of the North, came out of the North to decimate, destroy, kill, and plunder the rich and verdant plains and hills. Here were the islands of refuge, Monasteries of Nature, in which the life of that long distant period hid and lived through the perilous days of cold and storm. Those survivors were the goal of my travels, and here, after days of seeking, I found them.
On mountain ledges one meets the breath of the last lingering vestiges of those mighty ice caps. Their dead, cold exuvium like the exhalations of some lost soul, chills you and thoughts of terror arise, as if today one could see again the slow, relentless approach of that ice death. You look down; there at your feet, a flower, struggling through the crust of slush and snow dispels the dire imagery and you know that life is here, still advancing upon the dead rock and clay, so long cold and naked.
The woods road wanders along a stream. The great piles of sawn logs spread a perfume rich and full. Wild Lily of the Valley fills a nook on the edge of a meadow; their fragrance assails one, stifling in its intensity. It diminishes and becomes sweet and pleasant, mingling with the cool draft as it follows the tumbling stream.
The Graceful Salmon
A large salmon shoots from the boiling water below the low falls, and with fluttering tail, splashes into the slick of water at the crest. Another follows, only to be dashed against the stones and disappears in the froth below. A sea-trout, like the salmon, migrating to spawn, rose in a curve, to fall gracefully into the gleaming torrent above.
The bed of pine needles on the sloping bank is like so much snow, as one slides to the rocks below. A cool green pool in the backwater of the falls, is filled with algae. The myriad bubbles ascending from the thin, greenish blue threads, carry a rank scent of river and fish. Oxygen is being made to feed the hungry blood of fish, insects, and the ever-rotting wood sward. Nature in her slow fire is burning the refuse of life; Ghenna of God.
Our time is fast growing to an end. The hills have been sought over, the meadows tramped upon, and the shallow waters of the streams and lakes have gripped one’s leg and thighs in an icy grasp. The days are shortening, the fog rising from the bay. The chill, prophetic of the long, cold winter to come, dries and withers the fragrant blossoms of the swamps and woods. The woody smell of underbrush and cuttings from the logger’s summer labors, is a spicy forest perfume. The bags of duffel are packed and we await the last boat. The grocery store near the wharf savors the air with its multitudinous fare. Again we see oil cans, bags of coffee, barrels of flour. The homely element of life that we had left far so long, we have regained for this short time. The wholesome odors of living, have been ours to detect any enjoy, I have relived some of the periods of my youth, the days of horse and buggy, of coffee grinders on the kitchen wall, and of the oil-can in the corner, its spout deformed with the inevitable potato. Now I am going back to the coal dust and clouds of a city, back to the gassy industrial fumes of civilization. Nature lovely perfume, the breath of free throbbing life will be hidden in the exhaust of motor cars, in the hacking, sneezing air of trolleys. I can take with me the memory of her beauty, the olfactory reminiscences of Newfoundland.
“Chalkers Choice” Great Demand
Nfld. Lime Manufacturing Co. Makes Many Improvements to Plants at St. John’s
And Cobb’s Arm
True to their progressive policy and desire to give super service to their many customers, the directors of Chalker & Co., Ltd. have placed on the market in 1938, a group of hams that are even more “Choice” than those formerly offered to the trade. These special hams are wrapped in cellulose containers, thoroughly germ proof. They are smoked in the containers, thus preserving the juices of the ham, and making the product soft and increasingly tasty. Chalker’s “De Luse”, “Vicking”, “Picnic,” and boiled hams, are meeting with high public favour and are destined to revolutionize the local smoked-ham trade.
Starting their ham and bacon business in a more or less small way, Messrs Chalker & Co. gradually built up a thriving trade–and they are ever on the up grade. Recently this reporter visited their business and was shown over the plant. A modern institution in every respect, the method employed in the curing of the hams and bacons is in accordance with the latest scientific ideas, cleanliness is a by-word, and only the best pigs, obtainable in the foreign hog market, are used. The two dungeon-like rooms, in which the smoking process is carried out, are very interesting. Proper burning materials, an apparatus and specially coated walls, all combine to turn out perfectly done hams or bacons, as the case may be.
The large tank in which the “sides” are cleaned before being processed, does a thorough job, as was clearly shown by a batch of bacons just taken out. In the packing department, a number of girls were busily engaged in wrapping in cellophane, half-pound lots of bacon — a very popular article in the grocery stores. Everything in connection with the preparation of “Chalker’s Choice” products was pleasing to the eye of the visitor — and educator.
Operating a branch quarry at Cobb’s Arm, Green Bay, the Newfoundland Lime Manufacturing Company ltd., has done a big business in limestone during 1938. Much employment has been created by the extensive operations of this company. A great deal of labour has been provided, both at St. John’s Branch and at Cobb’s Arm. Many schooner skippers have blessed the Nfld. Lime Manufacturing Company for the limestone freight made possible by their activity. Two kilns - one erected in 1937, operate in St. John’s and another is in almost constant use at the Green Bay branch. The limestone deposits in the Cobb’s Arm area are productive of the best quality limestone in Newfoundland.
The president of both Chalker & Co., and the Lime Manufacturing Co., is Mr. J. R. Chalker, Sr. The city branch of the latter company is looked after by J. R. Chalker, Jr., with George Chalker in charge at Cobb’s Arm. T. R. Chalker attends to the sales of both the lime and the “Choice” Hams and Bacons. J. R. Chalker, Jr. is the manager of Chalker & Co., Ltd. A very progressive and competent group.
The Forts of Ancient St. John’s
How many of us know where all of the forts of ancient St. John’s were located? Very few, I imagine, for to know these facts necessitates a long period over the old records and books of collected history. Some of the sites many never be exactly located, by study on this side of the water, and days would have to be spent in the British Museum and other repositories across the sea. However the following is a sketchy outline of those known to exist.
It seems that due to some lack of interest in the higher seats of Government, that St. John’s was one of the last of the ancient ports to be properly fortified. One would imagine that by the time Sir Humphrey Gilbert came to those shores, that the many ships using the harbor of St. John’s, would make some type of a fortification, if only for the protection against the piratical rovers of that time. Gilbert says that his boat was held up at the narrows, and was finally allowed to proceed, when it became known that he carried a Commission from the Crown. Does this mean that there were earthworks at that time in the narrows? Or perhaps those old Devon fishermen themselves were so close to the piratical life that they would welcome any skirmish, as we have Gilbert’s word that they fired their heavy guns in respect to his mission.
Naturally, every vessel was its own fort, and seldom a voyage of that day drew to a close, without having to resort to the voice of the cannon as their authority. One of Guy’s first works was to erect a fort at Cupids and mount cannon thereon. He speaks of Carbonear and Harbor Grace - were they entirely bereft of protection in those days? In view of Peter Easton’s activities along the shores of Conception Bay, it would seem that they would also have been fortified. Wynne in his letter to Sir George Calvert in 1621, states that he had thrown up earthworks on the water side of the village he was then building. But in St. John’s there seems no one existed who would record any of the earlier facts.
It wasn’t until after Placentia had become a heavily fortified settlement of the French, that the first earthworks in St. John’s were mentioned. These were built by Christopher Martin, in his desperate attempt to repulse the pirates and invading Hollanders. These were made in 1665, and were on the site of the late Fort Frederick and Chain Rock Battery. Kirk is said to have fortified several ports in or near 1676; fifty-six guns being distributed between Ferryland, Bay Bulls and St. John’s.
The first record at hand, of any of the forts, is Fort William. This was built on the site of the present Newfoundland Hotel, sometime around 1680. Twice in 1696 the French were repulsed by the Narrows, but the invading French finally captured and destroyed the city from the landward side. It is to be remembered that the French never in their entire campaign captured St. John’s from the sea. De Ruyler the Hollander, did however, capture and destroy St. John’s, and said that if there had been six guns mounted at the impregnable Narrows, he would not have dared entering. This casts a suspicious shadow on the earlier efforts of Christopher Martin, and seems to indicate fallibility in his defense.
De Brouillon after his capture of the city in 1696, destroyed all of the forts then standing. This must mean that the earthworks of Fort Frederick or perhaps Chain Rock were then still used. They are the most logical spots for the protection of the harbor. Fort William was rebuilt in 1697, and at this time the “Colonists Fort”, Fort George, was also built. Fort George occupied, as near as can be ascertained from the plans figured in Prowse, the Gardens to the seaward or harbor side of the Newfoundland Hotel, and was connected with Fort William by a subway. These two forts were finished between 1698 and 1708. At the same time we find the first mention of the batteries at Chain Rock and Fort Frederick, and presume that the earthworks were faced with stone and the guns mounted at this time.
In 1705 the French were unsuccessful in their siege of the Forts, but in 1708 all of the forts were captured and destroyed by St. Ovide of the French Legions. In the meantime however, somewhere about 1704, the “Southside Castle” was begun, but history is hazy on this point. At this time we also find our first references to the two batteries that may be supposed to occupy the site of fort Walgrave and the Queen’s Gun. The boom and chain were added in 1706 for the better security of the harbor. When the French attacked in 1708, all of the forts fell, and upon the order of his superior, Constabelle St. Ovide was forced to destroy all. In several of the accounts of this section, only three forts were mentioned as being manned and armed, Fort William, Fort George and what must be Chain Rock. The Treaty of Utrecht brought peace for the time being, and between 1713 and 1753 St. John’s was again fortified and garrisoned.
At this time Fort William mounted sever twenty-four pound cannon, six eighteen pounders, and ten 6 pounders, Fort George had thirteen, twenty-four pounds cannon and the ten guns on “the Platform”. Fort Frederick is accounted with four, eighteen pounders. The Invincible Island at Carbonear, and the Isle of Bois were also fortified at this time. Carbonear Island had two ten gun batteries and embankment at the shore, and the Isle of Bois was credited with batteries.
But now a period of laxity allowed all of the forts to fall to ruin, and when the French attacked St. John’s in 1762, all resistance was futile. The French repaired the old ruins, and built defenses at Signal Hill. However, the French only remained a short time in possession, but during this time, Carbonear Island was captured for the first time, and all fortifications destroyed.
Again the British re fortified St. John’s. In 1795 the first block-house was started on Signal Hill, and all guns used in the fortification there had to be lifted over the high edge of the Crow’s Nest, a high peak now destroyed by the quarrymen, and drawn to their position by hand. Fort Frederick, Chain Rock and Fort William were rebuilt and at each place a shot oven was erected. These ovens to heat the balls that were used to fire at the wooden vessels of the period, were very unsuccessful, as the excessive heat caused fusion of the shot.
Another battery, the Duke of York’s, was erected on a high platform at “South Point”, which I presume to be on the North side of the narrows, and mounted eight twenty-four pounders, four eighteen cannonades, and two ten-inch mortars, the Great Chain across the harbor was still in use, and was controlled by a hugh windless on the South Side. When the chain was raised, several schooners aided, by grappling the chain with their anchors, and helping to hoist it to the surface. Fire ships were made and anchored against the chain to fire the enemy’s ships. These were old bulks filled with inflammable material. It is presumed they were set afire by hot shot from the forts.
To go back a moment, we find in 1773, a great increase in activity, Fort Townshend was begun at that time at the site of the present Central Police and Fire Stations. The road from this Fort to Queen’s Wharf was built, as were King’s Road, Military Road and Signal Hill.
T. A. MacNab & Co. Ltd..
Widely Known for Reliable Products
One of Oldest and Largest Commission and Brokerage Houses in Newfoundland In business Over 30 Years
One of the largest and oldest Commission & Brokerage Houses in Newfoundland, T. A. MacNab & Co. Ltd., has maintained it leadership for over thirty years. It has secured the reputation of handling none but the most reliable products, and represents some of the world’s largest manufacturers. Many of these agencies have been held by the firm since its inception, but from time to time other leading manufacturers are added to their list.
Distributed to the trade of Newfoundland by T. A. MacNab & Co., Ltd. are many products which are household words throughout the country. Among them are: Fry’s Cocoa, and Confectionery; Windsor Table Salt, Oxo Cubes, and Cordial Fray Bento’s Beef, Campbell’s Soup, Coleman’s Mustard, Brasso and Silvo Metal Polishes, Camp Coffee, Taylor’s Grape Juice, Karo Corn Syrup, Cadbury’s Cocoa and Confectionery, Two-in-one Shoe Polish, Maconochie’s Pickles, and Carr’s Biscuits.
Situated in the City Club Building, Water Street - the Company has one of the largest plate glass shop windows in the city, and the attractive displays prove of great interest to passers-by. Combining the reliability and security of a long-established business, with progressiveness and up-to-date methods, T. A. MacNab & Co., Ltd., marks amongst the foremost in the business life of Newfoundland.
A Factory In A Class By Itself
The Colonial Cordage Company’s Great Industry — the Ropewalk – An Asset
To the Country
The largest industrial plant on Mundy Pond Road, popularly know as the “Ropewalk”, is the scene of a multitude of activities, a beehive of industry where rope and associated products are manufactured – the source from which the Newfoundland Fisherman draws the myriad lines and twines and nets he requires to carry on his work.
Back in 1882, the plant of the Colonial Cordage Company was erected. That year the “Ropewalk” competed in a fisheries Exhibition held in London, and two medals and two diplomas were awarded the company in recognition of the products on display. A consistently high standard of output has been maintained down through the years.
The first process in the making of rope is the preparation of the manila. The fiber is placed on an apron or feed board by an attendant. Two heavy rollers draw the manila in. As it is passing through, it is well oiled by a special device. The oil penetrates through the fiber, lubricates and waterproofs at the same time. Leaving the feed rollers, the fiber passes through a series of heavy fluted rollers, where the fiber is softened and the oil still further penetrated into the manila. The fiber is then conveyed along on a chain, having crossbars with perpendicular pins piercing through the fiber, the fiber being kept in the pins by means of what is called a lantern roller. Another chain of the same construction, only having greater speed, carries the manila on, and at the same time teases and straightens out the fiber, in the same way as a comb would be used for your own hair.
The manila is filled in cans, and these cans are carried to other machines where it is further combed. From there the fiber or silver is twisted into a yarn or a thread on a spinning machine. The threads on spools, are placed in a rope machine, twisted into strands and formed to a rope in the same operation. 1-2 in to 2 1-2in. circumference ropes are made on these types of machines. The larger ropes, including banking cables, are made in a log building called the Rope Walk, about a quarter of a mile in length. The largest piece of rope ever made by the Company, was a length 20 inches in circumference.
Other types of rope are also made by the Company, such as Lanyard, Coir, Bolt Rope, and Cotton rope, etc. The Colonial Cordage Company, have rope machines designed and made by themselves, and a very up to date machine shop where all internal repair work is done.
The writer's recent tour of the plant, in company with an official of the firm, resulted in an insight in the processes of manufacture that was both enlightening and entertaining. Not the least interesting stage of the tour was the twine development.
The cotton yarn is imported on tubes or spools, averaging ½ to 2 pounds in weight. A number of these yarns are twisted into a strand, and the strands are twisted into twine. The size made varys from 6 thread to 30 thread. Different sizes of twine are made for salmon nets and seal nets in this department. The Company has recently installed a machine of the latest type, for making cotton lines. The twine department is systematically run, and great care is taken to keep waste down to a minimum.
One of the most interesting departments of the “Ropewalk” is the netting room. The different types of netting such as herring nets, smelts nets, caplin nets, cod traps nets, as well as salmon nets, are made in this department by machines. Almost human in operation, these netting machines do their work in an intricate manner, yet nevertheless thoroughly, and it would be well worth while for those who are interested, to visit the “ropewalk”, merely to see the netting performance.
When the various nets are completed they are taken to the barking department. Here they are passed through a process which preserves their wearing qualities, and serves to protect them against bacteria that would tend to destroy them when used by fishermen. After the nets are taken from the preserving solution, they are dried thoroughly, and then taken and hung by “yorkings” to a head rope.
The Finishing Department
The finishing department is where the twines are baled. The visitor was very much taken up with the balling machine and the coning machine, and with the speed and efficiency of the workers, especially the men who were rolling and slipping the twine into cans.
Altogether the Colonial Cordage Company, Ltd rope manufacturing plant, with its scope of activities, array of buildings, private sub-station and fire protection system, is a factory in a class by itself. Among the employees, which number quite a few, there are several men who have been working at the “Ropewalk” for more than half a century. These veterans, Mr. William Crotty, and Mr. John Fitzpatrick, going daily to the job, summer and winter, are as much a part of the plant as the buildings and the machines.
1938 For Walsh’s Bakery Was “The Busy Year”
Continuous Demand For Products Made Extra Oven Necessary
1938 will be remembered in Newfoundland as a year of labor disputes. At Walsh’s Bakery it will be long remembered as the busy year. Deluged with orders at the start of the New Year, the firm found itself in the unfortunate position of not being able to cope with the growing business. A decision was hastily made, and another oven was added to the equipment of the plant. Even with this addition, the Central Bakery was hard pressed trying to keep up with the demand.
To those who are not familiar with the inner workings of a bakery, it may not be common knowledge that this type of manufacturing plant maintains twenty-four hour service. Bread must be mixed in batches in the evening, and the various stages through which it passes before it reaches the dining table, demand almost constant attention. The same applies in the case of cakes, pies and pastries. While the consumer sleeps the producer works.
Walsh’s Central Bakery is a modern institution in every respect, and is staffed with an expert group of bakers, some of whom have been with the firm for nearly twenty years. The consistent popularity of Walsh’s products, is however the best testimonial that can be offered in support of this bakery. And to win and keep public favour is the end towards which management and staff are constantly directing their efforts.
Continual Expansion In 36 Years of Operation
United Towns Electric Company, Rendering Light and Power Service to Avalon and Burin Peninsulas — Total Plant Investment Approximately $2,000,000
The United Towns Electrical Company Ltd., was incorporated in 1902 for the purpose of furnishing electric light and power service to the town of Harbor Grace, Carbonear, Heart’s Content and vicinity. Its first hydro-electric plant was built at Victoria, near Carbonear, in 1904, and consisted of a 300 horse power Pelton impulse turbine, connected to a 250 K.V.R. General Electric, Generator. A distribution system was extended to the towns of Carbonear and Harbor Grace, and a pole line erected to Heart’s Content, some nine miles distant. Some two or three hundred customers for electric light, were connected to the line, and the total plant investment did not exceed $30,000.00.
From this small beginning, the United towns Electric Co. Ltd. has grown steadily, until at the present time, it operates five hydro-electric plants with a total capacity of over 10,000 horse power, serving upwards of 100 towns and settlements on both the Avalon and Burin Peninsulas. The total plant investment is approximately $2,000,000.00.
In 1906 a second unit - 300 horse power - was installed at Victoria Power Plant, and in 1918 a third unit of 900 horse power. Iin 1923 a hydro-electric plant - 4500 horse power - was erected at Seal Cove in Conception Bay, and power transmitted to the St. John’s area, chiefly for re-sale to the Nfld. Light & Power Company. In 1929, a hydro electric plant of 500 horse power was put into operation at Lawn on the Burin Peninsula, and transmission and distribution lines built to Grand Bank, Fortune, Lamaline, Burin etc. In 1931, a 1500 horse power hydro-electric plant, was erected at Topsail, 12 miles from St. John’s, and in 1932, the 2,000 horse power hydro-electric plant and distribution system of the Public Service electric Co. Ltd., at Heart’s Content, was purchased and incorporated, with the United Town Electric Company system.
Development of the waters of Waterfall Brook at Little St. Lawrence, is now well under way and with the delivery of equipment next spring, the plant should be ready for operation in the summer of 1939. Increasing demands for power, chiefly from the mines at St. Lawrence, make this additional development urgently necessary. The Company will develop at Waterfall Brook 500 horse power.
Operating 36 Years.
The Company has operated successfully for 36 years, and has rendered a splendid service by bringing electric light and power facilities to the, in many cases, isolated communities, along the coast of the Avalon and Burin Peninsulas. The effect of the depression of the past few years upon the communities served, has naturally been reflected in the Company’s revenues, but the future will, no doubt, see a resumption of the active growth and prosperity which the Company has experienced in the past.
Employment during the past year at Newfoundland airport, Bell Island, and in woods operations, has been of the greatest; benefit to Conception Bay towns, and will be reflected in the earning power of the Company during the coming year 1939. Operations by the Newfoundland Herring Fishery Co. at Argentia, and the activities of the mining companies at St. Lawrence, will help in no small way, to speed up the return of the prosperity the United Towns Electric Company has enjoyed in the past.
The officers of the Company are: Mr. R. J. Murphy, B. Sc. Vice-president and managing Director and Mr. J. Cameron, Secretary-Treasurer.
