|References / Footnotes:|
Simpson and Imperial year book 1980.
SIMPSON school built on rooms and
now one of remaining schools in large unit
E-mail Bibliography Ronald Konjolka
Seventy-five years with the Rural Municipality of Baildon No. 131
Council of Baildon Municipality No. 131
National Archives Land Grants Database
The Asquith record
Asquith and District Historical Society
SPALDING NAME PREVIOUSLY WAS PILON
Later SE 26-39-18-W2 referred to as the Rural School
Later SE 26-39-18-W2 Referred to as the Village School
Hawoods S.D. 2055
Dunfermline School opened in 1909 as Limerick School, changing names to Dunfermline in 1910 from: The Asquith record
Asquith and District Historical Society
Our Treasured Heritage : Borden & District
Borden History Book Committee
Echoes of our past : Bradwell, Clavet and district
HALCYONIA #1237 was located in the "Great Deer District"
The P.O. here was Lovell, NWT
Bradwell-Clavet Historical Society
See also 14
- DEERFIELD #1160 address was Curzon P.O. N.W.T.
- DEERFIELD kept moving, it is listed three times with each location
- MEADOW LARK was located a few miles East of French, NWT
- French was located at Township 35 -Rge 3 -W3 in 1904
French name changed to Clavet, Sk in 1908
- PRAIRIE HOME #1396 also had the address French, N.W.T.
- BOYNE was located 5 miles North of Colonsay, Sk.
Colonsay is located at Section 1, Tsp. 35 -Rge 28 - W2
- INDIANA #1764 est. in the NWT (before 1905)
In 1908, INDIANA #1764 changed names to WALL LAKE #1764
9 miles east of Dundurn. Dundurn, NWT was located at Section 32
- Township 32 Range 4 West 3 in 1894. Now Dundurn, Sk is located at
Section 9 - Township 33- Range 4- West 3 , which would place
the school building at approximately Township 33- Range 2 - W 3
Memories forever : Elstow and district, 1900-1983
Elstow and District History Book
ATHENS S.D. #1533 est 1906 was renamed in 1915 to ELSTOW S.D. #1533. ATHENS was located on NE corner of NW 11 35 1 W3 and opened in the fall of 1906 under Miss Flora Boskill.In 1910 the school buidling was moved into the Village of Elstow.
BREEZE BRAE S.D. 25027. In 1908, a school board formed and a meeting held. The building was erected on one acre of land at SE 30 34 28 W2. Wilson C. Allen was the first teacher in 1908. In 1934, the school house burned to the ground, and a new school building was erected. By 1956, the school closed and students were bused into Allan.
DINELLE SD. 1176. Established summer of 1912, and situated on SE 27 36 1 W3. In 1943, the school building burned. Classes resumed at Viscount, The last teacher at DINELLE held classes 1961. Meetings were held, and under debate DINELLE and CASAVANT joined becoming CASAVANT CENTRALIZED SCHOOL in 1961.
ELSTOW SD 1533. ATHENS 1533 became ELSTOW 1533 in 1915. A new brick veneer, two storey, two room school house was erected in Elstow and opened in the 1914-1915 school year under Olga M. Shields and Elva Patterson. In 1919 THROSTLE NEST SD 1750 sent half of their pupils to Allan, and half to Elstow, and in 1920 an addition was added to ELSTOW 1533. In 1946, JUSTICE school closed, sending children to NORTH ELSTOW, and to GHADENHEIM school. MEADOW LARK school and UNITY school were bused into Elstow. MACKENZIEVILLE transferred their pupils in 1954. NORTH ELSTOW closed in 1956, pupils coming to ELSTOW 1533. BLUCHER pupils joined ELSTOW 1533 in 1958 and the BLUCHER school building, and HESSELDALE school buildings were moved onto the ELSTOW SD 1533 school yard. The opening of the CLAVET COMPOSITE SCHOOL relieved some of the overcrowding at ELSTOW 1533, and by 1963, enrolment was down to one classroom. ELSTOW 1533 closed in 1969.
- GLENMAUR SD 3307. Erected spring of 1914 on NE corner of SE 26 36 2 W 3. E.M. Scotney Smith was the first teacher in the spring of 1914. GLENMAUR school closed June 1964, and students conveyed to CLAVET COMPOSITE SCHOOL
GNADENHEIM #4707 name means "A Home through God's Grace", and opened on NW 4 35 25 W2. The first teacher was Pearl L. Bragonier in 1927. The final classes were held during the 1947-1948 school term. The GNADENHEIM school building was moved to FAHRWELL school district in 1952.
- JUSTICE SD 4448. The school building was erected on SE 29 35 28 W2 in 1922. Edythe Irene Clements was the first teacher that fall. JUSTICE school closed in 1946, the school building moved into Allan.
MACKENZIEVILLE SD 1424. The school was incorporated 1905, and the school building located on SE corner of SW 1 36 2 W3. The first teacher in 1909 was Ruby L. Taylor. MACKENZIEVILLE closed following the 1954 school term. The building moved to SUMMERFIELD to replace that school which had burned down. The MACKENZIEVILLE school building also burned down at the SUMMERFIELD school site.
NORTH ELSTOW 3494. Following the 1914 school district meeting, the NORTH ELSTOW school was erected at NW corner of NE 35 35 1 W3. Lillian Munshaw T. Baxter was the first teacher for the 1916-1917 school year. The last school term was 1956.
PRAIRIE HOME SD 1396. The school building was erected on SW 30 34 1 W3 following the letter sent in on 1905. The 1906-1907 school term started under Georgina Hunt. PRAIRIE HOME moved to SE 25 34 2 W3. The school building was sold in 1950 and moved. The BOYNE 3820 school building which had been five mile north of Colonsay was subsequently moved to the first PRARIE HOME school site, and remained open until the 1956-1957 school term was complete, when it was moved to the GRASSWOOD area.
THROSTLE NEST SD 1750. A meeting was held in 1907, and the schoolhouse was constructed on SE 27 34 1 W3. Classes commenced in the spring of 1908 under Margaret Pershick. THROSTLE NEST closed in the fall of 1919, and students attended either ELSTOW 1533 or ALLAN 2914.
Take the Soil in Your Hands
Prechtl, Richard J. A.
Called to a place : the story of Guernsey and surrounding school districts
GUERNSEY #1931 est. 1908. Changed names in 1910 to
PRINCE RUPERT #1931
GUERNSEY #2351 est 1910 in the Village of Prince Rupert[sic]
which was later named Guernsey, Sk.
Guernsey, Sk is located at Section 34 - Township 33 -
Range 23 West 2 The P.O. named Guernsey in 1907
.Ripples and reflections : Hanley
Hanley History Book Society
CRESCENT VIEW #3259 was on a crescent overlooking Four Mile Lake
Four Mile Lake is no longer the name of this Lake
HANLEY #934 started as a one room school house 1903
A new brick school house was built in 1909
In 1918, additional school rooms used "Cottage" across the street
1962 the new composite Hanley school was erected.
WYANDOTTE #1355 was located 7 miles east of Hanley
Hanley is located Section 1, Township 31, Range 4 West 3
which places the school building approximately at
Township 31, Range 2 West 3
Allan Hills SD 3865
Avonlea SD 2738
Bell Rock SD 4244
Blue Hills SD 782
Bohrson SD 1644 SW 14 30 4 W3
Box Elder SD 1367 NE 31 30 4 W3
Cosmopolitan SD 4128 5 31 4 W3
Farmington SD 1429 NW 17 31 4
Gilead SD SD 34 31 3 W3 1909
Hambre SD 1910
Hanley SD934 1905
Jagoe SD 1913-1953 Moved to Box Elder SD in 1953
Rainbow SD 1091
Rippawon SD 3984
Sheldon SD 4879 1930-1967
Dundurn and District History Committee
WALL LAKE #1764 was located 9 miles east of Dundurn.
Dundurn, NWT was located at Section 32 - Township 32
Rge 4 West 3 in 1894. Now Dundurn, Sk is located at
Section 9 - Township 33- Range 4- West 3 , which would place
the school building at approximately Township 33- Range 2 - W 3
Building stood 1907-1927 then destroyed by fire; rebuilt 1928-1971
Original Name was BRAESIDE. See also 9
WHOOSIER #849 was located 6 miles south of Dundurn
which would place the building at approximately
Township 32- Range 4- West 3
ODEL #1893 was located 3 miles NW of present school
HAULTAIN #2431 was located where the Dundurn Military Camp Is
GENEREUX #1893 was located in the "French Flats" 10 miles west of
Dundurn, which would place the building at approximately
Township 33- Range 6- West 3
Elvevow SD 2175 1908-1956
Pleasant Point SD 320 1903
Wall Lake SD 1764 1907-1962
WoodView SD 1346 SE 33 4 W3 1905
Whoosier Sd 849 6 miles S of Dundurn 1903
Coates SD1330 1905-1961
Odel SD 1893 1907
Blackstrap SD 3506 NW 29 32 3 W3
Round Prairie SD
Genereux SD 3625 1915-1958 Moved to Wingellow Farm
Haultain SD2431 1908-1952 NW 24 34 4 W3
The story of Maymont
Meskanaw, its story and its people
Memories of the past : history of Pleasantdale, Silver Park, Chagoness and Kinistino Indian Band #91
MCCLOY CREEK #4261 was first named MESKANAW #4261
the name was changed in 1935, so the school in the
town of Meskanaw could use the corresponding school
name. The school building in the town site was named
LOYAL RIDGE 5017. LOYAL RIDGE S.D. #5017 is now named
SAGINAW #1815 is 5 miles SE of Radisson, Saskatchewan. Radisson is located NW 1/4 Section
21 - Township 40 - Range 10 - West 3 according to the book Our Treasured Heritage : Borden
PLEASANTDALE #3161 changed names to "OLD PLEASANTDALE" in 1959
DALEVILLE #4827 changed names in 1959 to PLEASANTDALE #4827
In the National Archives, Archivia Net Land Grant Database; SAGINAW
is called School District #2364 and is located at SE Section 25, Township 39 - Range 10- W3. This legal land description is in fact located is 5 miles SE of Radisson, Sk
An interesting note is that the first P.O. in this area was called Great Bend from 1903-
1905 at 4-41-10-W3. Then in 1905, the P.O. of Great Bend was named Radisson at SE 25-39-10-W3. The inception of SAGINAW School District is not determined from book or N.A. source
Kith 'n kin : the history of Kenaston and district Kenaston, Saskatchewan: Kenaston History Committee, 1980 includes:
Our Roots Nos Racines
AIKENS School District No 2304 was constructed in 1909 between sections 24 and 25 Township 29. In 1910 classes commenced and served the community until some time after 1951.
BRIGGS School District No 841 held their organisational meeting in 1912, and their building was constructed SE 4 28 1 W3 closing in the 1950s. At this time PICKWICK school was moved in, and established 1/2 mile south of SE 4 28 1 W3, and this building served the community school needs until 1964.
CHATHAM School District No 3117 built a frame school in 1914 on the NE 26 29 29 W2, and this building was sold in 1956 and it was renovated into a home. HILLEDGE school was moved in to NE 19 29 28 W2 and re-named CHATHAM. After the school closed, it became the community centre.
KENASTON 1192 was built in 1905 between 4 and 5th streets in the town of Bonnington (later named Kenaston). In 1905 classes commenced, and in 1913 a new brick shcool was built.
McCRANEY School District No 3377 was organised in 1914 and the school building was constructed in 1916. Classes commenced 1917 until 1943. School re-opened 1954-1955. HORSESHOE LAKE school building was moved two miles east of the McCRANEY school site, and the school districts were thus combined.
FALKINGHAM School District No 1754 was built 4 miles south of Kenaston on SE 13 30 3 W3. Classes were held between 1907-1949.
GOPHERDALE School District No 4729, no starting date, closed 1950.
HILLEDGE VIEW School District No 4676 was built NW 2 22 29 W3 8 miles east of Kenaston. The district organised in 1926, and closed in 1948.
HORSESHOE LAKE School District No 4543 organised 1923. School built on NW 14 30 2 W2 which is NE of Kenaston. On amalgamation, this was building moved. Served community between 1926-1948.
RONALDSBURG School District No 2049 was built in 1908 on the old provincial highway 11, now Saskatchewan highway 15, and classes began 1909 until 1936, perhaps re-opening about 1941. In 1954, the school building was sold.
SMILESVILLE School District No 4641 was built on the centre of the south boundary of 29 29 3 W3 and served the community between 1906-1942.
WYANDOTTE School District No 1355 held their meeting in 1912, and the school closed circa 1960
ZED School District No 1661 held their organisational meeting in 1906, and a building was constructed on NE 10. In 1949, this building was torn down, and a larger building re-built and served the community until 1959 when it became a community centre.
Bladworth and district memories
Pensioners and Senior Citizens Organization. Branch No. 125,
Bladworth sd 1491 NE 4 4 2 W3 1905-1972
Briggs SD 841 SE 4 28 1 W3 1913-1950
Kipp SD 1589 NW 12 27 2 W3 1906-1957
Knob Hill SD 1289 SW SW 29 27 W2
Pebble Beach SD 1806 SW 11 27 2 W3
Harrowby SD 4075 SE 4 28 3 W3 1918-1958
Silver Lakes SD 1501 SE 15 28 1 W3 1905
Schueman SD SE 17 28 2 W3
Our Roots Nos Racines
Craik : Friendliest place by a dam site
Craik History Book (Association)
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Ames SD 1411 sw 20 23 1 w3 1905-1959
- Antelope SD 1116 SE 21 23 27 W3 1904-1926
- Aylesbury SD2127 1908-1983
- Banbury SD 2149 1909-1941
- Barrett SD 2015 built 1908
- Beacon SD 2805 SE 4 23 1 W3 1910-1943
- Bennett SD 1452 SE 1 25 29 W3 1905-1940
- Craik SD 891 192-1922
- Dixmude SD 4069 NW 22 23 28 W2 moved now garage
- Eclipse SD 4071 1918-1951 now Golf Club House
- Eildon SD 1510 SW 11 24 2 W3 1906-1959
- Erie SD 856 1912-1942
- Fargo SD 2780 5/6 24 28 w2
- Foxbury SD 1951
- Halbrite SD 1952 1907-1944
- Holmsdale SD 1911 NE 9 24 29 W
- Hustlers SD 1536 SW 22 22 29 W 1906-1934
- Parkhill SD 492 SW 10 24 27 W
- Pilgrim SD 4026 SW 16 24 1 W 1918
- Sheppard SD 1897 NW 15 21 27 W
- Squaw Creek SD 3223 11 23 29 W 1912-1950
- Sunkist SD 4293 NW 36 24 1 W
- Watkins SD 3300 ne 14 22 28 w 1914
- Willow Bluff SD 4419 1919-
Cadillac : prairie heritage
Cadillac and District History Book Association
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Cadillac SD 3336 1914-1941
- Cadillac (Elmwood) S.D. 2733 SE 16 9 13
- Beauchamp S.D. 4141 NW 7 7 14 1919-1968
- Beaver Valley S.D. 3804
- Bedford S.D. 3195 NE 29 10 13 moved to NW 20 10 13
- Boule Creek S.D. 3314 sw n 22
- Crichton SE 16 9 14 changed names to Priory 1916-1939
- Crichton (Priory) S.D. 3716, 1932-1939
- Wheatville S.D. 4547 9-15-W3
- Driscol Lake S.D. 3336
- Fairy Lake S.D. 3591 1915-1953 movd to NW 8 8 13 and named Trinity Lutheran Church
- Gouverneur S.D. 4557
- Highway S.D. 4623 ne 31 9 13 1925-1947
- Kingsmeade S.D. 4011 1918-
- Little Six S.D. 4262 nw 8 8 13 1919-1934
- Orwell S.D. 3680 1916-1949
- Prairie Lane S.D. 4059 se se 4 8 14 moved to SW SW 4 8 14
- Valle Ste. Claire S.D. 3184 NW NW 9 10 14 1916-1959
- Jupiter SD 3314 SW N section 22 1916 Name changed to Boule Creek SD 3314
Milestones & memories
Outlook and District Golden Circle, Outlook-Broderick History Book Committee
Glenhill / Glenside
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Bonnie Brae SD 1837 1908-
- Brocton SD 2222
- Chromar SD 1444
- Coterie SD 3275 SE 13 28 7 W
- Coulee Creek SD 3978
- Eden Valley SD 1494 SE 16 31 7 W3
- Geneva SD 4637
- Glenford SD 2216 SE 15 28 6 W3
- Golden Meadow SD 13247 mi N and 2 mi E of Broderick
- Happy Hollow SD 4281 nw sw 25 29 6 W
- Kintyre SD 1908 2 mi East of cemetery corner
- Inverness SD 1265 NW 20 29 -
- Nary SD 1213 SW 29 30 7 W3 1906
- Wheat Plains SD 2083 1908
- Wingello SD 2361 SW 3 31 6 W3 1909
Chamberlain crossroads : a trip back in time
Chamberlain Historical Society
- Aberfelly S.D. # 2090
- Banbury S.D. #2149
- Barrett S.D. # 2015
- Chamberlain S.D. #1157 (later Ellsridgehill S.D. # 1157)
- Chamberlain S.D. #2264
- Clarendon S.D. #3241
- Prairie Island S.D. # 1135
- Sheppard S.D. # 1897
- Uplands S.D. # 2290
- Vancise S.D. # 4124
Neidpath, Fernbank, Roderickville, Ensz, Cutbank, Fern Valley, Luxor
ISBN : 1550569201
Prairie Progress Commemorating the Macrorie District
- Cutbank S.D. #1822
- Ensz S.D. #1099
- Fernbank S.D. #128
- Fern Valley S.D. #3607
- Luxor S.D. #4619
- Neidpath S.D. #396
- Roderickville S.D. #2840
ISBN : 0889252920
Brownlee district, 1905-1955
- Big Valley S.D. #2872
- Bratton S.D. #2624
- Goodwill S.D. # 1829
- Lake Coteau S.D. #407
- Macrorie S.D. #3600
- Monmawala (Monmawalla) S.D. #
- Mount Marie S.D. #836
- Picadilly S.D. #3797
- Surbiton S.D. #3071
- West Point S.D. #2084
- West Star S.D. #1706
- Westhope P.O.
compiled and printed by the citizens
of the community of Brownlee Saskatchewan,
on the occasion of the celebration
of Saskatchewan's Jubilee Year, 1955.
A Wheatland Heritage
- Chambers S.D. #1388
- Livingston S.D. #1685
- Faulkton S.D. #3593
- McIntyre S.D. #3337
- Brownlee S.D. #2019
Published in celebration of the Snipe Lake District Golden Jubilee, 1906-1956
By Armstrong, Edith Vernette Akeley
The Little White School House
- Guthrie S.D. #
- Pioneer Grove S.D. #
- Montrose S.D. #
- Amdewanda S.D. #2630
- Richlea S.D. #
- Prouse S.D. #
- Ormely S.D. #
- Krafton S.D. #
- Yellow Cactus S.D. #
- Cromwell S.D. #
- Evans S.D. #
- Lovedale S.D. #
- Centrefield S.D. #
John C. Charyk
Western Producer Prairie Books
Alberta Heritage Learning Resources Project
Impact A Century of Education
Prince Albert Public Schools, Prince Albert Catholic Schools
from a little stone school...The Story of Saskatoon Public Schools
The Story of the development of the Saskatoon Public School System over the past one hundred years. A 1982 Centennial project commissioned by the Saskatoon Board of Education and dedicated to our pioneers and early educators
Modern Press Ltd.
Opening Tomorrow's Doors 1884-1984-2084
Brian A. Brown
Published by the One Hundredth Anniversary Committee of Moose Jaw School District Number One
Saskatchewan Government Printers
A Land Harvested By Faith 1884-1994 Wakaw
Title A Land harvested by faith : 1884-1984, Wakaw
Published Wakaw, Sask.
Wakaw Heritage Society, 1984
ISBN 0889255458 (corrected)
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Wakaw School Unit 48, consolidated school formed in 1952 overseeing 85 rural school units.
- BELMONT SD 2040 sent in their peition in 1906. The school building was erected at SE 10 42 25 W2 14 miles south east of Wakaw. The proposed name was Elizabeth School District. T.A. Boyle served as the first teacher in 1910. The school remained open until1964.
- BONNE MADONNE SD opened on the south west quarter of section 2, township 43 range 25 in 1905 under Sister Sr. Benjamin, one of the "Filles de la Providence" sisters. A new school was constructed in 1947. Bonne Madonne school closed in 1957.
- BUDA SD 1722 residents sent in their petition in 1906. The community erected their school on the North east corner of the south east quarter of SEction 2 township 43 range 26 west of the 2 meridian. Classes opened in 1909under Mr. Alfred Miklossey. The school closed in 1958, and has been restored.
- CROOKED LAKE SD 1849 sent in their application fora school idstrict late in the year of 1901. A petition was sent in 1905, and the first school was constructed in 1907 openeing under the name of WAKAW SD 1849. Mr. Pasterniak was the first teacher. The school district changed names in 1912 from WAKAW SD 1849 to CROOKED LAKE SD 1849 in 1912 when the town of Wakaw organised to form a school in town. Crooked Lake School closed in 1954.
- DUBOIS SD 3749 was organised in 1916, and opened in the spring of 1917 under Mr. Sm Slywka. The school building was located six miles north east of Wakaw on the south east quarter of section 27 township 43 range 26 west of the 2nd meridian. 1953 saw the closure of the school, and in 1959, the school building was sold.
- DUNAFOLDVAR SD 1922 held their meeting in 1905, and the school organised formally in 1907. Classes began in 1908 in the school building erected about 1 mile out of Wakaw on the south east quarter of section 26 township 42 rnage 27 in Local Improvement District 402. LID 402 later changed names to Fish Creek Rural Municipality 402.
- ENS SD 4936 was erected between WAkaw and Domremy on the Canadian National Railway tracks. The classes began in 1931 under Teacher G Courchene. By 1957, the school closed.
- KOLOMYIA SD 1878 was erected n the St. Julien District. In 1906, the community sent in their peition for a school district, and the school was constructed in 1909 opening under Alex Syroishka. By 1936, a new school was needed on the north west quarter of section 20. Classes were held for 53 years.
- LONE PINE SD 4598 was built on the north west corner of the north west section of section 19 township 43 range 25 west of the second meridian in 1925 following the organisation of the community in 1923. The first teacher was Miss Margaret Stack in 1926. IN 1959, the school closed.
- MINATINA SD 359 sent in their application for a school in 1911 for the SPRING VALLEY school district. The school was built in 1913 on the north west quarter of township 43 range 27 west of the second meridian. When the school building was erected the name was changed from SPRING VALLEY to MINATINA which was an First Nations name for "as far as you can see." The first teacher was Wasyl Waschuck who conducted a summer school between May and October of 1913. The school closed in 1960 and was sold.
- SNIATYN SD 1729 organised in 1906 and the school building erected on section 10 township 43 range 28 west of the second meridian. In 1947, the old school was sold and the new building was erected. Mr. G. Gealry was the first teacher, and in 1966 the school closed.
- ST JUDE SD 3723 was orgainsed in 1916, and classes were held between 1917-1957.
- ST. JULIEN SD 2641 was built in 1910 on the south east quarter of section 14 township 42 range 28 west of the second meridian. In 1923 fire took the school, and the community raised another school in 1924 on the north west quarter of section 11 township 42 range 28 west of the second meridian. This second school house saw the last classes in 1962.
- SOKAL SD 1955 sent in two petitions, in June and December of 1907. The school house went up on the north east section of township 17 range 43 range 27 west of the second meridian. The last classes were held in 1959.
- WAKAW SD 1338 or the WAKAW PROTESTANT SEPARATE SCHOOL #6 was opened in the village of Wakaw North east section 30 township 42 range 20 west of the 2 meridian. In 1912 a letter was sent off the the Department of Education, and in 1913, the first teacher was R.P. Richardson holding classes upstairs above Patterson's Drug Store. The new school house was erected on lot 26 block 13 in 1914.
- ZALISCHYKY SD 2961 held their first meeting in 1912 on the north east quarter of section 35 township 41 range 27, and opened in 1914 under Peter Sarchuck, and in 1954, the school closed.
Admiral Prairie to Wheatfields
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Admiral School #3526 Block 7 Townsite of Admiral
Andersonville S.D. 2901 SW-SW-8-15-W3
Beauchamp #4141 NE-NW-7-7-14-W3
Boule Creek SW-N-22-8-14-W
Clifford #3364 NE SE-11-10-16-W3
Epinard #4696 NE 17-7-15-W3
Esmond #2940 NW 35-8-16-W3
Levi #4664 NW 31-10-14-W3
Pelletier Hill j#3850
Sherman #3279 SW 15-10-15-W3
Stone Farm #2899 later was Stonefarm #2899
Vallee St. Clair #3184 NE-NE-34-8-15-W3
Wise Creek #753 NE-NW-34-8-15-W3
As we Remember Alford
Milan SE -5-26-13-
Poplar Butte #3845 SE 27-24-13-
Our Roots Nos Racines
Our Roots Nos Racines
- St. Bernard's S.D. #4692
- Colorado - Pilcher 4666
- Canvassback #1973 SE 25-39-23-W2
- Pilger NW 12-40-23-W2
With Faith and Hope St. Laszlo, Our Heritage
Houghton Lake S.D. #2544 NW-29-39-27-W2
St. Laszlo #2544
Our Roots Nos Racines
Footprints in the Sand Antler, Bellegarde, Baeside, Coulson, Kelvindale, Oatlands, Silver Vale
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Ramsay - Antler S.D. #576
- Braeside #886 NE-NE-3-8-30-W1
- Coulson #2064 NE-28-8-30-W1
- Kelvindale #1090 4 mi S of Antler on SW 27
- Oatlands #632 SE -14-7-31-W1
- Silver Vale #2065 SE 14-8-31-W1
From Sod to Solar-Fielding, Lilac, Maymont, Ruddell, R.M. Mayfield #406
- Beckwith #526 NW-19-40-11-W3
- Calais #3554 SW 11-41-12-W3
- Grey #1356
- Keystone S.D. #1144 NE 13-42-12-
- Montro S.D. NW-35-41-13-W3
- Neepawa S.D. 1517
- Wavie Bank #4711
Our Roots Nos Racines
Homestead to Heritage History of Armley, and District of Manilus, Armley, Silver Stream, Waterfield, R.M. of Connaught
- Armley #4236 SE 29-48-14-W2
- Manlius #2956 NW-SW 12-48-15-W2
- Silver Stream #2011 NW SE 15-47-14-W2
- Waterfield S.D. #2678 NE 3-48-14-W2
Our Roots Nos Racines
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Aberdeen #1610 NW 6-39-2-W3
- Hessledale S.D. #3557 NE 17-37-2-W3
- Kilmeny S.D. #2769 NW 12-38-4-W3
- Lily 6 mi. N of Aberdeen at a crossroad then moved to 8 mi N of Aberdeen
- Lily North NE 25-40-3
- Old Trail School #1596 SW 14-38-3-3 then NW 11-38-3-3
- The Pretoria S.D. NE 4-38-2
- River Park S.D. #843 NW NE 22-3A3-W3
- New Steinbach S.D. SW 34 Township 38-R*-W3
Dance on the Bridge A History of Abernethy and Area
Kenlis S.D. #6 NW-23-19-11-W2
incorporated name was:
SCHOOL DISTRICT OF KENLIS PROTESTANT PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. SIX OF THE NORTH WEST TERRITORIES
KENLIS S.D. #6 was the first "rural' school of the NWT
second Kenlis school built 1902
Third Kenlis school built 1946
First teacher Miss Majorie Blythe
Abernethy S.D. #300 SW -23-
Pleasant Valley S.D
Lorlie S.D. 338 S-2-21-10
Chickney S.D. 360 NE-4 then Section 10
Foster S.D. #388 NE 1-21-11
Pheasant Plains S.D. 572 NW 6-19-10
Lorlie Station School #2756
Gillespie S.D. #301 -(This number used before in the NWT) SE NW 24-21-11-W2
Heather S.D. #4497
Our Roots Nos Racines
Grassland to Grainland Adanac, Phippen, Queenston, Crooked Valley, Local Centre, Cleavering, Tako, R.M. Tramping Lake
- Adanac S.D. #2210
- Cleavering S.D. #3747 NE SE 20-40-21
- Crooked Valley S.D. NW 4-39-21
- Local Centre S.D. #4270
- Phippen S.D.
- Queenston S.D. #2068 SE 21-29-22-W3
- Kingston #1647 SE 31-39-21-W3 1940's changed name Tako #1647
Our Roots Nos Racines
Alford Time Marches On Alfred, Formby, Wardenville, and Wembley
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Formby #4369 NW NE 19-45-22-W3
- Wardenville #2479
- Wembley #4437
- Alfred S.D. 4053 SE 14-44-22-W3
History of Allan School #2919
Allan School #2919 NE NE 3-34-1-3
Our Roots Nos Racines
Alvena Ukrainian Pioneer Days in early years 1898-1916 in Alvena and District
Svoboda S.D. #1704 20-41-1-W3
Our Roots Nos Racines
Links With The Past
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Belbutte S.D. #1 and #2 S.D. #3848 NE-11-51-13-W3
- Loch Side S.D. #5054 SW 24-51-14-W3
- Stoke School #5035 NW 23-50-13-W3
2005 memories : a history of the Hamburg School District no. 2005, Laird, Saskatchewan
Riegert, Paul W.
Hamburg S.D. 32005 SW SW 11-44-5-3
Our Roots Nos Racines
The School Beneath the Hill Antelope Park S.D. #3464 Court and Hilldale District 3099
Our Roots Nos Racines
Antelope Park S.D. #3464 NE NE 19-32-28-W3
Hilldale S.D. #3099 W NW 14-33-28-W3
Reflections a History of Arelee and the districts of Balmae, Dreyer, Golden Valley, Light, Petroffsk, Raspberry Creek, Sunnyridge and Swastika
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Balmae S.d.584 NW 10-38-11-W3
- Dreyer S.D. 919
- Golden Valley S.D. 1344 NE 22-38-11
- Light S.D. #2346 NE 24-37-12-W3
- Petroffsk S.D. 3041 NE 8-38-12-W3
- Raspberry Creek S.D. 3246 15-39-11
- Sunnyridge S.D. NW 6-37-11-W3
- Swastika S.D. #3042 SW 1838-11-W3
Craik Saskatchewan homecoming '71 booklet
Craik S.D. Mrs. W.K. Gray first teacher
Our Roots Nos Racines
Rosebush S.D. SE 9-38-18 WM Harvey first teacher
Our Roots Nos Racines
Craik Saskatchewan homecoming '71 booklet
Craik S.D. Mrs. W.K. Gray first teacher
Our Roots Nos Racines
Deep earth : a short history of the Tiefengrund School District, No.431, in Saskatchewan
Riegert, Paul W.