Pioneers In The Line of Engineer’s And Electrical Supplies Heap & Partners (Nfld) Ltd. Play Important role in Field Locally
“Westinghouse, The Oldest Name - The Newest Thing in Radio”
With the same measure that the English firm Wm. Heap and Partners, Ltd. hold wide repute in the British Empire and in many other parts of the world, so Heap and Partners(Nfld) reign as leaders in the field of Engineers’ supplies and electrical equipment in Britain Oldest Colony. The firm in Newfoundland is representative for leading manufacturers in England and the United States of America, for iron and steel products, nonferrous metals, electrical and mechanical equipment of all kinds, as well as paper-mill supplies, and Westinghouse products.
The year now ending has been the most outstanding since the inception of Wm. Heap and Co. Ltd., in 1919, though the closing weeks were saddened for the staff members and their connections by the sudden and lamented passing of Capt. H. H. A. Ross, the Managing Director. The late Capt. Ross has been in charge of the business since its opening in Newfoundland, and was a very prominent figure in the business life of the country.
In July of this year, Heap and Partners (Nfld) Ltd. moved from their former quarters, to 241 Water Street, the building formerly occupied by the firm of John Barron’s and Co. The new quarters of Heap and Partners (Nfld) Ltd., comprising a large scientifically lighted store, fronted by a spacious and equally attractive display window, are well worth visiting today, no more attractive display room may be found in the city, that that of this enterprising firm. A complete range of electrical appliances, heaters, irons, refrigerators, ranges, etc. and an array of the latest Westinghouse radio models, may be seen at the premises, and for your need in those lines you cannot do better than examine and consider well before going elsewhere. In the industrial centre of the country, on Bell Island, and at the paper towns of the interior, Westinghouse products are to be found supplying the exacting requirements of numerous industries.
The firm of Heap and Partners (Nfld) Ltd., supplied the greater part of the electrical equipment of the Newfoundland Airport - flood lighting, boundary lighting, beacons etc. The very best is required at what will be one of the largest and most up to date airplane bases, and Westinghouse was singled out because it merits that high rating. In the supplying of X-ray equipment this firm has also taken a very prominent part, and hospitals through the country are equipped with General Electric X-ray corporation products, supplied and installed by heap and Partners (Nfld) Ltd.
Ferryland A Place Of Beauty and Romance
One of the Most Historic Spots Along The Whole of the South Shore
Truly is this a fairyland, if you pause to listen to the voices that speak from the dark glens along the road to Aquaforte. At another place along this road, you can hear the rushing waters of some mystic stream, that exists only in the pixi-land, the land of leprechauns and little people. I know whereof I speak, for I have heard these sounds, I have seen the hill of the hangman and have listened to the rush of these psychic streams, but that is not the reason for speaking of Ferryland. Of all things, don’t get that impression. Ferryland is one of the most historic spots along the whole of the South Shore and is, one might say, the cradle of one of the great cities and states of America.
Discovered by a Pirate
Before Lord Calvert focused the attention of the King on the green lush shores of Ferryland, a pirate, one Peter Easton, had discovered the harbor there, and at Aquatforte, and was using these places as hide-outs for his band. To be sure, no one was really after Peter Easton, but it just comes natural when speaking of a pirate, to have a hideout for him. You will have to put that down as due to my imagination and my youthful reading. At any rate, I have looked down into the calm waters of the bay at Aquaforte, and seen what is supposed to be the “bones” of one of his ships.
The Calvert Home
Lord Calvert received his grant from the King, and sent two of his Lieutenants to Ferryland, to build his home and arrange for his later tenancy. It is very improbable that they did not find many people already settled at this place, for you must remember that over a hundred years of active fishing had already been carried on along this Coast. We know nothing of this, as the letters from Capt. Wynn, who was in charge, does not speak of them. In due time, the house that was to serve the Kirk’s and Treworgie’s as well as the Calverts, was finished, and in 1627 Lord Calvert made his first trip to the New world. The next year, he returned with his family. They must have had high hopes, as they settled in the stone house that looked out over the bay and the emerald Isle of Buoys, but the severe winter brought suffering and misery. The next year Calvert petitioned for a grant in Virginis, and this as we all know, terminated in the state of Maryland in the United States. Lord Calvert, the first Lord Baltimore, died before the grant was fully made, and it remained with the second Lord Baltimore, Cecil, to complete the work of his father. Cecil, the second Lord, keeps cropping up through history, and it was in the 1700's, that the last attempt of the Calvert family to regain Ferryland was made.
The First Disaster
But time rushes on. Lord Calvert had hardly abandoned this fruitful region, before a Sir David Kirks began to make known his presence. We do not whish to deal in personalities, so will only say that Kirk’s reign, with the happy secession of Treworgie, the first real Governor of Newfoundland. While Kirke was languishing in England, and his family were trying to make their living as common people in Ferryland, one of the first disasters befell this village. The Dutch, a nation growing strong in maritime trade, raided and destroyed Ferryland. From all accounts they did not destroy the Calvert home, as that was still standing as late as 1694. This was not the first military engagement to affect Ferryland as Baltimore had repulsed a fleet of French Marauders. Later he had become embroiled in an argument with the merchants as to the division of the spoils of the chase. The pirates fated upon the merchant and fishermen and it seems, that vice versa, the merchant, when the chance arrived, feasted upon the pirate.
Later in 1694, a decisive engagement was fought at Ferryland. Several captives of the French at Placentia, had escaped, and made their way to Ferryland. There they told Captain William Hohman of the Galley William and Mary, of the impending attack on Ferryland. The doughty Captain at once rallied his men and mounted the available guns on the headlands. With these, he battered the greatly superior French fleet so badly, that they had to turn and fly to save their ships, leaving anchors and cables in their wake. But it was a different story when D’Iberville, the French Commandante arrived. No defense was offered and French, after helping themselves to what they wished, marched North to capture and seek St. John’s.
Montigny in 1705, another Frenchman, pillaged the village, and destroyed all in his path, but in 1708 when the French attacked, they found the Isle of Buoys well armed and were repulsed.
Today one can count the emplacements on the Isle of Buoys and on the mainland. The great English guns lay nearly covered with sod, or have toppled from the sheer cliffs to the shoal water below. The old magazine and forge lay in ruins, a heap of mortar, brick and stone. Parts of the ancient gun carriages may be found in use by the fishermen, to anchor nets in the fishing grounds. On the beach, on the Howard Morey premises, one can see the old granite markers of the Holdsworth estate. The first Holdsworth in Newfoundland was one of the Admirals of the port of St. John’s, and it was his descendents that held the Calvert property, and built the great stone house that has only recently been removed.
This last period of the past is deeply marked in the sod and in the hearts of the people of Ferryland. It would be well worth your time, some day, to visit this part of the shore, stand on the same land, on the same rock, with Easton, Calvert, Kirke, and Treworgie. Feel the first breezes from the Isle of Bouys, and the thundering surf, and perhaps you would like to get just a little bit pixilated with some of the pixies I know you will find along Hangman’s Hill.
$32,000,000 To The People of Newfoundland
Vast Strides Made By Newfoundland Railway In 16 Years.
Further Additions To Equipment Include Two New Coastal Steamers.
Since 1923, all efforts have been concentrated on the reconstruction of the entire service in the all important task of restoring public confidence in this vast public utility. Prior to 1923, Railway History was not what the public desired, and the Government of the day was faced with problems of grave concern. Too well it was known to you, the condition that existed, and the enormous burden that it was on the tax payer, yet within this organization, the task of transforming the Service, had to be undertaken in earnest. Sixteen full years of constant and persistent effort have not alone proved that the enormous task has been largely accomplished, but will demonstrate in many ways, the increased value to the patron, and the decreased liability on the taxpayer.
Clearly it was a reconstruction policy of magnitude. The entire main line from St. John’s to Port aux Basques had to be ballasted, and re-railed; new bridges, new trestles, new culverts, new buildings new piers, new shops, new locomotives , new cars, new steamers were built or purchased at a cost of approximately seven million dollars. The material used and supplied during these years on this work is perhaps beyond the imagination of the average person. Ballasting alone, consisted of more than one hundred and twenty three carloads, or the equivalent of gravel and stone taken from a tunnel twelve feet wide, twelve feet deep and thirty seven miles long. The replacement of ties amounted to approximately four million, or one hundred and thirty-five thousands carloads.
The following is a list in detail.
New Stations 14
New Freight sheds 23
New Platforms 3
New Shelters 3
New Piers 3
New Water Service 11
New Paper Sheds 2
New Machine Shop
Extension to old stations 1
Extension to old sheds 5
New Section Houses & Camps23
Other Houses 3
New Round Houses 3
New Bridges 61
New Culverts 21
New Locomotives 11
New Freight Cars 296
New Passenger Cars 19
New Mail & Baggage Cars 3
New Steamers 2
The Railway in local purchases and labor, for a period of sixteen years, distributed approximately thirty-two million dollars to the people of Newfoundland. This is a return equivalent of four and one half per cent per year, for sixteen years on the total cost of the Railway to the country, for fifty-seven years, without any attempt to estimate what proportion of this enormous expenditure was directed to the Treasury of the Country, and without any means whatever of estimating the value of the service performed all around the coastline, and through the towns, whereby the development of trade and industry profited considerably, as well as the traveling public. Operations alone, during the period mentioned, consisted of the movement of thirty five thousand trains, transporting three million revenue passengers, and six million tons of freight.
With the addition of larger capacity box cars, the Railway is in a better position to move bulk shipments without loss of time. The putting into service of kerosene and gasoline tank cars, will release flat cars for other service, as well as avoid the handling of filled and empty drums all over the system.
There were recently placed in the service, 9 all steel automatic side dump cars, to be used for coal unloading and for ballasting purposes. Of particular use are these cars, for widening embankments along the railway line.
The addition of two 1000 class locomotives, recently put into service, brings the total number to 7 now on the Railway. These locomotives are more powerful and economical to handle than any locomotives previously in use, and gives assurance to the Operating Department that traffic can be moved at very short notice and with dispatch.
An effort is being made to secure two speedy Coastal Steamers - One to replace the steamer “Glencoe” on the South Coast, and the other to replace the “Portia” on the Halifax Service. It is well known that the “Glencoe” is over crowded nearly every trip, and the service demands a larger and more up to date steamer. With the portable development of inter-communicating roads between settlements it is likely that coastal schedules can be revised, and that it will not be necessary for steamers to call at so many small places, thereby giving a much more frequent service.
Two new sleeping cars, and one dining car, will be available for next season’s operation, and together with the Observation Car “Bristol”, will make for greater comfort on the “Overland Limited”. This particular train continues to grow in favor with the traveling public, and the entire staff are to be congratulated on the results obtained. The Public can be assured that rolling stock, roadbed and supervision, are being kept up to date and that every effort will be made to give better service as traffic develops.
Municipal and Industrial Review of the Year
Much Ado In Many Matters — Marks City council year.
Fine Program Accomplished By Municipal Body During First Year of Office —
Mayor Carnell covers Work done in Various Departments.
At the close of another busy year for the council of St. John’s, I give pleasure in presenting the following report of the progress made in all departments, which I think has been most satisfactory.
Water Works Department
“Pure water is the best of gifts man to man can bring”. (Lord Neaves)
The work of conserving and improving our water supply, by increasing the storage capacity of Windsor Lake, was continued.The work was started last year and the construction of new embankments and concrete overflow at the Gull Pond end of the Lake, and the work at the Valve and Green houses, as reviewed in my report of December, 1937. This year, the work consisted of raising approximately 1,400 lineal feet of embankment and road; repairing and raising the breakwater; filling in and improving the large and rather unprepossessing area surrounding the intake at the Eastern or supply end of the lake, and planting some thousands of young birch, spruce and mountain ash trees. These will not only serve to beautify the section but, as we all know, will be of great importance and benefit in protecting the water supply.
The value of the duplicate high level main was clearly demonstrated during the past year. During the somewhat severe winter season, fire and domestic pressures were constantly maintained and there was not a single complaint of shortage, even from the highest parts of the town.
Some months ago, the Council had real cause for congratulation when a serious break occurred in the very section where the duplicate main was completed last year. It happened at 2 o’clock a.m. Sunday, October 9th, when according to our Engineer’s report, the pressure at the Central Fire Hall fell from 100 lbs to 30 lbs. Men and equipment were immediately called out, and the change over from the broken to the sound main was effected within an hour, when the pressure rose again to 90 lbs. The work of repairs was completed by 6 p.m. of the same day, and the pressure again restored to 100 lbs.
There is no doubt whatever that without the duplicate line the City would have been in a very dangerous and unprotected state for sixteen hours, and during that time a fire might have swept the Higher levels section of the city.
In addition to the work at Windsor Lake, this department laid over 8100 feet of distribution water mains, erected thirteen fire hydrants, as well as giving general attention to the maintenance of mains, hydrants, valves, service and other equipment. 115 Services piped were renewed and 133 new services laid. In this work the Department used about 12,000 feet of copper service pipe.
I am told a little girl, on being asked “What is water?” replied “It is what comes out when I turn the tap!” A number of grown-ups if asked the same question would make the same reply. Perhaps many years of “Water from a Faucet” have dulled our appreciation of the constant care and attention required to maintain a service so vital to our civilization and our ability to live together in comfort, health and safety.
All through the past season, this department was kept busy in the construction of storm and sanitary sewers, in addition to the routine work of inspection and repairs. Some 12,183 feet of sewer pipe (of varying sizes) was laid, with the necessary appurtenances (30 manholes and 60 gullies and outlets).
Our system in St. John’s today is the result of year by year improvements and additions to the original sewers, which were built very early in the City’s history. Some of these are of antiquated design, and in such a condition as to be hardly adequate for present day requirements. In this, the City is confronted with a particular problem of maintenance and construction. There are sections which should be torn up and replaced, but unfortunately, our means will not allow us to take such measures, and we must get along as best as we can with repairs and careful supervision.
Immediately upon completion, sewers are put into use. Their position under the surface of the ground removes them from the eye of the public, and until trouble develops, either with a main or house sewer, their existence is usually forgotten by the layman. But how important to the health and welfare of a community is the maintenance of a good sewer system. Sewers must receive constant attention from the day of completion, as only through this means can obstructions and abuses be eliminated. Unfortunately, many people regard sewers as a depository for anything which can be trust through a grating. It is amazing to see the heterogeneous heap of rubbish sometimes reclaimed from choked sewers,, and a little more thoughtfulness and care on the part of citizens, would be of immeasurable benefit to the entire service. The production and maintenance of a satisfactory system involves expense and trouble which it is difficult to determine by any convenient yardstick and the work never ceases.
During the year we had occasion to revise and bring up to date the City Plumbing Regulations. This was a most important undertaking, and required a great deal of time and study on the part of the Plumbing Board. A word of praise is due to Councilor John T. Meaney for his untiring interest and personal attention to the revision, which was sponsored by him in the first instance.
1938 has been a record construction year. A large amount of employment was given, and the men were kept busy laying concrete curbs and gutter, sidewalks, erecting walls, covering streets with tar macadam and coating streets already treated. In all, the department laid 15,200 lineal feet of curb and gutter, 42,000 square feet of concrete sidewalk and 18,000 square feet of tar macadam. Approximately three miles of streets were serviced with tar and chip. Hamilton Avenue and Freshwater Road were widened, and steps, landings, retaining walls, etc., constructed where necessary. Work continued very late in the season, when we were forced to abandon it because of weather conditions. Some minor adjustments had to be left over until next spring. The City crushing plant put out over six thousand tons of stone, and a record amount of patching and repair work was engaged in.
Citizens will be interested to learn that 3,000 motor cars and nearly 1,050 trucks ply our City Streets. A large percentage of the former, and nearly all the latter are kept running during the winter season, and the use of chains for practically five months of the year, is the chief cause of our surface troubles. If we could close our tarred roads to traffic during the winter, it would save us very heavy expenditure in the spring; but that is an impossibility.
Park work is a business and an industry, similar to any other line of production. The raw products are land, trees, shrubs, flowers and water, and the job of the park workers, is to arrange these in such a way as to provide facilities for recreation and enjoyment, at the lowest cost. It is the desire of the Council to create parks which will be a tangible asset, and will constantly grow and increase in value. With the increase of motor traffic on our streets, there is manifest need for more park areas, as every child should have access to spacious grounds for play.
Throughout the season, the usual good care was given the City Parks and Bowring Park, under the expert supervision of Mr. Canning. Several important improvements were made to Bowring Park, and these were made possible through the generosity of Sir Edgar Bowring. He is keenly interested in the park and his contributions have been most generous. Bowring Park is a national, as well as a civic asset.
The Nursery established in Bannerman Park last year, is of great value to the Parks Department. The Superintendent informs me that he is acclimatizing and preparing young trees and shrubs for distribution in open space, parks, and streets throughout the city.
I regret to say very little progress was made with King George fifth Memorial park during the past season. This was due to lack of funds. It does not discourage me, however, as I believe that in time the necessary money will be available, and the project will be carried through successfully. I am informed by the Regatta Committee that they propose raising funds for the erection of an up-to-date boat house at the Lakeside, and I hope their efforts in that connection will be successful.
The increased activity in building circles during the past year, should be a healthy indication of returning property. The Council issued permits for 220 new building (including 86 dwellings, 26 private and 3 commercial garages. 5 shops, 63 extensions). Some of the larger buildings were the Nurse’s Home and boiler House at the Grace Hospital; a Shed and Masons’ shop for the Newfoundland Railway; a new Drill Hall for the Constabulary, at Fort Townshend, and last but not least, that magnificent new building on LeMarchant Road for St. Clare’s Mercy Hospital. It is a great and commendable venture and I wish it every success.
The usual work of this department was attended to, and due supervision given street cleaning, removal of garbage and other routine duties. The annual Clean-Up Week was again held in May month. Every year there seems to be a larger amount of rubbish for this department to clear away, weeks before all sections were and this year it was almost two reached. This waiting for clean up week to dispense is an abuse of the system, and I might echo the warning in last year report, that if citizens continue to put out bed springs, motor car parts and heavy material of this nature, to be carted away by the Sanitary Department, bills will be furnished them for the cartage.
On the whole, the Council has had a busy year, and the work has been constant and trying. Our new Councilors are to be congratulated on their masterly handling of the matters which came before us. Each member has shown a keen interest in the City welfare, and given of his best.
And now I would again have a few words of appreciation and thanks to our City officials particularly the City Clerk and City Engineer, for their faithful service during the year and the ready and capable assistance each has given me in his own sphere. I have never asked for information and failed to receive a willing and courteous response. The same indeed applies to the entire staff at the City Hall and to each and every one I extend the hearty thanks of the council. To all our officials and their families I express the wish that they may enjoy every happiness and success in the New Year.
On behalf of the St. John’s Municipal Council, I extend to His Excellency the Governor, Lady Walwyn, Honorable Members of the Commission of Government and their families, heads of the religious denominations, citizens and fellow countrymen, very best wishes for a Bright and Happy New Year.
ANDREW GREENE CARNELL
Newfoundland Clothing Factory Modern And Efficient
Manufacturers of the Well-Known “Fit-Well” Brand Clothing— Also Many Other Lines
At the Newfoundland clothing Co’s., factory on Duckworth St. where “Superior” brand clothing is made in a truly superior manner, you see a modern efficient manufacturing plant that vies in competition with any this side of the Atlantic. A perfectly orderly and competent staff working on a full time basis; a methodical arrangement assuring the maximum of output, coupled with the maximum of quality; modern machinery in smooth and efficient operation, with sanitary and airy working rooms for the employees - such are the features which characterize the successful factory of today. And such are the features which are found at the Nfld. Clothing Co., Ltd’s. plant.
From the top floor to the basement, the visitor going through the factory is impressed with the orderliness and good method by which the factory operates. It is instructive and stimulating to go through the place and see the work of clothing manufacture going on. One cannot escape the feeling of pride that comes from the realization that there is a Newfoundland factory truly worthy of the name.
The Coat, Pants and Vest department on the top floor, is housed in a large, bright room where it must be a pleasure to work. Each machine is attended by an operator trained to do a special job, and the cloth passes from hand to hand, until it eventually is ready for the salesroom, stamped, pressed, and perfect. On the floor below, denim by the mile, goes into overalls so popular among the workmen of the country. Mackinaws and work shirts are also made on this floor.
On the second floor, part of which is the domain of Mr. Silverman, designer for the plant, the cloth is cut and made ready for the various stages through which it passes en route to the customer. Conducted by Mr. Silverman, a new department is being worked out at the plant this year. Ladies coats and suits and tailored costumes, are being made, in an effort to produce locally, a class of garment which is being imported at high cost. Keep our money at home and give Newfoundlanders more work, is the motto that has prompted this new effort. The main floor of the Nfld. Clothing Co.’s plant is divided into salesroom, stock department and ready made, and the main office. The spacious basement is used as a shipping room and stock room for uncut cloth and sewing materials.
A Good Year
The year now dying, has been a good year for this enterprising manufacturing concern. “Superior” brand clothing continues to go over the top in a big way. And this has made business good for the firm. The troubled times in labor circles passed by unnoticed, for the Nfld Clothing Co., Ltd., carry a contented staff of employees. And that, these days, means everything in factory manufacture.
Phone Calls 1,700,000 A Month In St. John’s
Over 8,000 Telephones in Service—Plant Investment About $1,600,000
The Avalon Telephone company Limited was incorporated in 1919 to take over the Anglo-American Telegraph Company system in St. John’s, and the telephone system operated in Conception Bay by the United Towns Electric Company, as well as to install a modern common battery telephone system connected by long distance toll lines, with the principal towns and settlements of the Avalon Peninsula.
The new plant was completed in St. John’s by September 1921, and in 1922-23 the long distance toll lines were connected around Conception Bay. In addition to the exchange taken over from the United Towns Electric Company at Bay Roberts, Harbor Grace, Carbonear, etc., other exchanges were installed at Topsail, Holyrood, Avondale, Brigus, Portugal Cove and Bell Island. In 1924 settlements in Trinity Bay, Whitbourne, Placentia and Argentia were connected up with the system. In 1925 the Company erected lines between Colinet and Whitbourne; in 1926 to South East Arm and Fox Harbor, Placentia Bay, and in 1926-27 to Ferryland and intermediate settlements.
During this year arrangements were completed with the Canadian Marconi Company for the Avalon-Marconi link, which will enable world wide connection to be made from any telephone on the Avalon system. The necessary equipment is now installed, and after a short testing period, this service will be available to all subscribers. Arrangements have been made to install wireless telephone equipment to connect the telephone system on the Burin Peninsula, Grand Falls area, and Corner Brook, with the Avalon system.
The new common battery system at Bell Island, was put into service during the past summer and the Avalon Telephone Company now operates to the whole Bell Island system, including the mines. The new system is housed in a modern one story brick building. Such a vastly improved telephone system has naturally been called upon to bear a greatly increased traffic, the phone calls in St. John’s now average 1,700,000 a month or about 20,300,000 a year.
The growth of telephone service in Newfoundland since 1920 has more than kept pace with that of other countries. In 1931 there were approximately 6,000 telephones in St. John’s and 1,000 additional on the Avalon Peninsula or about one telephone for every seven people in St. John’s. Following 1931, because of the general depression, the total diminished somewhat; but for the past year or two, steady upward growth has resumed, until today 1000 more telephones are installed that in 1931, the previous high. The Company operates twenty telephone exchanges outside of St. John’s and furnishes service to over 100 towns and settlements with a total population of approximately 100,000. Miles of pole lines in service total 500, while wire and cable mileage, aerial and underground, total 12,000. Plant investment at the present time approximately $1,600,000.
The officers of the company are: Mr., R. J. Murphy, B.Sc., Vice-president and Managing Director and Mr. J. D Cameron, Secretary-Treasurer.
Brighter Outlook for Corner Brook Mill
Transfer Of Property Marked By Return to Normal Output.
The history of Corner Brook has been outlined in pervious articles published in the Daily News, so that the reading public of Newfoundland and of many places outside our Island Home, are fairly conversant with the progress made in this community during the last twenty years or so. Consequently, we will confine ourselves this year with the items of interest occurring in the past twelve months.
The business and social life at Corner Brook, Deer Lake and Howley, is so intimately connected with the Paper Mill, that it is readily understood by all our readers, that a great part of this present article must necessarily deal with the mill itself, and the various departments incidental to the making and marketing of newsprint.
A great deal of concern was felt in October 1937, when the International Power and Paper Company of Newfoundland Limited, announced the forced curtailment of production for an indefinite period. This action was found necessary not only in Newfoundland, but also in all their paper mills throughout Canada and the United States, owing to the abnormal increase of stock of newsprint. From that time onwards, the paper machines in Corner Brook operated for only three or four days a week, with an extra day occasionally, in order to complete special orders for immediate shipment. A similar curtailment of production in any one factory in a large city, would not materially affect the trade of the whole district, but in a place like Corner Brook, where the paper mill is the principal place of employment and in fact the “Raison d’etre” of all the other enterprises in the town, a diminished payroll means less business for all, fewer outstanding accounts settled, and larger debts incurred, which will take several months of effort to liquidate.
The curtailment of production of newsprint at Corner Brook, resulted in a smaller cut of pulpwood and fewer ships to carry the paper to market. This affected many families very far removed from Corner Brook, as the logging camps are scattered all over the country. The decrease in the number of ships and the cargo carried, cut deeply into the earnings of the stevedores, who at the best of times do not obtain continuous employment throughout the year.
However, early in the summer of 1938, rumors were current to the effect that the mill was going to change hands. Although, no one could see exactly what effect that would have on world markets yet it was though that a change might in some way or another, increase production in Corner Brook. In August it was officially announced, simultaneously in London and New York, that Bowater’s Paper Mills Limited of England, had acquired all the Common stock of the International Power and Paper Company of Newfoundland Limited, and the transfer of ownership took place on August 15th, 1938. This made the third change of owners of the property since operations were commenced in 1925.
Although the employees and the public in general, have no complaints to make against the International Paper Company, it was with a feeling of great satisfaction that the news of the latest change was received. Once again, a great industrial plant situated in Newfoundland, and employing thousands of Newfoundlanders, was to be operated by a British Company with British Capital.
Just one year after the curtailment notice was posted, orders were issued in October 1938 to the effect that the mill would operate on a six-day week until further notice. Immediately things took on a brighter outlook. Many more happy faces were to be encountered on the streets, business began to improve in all the shops, and a general air of contentment prevailed. Since then, the machines have been working at full capacity each week until the end of 1938, and present indications show that the outlook for 1939 should be considerably brighter.
Although, we have said that the reduced production caused a decrease in shipping, yet Corner Brook holds her position among the great seaports of Newfoundland, surpassed in tonnage only by St. John’s and Bell Island. The table shown further down, gives a fairly good picture of the shipping, exclusive of local coasters and private yachts, entering and clearing Corner Brook during the past twelve months. The tonnages given are only approximate, and must be accepted as such, and as this article has been written before the end of the year, the tonnage to be carried by the last few vessels is only estimated.
Many Flags Flown
Strange flags are sometime seen on ships entering Corner Brook. Scandinavian countries are fairly commonplace and the “Stars and Strips” have appeared regularly during the last two years. Usually however, one rarer that the others makes its appearance during the shipping season, as in the case of the S. S. “Eestirand” in 1937. This ship hailed from Estonia in the Baltic. This year produced a far greater novelty in the visit of the S. S. “Kelet” flying the flag of Hungary. This to the uninformed, seems strange, as her home “port” is not a sea-port at all, but is in reality, many hundreds of miles away from the sea in Central Europe. This vessel had to glide down the beautiful Danube, so famed in song and story, right through practically the whole of Hungary, through Yugoslavia, then Bulgaria, and on through Romania to the Black Sea, thence through Turkey by way of the Dardanelles, into the Mediterranean Sea, and so on, until the grey waters of the Atlantic Ocean lapped her sides West of Gibraltar.
By the time this vessel gets home again she will possibly have circled the globe not once, but several times, and her crew will have seen countless ports and have battled the stormy waters of many seas. The writer has often wished it were possible to ship on one of these tramps, and see the world as no “Cook Tour” could ever organize. For example let us take the case of the new Norwegian ship “Vivia” which sailed from Corner Brook on November 24th. Her engines will force her through the waters of the North Atlantic and Gulf of Mexico to Houston, Texas with a cargo of Newsprint. After discharging there, she will load scrap iron, and sail through the Panama Canal across the pacific to Japan. From there she will proceed to Vladivostok in Siberia to load Soya beans for Europe, which will take her South around India, and up through Suez and the Mediterranean to England or Germany, where it is quite possible she will be engaged to carry coal to Newfoundland or Canada, thus completing one circle of the globe. However, this is beside the point and really has nothing to do with Corner Brook. It is mentioned merely to show what yarns could be spun by those who “go down to sea in ships” or who live in a large seaport where sailors of every land and clime may be prevailed upon to recount some of their adventures.
The following ships made Corner Brook a port of call during the year.
Nationality No. Tonnage
British 55 292,000
Danish 13 40,000
Norwegian 11 65,000
Swedish 2 10,000
United States 2 18,000
Hungarian 2 14,000
Finnish 1 4,000
Total 86 443,000
These ships brought cargo from Newfoundland to London, Liverpool, Glasgow, Cardiff, Montreal, Dalhousie, New York, Newport News, Richmond, Jacksonville, Tampa, Miami, New Orleans, Mobile, Houston and Galveston. Many passengers were carried on these boats of which the Clarke Steamship Company alone accounts for 2200 inward and 2300 outward...
Now to change rather abruptly from things nautical to things agricultural. The year just closed saw the completion, or practical completion of the highroad from Corner Brook to Deer Lake, and the long smooth drive was enjoyed by thousands during the summer months. Enjoyment of a motor ride however is not the only benefit that may be derived from this link between the two towns. The citizens of both places have had a better opportunity of meeting each other and many visits have been made which ordinarily would have been impossible. Besides that, the whole distance of thirty-four miles has been “taken up” by potential farmers and homesteaders, with a view to make themselves and consequently Newfoundland, more independent of other countries.
Others who wish to escape the turmoil of town and office for the peaceful retreats along the lovely Humber, have acquired land on which they have erected cabins and in some instances first class houses. Before the advent of the road, this would have been impracticable if not impossible. Even the proud owner of a fast motor boat could not make full use of the country. Now it is possible to leave your office or work-bench at five or five-thirty, and have supper or dinner as the case may be, miles away from sight and sound of the mill. It requires no great stretch of the imagination to visualize in the next decade, great farm lands in evidence on both sides of the Deer Lake road, and villages springing up along the route. Already a program of expansion of the farm at Corner Brook has been undertaken.
Corner Brook still maintains her position as one of the leading tourist centers and holiday resorts of the country. Many hundreds enjoy their visit there year after year, and come from all quarters and great distance. So great was the demand for accommodation that the Clarke Steamship Company kept one large vessel on the route all summer, carrying passengers only, whilst two other, smaller vessels, but none the less comfortable, carried both passengers and freight. It is almost impossible for local travelers to get accommodation on these boats until late in the season, when the foreign business eases up. Most passengers agree that the trip up the Humber Arm from South Head at the entrance to Corner Brook, twenty miles East, is alone worth the money and time expended.
Many Distinguished Visitors
During the past year Corner Brook welcomed many distinguished visitors, and new comers to our midst, among whom were His Excellency the Governor and Lady Walwyn and members of the Commission of Government, His Lordship Bishop Abraham, His Lordship Bishop Renouf, also His Lordship the Chief Justice, Mr. Justice Higgins and members of the Supreme Court on Circuit, Messrs, H. M. S. Lewis, A. Baker, H. Chisholm, S. E. Walmsly, and G. W. R. Morley in connection with the transfer of the mill. Very Rev. Father Fuller, Provincial of the Redemptorist Order, Commissioner Carpenter, Territorial Commander of the Salvation Army of Canada and Newfoundland, Rev. Dr. Coburn, Lee Wulff, the famous sportsman; Dr. H. Derry, the noted lecturer; Chief of Police O’Neill, and District Inspector John Walsh. We were also privileged to welcome the officers and crew of H. M. S. “Scarborough” and the officers and crew of the French warship “Ville D’Ys”.
The building trade has had a fairly good year in Corner Brook. Besides the erection of many smaller private homes there were also constructed several large shops and other buildings. A nondenominational school was erected on Country Road through the efforts of Rev. Mr. Loder, Rural Dean, to take care of the many children in that locality. The newly formed Co-operative Society built and opened a grocery store next to the Post Office. The Constabulary Department has erected a four house building on Reid Street to help solve the housing problem of our Police Staff. The Church of England has also completed a beautiful Rectory on the grounds of the Church in place of the old one, which is about a mile from the Church. On the West Side, Mr. Dove has just completed a commodious and well finished Hotel, which he has named “Resthaven,” and for which we bespeak a very profitable future.
Christmas has come and gone once again but festivities are still in progress. As in former years Corner Brook is a blaze of colored lights and decorated trees. This year a large tree was erected on the lawn in front of the Post office, from which on Christmas Eve, 2500 presents were distributed to the children of the community, and at the closing of the event, a fine display of fireworks was arranged, to complete the happiness of the youngsters. This was made possible by the good offices of the Bowater’s Newfoundland Pulp and Paper Mills and the children fully appreciated the generous act. We hope all our reader have had a very happy Christmas and the people of Corner Brook extend their best wishes to the rest of Newfoundland for a HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR.
“Iron Isle” Had One Of Its Best Years.
$3,000,000 Outlay—1,660,000 Tons Ore Shipped—300 Extra Men Employed.
World Famous Wabana Mines Continue Vast Iron Ore Yield After Forty-Four Years.
Activities of Churches Organizations, And Sport Reviewed for Past Year.
With the completion of forty four years of mining service to Conception Bay, of a steady payroll, the Dominion Steel and Coal company development of the iron ore deposits at Bell Island has completed one of its most successful years, and the outlook for 1939 is a most optimistic one. The highest rate of pay in the history of the venture is being paid to miners, the total payroll for 1938 being approximately $2,650,000 or better that $50,000 weekly. The following extract from a report by James P. Howley F. G. S. in 1909 gives the early history of the Wabana iron deposits:
The only real development of our iron deposits calling for special reference is that of the “Wabana Mines” a Great Bell Isle in Conception Bay. This remarkable deposit of red hematite has now become world famed, owing to its great extent, high quality, and the unique circumstances under which it occurs. It has probably no exact parallel in the known world.
These mines are now being operated by the Nova Scotia Iron and Steel Company, and by the Dominion Iron and Steel Company of Canada. Work was commenced here by the former in 1893, and in 1899 they sold out part of their claim to the latter. Speaking of the submarine deposits as proved by Robert F. Chamber, Mr. Howley has this to say: “By aid of the dip and strike of the strata, where accessible, it is possible to form a fair idea of the extent of the trough - and provided that the bands maintain their thickness - the result reaches the enormous total of 3,635,343,360 tons.”
Wabana Iron Ore mines have had associated with them in their investigation and development, some of the great names in the history of mining in Canada. Mention of Robert E. Chambers, Thomas Cantley, A. H. Bown, C. L. Cantley, Allison Robert Chambers, A. Graham of Canada , H. Kilburn, Scott of London, Edwin E. Ellis and Edwin C. Ezekiel of the United States, shows the great importance of the “Wabana” iron ore deposits.
In 1933, the present working at Bell Island were purchased from Messrs Butler of Topsail, and the pioneer work of developing the property was managed by the late R. E. Chambers. In 1895 the first shipment of iron ore from Newfoundland, 2,399 tons, was shipped, and over a period of forty-four years the shipments have gradually increased until this year, 1938, some 1,660,000 tons of ore have been shipped - the second largest year in the history of the Island. 1937 was the best previous, when 1,799,954 tons were shipped. In forty-four years that the mine has been in operation 34,652,815 tons of ore have been shipped.
In the year just completed 1,670,969 tons of ore were mined, with an export value of approximately $4,250,000, some 5,000 tons of ore being mined daily. From January to May, 1900 men were on the payroll, and from May until the end of this year, 2200 men were employed, which is nearly 300 men in excess of last year.
A comparison of the shipments of ore from Bell Island during 1938 and 1937 tell their own story:
Sydney 638,577 495,846
Germany 849,977 1,122,393
England 258,030 43,605
Antwerp 8,270 —
United States 45,080 —
The Company has spent in Newfoundland during 1938, $250,000 for local purchases, paid $175,000 in duties and taxes, $2,650,000 in wages and salaries, an expenditure in the total of over $3,000,000 for the benefit of Newfoundland.
Dominion Steel and Coal Company plans considerable improvements during 1939, the major improvements to take place in No.3 mine. A new 1500 horsepower electric hoist will be installed in No. 3, and this mine will be equipped with an electric compressor underground. The present equipment is steam driven. The company proposes to utilize its steam power plant at the Dominion Pier to develop the necessary power for both hoist and compressor. No decision has as yet been made as to the electrification of its haulage system on the surface.
POWER CABLE BROKEN
Last year S. S. Lackenby ran ashore at the West end of Bell Island and was “later” refloated, and this year, the only untoward incident was the breaking of one of Nfld. Light and Power Company’s cables between Broad Cove and Bell Island, which supplies the work with power. S. S. Eastern Star on the 16th, drifted across the Bay towards Broad Cove with her anchor down, and making across the Bay towards Bell Island, her anchors fouled the submarine power cable, breaking it, cutting off power from two mines for three days. The Company steam plant was put into operation, and after three days all mines were working. Two ore carriers on their way from Rotterdam to Wabana met with propeller and engine trouble and put into St. John’ for dockage and repairs.
In May last Mr. A. M. Irvine, vice president in charge of coal sales visited the island and in August President Arthur Cross and Vice president and General Manager H. J. Kelly made their annual visit of inspection.
Tons of Ore Mined Each Year For 44 Years
Roman Catholic Church
The Roman Catholic Church Newfoundland and particularly Bell Island, suffered a keen blow when Dean McGrath, for 45 years Parish Priest passed away in August last. The late Dean McGrath was appointed Parish Priest at Bell Island in 1893, succeeding the late father Cullen, and during his pastorate all the noble Church buildings on the Island were erected. At the beginning of his pastorate the parish consisted of a presbytery, a small Church, St. Joseph’s Hall and a school at Lance Cove. This school was built in 1896 by Rev. Father O’Brien, now Parish Priest of Bay Bulls.
The present Church at the Front, is the third to have been build, the first being erected by Rev. Fr. Dunphy, the second by the late Dean, and the present one also by the late Dean in 1906. The present presbytery was erected in 1914. St. Edward’s Convent at the Front was opened later. The Convent of the Immaculate Conception at the Mines was first opened on October 13, 1926, the school at the Mines being opened six years previously.
The great event of this year was the opening of St. James’ Church at the Mines, for January 1st. The late Dean said the first Mass. His Grace the Archbishop solemnly blessed and officially opened the sacred edifice on May 1st. A new boys’ school has been erected at the Front and also a new school at the Mines. At the East end of the Island another new school has been built. Improvements and alterations have been made at the Mines’school and convent. West Mines’ schools, Lance Cove School the Convent and school at the Front, the presbytery and St. Joseph’s Hall. What was formerly the Church on the Green has been completely renovated and is now known as St. Peter’s Hall.
The present staff on Bell Island is Rev. G. F .Bartlett, Administrator; Rev. J. A. Cotter, and C. S. Eagan, Assistant priests.
Church of England
The Church of England residents of Bell Island will celebrate in two years time, the centenary of the first visit of a Bishop, for it was the year following his consecration, that Bishop Spencer went to Lance Cove, where but a handful of people lived, and in 1840 procured a site for a Church. Three years later the Bishop again visited Lance Cove, and consecrated St. May’s Church. This church, the first to be built on the Island, is still standing; through it has been altered and enlarged on several occasions.
Early in the present year, it was decided that it was not longer possible for one Priest to cope with the growing demands of the work, and Rev. F. M. Buffett was engaged as assistant Curate. On St. George’s Day a Hammond electric organ, the first in Newfoundland, was installed in St. Cyprian’s, Wabana, and soon afterwards an organ recital was given by Rev. F. Ross, Priest-organist of the Cathedral.
The parish has undertaken an extensive building program and a commencement has already been made. The old church at Wabana - St. Boniface, now used only as a Mortuary Chapel - has been put in first class condition, a new school has been built and opened at West Mines, and a much needed extension to the Parish Hall, usually known as the C. L. B. Armory, is nearing completion. Extensive repairs have been made to the school at Lance Cove, and it has been decided to enlarge the school at Freshwater. The congregation of St. Cyprian’s has undertaken to raise a fund to build a new Academy.
The only Parish Magazine in the Diocese is published by the Parish of Bell Island under the title “The Vision”. This is a monthly publication and has meant much to the parishioners. During the present year, organizations for young people have come into existence both at Wabana and at Lance Cove. In March, Bishop Abraham made his first visit to the Island, and in June the Lord Bishop of Newfoundland confirmed 248 candidates, 210 at St. Cyprian’s and 38 at Lance Cove.