Tiefengrund S.D. #431 NW-5-44-4-W3
Kathe Anna Regier first home teacher, David Toews first school teacher
Our Roots Nos Racines
Cherished memories of Silver Willow
Silver Willow Reunion and Book Committee,
- Willowbrook S.D. #681 1903-1912 Miss Emma V. Danard first teacher
- Willowbrook S.D. #681 second school 1912-1922
- Silver Willow S.D. #681 renamed 1922-1952
- Silver Willow S.D. #681 Last School 1952-1967
Our Roots Nos Racines
Builders of a great land
History Committee of the R.M. of the Gap # 39
- Ceylon #351 Henry Carter first teacher
- Buffalo Valley #1788 Rev. Geo Sherarer first teacher
- Gibson Creek #645 SW 4-7-19 Miss Estelle Woodward first teacher
- Trail #2105 Willard Freeman first teacher
- Egypt Valley #773 moved north to 2-7-21 Miss Annie Wilfred first teacher
- Lyons #2983 NW NW 30-6-21 Miss Mary Murray first teacherHardy #4233 NE side of Hardy, SK Mr. Braithwaite first teacher
- Green Lake # Miss Olive Walker first teacher
- Meadow View #3504 SE NE 34-21-W2 Miss Nora S. Boyd first teacher
- Meadow View second school NW 22-5-21 Loretta Ritchie first teacher
- Gordon #2902 NE 33-4-21-W2 Miss Isabelle McGrath first teacher
- Good Time #4633 SE SW 8-4-21-W2 Cora Sawyer first teacher
- Big Four School #3393 SW 4-4-20 Miss Coniver first teacher
- East Ceylon School #4861
- Troy #2757 Miss Lynn Stanchfield first teacher
- Carnbrogie S.D. #2998 Miss Kidd first teacher
- Lacadia S.D. #290 Miss Charlotte Cahill first teacher
- Round Up School #2949 SW 19-4-19-W2 Miss Beatrice McGrath first teacher
- Oakville S.D. #418 NE 13-5-20 Annie Reidy first teacher
- Oakville S.D. #418 moved 1/2 mile south in 1950
- Naomi School #4533 Miss Kathleen McPhee NW 17-5-20
Our Roots Nos Racines
Buckland History Book Committee,
- Albertville #3420
- Alingly #1929 Miss Alice Green first teacher
- Begin #3346 first teacher Mortimer Downing
- Centreville #2639
- Cloverdale #4199 Miss Irene Firth first teacher
- Fortsburg School #4224 Miss Ella McTavish first teacher
- Garden River #607
- Henribourg (Garden River #607 changed names c1938)
- Hanna #1943 Mr. Singleton first teacher
- Podole School #3227 John Horyciuk first teacher
- Red Wing School #2857 Margaret Willis first Teacher
- Wahpeton #4770 Rev. J.G. Meek first teacher
- Wheatley #3821 Miss Jean McKay first teacher
- White Star School Miss Florence Tobin first teacher
- Whitfield School #4242 Miss Anna Ratlarg first teacher
Our Roots Nos Racines
Bridging the years : Nipawin, Saskatchewan
Author: Nipawin Historical Society,
Alvin Mitchell Farm one room school teacher Miss Elizabeth Bothwright 1912
Nipawin Rural School 1917
1927 4 room school
Our Roots Nos Racines
Bridging the past : Wolseley & district, 1880-1980
Author: Wolseley & District History Book Committee.
WOLSELEY SCHOOL 25. Organised in 1883, and Miss Peach was the first teacher, in 1884 the school was officially organised with the proper amount of students. The first school in town was held in a frame building where the current Wolsely town hall locates, and was later moved to the site at the corner of Front and Claude Street. In 1890, Wolseley had a two room school, by 1900 a four room school. SPRING HILL, MOFFAT, SOUTHGATE, ROSE LANE, ALLINDALE, ERNSCLIFFE, ELLISBORO, POPLAR GROVE, MOUNT CRESCENT, ALBERT, SUMMERBERRY, CARR HILL, WESTFIELD, and DURHAM were rural schools absorbed into the INDIAN HEAD SCHOOL UNIT.
WOLSELEY ST. ANNE'S R.C.S.S.D. NO 14. The first school openedin 1905 in the convent. In 1910, the Separate School was formally recognized with its own building. The old church was used until a new school was erected in 1958.
ST. RAPHAEL'S CONVENT. In December of 1904, pupils began at this parish boarding school. Final classes were held in the 1950s.
ABBOTSFORD SCHOOL DISTRICT 37. In April of 1886, ratepayers assembled to form a school district. The school house was erected on the SE corner of NW 10 16 10 in 1888 opening under Mr. Argue. The school closed 1944.
ALBERT SCHOOL DISTRICT 689. 1902 saw the inaugural meeting in the community to form a school. The school site was three miles east of Wolseley situated upon a trail which became the Trans Canada Highway. Miss Lizzie Gillespie was the first teacher, This school building was sold and a new school opened in 1927. In 1950 the school had to be moved for the construction of the Trans Canada HIghway, remaining open at the new site until 1964 when students attended WOLSELEY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT.
ALLINDALE SCHOOL DISTRICT 846. The organisational meeting was held in the spring of 1903. Miss F.J. Close ws the first teacher in 1921 when a new brick building was erected. Before this students were conveyed into Sintaluta. ALLINDALE closed in the fall of 1963, and pupils attended school in Wolseley.
DURHAM SCHOOL DISTRICT 347. The first meeting was held in 1894. The first teacher in the summer of 1895 was Miss Carrie Thompson. The school closed June 1965 and the area became part of the WOLSELEY CONSOLIDATED DISTRICT.
ELLISBORO HIGH SCHOOL operational 1934-1942.
TREVORDALE opeational 1894-1916
MOUNT CRESCENT S.D. NO 911. In the fall of 1903, the school district was established with the meeting of ratepayers. The location was to be where sections 27, 28, 33 and 34 meet, and by the spring of 1904, the building was completed. The first classes were taught by Miss E.B. Mitchell starting April 17, 1904. The school closed at the end of June 1964.
POPLAR GROVE SCHOOL DISTRICT 31. The first school building referred to as "OLD POPLAR GROVE" school was built in 1886 on two acres of land in the NE quarter 9 17 9. The "NEW POPLAR GROVE" school was erected in 1915 and remained open until 1963.
ROSE LANE S.D. NO. 366. The school district formed in the spring of 1895. The school house site was the NE corner of 35 17 9. In 1925, the school house was moved to a more centralized location for the children now in the area. So the new site was north and east at SE 1 18 9. The school closed between 1953-1956, and finally closed permanently in 1963.
THISTLE SD NO 36. Built in 1885 on the SE quarter section of 36 17 9, and closed in 1891.
SPRING HILL SD 4853. The school site was approved in the spring of 1930 and the site chosen was the SE quarter 25 16 10, south of the town of Wolseley. Neighbouring schools were SOUTHGATE, ABBOTSFORD, and WESTFIELD. Miss Harrop ws the first teacher at the school,. At the end of 1947, the school closed for two years, finally closing permanently in 1959. Children were bussed to ST ANNE'S SEPARATE SCHOOL and DR. ISMAN PUBLIC SCHOOL. The WOLSELEY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT formed in 1962 absorbing the former areas of SPRING HILL. The SPRING HILL school building was sold and moved to Montmartre and renovated into a residence.
SOUTHGATE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO 358. South of the Town of Wolseley, the SOUTHGATE school building was constructed in the spring of 1895. The initial teacher was William Harvey. A new school house was constructed in 1943, and the first school building sold. AT the end of June 1959, SOUTHGATE closed its doors, and students were bused into Wolseley.
WESTFIELD SCHOOL DISTRICT 35 The first classes were held in a residents home starting in the spring of 1886 under Mr. R. Moffat. The following year, a house was purchased to be used as a school. In 1889, the school district allocated one acre on the SW corner of section 22 16 9 for a school. THISTLE school house was purchased and moved to the school yard. In 1900 and 1916, the school building was enlarged. The summer of 1964 saw the closure of the school, and students were conveyed into Wolseley as the area was absorbed into the WOLSELEY CONSOLIDATED DISTRICT.
WOLF CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT 179. In 1899 school classes were held in a log home under the tutelage of Mr. Robert Erskine. A school building was erected on SW 28 15 9 W2 in 1893. With shifts in the settlement's population, a new school site on SE 35 15 9 W2 was selected which was north east of the first school. So in 1930, a new school was erected. In 1963 the school area was absorbed into SUB UNIT 7 of the INDIAN HEAD SCHOOL UNIT NO 19 rather than the REGINA (EAST) SCHOOL UNIT NO 21 or the WOLSELEY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT. WOLF CREEK 179, WESTFIELD 35, DURHAM 347, WOLF HILL 823, WELDON 65, ELKWOOD 1418 and HUNTINGFORD 1412 areas all became a part of SUB UNIT 7 of the INDIAN HEAD SCHOOL UNIT NO 19. SUB UNIT 7 operated for 6 months before it was deemed not a feasible arrangment so WOLF CREEK 179 was divided between REGINA (EAST) SCHOOL UNIT NO. 21 and WOLSELEY CONSOLIDATED DISTRICT. WOLF HILL and WELDON became part of GRENFELL CONSOLIDATED, ELKWOOD and HUNTINGFORD also joined REGINA (EAST) SCHOOL UNIT NO. 21.
Ellisboro Public School #228 Miss Rose Oliver first teacher.
Moffatt #4852 Mrs Francis Pow first teacher
Our Roots Nos Racines
After the dust : a history of Leoville & community : Leoville, Laventure, Ranger, Junor, Penn, Chitek Lake, Pelican Reserve, Spruce Creek, Timberland, Timberlost, Capasin
Author: Leoville Historic Committee,
Our Roots Nos Racines
- Leoville School 1932
- Penner #5085 Miss Muriel Kreller first teacher
- Chitek Lake #1943 Mr. Moynihan first teacher
- Pelican Reserve NE 24-54-13-W3 Mr. Mills first teacher
- Spruce Creek T54-R13 Mary Otto first teacherTimberland
- Capasin T23 R10
- Crescent Ridge T53 R10
Author: Blended Heritage History Committee,
Title Our heritage : era of south and east of Saskatoon
- Ada #5074 SE 14-43-24 Miss Hilda Henriksen first teacher
- Alada #2955 A.E. Allison first teacher
- Baldwinton #4762 Miss Florence Wismer first teacher
- Bluebell #2494 SW NW 11-41-53 D. McLeod first teacher
- Cairnsview #3522 NW 36-41-23 Miss Clara Pool first teacher
- Dufferin #1888 Miss Larua Duvall first Teacher
- East Bank #3525 SW 29-41-23-W3 Mrs. Leila Manship first teacher
- Happyland #1732 Mrs. Edith Haight first teacher
- Langmark #3683 Vera Baldwin first teacher
- Madawaska #2238 first teacher
- Mount Ethel #4204 SW 21-44-24-W3 Miss Jones first teacherRuth #4066 SE 17-42-23-W3 Miss Hazel Walve Irons first teacher
- Seagram #227 SW SE 28-42-24-W3
- Thule #4312 Miss Hilda Rayner first teacher
- Vance #180 Clara Munsell first teacher
- Wasteene #2231 NW 4-41-22 Mr. Huston first teacher
- Wilbert Bert Lake first teacher
- Winter S.D. #4114 14-42-25-W3 Lillian M. Stephens first teacher
- Irene #2157 NE 11-44-23 Miss Nanie Fraser first teacher
Published online Our Roots Nos Racines
Published Saskatoon 1985
Author Floral History Book Committee
BAINESVILLE SD 214. Formed their school district committee in 1911, and opened in 1912 with Miss Lila Little as the first teacher. A new school was needed in 1954, and the old building moved into Clavet. BAINESVILLE remained opened until 1964 when students were conveyed into Clavet.
BROOKLAND SD 3662. Petition sent in the spring of 1912, and in 1917 the school was to be erected on NW corner of SW 30 34 5 3, and the first teacher was Miss Laura E. Dickenson. BROOKLAND school was moved to SE 1/436 34 6 W3 in 1932. The building burned down in 1939, and the community re-built. About 1950, the school building was moved again, operating west of the Lawley farm on the quarter section belonging to Mr. Hemp. In 1953, the school closed, and the building moved onto the GRASSWOOD school yard in 1954. BROOKLAND school building was moved off the school site and sold.
CLAVET COMPOSITE SCHOOL. Consolidation of several rural schools to be conveyed into the hamlet of Clavet. The school building was built in the 1962-1963 school year. BAINESVILLE, BERGHEIM, BLUCHER, BRADWELL, COATES, DEERFIELD, ELSTOW, EVANSVALE, FLORAL, FURDALE, GLENMAUR, GRASSWOOD, HAPP, HOMEWOOD, LONE STAR, MEADOW LARK, MELNESS, OLICANA, ONWARD, PATIENCE LAKE, PLEASAN POINT, PRAIRIE HOME, SUMMERFIELD, UNITY6, VICTOR, WALL LAKE, WOODVIEW students all came to CLAVET COMPOSITE SCHOOL.
EVANSVALE SD 708. The school building was constructed on SE corner of NE 29 36 4 3. In 1910, a more centralized location was needed to serve the areas children, so the school building was re-located upon NE 21 36 4 3. The first teacher recorded is Lilian Clarke in 1903, and the last teacher served in the 1962 school year.
FLORAL SD 688. Opened 1902-1962, on two acres of land on S.E. of S.W. 4 36 4 W 3. With a new school proposed in 1947, there being two schools on the site until 1949. The original school was torn down.
. The first teacher Mrs. J.N. Hunter started in 1902.
FURDALE . Opened in 1958 under Lilah Brehon on Haliburton Avenue in the Furdale Subdivision south of Saskatoon. Closed in 1966, and pupils attended school in the city of Saskatoon or at Clavet.
GRASSWOOD SD 3998. First meeting held Jan 1918, and again in 1922. The school building was erected on NE NE 33 35 3 after acquiring some of the school district land areas of VICTOR and from the City of Saskatoon. The new school opened in 1923, and Miss. S.E. Morgenroth the first teacher. FURDALE school building was moved to the site to provide extra classes for the overcrowded school in about 1958. In 1954 BROOKLAND school building was also moved onto the GRASSWOOD school grounds. In 1962, VICTOR school was added to GRASSWOOD school to serve secondary school students. Later BROOKLAND school was sold, and moved offsite. CLAVET COMPOSITE SCHOOL opened 13 miles away, and by 1969, GRASSWOOD closed.
HOMEWOOD SD 4459. The first meeting held 1922, however no school building erected.
LONE STAR SD 781. A petition as sent off in the fall of 1902, and G.R. Kennedy was the first teacher in 1903. A new school was constructed in 1926, and another new school building was proposed in 1959, however pupils were sent to CLAVET, LONE STAR closed in 1962.
MELNESS SD 1179. The first meeting was December 1904, and a building erected on SE SW 16 35 4 3. Murdock MacKay was the first teacher as of 1907, and the last teacher taught in 1962. Pupils bussed in to Clavet for school thereafter.
OLICANA SD 4126. In 1918, the first meeting was held, for the MONS school district. The building located at SW 6 36 2 3, and the name OLICANA was chosen. Euphemia Dobie Porteous became the first teacher in 1919, and the final class held in 1962. Pupils were conveyed into Clavet for school.
PATIENCE LAKE SD 2185. In the spring of 1908, a petition was received by the Department of Education for a school district. On approval, the school was built on SW section 20 and not the propsed sw section 29. In 1914, 1922, and 1941 the school closed due to a shortage of pupils. In 1946, PATIENCE LAKE school building was relocated to LILY VALLEY NORTH near Aberdeen where it was used until it was sold in the Aberdeen area.
SOUTH CORMAN PARK SCHOOL. This school opened in 1980 seven kilometers south of Saskatoon along Preston Avenue. In 1970 pupils were conveyed to Clavet, when Clavet became overcrowded around 1978, pupils from this area attended school in the city of Saskatoon.
SUMMERFIELD SD 2164. In 1910 a petition sent in for SUNNY BANK school was sent in, and SUMMERFIELD school was constructed on SE 25 36 3 3. The first teacher was Mrs. O.R. Burnett and Mrs. Conlin in the 1914-1915 school year. The school remained operational until 1956-1957.
VICTOR SD 1889. A school meeting was held in the spring of 1907 to propese a new school. The new concrete and brick school building was located on SE SE 16 35 5 3. In 1911, Miss Jessie M. Forbes was hired for the first year of classes. The last teacher taught in 1962.
Title R.M. of Wolverine memory album
Published Plunkett, Sask. : R.M. of Wolverine History, 1981
Author Wolverine History Committee
Title Geographic names of Saskatchewan
Author Bill Barry
Published Regina, Sask. : People Places Pub., c2005
ISBN 1897010192 (pbk.)
Title Listing compiled at the Provincial Saskatchewan Archives Saskatoon Branchhttp://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~cansk/school/schooldistricts.html
Title Listing compiled at the Provincial Saskatchewan ARchives Regina Branch
Title Library and Archives Canada
Exploration and Settlement > Western Land Grants (1870-1930)
Title Atlas of Saskatchewan Celebrating the Millennium (Millennium ed.)
Editors Fung, Kai-iu (1999). Barry, Bill.
Published: University of Saskatchewan.
Title Atlas of Saskatchewan
Editors Richards J. Howard & Fung, K.I.
Published(1969). Saskatoon: Modern Press.
Title Dept of Education
Listing compiled by Dept of Education and Provincial Archives.
Title Let's look back...
Author Perdue History Group Committee
Published Perdue, Sask. : Perdue History Book Committee, 1977
Bellisle SD #1468 started 1907 Title The Sonningdale story
- Eagleholme NE - NW 11 - Township 36 - Range 10 - W3 1906-1950s
- Fairholme SD #4225 started 1920 First teacher Mess Ora Sutton (Mrs. McMahon) moved to Asquith in 1961 as a school addition
- Granville organised 1915, built 1916, closed in 1950 and moved to Kinley in 1953
- Jasper SD #3523 started 1915, first teacher Miss Pearle Christie
- Normanton SD #1678. Section 11 - Township 35 - Range 12 - W3. 1907-1945
- Park Lake School
- Perdue School organised in 1908 and opened on NE 32 - Township 35 - Range 11 - W3 (first teacher Archibald Smith) and moved into Perdue 1911 to the south side of railroad tracks. Name change to New Hillsdale on records Sept 1911, and Perdue SD #1852 on records in October 1911. In 1914 a new 2-room school erected on the north side of tracks. In 1920 a 6 room school house built.
- Wheatfield SD #1174 first teacher Archie Smith.
- Woodlawn SD #1114 organised 1904 and built in 1905 on SE 3 Township 35 - Range 10 - W3. Closed 1960.
- Woolford organised 1912 and closed 1962. First built 1/2 mi south of present site and moved in 1928.
- Wyatt organised 1921 and operated between 1922-1951. Fred Irwin Reid was the first teacher, named after Wyatt Gamble.
Author Sonningdale (Sask.). Spartan High School
Published Sonningdale, Sask. : [s.n.], 1955
Title Through the years : history of Perdue, Leney, Kinley and districts
- Sonningdale School opened 1911 L.A. Rathwell first teacher.
- Bellevant opened 1922, Miss Mary Carmody first teacher.
- Spartan school opened in 1929 in the hall which had been erected in 1927.
Author: Perdue Agricultural Society
Published Perdue, Sask. : , 1968?
Title Reflections : a history of Arelee and the districts of Balmae, Dreyer, Golden Valley, Light, Petroffsk, Raspberry Creek, Sunnyridge and Swastika
Author: Arelee and District Historical Association
Published Arelee, Sask. : The Association, 1982
ARELEE School District 581 was erected inside the town limits of Arelee in 1928 on the north west corner of NW section 10 Township 38 range 11 West of the 3 meridian and Eva Cleghorn served as the first teacher. The school yard accepted the GOLDEN VALLEY school building in 1959, and ARELEE served BALMAE, GOLDEN VALLEY, RASPBERRY CREEK and SWASTIKA school districts and pupils were bussed into Arelee. In 1971 ARELEE closed, and all schools district children were conveyed into Perdue.
BALMAE School District 2740
Title Footsteps in time : Meota, Prince, Wing, Russell, Fitzgerald, Vyner, St. Michael, Jackfish Creek, Ness, Lavigne, Cochin, Murray Lake, Scentgrass, Glenrose, Moosomin, Saulteaux, Metinota. -
Author Meota History Book Committee, 1980.
Note: according to Philately and Postal History: Post Offices and Postmasters
ST MICHAEL SD #40 NW 22-48-17 1894-1957
First teacher 1895 Mrs. Josephine Heron
MEOTA SD #790
First school MEOTA SD #1155 3-1/2 miles south of Meota
1912 MEOTA SD #790 SE 8-4[sic]-17-3 opened in the village of MEOTA closed 1974
RUSSELL SD #1128 SW 26-47-18-W3 1905-1961
First teacher Charley S. Miller
Cochin settlement first known as "The Narrows"
COCHIN school history
Mission School built c1912 in the Moosomin Indian Reserve
Delorme SD 1212 1905-1922 located east of highway #4 on Charles Delorme Ranch
After Delorme SD 1212 was sold, children again attended Mission church now moved off the reserve north of the creek
1926-1960 new school built Sec 30 Township 47 Range 16 north of the creek, west of the road allowance.
1960 school rebuilt after the fire on church property
OLD MEOTA SCHOOL SE 1-47-18-3 1905-1914
WING SD 1155 NE 33-46-18-3 1914-1930
New WING school 1930-c1967
FITZGERALD SD#1536 1906-1966
First teacher Mr. Bruce.
VYNER SD #1778 1909 first organisation, school built 1912.
School moved two miles south in about 1923/1924 to be more centrally located.
First teacher G.D. Chown
LAVIGNE SD#2324 1908-1958 NE 9-48-18-W3
First teacher Mr. Holmes
NESS SD#2693 NW 5-48-17-W3 1911-1940
"Little Red Schoolhouse" burned down 1940
First teacher Beatrice Houde
JACKFISH CREEK SD 4099 1919-1957
First teacher Miss Flora Day
PRINCE SD#3694 SW 14-46-17 1917-1935 school burned down
New school built 1935-1968
First teacher Miss F.E. Simpson
SCENTGRASS LAKE SD #3133 SE 28 46 16 W3 1914-1967
First teacher Miss E. Archibald 1919
Before opening pupils driven to KNOWLES School,
after closing driven to North Battleford.
GLENROSE SD first named KNOWLES in 1908
NE 33 45 16 Opened 1909 Miss Pricilla Maxwell first teacher
Changed names when new school erected 1928, closed 1967.
METINOTA SD# 4275
MURRAY LAKE SD #4275 NW 23-47-16-W3 1922-1966
First teacher Mr. Sallows 1923
Lirary and Archives Canada
Collections Government of Canada
From 1894-1897 Meota post office was located at Sec.10, Twp.47, R.17, W3
In 1904 the Meota post office was moved to Sec.16, Twp.46, R.17, W3
In 1911 Meota post office at Sec.16, Twp.46, R.17, W3 was renamed Prince.
1910-1911 Beachview post office was located at Sec.8, Twp.47, R.17, W3
and in 1911 Beachview was renamed to Meota
Title Preserving Our Heritage : 1904-1983
Author: New Osgoode Restoration Club
Published Tisdale, Saskatchewan 1984
NEW OSGOODE SD #1600 SW 29-46-13-W2 1906-1967
First teacher Miss Genevieve Beard
GOYER SD #3276 built 1-1/2 mi west of Zenon Park NE 11-47-13 1913-1959
moved to NW-10-47-13
first teacher Adrian Carriere 1914
HODSON SD#1840 1907-1936
SE 28 46 14
first teacher Miss Rachel Armstrong 1908
re-named FORESTER after post office
FORESTER SD #1840 1936-1962
VERCHERES SD#4585 SW NW 30-46-4151924-1971
First teacher Honorius Pilon 1925
FLORENTINE SD #4388 SW SE 2 46 14 1920-1964 (Fire)
First teacher Mr. S.H. Coleman 1921
CLASHMOOR SD #4231 NE 33-45-13-W2* 1919-1961
First teacher Basil Glynn 1920
GIRWOOD SD #5006 NE NE 31-45-12 1933-1964
1934 Miss Jean Stewart first teacher.
Title: Tales and trails of the following school districts : Blackfoot, Daysville, Lake Russell, Minnehaha, Parkdale, Picnic Lake, 1893-1978
Author: Minnehaha Co-op Women's Auxiliary.
Edam, Sask. 1979.
RM of Prince Albert #461 lists their one room schoolhouses and locations.
BLACKFOOT SD #3299 1914-1965
Classes held at the Ayres home, then moved to the building erected on the Ed Bell quarter section
First teachers Gladys E. Kingbury and Mrs. M.B. Brocklebank
From the SD map, the schoolhouse located NE SE 1 Township 50 Range 19 W3
DAYSVILLE SD #2230 1908-1957
First teacher Miss Ada K. McKinnon 1909
From the SD map, the schoolhouse locates at SW NW 9 Township 50 Range 19 W3
LAKE RUSSELL SD #4249 W- SW - Section 31 1919-
First teacher Mr. Pomery
LAVIGNE SD NE 9-48-18-W3 1908-
first teacher Mr. Holmes, 1908
MINNEHAHA SD #909 1912-1959 (new building) -1965
Miss B. Currie first teacher in 1914.
From SD map Township 49/50 Range 18 W3
PARKDALE SD NE NE 22-50-18-W3 1910-1963
1911-1912 classes in Parkdale Church
Mr. W.J. French first teacher 1913
PICNIC LAKE SD #3829 1916-c1950
First teacher Alice Mulholland in 1917
Title: Our blended heritage : Ruthilda and District, 1905-1980
Beehive School No 533; Ruthilda was 4 miles south and 1 mile east of the school
(Ruthilda post office located at Sec.3, Twp.34, R.18, W3 77 )
Built July 2, 1918, closed c1943
Daisy Hill School No 598 in RM Mountain View 318
built in 1912 on NE corner of NE 16 33 17 W3 and closed 1960
Closed 1912-1915 due to the flu epidemic
first teacher Miss Anna Christensen
Glengarry Plains District 2116
first used sod shack at NW section 10 until building built
opened May 1909, closed 1917-1926 and children went to either Nobleview or Rose schools
Rose School No. 3926
Opened 1918 on section 26 township 33 range 19 with teacher Irene McHattie
Rowena School District No. 4544
Built on NE 24 33 17 W3
Open between 1928-1953
Bridging the centuries : Shackleton, Abbey, Lancer, Portreeve. Vol. 1
Authors Miry Creek Area History Book Committee
Abbey, Saskatchewan 2000
Abbey School 3284 1915-
Ararat Springs School District 1064
1913-1965 SE 2 22 21 W3
In 1952 the school building moved to "Flaxhill district"
SW SW 25 22 21 W3
Ararat or Flaxhill closed June 1965
Building moved to Lancer to enlarge the Lancer Hall in 1968
Then moved to a farm for a workshop
Badger Mound 3238
SE 29 19 20 W3
Bakerville SD 3819
1917-1955 first teacher Miss Coubrough
Sec 17 23 22 W3
Meeting 1914, 1915 construction starts
First teacher Edith Whiteman
Flaxhill SD 1134
Constructed 1912 on NE 35 22 21
In 1913, Mr. Cochrane first teacher.
Flaxhill school sold and renovated into a home (no date given)
Ararat school building moved to SW 25 22 1 on the southern edge of
Flaxhill SD, and renamed Flaxhill Closed 1965
Hill 3624 organised 1914 and closed 1942
John E. Cairns taught in 1915 in Ed Howey's home
School constructed 1916, Miss Grace Leggott first teacher
Se 17 20 21
The Hill SD disorganised in 1968
Holbron SD 2452
organised 1921, 1924 school built at SE 4 21 21 W3
Leonora Watson first teacher 1925
Lancer 3070 organised 1913
Construction 1914 2 classrooms
First teacher Miss Sadie Smith in 1914
Leader School Unit Division opens 1946
Leggott SD 3802
1917-1947 at Township 20 Rge 21 W of the 3 Meridian
Miss Parks first teacher
Level Prairie 3185
organised 1914, school opens 1915
Miss L.C. Byers first teacher
Long Island SD
organised 1920, no building built
School district organises transportation to Flaxhill
Maple Dale 2727
NE SE Sec 24 Township 21 Range 20 W 3
Miry Creek SD#397
organised 1912 and built NE 10 21 19 W3
Miss Louise Sullivan first teacher
Newark School District
closes in 1956
Glen Mason, Historian Home Page
|I am a retired farmer and my hobby is collecting Saskatchewan local|
History Books, and publications by Bill Barry.
Thanks, Glen Mason
Geographical Names of Canada:
Geographical Names of Canada
Natural Resources Canada
|Hello: I'm retired and take drives around the countryside near Yorkton. I have pictures of some of the old school sites and am willing to share them with you I also went to the Coverdale school near Moosomin in the late 40's and early 50's. -Red Lauttamus |
Bangor History Book
Llewelyn and Bangor district schools as photographed by Red Lauttamus and permissions kindly given by the Bangor historical committee for historical pictures in the Bangor History Book.
Rocanville "The Echo" 1904-1964
ASTON 1537 SW 27 22 3 W2
AUDLEY 2504 1901-1965
BANGOR 1141 Ne 165 21 3 W2
FERTILE BELT 4350 21 2 W2
GLYNDWR 991 NE 10 22 2 W2 1904-1947 THEN SE 15 22 2 W2 1948-1967
MARWIN 1161 NE 36 21 4 W2
LUTON 2088 SW 28 20 3 W2
DEVON PARK 107 1887-
Author: Rocanville Village of Commerce Committee headed up by
Mr. J. Gerolamy, Rev. R.M. Evans, Mrs. Robert Palmer and Madge Gerolamy.
Published c1964 Brandon, Man. : Sun Printing
Author: Westside Echoes Book Committee, Unity Saskatchewan, 1980
Town of Unity
Alfred Knowles School District #4149 began as Reed Lake #4149 Feb 18, 1919 then changed names to Alfred Knowled 4149 in memory of Alfred Knowles KIA WW1. The little "Red School House: remained opened until June of 1960. Teacher listing included in book.
BELTON School District meeting held December, 1909, and school opened April 17, 1911 and closed 1959. Building demolished. Pupil and teacher listing as well as teacher biographies in book.
Buccleugh School No 3825 located at NW 34 Township 40 Range 24 W3. The school was built following the school district meeting held September 1916. When this school burned down, the Scotstown School was moved to the school yard and used until it, too, burned down.