St. Cyprian’s Guild; President Mrs. N. S. Noel; Secretary, Miss Inez Tucker; Treasurer, Mrs. Thomas Skanes. Girls Friendly Society; President Mrs. R. Proudfoot; Secretary Mrs. Clarence Skanes. Young People’s Fellowship; President, The Rector; Chairman, Rev. F. M. Buffett; Secretary Miss Doris Higgins; Treasurer, Miss Squires. St. George’s Club (St. Mary’s); President, The Rector; Chairman Mr. Eric Tucker; Secretary, Miss Marion Greenland.
Early in January a troop of Boy Scouts was organized in the United Church, and has functioned most successfully. The present Church has outgrown the needs of the congregation, but it has been decided that not until the necessary funds are available, will a new Church be erected. During 1938 the congregation raised over $3,400 for a new Church, and this amount with amounts raised previously, makes the day of building so much nearer. Another important innovation was the establishment of a Co-operative Society, of which Mr. Walter Parsons is president and Mr. William Clarke, treasurer, all the activities are presided over by the Minister Rev. Sydney Bennett.
The Ladies Aid - President - Mrs. Bennett; vice president Mrs. Andrew Rideout; Treasurer, Mrs. George Case; Secretary, Mrs. (magistrate) Hollett. Girl’s Guilds - President, Mrs. Bennett; Vice president, Miss Parsons, Secretary, Miss M Bugden.
During the year a number of functions were held under the auspices of the various organizations and included a sale of work in May, a garden party on August 11th, a Halloween party in October, and a sale of work on December 8th. Last spring the members of the Girls’ Guild came to St. John’s and spent a day at Bowring Park.
Practically all of the buildings owned by the Salvation Army were put in order in 1937, but this year new pews were placed in the Citadel, which was also painted. Major and Mrs. Hewitt have had a busy year of supervision. A Ladies Aid, with a membership of 50, has for its president Mrs. Hewitt, and the Treasurer is Mrs. Gideon Robbins. Mrs. Hewitt is leader of the Girl Guides with Misses Martin and Mouland as assistant leaders. Miss Stewart is leader of the “Sunbeams” with Mrs. Hewitt as assistant. During the past year many social functions have been held, including concerts, exhibitions and a Field Day in September.
Knights of Columbus
Grand Knight– L. J. Lawton, Deputy Grand Knight– Charles Peddle, Chancellor - J. B. Murphy, Recorder - James T O’Reilly, Financial Secretary - Wm. J Connors, Advocate - James P Flynn, Lecturer - Addison Bown, Warden - John Kent Sr., Treasurer - W. F. Illingsley, Inner Guards - James Roberts, Stephen Myers, Outside Guard - Denis Murphy, Trustees - A Hughes, Patrick Murphy, T. A. Conway.
St. Michael’s Guild
President - Mrs. John Connors, Vice-president - Mrs. Jennie Fitzgerald, Secretary –Treasurer - Mrs. (Dr.) Glovanetti.
St. Joseph’s Guild
President – Mrs. J. B. Petrie, Vice-president — Mrs. J Penny, Sec. Treas.—Mrs. J. B. Murphy.
At. Lance Cove, St. James’ Guild
President - Mrs Wm. Stoyles Sr., Vice-president - Mrs. J Kent.
The Solidarity of the Children of Mary was established this year by Father Cotter and the officers are:
President—Miss Lucy Kent. Vice-president–Miss M Murphy, Sec.-Treas.—Miss Gwen Wade.
September 19, 1917 the Sisters of Mercy came to Bell Island and took up residence in a house owned by the Pastor. The following year His Grace the Archbishop, opened and blessed St. Edward’s Convent, and he was accompanied by Rt. Rev. Bishops March and Power. On the 24th of May, 1919, the Sisters moved from the old residence to the new Convent. On Nov. 6th 1929 St. Edward’s School opened.
Activities at the Arena
The great event of the season was the triumphant return of the Bell Island hockey team, Champions of Conception Bay. May—Empire Day dance. June— Barn dance. August— Mammoth Sports Day Drive. September— Wabana Ball. October— Agricultural Exhibition. K. of C .Ball, November— Indoor sports.
A Committee of citizens is in charge of the Athletic Ground and the Children’s Playground adjoining. A new steel-wire fence has been erected around the children’s section of the playgrounds, new sod has been laid down, a new grandstand erected, and preparations are now under way for laying concrete curb around the quarter-mile track.
Bell Island Exhibition
The annual exhibition was held at the Arena in October and was opened by Mr. H. A. Butler of the Department of Natural Resources Division of Agriculture. Mrs. H. A. Butler judged the fancy work and preserves; Mr. Butler the vegetables and fruit, and Messrs. J Flynn, J. H. Mitchell and J. Dawe the pigs. The prizes were presented to winners by Mrs. J. A. Hughes. In 1939 the exhibition will be held in two parts, flowers and fancy work about September 15th and vegetables and live stock a month later.
The special prizes won at this year’s exhibition were: Electric Iron – Donated by Wabana Light & Power Co., won by Mrs. R Taylor. 1 Carton Big Ben — Donated by Imperial Tobacco Co., won by J.A. Harvey. Work Table – Donated by Crosbie & Co., won by J. A. Hughes. Permanent Wave – Donated by J. MacKnight; won by Mrs. Elijah Blackmore. 1 Doz. Lushus Jelly - Donated by G. S. Doyle Ltd., won by C. M. Foote. 1 Wool Rug - Donated by the Royal Stores Ltd., won by Gerry Power. 1 Carton Big Ben - Donated by Imperial Tobacco Co. won by J. A. Hughes. 1 Doz. Lushus Jelly - Donated by G. S. Doyle, Ltd.; won by Sandy Bennett. 1 Carton Big Ben - Donated by Imperial Tobacco Co.; won by Sandy Bennett. 1 Stone Flour - Donated by A. E. Hickman, Ltd.; won by J. A. Harvey. 1 Sack Oats - Donated by Geo. Neal Ltd.; won by Ron J. Murphy. 1 Sack Flour - Donated by A. E. Hickman; won by R. Meadus. 1 Sack Oats - Donated by Geo. Neal, Ltd.; won by Wm. Warren Jr. 1 Sack Flour—Donated by John Ryan, Adelaid St. St. John’s ; won by Ron Murphy. 1 Sack Purina Pig Feed— Donated by Rothbell and Bowring; won by Hec. Cobb. 1 Side bacon—Donated by F. McNamara, Ltd.; won by Fred Ralph. 1 Sack oats—Donated by Bowring Bros.; won by J Murphy Jr. 1 Smoking Set—Donated by Martin Royal Stores Ltd.; won by J. A. Harvey. 1 Dozen Lushus Jelly—Donated by G. S. Doyle Ltd.,; won by Mrs James Harvey. 1 Quintal Fish—Donated by Beach Trading Co.; won by Max Blackmore. 1 Kitchen Sink—donated by J G. Crawford; won by C. W. Blackmore. 1 Dozen Lushus Jelly— Donated by G. S. Doyle Ltd.; won by S. Brown. 1 Dozen Lushus Jelly—Donated by G. S. Doyle Ltd.; won by L. C. Power. 1 Dozen Lushus Jelly—Donated by G. S. Dayle Ltd.; won by E. Blackmore. 1 Jardinere—Donated by Richard Steele; won by Mrs. Proudfoot. 1 Dozen Lushus Jelly—Donated by G. S. Doyle Ltd; won by Mrs. R. Rendell. 1 Carton Woodbury Soap—Donated by G. S. Doyle Ltd. won by Mrs. R. Rendell. 1 Man’s Slicker—Donated by Standard Manufacturing Co.; won by J. A. Harvey. 1 Boy’s Slicker—Donated by Standard Manufacturing co.; won by Sandy Bennett. 1 Pair Lady’s Shoes— Donated by Parker & Monroe; won by Margaret Blackmore. 1 Set Dishes—Donated by A. C. Sapp; won by Mrs. C. Brown. 5 Lbs. Butter—Donated by Harvey Brehm Ltd.; won by Mrs. W. R. Power. 5 Lbs. Butter—Donated by Harvey Brehm Ltd.; won by Sandy Bennett. 1 Mantel B. C. Fir—Donated by Horwood Lumber Co.; won by A. P. Rees. 1Case Solo Butter— Donated by Newfoundland Butter Co.; won by Mrs. F. Normore. Cash—Donated by Mrs. H. A. Butler; won by Mrs. M Blackmore.
1938 With A.N.D. Co. at. Grand Falls.
Decided Improvement Over 1937—Woods Operations Up Tho’ Mill Work Down.
Chief Town of Interior Sponsors Full Roster of Social, Sporting Events.
High Standards Scored By Local Schools and Societies During The Year
Mill Improvements and Extensions
The year’s activities in the Mill, was marked by the completion of the New hydro-electric system. The 27,500 K. V. A. Generator is now operating. As a sequence to the completion of this job, started in 1937, 2 electric boilers were installed. These produced about 30,000 lbs of steam each per hour, the electric power being supplied by the new generators. Hinging on the additional power is the extension to the Grinders. A new building was constructed to take 14 new grinders, 3 of which will be in operation by a 2,500 h.p. motor, fed from around the first of 1939. These grinders will be driven by the new generator. Three new Pascol Rotary Bull Screens were installed and are now in satisfactory operation.
To improve drying conditions in the Mill, new hoods of Transite were built on paper machines Nos. 2, 3 and 5. A Grewin drying system was also installed on No. 3 machine. No. 5 Digester was relined by the Stebbins Co., who also finished the new acid accumulator, begun in 1937. To standardize the coal fed to Kidwell Steam Boilers, a Ball Mill was installed for pulverizing purposes. To store the slum in the Mill, a new storage shed was constructed, while a motor storage was also completed in the basement of No.3 Machine Room.
Accident Prevention And Safety Work
Results for the first eleven months of 1938 showed a decided improvement over the same period in 1937. The most noteworthy feature being the absence of fatal injuries. In addition to this gain, there was an appreciable reduction in the total number of lost time injuries. While these results were encouraging, they are still far from satisfactory, and effects will be redoubled during the coming year to reduce the number of accidents, with their aftermath of lost wages, disability and suffering. The problem should be simplified in that the major construction job is nearing completion, and the Safety Organization will in future, be able to concentrate their efforts in the mill proper, and among the regular crews.
Number of Lost Time Injuries 1937 1939
a. fatal 5 0
b. Disabling 0 2
c. Non-disabling 38 34
Total 43 36
Number of Working Days Lost 886 732
Frequency 10.43 12.52
(Lost time accidents per million
Severity Rate 0.18 0.25
(Working days lost per thousand
Exposure Hours 4,120,335 2,876,153
From the foregoing comparison it will be seen that although the figures, for total lost time injuries showed an improvement, the figures for Frequency and Severity, reflected increases. A further item of interest is that the total of 36 lost time injuries were divided equality between Construction and Regular Mill crews.
First Aid Work
In order to deal effectively with accident emergencies, the Mill has been divided into four First Aid Zones, with trained First Aid Men allotted to each Zone. These men have been specially selected as possessing those qualities of level headedness and initiative, so necessary in dealing with emergencies of this nature, which arise from time to time. First Aid Zones and Personnel are as follows:
Machine Room, finishing Room, Mixing Room, Mechanical Shops, Turbine room, Steam Plant
First Aid Men
Messrs, Arthur Southcott, Daniel Byrd, Cyril Down
Grinder Room, Generator Room.
First Aid Men
Henley Noel, James Kelly, Joseph Murray.
First Aid Men
Elijah Mercer, Albert Crawley
Screen Room, Wood Room, Yard, Wood Yard
First Aid Men
Matthew Hamilton, Alphonse Power, Lewis Kelly.
Accident emergencies are quietly and efficiently handled, and the value of such an organization has been proved on several occasions.
Personnel of Safety Committee: Executive: Chairman - P.A. Edwards. Secretary - G. R. Vaughan Evans. Member - Chas Grace. Committee Men: Messrs. John Burke, Daniel Byrd, Harry Gilbert, Edward Green, Ronald Griffin, James Hannaford, Daniel Harvey, John Jackman, Samuel Lane, Joseph Murray, James Woodford.
The Above Committee Men represent the various Departments in the Mill, and work direct with their Department heads on all matters concerning accident prevention. They have been closely connected with Safely Work for a number of years, and it is felt that their efforts have contributed in no small measure to the work of preventing accidents.
It is pleasing to note that nine Departments have succeeded in working the whole year to date (November 30th , 1938) without a single injury causing lost time, these Departments were as follows: Control Dept., Electrical Dept., Steam Plant, Sulphite Mill, Watching and Cleaning, Mill Stores, Yard Railway, River, Town. The occasion should not be allowed to pass without a word of appreciation to all those from the management down, who with enthusiasm and real co-operation have assisted in the important work of accident prevention.
January to March of 1938 was a very busy season in the woods, and this Company hauled to lakes and streams the largest amount of pulpwood every delivered since they started operations. Due to reduced consumption at the mill, the quantity driven to the mill at Grand Falls and Bishop Falls were less than normal and a large amount of wood was left behind in the streams for future use. This surplus wood in turn, had an effect on the 1938-39 operations, and the company reluctantly was compelled to curtail the cutting operations in the summer of 1938, and consequently the amount of pulpwood cut this year is less than normal.
The winter operations of hauling this out is again under way, and will be completed somewhat earlier than usual, on account of the small quantity. The number of men employed is the cutting and hauling of 1938-39 is naturally less than in normal years, and consists mainly of workers who are making wood work their chief occupation.
The 1938 fire season was more hazardous than ordinary summers, due to weather conditions, but while a number of fires occurred, they did little damage to the timber areas. The efficiency of fire prevention and suppression organization was increased, stock of fire fighting equipment augmented , and depots established with ready packed emergency rations, and equipment, to get in action for coping with fires in the least possible time.
Events in Grand Falls 1938, New Buildings Etc
During 1938, only one new house has been built by the Company, but quite a number of private houses have been built. On the Junction Road and Pine Avenue, twelve have been occupied during the year and eight more being still under construction. Several business premises have been erected, among others, Jackman’s Service Station and the Imperial Oil Company office and tanks on Station Road. Mr. J. Wood has built a lawyer’s office and is now practicing law. A fine new garage has been built by the Co-operative Society, and a new Bakery building by L. Moore & Co. Mr. G. Pardy has erected a commodious new garage on Botwood Road. Two new wards have also been added to the accommodation of the Hospital, and these have filled a long felt want. A great improvement has been made in the approach from the station to the town. The Station Road, which for a long time was the cause of acute discomfort, has now been put into first class condition, and the roads throughout the town have generally been kept in splendid order. The vacant ground opposite the Hospital has been cleared, leveled and fenced, and when it is sewn with grass next year, the appearance should be very attractive. The Hospital and High Schools grounds have presented a very pleasing appearance, and the new playground behind the High School, has been finished and put into use.
The following is a brief chronicle of the numerous social events which have take place during the past year. Early in the New Year the season opened with the Annual Masquerade Ball, organized by the Grand Fall Club - this is now become an established institution, and is always splendidly supported. Last year’s event was fully up to that of previous years. In February, the Glee Club produced a delightful musical entertainment. This was something new in the history of the town and was greatly appreciated. On St. Patrick’s Day, the usual Irish Play and entertainment had a capacity audience. This is an annual event looked forward to by many people. Shortly after Easter, the Andopians produced another play. This was well patronized, and much favorable comment was heard about it.
The Elks held their regular charity dance in Easter week with the usual success. The annual dance of the Fire Brigade followed in May and that of the Pulp and Sulphite Union a week or two later. The Grand Falls Academy held their annual school concert also in May, followed shortly afterwards by that of Notre Dame Academy, both of which were highly successful events.
Several dances have been held throughout the year by the Grand Falls Athletic Club, whose energetic secretary and committee have devoted much time and thought to their success. The usual summer holidays followed the lines of previous years, Athletic Sports occupying the day, and a dance at night. The first of these was held under the capable management of the joint labor unions and the second was organized by the Athletic Club.
Late in August we were glad to welcome the Mount Cashel Band who were making their annual tour throughout the country. They are old friends who are always welcome here. The Shop Workers Union held a successful dance in August, and this was followed by a similar event organized by the G.W.V.A. in September. The Annual Horticultural Show was held early in September, and was certainly the best which has been arranged so far, both in point of numbers of exhibits, and also quality. The annual dance of the Paper makers Union was held in October, followed by the Rebekah’s Halloween dance, and the Armistice Ball organized by the G.W.V.A. All of these proved very popular.
A Mammoth card party, in aid of the Roman Catholic Church, was held at the end of October, and so many people were present that a large number had to be turned away. Towards the end of November, we were delighted to welcome a new theatrical troupe, in the person of the Presbyterian Players, who produced a very delightful play, which was greatly enjoyed. More dances followed; one by the Shop Workers Union, and the other by the Scouts, both of which attracted large crowds.
Throughout the year the Popular Theatre has produced a steady supply of pictures and there seems to be no waning on popular interest in talking pictures.
Shortly before Christmas, the Annual Christmas Tree for the small children of all schools in Grand Falls was held, and judging by the happy faces, gave as much pleasure as usual, and we hear that great plans are being made to usher in the New Year with the C.L.B.N.C.O.’s Annual Ball.
Grand Falls Academy
During the year there were registered 747 pupils with a staff of 20 teachers (3 male and 17 female). The year’s results throughout the school and particularly the C.H.E. results, which were as follows:
Grade VIII.—46 sat and 46 passed—100%, with 112 distinctions. 13 secured an average of 75 and over, and thus won the Committee’s Scholarship of $13.00–making a total of $169.00.
Grade XI—12 sat and 10 passed or 83%. Six students passed with Honors, Miss Muriel Matthews topping her class, and winning the King George V Scholarship. Of the successful students, four proceeded to Memorial College, Muriel Matthews, Vera Moore, Phyllis Cater and E. R. Dawe, while D. McLeod proceeded to Edinburgh. Miss Matthews also won the Committee’s Scholarship of $16.00.
In Grade IX and X, the examinations were set and examined locally, as the curriculum calls for, and those who passed—six in Grade IX received the Committee’s Scholarship of $14.00 each, and in Grade X, five secured Scholarships of $15.00 each.
In the High School the following prizes, proficiency certificates and medals, etc. were secured:
Grade VIII. — Prizes, 9; proficiency Certificates, 13, C. H. E. Certificate, 46; Scholarship, 13.
Grade IX.—Prizes, 5; Proficiency Certificates, 3; Bronze Medals, 3; Local Certificate, 23; Scholarships 6.
Grade X.—Prizes, 7; Proficiency Certificate, 3; Bronze medals, 2; Local Certificate, 18; Scholarships 5
Grade XI. — Prizes 5; Proficiency Certificates, 1; C. H. E. Certificate 10; Scholarships, 2.
Total—Prizes, 26; Proficiency Certificates. 20; Bronze Medals, 5; C. H. E. Certificate, 56, Local Certificate, 41; Scholarships, 26
In the lower Schools, the Headmaster reported 89% passes in the June finals, which is an abnormally high percentage, and the following prizes, proficiency certificates and medals were won:—
Proficiency Bronze Silver
Prizes Certificate Medals Medals
Grade IA 5 21
Grade 1B 6 21
Grade II A 6 22
Grade II B 6 12
Grade III A 8 13
Grade III B 7 10
Grade IV A 5 11
Grade IV B 6 11
Grade V A 6 4
Grade V B 5 7
Grade VI A 8 6 5
Grade VI B 6 13 1
Grade VII A 6 3
Grade VII B 7 6
___ ____ ____ ___
Total 90 159 25 6
Miss Brett, Vice Principal of the school, is now back again on the staff, having secured her B.A. degree at Mount A. Miss Hayward is also back on the staff, having secured her B.Sc. degree at Columbia. Miss Bishop, who taught in London last year, is again back on staff. We now have another male teacher on the staff, Mr. Clarence Mercer, B.A . . . who has extra responsibilities in respect of the Lower Schools. The Principal, Mr. Ripley, his staff, and the school generally, are to be congratulated on the year’s work, and best wishes are extended for the future success. This can best be secured through the continued hearty co-operation of the parents.
The Committee was able to show a substantial balance of $2057.95 as at June 30th, and looks forward to balancing its budget for 1938-39.