Mount Everest School #4418 was used between 1923 and 1958 at the location NW section 11 Township 40 Range 24, W of the 3rd meridian. Teachers and pupil listing in book.
ROSEBRIER school district had its first meeting held 1918, and the school constructed and opened in 1919 on NW 1/4 Section section 13 Township 40 Range 25 West of the 3rd Meridian. The school closed in 1961, and the school was sold to a farmer and used as a barn. A cairn erected in the school yard in 1973. Teacher and pupil listing in book
ROSEMARY School Disrict #4093 had its first school meeting in the summer of 1918. It was erected on the NE section 3 Township 40 Range 23 and opened 1919. The building moved to SE 2 40 23 in 1956 to accomodate a larger school unit. Rosemary school closed 1964, and pupil bussed to Unity. The building was used for community functions until the building was sold in 1971 and a cairn was erected on the site.
SCOTSTOWN SD #2467 was constructed in the year 1909 and opened officially May 2, 1910 serving the community until 1959. A cairn was erected in 1967 on the school grounds. See note above for BUCCLEUGH SD 3825
SUNNYGLEN School District opened April 1913, nicknamed the "Little Brick Schoolhouse". The first moniker was Bonnie Home School District #439 in September 1911, changing names in December of the same year to Sunny Glen as requested by the school board. The first classes throughout 1912 were held in St. Paul's Anglican Church. A new Sunny Glen School opened in 1929 and closed June 1963. It was sold to a farmer as a machine shop.
Unity and District Heritage Museum
Cabri and area one room schoolhouses, Cabri Museum, quilt
ADANAC SD #2210 was built in 1950 and now holds a one-room school display at the museum.
ROSEMARY School Barn built in 1919 on NE-3-40-23, used for storage.
Gleanings along the way : a history of Naicam, Lac Vert
Winnipeg, Manitoba: Inter-Collegiate Press, 1980
BRIGHTSIDE School 648, school district formation meeting 1921, school building completed 1923 on SE 28 39 16 W2, school opened April 10, 1923. Teachers hired till 1943.
BYNG School 3601 was built on 21 40 19 W2 and originally called BAILOR School, and later the name was changed to Byng to honour the Governor General of the day. The school burned down in 1932 and all teacher - pupil records were lost. In 1933 a new schol with basement was erected. The Melfort School Unit was formed in 1945, with Byng becoming a part of this school division, until its closure in 1960. Byng area pupil took the bus to Naicam.
GREEN LAWN School 2545 was erected on SW 1 41 19 W2 following meetings held in 1910. Pupils from RM Spalding 368, RM St Peter 369, RM Pleasantdale 398 and RM Lake Lenore 399 attended Green Lawn. The address of the school house changed as the post office changed names from Glen Kelly to Longfield. A new 'modern' school with furnace was erected in 1937. The pupils were driven into Naicam in 1954, and the school building served as a home for a short while before it was sold.
HOME School 3993 was erected on the NW 21 40 17 W2, and classes were held between 1919 - 1960. The school building was sold and moved and used as a home, and was still standing in 1981.
KERMARIA School 775 was erected on the NE 8 41 19 W2 after a meeting held in 1912. School began July 30 1913, and the school district voted to have French taught for one hour during the day. Kermaria RC school No. 4 was formed during the 1920s, and held their classes in the Kermaria school building, and at this time, the English students were transported by bus to Roanoake School. In 1931 Kermaria #4 and Kermaria #775 were amalgamated, and English was the only school language until school closure in 1956. Kermaria was part of the Melfort school Unit for the last 11 years. The school building was sold and became the Highway Garage in Naicam.
KEW GARDENS School or Kew Gardens School Disrict 4847 held their first meeting in 1930, and the building was built in the spring of 1931 at NW 9 41 16 W2. The school burned in 1946, a new school was built, and ready by fall of 1946. The school closed in 1968 after years of struggling to find teachers. Pupils were sent by bus to Melfort, and Kew Garden school was closed and used as a grain storage building.
KITAKO School 3172 was built on SE 24 40 16 W2 and opened July 1914. The school was absorbed into Melfort Larger Unit 54 in 1945. The Kitako school District closed in 1970 and upils bussed to Naicam. The school building became the community centre.
LAC VERT School 2265 was erected on NE 35 40 18 W2 in 1908 and opened in 1909 south of the present village of Lac Vert. In 1928, five years after the arrival of rail, the village had expanded to a size to warrant an addition to the existing building or a new one. A new school opened in 1929 in the village of Lac Vert, and the old building at the old location 1/2 mile south of town was sold. In 1956 another one room school building, called the "cottage school" was moved into Lac Vert from Naicam. In 1965 the cottage school closed, and in 1966 Lac Vert school closed altogether. Pupils bussed to Pleasantdale or Naciam.
LEWIS LAKE School District 3400 opened on SE 36 40 19 W2 in 1916 following the construction which commenced in 1914. In 1950, a new school was built, and the old school building was sold and renovated into a home. In 1962, the school closed, and pupils were bussed to Naicam. This second building was sold, and also renovated into a home.
LITTLESTONE School District 2069 was built following the meeting held in the spring of 1908. School began in a community home for eleven pupils. In 1909 a school wbuilding was erected on SE SE 4 40 17 W2 in RM Pleasantdale 398. The school was built near Lake Edward first named Littlestone Lake by the First Nations. In 1928, this school building was sold, and a new building erected which remained opened until 1955. Pupils bussed to Naicam. A book Trails and Tails by Miss Gay, pupils, and residents was written before the school closure about the school.
NAICAM School #1999 was erected following the petition of 1907, and first meeting of 1908. The school building was built in 1909 on the SE NE 11 40 18 W2. In 1922 another building was added when Dumbarton was moved to Naicam village, as well, a primary cottage school served the north side of the village. The Pioneer School, a brick school, was erected in 1923. DUMBARTON was relocated near this brick school to serve intermediate grades, and the brick school served primary and high school. After the second floor addition was constructed at Pioneer School, the Dumbarton school building was moved onto a farm. In 1945, the Melfort School Unit was established and Naicam was absorbed into sub-Unit 1. In 1951, another cottage school was built adjoining Pioneer School to serve the primary grades, which was used until 1955. Over 1954 and 1955, Patterson school was built. REG. J. BROWN School was erected to help serve the bussing of children in from Littlestone, Greenlawn, and Kitako rural schools.
Sub Unit No. 1 Map
ROANOAKE School District No 4292 was located at SE SE 25 Township 41 Range 19 W2 according to the book map.
SERVICE School District No 4474 was built in 1923 following the community organisation in 1922. The school closed in 1924, the teacher went to Home School to teach. Service School re-oopened in 1926 and this time remained open until 1960 and then burned to the ground taking with it all school records.
VIOLETDALE School No. 4781 was a log building 22 feet by 28 feet constructed in 1929 80 rods south west of the NE 8 40 16 W2 following the community meetings of 1928. This Violetdale school building operated until 1947 when a new school was built on NE 18 40 16 W2 This second school building served the community until 1967 when pupils were thence bussed to Naicam.
Excelsior RM 166 School District Map includes:
Beaver Flat NW 29 18 12 W3
Bethania SE 15 17 10 W3
Centre Spring NW 17 17 11 W3
Diamond Hill SW 7 17 12 W3
Donellyville SE 8 16 10 W3
Friesen SE 10 19 12 W3
Funk NW 9 19 11 W3
Goethe NW 17 18 10 W3
Highfield NE 32 18 11
Hovdestad SE 24 19 13 W3
Leonard S 8 18 12 W3
Lobethal SE 29 19 10 W3
Los Angeles SE 28 18 10 W3
Moscow NW 2 18 12 W3
Notman NW 20 16 11 W2
Reed Valley SW 1 18 10 W3
Rockside SW 31 17 10 W3
Salt Lake SE 27 18 11 W3
Spenst NE 16 17 12 W3
Swan Lake SW 4 18 11 W3
Turnhill NW 30 18 11 W3
Waldeck NE 21 16 12
Springside and district : memoirs by the Springside Historical Society includes:
NORTH LAKE School District No 3991 held their meeting in 1917 and constructed a building on SW 24 29 6 W2. Classes were held 1918-1964, The plaque states classes held 1918-1965. 94
BEAVERDALE School District No 374 held their organisation meeting in 1895 to build on NE NE 35 26 7 which was north west of Yorkton. Log cabin built in 1895, and in 1920 a brick school was erected. Beaverdale became part of Melville school Unit in 1946 and in 1956 the school burned down. FAIRVIEW was relocated to the school yard and used till 1959.
BEBLO School District No 3962 was built on SE 21 28 5 W2 and operated between 1918-1967
BLACK POPLAR School District No 2129 was built in 1922 on the SE 9 29 5 W2 following the 1920 meeting. BLACK POPLAR operated between 1923-1956.
CLEAR CREEK School District No 424 was first situated in 1897 on NW 34 27 6 W2 following the 1896 meeting. During 1897 while the school ws being built, a school building was leased to start classes. School closed 1899-1900. The second school was located at WW 4 28 6 W2. In 1949 they bought a larger building from the airport which was renovated and used in the schoolyard until 1959, when they moved into Springside.
CROSSROADS School District No 4775 held their first organisation meeting in 1928 to build on SE 24 27 7. Classes commenced 1929.
GOOD LUCK School District No 3666 held a meeting 1916 to construct a school on SW 14 28 6. School operated between 1917-1966.
HOMESTEAD School District No 2247 sent in their application in 1908, and following meetings, the wood frame school building 20 x 30 x 12 was constructed on sE 25 28 6 W2. The school was operational 1909-1956.
Photograph Gallery Alphabetical photograph gallery
SANDY RIVER School District No 1717 held a meeting in 1906 to start construction of a school at NW 33 28 6 W2. The school was built during 1907, classes were held between 1908-1965.
STONEY COULEE School District held their first meeting 1915, and classes began 1916. A fire burned the building, and in 1925 a brick and tile building was erected which served until 1964. The building was sold, and after being used to store grain, was re-sold and renovated into a home.
WHITESAND School District No 271 held their meeting 1893, and a log building was constructed south of Whitesand river on SE 10 28 5 W2. A new school was erected in 1909 on SW 3 28 5 W2. In 1955 a building was bought from the airport and renovated and served until 1967 when the school closed.
WINDSOR School District No 265 held their meerting in 1892, and in 1901 classes began in a log school on NE 31 26 5 2. A new school was built on SE 6 27 5 W2 which served until 1966.
The history of Atwater, Saskatchewan : and the surrounding districts, Barra, Coma Park, Fertile Belt, Glyndwr [Atwater, Sask.]: Prepared by the Atwater Historical Society, 1980 includes:
Portrait of a Community : Kelfield, Saskatchewan, Canada Kelfield, Saskatchewan: Kelfield History Book Committee, 1982 includes:
ATWATER School District No 2311 meeting held 1908, and school building constructed 1909 with west wing added in 1916. The second floor of the teacherage used as thir classroom in both 1962 and 1967 school years. In 1970, the school was only one classroom, and in 1979 closed altogether
BARRA School District No 1189 located on NW 23and following the 1916 cyclone, the new school was built on the SE 26. Classes served 1917-1946 in the new school.
COMA PARK School District No
DEVON PARK 167 held was open between 1887-1899 when it was destroyed by prairie fire, and never rebuilt. The district disorganised in 1916.
FERTILE BELT School District No 4350 was operational 1921-1963, and renovated in 1952
GLYNDWR School District No held their meeting in 1904
Reminiscences and reader submitted historical antedotes, written stories, teacher letters. Internal links.
EVANSTON School District No 4580 held its first meeting 1924 and a school was built on the NE 18 35 18 W3 and classes began 1924. In 1937, the building burned and rebuilt serving until 1948 when the building was moved to Springwater as a teacherage till 1977.
FOUR MILE LAKE School District No 3286 was built on the NE NE 16 35 19 w3 and served between 1914-1945.
GETTTYSBURG School District No held its meeting in 1908, and opened in 1909 on the NW SE 14 35 20, closing in 1945, and sold in 1959.
IVY SCHOOL School District No was built on the NW 14 34 20 W3 and served between 1916-1948.
KELFIELD School District No 2466 sent in its petition in 1909, and the building was constructed on the S 28 34 19. Classes were held 1912-1964.
RUBY School District No 1636 was builton the NW NW 32 34 19 W3, and served 1921-1950.
Various places on the WWW which have stories or pictures about Saskatchewan one room schoolhouse. Eternal links.
Pages of the Past : History of Shell Lake-Mont Nebo districts Shell Lake, Saskatchewan: Shell Lake History, 1986 includes:
HYLAND School District No 5208 was established in 1946 in the hamlet of Mont Nebo. Served until 1955.
MISTAWASIS School District No 137 established in 1888 as MISTAWASIS PROTESTANT PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT. The building erected in 1914 on NW 22 49 6 W3. In 1931 the name was changed to MISTAWASIS SCHOOL DISTRICT and it closed in 1955.
MONT NEBO School District No 442 had a log building with lumber framing erected in 1906 which stood till 1955 and school closure.
FUR LAKE School District No 4383 built their school building in 1922. The building was sold in 1952 on school closure, and moved and re-opened as LONESOME PINE school.
|I am a retired farmer and my hobby is collecting the locations of schoolhouses around the area of Unity, Saskatchewan by interviews, and traveling the countryside. Marlene Lefebvre , submitter Frank Oatway, researcher.|
Yellow Creek area ORSH
Latitude - Longitude : 52ΒΊ 45' 27'' N, 108ΒΊ 17' 10'' W
|From various local history books, a reader from British Columbia submitted the locations of schoolhouses around the area of Yellow Creek, Saskatchewan Victor Balon, submitter.|
Pilger Memories : a history of the Pilger-St. Bernard District : a struggle for survival Muenster, Saskatchewan: St. Peter's Press, 1981 includes:
A Time to Remember : A history of Mortlach and district Mortlach, Saskatchewan: Mortlach History Book Committee, 1983 includes:
ST. BERNARD School District No 4692 firstly formed in St. Bernard's Church, which had two buildings built. Around 1927, a public school was organised and a building was built on NW 12 40 23 W2. This building was ST. BERNARD 4692, also referred to as PILGER 4692.
CCOLORADO School District No 4666 was formed following a 1926 meeting, and a building was erected 1-1/2 miles north of Pilger. The school served 1927-1979. In 1967, the name changed from COLORADO 4666 to PILGER 4666 as PILGER (ST BERNARD) 4692 had closed. In 1968 COLORADO became the PILGER CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT 4666.
CANVASSBACK School District No. 1973 held its first meeting 1908, and a building was constructed on the SE 25 39 33 W2, and served 1910-1957.
St. Joseph's Colony - Schools and School Districts
DOBSON School District #1833 was open 1908-1939.
ELKHEAD School District #2217 held its organisational meeting in 1908, and the school built 1916 on SE 34 16 1 W3. It consolidated in 1971 with KALAMAZOO.
KALAMZOO School District #1793 began classes in 1907, and in 1917 a new building was needed. Closed in 1958, and moved to Mortlach and then to Keeler to assist the schools their with additional classrooms.
RED School District #1906 was built following a 1907 petition. The building was erected upon SW 25 17 2 W3. It burned down in 1948, and the STEVENSON school moved in to the old church site, and re-named RED.
STEVENSON School District #1906 served the community between 1907 - 1946 north west of Mortlach. In 1948, the building was moved and served the RED community.
Natural Resources Canada > Earth Sciences Sector > Priorities > Mapping Information Branch > Geographical Names of Canada
Peebles and District History, including school districts : Beeston, Clayton, Peebles, White Rose, Rhineland
Richards, Evan. Peebles, Saskatchewan: Unknown, 1980. Our Roots Nos Racines
PEEBLES SD 1920-1940 classes held in the hall White rose, Bemersyde came here when their SD closed. All pupils bussed to Windthorst in 1970.
BEESTON SD comprised S of correction line in Range 8, and 4 mi w and 6 mi S of that. Settled in 1903.
CLAYTON SD 1448 held their organisational meeting 1905. 1906 purchased NW 27 14 7 W2 Closed in 1959, bussed to Windthorst.
WHITE ROSE SD 345 1911/1912 ti 1942. 1943 to 1958. On closure bussed to Peebles.
Cabri, Saskatchewan: Riverbutte Hobby Club, 1980 Our Roots Nos Racines
Supplement to Riverhurst wheels of progress, 1965-1980
RIVERDENE SD 3081 lists pupils and teachers. Opened May 1914-Sept 1914 in the Rm of Riverside #168, and then 1915 to before 1980. Children bussed to Cabri.
BUTTE VALLEY 4024 1918-1949/1950. Pupil and teacher class photos.
F. T. Hill Museum Committee, Riverhurst Golden Jubilee Riverhurst, Saskatchewan: Riverhurst Branch Library, 1981 Our Roots Nos Racines
Between and beyond the benches : Ravenscrag
RIVERHURST SD 1965-1980, lists teaching staff
ROLLING PRAIRIE SD closed 1963 and pupils bussed to Central Butte and Chaplin.
Ravenscrag History Book Committee, Saville, Ann Ravenscrag, Saskatchewan. 1982 Our Roots Nos Racines
This book provides images, history, maps, class lists, teacher lists for the following schools:
Those Were the Days: The History of MacNutt, Calder, Dropmore, and the surrounding districts, 'pioneer to present'
- ARMSTRONG CREEK SD 5210 on NE 9 T8 R24 W3 near Murraydale and East Fairwell post offices opened 1946 and closed June 1960. In 1946 the Clear Valley SD school building which was erected near Davis Creek was moved to this location, and the name changed.
AYLESFORD SD 2836 ne 33 t9 r 25 w3 The organisational was meeting held Sept 1910, and school opened between Oct 1911-1961 and then pupils bussed to Maple Creek
CHINOOK SD 3358 located SE NE 16 T5 R23 W3 hed its first meeting May 1914, school opened 1915, and closed 1949, pupils bussed to Clay Center school
CLEAR VALLEY SD 4358 was located at SE 11 T 7 R 25 W 3 near Moirvale P.O and Belanger P.O. The organisational meeting was held on 1920, and the classes began in a log house in 1922. Classes were held at Dave Greenwood's home in 1923. The schoolhouse was built 1924 and closed in 1939. The pupils were bussed elsewhere in 1940, and the school moved to become ARMSTRONG CREEK SD 5210.
COULEE HILL SD 4200 was located at NE 14 T7 R23 W3. The organisational meeting was held in 1919, the school opened 1920, and closed 1934. Pupils were bussed in 1940 to others schools. The school building was destroyed by windstomrm in 1979.
CROSSFELL SD 3764 was located on SW 15 T8 R23 W3. The organisational meeting was held in March 1917, and classes commenced Sept 1917 School closed following the 1960/61 school term.
EAST FAIRWELL SD 3805 was located on NW 24 T8 R24 W3. The school district boundaries were restructured twice after formation. Aug 1916 saw the school meeting, and in 1917 classes commenced, the school served the community until 1952 when classes ceased. The building was moved to West bench Colony, and replaced in 1975.
FAIRWELL CREEK SD 4267 was located on SW 15 T7 R24 W3 was on Farwell Crfeek. The meeting was held 1919, and school classes began in the shome of Mr. and Mrs. Kinnick. Construction began 1920. Classes began 1921 and ended following the school term of 1960/61. The school name appears as FAREWELL however the school board sent approval for FAIRWELL. The creek was named FARWELL after a local settler. The school came to be known as FAIRWELL CREEK 4267.
INGLENOOK SD 4708 located on SW Sw 4 T6 R23 W3 at the intersection of highway 13 and Ravenscrag road following the restructuring of WALLASEY (RAVENSCRAG) school district. The meeting was held in 1927, classes were held between 1928-1946. Pupils were bussed to other schools starting with the 1950-1951 school term. The building was sold and moved.
MURRAYDALE SD 2365 was located at SE 11 T9 R25 W3 on the 'bench' - Bryon Hill. The meeting was held in 1908, and classes were held between 1919-1956. MURRAY SD 2365 is also referred to as MURRAYDALE SD 2365.
NORTH BENCH SD 4145 was located on SE 19 T7 R23 W3. The meeting was held in 1919, classes commenced between 1919-1956.
PALISADE SD 3763 held their organisational meeting 1916, however no school building was built to serve the district which contained some sections of T5,6 R24, 25 W3. Pupils were bussed to Robsart.
RAVENSCRAG hamlet located their public reserve school on Land Street and Hainstock Avenue. As a note, the first post office was called Point View between 1910-1914, when the rail came through, the name changed to RAVENSCRAG.
WALLASEY SD 3629 was located at NW 19 T6 R23 W3 on the Frenchman River which was later named Whitemud River shoreline, which was parallel to the C.P.R. line. The SD meeting was first held 1915, classes were held 1915-1964.
Sawkey, John Ann Antony MacNutt, Sask. 1972 Our Roots Nos Racines
Griffin prairie wool : the product of much "wool-gathering" by many early residents of Griffin community
- BERSINA SD 835 was organised in 1903 and built on SE 30 23 31 W1, the earliest records are 1904. A new school was erected in 1957 and closed in 1962 when the pupils were conveyed to MacNutt.
- CASTLAVERY SD had it third school building built in 1952. Classes began in 1953 and closed in 1965. The school district overlapped both the RM of Shell river and the RM of Shellmouth. The first CASTLEAVERY school was built in 1885. The second CASTLEAVERY school was erected in 1905.
- CLOVA SD 806 was erected upon the NW 34 24 30 W1 following a petition of 1902 and an organisational meeting in 1903. Classes commenced 1904 and in 1928 a new school building was needed. This new school served 1928-1966. This school district overlapped both the RM of Churchbridge and the RM of Calder
- CZERNAWKA SD 1712 held it organisational meeting in 1907, yet many settlers arrived around 1887. In 1906 a meeting was held, and the school building was erected on the NE NW 11 25 30 W1. On the arrival of the rail, and Calder Station, CZERNAWKA school moved to SE 12 25 30 W1. This move meant CALDER was one mile away, and both districts were served better following the move. CZERNAWKA closed in 1960. "CHERNOWKA" was the nick name for this school
- FLOWER VALLEY DISTRICT 1098 was located five miles west of Shellmouth MB and 14 miles from Langenburg, SK. The school district was divided by the Pelly Red River Cart Trail. The school building was erected on NE 2 23 30 W1 following a 1904 school district meeting. Classes were held 1906-1955. In 1951 a new building was erected 12 mile west of the original loation at SE 10 23 30 W1
GARTMORE school began 1908
- ZORRA was near GARTMORE, the ZORRA school building was erected 1907 with classes commencing fall of 1907. a new ZORRA school was built 1950 and served until 1963. Students were bussed to MacNutt and Calder
- GRAINSBY was built by 1911, and burned down in 1916. Classes were temporarily re-located to Wm Wardle's abandoned home until a new shool was erected.
- DROPMORE opened 1911
- HOMELAND SD 1771 was organised 1907, and classes commenced 1908. Schools were typically open about 8 months of the year beginning in April in the early 1900's. HOMELAND was located near MacNUTT school. HOMELAN closed 1950, and pupils were thence conveyed to MacNutt. HOMELAND was located across from the Fingas farm.
- LANDESTRAU SD 3698 sent its petition in 1912, yet settlers began arriving in 1880. The school served 1916-1961.
- MINERVA SD 1895 sent in a petition for a new school district in 1890. Students had previously been education at EDEN SD. MINERVA opened 1896 for classes and closed in 1959, and students bussed to MacNutt.
- ROTHBURY was organised in 1891, and the first settlers to the area arrived in 1890. LOGBERG SD was located to the east.
- ZORN SD 3697 was organised in 1916 on Hudson Bay land in the RM of Churchbridge. In 1916 the school building was construc ted on NW 26 2 30 W1. the school was four miles south and one mile east of MacNutt. 1917 saw the first classes beginning in April and running for 6 months. ZOM closed in 1962.
Scarrow, Mary, Charlton, Mabel Griffin, Saskatchewan: M. Charlton, 1967 Our Roots Nos Racines
More Griffin prairie wool
- ROXBORO SD was built spring of 1905 and opened in April. The school was three miles NE of the hamlet of Griffin
- GRIFFIN SD was located in the hamlet of Griffin following a petition sent in 1909, and a 1909 meeting. GRIFFIN SD 2488 opened 1910 with Ella Stewart as teacher. A new school was needed by 1912 and by 1918 the GRIFFIN became a consolidated school absorbing ROXBORO, CARNATION, BROUGH. In 1956, GRIFFIN was incorporated into the Weyburn school unit. DUNREATH AND ST. ELMO closed and pupils were conveyed to GRIFFIN. When CRIEF closed, the school building was added to GRIFFIN as an extra class room. Also when RIVERVIEW school loed, again, this building was also moved to GRIFFIN as an extra class room. In 1963 a new school was built.
- GARNET SD 1389 was organised 1907, and the first teacher was thos. R. Clipsham.
- ST. ELMO SD 1108 organised 1906, with Ellas Stewart as its first teacher
- DUNREATH SD 2121 organised in 1909, under Norah Nesbitt its first teacher.
- IDEAL SD 1900 received Laura Hutton as the first teacher following organisation in 1907
- BROUGH SD 3440 started under the tutelage of Kate McNab, and the school district organised in 1914.
- CARNATION SD 3470 was organised in 1914 and opened with Brila Gordon as teacher
- HUME SD 740 organised in 1912, and Annie Mooney was their first teacher
- FROUDE SD 1896 opened oors under Salon crowell, the first teacher. The school disrrict organised in 1907, and classes commenced 1910.
- ROXBORO SD 1264 was organised in 1905, with Flora McEwan as the first teacher.
- CRIEFF SD opened 1906.
Scarrow, Mary, Charlton, Mabel Griffin, Saskatchewan: M. Charlton, 1967 Our Roots Nos Racines
Memoirs of Vaughan and Melfort Pioneers, 1884-1949
- ROXBORO SD 1264 was erected April 12, 1905. Flora E. McEwen was the first teacher.
- BROUGH SD 3440 was buuilt on e NE 35 8 12, and built in 1915. Miss Lucie Morris taught the first class in 1916. BROUGH closed in 1918, and pupils were conveyed into GRIFFIN.
- CARNATION SD 3470 was built Oct 27 1914, with the first teacher, Bertha (Berila) Gordon starting classes in 1915. CARNATION closed in 1918, students bussed to Griffin.
- DUNREATH SD 2121 held it school district organisation meetign June 1908. The school building went up in 1908 on NE NE 32 7 10 W2. Miss Nora Nesbitt was the first teacher, adn in 1929, a new brick school was erected in March on the same foundation and opened in August. DURNREATH closed 1956, and again children went to Griffin. DUNREATH served the community as a hall from 1957.
- ST. ELMO SD 1108 was erected on 3 8 12 W2 and the school district was organised 19004 in Assiniboia district, NWT. The first school was erected north of "Power line" road,, and 1/2 mile west of Halbrite Road. In 1914, the school building was moved to NE section 3 (Olaf Olson's homestead).In 1927, a new building was needed. ST.ELMO closed following the 1956 classes.
- GARNET SD was built six miles north and one mile east of GRIFFIN
- GRIFFIN SD 2488
Vaughan Homemaker Club, 1949. Our Roots Nos Racines
Footprints of time : Viscount and district, 1905-1985
- VAUGHN SD 319 served 1894-1949. In 1894, there are records of the school meeting, but the community met before this date. A log building was constructed in 1894, and in 1896, this was replaced with a new building on SE nE 31 44 18. In 1927, a new brick and tile school building was erected
Viscount & Area History Book Committee. 1985. Our Roots Nos Racines
"I am Education -- I bear the torch that enlightens the world, Fires the imagination of people, and feeds the flame of genius. I give wings to dreams and might to brawn and brains."
- AUCKLAND SD 2926 held its organisational meeting in 1912 and sent in a petition for a school district in 1913. The School building was erected 1912 on SE 29 35 25 and closed in 1960. First classes were held in 1913 under A.J. Friesen, the first teacher.
- BADGER SD 913 was built in 1913, following the community meeting in 1912. Miss Ada Austin was the first teacher. The first building was torn down in 1941 and the CLOVER BAR SD building was moved to BADGER school yard. This building burned down from a lightning strike in 1959, and a portable school finished the school term. The SD did not erect a new building, it remained closed in 1959.
- EASTERLEA SD 1979 built their first building on SW 4 35 25 W2 and Mr James D. McRae was the first teacher. In the fall of 1919, a new larger building was erected on nE 31 34 25 W2. EASTERLEA closed in 1960, and students bussed to Viscount and Plunkett.
- ELTHAM SD built their school building on 14 33 25 in 1911, and classes commenced 1912 with Mr. Bell as the first teacher. ELTHAM closed in 1955.
- FARINA SD 2018 held its first school district meeting in 1907, and pioneers started settling the area in 1904. The school building was erected on NE 12 33 26 W2, and the first teacher in 1908 was Mr. Tom Hannam. The school closed in 1942, and re-opened in 1950 for nine more years.
In 1919, new location NE 13 33 25 ensued with the re-organisation of the school boundaries.
- MANITOU HILL SD 4174 organised to the north of Manitou Lake, using lands from GOLDEN HILL, POPLAR PARK, and FARINA. MANITOU HILL sent in their petition to organise a school district in 1918, and a community poll was held in 1919. In 1919 the first school building was erected AND Elizabeth Maude was the first teacher. This building burned down in 1943 which the school district replaced with a building from a closed school which they moved onto MANITOU HILL school yard. 1953/1954 was the last school term.
- GOLDEN HILL 2236 sent in a petition to organise in 1908. The building was erected in 1909, and Mss Hazel Jacques was the first teacher in 1910. Boundaries of the school district were re-organised in 1919, and the school building expanded in 1920. The school closed 1955.
- KILDRUM SD 2695 was erected on SW 6 37 25 following a petition of 1910. Edna E. Bourne started classes in 1911. KILDRUM closed 1965.
- LOGAN SD 2305 sent in its petition in 1908, and in 1909 they held their school district vote and meeting. The school building was erected four and one half miles south of Viscount on nE 32 33 26 in 1909. Vernon W. Isaac began classes in 1911. The school closed after the 1948 school term. The building was sold and torn down. The community erected an iron marker.
- LONSDALE SD 2394 organised in 1909, and classes were held between 1910-1919. The building was moved into Viscount as an extra classroom. After use, the building was used as a Masonic lodge.
- LUCASVILLE SD 2803 held their school district meeting 1909, and the school building was erected in 1910 on SE 17 36 25 . This was fourteen iles north and one mile east of Viscount. Classes commenced in 1910 with Miss Agnes Horn as teacher. LUCASVILLE closed 1964
- MORRIS SD 3989 organised in 1917 and held their first meeting that year. Miss Ida Grambo was the first teacher in 1918. In 1925, an extension as added.