Extra Curricular Activities
During the year the various social and athletic programs were carried out by the teachers and pupils of Grand Falls Academy. Early in January, the interclass hockey league was organized for both boys and girls in Grades above three. The games were played between the hours of ten and twelve every Saturday morning, and took place in the local rink, under the supervision of one of the teachers. The Academy hockey team of boys, received their new uniforms early in the year — the sweaters and stockings are in the Academy colors of maroon and blue. The money used to purchase the uniforms was raised by the students of the High School, and came from the proceeds of the school’s plays, which pupils have put on before the public, during the two previous years.
The annual hockey series for the V. S. Jones shield, took place in February. The games were closely contested and the Shield was won by the Notre Dame Academy. In March, the team went to Buchans, where it played a series of games with the school in that town.
The usual basketball leagues were organized for both boys and girls, and games were played in the high School gymnasium during the winter, and after school opened in the fall. In the annual basketball series with the Notre Dame Academy boys, the Grand Falls Academy team succeeded in winning the cup. The trophy for the football series was also won by the Grand Falls Academy.
The Boys and girls had a new interest in fall athletics, after the opening of school in September, as the new high school playing field was opened for their use. The boys carried through a series of inter-class football matches, and the girls played out a softball schedule.
The students of the High school held their annual Halloween party on the evening of October 28th. Over two hundred pupils were in attendance. The students of grade nine, ten and eleven held their Christmas closing party on the evening of December 16th, and the students of grade seven and eight held theirs on December 19th. The teacher’s autumn picnic and get-together was held at Leache’s Brook, in the last week of September.
The high school student’s play was reserved for Education Week in May and was presented for the public in the Town Hall. The play which was presented was Shakespeare’s “Merchant of Venice” in an abridged form. Also during education Week, the schools were opened for the inspection of the public, and many citizens of the town availed themselves of this opportunity to visit the various departments.
The Annual School concert, put on by the pupils in grades under seven, took place in the Town hall on May 12th. The different items were enjoyed by a large number of parents and friends.
The prize giving, for the pupils of grades under eight, took place in the High School Hall early in October, and that for the pupils of the higher grades, in November after C.H.E. certificates had been received.
The Christmas tree and Treats, given to the younger pupils of the community by the Anglo Newfoundland Development Co. Ltd., took place on the afternoon of December 20th. About seven hundred and fifty pupils under ten years of age, enjoyed the picture show at the local theatre, and the treat in the various classrooms afterwards.
The High School Orchestra has increased in number and has improved in every way. It was heard by the pupil on several occasions during the year.
During the year the students made arrangements with the local newspaper with regards to a special column to be edited by the students themselves. This column of Academy items has been much enjoyed by pupils and parents alike. The Academy has a very successful year in every way and both pupils and teachers are now planning and looking forward to a program of winter and spring activities in the New Year.
Report of Notre Dame Academy
The total number of pupils enrolled in the Academy from September 1937 to June 1938, was 598. The average daily attendance was 558. There were 18 Sisters on the Staff.
C. H. E. and Academy Exams
There were twelve successful candidates in Grade XI. In this Grade, one boy secured almost a full mark in Art. In Grade X, twelve obtained Diplomas, one pupil scored a total of 920 marks. In Grade IX, 29 received Diplomas, one graduate in Arithmetic. Grade VIII showed a full per cent of passes, 33 in all, with sixty-seven distinctions. In Grade VII, 32 obtained passes with splendid percentages. In Grade VI, 39 passed.
Trinity College of Music
In Practical Music, 28 pupils passed, the highest marks being 86. In Theory of Music, 33 pupils passed, with 20 in honors. Highest marks 99, 98 and 97.
In the international Test of the Sloan-Duployan Shorthand competition of Scotland, 27 of our pupils received Diplomas for Speed and Accuracy. Miss Dorothy Duggan and Miss Thelma Locke, received a gold - centered medal each for speed — one hundred words a minute, and Miss Margaret Clatney received a medal for Accuracy. Three young ladies; Misses Eileen Harvey, Pauline Barry, and Ruth Way, were awarded Certificates of Merit. In the final exam Miss Doris Nicholas, Miss Myrtis Budgell and Miss Themla Locke, received Diplomas for 20 words a minute.
Domestic Science Room
This department of the Academy is in full swing. We have eight classes during the week, ranging from Grade VI to Grade IX. These pupils are not only taught cooking in every shape and form, but to be veritable little house keepers as well. You should see them at work in their pretty uniforms, and better still, would it be, if you had a chance of tasting their dainties.
In Athletics, Notre Dame boys were very lucky this year, and carried off for the fourth time, the “Vincent Jones” Hockey Trophy. They were successful too in being the victors at baseball.
The pretty Operetta “The Wishing Cap” was so artistically staged by some of our pupils in the Town Hall early last December, that congratulations poured in until Christmas. As the year passes we expect very many such treats from Notre Dame actors and actresses.
G. W. V. A.
Since our last note to the Daily News end of the year issue, we held our Annual General Meeting, when the out-going Committee were al re-elected to office for another term. We were pleased to have with us on this occasion our Dominion President, Major F. Marshall, who very kindly addressed the gathering and conducted the election of officers. Outstanding items of interest during the year, were the visit of Sir Bruce Bruce-Porter, Commandant Third London General Hospital, Wandsworth, during the Great War, and the meeting here of the Dominion Conference in September. Our Executive, together with a number of Sir Bruce’s ex-patients and others, met him at the Railway Station when en route to St. John’s on Friday evening, August 5th, Sir Bruce was glad to see our party, and chatted with a number of his former patients until the moving of the train. He appeared to be in perfect health and to have enjoyed his trip thus far.
On Monday September 12th a large number of delegates from the various branches, arrived for the Conference. This was held in the Orange Hall, Beaumont Avenue, and was the most successful of its kind. Everyone appeared having enjoyed their stay in our town. Comrade Vincent S. Jones, General Manager of the Anglo-Newfoundland Development Co., Ltd., very kindly consented to welcome the delegates. His address of welcome was very sincere and illuminating. He assured the delegates that both he and the Company would do all possible to make their visit a pleasant one.
An-outing to Twin lakes, Badger, at the kind invitation of the Anglo-Newfoundland Development Co. Ltd., through their district Manager Capt. H.W. Cole, proved immensely successful; our party being reluctant to return. The ex-service men of Badger are to be congratulated for the splendid reception they gave us. Our only regret was that Capt. Cole could not be present, having to undergo medical treatment at St. John’s.
A dance was held in the Town hall on Wednesday, September 14th., in honor of the visiting delegates, which was largely attended. Prior to the dance, the delegates including the Executive of the Grand Falls Branch and their wives, were guests of Mr. and Mrs. Jones at Grand Falls House, where a very pleasant hour was spent.
A dinner was held on Thursday evening in the K of C Hall. The ladies of our newly organized auxiliary, took charge of the arrangements for this, and all were loud in their praise of the splendid repast they gave us.
The Dominion President, and Presidents of the various branches, placed a wreath on the War memorial, where a short ceremony was performed. Poppy and Forget-Me-Not sales, were as usual very successful. These were distributed throughout the district and the returns were gratifying. The Annual Reunion held during the year was the most successful of its kind, a large number of ex-service men and their lady friends attend. The Armistice Dance was also largely attended - over 500 persons were present and a most delightful evening was spent. The Commemoration Service on July 3rd was also largely attended this year, the various organizations taking part as usual. Attendance at the ceremony grows with the years, and there is no apparent “forgetfulness” of those who paid the supreme sacrifice on that tragic July 1st, 1916.
Throughout the year many calls for assistance have come in. These have been dealt with so far as possible by our Executive. Large parcels of clothing have been forwarded on the Coast by our ladies Auxiliary, to ex-service men and their families, together with cash orders, wherever and whenever possible to do so. We trust that the coming year will see an improvement in the conditions that exist at present in our country, and that continued success will follow the Great War Veterans’ Association.
Catholic Cadet Corps 1938
The Governing Council met in January to study the findings of the Committee appointed to examine the constitution. The result of the research was highly gratifying and the constitution was found sound and practical. Adjustments being of minor order. The recommendation of the committee to adhere strictly to the provisions of the constitution, was adopted, to ensure smoother working and a more efficient organization.
The new Armory was formally handed over to the Corps, by Rev. W. Finn, on May 20, and a full roll call was answered by all ranks, in witness to the simple yet impressive ceremony. The staff made a creditable showing in the set up of the new quarters and the increased attendance at subsequent drills, bore testimony of the appreciation of the rank and file. An up-to-date accounting system inaugurated by Capt. J.P. Molloy has materially facilitated the business proceedings. The progress of the essential equipment, whilst of necessity a gradual process, is steady and satisfactory. The formation of a Senior company was undertaken and shows signs of a solid foundation for a most valuable acquisition. The Non-Commissioned Officers are in school, conducted by Capt. G. Winslow, and are showing exceptional promise. Very encouraging indeed, was the first session of the Signals’ School under Capt. R. W. Sullivan.
A “Swell” Camp
During the first two weeks in August, a Camp was held at Norris Arm, and over eighty percent of the Corps took advantage of this event. The Commanding Officer, Major D.W. Byrd, Capt. G. Winslow, Capt. J.P. Delaney, and their staff, gave the campers — to quote their unanimous verdict — “a swell time”, the only regret being the fact that it did not last long enough — and the only order of the year to be obeyed reluctantly, was “Break Camp”.
During the Camp, a day was set aside for the Ladies’ Auxiliary, and the visit was a mutual pleasure. The Ladies’ Auxiliary, have accomplished some most difficult tasks since their inauguration, contributing to the welfare of the Corps in a very generous and practical manner, deserving every word of praise and gratitude accorded them. To illustrate the spirit of this indefatigable band, it is but to mention they gave a dinner to the Corps, which was quite an undertaking, and an unqualified success. But ignoring the magnitude of such a task, they then equipped the camp with a complete outfit of utensils, and by complete, is meant that not an item, proper to kitchen or dining room, was missing! (“Lucky boys” Growled the old campaigners). A mere thank you does seem inadequate, but grateful appreciation will always accompany a thought of the Ladies Auxiliary.
The Corps benefited by several lectures from Mr. King, who very eloquently and appropriately dealt with the fire hazard, and treating his subject in a manner which proved him a master of juvenile psychology. A series of first Aid demonstrations were given by Mr. R. Harris, and his generous sacrifice of time and effort was greatly appreciated.
The several dances sponsored by the Corps met with gratifying success. One dance was held for the benefit of the Parochial Poor Box, and due to the generous contributions of all concerned the entire gate was handed to Rev. Fr. Finn for his charity fund, and it is pleasing to record the spontaneous generosity which made this event such a success, and the sincere thanks of the Corps is tendered all helpers and contributors. The awards’ Committee are progressing well with the research necessary to complete this report, and it is anticipated that the finalizing will be in ample time for the presentations date.
On Sunday the first of October, the annual Duty Parade was held, and the roll shows no absentees. This parade presented a beautiful and impressive spectacle. The military procession of uniformed youth moving into position, made a colorful fine ground for the marble art work of the Altar, which punctuates the apostolic coloring of the background, adding the complete compliment of color symbol, the scene illuminated by sunlight filtered through the stained glass of the window of the Annunciation, made a picture not easily erased from the memory, and created a thought that in recurrence, will enhance both the obvious and hidden beauty of that scene.
Among the honorable discharges, it is to be noticed, that two indicate a permanent pursuance of martial avocation by members of the Corps, and these discharges carry with them the heartiest good wishes of the Corps.
The annual meeting of the Governing Council took place the first Sunday in Advent. The meeting was addressed by the President, and the financial statement presented, which when read, revealed a healthy condition of affairs. The annual election resulted in the unanimous return of last year’s Executive, and the President made the necessary appointments to fill vacancies in the Council. The election of the Athletic Committee was then proceeded with, and the 1939 Athletic Committee consists of C.J. Power, Esq., Thomas Conway, Esq., Q. M. S. Rex Brown.
The Governing Body
The personnel of the Governing Council for 1939 is as follows: Rev. W. Finn, president; Lt. Col. P.A. Edwards, Vice-president; Joseph Hennessey, Esq., 2nd Vice-president; Capt. J.P. Molloy, Treasurer; Capt. R. Sullivan, Secretary, Major D.W. Byrd Commanding Officer; Capt. J. J. Delaney, Adjutant; Capt. G. Winslow, Capt. , Capt. J.J. Murphy, Capt. D.A. O’Flynn, Lt. L Edwards, Joseph Edwards, Esq. D. J. Clatney, Esq., C. J. Power, Esq., Thomas Conway Esq. In summary the Corps is showing steady progress increasing attendance, the trend is definitely upwards and towards closer coherence.
Church Lads Brigade
The activities of the Church Lads Brigade for the year, came to a close on December 15th when all ranks were dismissed for the Christmas holidays. On looking back over the old records, we find that this year marks the 17th anniversary of the formation of a C.L.B. Company in Grand Falls. From only a small company consisting of two sections of about 20 each, this brigade has grown in number from year to year, until we have four sections and a bugle band, making a total of 123 ranks.
Weekly parades are held on Thursday throughout the year, with the exceptions of the months of July and August. There were 42 parades held, with an average attendance of 80, which is a considerable improvement over last year, and shows that both officers and lads are very keen and continue to maintain their interest in Brigade Work
Owing to lack of finances, we were obliged to camp much nearer home this year. The camp site was chosen at Northern Arm and some 50 lads were under canvas for 10 days with Lieut. F. G. LeMoine, Camp Commandant. The usual routine of camp was carried out daily, under ideal weather conditions, and the lads enjoyed 10 days of real fun, camping by the sea-shore. Major L. R. Cooper made his first official inspection of our own local camp, and expressed great satisfaction at the general conditions of camp. The usual Drum-head service and Officers’ Mess dinner were held. Many donations were received from friends and visitors and we wish to express our thanks to them for making our camp the success that it was.
Eight Annual Indoor Sports
Our Fall activities commenced with our 8th annual Indoor Sports which were held in the rink on October 26th. The attendance this year was the largest on record. The outstanding events on the program were the two pyramid exhibitions by squads from the C. L. B. and Girl Guides, under the direction of Capt. F. A. Stone. This year several open events were included on the program, and proved to be very popular with the public. The sports closed with a modern wrestling bout between two of our own lads. This event made a real climax to the program, over which the public were most enthusiastic. The Boy Scouts Band very kindly provided musical selections throughout the evening for which we feel gratefully indebted. The prizes were kindly presented by Mrs. W. J. Short, after which Major Cooper thanked the judges and all in attendance, on behalf of the Brigade, for their support in making the evening an outstanding success.
The 3rd Annual squad Competition for the Harris Memorial Shield was held on December 15th, the last parade for the year. At this parade a special invitation is always extended to parents, friends and supporters of the Brigade, to be present with us to witness the judging of the competition, and presentation of promotions won during the year. Four squads competed for the honors and a general improvement in drill was quite noticeable. The judges were confronted with a very difficult task, as there was not much to pick and choose between all four squads.
Sergt. W. Coultas and No. 2 squad were declared the winners by the judges, and he was presented with the Harris Memorial Shield and decorated with the Hayward Medal. While each lad of the squad received an arm shield which he wears during the coming year. Mr. R. T. Steedman made the presentation, and expressed himself as being very much impressed with the high standard of drill to which the company has attained, a great improvement over last year. Our Chaplin the Rev. E. M. bishop, extended thanks on behalf of the brigade to the judges, after which orders were read and the Company was dismissed for the Christmas Holidays.
Ladies’ and Men’s’ Auxiliaries
Once again we wish to place on record our thanks and appreciation to our Ladies’ and Men’s’ Auxiliaries, who from year to year, untiringly carry the burden of financing the brigade and making it possible for us to carry on. The officers of these organizations for the past year are as follows: Ladies: Mrs. W. R. Harn, President; Miss S. M. Irish, Secretary. Mens; Mr. A. G. Noseworthy, President; P. H. Llew King, Secretary .
After a lapse of ten years since last winning the hockey championship, our hockey team under the capable management of Messrs. J. Dawe and J. Pond, carried off the honors, and won the cup for the 1937-38 season, and also earned a trip to St. John’s. Great credit is due this team for the way they have stuck together and always played the game. We have great expectations for our team again this year.
The football and baseball teams were well in the running and next year will certainly have to be reckoned with as contenders for the honors. We wish to express our thanks and appreciations to our many friends and supporters in Grand Falls whose willing help both moral and financial goes a long way to help keep the flag flying and carry on C. L. B.
Officers of the Company are as follows: Chaplain , Rev. E. M. Bishop; Officer Commanding, Major L. R. Cooper; Second in Command, Capt. W. J. Short; Capt. F. H. Stone; Adjutant, Capt. G. H. Sanders; Lieut. F. G. LeMoine, Lieut. R. J. Hiller, Lieut. E. S. Green; Company Sergt. Major. B. Bartlett; band Sergt. Major M Willar.
Boy scouts’ Association
The year 1938 proved to be a very successful one in every way for the Boy Scouts Association of Grand Falls. During the year a fine program of activities was carried out successfully, and the revenue derived from various public undertakings exceeded that of 1937. The year began with the annual public meeting on the evening of January 20th. The following Executive and Committee were re-elected: Mr. H. S. Windele, Chairman; Mr. A. G. Ogilive, Vice-Chairmen; Mr. L. Moore, Secretary-Treasurer; Messrs. H. K. Goodyear, A. MacPherson, W. Morrow, R. N. Ripley, Executive Committee, Mr. A Bugden and Mr. H. Gilbert were elected to the Committee as new members. At the meeting also Mr. Harry Baird, a former member of the Committee, was appointed to the position of Group Scout Master. The group has enrolled during the year 170 members in the various units. The group now consists of two Wolf Cub packs, two Scout Troops, one Rover Crew and a band of twenty pieces.
The usual scout activities were carried out during the year. On February 22nd the Chief’s birthday, the Committee gave the boys of the Group the usual birthday dinner. The catering was done by the Ladies’ Auxiliary. The dinner was of the usual high standard and was thoroughly enjoyed by all present.
The Annual Summer Camp was held during the first two weeks in August at the Scout Camp site at Point Leamington. The Camp was the best in the history of the local organization, and was attended by nearly fifty boys. The camp was under the supervision of Group Scout Master Baird.
The band has added to its numbers and has continued to improve. During the year it was heard at several public functions. The Scout Orchestra, which is a branch of the band, pleased the people of Grand Falls with its selections on several occasions. In October the band went to Buchans, where it put on a concert and dance. Rover Monchy Harvey has been acting as Band and Orchestra instructor since the departure from town of Mr. Heber Noseworthy.
Sports and Festivities
The Association during the year sponsored the usual field and track athletic activities of the Group. The Scout Apple Day was held on October 29th. The receipts from the sale of apples exceeded those of last year by a fair amount. The Annual Scouts’ Ball and Drawing was held in the Town Hall on the evening of December 1st. There was a good sale of tickets on the jam chest and a large number of citizens attended the dance. Refreshments were served by the Ladies’ Auxiliary. This function put over five hundred dollars into the treasury of the Association.
The Scouts and Rovers held several private and public parties during the year in the Scout Hut. On the evening of December 8th the Group Social Committee held a farewell party at the Hut, in honor of three Scouts, H. Hollett, H. Powell and H. Downton, who were to be leaving during the month for England, to join the Royal Navy and Royal Air Force. Mrs. Steedman, wife of Mr. R. T. Steedman, Assistant Manager of the Anglo-Newfoundland Development Co. Ltd., on behalf of the Association, presented each boy with a pocket book containing currency. Mr. V. S. Jones, Manager of the Anglo-Newfoundland Development Co. Ltd., members of the Local Association, and many other citizens were present. The Anglo-Newfoundland Development Co. Ltd. is paying the traveling expenses of the boys who are joining His Majesty’s Forces. During the year the Local Association received a warrant from Headquarters and became registered as a District Association. Efforts are now being made to organize Scout Troops in neighboring settlements.
The total strength of Girl Guides, Brownies and Rangers at Grand Falls is 190; three Guide Companies, one Ranger Company and one Brownie Pack. Officers are: First Company; Captain Miss M Hanson; Lieutenant, Miss R. Ogilvie. Second Company; Captain Miss R. Sanger, Lieutenant, Miss C. Grace; Lieutenant, Miss E Hall. Third Company; Captain, Miss H Carter; Lieutenant, Miss A. Hall; Lieutenant, Miss R. Way. Brownies; Brown Owl, Miss M. Hall; Tawny Owl. Miss J Squibb. Rangers; Captain Mrs. G. Pitcher; Lieutenant, Miss M Parsons. District Commissioner, Mrs. E Campbell; Division Commissioner, Mrs. L. R. Cooper. All companies have had a very busy and successful year, and regular weekly meetings have been held with splendid attendance, keenness in Guiding is shown by the many Badges which have been won during the year. Great credit is due to the officers for the time and effort expended to perfect the guides in every branch of Guiding.
The first company have has a very good year. The proficiency badges gained are five Ambulance, six Nurse and one First Class badge. They made and sold candy; also sold tickets on a beautiful tea cloth and pillow cases, the proceeds amounting to $47.00 went towards the General Camp Fund. Dresses made for lady Middleton Shield Competition will help with the Needlewoman’s Badge
The Second Company have done splendid work during the year, and have gained six Sick Nurse, fourteen Entertainers, seven Domestic Service, and twenty Needlewoman’s Badges. Guides made and sold cookies and cakes, also cook books, to raise money, and gave one hundred dollars to the Local Association towards Guide’s Building Fund. As last year, they had a party at Christmas. Each Guide made a gift for the Christmas Tree. Toys and all the decorations must be home-made. This party is greatly looked forward to, and is a novel way of exchanging gifts.
Third Company have also done well in badge work. Ten girls are doing First Class Work. Proficiency Badges gained were fifteen entertainers, eight Hostess and four Cooks. Quite a number are now working for Cooks, Needlewoman’s and Domestic Service badges. All Guides are keen and are holding interest very well. This Company raised thirty-six dollars which was given to the General Camp fund. Much regret was felt with the resignation of Mrs. G. Sheppard, who has been Captain of the Third Company for seven years, during which time Mrs. Sheppard worked untiringly to build up the company, which was the smallest of the three, and no one who visited her Company could fail to note the thoroughness and ability in which it was run. The Company is now the largest, and in good standing, and much credit is due to Mrs. Sheppard. We also regret the resignation of Miss S. Garrett, Lieutenant, owing to ill health, and hope she will soon be well again. Miss Garrett is still interested in Guiding and is Secretary Treasurer for the Guilders Club.
Service has been greatly devoted to work for the Blind Institute. In the early spring a sale of work of handcrafts was held, and a goodly sum raised and sent to the Blind Institute. This cause is very needy, and any support would be greatly appreciated.
Brownies are still keen as ever, and meet Thursday afternoons at the Bridge Hall, instead of Saturday morning as formerly. Tawny Owl, Miss B Sheppard, who had to give up guiding to continue her musical studies, is greatly missed. During August, Miss Sheppard organized a picnic for the Brownies, which was to be held at the Fox Farm, but due to wet weather, had to be held at the Parish Hall. To compensate for the disappointment, the Brownies were taken for a bus drive along the Badger road which they greatly enjoyed. The old faithfulls, Miss M Hall, Brown Owl, and Miss J Squibb, Tawny Owl, always work diligently for the Brownies.
The Guilders Club are taking care of the General Camp fund, which enables any of the companies who wish, to go to camp. This year Mrs. E. Campbell, District Commander, and Mrs. G. Pitcher, Ranger Captain, went to camp with twenty-four Guides at Northern Arm, a very lovely and ideal camp-site. They were favored with very good weather, and all looked well after a very happy ten days at camp. The Guides do enjoy camping very much, and it is to be hoped that they will be able to go to Camp every year from now on. While at camp, the Guides spent a very happy afternoon as guests of the Church Lads Brigade, who were camping about a mile away, but were very sorry not to be able to spend a day at the Boy Scout’s camp at Point Leamington, owing to lack of transportation.
This year, owing to conditions at Grand Falls, the Garden Fete, which was such a success last year, and was to have been an annual event, had to be postponed, but we hope that the coming year will be much more prosperous. On October 31st. all Guides, Rangers and Brownies held a rally at the Brigade Hall for the purpose of presenting the Cups and Shields. Mrs. Jones’ Cups were presented to Guide Geraldine Grace, Second Company, Ranger Cup, Mrs. Fanny Downton, and Brownies Shield, Brownie Shiela Goodyear. The Miss Alderdice Shield was again presented to the First Company
It is very difficult to judge the winners of the Cups and Shields, and every year seems to get a bigger problem for the Commissioner and Local Association. Special prizes were donated by Mrs. Sheppard and Miss Garrett to the Guide with the most points, and the best attendance in the Third Company for the year, both of which were presented to Guide Clarice Way; also the Iris patrol with the most points.
In the absence of Mrs. V. S. Jones, Hon. President and donor of the cups and shields, Mrs. R. T. Steedman very kindly made the presentations, and made a short address. We were very glad to welcome Mrs. Steedman, and hope that she will visit us again in the near future. Mrs. L. R. Cooper thanked Mrs. Steedman, and as usual gave a message to the Guides reminding them of their Guide Promise. The evening closed with Taps and God Save the King. The two Guides, who went for training to England this year, were Miss Marjorie Hanson, Captain of the First Company and Miss Rose Carter, Captain of the Third Company. Special mention must be made of the Guides who took part in the C.L.B. sports this year. They did exceedingly well. The Pyramid Squad was really splendid and delighted all who attended Sports.
We are very glad to welcome back Miss J Hayward, who has now completed her studies in the U. S. A. and hope that very soon she will be able to help us in Guiding again. The Guides are supported by a strong local Association who have always ready and willing to give their much valued assistance. President Mrs. J. M Keddie, First Vice President, Mrs. A G Ogilvie, Second Vice President, Mrs. C Hayward, third Vice President Mrs. A. Bradbury, honorary Vice President, Mrs. H. C. Hanson, Secretary, Mrs. J Lind, and Treasurer, Mrs., R. N. Ripley.
Athletic Club—1938 Officers: Chairman — A. G. Noseworthy. Secty-Treas—E. M. Way. Football Section — Capt. Thomas House. Hockey Section — Capt. B Dackers. Basketball Section — Capt. R. Brown. Track Section — Capt. C. Edwards. Golf Section — Capt. L. R. Cooper. Tennis Section — Capt. H Windeler. Badminton Section — Capt. Dr. Minshull. Committee Members H. K. Goodyear, W. Matthews.
At the first meeting of the Executive following the annual meeting it was decided to make a drive for club memberships, the result, however was not as good as anticipated. This may be accounted for by the “short-time” in the mill and the necessary shutdowns.
Hockey started the first week of January with four teams competing for the League Championship. The surprising upsets during the winter, may be accounted for by having three strong teams, C.L.B., C.C.C., and Guards. The games started off with the teams in mid-season form, and fans soon saw the likely prospects for a good winter’s hockey, and packed the rink in their numbers for every game. The third round saw the three teams neck and neck for the championship, and the much coveted honor of a trip out of town. The C.L.B. who for the past ten years have been a thorn in the side of many champions, were successful in carrying off the honors, after playing off with the C.C.C.,who were declared Tie-Cup winners, by winning the third round.
This season the Mercantile Hockey League was formed, and Mr. James Parsons, Assistant Manager of the Grand Falls Co-Operative Society Ltd., was elected President; Mr. F. House of the E. V. Royal Stores Ltd., Secretary-Treasurer. Four teams competed for a beautiful trophy, donated by Mr. S. E. Tuma of Corner Brook. Following were the four teams: E. V. Royal Stores Ltd.; G. F. Co-Operative Society Ltd; G. F. Fire Brigade Ltd.; Windsor. The boys in blue and white of the Royal Stores were successful in having their names inscribed on the trophy, as the 1938 Champions.
The Junior Hockey League was re-organized this year. The young lads of the C.C.C. captured top honors after a hard battle with the Guards. Great interest was taken in the Juniors, and the fans showed their appreciation by packing the rink and giving the reams a big hand. A beautiful trophy was presented by Mr. Chafe of the Mutual Life. In keeping with the policy of the club, various teams were invited here to play special series with our local stars. Two towns accepted the invitation, Bay Roberts Rovers, who were no strangers, as fans have had the pleasure of watching their flashy plays on two other occasions, and Harbor Grace, a new team that won the hearts of the fans for their ability to take defeats and play the game. To this team we say “Will ye no come back again.”
The result of the play downs was no doubt very pleasing to the sporting public of Grand Falls. Corner Brook, having won from Buchans, played our All Stars team at Grand Falls, resulting in our winning the Western Division Championship and the E. V. Royal Stores trophy for 1938. The Rink Committee tried to arrange with the Athletic Club at Buchans, to have their teams play a special series here, but owing to some local trouble the idea had to be forgotten.
After playing the final game of the Western Division Play-downs on Saturday night, the Grand Falls team, accompanied by the C.L.B. local league champs, left for St. John’s Sunday morning, to compete in the All-Newfoundland Championship play-downs. After a long and tiresome trip to the capital on a paper train, the team saw Bell Island play the City Champs, St. Bon’s, and on the following night, played the Bell Island team for the right to meet the St. Bon’s team, for the All-Newfoundland Championship. After a hard and tiresome sixty minutes, we were victorious, and on the following night, lined up against St. Bon’s, for what turned out to be a whitewashing. However, we were not downhearted, and we are living to see the day when we will give St. Bon’s, or some other City Champions, a dose of their own medicine. A lot of credit is due the hockey section Captain, C. L. Power, who was also Manager of the Grand Falls All-Star team. He is a hard worker and has the interest of hockey at heart.
Football got away at an early start in June, with five teams competing for the championship and Tie-Cup series. It was an uphill fight between the Guards, C.L.B., and Bishop’s Falls, the latter winning top honors, which entitled them to visit St. John’s where they spent a very enjoyable week in spite of defeat.
The Club Executive arranged for a joint visit of the B.I.S. football and baseball teams from St. John’s. This series was very much enjoyed by all that had the pleasure of seeing the teams in action, and we are looking forward to another visit in 1939. Several games were played during the season with ship teams from Botwood, also with teams from the Airport and Springdale. We trust we shall have the pleasure of renewing friendship with those teams next year.
Baseball saw four teams in the Senior League, C.L.B., Scouts, Cadets and Guards. It was a battle of pitchers and skill, with the old rivals out in front — the Guards winning from the Cadets after a triple play-off. Tie-Cup honors were won by the C.L.B. The Guards visited Corner Brook to play a series with their All-Star team, and bad luck must have come to them by changing their mascot from a horseshoe to a bear cub. Several Junior games were played, and the school series proved that baseball is still Grand Fall’s most popular game. The Grand Falls Academy were the winners in a series that would open the eyes of many big league players.
The Track Section, under the able leadership of the old reliable Charlie Edwards, proved to be a grand success again this year. The Annual sports Day was well attended by competitors, if not by the public. The Track team visited Bell Island and St. John’s under the management of C. Edwards, and a lot of credit is due the team on the wonderful showing they made. With little support, it is hoped that the “Daily News” Trophy may adorn the mantle of our club. N. Pinsent, winner of the local ten mile road race, visited St. John’s and made a good showing, considering the opposition and the new course.
The Basketball Section is something new but we hope to have enough interest created in the game to start a regular playing schedule this spring.
Junior Sports Day
The fourth annual Junior sports Day was held on July 4th. The day was observed as a general holiday in the town. A large number of children arrived from Bishop’s Falls, Badger and Botwood. An excellent program was arranged, and the prizes donated by the Anglo - Newfoundland Development Co., Ltd. were greatly appreciated by the successful winners, who were as follows:--- Kindergarten Boys: 1st. G. Foley; 2nd. W. Scott; 3rd C. Pitcher. 1st. L. Lindahl; 2nd. G. Bradley; 3rd. J. Cochrane. 1st. R. Dawe; 2nd. F. Rockwood; 3rd. R. Tilley. Kindergarten girls: 1st. C. Crawley; 2nd. C. Parsons; 3rd. P. Pitcher. 1st.M. Saunders; 2nd. G. Saunders; 3rd. E. Mercer. 1st.M Hannon; 2nd. M. Rose, 3rd I Croke. 100 Yards Boys: 14-14 years — 1st R. Matthews, 2nd. J. Burke, 3rd. W. Ball. 12-14 years—1st R Thorne; 2nd. R. hiller; 3rd R. Randell. 100 Yards Girls: 14-16 years —1st. N. Conway; 2nd. J Rockwood; 3rd. M. Pitcher. 12-14 years — 1st. E. Mercer; 2nd. I Randell;3rd. J Mercer. 75 Yards Boys: 10-12 years — 1st F. Conway; 2nd. H O’Reilly; 3rd. V. Mercer. 8-10 Years — 1st. R. Colbourne ;2nd H Roberts; 3rd W Penny. 75 Yards Girls: 10-12 years — 1st F. Conway; 2nd. E. Mercer 3rd. W. Pitcher. 8-10 years — 1st P. Duke 2nd P Peckford; 3rd P Foley. 60 Yards Boys: Under 9 years — 1st L Edwards; 2nd R Raines; 3rd R. Rendall. Girls under 9 years: — 1st E. Power; 2nd C. Crawley; 3rd I King.
Sack Race Boys Under 16 years: 1st A LeDrew; 2nd. J Cordolas; 3rd J Penney. 50 Yards Girls: Under 16 years — 1st D. Hart; 2nd R. Duggan; 3rd. J Parsons. Egg and Spoon Girls, 16 years — 1st Vera Shirron; 2nd P Duke; 3rd T. Green. Potato Race Girls: 1st. L Pike; 2nd W. Pitcher; 3rd M. Keefe. Boys — 1st J Penney; 2nd H. A. Shea, R. Davis. Wheelbarrow Race Boys: 1st W. Ball; . H. Forward ; 2nd A Shea, R. Davis. Throwing a Baseball - Boys 13-16 years — 1st N Borrow; 2nd R. Tulk ; 3rd H. Pretty. High Jump Boys Under 13 years—1st A Mercer; 14-16 years—1st. W. Ball ; 2nd. R. Mill; 3rd J Tremblett. 12-14 Years— 1st(4'6"); 2nd B Eveleigh; 3rd H. Elliott. Broad Jump Boys 14-16 years — 1st R. Matthew; 2nd W. Ball; 3rd. A Mercer. 12-14 years— 1St. O. Strickland; 2nd H. forward; 3rd V. Mercer. Thread-the-Needle girls 1st J parsons; 2nd A Cornick 3rd H Roberts. Slow Bicycle Race: Boys — 1st W. Cochrane; 2nd G. Randell. Girls— 1st. P. Goodyear 2nd V. Morgan; F. Baird. Pick-a-Back Race: Boys — 1st R. Thorne, 2nd R Tulk 3rd J Boone. Girls — 1st L King; 2nd J Tobin; 3rd J Pond.
Parents should take a greater interest, and realize that their co-operation is needed to make their Children’s Day a success. On this occasion the B.P.O. “Elks” opened their Childrens Play ground and the field was bedecked with many new pieces of playground apparatus. On this matter too, we ask the general public to support the Elks. They have undertaken a big job in providing entertainment for the children of Grand Falls, and as an Athletic Club, we stand behind them
The Executive takes this opportunity to thank the general public for their support and co-operation during the past year, and trust we shall have the pleasure of having their whole-hearted support during the coming winter, when we shall operate a skating rink, jointly with Grand Falls Skating rink Company Ltd. This agreement has been supported to make the Rink as comfortable as possible, so that you may enjoy the games and skating. We heartily thank Umpires, Scorer, Referees, Timekeepers, Messrs. G. V. Evans, N. Baird, Chas. Grace, F. Shapleigh, Jas. Hanaford, Jan Waugh, R. H. Hayward, J Molloy, H. Baird, W. J. Short, and all who contributed in any way to help sport, especially the Anglo-Newfoundland Development Co., Ltd., for their generous donations towards the expenses of the out-of-town trips. To one and all we say one more “Thank you”.
Grand Falls Golf Club
The Season of 1938 has proved to be a very prosperous one for the Club. Many factors go to emphasize this, not the least of which is the increase in membership, and the vast improvements in the standard of play, due to the improvements made and the new equipment added, which has increased the interest of all players and potential members. Mr. F. J. Humphrey presented a silver trophy to the Club, which is to represent the “Club Championship Cup”. It is to be played each year, matched play, no handicap. It was won this year by Mr. Charles Giles.
In July, the club sent a team to Corner Brook to play for the Cochrane Trophy, which Grand Falls won for the first time. This trophy is an Inter-Town Cup, and has to be completed for on the course of the Club that holds it. Later in the season, a combined team of players from Grand Falls and Corner Brook, went to St. John’s and played a series of matches against Bally Haly Club.And although the home team won, some good matches were played, and the experience of all concerned was much appreciated. It is to be hoped that next season, Bally Haly will send a team to Grand Falls, and that matches will become an annual event.
The course record for 1938 was established by two members, Mr. L. R. Cooper, and Mr. C. Renouf, with a score of 78. This is one stroke lower that of former years, held by Mr. F. Rockwood. Considerable interest was shown in monthly competitions, and many of the newer members played their way into the winning places. Thus the season has passed and it can be expressed without doubt by all members, that the year has been a successful one.
Grand Falls Tennis Club
The Grand Falls Tennis Club is now the possessor of courts, of which any town might well be proud. The asphalt surface gives true, accurate and fast play, and requires practically, no maintenance. The outstanding event of the season was the Newfoundland Club Championship matches for the Lever Cup, held here on July 23rd to 26th. The Western Division was won by Corner Brook, who defeated Grand Falls by 3 matches to 2. The Eastern Section was won by Bally Haly, and in the final play-off, Corner Brook won by some brilliant play, by 5 matches to nil. All were sincere in their congratulations to Corner Brook on their well earned victory taken, by which the Lever Cup was taken from St. John’s for the first time.
The customary matches with Buchans were played in July and August, these matches between the two towns, providing a means of friendly contact, are thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated by all concerned.
Efforts were made this season to develop the Junior Section. This resulted in a membership of over 40 juniors. They had the use of the courts all day during the school holidays, and they utilized their privilege to the full; and it is believed there are several promising players developing who, it is hoped, will bring new honors to the club in a few years time. It is hoped that even more interest will be taken in the Juniors next season, to develop the talent that is undoubtedly present in the town.
Mining town of Buchans Under Spotlight
700 Men Working full Time— Fresh Ore Deposit Discovered—Extra Construction
Output of Concentrates Shows Increases Over 37
Social And athletic Doing Speeds Up Pace of Life For People Of Buchans
Prospecting And Mine Development
Diamond Drilling was carried on throughout the year by Sprague Henwood Inc, Part of the drilling was done from underground, working 400 feet below the surface in Lucky Strike mine. On the first day of the year, this drilling resulted in the discovery of a body of additional ore, and it is believed that this discovery will add almost one year’s life to the operation of the mine. Most of the Diamond Drilling was done from the surface in the immediate neighborhood, or within a mile or two of Buchans; no ore was struck in any of these drill holes. A large amount of mining was done by the square set cut and fill methods, which requires much timbering, etc., and in which birch timber, planks, etc. are used to a large extent. Large quantities of the material for this work were supplied by local contractors.
The price of Concentrates were much reduced in 1938 as is evidenced from the table below, showing average price of Copper, Led, and Zinc for the years of 1937 and 1938.
Copper Lead Zinc
Per Lb. Per Long Ton Per long Ton
1937 13.02c l23.31 l22.34
1938 9.74c l15.30 l4.05
(l = pound)
The lowest metal price was in May and June. In June Copper averaged 8.50 cents and Lead l13.99 . The Zinc price was down to an average of l 12.78 in May. The latest available price of December 9th was: – Copper 10.32c, Lead l14.93, Zinc l13.52. The present drop in the l Sterling exchange rate also resulted in reduction of the price Lead and Zinc Concentrates.
The first boat for the season, the S. S. “E. H. Fisser,” sailed from Botwood on May 3 for Antwerp. The “Dosca” is now at Botwood preparing to sail, and the last boat for the season is due to arrive shortly. Besides the two mentioned were: S.S. Borgetad, Christoph V, Doornum, S.S. Laponia, S.S. K. H. Fisser, S.S. Brynge, S.S. Oxeliesund, S.S. Bertha Fisser, S.S. Baldur, S.S. Norman Monarch, S. S. Chr. Kundsen. There will be 26 shipments in all to complete the season’s shipping, which were and all will be made to the following ports: –
Estimated Concentrate Shipments for 1938:
Copper Lead Zinc Gravity
Destination Cones. Cones. Cones. Cones. Total
Tacoma Wash 29,808 29,808
Avonmouth 41,224 41,224
Swansea 6,652 6,652
Bordeaux 7,878 7,878
Dunkirk 1,797 1,797
La Pallice 11,984 11,984
Calais 4,557 4,557
Antwerp 39,892 39,269 396 79,557
Hamburg 4,223 4,223
Nordenham 7,392 7,392
_____ ____ _____ ____ ______
28,88 44,115 120,663 396 194,982
Year 1938 Year 1937
Short Dry Tons Short Dry Tons
Estimated tonnage of ore milled
And to be milled: 458,000 453,700
Concentrates produced and to be
Produced from above ore:
Copper Concentrates 32,000 31,361
Lead Concentrates 46,000 41,423
Zinc concentrates 121,000 119,669
Gravity Concentrates 350 571
Labor: The total number of men employed at the close of 1938 and working full time is some 700.