- POPLAR PARK SD 2371 formed following a 1909 meeting. The school district was north of Manitou Lake. The building was constructed in 1910 on SW 28 32 25 W2. Classes commenced in 1910 under Margaret M McRae. A new building was built in 1928 at MW 23 32 25 W2 and was ready for classes in 1929. POPLAR PARK closed in 1957, with pupils conveyed now to Watrous. The POPLAR PARK building was moved to Kandahar.
- RIDEAU SD 1068 held their meeting in 1912. A school building was erected 1913 on NW NE 29 32 24 W2. In 1913 classes officially commenced under Geo. Collins. RIDEAU closed following the 1957 school term.
- SAXBY SD 1941 held their meeting and poll in 1907. The building was erected on SW 4 36 26 in 1908. Sybil Kydd, the first teacher presided over classes in 1908. The school closed in 1960, the building was sold and moved into Plunkett and re-used as a home then a community centre. B
- ST. ALPHONSE RCSS 2 of Visount, SK was the full name of this Roman Catholic School System school district. The 1923 meeting resulted in a brick hool, an Mr Henri Turcot as the first teacher. The first Viscount school building was sold to ST. ALPHONSE.
- VISCOUNT ELEMENTARY SCHOOL 2086 formed following a 1917 petition, and an 1908 organisational meeting. In 1909 classes started under Miss Isabella H. Freeze. VISCOUNT ELEMENTARY SCHOOL 2086 was supplemented by four closed schoolhouses which were moved onto the schoolyard as "pups' or classrooms. In 1964 a new building was erected.
YORK SD 2672 formed in 1910 on SW SW 30 36 26 W2. Mr Alfred H. Dorn held the firsst classes in 1911. The school closed in the summer of 1961.
Waseca echoes : a history of Battlevale, Walter, Waseca District and Waseca Village
Waseca, Saskatchewan: Waseca History Book Committee, 1984 Our Roots Nos Racines
WASECA SD 1953 first appeared in the Waseca Herald in 1907. A petition went around in 1907, and classes were held in the English church. in 1908, the building was erected on the west line of NW section 33 Township 47 Range 24 W3. In 1921 a new building was require. In 1950 NEWLANDS school was brought in to the schoolyard to serve as a classroom. The hall, hotel, and the old Bank of Commerce building were used as additional classrooms. It was found that high school students should be sent to Maidstone for more teaching space. A new building was built in 1956.
- BATTLEVALE SD 2008 held their meeting in 1908. Miss S. S. Berggley held classes in 1912.
- WALTER SD 1828 sent in their letter, and circulated the petition in 1907. SE Section 29 Township 48/49 Range 24 W3 was proposed for the school building, however it was built on section 28 ( Township not given ) WALTER closed in 1956.
Watrous, Sask: Watrous and District History Committee, 1983 Our Roots Nos Racines
- AMAZON SD 579 was organised near Hurton Post office. The district held a meeting in 1911, and sent in their aplication in 1912. The school was built on SW nw 9 ( Township and Wge the same as the town according to the map). In 1913 classes began under Mrs. Annie M. Reed. The school closed in 1958 and strudents were conveyed to Watrous and Simpson.
- FRESHWATER SD 626 held their first meeting in 1912. The building was erected on SW SW 29 ( Township and Range the same as the town of Watrous) Alma Burke presided as the first teacher in 1912. The school closed after the 1949-1950 school term. The building was sold, torn down, and re-built in Xena where it burned down.
- GENESEO SD 1558 meeting was held in 1906. The building went up on SW section 11 Township 30 Range 24. In 1909 Thomas Spoon was the first teacher and the school closed after the 1945 school term.
- HAWKSHAW SD 324 sent in the petition in 1911. In 1912, the building was erected 6 miles west of Renown. Susie Kelsey held the first classes between March and December of that first year. In 1959 pupils were conveyed to Renown.
- HIGHWOOD SD 299 was organised in 1911, and the building was erected in 1912. Mr. Wilbur Merkely held the first classes. The school closed in 1957.
- KILMORY SD 2549 held their meeting in 1910. A.J. Gordon was the first teacher, and KILMORY closed in 1951. The school building was erectedd on SW SW seciton 1 according to the map on land held by H. Sundquist adjacent to Beatley.
- LILLYHOLME SD 3606 was builet on SE secton 4 township 30 range 27 fourteen miles SW of Renown in the Allan Hills on a portion of Wm Parker's homestead. The district organised in 1915. The building was constructed in 1916. In 1917 classes were held under Miss Gladys Amer. Classes closed down in 1943. Pupils were bussed to Watrous twenty miles away. School was demolished in a 1976 hurricane.
- MEUSE SD 3869 held their meeting in 1917. Construction of a school building was on SE section 3 Township 30 range 28. Miss Marcella McCay held classes in 1917. The school closed in 1967.
- MORNIMONT SD 4551 building was erected in 1924 on SE SE section 29 township 30 range 27. Lillian Johnson held classes in 1925. The school closed following the 1959 school term.
- MOUNT LORRAINE SD 4315 was built on a portion of James Howell land SW Sw section 5 Township 30 Range 26 in 1930. Before this date, pupils of the district attended JUNE ROSE, HIGHWOOD and HAWKSHAW schools. MOUNT LORRAINE closed in 1941, the building was sold and moved to Watrous.
- ORANGEVIEW SD 2563 was built in 1910. The first name was GLENDALE SD. In 1910 Miss Anetta Seeley was the first teacher. School closed in 1951. the school was built on SE SE section 18 near H. Avendson land according to the map.
- PLYMOUTH SD 1585 was built in 1906, and its first name was EDEN SD. According to the map it was built on the NE 17 near J. Hamilton, J. Treble and John Wilson's land. Same township and range as Watrous. A new school was needed in 1923. School closed in 1964. PLYMOUTH was located near Cressman post office near guernsey, and near Dellwood post office near Plymouth.
- POPLAR PARK SD 2371 held their meeting in 1909. The school was built on SW section 28 Township 32 Range 25 on Harry Hoskham farm land. In 1928 a new school was built on the nw section 23 Township 32 Range 25. The school close in 1957, and pupils were sent to Watrous and Kandahar. In 1911 classes were held under Mrs. S.L. Spencer.
- RICHLAND SD 2717 sent in their letter to form a school district in 1910. The building was erected on SE NE section 20 Township 29 Range 24. Winnona Cruise held classes in 1911, and in 1947 school closed. In 1949 students were bussed to Watrous and Simpson.
- RIDGEFORD SD 1211 filed a debenture in 19005 for a school building on NW section 7 Township 30 Range 24. The school distrcit encompassed Wood Creek and Wreford RMs. Mr. Barry held the first classes. The school closed in 1948, and the school district disorganised in 1965.
- RUSSFIELD SD 4338 held their first meeting in 1915. RUSSFIELD was part of the RM of Usborne and the building was raised on NE NE section 25 Township 31 Range 24. In 1920 Mrs Mona Grant was the first teacher. In 1955 school was closed, pupils sent to Plymouth. In 1942 the school district disorganised, the building was sold and moved.
- THORNFIELD SD 2057 sent in their letter in 1908. The building went up on SW section 27 Township 31 Range 23. Walter J. Trisdale held classes in 1908. and in 1951, the school held the last classes.
- XENA SD 429 held their meeting on 1911 at the Xena Station House. the building was erected on SE SE section 3 close to the Xena rail station 6 miles west of Watrous. Miss Cleave held the first classes in 1912, and in 1957, the school saw the last classes.
- WATROUS SD 1334 held their petition in 1905, and construction started in 1906 of a new building on SE SW section 28. The firsst school name was MANDAL SD 1334. Leo A. Pearson was the first teacher. In 1908 a meeting was held to move the building to Watrous. In 1909 a new brick building was erected, and in 1955 high school grades moved to Winston High School.
Webb, Saskatchewan: Webb History Book Committee, 1982 Our Roots Nos Racines
Leaves Green and Gold : Weldon, Shannonville, Windermere
- BLESSUM SD 2620 held their meeting in 1910, and erected the schoolhouse on NE section 36 Township 15 Range 17. the Swift Current Sun ran an announcement on March 28, 1911 regardin the schoolhouse, and classes commenced in that same year with Miss Margaret McIntosh presiding. In 1949, the doors of BLESSUM closed.
GANDER LAKE SD 2789 held their meeting in 1911. the school was erected on SW section 11 Township 15 Range 16. In 1911 classes were taught in the home of John McDonald with Miss Alice Fines as teacher until the school was completed about 1912. GANDER closed in 1937.
- GULL LAKE school was erected between BLESSEM SD 2620 AND VELVA SD. This land was unaccounted for until the GULL LAKE SD formed.
- LLOYD SD 1016 was east of Antelope Lake, and the schoolhouse was located on the NW NW section 19 Township 15 Range 17. The meeting was held in 1912, and the schoolhouse erected on Charles Peterson land. Classes began in 1913 under Norman Young, the first teacher. LLOYD closed in 1943 to re-open in 1951, and closed permanently in 1954. A cairn and plaque were erected in 1973.
- PRINCE OF WALES SD 2719 organised as a school district in 1910 and held their first meeting that year. The school building was erected on SW NW section 31 Township 12 Range 16. Mr. W.J. Garvock taught the first classes in 1911. The school district absorbed lands from SEDERSTROM SD in 1951 as Duncairn Dam seperated SEDERSTROM SD from land in that area. In 1956, PRINCE OF WALES, closed and pupils were then transported to Webb and Gull Lake.
- PROSPEROUS VALLEY SD 2173 was built on SE NE section 25 Township 13 Range 17 west of the third. Miss anne M. Briggs held classes in 1909. In 1921 the school district was re-organised, and the school district gave up some land to QUEEN'S COUNTY SD 4429. In 1954, PROSPEROUS VALLEY closed.
- RICH VIEW SD 3404 was built on NW NE section 8 Township 14 Range 18. SD 2920 applied for re-organisation in 1914, and Sd 2920 was organised. A neighbouring school was STONE CLIFF SD In 1915 Isabelle Black held the first classes as a temporary teacher until Rose Gauthier was hired. RICH VIEW closed in 1951.
- KEMP SD 2920 was organised in 1912 on the hill of Kemp land.
- SEWARD SD 4074 was constructed on SE SW section 15 Township 14 Range 16 in 1918. Classes began in 1919 with Miss Leota Carleton as teacher, yet the district was organised in 1912. Students went to Webb for schooling following school closure in 1956.
- SHRUBLAND SD 2763 was erected on NW SW section19 Township 14 re 17 in 1911. The school was closed in 1956, and pupils were bussed to Webb.
- STONE CLIFF SD 4381 was erected on NE NW section 34 Township 14 Range 18 south of Antelope Lake. The school district meeting was held in 1921, and the proposed school location was NE section 1 Township 15 Range 18 w2. The school house location in 1921 was ne seciton 36 Township 14 Range 18 w2 with Mrs. Annie Adams as the first teacher. In 1923, the building was moved to SW section 1 Township 15 Range 18. In 1943, the school district re-organised and the district received lands from DAMA SD So the school building was moved to a more central location at NW section 34 Township 14 Range 18 west of the thrid meridian. In 1951, the last classes were taught at STONE CLIFF.
- TWAMLEY SE 4255 hled their school district meeting in 1919, but no school building was ever erected.
- WILHELMINA SD 168 was built on the SW NW section 11 Township 13 Range 16 west 3. The 1911 meeting organised the construction of the schoolhouse and in 1912 Miss S. McGregor taught the first classes. Between 1946 to 1949 the school closed. The school re-opened 1950-1958 before permanently closing following 1959 classes.
Weldon, Saskatchewan: Weldon & District Historical Society, 1980 Our Roots Nos Racines
LOCH LOMOND School District, No. 2816
- SHANNONVILLE SD 672 held their eeting in 1901, and the first school buildin was made of logs, erected in 1902, which burned down in 1904. Classes were held under Wesley A. Doan commencing in 1903. The last class for SHANNONVILLE was in 1950, whence students were bussed to weldon and Kinistino. The school house was located on SW SW section 7 Township 46 Range 21 w2.
- WINDMERE SD 920 located on NE 7 Township 47 Range 23. The school district organised in 1903, and classes were taught by Mr. Pogson in 1905. A new school was built in 1928, and the old school was turned into a stable. In the fall of 1952 the school was sold and moved off site, any students were conveyed to Weldon for lessons.
- WELDON VILLAGE SCHOOL came about following a petition of 1904. The school located on E section 29 Township 46 Range 22. Another WELDON SD was in operation elsewhere so this new school building was named LUTHER. In the year 1914, the school changed names to WELDON VILLAGE SCHOOL. Archie Weir began classes in 1905 following construction of the school building. In 1914, the school building was moved closer , and in 1916 a four room schoolhouse was built in the village of Weldon located on block 5. In 1951 it was found that a new larger school was needed.
Geocaching > Hide and Seek A Geocache > Geocache Details
N 51° 45.936 W 105° 15.632
UTM: 13U E 482021 N 5735000
south west corner of the south east quarter of Sec. 30, Tsp. 32 Range 23 W 2. 1912 classes under Miss Mary MacDonald. School closure 1958 pupils conveyed to Guernsey school. School building moved to Guernsey school site to be used as an additional classroom, and then it was sold and moved.
Weyburn, Saskatchewan: Soo Line Historical Society, 1965 Our Roots Nos Racines
Grit and growth : the story of Grenfell
- This book notes that there is more information on the historical school houses in the book The Night the Cat Froze in the Oven.
Schools in the Weyburn area were ASSINIBOIA, ELGIN, SOURIS, WEYBURN COLL. IND. HAIG, ST. MICHAEL SCHOOL RCSSD#25 (1955- ), ST. DOMINIC SALVO SCHOOL, QUEEN ELIZABETH SCHOOL (1957- ).
Yule, Annie I. Grenfell, Saskatchewan: Grenfell Historical Committee, 1980 Our Roots Nos Racines
Footsteps to follow : a history of Young, Zelma and districts
- SUMMERHILL SD 34 held classes as early as 1885 at Mr. Thos. Brays farm with Mr. David Acheson as the teacher. SUMMERHILL closed between 1944-1946, and was re-opened between 1947-1964. Following this students were bussed to Grenfell School.
- FAULKKNER [sic] SD 53 formed following a 1886 meeting. The article also refers to the school as FAULKNER (both spellings). Classes were held at B. Faulkner's hoe until the school building was finished. C.E. Cumming was the first teacher.
- RILLINGTON SD 62 was organised in 1886. Mrs. Charles Reeve held classes at home until a building was constructed.
- PROSPECT SD 65 organised in 1886, and Fanny McDougall held the first classes in the old abandoned home of Mr. McDougall. PROSPECT closed in 1888. In 1890 WELDON SD 65 formed to the north west of the first PROSPECT schoolyard. Mr. Aggett's vacant home was used as a classroom before the school was built. In 1902, McPHERSON SD formed and PROSPECT school district was re-organised giving up some of its school lands to McPHERSON.
- HILLESDEN SD changed its name in 1903. In 1886 WEED HILLS PROTESTANT PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT 77 organised under its first name at SW section 22 Township 15 Range 6 W2. Classes were held at the Merrifield home during construction. When the school building opened in 1890, Miss Mary Fotheringham was the first teacher.
- GRENFELL SD 150 formed in 1889 and the original school site located in the hamlet where the United Church is now found. Miss ross was the first teacher, and the class was held at the Agricultural hall in 1888 before the school building was built.
- LE CAIN SD 1892 located on Hyde Hill, now Saskatchewan highway 47. The property of A.N. LeCain was used, and the first teacher was Miss Morrison.
- SIMO SD 432 organised in 18897.
- EDGEWOOD SD 272 fored in 1894, and a new school was needed in 1929. The new school was erected 1/2 mile west of the first school.
- TETLOCK SD 289 was organised in 1893 and the school building was erected in 1894. The firt teacher was Fred Garratt who began classes in 1894.
- DUCK POINT SD was originally a log building located on the south side of the river. In 1894 Mr. Jimmie Johnes was the first teacher. During the same year, the school building was moved to the north side of the river. and in 1904 a swinging bridge was built across the river.
- BROWNHILL SD 353 was organised in 1895 with the first teacher being Miss Mary Thomas. The building was constructed on a hill on NE section 17 Township 16 Range 7. In April of 1903 this building was ravaged by fire, and a new building was then constructed on SE section 19 Township 16 Range 7.
- ARLINGTON SD 419 organised in 1898
- NEELBY SD 1197 was raised in 1905 on section 23 Township 14 Range 6 W2. The district organised in 1904. NEELBY closed in 1960 and pupils were then conveyed to Kipling.
- GETTEL SD 1904 organised in 1907 and school land was allocated on Mr. P. Gettel's land.
- KINGSLEY SD 3916 was built in 1916 on the north bank of Pipestone Creek, on SE section 25 Township 15 Range 6.
- GRENFELL PRIVATE SCHOOL FOR GIRLS
Young, Saskatchewan: Young Celebration Committee, 1981 Our Roots Nos Racines
Trails North : a history of the school districts of Letchworth, Lonsdale, Worthington
- CREEKVIEW SD 652 held their school district meeting in 1911. The school building was built on SE NE section 28 Township 32 Mr. McKercher began classes in 1916. CREEKVIEW closed in 1959, the building was sold in 1961.
- FAVORITE SD 718 was re-organised in 1912. The school operated between 1913-1927 when it was renovated. Miss Helen Geddis was the first teacher. FAVORITE closed in 1963, the school district 718 was dis-organised in 1965. In 1952 GOLDEN WHEAT School was moved to a new site 1/2 mile south and 1/2 mile east of FAVORITE.
- GOLDEN WHEAT SD 2243 requested organisation in 1908, which was duly approved the same year. Anna Dickson was the first teacher in 1908. In 1911 the school closed, and through the 1920s the school closed, re-opening in 930. Again between 1942-1943 GOLDEN WHEAT closed, and in 1952 the school building was moved to FAVORITE.
- KINGSBRIDGE SD 2034 sent a letter in 1907, and held their meeting in 1908. The schoolhouse was erected in 1913, and the first classes started under dr. Collins in 1914. School closed between 1932-1933, and re-opened 1933-1959. In the fall of 1959, students were conveyed to YOUNG. SD 2034 dis-organised in 1965.
- LIMESTONE HILL SD 2754 held their meeting and organised into a school district in 1910. Classes began in 1907 with Angus Campbell as teacher. The building was erected on nw 12 Township 32 Range 28 W2 with Hildegarde Scott as teacher in 1911. In 1950, WHITE WINGS school was moved here from Hanley, and opened in 1951. SD 2754 closed in 1960.
- LITTLE SD 1668 sent in their petition in 1906, the same year they held their first school district meeting. The school house was built in 1907 on NE NW section 35 Township 31 Range 27 W2. Little Manitou lake located thirteen miles east of this school. LITTLE MANITOU SD 1668 closed in 1963, and the district dis-organised in 1965, when the building was sold and moved.
LYNDHURST SD 2583 held their petition for forming a school district in 1910. School was erected on SE section 17 Township 31 Range 27 W2 and opened oabout 1911 with Mr. Barry as teacher. A new school was erected in 1927 which was closed in 1963. Pupils were conveyed to Young, and the district dis-organised in 1965.
- MANITOU HILL SD 4174 organised in 1919 and Edna Austin headed up the first classes. When the school burned down in 1943, classes were held in an unoccupied house until SHUEMAN school was purchased and moved in. SD 4174 closed in 1955, and the district dis-organised in 1965.
- ORANGEVIEW SD 2563 was the second naming. When the school district oranised in 1910, it was under the name GLENDALE SD. In October of the same year the school district changed names to ORANGEVIEW SD 2563. 1911 classes were taught under the first teacher Anetta Seeley. ORANGEVIEW SD 2563 closed in 1953.
- OXFORD PLAINS SD 2799 sent their letter in 1911 and the schoolhouse was built on NE section 32 Township 32 Range 28. The classes began the same year under Leslie Parsons. OXFORD PLAINS closed in 1950, students were thence bussed into Zelma and Belle Lake.B
- RAPID ADVANCE SD 2099 sent in a letter in 1907. In 1908 the local post office changed names from Curzon to Viscount. The RAPID ADVANCE SD was built in 1908, and classes began in 1909 under Maude Boneham in the building constructed on nE section 16 Township 33 Range 27 W2. In 1965 RAPID ADVANCE consolidated with Young.
- RIDEAU SD 1068 held their school district meeting in 1912 and organised in 1914. The building was organised on NW NE section 29 Township 32 Range 24 W2. Classes began 1915, and classes started up in 1916 under the tutelage of Nellie Graham. RIDEAU closed in 1957, dis-organising in 1965.
- STRAWBERRY SD 3901 sent in their application in 1916. A meeting was held in 1917, and the school buillding was constructed on NE section 13 Township 31 Range 29 W2. Miss Ruth Mckenzie began classes in 1917. In 1923 the school building was re-located to SE section 13 Township 31 rege 29 W2. The school building was again moved in 1927, and closed in 1965. Pupils were then bussed to Young.
YOUNG SD 2417 sent in a letter in 1908. The school was erected on Section 27 Township 32 Range 27 W2. In 1909, a meeting was held, and classes were first held upstairs in Flamney's Hall. In 1910, Mildred Waldock started classes.
- ZELMA SD 577 was organised in 1912, with Margaret Livingstone as the first teacher. By 1924, a new two room school was needed. By 1925 a brick school house was opened. ZELMA SD 577 closed in 1968 and students were conveyed to Young.
Paradise Hill, Saskatchewan: Whelan History Club, 1988 Our Roots Nos Racines
Reflections : Kelliher Jasmin district
- LETCHWORTH SD 4955 held their first meeting in 1931, and a log school was built on NE section 18 Township 58 Range 23, north of Fowler Lake. Mrs Alice (Murphy) Krauchi was the first teacher in 1932. By 1953 the school closed and both school and teacherage were sold.
- LONSDALE SD 4956 held their first meeting in 1931, and a new school sprang up in 1932. Pearl Lillian Finnie was the first teacher. In 1951, a new school was needed, and the first school building was re-used as a community hall. In 1967, LONSDALE closed and both school and teacherage were sold. Students were bussed to Loon Lake. (On the map, the location is given as SW SW section 26 Township 58 Range 24.)
- WORTHINGTON SD 5110 sent in a letter in 1935 for a school district. WORTHINGTON school was erected on SW section 29 Township 57 Range 23. The first name given was IRON SPRINGS SD. By the school opening in 1936 under Mrs. Rod Black, teacher, the school name was WORTHINGTON. In 1945, the building burned down. The school was located near Adelston post office NW section 20 Township 57 Range 23 and Whelan post office SW section 18 Township 58 Range 23.
Kelliher, Saskatchewan: Kelliher Historical Society, 1982 Our Roots Nos Racines
Huntoon, Sask. and area, 1900-1983 : hope, home, happiness
- KELLIHER RURAL SD 2254 contained Township 26 and Township 27S Range 13. In 1908 a letter was sent in. The school district surrounded the village. The building was erected on Lots 15 & 20 block 12. In 1909 the building was first built, and in 1911, it was enlarged, and by 1916 even this building was sold and a two room school was needed.
- JAMSIN SD 2078 was erected on section 25 Township 26 Range 12. JASMIN VILLAGE formed in 1908 and dis-organised in 1975 and the RM of Ituna Bon Accord took over admin. JASMIN SD 2078 was surrrounded by CAMPBELLTOWN SD to the north, KELLIHER SD to the north west, GARNOCK SD in the south west, ST. JOSEPH de DAUPHINAIS to the south, OLGA to the south east, and Lunnville to the north east. JASMIN SD 2078 organised in 1906, and the building was built on SE section 8 Township 26 Range 12 W2, and Miss Kathleen Byrum was the first teacher. In 1914 this first building was sold, and a new building was erected at Queen Street and Third Avenue, Kelliher. Again in 1917, and 1930 new schools were added as classrooms.
- BERESFORD SD 1907 was built on the SE SE section 16 Township 25 Range 13 W2. The first meeting was held in 1907, classes started in 1908, and a new school was needed by 1956. In 1960 BERESFORD closed and pupils were conveyed into Kelliher.
- CAMPBELLTOWN SD 2297 was erected on the SW SW section 3 Township 27 Range 12. The first meeting was held in 1910, classes began under william Lindsay in 1910. In 1924 a larger school was needed. The school closed after 50 years of operation and students were then bussed into Kelliher.
- EASTWARD SD 1477 was built upon NE section 21 Township 27 Range 12 W2. The first meeting was held 1906, and A. Alteron was the first teacher of classes in 1907. In 1962, when school closed students were taken into Kelliher.
- FIREFLY SD 5098 was erected on SW section 8 Township 28 Range 12 W2. Classes were held under Miss Myrtle Dock in 1936. FIREFLY was surrounded by four rural municipalities, Emerald, Ituna Bon Accord, and Beaver. FIREFLY students were bussed to Kelliher in 1964 on school closure. FIREFLY was located near Model Farm post office (SE section 36 Township 28 Range 13 W2)
- GARNOCK SD 2227 held their first meeting in 1908, and the building was erected in 1909. Classes were held under Mr. E.W. Poole. In 1946, the building was sold, and a new school was built. By 1960 GARNOCK was closed.
- JOHNSON SD 611 sent in their letter in 1911 and their meeting was held in 1913. A building was built on NW SW section 35 Township 27 Range 13 W2, and classes bean that same year, 1913 under Miss Bains. The school burned down in 1924. In 1962, the final classes were held, and thence forward students were bussed to Kelliher.
- NEW HAVEN SD 1970 was located on SE section 11 Township 27 Range 13 W2. Classes were held under E.L. McIntyre in 1908. By 1950, a new school was needed and the old school became the teacherage. In 1962 students were bussed to Kelliher school and the NEW HAVEN school building became the community hall.
Knibbs, Fern Clara. 1983. Our Roots Nos Racines
Homestead Days at the Elbow, 1898-1910
- MONA SD 2310 was organised in 1908, and the district held their first meeting in 1909. The building waas constructed on N NE section 11 Township 7 Range 10 W2. Miss Kate Bayliss was the first teacher in 1909 when the school opened its doors for classes. In 1923, a new school building was erected in the hamlet of Huntoon on NW section 12 Township 7 Range 10 W2 which held its first classes in 1926 in a red brick schoolhouse. In 1958 MONA was closed and students were thereafter bussed into Froude.
Krogan, Agnes E. Thorbergson. 1965. Elbow. Our Roots Nos Racines
More Memories: Homecoming '71
- ELBOW VIEW school was built in 1909
- THURBER SD held their first meeting in 1905, and the school opened in 1906. THURBER closed in 1952.
- MORNING STAR built their school in 1907, and Harry Dugan was the first teacher. By 1953, MORNING STAR was closed. A book was written Pioneering on the Elbow in 1955
- WOODMERE SD was oranised in 1906, and a bulding was built in 1907.
- RENSBY SD 1761 nad a meeting was held in 1908.
Krogan, Agnes Thorberson. 1971 Elbow. Our Roots Nos Racines
An Historical Perspective on the Rural Education Effort in Saskatchewan.
BERNDT SD struck by lightning
HARLEY SD building is a museum in Elbox, SK.
WASHBURN SD meeting, and organisation in 1906. In 1920 the name was changed to ROSEMAE. Burned down in 1948.
WOODMERE SD 1656 built in 1907 held by Harry Fischer and Ed Munsen
WILD LILY SD 4417 nicknamed the "The Little Red School" organised by 1921
ELBOWVIEW bujilt in 1909 and opened.
Rosaasen, Kenneth A., Kulshreshtha, Surendra Nath, Saskatchewan School Trustees Association. Research Centre., Kulshreshtha, Surendra Nath. Regina, Sask.: Research Centre, Saskatchewan School Trustees Association, 1984. Our Roots Nos Racines
Memoirs We Treasure: North Star, Lund, Pine Bluff [Saskatchewan: Kuriko Creek Hist. Soc.].
Melfort, Saskatchewan: Kuriko Creek Historical Society, 1981. Our Roots Nos Racines
Seems like only yesterday, 1892-1980 : the history of Kuroki and district
- NORTH STAR SD 1844 held their meeting in 1906 and they sent in application in 1907 which was accepted. The school was erected on NW SW section 9 Township 47 Range 19 w2 In 1909 classes commenced under Mrs. Ed. Goodfellow. In 1950 a new school was built and in 1957 the high school students were bussed to Kinistino. In 1966 the school closed and all pupils went to Kinistino.
- LUND SD 1915 held their meeting in 1916, and the school building subsequently was erected on SE section 24 Township 46 Range 20 W2. MOUNT FOREST, NORTH STAR and THATCH CREEK schools were built first and had previously served this area. In 1916 classes began at LUND with Pastor Hans J. Yngue as the first teacher. In 1964, the school closed.
- PINE BLUFF SD moved to a new location.
Kuroki, Saskatchewan: Kuroki History Book Committee, 1980. Our Roots Nos Racines
Our Roots: A History of La Ronge [Sask.]
- KUROKI SD 1821 organised in 1908, and in 1921 a new school was needed. 71 years later, 1979, the school closed.
- SASMAN SD 3356 was known to exist in 1914, but no information is available before that time. The school building was erected in 1918. The school was proposed for SW section 13 Township 33 Range 11 W2 and the actual school was built at NW section 12 Township 33 Range 11 W2. In 1952 when the school closed the children were transported to Margo.
- BEAR LAKE SD 1895 erected their school house in 1908, and classes started under Miss Minnie McKenzie. In 1955 the school closed and pupils went to either Kuroki or Wadena. In 1958 the school building was sold and re-used as a general store.
- McKINLEY SD 1004 held their organisational meeting in 1912. The school was built on SE section 20 Township 34 Range 10 at this time a part of Local Improvement District L.I.D. 336. Hugh McPhail was the first teacher in 1913. The school closed in 1960, the building sold and renovated into a home.
- NORMANIA SD 1259 was located on NW section 32 Township 33 Range 10 W2. In 1913, Oliver B. Grimley was the first teacher. NORMANIA remained open until 1954, the building sold, and re-used as a grainery.
SCOFIELD SD 2895 held their organisational meeting in 1913. The school was raised on NW section 10 Township 35 Range 11. Miss Tassa was the first teacher in 1914. In 1950 following school school closure, the building was moved into Wadena and re-used as a classroom.
- ROSA SD 4546 formed after several meetings, and the school site was propoed as SE section 12 Township 35 Range 11. In 1923 construction of the school building commenced on a stone foundation, and classes began in 1924 by Mr. Herbert F Tucker. In 1964, ROSA closed its doors, the building sold and renovated into a home.
La Ronge Heritage Comm.
The Landis Record [Sask.--Landis Region]
- SETTEE MISSION meeting house and school located on Kendardine Island, later moved to Potato River, then again moved to Montreal river, finally settling on the Churchill river. Served by misionary James Beardy then Reverend Robert Hunt
- STANLEY MISSION house.
- CHURCH OF SAINT JOHN THE EVANGELIST church school taught by Samuel Abraham.
- EMMANUEL COLLEGE in Prince Albert, a school which provided lessons for pastors and elementary teachers.
- ALL SAINTS BOARDING SCHOOL (ANGLICAN MISSION SCHOOL) was built 1905. The Department of Indian Affairs (Federal Government_ assisted with funds. The schools were not numbered under the Provincial Government Department of Education as they were supervised by the Inspector for Indian Agencies. ALL SAINTS opened for classes in 1907 under Samuel Abraham. In 1947 ALL SAINTS was struck by fire, students were taught at Onion Lake and Prince Albert residential schools.
- OLD GATEWAY school erected 1947 and 1948. Four classes opened 1948.
- PRE-CAMBRIAN school opened in 1958 to Indian, Metis and non-treaty children, the first totally integrated school.
- NEW GATEWAY school built in 1960
- When the Academic Education Branch of the Department of Northern Saskatchewan formed in 1972 CREIGHTON SD 5249 was the only organised northern school district under the Department of Education. The Academic Educationn Branch was the pre-cursor to Northern schools admistered byh the Department of Education. In 1975 there were four school jurisdictions, Creighton School district, Ile a la Cross Northern School Administration Area #1, Northern School Board and the Uranium City county district. In 1979 the first three jurisdictions became known as Creighton School Division 111, Ile a la cross School Division 112 and Northern Lights School Division 113.
Landis Historical Society
Lashburn & district history: A history of Lashburn & district
- SWIFT CURRENT TRAIL SCHOOL erected 1910 and the first classes were taught by Mrs. J. Ireland. SWIFT CURRENT TRAIL SCHOOL changed names in 1932 to LETT SD 2564. LETT closed 1947.
- NASEBY SCHOOL orgnaised in 1910 and the school house was built 1911 on SW section 11 Township 37 Range 16. Classes started under Miss Crocker. NASEBY cloed 1937-1948. The school permanently closed in 1962 following its re-opening in 1948 Pupils conveyed to Landis School.
- BROOKS SD 2728 opened in 1911 under Nina Carr. The school closed 1959, and pupils conveyed to Landis School and the school building used as a community hall.
- HEART LAKE SD 4500 organised in 1923, building their school in 1936. In 1945, HEART LAKE closed, the building moved to NEEDWOOD SD, and the pupils likewise attended NEEDWOOD SD. HEART LAKE school building later moved into Landis as "The Lion's Den".
- LANDIS SD 2363 opened in the fall of 1909 under Miss Mae Louise Wells. A new larger brick building was erected 1925, and in 1959 Traynor school was brought to Landis.
- MEDINA SD opened under Mr. McDonald, and eventually closed in 1958. The building was sold and renovated into a home.
- NEEDWOOD SD 2131 organised initially as ZIMMER SD IN 1910. ZIMMER classes in the first year were taught by Miss Anglin. ZIMMER changed names to NEEDWOOD in 1927. In 1961, when the school was closed, children bussed into Landis and the school building sold.
- PALO SD 3240 opened in 1914, and closed in 1960. Students bused to Landis.
- PORTER SD 2416 was built on NE section 4 Township 36 Range 18 W3. Miss Bessie Wheaton taught the first classes 1910. In 1961 PORTER closed.
- STANDARD SD 2144 held its first classes 1916 under Miss Summerfeldt. STANDARD closed 1954, moved to Cando, and then moved to Landis and is an addition to the high school.
- TRAYNOR SD 2126 was raised in 1909, a new school built in 1927. TRAYNOR closed in 1959.
- WOLFE SD 2171
Lashburn & Dist. Hist. Comm.
Valley "between the bridges": The history of the battle valley [Sask.; Alberta]
Lashburn, Beatrice Atkinson
BATTLE HILLS SD 2521 organised in 1909 and constructed on SW section 2 Township 47 Range 25 W3 as recorded in the "Lashburn Comet". BATTLE HILLS was moved to SW section 11 Township 47 Range 25 W3 in 1925. Miss Wilton taught the first classes 1910, and the last classes were held 1958. BATTLE HILLS was moved to Weaver Park in Lloydminster, SK in 1966.
RERESHILL SD 4171 held their first organisational meeting 1919. The site proposed was SE section 3 Township 47 Range 26 W3. The first teacher listed is Mrs. Ena Morgan for the year's classes in 1920. The last classes were 1959, and the building sold.
Prairie Progress Commemorating the Macrorie district
Macrorie History Book Committee
BIG VALLEY SD 2872 sent in their petition to the Department of Education in 1912 for a school to serve twenty square miles of the NW Township 26 Range 9 W3. Miss French was the first teacher. In 1945 the school was replaced, and ready in 1947. The new school was one mile south and west of the original school. 1958 saw the last classes in BIG VALLEY, and students were thereafter taught in Macrorie, high school students in Outlook.
- BRATTON SD 2624 proposed their school district to the Department of Education in 1909. The first meeting was 1910. In 1914 and again in 1915 BRATTON SD lands were re-organised. BRATTON SD and MACRORIES SD were both near Stockwell Lake, named Coteau Lake in 1910, Red Deer Lake in 1914, and Stockwell Lake in 1915. In 1926 and 1929 again BRATTON SD lands were re-organised. NE NE section 11 Township 28 Range 9 W3 was approved regarding the move to Bratton Hamlet. In 1943 the shchool closed, and remained as a community centre.
They planted the seed: A pioneer history of the Tarnopol, Tway, Bonne Madone area [Sask.]
- KAMENKA / KAMINKA (TWAY) organised 1907. The first teacher Andrew Chaikowsky. After 27 years the school was moved more to a more central location one mile west of Tway, and opened for classes in 1934. In 1938 a school building was built in the hamlet of Tway named TWAY school. KAMINKA located one mile out of Tway was then moved into tway, and the rooms were called KAMINKA SCHOOL. KAMINKA closed c 1965.
- TARNOPOL SD 2579 organised in 1910. The school house was raised on SW section 23 Township 43 Range 24 W2. The first classes were presided over bby Mr. Bill Kitzul. In 1936 a new school was built in the halet named NEW TARNOLPOL SD 5117, and old TARNOPOL SD 2579 moved one and a half iles north east to SW section 25 Township 43 Range 24 W2. School closed mid 1950s and students conveyed to Yellow Creek.
- NEW TARNOPOL SD 5117 was built at NW section 11 Township 43 Range 24 W2. opening 1937 under Miss Margaretta Wolfe. Closed mid 1950s and pupils bussed to Yellow Creek.
HAZEL LAKE SD
- CRANBERRY SD
- CRYSTAL VIEW SD
- LONE PINE
- BONNE MADONNE
Memories....Are Forever [Manor Region Manor & District Hist. Soc.
Across border & valley: the story of Maryfield & Fairlight & surrounding districts, v 1 [Sask.].
- ARTHUR SD 593 (AUBURNTON) held it first school meeting in 1901 for Township 5 Range 1 W2. School first opened in a log house the same year. A frame school house was built on ne section 21 that summer. ARTHUR closed in 1965 along with QUEENSVILLE SD. ARTHUR pupils were conveyed to Oxbow.
- CANNINGTON MANOR SD 160 held their first meeting in 1889. The first large schoolhouse was operational until the 1914-1915 school term, when a new school was built to the west of the first site closer to the road. CANNINGTON closed 1959 and is now a museum.
- KEVERNE SD 789 was situated on NE sction 24 Township 9 Range 2 W2, and was later moved to another site. In 1962 KEVERNE closed its doors, and pupils bussed to Manor.
- The MANOR PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 605 of the North-West Territories held its first school meeting in 1901. The first classes were held in a rented hall under Miss Ida F. Irwin. A school house was erected where the Roman Catholic Church is now located, and it opened in 1903. and served until 1908 when it was sold and used as a stable. A new multi room brick school was constructed in 1907. Between 1944-1957 rural one room schoolhouses were closing, and nearby students bussed into Manor whose local enrolment had also been declining. In 1957 a one room school house was moved in, and again in 1959 another one room country schoolhouse was moved in. In 1965 the brick school house was torn down, and a new larger school built.
- MOOSE MOUNTAIN SD 162 was established 1889. Mr J.W. Morrow held the first classes at Sutherland log church at SW section 30 Township 8 Range 1 W2 which served until 1892. In 1902 a new school was built on SW section 5 Township 9 Range 1 W2. In 1912, this building was re-located to SW NW section 29 Township 28 Range 1 W2 to "School hill". A new larger MOOSE MOUNTAIN school was erected 1928. The first schoolhouse was sold and re-modeled into a home. The schoolhouse was moved to Wauchope as a school, then sold.
- QUEBEC SD 1790 opened 1907 on NW section 16 Township 6 Range 1 W2 under the tutelage of Miss Cox. QUEBEC school closed in 1947, and the building sold.
- ROBINSON SD 988 held their meeting in 1912. This year, classes were held in an abandoned vacant house on E section 35 Township 7 Range 2 W2 under Eleanor Trout until the schoolhouse were erected. Land purchased on SW section 1 Township 8 Range 2 W2 was allocated for the new school. The last classes were held in 1952, and the school house moved to MOOSE CREEK S.D.B
- SALEM SD 2786 formed a school board in 1910. The schoolhouse was built on NE NE section 1 Township 7 Range 1 W2 and opened for classes in 1911 under Miss Nan Hobkirk. In 1930 a new school was erected, and the old sold. The new building was later moved to a more central location at SW SW section 1 Township 7 Range 1 W2.
- STURGEON SD 517 applied for a school site in 1911. The school house site was NW section 23 Township 8 Range 34 W1. The name MINDEN was rejected as it was a duplicated naming, so STURGEON was selected. Miss Jean Park was the first teacher in 1912. About 1963 STURGEON closed, and students bussed to ManorB
- WIGGINSDALE SD held their first meeting 1922. SW section 9 Township 7 Range 1 W2 was the site chosen. iss mary Anderson held the first classes in the fall of 1922. WIGGINSDALE closed between 1939-1949. Following its re-opening, it closed permanently in 1958.
- WINTERBOURNE SD 877 was erected on SW 36 section 36 Township 7 Range 34 W1 in 1904. Miss Cunningham started classes. A second WINTERBOURNE school was erected 1930. WINTERBOURNE closed 1961, the building moved to Wauchope and then to Redvers.
Maryfield & Dist. Hist. Soc.
Footprints in Time. Hazenmore. Hazenmore History Book. 2004. Friesens Corporation History Book Division. Altona, MB. ISBN 1-55383-038-5.
- ADAIR SD 1471 petitioned the Department of education in 1905 for a school district. Their first meeting was held 1906. The school building was erected on NW section 26 Township 10 Range 31 and opened under Miss Barker as the first teacher. The school closed briefly between 1945 to 1948, then re-opened remaining so until 1958. ADAIR was kept open for a time as a community centre, then sold and dismantled for building materials. A stone cairn with paque was erected. in 1967.
- AMETHYST SD 1905 established near HUTTON SD and HERON SD. In 1904, a meeting was held, and a school district organised under the name STYKER SD 1905, Assiniboia, N.W.t.. There were not enough children in this area to start up a school with no school, many settlers left the area. The few children in the area were transported to HUTTON SD. The department of Education was petitioned for a new school district in 1917 under the name of HAIG, DRAMEN SIDMOUTH, or AMETHYST. AMETHYST was chosen by the Department, and the school building was erected in 1920 on SE section 14 Township 9 Range 31. The first teacher, 1920, was viola Reichort. 1926 found the schoolhouse burning down. School was taught out of Tom Renwick's bunk house. In 1927 STYKER SD was re-organised giving up lands to CONFEDERATION SD. A new AMETHYST school was erected 1928 and remained open until 1953. Pupils thence attended Maryfield.
- BUTLER SD began as OMRO erected on SW section 33 Township 9 Range 29 in 1907. OMRO remained operational until 1916 when the building sold, and moved west of Butler, MB. In 1917 a new school building was built three miles east of the Saskatchewan border.
- BYRON SD 1427 held their initial eeting 1907 and decided to purchase lands on section 33 Township 11 Range 32 for the schoolhouse
- CONFEDERATION SD 4704 held meeting on 1927 for a school on about Township 9-10 Range 31-30. The schoolhouse was erected on section 31 Township 9 Range 31 4-112 miles out of Maryfield. School opened the same year under Isabella Ritchie, and closed in 1958
- DAYTON SD 4801 organised at their first eeting in 1929. The school building was actually built on SE SE section 23 Township 11 Range 31, and opened 1930 under the guidance of Mrs. Esther A. Bolton. DAYTON closed in 1963 and pupils traveled to Fairlight and Maryfield.
- DOONSIDE SD began as ROSSETTI SD 1456 forming in 1905 under J.L Nicol as a student minister teacher. Following the first world war, the school districts of WALPOLE, ROSSETTI, and BYRON were re-organised. In 1923, the name changed to DOONSIDE.
- FAIRFIELD SD 46, east Assiniboia N.W.T. on NE section 16 Township 12 Range 30. FAIRFIELD closed in 1954.
- FAIRLIGHT schooL 282, built of prairie stone, was one of seven in the area around Fairlight. The others were ADAIR, NOVAR, PRAIRIE BELL, BOND, PLAINSVILLE, and ROSETTI (DOONSIDE).
- FAIRLIGHT (NOVAR) SD 1630 was firsst established 1905 under the name NOVAR SD. The schoolhouse opened 1907 on NW section 30 Township 10 Range 31 south of Fairlight village. A new two storey school was opened 1918 In 1939 Novar School changed names to FAIRLIGHT SD 1630.
- FLEMING PROTESTANT PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT 45 of the NORTH WEST TERRITORIES was founded 1885 with J. Young teaching in 1886.
Actonvale School District #674 NWT SW 6 10 15
CARDIFF SCHOOL DISTRICT 3011. The school petition committee assembled in the spring of 1912. The school site chosen was SW 25 9 9. Miss E. Hurd became the first teacher, and the school officially opened in the spring of 1915. The last school year taught was 1946.
HAZENMORE SCHOOL. Signatures on the petition were gathered in 1911. Initial classes used the Methodist Church on Block 4 in the town site. A two room school was under construction by 1916 on lots 1-7 and 26-32. Vera Mills was the first teacher in the new school building starting in 1917. In 1927, a brick veneer four room school house was constructed, the older school moved to Mankota in 1947. By 1968 the sdchool closed, and students were bussed to Kincaid. A cairn was erected.
JACK CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT 2875. The petition circulated in 1911, and the first meeting was held 1912. The SE corner of NE 20 7 9 W3 was chosen for the school site, which opened in 1914 under John L. McKinnon. In December of 1955, the school closed, and students were bussed to Hazenmore. A plaque was erected.
LEICESTER SCHOOL DISTRICT 2491. A meeting in the summer of 1909 requested a school situated on the SW corner of SW 29 9 9. In 1910, the school opened with Miss G.S. Maguire as teacher. A new school was erected in 1926, the original school building became the community hall. Following the final school term in 1944, the students attended HAROLD school 3827 and the LEICESTER school building was sold, and moved to Kincaid to be renovated into a home. .
PINTO CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT 4166. The petition was signed in the winter of 1919, and the school site chosen was SE 16 8 9. Miss Cora Mountain was the first teacher on opening the school in January of 1921. The school closed in 1953 following the 1952-1953 school term, and students conveyed to Hazenmore. PINTO CREEK school was moved to the Kincaid school grounds as a classroom.
SOUTHSIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4046. The spring 1918 meeting was held to petition the Department of Education for a school on NE 27 6 9. Miss Ada Mudford was set as the first teacher when the school opened May 1, 1919. The final school term was June 1960, and children were thereafter sent to Makota. The school building was sold and moved.
Actonvale school was built in 1902 with the first teacher C. McGill Hamilton overseeing. The school was replaced by a brick school. In 1957, the pupils were bussed to Weyburn's Queen Elizabeth School.
Harris Heritage 1982. ISBN 0 88925 335 8. Harris Heritage Committee.
Memory Lane. Beatty and District Historical Society. W.A. Print Works Ltd. 1983. ISBN 0 919533 26 4.
AISLA CRAIG 642. 1912 Sw 31
ALLUVIA 1924 near Buffalo P.O. which was 8 mi S of Harris in LID 286. 1906 the SD committtee formed basement was built and the school opened in November in 1946 closed
BARE HILL 2260 Application 1907 Proposed center of section 28, but built astride the slough...1949 closed.1910 teacher A. McQueen
BOUILLON - ELK VALLEY 3067 SW 4 32 10 W3 first teacher Mrs Anotnia Brisette 1914 and 1920-1921 no teacher avail. and 1922-1928 closed in 1930 amalgamated with ELK VALLEY building moved ton NW 11 32 10 W3 and the name changed.
CHERRY 1696 1906 Meeting. NE22 31 11 built by 1907. New school needed by 1924 Closed 1953 kids bused to Harris.
DOLLYBRAE 3936. 1917 formation of school district. INGLENOOK proposed, but refused by Regina who took it to be TANGLENOOK. DOLLYBRAE was put forward, and the building completed in 1917 on SW 34 31 13 3 for the dau. of George Freethy. 1952 the school closed and children sent to Zealandia. The school building was sold and moved to a farmyard.
GLEN EAGLE after the Glen Eagle Creek. Meeting 1908, and the school built 1910 school 6 and 1/4 miles from Harris.
GLENHURST 1354. Formed in 1905, and the school built the same year. Donald J. Sutherland was the first teacher. In 1910 the schoolyard was surrounded by trees, and had a barn, and in 1920 the school had a basement and furnace, and by 1924, the schoolyard had a teacherage. The last serving teacher was in 1957.
HAZELDENE 489. Committee met in 1909, and the school building erected on NW 29 32 13 3 Served the hamlet of Valley Centre when it emerged. HAZELDENE was abandoned, and classes held in the Valley Centre Municipal Office. This office was too small, so the HAZLEDENE building was moved into Valley Centre, renovated. The school closed in 1962, and sold and moved out to a farm.
HEATHLAND 1166. Before this rural school was erected, school children attended VIOLET HILL or CHERRY HILL. School board formed 1912, the building was built on SW SW section 22 in 1913. Eugene M. Follens, B.A. became the first teacher. School boundaries for both HEATHLAND and ELK VALLEY were re-drawn in 1920 when ARDATH CONSOLIDATED was formed. The las record of a teacher at the school was in the 1942-1943 school year. The buildings were sold.
HILLVIEW 1541. Pupils first attended school at KENNEL HALL,the community centre which served as school, church, and community hall. The HILLVIEW school district was established 1906, and the HILLVIEW school building erected on SW 6 33 12 with foundation, chimney, and well. First teacher was Ivan Tinkness in 1907. The las teacher served in the 1952-1953 school year. The building was sold to the Hillview Community Club and is used as a community centre.
MUIRLAND 2196. The post office of Marriott was established in 1906. MUIRLAND was built on SW 1 32 14 3 in 1909 along the Old Bone Trail (Red River Cart Trail). Miss Ritchie began as the first teacher. In 1958 the school closed, and pupils were bussed into Rosetown.
POPLAR BLUFF 787. The school building located on NW 25 32 10 W3, and the district organised in 1911. Arthur Ellis was the first teacher. The new school in 1929 was erected on the NE 35 32 10 W3, and the old building moved into Swanson. POPLAR BLUFF closed in the year 1944, and the building moved to the SILVER CLOUD school district.
PURPLE GROVE 1686. The first school meeting was held in 1907, and the school building to be located on SW 14 32 11 W3. Classes were initiated in the spring of 1908 with Flora Jeffrey as the inaugural teacher. The last school teacher was recorded in the 1942-1943 school year, and the school closed by 1950. The building was sold and moved.
SILVER CLOUD 2167. The first school meeting was held in 1908. A teacher, Miss Lizzie Stewart, was hired in 1909. SILVER CLOUD building was sold and replaced by the POPLAR BLUFF school building in 1951. The new school site was NE 1 33 12 W3 On the school closure, children were conveyed to Harris.
ZEALHAR 3197. A letter of inquiry regarding a school district was dispatched in the spring of 1912. In 1914, the school building was erected on NE NE 20 31 12 3 between Zealandia and Harris resulting in the name ZEALHAR. The school district mainly served the RM of Harris, with a small area of land within the RM of Marriott. When the school district closed, children went to either Harris or Rosetown.
HARRIS SCHOOL. The in town school opened in 1909 with Florence Elliot, Luella Black and N.L. Gordon serving as the first teachers.
HARRIS-TESSIER CENTRAL SCHOOL. This was a high school opening between 1961-1979 to relieve overcrowding of the ROSETOWN COMPOSITE HIGH SCHOOL. In 1973 ZEALANDIA school building was moved to the site adding an additional 3 classrooms.
HARRIS 2498. A meeting held in the spring of 1909 for a two room school within Harris. The first principal` was Mary Thain in 1913 and teacher Florence Elliott.
MELFORT SCHOOL UNIT 54 NEW TIGER LILY SCHOOL UNIT. The conolidated school formed in 1945. In 1951, students from ROANOKE were conveyed to PLEASANTDALE CENTRAL (DALEVILLE), and by 1952, SILVER PARK and RESOURCE school districts were bussed to MELFORT CONSOLIDATED. LITTLESTONE, PLEASANTDALE (OLD PLEASANTDALE), GREELAWN and FREEDOM school districts conveyed their pupils into MELFORT CONSOLIDATED. Before 1970, STAR CITY, MOUNT FOREST, DOVER BEATTY TEDDINGTON nd LUND were also bussed into town.
BEATTY SCHOOL. First named LOUISA SD 1966. Schoool organisational meeting held circa 1906, and the school district was not constructing the building in the village of Beatty, so the name Beatty was not granted, so LOUISA was assigned to the school. The building was erected on SW 27 45 20 W2 which later became the cemetery location. LOUISA opened in 1907 under the tutelage of Miss Ada Blanch Jenner. By 1923, a school building was completed in the village of BEATTY. The name LOUISA S.D. no. 1966 was formally changed to BEATTY S.D. NO. 1966 in 1933.
MELFORT SCHOOL UNIT 54 NEW TIGER LILY SCHOOL UNIT. The conolidated school formed in 1945. In 1951, students from ROANOKE were conveyed to PLEASANTDALE CENTRAL (DALEVILLE), and by 1952, SILVER PARK and RESOURCE school districts were bussed to MELFORT CONSOLIDATED. LITTLESTONE, PLEASANTDALE (OLD PLEASANTDALE), GREELAWN and FREEDOM school districts conveyed their pupils into MELFORT CONSOLIDATED. Before 1970, STAR CITY, MOUNT FOREST, DOVER BEATTY TEDDINGTON nd LUND were also bussed into town.
Fur Fish and Forest. A Candle Lake Legacy 1912-1990.. 1991.
Candle Lake History Book Committee. ISBN 0 88925 764 7. Friesen Printers. Altona, Manitoba.
From Forest to Field. 1903-1983. Mistatim and Districts. . 1983. Mistatim and Districts History Book Committee. ISBN 0 919745 10 5. Humboldt Publishing Limited. Humboldt. Saskatchewan.
CANDLE LAKE. School constructed in 1945, and commenced in the fall of the same year under Edward Thiesen. CANDLE LAKE school was closed 1966.
CANDLE LAKE SD 5261. A petition was sent in in 1973 for a school to have CANDLE LAKE included under the PRINCE ALBERT SCHOOL UNIT 56, the CANDLE LAKE school building was sold to the Candle Lake Community Club, and children were conveyed to Meath Park and Prince Albert.
BACHELOR SD 5009. The school building was erected on the NE 10 44 10 W2. The first meeting was held in 1933, the name sent to the Department of education was BATCHELOR, and the name approved was BACHELOR. In July 1934, Mrs. Gertrude Kirkland (Marsh) was the first teacher, and the last teacher held classes for the 1959 school term.
BANNOCK HAMLET SCHOOL NO 5180. The school district meeting was formed in 1941-1942 resulting in a school being erected on SE 11 45 9 W2. The school opened in the spring of 1943 under Mrs. Bertha Legare. The final school term was 1956 when children were bussed to PRAIRIE RIVER SCHOOL. The old log school was sold, and moved.
DELDALE SCHOOL NO. 5171. The school building was constructed in the spring of 1939 on SE 5 45 9 W2, and opened in 1940 under Miss Alma Legare (later Mrs. Carrier). In 1948, the school moved to higher land on the NE corner of 32 44 9 W2 across Saskatchewan Highway 3. The final school term was during the 1956-1957 years, the school building sold and moved and was used as a dwelling. Pupils were bussed into Mistatim.
FREDERICK'S SIDING SCHOOL at Orley. The log home of Gus Worth and family was used for the school opening under Mrs. Frederick. When the school district received a government grant Mr. Glen Hannah, a qualified teacher, was hired. Pupils went to Mistatin when the schoool closed. The school was abandoned about the same time as Frederick's Lumber Mill closed which was located just south of the school house. FREDERICK'S SIDING was later called ORLEY.
MOTION SCHOOL DISTRICT 5132. The school was erected in 1938 on NE 22 45 11 W2 and opened in 1939 under Mrs. Hildred Lutz. This first school became the teacherage, after a new school was erected about the following year. An enrolment of 53 warranted a new school which opened in 1939, School enrolment on opening was 70 students, and the school was not large enough for all children, and younger children stayed home. MOTION 5132 closed in 1961, and burned down that same spring. Children were conveyed to Mistatim. A sign on the original school site was erected.
PINE CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT 4949. The petition was sent in the spring of 1931 for a school district. The school was built on the NE section 19 45 9 W2, and not on the allotted surveyed school section of 29 45 9 W2 which had the Horsehide Creek flowing through it, and was a swampy area. Children attended Mistatin school before the school building was erected. Mr. Albert Stanik held the first classes in January of 1935. A new school house was erected in 1946, until the last class was taught in 1960. Both school houses were sold and moved.
MISTATIM SCHOOL. In 1929, a log school building was erected and opened with E.A. Towns as the first teacher. The original school building was condemned, and a new two room school was built in 1940. This school building was ued until 1961 when it was replaced by a five room schoolhouse with gymnasium.
Log Cabin Tales and Changing Trails. History of Choiceland and District. . Choiceland Historical Society. ISBN 0-88925-159-1. Choiceland Historical Society. 1984. Friesen Printers. Altona, Mb.
They plowed the way and we followed. . Vanscoy and District History. 1980. ISBN 0-88925-157-6. Friesen Printers. Altona, MB.
BLUE FOX SCHOOL DISTRICT 4926. In the spring of 1931, the first school meeting was held, and two acres on the SW 25 51 18 W2 was selected as the school site. Building of a log school house began, and a forest fire reduced the construction site to ashes. Again, the building began of a frame school house, and Miss Margaret Keyes was the first teacher in the spring of 1933. In the fall of 1934, fire struck the school house again. The Lutheran Church at NW 19 51 17 W2 was used as a classroom while the new school house was built. In 1951 BLUE FOX closed, the school building moved to Choiceland as a classroom before being moved to a farm yard.
CHOICELAND RURAL. In 1928 the school was built on the SW corner of Bill Jones quarter section. Mr. Kornelson was the first teacher in January of 1930. Gravel highway 55 was finished in 1944, and the final school year was 1946-1947. The highway was straightened in 1960 and paved.
CHOICELAND SCHOOL No 4986. In the fall of 1933 a two room brick CHOICELAND school opened, and in 1950, an addition was needed. By 1951 the CHOICELAND RURAL school building was moved onto the site, and a new nine room school building was erected that year in Choiceland.
CROCKON HILL SCHOOL DISTRICT 5025. During the spring of 1933, the community came together holding a school district meeting. The school building was situated upon two acres of land on SW 13 53 18 W2. Miss Mary Maclachlan became the first teacher in the summer of 1934. 1959 was the last school term, and pupils were sent to Choiceland schools.
ELKRIDGE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4855. Choiceland was seven and a half miles north east of ELKRIDGE school along Saskatchewan Highway 55. . The school district was organised in 1946 and the first year had three teachers, W.E. Edwards, DAisy Grunerud, and Anna Sturby. The final school year was 1959.
GLOCCA MORRA SCHOOL DISTRICT 5225. The school house was erected in 1946, and the district comprised parts of BLUE FOX and MOSSY GLEN school districts. Miss Verna Sturby held the classes the first year. The school was closed in 1953, and pupils bussed to Choiceland. The school was moved to a farm for a home where it eventually succumbed to flames.
KELSEY SCHOOL DISTRICT 4989. In 1932, a school was built on SE 34 52 17 W2 and opened that same summer under Gertie Archibald as teacher. The final school term was held in 1953, the school closed, and students attended CHOICELAND VILLAGE SCHOOL.
MOSSY GLEN SCHOOL DISTRICT 5072. The school was organised in 1933, and school opened in November 1939 in an abandoned homesteader's house. A school building was erected, and Miss Minnie Rae was the first teacher. The school year of 1955-1956 was the final school term, and pupils were conveyed to Choiceland.
PURITY SCHOOL DISTRICT 4799. The first school meeting was held in the summer of 1929. A log school house was erected on the NE Section 23 52 18 w2. Miss Frances Churko, possessing a second class certificate, was hired for the the first class January 1931. The former ELKRIDGE school was moved four miles south west of the PURITY SCHOOL and became PURITY #2. In the spring of 1948, PURITY #1 was closed at the end of the school term. The building was sold, pupils conveyed to Choiceland. In 1951, PURITY #2 closed, and again students attended school in the Choiceland village.
BOYLSTON SCHOOL 902. The school opened in the fall of 1904 with Miss Dow as the first teacher. The last school term was held 1951, and the school building was sold.
DETROIT SCHOOL DISTRICT 2565. The school was erected in 1912 ninety rods north of the SW corner of SW 9 34 7 3. The first recorded teacher was Miss L.M. Dawson in 1914. The last school term ended in the spring of 1943, and in 1946, the building moved into Vanscoy and was later in use as a bus garage in the village of Vanscoy.
DIOVA S.D. 769. The community requested a school in 1903, and the school house was erected on the SW corner of Section 20 36 7 W3. The final school term was 1957, and the students were conveyed to Vanscoy. In 1963, the school site was sold, and the area became part of the VANSCOY SCHOOL DISTRICT 3652.
THE KRUMPELMANN SCHOOL DISTRICT. This school was organised in 1904, opening with Miss Kate Cameron as the first teacher and the school closed in 1951. Children attende the VANSCOY composite school. The school building was sold, moved and renovated into a home near Grandora.