In the mill, two new classifiers were installed in September, to improve the grinding of the ore. At the same time, Copper-Lead Flotation was re-arranged, to make it possible to split this operation into two units, whenever comparative tests of reagents and operating methods would be helpful. For more speedy unloading of concentrates, and for unloading coal and other supplies, a 1 3/4 cubic yard excavator was put in operation in May. Pumps, hydraulic equipment, and scrapers, were installed at Oriental mine for stripping of soil, clay and gravel, and to use part of this material for stop-fill in the mine.
As a large number of employees made requests for houses, the Company constructed four apartment houses, each to accommodate four families, provided with five room apartments. A considerable number of extensions, additions and improvements were made during the year to the living quarters of married employees. All the apartment houses constructed this year, are supplied with light, water and sewer and all modern conveniences. A two story bunkhouse, with individual rooms for two or three men, was built in October - November. This bunkhouse, like the others is steam heated and laid out in the dormitory style. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely laid out. A water fountain for the use of the men was installed in the hallway.
Due to the number of teachers being increased in the Public School, additions were made to the apartment houses for the school teachers, as well as an addition to school house No. 2, due to an increase in the number of pupils. With these additions, the school property now presents a very pleasing picture, and having its own heating system, affords all the comfort necessary.
The Hospital, which is owned and operated by the Company, was enlarged considerably, extra rooms and living quarters being constructed. The Exploits Valley Royal Stores and the Buchans Workman’s Co-Operative Society stores, were also extended and enlarged, and both these buildings being of considerable size now present a fine appearance. To improve the town water supply a filter for the water treatment plant was installed and put in operation. Besides the above, numerous minor jobs were attended to and completed.
The new steel bridge crossing Mary March River, was completed, and the Waterford Bridge was rebuilt on concrete piers. Both these jobs were supervised by J. C. Mews, and were very well and speedily done.
An extension of 120 feet to the storage shed at Botwood, used for the storing of concentrates, was completed in February. This work was satisfactorily carried out by the contractors, J Goodyear & Sons, Grand Falls. Buchans Public Schools re opened on September 1st. The new school brought several signs of growth and progress. There is definitely now an upper and a lower school. The later comprising Kindergarten to Grade 4, and the former Grades 5 to 11.
The staff consists of six teachers: Mr. C. A. Howse, B. A., Principal, Miss D. L. French, B.A. Vice-Principal; Miss F. G. Ford; Miss L. F. Spencer; Miss H. I. Flight; Miss O. F. Field, B.A. This is an increase of one teacher over the previous year. The kindergarten meets each morning and enjoys an up-to-date routine including, rhythmic training, and percussion band work. In Grades 1-4 the curriculum is followed quite closely with interest. Extra reading is obtained from the School Library of 300 books, supervised by a student librarian. Singing forms an important part of the timetable and is a feature of the daily Assembly. The upper school has a beauty all its own; it was started in July 1937 and partially used this year; tastefully tinted walls and woodwork, excellent lighting and seating accommodation create an atmosphere conducive to learning.
In the upper grades the Art class attempts to beautify further their rooms with varied forms of self expression and posters of Geographical and Historical interest. A further evidence of growth lies in the Science laboratory. Hitherto, this work was conducted at a disadvantage in the classroom, and a well equipped laboratory is a welcome change.
The three school houses; Britannia; Terra Nova and Viking, which were formed five years ago, are still thriving; with the introduction of a new House shield in September, bearing the name of last year’s house winner — Terra Nova – interest has definitely increased in this school activity. The situation of Buchan’s Public School is such geographically, that is must always serve as a centre of social and educational interest. With this in mind, attempts were made to form a school rink, which has materialized, and there is an unquestioned interested in the undertaking, and certainly no lack of assistance. Evening classes are conducted for matriculation students and several have availed themselves of the opportunity which they doubtless miss when attending school. In a town of this nature, there must of necessity be continual changes, and changes must lead to growth and improvement. A glance over the history of the school will reveal the constant existence of these two factors, and their influence upon the life of the community.
Church of England
The year 1938 has been a quietly progressive one for the Church of England in Buchans. The congregation is still the smallest in number in the town, though the influx of transient workers during the year added to our Sunday congregation, and increased our funds. The women of the congregation in the Guild of St. Mary the Virgin, continued their good work throughout the year. As a result of their effort, early in October, the Rector was able to announce that the congregation was entirely out of debt. This consummation leaves the congregation free now to concentrate on other good work, particularly the beautifying and enchantment of the interior of the little Church of St. John the Divine.
The Sunday School continued its splendid work throughout the year. The attendance was particularly good during the summer holidays. There are over sixty pupils registered, and the Sunday attendance is splendid. During the year Mr. Thomas Cave found it necessary to resign his position as Superintendent. His resignation was most reluctantly accepted by the Rector, who then appointed Mr. Hubert Brown to carry on the work. Under Mr. Brown’s superintendence, assisted by a devoted band of loyal teachers, the good standard of this Sunday School is sure to maintained.
Church Lads Brigade
The Church Lads Brigade is an integral part of the Church of England life in Buchans. This year has seen improvement in every branch of Brigade work. Regular meetings have been held under the command of Captain E. G. Bartlett, and steady progress made in drill and exercise. The Corps has just been equipped with the new uniform, and the lads look very smart on the periodic public parades. The flourishing drum and bugle band has been established and this adds considerable “Vim” to the branch.
A very outstanding event of the year’s work was the “Exhibition” held in November, to commemorate the 46th Anniversary of the Brigade. This Exhibition was initiated and carried through by Lieut. Ralph Colyer. The public of Buchans showed their interest in the C.L.B. by a crowded hall, at times there was not comfortable standing room. The lads acquitted themselves splendidly and the whole reflected exceptional credit upon the officers giving their training, and in this case especially upon Lieut. Ralph Colyer. The staff of the C.L.B. at Buchans now is: — Chaplain — Rev. G. H. Maidment. O.C. — Capt. E.G. Bartlett. 2nd in command — Lieut. Gordon Heals. Adjutant — 2nd Lieut. Thomas Cave. Adjutant — 2nd Lieut. Ralph Colyer. Carry on C.L.B.
G.W.V.A. Buchans Branch
The Buchans branch of this well known organization has been very busy the past year under the guidance of : – President — J.C. Mews. 1st. Vice-President — (Rev.) G. H. Maidment . 2nd Vice-President — W. J. Cuff. Secretary-Treasurer — H. T. Wells. To help along their activities, the executive thought it would be a good idea to enlist the service of the ladies, so early in July a Ladies Auxiliary became a reality, its first officers being: President — Mrs Levi Hollett. Secretary — Mrs. M. J Glavine. Treasurer — Mrs. C. A. Howse. The initial venture was “Forget me Not” day, then followed “Poppy Day”, when the sums realized were far ahead of expectations, and the ladies were on the job early and late, and to judge by the poppy wearers, its seems they sold a Poppy to every individual in town.
The annual Armistice Dance was a great success, and here again the ladies excelled themselves in co-operation, and their handling of the refreshments was great. The Star Hall was nicely decorated to suit the occasion by Miss Flo Ford, and the large crowd in attendance spent a very enjoyable night. Membership has increased slightly during the year. In November it was decided to fence the Memorial Grounds on Main Street and this has now been done, as well as cleaning up and leveling off the surroundings. When the summer comes around the place will look very nice. The cost of this work was reduced somewhat by a donation from the Buchans Mining Co.
The writer has been asked to thank all the people of Buchans for their kindness, help, and financial support to this worthy organization, since its inception, and it is very gratifying to realize that the continuation of such support will help the G.W.V.A. to carry on their deeds of goodness and perpetuation.
Social and Athletic Activities
So much has been written about “Sports” the past year that a review of Buchans sport activities may not appeal to a number of your readers. However, their attention may be gained when it is realized, that in a town like Buchans, (37 miles off the Main line) only most of us who live and work here may appreciate what the word “Sport” means to the residents of this town. The other industrial centers have their highway and cars etc., to go and come as they wish, but due to the limited life and location of the mining town, it is out of the question to indulge in such benefits, hence the town as a whole, reverts to the various branches of sport in a very ambitious manner.
The need of an Athletic Club was seen in the early days of Buchans, and in 1928 the organization of the Buchans Social and Athletic Club proved a wise and necessary move. This Club has guided and supervised all kinds of sport since that time, and as a tribute to the good work done by those in charge, it would be opportune to quote from a speech made at a smoker given to the Buchans hockey Team in 1937, when they won the Western Division Championship. “The public of Buchans should feel grateful to those who have given so much of their time and energy in arranging the sports in this town, and show that gratefulness, by becoming a member of the B.S. and A.C. Membership is the backbone of any organization”
The annual meeting of the club was held on November 23rd, and the following were elected to office: President E. M. (Aubble) Martin; !st. Vice President A. E. Robertson; 2nd vice President Robert C. Brookie; Secretary, F. J Lukins; Treasurer, Patrick A Bennett; Auditors, Mr. C .S .Freeman, Mr. T. A King; Committee F. I. Robinson, C. A. Howse, S. McIssac, B. Connoly, Thomas Hunt, W. H. Maher, R. J. Chafe. The election was conducted by Mr. C. Freeman in his usual fine way. The Outgoing officers were given a warm thanks and a big hand for their efforts when in office.
The hockey section was formed early in November, and the following were elected to office for the coming season. Chairman W. H. Maher; Treasurer, P A. Bennett. The result of last year’s hockey was an unexpected loss of the Western Division Championship to Buchans, as the writer was and still is of the opinion that “We had it in the bag”. But as it is always the unexpected that happens, we were not even “in it”. Unforeseen circumstances weakened our team, but they traveled to Corner Brook uncertain but determined, and they played the game of their lives, to overcome a 3 goal lead, tie up the score, and lose out by the narrowest margin — one goal. Never mind boys, perseverance will eventually realize your ambitions.
The local league championship was won by the Mill team, for the second successive year, and they showed their superiority right through the season. They deserved their win and played good hockey, and are determined to win the third victory necessary to own the trophy (cup) donated by Mr. Edward Epstein. This year we regret to say we lack the service of Charles Godden and Gordon Edwards, two fine players, who helped a great team last year. Godden resigned his job and returned to College, and Edwards accepted a position at Bell Island. No doubt we will hear of their activities during the season.
Rumor has it that some new blood will be available for the various teams this year, and if so, it is good news, as they can effectively fit in with some of the younger players here, who no doubt will surprise many when they get going.
This year the Rink Management is controlled by A. E. Robertson, Chairman; J. C. Phillips, Secretary; P Bennett, Treasurer. At time of writing, wonderful progress has been make, and all work, except dressing rooms, is about completed, and the well used question “is the Rink Flooded?” can be answered in the affirmative.
There wasn’t any “kick” to the football section last year, and that is about the only thing can be said about it. The section formed to attend the football, are not all to blame, as they called several meetings for organizing teams, etc. but lost heart when the response expected was not available. The writer sees no reason why football in Buchans should not come back stronger that ever next year. If we lacked the players, that would be a good reason, but we have them just as good here, as any place, and games with Grand Falls, Corner Brook, Bishop’s Falls and other towns, should be eagerly and easily arranged. What about it you fellows — is it too much to expect to have a representative track and football team at Grand Falls on Labor Day? I ask those of you in Buchans who read this, to consider it seriously and give it your support.
This fine game has been abandoned here the past two years, and the only interest taken in it the past season, was by the school boys who had a series of games, but the attendance was very poor.
Buchans boasts of two fine Tennis Courts — one controlled by the Buchans Tennis Club and the other by the Star of the Sea Tennis Club. Both courts were kept busy all the playing season, and some fine games were played at times. The Buchans Tennis Club held their annual meeting on May 11th 1938. The following were elected to office; President H. R. Blackler; Vice president Dr. A G. Hill; Treasurer P. M. Schear, Secretary F. O’Brien; Committee, Mrs. Gilchrist, Miss Keiley, Messrs J C Mews W. A. Dawe. There seemed to be much more tennis played by all members of the club this year, than ever before. Early in the season, a ladies Singles Tournament was played, and resulted in Mrs. A. E. Robertson winning the prize.
The annual visit from the Grand Falls Tennis Club occurred in July, and although Buchans lost out in the games, everybody seemed to enjoy themselves, which is just as important. In August, Buchans paid a visit to Grand Falls, and suffered another defeat, but all, voted the week end a very enjoyable one. This trip to the Falls would ordinarily finish up the season, but this year, owing to the interest of Mr. and Mrs. G. C. Thomas, we played until very late in the season for prizes kindly donated by Mrs. Thomas. The final results; Mixed Doubles won by Mrs. Gilchrist and H. L. McKinlay; Mens doubles won by A. E. Robertson and Earl Pike. Our Club is fortunate in having as a member Mr. D. R. Evans, who was runner up to Mr. W Shakespeare in the open championship held at St. John’s in August.
The construction of a swimming pool last year, which was given mention in the Daily News at the time, was a worthy addition to the recreation facilities of the town, and it was a particularly busy spot all the season. A special committee of the B.A. and A. Club supervise its activities, and the next year it is hope to run off a swimming meet for children and adults.
The annual Ski race was again sponsored by Mr. and Mrs. P. W. George, and proved a very successful one. The winners; First (Men) Norman Makinson; Second D. Griffiths, Jr.; First (Women) Mrs. Gordon Rowsell; Second Mrs. C. A. Mews. The finish between some of the contestants proved very exciting, and the shouts of encouragement from the supporters, seemed to pep up those who were thinking of slowing up the last few feet. A goodly number entered, and started off by the Residents Heating Plant — the start was almost as perfect as the weather. When the last one in got a rest, all assembled at the home of Mr. and Mrs. George, where rapid action was renewed on the fine display of food. A lot of thanks is due the sponsors of this yearly event, and particularly so, when it is realized they hand out the prizes for the day as well.
Under the guidance of Adjutant D. Goulding, the Salvation Army in Buchans has shown increased activity in many ways. Early in 1938 the formation of a band was undertaken, and with eight players to date, the progress has been satisfactory. To purchase some of the instruments for the new band, a contribution list was opened, and Adjutant Goulding is very pleased with the generosity of the people of Buchans. It is the intention to serenade the town during Christmas week, and this will be something new to some of us here.
Three lantern Lectures were giving during the year, and the attendance at each was quite pleasing. The needs of the younger generation are not overlooked, and three Brigades have been formed as follows: Church Brigade, (Small boys); Sunbeam Brigade, (small girls); Troop Guards (young women). The Sunday School class numbers 70, and the attendance and work done has been very gratifying to the Supervisors.
The Grand Falls band, under Band Master Hiscock, visited Buchans some time ago, and ran a very successful band concert. During their visit, they kindly played some selections for the men at the Bunkhouses, and their thoughtfulness was appreciated by those who heard them. It’s the little thing that counts.
General: Total Births up to December.15th — 73. Total Deaths — 9. Total Marriages — 15 (All Denominations).
Passing of A. D. Butler
The sudden passing of Mr. A. D. Butler, Mine Foremen with the Company, was felt by all his friends here. Coming from Salt Lake City about a year ago, to take up his duties at Oriental Mine, he became very well liked and made many friends. Suffering from a cold, he stayed home for a few days, but suddenly he took a turn for the worst, and his illness on Wednesday, to his passing on Sunday evening, was quite a shock to many of us. He leaves a wife and three children, who have returned to Salt Lake City, where the remains were forwarded for burial. All arrangements were attended to in this matter by the B. M. Company.
Passing of John Glavine
Mr. John Glavine, employed by B. M. Company for the past ten years, passed away at his home on Thursday, December 14th in his 71st year. This news was received with regret by his many friends, to whom he was always know as “Uncle John”. His passing was not unexpected, as he had been confined to his bed for the past month. The remains were forwarded to Grand Falls, where the burial took place on Saturday morning. The many floral tokens showed how much he was thought of. To his wife and family we extend our sympathy.
A large increase in membership, during the early part of the yea,r created greater interest in the activities of the B.W.P. Union, and resulted in an office being built for the purpose of holding executive meetings and committee meetings, and the collection of dues, etc. During the year there was a working agreement for the benefit of members, signed between the Buchans Mining Company, Ltd., and the B.W.P Union. Best of good will and co-operation exists between the Union and the Company, which we feel sure will continue in the future. Our Union had a representative attend the convention of the Nfld. Trades and Labor Council, held in St. John’s in September, which as already mentioned in the press, was a very successful one.
The present officers of the Union are; President Mr. Harrison Reid; Vice President Mr. David Head, Assit. President Mr. T. A. King; Treasurer, B.J. Brynildsen; Financial Secretary James J Lane; Recording Secretary M.F. Armstrong; Grand Marhall, James S Byrne; Committee’ Messrs. Gordon Smith, John Newman, S.A. Grandy, Dawe Rideout, William Warren, J Fitzpatrick. Two honorary and charter members died during the year. The late John Head, Sr. and John Glavine. The writer wishes all the members a Prosperous New Year.
“Mammy’s Bakery” Has Gone Places In 7 Years
New machinery Rigid Inspection, and Quality Products, Spell Continued Success for This Well-Known Establishment.
Many successful business establishments throughout the world, are very well satisfied, if in the first ten years of their existence, they entrench themselves firmly in the life of the community in which they exist. It is not so many which get to the front rank in six or seven years, and if that happens, there must be a reason. In this country it is a well recognized fact, that the people who deserve trade best, get it, and all good business men here realize, that in order to secure a share of the business that is going, they must gain the confidence of the people, that the products they have to offer are value for the price that is asked. It is simply because Mammy’s Bakery have at all times been known for the quality goods that they offer, that their rise to prominence in the business life of the city has been so rapid.
It is true, that in business, as in other things, there are ups and downs, but these have to be taken as a matter of course. Reverses are no stranger to the manager of this firm. When he started business first, in a small out of the way place on George Street, he received very little encouragement, and one less determined than he might have ended at this stage, but he had courage and the will to go on, and believing that quality would soon establish him, he set a very high standard, and that has never been lowered. It was not long before he saw evidence of his belief, and in a remarkably short space of time, he had to moved from George Street to the spacious building in Alexander Street, which is now so well known. And all that has been in a short seven years.
To show how much progress has been made by Mammy’s, it is but necessary to state that in the seven years, he has had to constantly install new and more machinery, and during the past year he has installed another new oven. This is the third one since he opened business. This is capable of turning out 300 loves of bread very forty minutes. Other machinery has also been added in order to keep the plant up to the minute and make it easier for the firm to cope with demand for the high class goods which is constantly coming in. Mammy’s products are of the very widest variety. “Holsum” Bread, which was established soon after the new building was taken over, continues to occupy its place in popularity, but bread is but one of the lines. Fancy baking of all kinds, is done, and many people prefer to purchase those goods, rather than go to the trouble of making them, because they know that Mammy’s quality is as good as the home made article.
Another reason why the standard has not decreased is that personal supervision is given. Mr. W. S. Stephens is a first class baker himself, and he has brought his knowledge into his business. Last year, he obtained the assistance of his brother, who is also an expert in the line. Customers then, can be assured, that nothing goes out of Mammy’s that is not passed as first class by the people who know the difference.
Water Street Store
The water Street Store of Mammy’s is well known. Here the products of the bakery are sold, and in addition, a first class restaurant is conducted on modern lines. People down town, find it very convenient to drop into Mammy’s, and have a lunch, knowing as they do, that the menu is always first class. At this store there is also carried a full line of confectionery, and this too, is manufactured at the plant, which is well equipped for it.
Last year Mammy’s established a plant on Bell Island, and machinery was moved over there. As yet, however, a building that is required has not been obtained, and rather than have goods turned out under difficulties, Mr. Stephens has not pushed the business on the Island. However, last winter when there was an ice blockade of Conception Bay, he had the plan working, and the people on the Island appreciated the opportunity of getting high class products when they wanted them. It is proposed to extend the business on Bell Island when opportunity offers.
During the year now ending, Mr. Stephens unfortunately, had to enter Hospital for an operation. He was gone some weeks ill, and that delayed his plans considerably. However, he is now well on the road to complete recovery, and looks forward to a better year in 1939.