LAUREL SCHOOL 895. In 1904 the initial school meeting was held, and two acres of land on SE 25 35 8 were donated. Miss Louise Chubb held the first classes in January of 1905. LAUREL held their last class in 1950. The school district disorganised in 1965, the school building sold and moved four miles north.
MERRILL SCHOOL DISTRICT 1582 was erected 1906 on the SE section 34 35 6 3. The school closed in 1965, and the children were transported into the city of Saskatoon.
MINNESOTA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1395. In 1905 the Department of Education received a petition from the district to erect a school on the NE corner of SE 33 34 7 3. Miss C. Kempster was the first teacher. MINNESOTA 1395 was surrounded by DETROIT 2565 to the south, MOON LAKE 3948 at the north east, VANSCOY to the north, and RICH HILL on the west. The Saskatoon (West) School Unit No 42 encompassed the MINNESOTA 1395 area in 1945. The school closed in 1960, and children bussed to Vanscoy.
MOON LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 3948. In the fall of 1918, Miss Annie Fraser (later Mrs. Jim Covin) was the first teacher in MOON LAKE 3948. The building was erected on the NW quarter of 9 35 6 W3, RM of Cory 344. The school closed in 1963, and the children thereafter attended VANSCOY SCHOOL.
PEVERIL SCHOOL DISTRICT 551. The school building was erected over the years 1910-1911 on NE 4 35 8. However the school was moved in the 1919-1920 school year by the Loganton municipal council. The school closed after 1947, the building sold and dismantled.
RICH HILL. The letter was sent in the spring of 1918 to the Department of Education requesting a school house, and a new school was built on the corner of SE 26 34 8 W3. Miss Emma Irene Dow taught the first classes. Pupils attended school in Delisle upon their school closure in 1951.
SHELBY SCHOOL DISTRICT 2110. The school building opened in 1909 under Mr. Shaw. The school district organised as early as 1905, and sent in three names, NEMENGO, medora P.O.; FAIRVIEW, Quincy; and NEMENGO, before SHELBY was accepted. The last school term was taught in 1951, and the school district disorganised in 1965, the school building was sold. The school yard has since became part of the potash mine lands.
VANSCOY S.D. 3652. School classes were held as early in 1914 before the school was built. Miss Agnes MacFarlane taught the first classes in 1916 when the school was built. By 1925, a second room was added, and in 1946, the DETROIT school building served as a third classroom. In 1954 a new four room school opened in Vanscoy named CORONATION SCHOOL. KRUMPELMANN, LAUREL, DIOVA pupils attended school in Vanscoy, soon joined by BOYLESTON and other rural schools.
Prairie Rose Memories. Volume 1 and Volume II. 1962. Prairie Rose Historical Society. ISBN 1-55056-008-5. Friesen Printers. Altona, MB.
Where Trails End and Rivers Meet. White Fox and Districts. Joyce McElroy, Editor in chief. White Fox History Book Committee. 1986. ISBN 0-88925-604-7. Friesen Printers. Altona MB.
ALTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 3868. In January of 1913, the first school meeting regarding HOLFELD school district was held within the RM of Shamrock #134. In February of 1917, SE 11 33 19 W2 was chosen for a site, the school was built. Classes began under Nora C. Cronin in 1918. The school closed following the the June 1940 term. In 1955, the school building became the teacherage in Dafoe, before being renovated into a home.
AUDERVILLE SD 716. The school building arose on SE 27 33 20 W2 in 1914. Henry Podjan was the first teacher. Following the 1957 school term, the AUDERVILLE school was closed, the schoolhouse, barn and teacherage sold. Students then attended school in Jansen.
BIEBERDORF SCHOOL DISTRICT 2157. The school district forming in 1908 sent away the petition to form the FRIEDESNFELD school district in 1909. This name was already in use, and in 1910, BIEBERDORF SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 2517 was approved. The schoolhouse was erected on two acres in the north west cornder of NE 9 32 20 W2. Miss Munroe brought the first class to order, and the school operated until the end of the 1957 school term. Pupils were bused to Jansen
COPELAND SCHOOL. The schoolhouse was opened in 1908, and operated until 1966.
DAFOE SCHOOL NO 4038. The school building was constructed in the very north east corner of the Dafoe townsite. Anne Johnson became the first teacher. In 1968, the Dafoe school was closed and the school buildings were sold. A stone cairn and plaque were erected in 1989.Pupils were bussed to Wynyard.
DEER PLAIN SCHOOL DISTRICT 1949. The school petition was sent off in 1907, and the schoolhouse erected on the southern portion of Section 5 33 20. Robert R. Paul was the first teacher in 1908. The DEER PLAIN schoolhouse served this district for 36 years. In 1944 the schoolhouse was moved into the hamlet of Esk. The schoolhouse was sold and a new school erected, which was also sold in 1964 and became a residence. Students were conveyed to Lanigan.
FOOTE SCHOOL The school building opened in 1908 on NE 20 31 18 W2. A second building was needed in 1936 for secondary classes. FOOTE school closed in 1962.
HALIBURTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 1923. Residents sent off a letter to the Department of Education in 1907. The school site was allocated on one acre in the NE corner of SE 20 31 20 W2. Miss Kate Drysdale was the first teacher in 1909. In 1953, HALIBURTON closed, and students taken to Lockwood for classes. The school became the Haliburton Community Club.
HIAWATHA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1720. The school site was the SW corner of SW 34 32 21 W2, and the school construction took place in 1907. In 1955 HIWATHA was absorbed into the DRAKE LARGER ATTENDANCE AREA, and the school closed. The school building became an extra classroom in Lanigan in 1958.
HORTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 2087. In 1908-1909, the school house was erected on the SE corner of NE 36 33 19. In February of 1909 Howard Stitt became the first teacher.In 1960, the school closed, pupils were bussed to Jansen. The school house was sold in 1961. As of 1992 the large red school barn could still be seen from Saskatchewan Highway 6 which bordered the school yard, having been built along the same grade as the early prairie trail. HORTON served pupils from three Rural Municipalities, LeRoy (Ayr), Lakeside (Quill Lake) and Prairie Rose.
HOWAT SCHOOL DISTRICT 2106. In 1907, a meeting was held for a school district in the area. In 1908, the school house was erected on SE 15 31 21 W2. Miss Cumming was the first teacher in the spring of 1910. The school ceased to operate for classes in 1952, but remained a community centre before the building was sold. A cairn was erected in 1985.
JANSEN SCHOOL DISTRICT 2448. The inaugural meeting was held in the summer of 1909. The school building was erected on Lot 14 in Block 5, west half of Section 36 32 20 in the Jansen townsite. Classes opened under Miss Elizabeth M. Borthwick for the 1910-1911 school term. In 1945 JANSEN 2448 became part of the LANIGAN SCHOOL UNIT. A new four room school was opened in 1952 and remained in use until 1991. Jansen students were thereafter conveyed to Lanigan.
KNELLER SCHOOL DISTRICT 3642. The district came together in the summer of 1915 to form a school district. KNELLER was erected on SE 36 31 22 W2. Classes began with Miss Inez McCullough as teacher in the 1916-1917 school term. An addition was added in 1926. The school building was re-located to NW 32 31 21 W2 in 1952 to provide a centralized location to both KNELLER and OTTERBURN students. The last class was held in the 1957-1958 school term, and the school was closed. KNELLER schoolhouse was moved to Plunkett becoming the school there. Thereafter it was sold and resold moving to Kandahar, Punnichy, and finally Jansen.
OTTERBURN SCHOOL DISTRICT 250. The Department of Education received the community letter requesting forms in 1910. OTTERBURN school was erected on NE corner of SE 3 32 21 W2. William A Reade was the first teacher in 1912. In 1952, students were conveyed to KNELLER, HIAWATHA, or BIEBERDORF schools. Upon their closure, pupils attended classes in Drake.
PAULINE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1650. In 1906, a school committee came together for the formation of a school district. The school house was built upon SW 30 33 20 W2, and Mary I Dodd was listed as the first teacher in 1908. The school was taken by fire in 1920, and the school re-built. The school was absorbed into the LANIGAN SCHOOL UNIT #40. In 1955, PAULINE 1650 closed, the building sold and moved into Jansen. A cairn erected in 1989.
PRAIRIE ROSE SCHOOL NO 1652. Following the organisational meeting held in 1907, the school building went up on SE 29 33 19 W2. The first teacher, Mildred S. Gehl started the 1909-1910 school term. The final school year was held 1952, and students attended school at HORTON or JANSEN.
STONER REST SCHOOL DISTRICT 4056. The pioneers came together in 1918 for the formation of a school district. The school house was built on the SW corner of 21 33 21 W2 The first school term in 1919 was instructed by Lillian Neil. In 1945, STONER REST became part of LANIGAN SCHOOL UNIT #40. The last classes were held during the 1947-1948 school years. Students were bussed either to Esk or Lanigan. The school building itself was re-located to VALLEY FIELD school district. It was later taken by flames.
Age Shall Not Weary Them Saskatchewan Remembers its War Dead Barry, Bill and Doug Chisholm and Beth Parsons. Centax Books, a Division of Print West Communications Ltd. ISBN 1-897020-20-6.
BLUE SPRUCE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4947. The school building built of logs was located upon NW 1 53 14 W2 following a meeting held in the spring of 1931. The intial name was LONE BOAT after the First Nations Olympic runner of 1908. The school name changed to BLUE SPRUCE in 1934. The first teacher was Miss Helen Schmidt starting the 1934 school term.
ELKDALE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4491. Spring of 1922 saw the school district hold their first organisational meeting. The building was constructed on NE corner of NE 18 51 14 W2, opening under Miss Gertrude M. Brazier in February of 1925. When ELKDALE closed in 1951, students went to classes in White Fox. The school building was re-located to HAIRPIN BEND school north of Botany.
PINEHURST SCHOOL DISTRICT 4360. The school house was erected on NE corner of NE 7 52 14 W2. George Needham taught the first classes commencing January 1922. The school later was moved one "mile east on the south side of SW 16 52 14" to centrally serve rural students when a school was erected in the White Fox town site. By 1947, the school building was moved into White Fox for an additional classroom there.
PINE TORCH SCHOOL DISTRICT 4736. In the spring of 1927, the first organisational meeting assembled to petition the Department of Education for a school district. The first classes under Miss Vera Egner were taught in a leased home. In 1932, a new log school site was allocated at the NE corner of SE 24 52 14 W2. This log school house was completed in the fall of 1934. The last school term was held 1952, and children thence attended school in White Fox.
RIVERS END SCHOOL DISTRICT 4945. In 1931, the school committee formed, and the proposed school site was established at the NW corner of SW 21 53 14 W2. The first teacher started the spring of 1932 with Theodore Frazis in charge. Rivers End remained operational until 1959, though the last record of a teacher was in 1953.
TRAIL'S END SCHOOL DISTRICT 5153. In the winter of 1939, the ratepayers met to establish a school district. The school site selected was the NW corner of 25 53 14 W2, and the log school house completed by 1942, Miss Ann Hendricks was the first teacher installed in the new building. A frame school house was opened by January of 1951 and remained in use until 1960 when it closed and was moved away.
WHITE FOX SCHOOL DISTRICT 4962. In the summer of 1930, residents petitioned for a school district. The site for the FOX RIVER SCHOOL DISTRICT 4962 was on the NE corner of NW 36 51 15 w2 using the United Church basement. Miss Margaret Hannah Stothers taught that first year, beginning January 1932. In 1935, a two room school house was erected. As there was already a WHITE FOX school in operation, this rural school became known as CHERRY RIDGE school, so that the White Fox townsite could change the name of FOX RIVER school district to WHITE FOX school district in the spring of 1936. A high school was added in 1946, and operated until L.P. MILLER COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL opened in Nipawin, and WHITE FOX thence taught grades 1 to 9 from 1971 on until it included kindergarden in 1982.
The first hundred years : around Churchbridge, 1880-1980 Swanson, Ruth, Churchbridge History Committee. Churchbridge, Saskatchewan. 1980
History coming alive : R.M. of St. Philips, Pelly and district. Volume 1 Pelly, Saskatchewan: St. Philips / Pelly History Book Committee, 1988
CHURCHBRIDGE SCHOOL DISTRICT #124 First meeting May 26, 1888. First schoolhouse was built 1888, and was also the church. First teacher Miss Oliver. This school house relocated to Perley. In 1900 a request was made to re-open Churchbridge wchool, and in 1902 a schoolhouse was built. Miss Saide Hunt was the first teacher in 1903 for full term classes. In 1914 Inspector Anderson presented the concept to consolidate CHURCHBRIDGE, LOGBERT, THINGVALLA, BERESINA, and LISCARD schools, and later that year, a new two room school house was erected and in 1926 a two room addition was needed. The old school building became the Peace Lutheran Church.
BERESINA SCHOOL DISTRICT #835. In 1911, school was taught at Beresina church. The school district organised April 4, 1903. The schoolhouse was constructed at S.E. section 30 Township 23 Range 31 West of the 1 meridian with Wm G. Gourli beginning as the first teacher in 1904. The Willowbrok school was moved to the school yard in 1958. BERESINA closed December 1962, pupils bussed to Churchbridge or MacNutt schools.
DOVEDALE School District / RIVERSDALE School District # 152 of the North West Territories. The school district of RIVERSDALE organised April 17, 1889 and the first teacher was Frank Hewgill in 1890. The first school house was erected on the S.W. quarter of Section 12 (Wm Rowland farm). The school building was moved to Section 7 Township 21 Range 32 West of the 1 meridian in 1906. In 1917 a new school was needed, and this one went up on SW section 18 Township 21 Range 32 West of the 1 Meridian. The Riversdale post office in Saskatchewan kept getting mixed up with Riversdale post office in Manitoba, so both school and post office in Saskatchewan were changed to DOVEDALE in 1907. DOVEDALE S.D. closed 1965, and pupils were conveyed to Churchbridge School.
KINBRAE School District 73 organised on September 14, 1886. The settlement at that time was called Big Cut Arm. A log school was erected in 1886, however the first classes were held in a log granary. John Richards was the first teacher. By 1923, the a new school was erected. In 1963 students were transported to other schools, and in 1964 KINBRAE school was closed, the building school yard sold to the Catholic Church.
LANDESTREW School District #3698 was organised in 1916, and a school building erected. The school site was N.W. section 19 Township 23 Range 30 West of the 1 Meridian. By 1961, the school closed, and students went off to MacNutt for schooling eight miles away. The first records of a teacher was in 1922, a Miss Albright.
LANDSHUTT ROMAN CATHOLIC School District #30 was organised January 8, 1890. The schoolhouse was built around 1895. One of the first schools was a two story building with a teacher's residence upstairs. The school building was replaced in 1940. When the school closed, this school building was moved into Churchbridge as a spare classroom.
LISCARD School District #2000 held its first organisational meeting on March 18, 1908. The SE corner of NE section 34 Township 21 Range 33 West of the 1 meridian. Miss Laura Craige was the first teacher. In the 1960-61 school years, the LISCARD was closed and pupils taken to Churchbridge. In 1980, the school was still at its original site.
LOGBERG School District #206 was organised April 17, 1891, and a log school house was erected 1892 on the NE quarter of Section 4 Township 23 Range 32 West of the 1 meridian. Miss Anderson was hired on as the first teacher. In 1908, the school building was re-built on the SW quarter of Section 16 Township 22 Range 32 West of the 1 Meridian. The school closed in 1960, and pupils took the bus into Churchbridge. LOGBERG school was sold as a dwelling and later the school was moved off the school yard site.
PENNOCK School District #1437 was established on November 2, 1905 by the Department of Education N.W.T. and the first meeting held January 15, 1906. The school building was erected on the S.E. corner of N.E. section 31 Township 23 Range 32 West of the 1 meridian. Mary Webster was taken on as first teacher. In 1908 the school re-located one mile to the west onto a bit of land straddling the NW and SW quarter sections of 32, Township 23 Range 32 West of the 2 Meridian[sic] (Alert: School moved one mile west of 31 23 32 W1 therefore the new location would not be 32 23 32 W2 that would be too far, web master note, it should probably be 32 23 32 W1 changing the section number only and not the meridian number as then this location would indeed make it on mile west and near Churchbridge). Again by 1930 a new school building was built, opened the same year. The PENNOCK school district was closed 1960, students attended school in Churchbridge. The schoolhouse was moved to Yarbo the following year.
REDPATH School District #763 was constructed on section 20 in 1903, and the first teacher was Miss Currie. Section 20 was George Park's Homestead later the farm of Pius Helmle.
REEVES School district #2440 was erected in 1909. When the schoolhouse was closed, it was sold and converted into a residence.
ROTHBURY School District #204 organised into a school district in 1891, the same year, the schoolhouse was built on the SW corner of the SW quarter section 27 Township 24 Range 32. Samuel Murgford was the first teacher. A more central location was needed about 1912, but the school was not moved until the 1914-1915 school year to the NE corner of Section 16 Township 24 Range 32. A new building was built in 1950, in 1965, the school closed at the end of the school term, and pupils were conveyed into Churchbridge.
THINGVALLA School District #108 decided to form a school in the fall of 1887, though the first recorded school meeting was held October 24, 1889. The school building was erected in 1888 on the SW quarter of Section 24, Township 22, Range 32, West of the 1 Meridian. School opened in the spring of 1889 under Miss Gudny Jones. It was in 1912, that the second school was erected on the NW section 19, Township 22 Range 31 West of the 1 meridian, and the original school was sold. In 1920, the location of the school changed again and the school building was moved to a more central location for students. A new school was needed in 1947 in the centre of the school district on the NE quarter of section 24. The school closed in 1963, and THINGVALLA schoolhouse was moved into Churchbrigde to be used as a classroom.
Chips off the block : Moose Range (School) District, Carlea, Dartmore, Aylsham, Redwood, Luing or Meteor, Free State, Meadowcroft (West)
Publication information Aylsham, Saskatchewan: Aylsham and District History Book Committee, 1982
BEAR STREAM School District # 3165 was organised October 29, 1923. The school building built 1914 was named "DOROSHENKO" (Something very dear"). The location was the SE quarter of section 17 Township 31 Range 31 West of the 1 Meridian and the first teacher was Sam Werbowetski ifor the 1914-1915 school year. In 1928, the school burned down. The school was re-built one half mile south and one half mile east on the SE quarter of Section 16, Township 31 Range 31, West of the 1 Meridian. This school received the new name of BEAR STREAM. At the end of the school year 1964, the school closed down, the older grades were already being bussed to Kamsack, and now the younger grades joined them.
BEAVER PLAINS School District #555 held its first meeting June 15, 1911. A school house was erected on the SE quarter section of 33 Township 32 Range 31 West of the 1 meridian. The first teacher was Andrew Zaharychuk in 1913. The school burned down in 1914, and a new school opened that same year. In 1953 a new school building was erected, and the old school moved onto a farm site near Pelly. The new BEAVER PLAINS school remained open until 1963 pupils bussed into Pelly and the school building also was moved into Pelly to become a classroom at EASTVIEW school. A marker was erected at the BEAVER PLAINS school site.
DEVONSHIRE School District #3822 had a school board in 1914, and the school building was constructed in 1917. In 1962 DEVONSHIRE closed and pupils went into Pelly. According to the map, the school house located on the north west corner of the south west quarter section 27.
FORT PELLY School District No. 163 was officially organised in 1889, and the first school building was a rented home. In 1916, a school house was erected on Section 25 and the school received the moniker the SCHOOL BESIDE THE BRIDGE. The southern portion of the district was served by PINES school district. FORT PELLY school burned in 1929, and a new schoolhouse was erected in 1930 on section 26, 1/2 mile away from the bridge across the Assiniboine River. In 1963 the school closed.
KOBZAR School District #3597 on the south east corner of south east quarter section 3, organised December 28, 1914. The schoolhouse was built 1915 on the quarter first homesteaded by G. Murray. Miss Sarale Haney came on board as the first teacher in August of 1916. The last school term was the 1966-1967 year.
LILY VALE school district 2509 was organised June 22, 1909 and the schoolhouse erected in 1910 on the NW corner of NW quarter Section 19 Township 31 Range 32 West of the 1 Meridian. School opened in the spring of 1911. The First Nation called this area "Nawahi Sipiwank" ("Between the Rivers"), and the first pioneers in the area settled in the village of Nadezhda in 1899. At the end of the 1959 school term, LILY VALE closed its doors. SMERENIE was formed in 1924, and LILY VALE lands were transferred to SMERENIE, and some lands were re-distributed to WHITESAND School district, as the classes of LILY VALE were getting very large. PRETTY VIEW was another neighbouring school district. A new LILY VALE school was erected in 1949 and operated for another ten years when it closed, and pupils went to SMERENIE school until 1961, when SMERENIE also closed, children then were conveyed into Veregin. The schoolhouse became a residence outside of Kamsack, The schoolhouse foundation remains in the schoolyard, and a sign erected to commemorate LILY VALE.
LISTER School District #4194 erected in 1919 on the south west corner of south west quarter Section 18 Township 33 Range 31 West of the 1 Meridian following an organisational meeting held in the summer of 1918. Pauline A Neily was hired in the summer of 1920 as the first teacher. Neighbouring schools were MIDHURST (Pelly), RACING LAKE, and DEVONSHIRE. In 1932, the schoolhouse caught fire, and a new school erected to open in the spring of 1932 and was in use until 1953 when it was sold to be used as a home in Pelly . A new school was erected and remained operational until 1959 when it was sold to be used as an auto body shop in Pelly. A sign was raised at the schoolhouse site.
PASIEKA School District #2419 was erected on the north west corner of the north west section 19 Township 33 Range 31 West of the 1 Meridian following the filing of a petition on February 5, 1909 though the proposed site was SE section 25 Township 33 Range 31 West of the 1 Meridian. Faye Sorrell noted that though the school was two miles out of Arran, the school district committee used the location of Fort Pelly, Racing Lake or Benito. This first schoolhouse burned to the ground, and the second schoolhouse was sold to be used as a home, and it later burned down as well. The third schoolhouse served until 1958, and pupils were bussed into Arran for school in 1959. The schoolhouse was relocated to CLEARDALE school district. A sign was erected marking the PASIEKA school site.
PINES School District 438 came together for their school organisational meeting on September 9, 1911. In 1912 the school was erected on the north east quarter of section 31 township 32 Range 32, then in 1915, the school was moved to the south west quarter of section 7 township 33 range 32. The school was ravaged by fire in 1929 and rebuilt. In 1962, PINES became part of Kamsack School Unit 35, the school house was sold and converted to a honey house.
PRAIRIE VALLEY School District #4379 signed their petition March 1, 1920, following this the schoolhouse was erected on the north west corner of section 25, Township 33 Range 33 West of the 2nd Meridian. Witht he building completed in 1921, the first teacher was James Murchison. The school burned down 1933. The schoolhouse was rebuilt and re-opened for classes until 1955 when it was sold and made into a residence in Pelly. A sign was erected, and all that is left is the foundation and the school well.
RACING LAKE School District #2206 The LEMON School District #2206 held their meeting October 27, 1908 and the building was erected on the south east corner of the south east quarter of section 29. Miss Mcleaughen was the first teacher. On the commencement of the school year, September 1911, the school name became RACING LAKE. The school burned down 1929, and a few pupils went over to PASIEKA school while it was being re-built. RACING LAKE remained open until 1958.
ST. BASCILIAN School District NO. 103 located on the north east quarter of section 12. It was noted by Mr. Hrynkiw, that the schoolhouse was located two miles south of the Lac La Course Hudson Bay Trading Post which lay on the trail alongside the Assiniboine River to Fort Pelly six miles northwest. Father De Corbystarted the first mission school in the area. In 1911, the ST. BASCILIAN School District was organised, opening May 1913 under S. Werboweski. IIn June of 1964 at the end of the school term, ST. BASCILIAN closed its doors.
STRATFORD School District #4365 built on the south west corner of the the south west quarter of section 31. The organisational meeting was held in the fall of 1920, another meeting abandoned conveyance to ST. BASCILIAN, and a school building was erected. By July of 1922 Miss Anne Pekary was brought on as the first teacher. June of 1965 was the end of the last school term held in STRATFORD school. The shcoolhouse was moved into Kamsack to be used as a classroom and the school site became a cultivated field.
SUNNY ISLE School district 847 came together in 1912 with their first meeting, and by the fall of that year building commenced on the north east corner of the south east quarter of section 23 township 34 range 32 west of the 1 meridian. Mis Rabey Ethel Lyons began classes in February 1913. With the enlargement of the school district in 1915, it was decided to move the school one mile west to a more central location to the school children families. Again in 1946, the school was moved to the north east section 24 township 34 range 32 west of the 1 meridian. June 1963 was the last school term
VESNA School District 736 was erected April 9, 1912 on the north east corner north east section 22 township 22 township 33 range 30 West of the 1 meridian, Mike Chorneyko became the first teacher and the school closed in 1965. A sign marker was erected. The school building was bought by the Vesna Catholic Parish, and pupils attended school in Arran.
WATSON CREEK School District 4083 organised on June 26, 1918 and the location of the schoolhouse was the north west corner north west section 31 Township 32 Range 30 West of the 1 meridian. First classes were held February 1919 under Billy Mills. In June of 1963, WATSON CREEK School closed.
ARRAN school in the village of Arran was organised at the end of November 1914 and the school opened in the spring of 1915.
The first years : the Rural Municipality of Pleasant Valley, no. 288
Mitchell, Howard. Pleasant Valley (Sask. : Rural municipality)Publication information Unknown: Unknown, 1979
MMOOSE RANGE School District 3039 (Moose Range Hamlet was located straddling the south west corner of the north west quarter section 16 and south east corner of the south east quarter section 17 near Aylsham and Carrot River.) The first school district meeting was held in the spring of 1913 for PORTSMOUTH school district. The name changed to MOOSE RANGE at the end of 1917. In 1914 the school building was built on the north east corner of the north west quarter section 33 with the school doors opening July 6, 1914, closing June 1961.
CARLEA School District 3650 was located on the south west corner of south west quarter Section 30 township 48 range 13 near Carlea, SK (SW quarter 19 Township 48 Range 13) according to the map. The school district organised in 1915, and the school building went up on the South West quarter of section 30 Township 48 Range 13 West of the 2 meridian.
DARTMORE School District 4380 located on north west quarter of section 34 north of Aylsham, within the area of Willow Flats. The school district came together in the summer of 1920 to organise a school district. The Department of Education recognised the DARTMORE School District No. 4380 in the Saskatchewan Gazetter in October of 1920, but it was not until the spring of 1921 that the school building was planned, a temporary school was held in the restored blacksmith shop and Mrs. T. Mary Craven became the first teacher. In 1924 pupils were driven to Redwood School until another temporary school building was found. The school building was built on the south east quarter of section 34 township 49 range 13. In 1959, school children attended school in Aylsham.
AYLSHAM School District 4391 was organised at the end of December 1920 forming in January 1921. School children of the ASHVILLE school district attened CARLEA School district for the first few years. A temporary AYLSHAM school building was erected in 1927 on the south east quarter of section 3 township 49 range 13, west of the 2 meridian, and in 1928, a permanent school was opened in the fall. The school name change from ASHVILLE to AYLSHAM was proposed in 1932 to correspond to the name given the post office in 1921 (Aylsham post office), however it did not change until 1940. FREE STATE school pupils began to attend AYLSHAM IN 1952.
REDWOOD School District 4400 came together for their first meeting January 8, 1921, and organised March 3, 1921. The school site was to be south west section 30 township 49 range 13 west of the 2 meridian, however classes began in a homesteader shack located on the north west section of section 21. The first school building was erected in 1923, but before classes were hled, it burned, and the school was rebuilt, opening at the beginning of 1924. DARTMOUR [sic] school pupils attended the school until their building was completed. The school closed in 1944.
LUING or METEOR School District 2281 (1926) was located on the north west corner of the north west quarter of section 23 north of Aylsham. It was after the First World War that the school district formed in 1926. The school totally succombed to fire in 1934, and was re-built. (The name METEOR as the Meteor hall was moved onto the school yard in 1939, area port office named Meteor was located in the SUNNYBROOK school district.)
FREE STATE School District 4806 (July 1929) located on the south east corner of the north east quarter of section 12 township 49 range 14 west of Aylsham. The school district came together in the spring of 1929 to form a school district, and by that summer FREE STATE school district was formed. The school closed in 1952, and pupils attended school in Aylsham.
MEADOWCROFT (WEST) School District 1945 located on the north west corner of the north west quarter Section 7 township 50 range 12. MEADOWCROFT school district was the first school area, and MEADOWCROFT (WEST) school was located one and a half mile south and three miles west of that original school. MEADOWCROFT School was full in 1945 and unable to serve the increasing number of children in the district. Building of MEADOWCROFT (WEST) began in 1945, and the school opened at the end of the year, the original MEADOWCROFT became MEADOWCROFT (EAST). MEADOWCROFT (WEST) remained opened until 1959.
River Hills to Sand Hills : a history of Pennant District
Pennant, Saskatchewan: Pennant and District History Book Committee, 1984
TOFT HILL School District 3396 organised June 1911 serving sections in township 31 range 18 west of the third meridian near Stranraer. The first teacher was Theodore Fallaise in 1917, and the final teacher was hired on in 1945.
KENSINGSTON School District 2723 organised November 9, 1910 serving sections in townships 29 adn 30 range 18 west of the third meridian near Fiske, SK. The first teacher, Andrew Allison, was hired on in 1911. The last teacher was hired on in 1959.
MAPLETON School District 2839 organised in the spring of 1911 serving sections in townships 29 and 30 range 19 west of the third meridian. The first teachers were Bernice Robinson and Sherman M. Arnold in 1912.
HERSCHEL School District
OSKALOOSA School District 3702 organising in March of 1916 served sections in township 30 and 31 range 17 west of the third meridian near McGee, SK. The schoolhouse was erected on the S.E. corner of the S.E. quarter section 17 township 30 range 17 west of the third meridian. The first teacher was David Johnson Allen in 1916. The last teacher was hired on in 1945.
VALLEY CITY School District 2656 organised in August of 1910 serving sections in township 29 ranges 17 and 18 west of the third meridian near Marion. The first teacher was A. Rowell in 1910, and the final teacher in 1945.
D'ARCY School District 3016 organised May 1913 serving sections in township 28 and 29 range 18 west of the third meridian. The first teacher was Eva K. Bailey in 1913.
DEER HILL School District 3135 organised September 22, 1913 serving sections in township 28 range 17 and 18 west of the third meridian.
BIG BEN School District 4718 organised at the end of July 1927 serving sections in township 28 range 19 west of the third meridian near D'Arcy. The first teacher brought on was Mary Mathieson in 1929. The final teacher was hired in 1944.
BAD LAKE (unorganised)
BONNIEVALE School District 4023 organised in April 1918, and served sections in township 27 and 28, range 17 west of the third meridian near Fiske. The first teacher on board was Gladys Stonehouse in 1918, and the school closed in 1940.
BELVOIR School District 4110 organised Novemer 2 1918, serving sections in township 27 and 28, range 16 west of the third meridian. The first teacher was Helen Laura Wallace hired on in 1919, and 1945 was the final year of operation.
MCGEE School District 2751 organised at the end of 1910 and served the community until 1945. The school district contained sections in township 29 range 16 and 17 west of the third meridian.
RIDPATH School District 2688 came to be in the village of Ridpath in 1910 with Wilson Angus as first teacher. RIDPATH School District 2751 served sections in township 29, ranges 15 and 16 west of the third meridian.
ANGLIA School District 3716 began in the community hall in 1914, permanent building built in 1917, later sold and moved away. School district includes sections of township 20, range 16 west of the third meridian. The first teachers were EVerett McDonald Sly and William Otto Erb.
BALNAMOON School District. LONESOME TRAIL school district 3727 organised in 1916, serving sections in township 28 and 29 range 16 west of the third meridian. In 1910, LONESOME TRAIL took over properties and administration of BRODIE school district 2522. Eva Jean Rowat was the first teacher in 1916. LONESOME TRAIL closed in the middle of 1945.
LOTUS School District 2250 was organised December of 1908, and the first teacher was Gordon S. Clancy hired in 1909. The school district contains sections in township 30, range 16 and 17 west of the 3rd meridian. The school building was sold in 1942.
SPRINGVILLE School District 1081 hired their first teacher, Florence MacDougall in 1913, and the school district organised 1912. The school district contained sections in township 28, range 15 and 16 west of the third meridian near Ridpath. By 1946, no records are kept of teachers hired, nor school board members.
SUNNYBANK School District
BRODIE Scool District 2522 opened in a temporary building, a granary in 1908, and a permanent school house was erected in 1909. BRODIE school district was formally organised in February of 1910 containing sections in townships 29 and 30 range 16 west of the third meridian. The school district dis-organised in 1916.
EGREMONT School District 4734 hired their first teacher, Norah E. Jones in 1928. The school organised October 1927 containing sections in township 30 and ranges 15 and 16 west of the third meridian near Rosetown, SK. By 1945, no teachers were hired, and pupils were conveyed to another school
CREST School District 4263 organised in October of 1919 under the name HIGGSON School District 4263 serving sections in towsnhip 28 and 29 range 17 west of the third meridian. The name changed from HIGGSON to CREST in 1920. The first teacher was Amy Evelyn Preddy in 1921. The final year year was 1945.
SPRING LAKE district's first teacher was Mr. Allison.
Ploughshares and Prairie Trails Dilke and District
PENNANT School District 3182 was served by classes held in the Presbyterian church, until the school building went up in 1913. In the winter of 1927, the school burned down, and the United Church was used until a larger school was built in 1928. OHIOVILLE School was moved onto the school site as an additional classroom in 1957 after it had closed.
BATTRUM School District's first teachers were Miss Echart and Elsie M. Goodwin between 1919-1921. The school opened in town, and served the community students until 1958 when children were conveyed to PENNANT school.
GRAMPIAN School District 3638 was erected 1928 with Miss Winnie Tweedle as the first teacher. The final school year ended June 1949.
GREEN DELL School District 3118 was builte 1915 on the south west corner of the south east quarter of section 3 on Koehler land.Miss McCharles, was the first teacher, starting in 1915, and the final teacher was hired in 1952.
OHIOVILLE School District 1854 ws established near the Keithville Post office (SE 34 township 18 range 16 west of the third meridian). OHIOVILLE sent in their petition letter the spring of 1907. The school went up on the north west corner of section 27 township 18 range 16 west of the third meridian in the fall of 1907. When the school was completed in 1908, Osborne Carr was hired on as the first teacher. At the beginning of 1947, the school was sold and a new one erected on the same site. By the spring of 1953 the school closed, and in the fall of 1953 children attended PENNANT School.
SCOTIA School District 3734 held their first meeting in February of 1916. The land purchased for the school site was the north west quarter of section 36, township 17 range 18 west of the third meridian near Fosterton (Fosterton Post Office locates NE Sec.34, Twp.17, R.18, W3). Miss Jessie Thompson came on as the first teacher.
VALENTINE School District 2824 held their first organisational meeting spring of 1911, though the map was drafted at the end of 1910. The school district map shows a marking at the north west corner of the south west quarter of section 22 township 19 The school closed in 1942, the schoolhouse was sold and moved in 1957 as the Mt. Herman Lodge Af, AM 124 building in Pennant, SK.
VERGLAND School District 2909 was located in the north east corner of the south east quarter of Section 17 township 17 range 17 west of the third meridian. The school trustees organised in the spring of 1913 and the school was erected by that fall. The school closed at the end of the 1954 school year, and the building was sold, though it was still standing on the original location at the writing of this local history book.
DILKE School #2662 by Helen Mortin
The Saskatchewan Gazette - Vol. #10
EDWARD's School #2535
GOLDRIDGE School #3306
KENOCKEE School #2315 (1909-1958
TAFT School #2483
TWO TREE POINT School
WILKIE BAY School #2560
Indian Head: History of Indian Head and District Inc.
FAIR PLAY S.D. 192 located on the north west corner of the south half of section 10 township 18 range 12, was built following the organisation meeting in the early summer of 1890. A.J. Bunting came on as the first teacher. In 1897, a new building was erected. In 1964, the school building was sold, and moved off the school yard.
GLENN LYNN School District began in an empty home in 1893, and in 1895, the residents came together in a meeting to organise a school district. In 1898, the name of GLENN LYNN School District 333 was adopted. In 1964, the children were conveyed into Indian Head, and GLENN LYNN closed.
INTERLAKE School District opened under Miss Kate Forrest, before the school district formed, the community was known as the Local Improvement District #8 H 2. LIDs were precursors to the Rural Municipalities, RMs.
JUBILEE School District 1122 was constructed in 1904 on the east portion of section 7 township 19 range 12, and readied to open at the opening of 1905 under Miss Margaret McMoris in January. A new school was built in 1926 and remained open until 1955, when students bussed into Indian Head.
KATEPWE School District opened in 1874, and closed in 1955. The first school was sold to the Oblate Fathers to use a a church. The next KATEPWE School building was erected on the south west quarter of section 28 township 19 range 12.
Pioneer Ways to Modern Days : history of the town of Carrot River and the Rural Municipality of Moose Range
.Carrot River & District History (Association). Carrot River, Saskatchewan: Carrot River & District History, 1985
From buffalo grass to wheat : a history of Long Lake district
- BELL BOY School District 5053 had a log schoolhouse up on the south west quarter of section 17 township 50 range 10 west of the 2nd meridian which went up in 1934. The first records of the school district meetings were in 1935. The first teacher brought on was Winnifred Williams who started in the spring of 1935. In 1948 a new school went up and was in use until 1951 when the children were bussed to Carrot River. The school was closed and used at RENO HILL school district until it was again sold and used on a farm.
- BLUE JAY School District 4901 held their first meeting in 1931, and Mrs. Frieda Suderman was hired on as teacher starting up classes in June of 1932. The last classes held were in 1972. The school and school yard were sold in 1976.
- CARROT RIVER Elementary School started up in 1959.
- CAUSEWAY School School District had their first log school house built in 1935 and H.S. Clayton started the first classes. A new school went up in 1942 when the old one was taken by flames in 1941. Final classes were 1958, and the school building became a classroom in Carrot River. The pupils, as well, were conveyed into Carrot River.
- CHARMFIELD School District 4641 had a schoolhouse on the North West quarter section 8 township 49 range 11 west of the 2 meridian. Miss Violet Murray was hired as the first teacher. In 1946, the school buildings was moved one mile west, which was more central to the children in the area. CHARMFIELD was closed in 1953.
- COSMO School District 4957 held their first meeting in the summer of 1931. The school building went up in the spring of 1934. In 1944, the Eammonds Creek Hall was rented to be used as a second school for the COSMO school district 4957, and at a different school yard as the community had flourished so fast. hall became known as Cosmo #2 and the original Cosmo School Building was referred to as Cosmo #1. By the end of 1949, the students were bussed to Carrot River.
- GLEN HORNE School District 5048 held their first school meeting 1934. On the south east corner of section 2 township 51 range 10 west of the 2 meridian, the log school house was erected ready for Marion Wheaton to begin classes at the end fof April 1935. GLEN HORNE closed its doors following the 1961 school term.
- GRASSY RUN School District 5184
- HOLLYWOOD School Disrict
- LABALM School District 4573 was organised in 1924, and Edna (Teddy) Sodson came on as first teacher in 1927. The school remained open until 1947 when it was moved into Moose Range hamlet to be used as a temporary schoolm LABALM HAMLET School District 4573, while a two room school was built in town. LABALM HAMLET remained open until 1955, when children were conveyed into Carrot River, both schools also moved into Carrot River to be used as classrooms.
- LUING School Distrrict 2284 was organised in 1925 following a school district meeting. The school went up on the north east quarter of section 23 township 50 range 13, and remained open until the end of the 1958-1959 schol term.
- MEADOWCROFT WEST School District closed in 1958. The first MEADOWCROFT school was established by 1940 as a log school building, over time, MEADOWCROFT community erected a frame school building to serve the educational needs.
MERRYFIELD School District 5216 used the COSMO school house on the south west quarter of section 10 township 49 range 11 in 1949. Classes began in 1948. When the school closed children from CHARMFIELD and MERRYFIELD were conveyed to LEBALM school.
MOOSE RANGE school 3039 was situated on the north east corner of the north west quarter of section 33 township 48 range 12 west of the 2 meridian in 1914. The community organised in 1913 with meetings, for PORTSMOUTH school district 3039 which later became MOOSE RANGE. Mrs. Rebecca Valleau was brought on as the first teacher, and MOOSE RANGE closed at the end of the 1960-1961 school year.
- MOOSEDALE School District 4997 organised December 1932, with the school erected in 1933 opening under Miss Marg. Duddridge. In the fall of 1960 pupils went into Carrot River for schooling.
MOSSY VALE School Distrcit 5159 organised spring of 1939 and the school built 1943. In 1961, the majority of the school district was taken underwater by the Tobin Lake reservoir, closing the school as the families moved out of the area.
- PAPIKWAN School District 5243 was cleared of bush by World War II veterans along with the Smoky Burn Project, Huntdale and Papikwan. In 1950 a school was donated to the area by the government and moved in. In 1951 the school was moved to the south area of the camp (houses and schools were constructed on skids so could be towed around). The building burned down that year, and in the summer of 1952 the community bought another school house which was moved to the east side of the camp, the school district was organised the summer of 1952, and the school land became Section 2 township 50 range 9 west of the 2 nd meridian. To the north west was BELLBOY School District, WOODLAND to the west, WILLOW DALE to the north, and PLEASANT ACRES was north east, and PAPIKWAN was south. The residents sent the children off to Carrot River by bus in 1958 as there was difficulty procuring teachers, soon the bus route incorporated pupils from CRACKING RIVER who were being conveyed into Carrot River as well. The PAPIKWAN school building became the community hall.
PETAIGAN School District 4965 was erected in 1932 as a log school building opening with Laura Bruce as first teacher. The school was sold, and used as a community hall one half mile south of the school yard.
PTARMIGAN School District 4946 organised in the summer of 1931, the same year the rail arrived in Carrot River. Miss Audrey Young became the first teacher. A new school went up in 1947, and in 1950 the school changed names to CARROT RIVER town school. Neighbouring school districts for sports days were BLUE JAY, COSMO, CHARMFIELD, GLEN HOME and WOODCHUK.
RAVENDALE School District 5055 opened in 1936, however Mrs. Frank Stewart taught children in a pioneer log cabin. The school district held their first meeting in 1934 and the school went up in 1936. At the end of June 1962, RAVEDNDALE closed its doors, and children were taken into Carrot River.
RENO HILL School District 5158 pioneers met for a meeting the fall of 1939, the school built in the spring of 1940 and Mrs. Josie Rodman Jamont was brought on as a teacher in the summer of 1941. The school yard was the south east corner of the south east quarter of section 18 township 53 range 11 west of the second meridian.
SILVER ECHO School District 5146 had a yellow and green school erected in around 1938, or 1939 on north east quarter section 31 township 51 range 10 west of the 2 meridian opening in the summer of 1941 under Mrs. Callander, who initially taught the classes in German. SILVER ECHO closed its doors at the end of the school term, 1960, and children were conveyed into Carrot River.
SILVER PINE School District 5011 was organised in 1934-1935 and erected south of Tamarak Swamp township 51 range 13 west of the 2nd meridian. The school building was erected the spring of 1935, and Viola M. Robertson was the first teacher brought on in 1935.
SMOKY BURN School School District 5234 held their first meeting the summer of 1948. The school building was owned by the Department of Social Welfare and Mrs Edith Curtis was the first teacher at SMOKY BURN Government Aided School, opening that fall. In the summer of 1949, SMOKY BURN school District 5234 was organised, and the school site was the north east corner of the north west quarter of section 32 township 8 range 50 west of the 2 meridian. A temporary building was provided in the fall of 1949 until the school house was completed. For the 1955-1956 school term, the AYLSHAM school building was moved in for another classroom. In 1961, pupils wre bussed into Carrot River.
WHITE CLAY School District 4928 was established in 1931 with a log school house. This school burned down in the winter of 1936-1937, and a new frame school building erected on the north west quarter section 11 township 51 range 12 west of the 2 meridian. The school closed at the end of the 1952-1953 school term, pupils went into Carrot River. The school house was moved into Carrot River and became a church.
WOODCHUCK School District 4995 held an organisational meeting 1932 and organised at the beginning of 1933. The first classes were held in a pioneer's log home on south west secion 27 township 51 range 11 west of the 2nd meridian. The permanent school house went up on the north east quarter of section 22 township 51 range 11 west of the 2nd meridian early in 1939. The small REDWOOD school district schoolhouse was bought and moved into the school yard in 1949 and used until 1957 and sold. WOODCHUCK school closed in 1964, and children went off to Carrot River for school. The school building was purchased and moved onto a farm.
- LONGLAKETON SCHOOL DISTRICT 112: An examination in o the location of LONGLAKETON reveals differeing oral and written reports. The final location ended up to be the south west quarter of section 34 township 21 range 21 west of the 2nd meridian. There are also reports of the school on south east section 32 township 21 range 21 west of the 2nd meridian and later moved. Department of education records hold other sites at southewast section 4 township 22 range 21 west of the 2nd meridian as well as the north east quarter of section 34 township 21 range 21 west of the 2nd meridian. The school was incorporated in 1890, and opened in 1891 under Miss Mary K Hunter.
- SYLVAN SCHOOL DISTRICT 365 organized in the spring of 1895. The school building was erected on the south east corner of Alex McLellan's land. By 1915, the school was relocated to the west side of the quarter section. In 19378, the school was rebuilt on a new location, the south east corner of the south east quarter of section 6 township 22 range 20 west of the 2nd meridian. SYLVAN school was operational between 1896 and 1962 at which time, students were conveyed to Earl Grey.
- MARIETON SCHOOL DISTRICT 313 incorporated in 1899, and an empty home was used as the first school house. IN the fall of 1902, land at the south west corner of the north west quarter of section 36 township 22 range 23 west of the 2nd meridian was offered for a school yard, and the following year, a new school house was erected. By 1928, a new larger school was needed, and this was assembled south of the old school which was used as a hall. MARIETON closed in 1957.
- CRAVEN SCHOOL DISTRICT 710 first held their classes in the vicarage, after incorporating in the spring of 1902. Craven Village School district formed early in 1906 following the formation of Craven village in 1905. A new school was needed in the village in 1912, and a four room brick building was built.
SPRAYVILLE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1520 incorporated in 1906. The school was built on the north east quarter of section 20 township 22 range 21. The first records of classes were in 1911 with pupils taught by Annie Fullard.
STONEYCROFT SCHOOL DISTRICT 1746 incorporated in 1907. The school house was erected on the north west quarter of section 34 township 22 range 22 and opened under the teaching of Jean Ross.
SCARBOROUGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 1804 formed in 1907, and the school house was located oat the north west quarter of section 6 township 22 range 19.
EDENKILLIE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2022 held their first organisational meeting in 1908, this same year, the school district was incorporated and the school house went up on the south east quarter of section 22 township 23 range 23.
BURNSIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2146 similaraly indorporated in 1908, with a school being built on the north east quarter of section 9 township 21 range 20 and opening the following year.
VERNA SCHOOL DISTRICT 195 indorporated in 1911. The school ws built and opened the following year on the south west quarter of section 14 township 21 range 21.
SILTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 1038 saw their school built in the summer of 1912, and the first teacher was Miss M LInts. In 1964 all high school students traveled to Strasbourg for schooling, no longer relying on the SHILTON school, and in 1969, children attended either Bulyea or STrasbourg elementary schools and SILTON closed its doors.
THORNCLIFFE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4183
Middle Lake The Vintage Years. A History of the Village of Middle Lake including the school districts of Grove Lake, Middle3Lake, Merrywood, Makintosh, Lake Ignace, Lucien Lake, and Wilfred. Compiled and published by the Middle Lake Celebrate Saskatchewan History Book Committee. Copyright 1982. Inter-Collegiate Press. Winnipeg, Mb.
WILFRED SCHOOL NO 1476. The first recorded location of the school house was the south west quarter of section 30 township 40 range 24 west of the second meridian with classes opening under Mr. Hunko in 1910. By 1929, a new school was needed, and was erected on the south west corner of the north west quarter section 19 township 40 range 24 west of the 2nd meridian. The school closed in 1963. The book lists all pupils and teachers as well as photos.
- MIDDLE LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2271. The first school was erected along the road between sections 10 and 11, and the schoolhouse proper was located within section 10 township 41, range 23 west of the 2nd meridian. A new school was erected in 1937, and it was erected on the center of the west side of the south west quarter section 2 township 41 range 23 west of the second meridian. Teachers and pupils through to 1961 are listed in the book.
- MacKINTOSH SCHOOL DISTRICT 2610. This school went up on the north east corner of the south east quarter of section 24 township 41 range 24. The first teacher was Mr. Sloan in the spring of 1911. This school closed its doors in 1960.
LAKE IGNACE SCHOOL NO 3216 was built in 1914 on the south east quarter of section 1 township 42 range 23 west of the second meridian, and the new school house was erected in 1936 on the south west corner of the south west quarter of section 5 township 42 range 22 west of the second meridian.
MERRYWOOD SCHOOL DISTRICT 3470. Residents came together in 1920 to form their school district, with a school house raised on the south west quarter of section 5 township 41 range 22 west of the 2nd meridian. The school opened in 1922 under Miss Farrel. By 1961 the school was closed, and pupils attended school in Middle Lake.
LUCIEN LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4333. This school district came together in 1925, and a school was built on the south west quarter of section 25, township 40 range 24 west of the 2nd meridian. Pupil and teacher's names are recorded in the book.<
- MIDDLE LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4943. GROVE LAKE SCHOOL NO 4943 opened in 1932 under Kathleen Bell. Over the years this one room schoolhouse was expanded to a three room schoolhouse. A new school was built in the idle of Middle Lake, and the new GROVE LAKE school now had six school rooms. By 1968, the school changed names to MIDDLE LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT NO 4943. Pupils and teachers 1932 to 1981 are recorded in the history book.
Glidden Our District. Compiled and published by N.E. Ament. Print Shop Kindersley. c1967.
- KINCORA SCHOOL DISTRICT 2726. The petition was sent in 1910, and a schoolhouse erected in 1912 on the south west quarter of section 4 township 27 range 20 west of the third meridian with classes held under Mr. Alexander. This schoolhouse was located one mile west and two miles west of the present village and used as a school and a church. Classes opened under Miss Edna Steve in 1917. In 1916, the townsite of Glidden moved one mile in accordance with correspondence with the Canadian National Railway. Glidden then located at 21-26-23-W3 About 1918 or 1919, the schoolhouse was moved into the village proper. By 1920, a new consolidated school was needed in the village. The name changed to GLIDDEN CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL 2726 in 1927.
- WILD ROSE SCHOOL DISTRICT. Opened in 1912, on the north west quarter of section 13 township 27 range 23 after a petition was sent in the previous year. SD 330 and 2726 bordered Wild Rose.
- QUINNEY SCHOOL DISTRICT was erected on the south west quarter of section 33 township 25 range 24 in 1912.
- GOLDEYE SCHOOL DISTRICT was raised in 1914, but did not open till the spring of 1915. The residents came together in 1913 to send in their petition.
- TUSCOLA SCHOOL DISTRICT sent in their petition in 1918, and erected their school house in 1918, and the school opened in 1919.
- TEEPEE SCHOOL DISTRICT opened in 1919, and they had petitioned the Department of Education in 1918.
- DUNN SCHOOL DISTRICT opened in 1934, and their petition had been sent in 1929.
Wilderness to Neighbourhoods. Lake Four, Park Valley, Rabbit Bluff, Stump Lake, Millard Hill. Compiled and published by Park Valley History Committee. 1992. ISBN 1-55056-095-6. c1967. Photographs, student and teacher listings are compiled in this book.
Centennial Tribute: Oakshela, Broadview, Percival, 1882-1982. Compiled and published by Broadview Pioneer History Society, 1982. Friesen Printers, MB. ISBN 0-88925-339-0.
- LAKE FOUR school district 5120. In 1939 the first school opened,a log house erected on the north east corner of the north east quarter of section 27 township 54 range 6 west of the third meridian under Miss Jessie Hoey. In 1940, a new school went up as the first had gone up in flames and in 1968 the children were conveyed into Debden. The majority of the pupils were Norwegian, Swedish or German in the area.
- MILLARD HILL school district 5205. Pupils had been travelling to STUMP LAKE, RABBIT BLUFF, SILENT CALL and WANAKENA until 1945, when residents decided to organise for their own school district. The school opened in 1946 in a log house located at the north east quarter of section 33 township 52 rnage 5 west of the third meridian. The first teacher was Mrs. Pauline Chalifour. The school remained open for two years. In 1958 pupils were on the bus route into Canwood or Debden school.
- PARK VALLEY school district 5071 held their first school district meeting spring of 1934, the schoolhouse was built upon the north east quarter of section 6 township 54 range 5 west of the third meridian, and the first school teacher hired on in 1937, F.S. Lawton. A new school went up in 1940 after the last school burned down, this new school serving the area until 1966.
- RABBIT BLUFF school district 5070 held their organisational meeting in the spring of 1934. In 1937, the first schoolhouse was erected on the south east quarter of section 22 township 53 range 5 west of the third meridian, and their first teacher was Miss Margaret Wood. A sign was erected remembering the Rabbit Bluff School District -if anyone can take a photo, and send it in, much appreciated.
- STUMP LAKE school district 4987 was located on the north east quarter of section 7 township 53 range 4 west of the 3rd meridian and the schoolhouse erected in 1933. The first teacher was Mrs Thor Johnson in 1934. The school closed June 1962, and were thereafter bussed into Canwood.
The Broadview pioneer cairn erected with the Broadview School bell sitting atop.
- BRADLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT 4324 came together in 1920, erected a red brick schoolhouse on the south east quarter of section 28 township 17 range 6 west of the 2nd meridian. The school was open between November 1920 and June 1961.
- BROADVIEW SCHOOL #5 went up in 1883, and a new larger two room school was needed by 1893. The third Broadview school was erected in 1907.
- CLIFTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 278 organised in 1894, and the schoolhouse was constructed on the north east corner of section 22, township 16, range 4 west of the 2nd meridian. The Broadview Pioneer History Society mention that this frame schoolhouse was destroyed by a cyclone in 1900, and a new stone and masonry schoolhouse was constructed in its stead. The last teacher served in 1955.
- EDEWOOD SCHOOL 272 also organised in 1893, and school classes commenced that same year. A new school was built more centrally to the school district on the south part of south west quarter of section 14 township 16 range [not mentioned] west of the 2nd meridian. The location of the first schoolhouse is not given. The second school closed at the end of the school term, 1959
- ELCAPO SCHOOL DISTRICT 3013 came together in 1913, and built the schoolhouse on the north east quarter of section 21 township 17 range 5 west of the 2nd meridian. This school was taken by fire in 1916, and a new school was built 1/2 mile west of the original school yard site. Students were conveyed into Broadview in 1959 when ELCAPO school closed down.
- HIGHLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT 437 organised the HIGHLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 437 N.W.T. in 1896, and the school district re-arranged its boundaries in 1917, and 1933. The schoolhouse went up on the north west quarter of section two township fifteen range 2. The original school became the Broadview Museum, and a new school ws erected on the south east quarter of section three, township fifteen, range five west of the second meridian. The second school was operational 1938-1959.
- HILLESDEN-----WEEDHILLS SCHOOL DISTRICT 77 held their first organisational meeting in 1886. The original school district encompassed township 15 range 6, with the school building constructed on south west quarter of section 22 township 15 range 6 west of the 2nd meridian. The school name changed from WEED HILLS SCHOOL DISTRICT 77 to HILLESDEN SCHOOL DISTRICT 77 on April 24, 1923. A new school building was needed by 1930, however such was not constructed until 1947 on the north west quarter of section 16 township 15 range 6 west of the 2 meridian. When the school closed in 1964, pupils went along to Windthorst or Broadview by schoolbus. (Note both spellings are given in this book; WEEDHILLS and WEED HILLS )
- KINGSLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT 3916 established itself in 1912, and with subsequent meetings, the schoolhouse was erected in the Pipestone valley with the first classes held in May of 1918. KINGSLEY closed its doors in 1959.
- MEADOW LEA SCHOOL DISTRICT 55 held their first meeting 1886. The location of the first school was one mile south of the site chosen for the second school erected in 1909/1910. The first teacher, Miss Lucas started in 1887, and the final year saw Leo Dupont as teacher in 1959.
- LOGWOOD SCHOOL DISTRICT 4924 held their first meeting in the spring of 1931. The schoolhouse site was section 10 township 17 range 4. The first teacher was Miss Hilda Boyer in September of 1931. This school also closed their doors in 1959.
- NEWBORGER SCHOOL DISTRICT 2657 held their first meeting in 1910, the school site chosen was the south east 5 corner of section 1 township 16 range 4 west of the second meridian. When the family of Alf Friday left the school district name changed from FIDAY'S SCHOOL DISTRICT to NEWBORGER SCHOOL DISTRICT 2657. The school district boundaries changed in 1920 and 1928.
- NORTHWOOD SCHOOL DISTRICT 2988 became established in 1913, and the school opened in the spring of 1914 on land acquired from Mr. Singular. NORTHWOOD range the school bell the last time in June of 1965 as local pupils bused into town.
- OAKSHELA SCHOOL built in 1909, and the first teacher was Mr. Towel who held classes in a local shack. By 1912, Oakshela had a new school house built. This first school referred to as the "old School" was operational until 1920 when it was moved to the present school yard, and sold in the 1940s. The second school was operational for a few years before a new consolidated school building was built.
- PERCIVAL SCHOOL DISTRICT 2101 came together in 1908, with the schoolhouse erected on the north west section 19 township 16 range 3 west of the 2nd meridian. The first teacher was Mary Shepherd, in the fall of 1908, and the final classes closed the doors in June of 1965.
- RIVER AYR SCHOOL DISTRICT 534 came together in 1889 sending in their petition for a school, and the schoolhouse went up on the north west quarter of section 6 township 16 range 4. In 1908 the boundaries were altered, and in 1936, the school changed names from RIVER AIR to RIVER AYR following two letters of 1916 and 1934 to the Department of Education (now the Ministry of Education). RIVER AYR remained in use until 1958, when the schoolhouse was sold and moved offsite.
- SPRING LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 153 held their inaugural meeting in 1889. The site approved was the south west corner of the south east quarter section 3 township 16 range 5 west of the 2 meridian. In 1915 the school relocated to the south west corner of the south east quarter of section 3 township 16 range 5 west of the 2 meridian, near the site of the original school. School district boundaries were altered in 1920, and the schoolhouse went up in flames the following years. A new building went up to replace it operating until 1959, when the building became the community hall.
- WEED CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT schoolhouse was built on the north east quarter of section 20 township 16 range 5 in 1920. Classes began the next year under Dorothy Petchell.
- BROADVIEW SCHOOL UNIT NO 18 was a consolidated school building erected in 1946, first as BROADVIEW SCHOOL DIVISION NO 18, changing names to BROADVIEW SCHOOL UNIT NO 18 in 1979.
- BRADLEY SCHOOL opened November 20, 1921 according to Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Taube and family.
Furrows in Time. A History of Balcarres and District Compiled and published by Balcarres History Book Committee, 1987. FOCUS Publishing. Regina, SK. ISBN 0-919781-37-3. Page 53-82.
Between Long Lake and Last Mountain. Bulyea, Duval, Strasbourg. Compiled and published by Strasbourg, Bulyea, Duval History book Committee. 1982. Friesen Printers, MB. ISBN 0-88925-232-7. Page 23.
- BALCARRES SCHOOL DISTRICT 87 held their first classes in 1887 in a log homestead shack. By 1891 the school district boundaries expanded to include more pupils and a frame schoolhouse was erected on South east Section 12 township 21 range 12 west of the 2nd meridian. This site was one mile south of Balcarres. Miss Kate Gillespie (Mrs. Motherwell) was the first teacher. By 1905 this first one room schoolhouse was sold to allow for construction of a two room brick schoolhouse in Balcarres next door to the church. This two room schoolhouse lasted until 1911 when a new three room brick schoolhouse was required. In 1950, another two room sddition was required, and in 1952, another building was allocated for grades 5 and 6. In 1964 Balcarres was established as a Consolidated school. To preserve the original heritage, the 1911 school was demolished, and using the schoolhouse bricks, a replica was constructed on the old schoolhouse site in 1980.
- SALTOUN SCHOOL DISTRICT 40 was firstly named BONNYCASTLE SCHOOL, and classes were held in a log house as early as 1886. This first class was located in section 11 township 20 range 12. The first teacher was E.A. Partridge. By 1896 a new school was required, and a new brick building was raised on the north east of section 14. About 1909 was when the name changed from BONNYCASTLE to SALTOUN. The hamlet of SALTOUN had disappeared with the railroad route through Balcarres and Abernethy. At this time, the school district changed and BELLE PLAIN (later TIPPERARY) and PLEASANT VALLEY received lands on the far side of the rail tracks. In 1917, a new site (South west section 23 township 20 range 12) and new schoolhouse were needed. By 1964 students were bussed to the Consolidated School located in Balcarres.