Despite his business activities, Mr. Stephens finds time to engage in social life to some extent, and at parties he is very popular because of his genial personality. He is a keen bowler, and last year gave the newly formed City bowling League a good send off, when he presented a beautiful cup for competition. His own team in the league did well, too, and much of its success was due to the bowling of the proprietor. Mammy’s have every confidence in the future.
REPRESENTS FIRMS KNOWN WORLD WIDE
Business of Late William Barker Taken Over by His Daughter Winifred
The business of the late William Barker, Manufacturers’ and Company Agent, is now being managed by his daughter, Miss Winifred Barker. In the years he conducted this business, Mr. Barker earned the goodwill of the trade, and build up a reputation for reliability and integrity, which together with the reputation of the firms he represented, has placed the business on a very sound foundation.
Among the firms now represented by Miss Barker, are Messrs. C. and E. Morton Ltd., of London, England, whose products are known the world over, and maintain their popularity in Newfoundland, Messrs. Huntley and Palmers Ltd., famous biscuit makers of Reading England; T. Webster and Co., Ltd. of Liverpool, England, Manufacturers of Ink and Ink Powders, Sealing wax etc; also Blake Lee Company, Fruit and Produce Brokers of Boston, U.S.A. and the Carter Medicine Company of New York; Messrs Davis and Fraser of Halifax, N.S. and The Island Cold Storage Co., Ltd., of Charlottetown, P. E. I. The products of these firms enjoy a well deserved popularity in Newfoundland, and can be relied upon to be of the highest quality, and to give very satisfaction.
Miss Barker comes to this business with a good knowledge of the work, having been for ten years on the staff of T. A. MacNab and co., Ltd., well known Manufacturers’ Agents, resigning her position with that firm, to look after her father’s business during his illness. The office is located in the Daily News Building, Duckworth Street.
Large Number Tourists Favour Newfoundland
Enquiries At Peak Through Number of Visitors Down Due To U. S. Depression.
Extended Motor Roads Would Be Great Boom To Local Tourist Trade
It is with much regret that the Tourist Board reports a slight falling off in the number of visitors to Newfoundland this year. In large measure, this was due to the pronounced depression that prevailed in the United States during the 1938 travel season. However, what was lacking in numbers, was more the compensated for in quality; it was particularly noticeable that there was a substantial increase in the number of visitors who came here for an extended trip. This is the objective towards which the Newfoundland Tourist Development Board has been working for many years, and it now looks as if their efforts to develop Britain’s Oldest Colony as a real vacation land, are about to be fulfilled.
In spite of the falling off in the number of visitors who actually arrived here, interest in the “Norway of North America” as a vacation land, is definitely on the increase. The record of inquiries both at St. John’s and the New York offices, show a very substantial increase over any previous year. It is also noted with much gratification, that the type of inquiry now being received, appears to be from a better class of prospect than hitherto, and it is interesting to observe that a generous percentage of the enquiries received, are from prospective visitors, who are desirous of bringing their cars to Newfoundland, and of staying here a couple of weeks.
It is to be deplored that when the Board informs them of the small roads mileage that is available for motor travel, the prospect appears to lose interest in coming here. However many of them reply that when our road system is further extended, they look forward to coming here for an extended visit, and of seeing as much of the island as possible. For several years the Board has been actively agitating for an increase in our road mileage, but at the present those in authority apparently have not been in a position to do very much about it.
Making Newfoundland Known
During the past year the Tourist Board has as usual, been engaged in an active publicity campaign, to make Newfoundland attractions better known on the continent and abroad. Mr. Lee Wulff, a noted sportsman, lecturer, photographer and writer, was brought here for the purpose of developing our big game fishing. Mr. Wulff spent four months in the country, and during that time, made four films in colour for the board — one of salmon fishing, one of tuna fishing, one of moose hunting, and the fourth of partridge shooting. These films will be used for publicity purposes in Canada, the United States and abroad. In several of the most likely sections of the Island preliminary work was done with a view towards developing our tuna prospects. Only one fish was taken on rod and line, a small one weighting 470 pounds. It is hoped next season, that a giant tuna will be captured to break the world’s record.
Tuna fish are in our waters, and we should be able to make this sport a financial benefit to the country. There is big money in it, and it was to teach the people to fish with proper methods, that Mr. Wulff was invited to come here. Very little could be done the first year, as most of the time was used in locating the tuna and learning their habits. Next year it is hoped to do much more, but the support of the country at large is essential. On his return to America Mr. Lee Wulff gave a radio address on Newfoundland over the NBC radio network, and he has several articles on “The Great Island” accepted for the coming season. Publicity such as this, helps very much to make Newfoundland better known as the sporting paradise it really is.
Mr. Ray Trullinger, of the staff of the New York “World Telegram” spent some time in Newfoundland during the past summer, at the invitation of the Tourist Board. He has since written many articles on the fishing in this country, and has already sent us one hunting party. Mr. Victor Coty, of the Outdoor Magazine, a noted lecturer, and one of the finest photographers in his line, came to Newfoundland, and took movies of salmon fishing. These films will be used for lecturing purpose throughout the United States.
During the year, as a further step in the singing of our country praises, the Tourist Board issued a portfolio of twenty typical views of Newfoundland scenery and industry. Copies were distributed to the Travel Agencies in Canada, United States and England. Already much favourable comment on these very excellent pictures has been received. From the historical standpoint, the Tourist Bureau has made some further progress during 1938. The Historical Committee erected markers for the historic sights around the countryside. Descriptive text was included with the markers, to supply the background information. A representative of the Board, did a considerable amount of research in the British Museum (War Department), in an effort to locate the original plans and drawings of our forts. This information is required for a forthcoming booklet on the ancient forts of Newfoundland.
What The Visitors Say
It is interesting to dig into the records filed by the “Ask Mr. Foster” Service, and observed the high tributes paid to Newfoundland, by visitors to our shores who have been good enough to report on their return home; these are a few representative remarks: “My trip to Newfoundland was one of the high-lights of my life. I hope to return again to see the East Coast, and I shall spend more time seeing it,” “I enjoyed every minute of my stay in Newfoundland and only regret that I could not stay months or a year.” “The inclusion of Newfoundland in the itinerary was the deciding factor in my taking the cruse you planed for us...” “Newfoundland’s rugged beauty is beyond description”.
A great many of the tourists who visit Newfoundland and Labrador, signify their desire to return for a longer visit, and none of them is slow in telling others about the wonderful country. Perhaps, after all, that is one of the best forms of advertisement of our attractions. The people of our country can be of assistance in this respect, for when tourists are well received, and shown the highlights of the places visited, they invariable go away well pleased, and ready to talk about all they saw and did.
The Tourist Development Board, now a branch of the Development of Public Utilities, is composed of thirteen prominent citizens. The number do not receive any remuneration for their service. Frequent meetings are held throughout the year. The personnel of the Board are as follows: Chairman: W. Angus Reid. First Vic Chairman; C. C. Duley. Second Vic Chairman: R. C. Harvey. Honourary Treasurer; J. W. Allan. J. F. Meehan, Jack Turner, Mr. C. Claude Fraser, W.B. Comerford, Peter O’Mara, H. J Russel, B. B. Stafford, F. E. Pittman and Hon. Sir John Bennett, K. B.E.
The office staff is comprised of a secretary and a stenographer, with the addition of several temporary assistants during the busy season. The Newfoundland Information Bureau, British Empire, Building, New York City, is a branch of the local Tourist Bureau, and the office of Trade Commissioner for Newfoundland, 58 Victoria Street, London, is another centre, where descriptive literature and information about the attractions of our Island, widely distributed, help draw pleasure seeking travelers to our shore.
The activities of the Newfoundland Tourist Development Board are stimulating greater interest in Newfoundland every year, both at home and abroad, and their efforts to make the tourist trade a great national asset are worthy of the support and co-operation of the people as a whole. The Board feels that Tourist travel is capable of great expression, if the people of Newfoundland will only back up their efforts. More accommodation is urgently needed to permit the Board to send visitors further afield in search of sport and other recreation. To successfully accomplish this, more and better roads are required, so as to open up a wider area of exploration. It is to be hoped, that all interested in the development of visitor traffic to Newfoundland, will keep up a constant agitation for “more and better roads” and so permit the Board to attain its objective.
“Quality Is The True Test Of Cheapness”
The tailoring house of William L. Chafe, 326 Water Street, has for it qualifications, high class workmanship, efficient service, courteous attention, and dependability of goods. With such high standards guaranteed, it is only natural that Wm. L. Chafe is building up a large clientele of customers and becoming more and more widely know as the right man to seek out when a tailoring job is required. The past year has witnessed additions to the plant, and ways and means of improving the service wherever possible have been applied. The very latest types of machinery has been installed, and all the machines employed are now operated from a single power unit.
Mr. Chafe’s first stand as an independent tailor, was a small office on the third flat of the Morris Building. As business expanded, he moved to larger quarters on the ground floor, and subsequently to the premises now occupied. Inviting in appearance and centrally located, the tailoring house of Wm. L. Chafe is now the favorite of a great many people to ready made. An extensive stock of goods is always on hand and there is a wide variety to choose from. Exclusiveness in the true sense of the word, is the slogan embodied in every garment, made at this establishment. A suit or coat from the house of Wm. L. Chafe is your assurance that the garment is the very best. Grace and character are in them, and for such rare quality and workmanship the prices are far less than you expect.
Capt. Bob Bartlett And The Morrissey
Captain Bob and the “Morrissey” are two strong personalities; one a man and the other a ship. In this age of radio and sound pictures, these two personalities are known to nearly every man, woman, and child in America. But Captain Bob is not only of this age of radio pictures; his strength and personality go back to a generation of heroic exploration and discovery. He was the last man to leave Peary when that indomitable explorer made his last, and successful dash for the North Pole. It was Captain Bob who was entrusted with placing the precious supplies at the furthest Northern spot, where Peary, in his dash, could be assured of finding them. Each man on that last expedition had a certain work, a certain duty, that has to be carried out to the very last detail. Each man was a part of that discovery, which brought to America, the long coveted crown of exploration.
Each did his part, and it was to Captain Bob Bartlett that the last and most important detail was entrusted. For several years before this crucial moment, Captain Bob had been with Peary, and had formed an integral part of that great man’s success in the far North. Once he had brought the ship back to port when it was in a sinking condition. His training with his father in the seal and cod fisheries during his youth, had developed that ability to meet emergencies. Today that seafaring man of Newfoundland is one of the most independent individuals sailing the sea. His ability extends to almost every detail of his existence. But these things and the entire log of Captain Bartlett, written in his own inimitable manner, can be read by all of you much better than I can retell them.
My own contact with Captain Bartlett and the “Morrissey” was short, but was so crammed full of working, feeling, and existing, under his influence, and that of his ship, that even now, I can feel the surge of the sea under her keel, and hear his booming voice shouting orders to the crew and to the accessory crew of landlubbers.
I was listed in the ship’s papers as Biologist; another young fellow was the Ornithologist; another photographer; while the rest of the group were able-bodied seamen. In the first place, everyone on the Morrissey works. It does not matter whether you are a paying member or a scientist, it was only four hours after the newsreel men had finisher, and we had all shouted ourselves horse for them, that the Mate, Captain Bob’s brother William Bartlett, showed me my duties.
On the deck, in two box stalls, were a cow and calf. The cow was a beautiful Guernsey, and her name was Broadwater Lily; her son Broadwater Hank. They were going North to Captain Bob’s mother. These were my most important charges. In addition, here were sixteen, fine white leghorn chickens and a tank of goldfish. Now my specialty has never been in the field of any one of these creatures, and it had been fifteen years since I had left the farming districts of the Middle West. However, these were my charges, and it was only a very few hours, before I felt quite at home, again feeding the chickens, and bedding the cow and calf. The ornithologist was appointed milker. This saved my face, as that was one task that I have never seemed to fully master.
The Morrissey is a roomy vessel, about one-hundred feet long. Outside her staunch oaken planks is a heavy sheathing of green-heart. This is a wood from the tropics, that is extremely hard, and is used on vessels entering the ice; a wood so heavy that a piece dropped into the water, sinks like iron. This extra sheathing adds much weight to the ship, but gives one a feeling of security. The hold is divided into the forecastle where the crew lives, and where the galley is located. Next to this is the ship’s Hospital with accommodation for the Doctor and patients. The mess room was next with bunks for the young crew, and lockers for duffels, and a long table for our meals, two electric refrigerators which were loaded with all sorts of good food, and the small radio room which housed the shortwave set and the operator. Going further along the hold, we next come to the engine room, where a diesel engine furnishes enough power to drive the ship along at a nine knot clip. Other engines for lights and for the bilge pumps are also located there. Back of this and in the stern, is the Captain’s cabin, his office, bunks for him, the mate, and the engineers. This is the holy of holies aboard the ship. However after working in the cold sea air, the galley grew in importance. This place was presided over by Billy Pritchett, who was also with Peary in the far North. Billy the cook, with the power of turning out some of the finest meals I have ever eaten, soon became one of the most important personages on the ship, and all of us tried to please him in every way.
The day on shipboard started early. The first watch of the day washed and swabbed the decks. That period ended at breakfast, and, with the new watch going on deck, my duties began. First was to bed the cow and calf; then feed them while the ornithologist milked. This became an hilarious affair at some times; not so much for the milker as for the onlookers. We were only a day or so out into Long Island Sound when a nice blow came up. The seas grew larger, and most of us because somewhat indisposed. But indisposed or not, the duties went on. After preparing the cow for milking, I stood aside while the ornithologist climbed into the narrow stall. There, with hardly an inch to spare between the cow, and his head, and the stall, that task began. My aim was to hold the cow up when the boat lurched from side to side. This saved him many bruises which the heavy cow might make. During the milking, the milk surged from side to side in the pail, while the ornithologist would try to keep his balance on a small box, and milk the cow down to the strippings. This done, the bull calf was fed and bedded. He was too mean to be ill, but his mother would moo in the most plaintive manner, and stick her big moist nose up to us as if to say, “Oh will this never cease?” The bull’s favorite stunt was to wait until one of us had gotten near his heels, and then kick. If he, Hank, kicked you with those machine-gun feet of his, he would seem pleased and more calm. Then after Hank was fed, the chickens were cared for.
One would really have to see the deck-load that the “Morrissey” carried, in order to realize how difficult it was to get around. Back of the main mast, besides the cow and calf, some four hundred bundles were stacked. Over these, and the cow, was a sail cloth, to protect them from the rain and spray. At one side, and on top of the bundles, were the cans of gasoline, the crates of chickens, bales of hay, and sacks of feed. All of the fresh water for drinking was in casks under the forward boom, and one ladled it out of the bung-hole with a copper cup, about eight inches long, and only a little larger in diameter that a silver dollar. Kindly imagine how much water theses animals could drink when one ladles it out in such a manner! Around the rail on the starboard side of the vessel, was a narrow path, the rest of the deck space being taken up with oil and fuel drums. We were heavily loaded, but the “Morrissey”, one of the most sea-worthy vessels on the Eastern Coast, sailed like a duck over the great waves and tide rips. Some days, when the sun shone warmly, and the sea was calm, we uncovered the cow and chickens, and let them bask in the warm sunlight. These days seemed to make Lily’s heart glad because her moist nose was poised over the edge of her stall continuously, and every unwary person stepping within her reach was soundly kissed.
On The Coast
Days passed with the shipboard life swaying your every though and action. It seams that you have become a part of this being, this ship, the “Morrissey”. Then on the horizon ahead, a low grey line appears, and as the day wanes, the rocky, indented shore of Southern Newfoundland appears off our port bow. As night sinks from the heavens into the blacking sea, the flash of a light beckons us on, warning us of the proximity of the shore and its shoal waters. The light is identified by the watch on deck, and they steer the course set by the Captain. Later, as the first light is visible in the blue-black sea behind, another appears over our bow. Another light is identified, and on through the night speeds the “Morrissey”. The next morning the sun rises on a calm sea. No waves wet us, oilskins are shed because the warmth of the sun makes them intolerable, but we hasten to don other garments since the wind is still cold from the open wastes of the North. The shore on the left comes closer, and Cape Race fades into the distance, just a daytime sail from here to our port of Brigus.
A good wind rises and the sails are set. Broadcaster Lilly sniffs the air. She can smell land and seems to lose the apathy with which she had met the days of rolling misery. Broadcaster Hank tries out his nimble hoofs on the wooden end of his stall, and looks sideways at me as if daring me to get on the receiving end. My duties are done and I seek a place along the port rail. The green shore of Ferryland, Lord Baltimore’s first home in North America, passes. Its green isles seen to dance in the sparkling waters of the bay. On, past the high, rounded knobs of Bay Bulls, with its ancient fortifications and cannon, we sail, and soon come abreast of the narrows and beautiful harbor of St. John’s. For only a short space of time we are able to look into the depths of this important city, since it lies so closely embraced by the encircling hills. In a moment it is gone, and the “Morrissey” speeds onward along the shore.
Pressing for Brigus
All of us are looking forward to Brigus, the home town of the long line of seafaring Bartletts. And rounding Cape Francis, we enter Conception Bay. Here before us, as we run across its wide entrance, is some of the most historic waters and land in all Newfoundland. Captain Bob drives the ship across the Western side of the Bay, so that we may take advantage of the wind. This great Bay saw the first official settlements in Newfoundland. Colonists from England set up their homes, their rooms for salting fish, their flakes for drying them, and made their boats from the timber of the hills nearby. Pirates, the first to invade the New world, invaded these harbors and inlets, beset the fishermen and settlers at their work, destroyed and pillaged.
England’s war with Spain took the Basques and Spaniards from the fisheries where they had been competing with the Englishman. War with the French brought their ships, and many fights between the Newfoundland fishermen and Frenchmen. Peace came, and with it, the Golden Age of fishing, when Conception Bay and the small harbors along its length were crowed with ships. Many are the men, who, in this period, fished for cod or sailed to the sealing ice-flows to the North. Finally, industry crept into this Bay. The great iron mines of Bell Island ship their ore to Germany and Canada. Their galleries run under the waves of the Bay for some two and half miles. This mine is said to constitute the largest iron-producing deposit in the British Empire.
Our ship senses the proximity of home. It seems to gather speed. We boom down the Bay. The deck slopes when the sails above catch the wind. The rail on one side hisses when the waves boil over it. Finally the entrance of the harbor appears, and with the boom swinging, first to the port and then to the starboard, the “Morrissey”, nearly touching the high cliffs on either side, the shrill whistle wails. There on the single long wharf, the town's people of Brigus are gathered. Shouts of welcome can be heard, hats and handkerchiefs are waved. Captain Bob Bartlett waves from the bow. Captain Bob is Home. GOOD NIGHT NEWFOUNDLAND!
115 Years In The Service Of Newfoundland Public
Old Established Drug Store Undergoing Program of Expansion —
“McMurdo’s” a Training School For Many Local Druggests.
For the 115 th. time, Mc Murdo’s the oldest and largest drug store in Newfoundland, wishes its many patrons and the public generally, a Happy New Year. As reported in the 1937 year-end issue of the Daily News, this old established business is being enlarged and expanded, and 1939 will see McMurdo’s bigger and greater than ever before.
The firm of T. McMurdo’s & Co., Ltd. was founded in 1823, by the man whose name it carries —Thomas McMurdo. Started in a small way, it subsequently became T. McMurdo & Co. and in 1920 was incorporated as T. McMurdo &. Co., Ltd. Throughout its existence, a member of the original family has been connected with the business. Mr. Allistar McNeil, a grandson of the founder, is a member of the firm today. Mr. E. C. MacDonald is the present Managing Director of the Company.
At “McMudro’s” at any time, maybe found a full line of drugs and medicines and associated articles. An enormous stock is carried; and it is a revelation to go through the stock rooms where the thousands of packages and bottles are kept. More that 8000 items are listed on the firms order sheets. In addition to the drugs, patent medicines, and mixtures handled, the firm manufactures a variety of essences and household drugs under the trade name “Acme”.
The Humber Pharmacy at Corner Brook is controlled by T. McMurdo & Co. Ltd. and is under the capable direction of Mr. Kenneth Blandford; a registered Druggist. A great many of the other drug stores throughout the country, although not directly connected with the firm, can have their origin traced back to “McMurdo’s”. In fact, most of the existing drug stores, both in the city and in the outport towns, were founded by men who served their apprenticeship with the firm of T. McMurdo &. Co. Ltd.
© John Baird, Sue O'Neill,
George White & NL GenWeb