- VIOLETTE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1819 was established in 1907, and the school district forming the next year. They erected the school of stone, and named it ROBSON SCHOOL. In 1912, the school changed names to VIOLETTE SCHOOL. By 1964, the students of VIOLETTE were attending the Consolidated School in Balcarres, and the doors at VIOLETTE were closed.
- TIPPERARY SCHOOL DISTRICT 2008 came together to hold their first meeting in 1908. The school site selected was the corner of section 36 township 19 range 12 west of the 2nd meridian. The schoolhouse was finished by 1909, and the school opened under the name of BELLE PLAIN with Miss Nellie Edwards as teacher. In 1915, the Village of Belle Plain built a schoolhouse in town, and the Department of Education requested that the rural school forsake the name of Belle Plain for the village school. The rural school became known as TIPPERARY after this time. t=In 1964, Balcarres and Abernethy and rural schools consolidated, and the pupils of TIPPERARY were bussed into town.
- MOUNT VICTORY SCHOOL DISTRICT 2209 was started in 1908, and the building finished in 1910. In 1951, this first school was relocated into Balcarres to become a church hall, and a new school was constructed. MT VICTORY school closed in 1964 after consolidation with Balcarres and Abernethy.
- REDROWS SCHOOL DISTRICT 3038 formed in 1913, and the schoolhouse went up on south east section 4 township 21 range 12 west of the 2nd meridian. In 1914 Miss Ruston was the first teacher, and Ruth Wallace the final teacher when the school was closed in 1959.
- DETER LAKE SCHOOL 4025 held their first meetings as early as 1918, a school site at north west section 1 townshp23 range 12. The school opened to classes in 1920 under R.L. Penny, and the last classes were held in 1964 with Mrs. Janet Keisig.
- CRANESHILL SCHOOL DISTRICT 4524 began organising meetings in 1922. In 1923, the CRANESHILL SCHOOL DISTRICT 4524 officially was erected, and completed by 1924. The first classes were held in an old home in 1923 which had been relocated to the school yard on north west section 5 township 22 range 12 west of the 2nd meridian. This first school was sold, and the schoolhouse was finished on the south east corner of north east section 8 township 22 range 12. CRANESHILL school was closed in 1964 when the consolidated schools were established.
Through the years... Delisle Donavon Gledhow and O'Malley Laura Swanson Compiled and published by Delisle Women's Institute. Book Committee. 1972.
- BEULAH SCHOOL DISTRICT 4427 saw residents coming together in 1921 to form a school district. The school site was the south east corner of section 25, although the south west corner of section 30 was also offered for a school location. In the summer of 1921, the schoolhouse was built, and the first teacher was Mrs. Jean MacKay that fall. BEULAH closed in 1960, was sold, and became a home.
- BULYEA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1215 began erected their school building in 1913 on the south west quarter of section 27 township 23 range 21. The exterior of the building was tin, and earned the school a moniker of "tin school", however the school opened under the name VIOLA. While the school was under construction, classes commenced in the town hall building. In 1918, the school name changed from VIOLA to BULYEA. The following year, a brick two story school was built, and again town hall was used for overflow classes until the new building was ready. In 1923 both the one room and the two room school buildings were being utilised. When the two room schoolhouse succumbed to flames, the town hall was again used for classrooms, while a new two room brick schoolhouse was raised. The old THORNLIFFE schoolhouse was added for classes supplementing the "tin school" and the two room brick school in 1955.
- BUTTERTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 3729 petitioned for a school district in 1916, building a schoolhouse on south east section 15 township 24 range 20 opening in the summer of 1917 under Mrs. Elizabeth Hall. In 1956, BUTTERTON became amalgamated into the Cupar School Unit No. 28, and pupils were conveyed to the Bryn Mawr Consolidated School. In 1968, pupils from the area became part of the Govan School Unit No. 29, and students were thenceforth bussed to Strasbourg School.
- DAISY BANK SCHOOL DISTRICT 2180 sent in their petition in 1906. In 1908, a site at the north east quarter of section 8 township 26 range 20 and built a schoolhouse thereupon. A new school was needed by 1947, and the new building was erected on the north west corner of section 8, and the old schoolhouse on the north east corner was sold. In 1958, DAISY BANK school was moved into Duval and became part of Govan School Unit No. 29.
- DUVAL SCHOOL DISTRICT 2864 petitioned the Department of Education (now the Ministry of Education) in 1912. The first meeting was held in 1913, and classe were held at the town hall Under Mis Theresa Goodwin. It wasn't until 1917 at another ratepayer's meeting that it was decided to form a consolidated school unit, and the church site land was purchased for a two room school in town.
- EAST MOUNT SCHOOL DISTRICT 1715 sent in a petition for MOUNTAIN VIEW school in 1906. The school building went up the following year on the north west corner of section 33 township 24 range 20, and the school name changed to EAST MOUNT SCHOOL for the schoolhouse. EAST MOUNT was incorporated into BRYN MAWR school in 1955.
- EDDY SCOOL DISTRICT 1846 was formed in 1907, and the schoolhouse opened in 1908 on the north west corner of south east section 12 township 24 range 21. In 1922 a new school was needed and the old one was sold. The new site was located one and a half miles south of the first school yard. Between 1936 and 1943, EDDY SCHOOL closed, operating thereafter for 14 years before closing its doors finally in 1957.
- EDELAUE SCHOOL DISTRICT 824 asked for the formation of a school district in 1903. Following a school meeting, the schoolhouse was built on the north west corner of the north east section of section 10 township 24 range 22. The school opened for classes in the spring of 1903 under John Howse. A couple of years later flames took the first schoolhouse, and classes were held in a settler's home until a new stone school building could be constructed. In 1929, a new school building was needed, and the old stone school building was purchased and torn down and the materials re-used in building a home, however the school bell and belfry were retained for the new school. By 1944 the school closed and children attended school in Strasbourg or Pengarth. The EDALAUE school house was moved into Govan.
- EDENKILLIE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2022 was located on the north east corner of section 22 township 23 range 23, and opened in 1908. The school served the area until 1960, when pupils were bussed into Strasbourg.
- HAVENLOCK SCHOOL DISTRICT 2525 was erected on the south west quarter of section 19 township 25 range 19 in 1910. Larger schools were SERATH RIDGE and BRYN MAWR in the later years, and families started to send their children there for their education. When BRYN MAWR closed, then students went into Strasbourg and Earl Grey.
- LAKE CENTRE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1464 was built on the north east quarter of section 31 township 24 range 23 in 1906 under Miss Evans. In 1924 a new foundation was built for the school, and the old building was raised, put on rollers and moved to the new foundation. In 1946 LAKE CENTRE became part of Govan school Unit, but it wasn't until 1955 that LAKE CENTRE closed and students went to Strasbourg by bus.
- LAKESIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2336 sent in petition for a school to be built on the south west quarter of section 29 township 25 range 23 and was completed in the spring of 1910 opening for classes under Miss Mary Mutch. In 1917, a new brick school building was constructed. LAKE CENTRE closed for five years between 1934-1939. In 1959 LAKE CENTRE closed and pupils were sent off to school in Duval.
- MARIETON SCHOOL DISTRICT 513 sent in their petition to the Department of Education in 1899. The first classes of MARIETON PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT 513 of the N.W. TERRITORIES were held in a rented settler's home. With more pioneers arriving, a schoolhouse was erected on the north east corner of the south east quarter section 35 township 22 range 23 in 1902. In the fall of 1903, the new school building was ready for classes. In 1926, new frame one room schoolhouse was built just 150 yards north of the first school building. In 1948, the doors of MARIETON closed, and students were taken to SPRAYVILLE (GIBBS) in 1952. The MARIETON schoolhouse was moved to the GIBBS school yard to serve as an extra classroom. When GIBBS closed, pupils went into Bulyea and Strasbourg for school.
- MIDWAY SCHOOL DISTRICT 2294 held their meeting in 1909 and the school site allocated for the schoolhouse was the south east corner of the south west quarter of section 6 township 25 range 22. Classes began in the fall of 1909 under Anne Irving Wright. The school was closed in 1957, pupils conveyed into Strasbourg.
- MOUNT HILL SCHOOL DISTRICT 4439 was erected on the south east quarter of section 35 township 24 range 21 west of the second meridian, and at the time of this local history book, the schoolhouse was still standing, Strasbourg locates two miles south and five miles west. The inaugural meeting was held in the spring of 1921, and the first teacher was Miss Violet Cleverly. The school closed in 1953..
- MOUNTAIN CHASE SCHOOL 1373 held their organisational meeting in the spring of 1905. The schoolhouse was erected o the north east section of quarter 29 township 25 range 20 a move was required in 1910 to relocate the building to the north west quarter of section 21 township 25 range 20 to be more centrally located for all students. This schoolhouse went up in flames in 1931, and students resumed classes in the Grain Growers Hall, until the new school was built that summer. The school closed for six years in between 1948-1953, with the school closing finally in 1962, and children attended school in Strasbourg.
- PENGARTH SCHOOL DISTRICT 1549 held their first meeting in 1906, and the school site donated was the south east quarter of section 28 township 23 range 2, and was reported to be a one storey frame building on stone footings. The first teacher was Annie Cameron for January 1907 classes. In 1926 a new frame building with basement was constructed, however this school was on the opposite corner of the quarter nearer the intersection of roads. The old schoolhouse was bought, moved off site and converted to a shed. In 1945 PENGARTH became a part of the Govan School Unit No 29, and it was in 1959 when students went to school in Strasbourg.
- PRINCE EDWARD SCHOOL DISTRICT 1625 organised in 1906, and the schoolhouse was built in 1907 on the south east quarter of section 15 township 25 range 22. The first teacher in the spring of 1907 was Miss Allen. In 1913, PRINCE EDWARD SCHOOL was moved to the south east quarter of section 14 township 25 range 22, to accommodate boundary changes when the Duval school opened. In 1917, pupils attended the consolidated school in Duval, PRINCE EDWARD SCHOOL house was sold and converted into a home.
- RAVINESIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1336 residents came together in 1912 to form a school. School opened in September of 1913 under Miss Mabel McDonald on the north west corner of the north west quarter of section 9f township 24 range 23. The school closed in 1933 for ten years, re-opening in 1943, continuing on until 1962 when students travelled to Strasbourg for classes.
- SOUTHCOTE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1967 decided to form a school district in 1908. The site proposed was the south east corner of the south east quarter of section 14 township 24 range 23. First classes were held in 1908 under Laura Maude Craig. The school was moved within the school yard in 1928 and re-modelled. Classes came to an end in 1956 at SOUTHCOTE.
- SPRAYVILLE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1520 decided to hold their first meeting in 1905. The schoolhouse went up on the south east corner of the north east quarter of section 20 township 22 range 21. A second classroom was annexed to the school in 1929. In 1952, the MARIETON school was moved to the school yard for a third class room. SPRAYVILLE closed its doors in 1965, children attended school in Bulyea, and secondary classes were held in Strasbourg.
- STONEY CROFT SCHOOL DISTRICT 1746 came together at the end of 1906 for a community school. The original school house erected came to be known as BELLVIEW before changing names to STONEY CROFT SCHOOL. The school was built on the south east quarter of section 2 township 23 range 22, and Miss Jean Ross opened the school in 1908. The school closed for three years between 1912-1915. Pupils were bused to the school in Gibbs in the fall of 1952.
- STRASBOURG SCHOOL DISTRICT 1542 settlers at the Strasbourg Station petitioned in 1905 for a school district. Land was donated for the school site centrally located between the north west and south west quarters of section 25 township 24 range 22. The first school built in 1906 opened under J.A. Howse. The town of Strasbourg locates on the south west quarter of section 25 township 24 range 22 west of the second meridian. By 1910, a four room school was erected, and in 1920 more room was needed, and they leased the church to provide more classrooms. In 1955 STRASBOURGH became part of the Govan School Unit No. 29.
- STRASSBURG [sic] / LAST MOUNTAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISRICT 92 held their first meeting in 1887, starting out as STRASSBURG PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 92 OF THE NORTH-WEST TERRITORIES. The log school house went up on the south west quarter of section 22 township 24 range 21. J.B.E. Wenecke is listed as a teacher starting in 1888. In 1900 a new site was needed for a school, though there are no records of when the first school went up in flames. The mud school was built on the south west corner of of the south east quarter of section 21 township 24 range 21 nicknamed "THE OLD MUD SCHOOL". By 1914, it was agreed that a new school was needed, the third school was erected on the intersection of north east corner and the south east corner of section 21 township 24 range 21, the school trustees were requested to change the name at this time as there was a STRASSBURG STATION SCHOOL DISTRICT NO 1542, so STRASSBURG PROTESTANT PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT 92 changed their names to LAST MOUNTAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT 92. Boundary changes were made in 1921 to accommodate the formation of MOUNT HILL SCHOOL DISTRICT 4439 and BEULAH SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 4427. LAST MOUNTAIN VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT 92 closed in 1958.
- THORNCLIFFE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4183 area residents came together in 1918 for a meeting. A school was erected on the north west corner of the north west quarter of section 11 township 22 range 22. Rhoda Hewitt was the first teacher in 1919. In 1952 the las classes were held, and students were conveyed into Bulyea. Three years later THORNCLI8FFE school house was moved into Bulyea as an additional classroom.
- UNEEDA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1505 filed a record requesting a school district in 1906. The name proposed was MOUNTAINVIEW, and a schoolhouse was built on donated land at the north east quarter of township 23 range 21. Classes opened under Mr. Quigley probably in the spring of 1908. UNEEDA closed in 1945, and the school moved into Strasbourg for use as a church.
- VIOLA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1215 a field stone school house was erected on the south west corner of the south east quarter of section 29 township 23 range 21 in 1905. This site was one mile west of the town of Bulyea to be centrally located for pupils. Jack Howse was the first teacher in about 1906. YUNGHILL SCHOOL and the new school in Bulyea took classes when VIOLA school closed in 1913.
- YUNGHILL SCHOOL DISTRICT 2858 was a frame school constructed in 1912 on the south east corner of the north east quarter of section 25 township 23 range 22. Classes opened under Miss Toland in 1913. In 1959 the school closed, was sold and converted for grain storage.
After the Dust. A history of Leoville and Community. Leoville, LaVenture, Ranger, Junor, Penn, Chitek Lake, Pelican Reserve, Spruce Creek, Timberland, Timberlost, Capasin. Compiled and published by Leoville Historic Committee. Turner - Warwick Printers Ltd. North Battleford, SK. 1979.
- AVONDALE SCHOOL DISTRICT 954 was erected on the south east quarter of section 9 township 35 range 9 in 1904. The community needed a new school in 1925, and the old was sold to be used as a church. The school closed its doors in 1953.
- DELISLE SCHOOL erected their two room schoolhouse in 1910, before this, classes were held in settlers houses and renting halls. The first school name decided upon was FRANKA DISTRICT 2471, the name of Delisle was already used south of town for their school, in 1913 and in 1920 two rooms were added to make a six room schoolhouse. In 1945 Saskaoton (West) school unit 42 formed. In 1972 the old school was torn down, and a new composite school erected.
- "OLD DELISLE" SCHOOL DISTRICT 1805 held their first meeting in 1907, and the school opened in 1907. The school building was on the south east quarter of section 2 township 34 range 9, it was situated on the south east quarter section 3 township 34 range 9 in 1914, and in 1922 the schoolhouse was on the north west quarter of section 26 township 33 range 9. Classes ended in 1934, When the school was torn down in 1951 the lumber was used to construct DELMAY school.
- DELMAY SCHOOL DISTRICT 1803 was constructed on the north west quarter of section 23 township 33 range 9 west of the third meridian. DELAMY served the pupils of the "OLD DELISLE" school district and the MAYNARD school district. The doors closed in 1961, in 1964, the schoolhouse was sold, and remodelled into a home in the town of Delisle.
- GRAND PLAINS SCHOOL DISTRICT 923 held a meeting to organise a school district in 1903. The schoolhouse was located on the north east quarter of section 4 township 34 range 8 west of the third meridian. The school closed in 1937 and dismantled.
- LINCOLN SCHOOL DISTRICT 1569 was erected 6 miles south and 5 miles east of Delisle's location in 1907. In 1908, when the rails came through the "Goose Lake country" as this area was called, the settlement arising as Delisle moved their buildings south to be closer to the rail line. LINCOLN and FRONTENAC school districts merged in 1942. In 1943 LINCOLN school house was torn down.
- NELSON SCHOOL DISTRICT built in 1907, was located north west of Delisle. NELSON closed in 1945, the schoolhouse sold and renovated into a church.
- FEVERIL SCHOOL DISTRICT 551 was built in 1911, and the town of Delisle was about 6 miles to the south west. FEVERIL closed in 1948.
- RICH HILL SCHOOL DISTRICT 4177 opened in 1920, the town of Delisle was located 6 miles to the west and 1 miles to the south.
- SHELBY SCHOOL DISTRICT 2110 was erected on the north east quarter of section [not given] township 35 range 8 west of the third meridian in 1908. Classes ended around 1947, and the schoolhouse sold and used for a house.
- SPION KOPP SCHOOL DISTRICT 1127 was built in 1904-1905 on the north east quarter of section 14 township 34 range 9 west. Delisle was four miles to the east and one half mile to the north. The school closed its doors in 1951, the school was moved into Delisle to be used as a garage on the new school site.
- WOODLAWN SCHOOL DISTRICT 1114 was constructed in 1904 on the south east quarter of section 3 township 35 range 10 west of the third meridian. The school closed in 1960, the building sold, and was converted on site to a granary.
- BIRDVIEW FAIR SCHOOL ASSOCATION RURAL EDUCATIONAL ASSOCIATION NO 139 formed in 1919 to hold school fairs featuring spelling bees, parades, races, writing, music, fancywork, baking events were held alongside community picnics.
- BROOMFIELD SCHOOL DISTRICT 3148 was built in 1913-1914 on the south west quarter of section 31 township 32 range 7 west of the third meridian. In 1937 BROOMFIELD school closed, the building sold and re-used as a home.
- NORQUAY - DONAVON SCHOOL held their first classes in 1907 in a school house named NORQUAY situated one mile west of the Birdview Post office. In 1930, residents decided to build a new two room school house in Donavon for the burgeoning population. Till the school house was built, students attended NORQUAY, two and one half miles out of town, and the parish hall was rented for classes. The new schoolhouse in town opened under the name NORQUAY, but soon changed names to DONAVON to keep with the postal office and rail station naming. Similarly, the post office and rail station gave up the name Birdview and adopted the name Donavon.
- FRONTENAC SCHOOL DISTRICT 305 were built in 1911, and opened for classes in 1912 under Annie Amy. The location given was land donated by John Sandy. ROTENAC closed in 1961 until it was purchased in 1963, and remodelled into a home.
- MAYNARD SCHOOL DISTRICT 1709 was built in 1906, and the school closed at the end of the term in 1940.
- GRAND CENTRAL SCHOOL DISTRICT 10 opened under Miss Effie Anderson in 1912. Swanson was located approximately five miles to the south east and Donovan was located north east of the schoolhouse. The school burned dfown in 1925 and was re-built, and was still open in 1962.
- GLEDHOW SCHOOL DISTRICT 2039 went up in 1908 under Miss Bell. The school remained open until 1958, when the schoolhouse was sold and moved off the site.
- LAGOONA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1982 was erected in the O'Malley post office district in 1908. Mill Elliot was the first teacher. The school closed in the 1950s sometime, and the schoolhouse sold and moved away.
- LAURA SCHOOL DISTRICT had its beginnings as HELENA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1502 which was built in 1906. Mr. Haber Gordon was the first teacher in this first school. In 1909, the school was moved away from the first site which was on the north west side of the train tracks. In 1915 this first schoolhouse was sold and a new two room school was erected. CROOKFIELD schoolhouse moved onto the school yard site provided a third classroom in 1954. When the school closed in 1970, the CROOKFIELD school house was re-used as a granary, and the old LAURA school became a teacherage, then a house.
- POPLAR BLUFF SCHOOL DISTRICT 787 was erected on the north west quarter of section 25 township 32 range 10 west of the third meridian in 1912. Opening classes was Arthur Ellis. Later, a new school was required in 1929, and the new school went up on the north east quarter of section 35 township 32 range 10 west of the third meridian. The old school was sold and moved away becoming a church, and the new school remained open until 1943. POPLAR BLUFF schoolhouse moved to a school district outside of Harris to be used as a school there.
- CREEKFIELD SCHOOL DISTRICT 1163 was located on the north west quarter of section 10 township 34 range 10, south west of Delisle. The organisational meeting was held in 1904, and Miss Lena Peebles was the first teacher in 1905. CREEKFIELD remained open until 1952 when it was moved into the village of Laura. In 1969, the school building was sold, and is used as a granary.
- BAPAUME SCHOOL DISTRICT was erected on the south east quarter of section 13 township 31 range 8 in 1919. Miss McNiel had the first classes.
- IOLA SCHOOL DISTRICT 2947 settlers organised the school district in 1913, and the school house was built on the south east quarter of section 17 township 37 range 8 west of the third meridian. Miss M.E. Tweedie was the first teacher. IOLA closed around 1941 and the school house sold and moved away to become a home.
- KNIGHT SCHOOL DISTRICT 1756 was built on the south east quarter of section 35 township 31 range 9. In 1914, the school was moved into the village of Swanson becoming the first village school, in 1915 KNIGHT school was sold, and converted into a home.
- SWANSON SCHOOL began as KNIGHT school when that school house was moved into town in 1914. A new school was erected within the village of Swanson, however retained the name KNIGHT school until 1934. SWANSON school remained operational until 1964.
- RABBIT FOOT LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT was built around 1908-1909, and classes began under Mr. MacArthur. The schoolhouse was sold and became a church. The school location was on Jack Kerr's land.
Pioneer Ways and Bygone Days in the West Eagle Hills. Prongua, Battle River, Lindequist, Drummond Creek, Cleveland. Compiled and published by Prongua, Battle River and Lindequist History Book Committee. Printed by Turner Warwick Publications Ltd. North Battleford Saskatchewan. 1983.
- LEOVILLE SCHOOL DISTRICT held their first organisational meeting in 1931, and the first school house was built on the south east quarter of section 4 township 54 range 11 west of the third meridian. The first class was held under Miss Bertha Bonnet in 1932. The first school burned down in 1948-49, and the new school was under construction.
- LAVENTURE SCHOOL DISTRICT 5161 became later REGENT SCHOOL DSITRICT 5161. LAVENTURE held their first meeting in 1939. Ayotte Store was leased initially for classes. The site on the south east quarter of section 11 township 52 range 11 west of the third meridian was recommended for a school site. The school remained operational until 1958.
- RANGER CABIN SCHOOL DISTRICT 5029 "THE MESTAPESIS PLAIN SCHOOL" held their organisational meeting in the 1930s, the area was known as the "Big Bird" area or "Mestapesis Plain". The school site was the south west quarter of section 25 township 53 range 12 west of the third meridian. In 1935, a request was made to change the school name from MESTAPESIS PLAIN" TO RANGER SCHOOL DISTRICT, the name RANGER CABIN was decided upon between the school trustees and the Department of Education. In 1946, the school house was moved one mile to the west. A new school was built in 1949, and the old RANGER CABIN school house became a community hall.
- RANGER CABIN SCHOOL DISTRICT organised in 1932, and the school house was erected on the south west of section 27 township 53 range 12. The first teacher was Miss Peat in 1935. The school closed in 1965 and students conveyed to Leoville.
- PEARL SCHOOL DISTRICT was erected on the south west quarter of section 21 township 53 range 13. The first classes saw Miss Poitras as the teacher in 1933. The school remained open until 1967 when pupils went into Leoville for schooling. .
- EDWARD LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT started out under Eunice Anita Kealing in 1941 and closed in 196
- CHITEK LAKE SCHOOL was built in 1943 opening under a Mr. Moynihan. A new modern school was erected on the same school site in 1952.
- PELICAN LAKE SCHOOL opened classes under Mr. Mills in a log schoolhouse. A new frame school was built on the north east quarter of section 24 township 54 range 13 west of the third meridian in 1949.
- SPRUCE CREEK SCHOOL held their first meeting in 1935, resulting in a log schoolhouse erected that same year. A frame school opened in 1937, and closed in 1967.
- TIMBERLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT built their school in the north east quarter of section 17 township 54 range 10 west of the third meridian. The last recorded teacher was for the 1962 school term.
- CRESCENT RIDGE SCHOOL held their organisational meeting in 1934, by spring of 1935 the schoolhouse was completed opening under Miss Helen Martens.
Dysart and District Yesterday and Today Second Edition. Compiled and published by Dysart History Book Committee. Printed by Friesen's Corporation. History Book Division. Altona, Manitoba. 2010. ISBN 978-1-55383-268-3
- PRONGUA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1117 sent in their petition in the spring of 1904, and was soon followed with their first meeting. The Prongua one room school house was erected in 1905 on the north west corner of the south west quarter of section 26 township 43 range 18, and this area is known to local residents as the "old school corner". The schoolhouse was erected in the North West Territories before the province of Saskatchewan was formed September 1,1905. The school house was later moved to the south east quarter of section 33 township 43 range 18 west of the third meridian in 1924. This site in Prongua was used until 1954 when a new school was built. 1958 saw the students bussed into Battleford for education.
- BATTLE RIVER SCHOOL 585 went up in 1912, and classes began January 1913 under Miss Hirst. 1960 was the final school year before children went off to school in Battleford. The school was located on the north east corner of the north east quarter of section 9 township 44 range 18, south of the Battle River.
- LINDEQUIST SCHOOL DISTRICT 4562 residents came together in 1924 to plan for a new school. In 1924, a cottage" style school was erected on the north west corner of section 29 township 43 range 17 west of the third meridian. LINDEQUIST School closed in 1957, and the school was boarded up in 1958. The school was moved off to a new location after 1977.
- CLEVELAND SCHOOL DISTRICT 2076 was first settled by some of the Barr Colonists who did not make the full trek to Lloydminster. The CLEVELAND school site was established in 1908 south west of Battleford. CLEVELAND school closed.
- DRUMMOND CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT and the LOST HORSE CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT were two nearby schools mentioned in the book.
+ Dysart and District Yesterday and Today. Radant, Sambor, Kronsberg, Canterbury, Westlea, Gardiner, Parkland, McDonald Hills. Compiled and published by Dysart History Book Committee. Printed by Derksen Printers, Steinbach, Manitoba. 1982
- DYSART School operational 1982-1996
Reflections of the Past. History of Parkside and the Districts of Bygland, Cameo, Hilldrop, Honeywood, Ordale and Spruce Glen. Compiled and published by Parkside and District History Book Committee. c1991.
- CANTERBURY SCHOOL District 3345 held their first school meeting in the early summer of 1914. Mr. Frank Matthew became the first teacher at the school which is shown on them map in the south west corner of the south west quarter of section 17. CANTERBURY closed after the 1960 school term ended.
- DYSART SCHOOL DISTRICT 1449 was built on December 5, 1905 on the north east corner of the north east quarter of section 9 township 23 range 11.west of the second meridian according to the map. In 1917 a new two room school was built where the Dysart elementary school is located, the school had additions built on in 1927 and 1928. In 1960, a new school went up on the west side of Dysart.
- GARDINER SCHOOL DISTRICT 3428 came together in 1914 to establish their school district. The school opened in the spring of 1915 under John Axenty straddling the south west corner of the south west quarter of section 4 and the south east corner of the south east quarter of section 5 township [not given on map] range 15. Classes finished in 1960 at the one room school house. In 1962, the school land and school house were sold.
- MCDONALD HILLS SCHOOL DISTRICT 1646 sent in their school petition in the summer of 1906. The school house was erected that autumn on the sout heast corner of the north east quarter of section 33 township 24 range 15 west of the second meridian. The first teacher on record was Maud Taylor in 1908. In 1947 the one room school house building was sold, and a new school erected which was used until the end of the school year in June of 1960.
- PARKLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT 268 residents held their first meeting in January of 1893. PARKLAND school was a log school building on the north eastern quarter of section 20 township 22 range 14 west of the second meridian, and Mr. Ball was the first teacher. A new school was needed, and it was on a new site across the creek from the first school yard, the new site set at north east quarter of section 24 township 22 range 15 west of the second meridian. PARKLAND closed June 1960.
- RADANT SCHOOL DISTRICT 3474 organised in January of 1915, building a school house on the north west quarter of section 17 township 22. Miss Edith England began teaching June 1, 1915. This school served until 1950, when a new school was erected which remained open until 1960 when RADANT School closed. The school house was sold.
- SAMBOR SCHOOL DISTRICT came together to organize in 1914.The school remained open until 1960 about seven and a half miles north of Dysart. The map shows the location as the south west corner of the south west quarter section 1 township [not given] range 15.
- WESTLEA SCHOOL DISTRICT 4356 residents held their first meeting in February of 1918. The school site chosen was the north east quarter of section 33 township 24 range 14 west of the second meridian. Classes began in the spring of 1919. Before this time students had attended HEADLANDS school, some children living four to six miles away. School trustees met with councillors from the Kelross Rm No. 217 until it changed names to the Rural Municipality of Lipton No. 217 in 1920. The school house was opened in the spring of 1921 under Miss Whiteford following negotiations with the surrounding districts, MCDONALD HILLS and HEADLANDS. The final school year was 1960.
- PARKSIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1445. Parkside closed June of 1979, and the building was planned on November 7, 1905 at a school trustee meeting. By October 20, 1906, the school building was inspected and ready to open on 2 acres of Section [not given] Township 48 township range 4 west of the third meridian. The school opened under the name of IDYLWOOD SCHOOL DISTRICT 1445. The rail line came through in 1912 and the route chosen was Willis rather than Honeywood. Willis changed names to Parkside following the arrival of the rails. As of December 16, 1918, the school name changed to PARKSIDE SCHOOL IDSTRICT 1445, and a new school building was needed, a brick two room building was proposed for the new village school. New location not given. In 1926, the old school was moved onto the school yard of the new school to be used as an additional classroom. The school building was bought by the village and re-purposed as a senior citizen's centre and community hall under the name of Parkside Heritage Center. As a side note, the nearby place name of Willis at SW 28 48 4 W3 was incorporated as the Village of Parkside on February 21, 1913 with the coming of the railway.
- BYGLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT 3492. The community held meetings in 1914 for the formation of a school district. The Rural Municipality of Thompson was consulted, and Bygland School District set its boundaries, erecting the schoolhouse on the Sout hwest quarter of section 33 township 49 range 5 west of the third meridian. By 1918, classes were held in the new school, though the first teachers hired on were Mrs. Jessie Robertson and Mrs. J. Gaston in 1917. In 1950, Bygland closed, and for the 1951 school year, pupils bussed to Mistawasis. The school was sold and remodelled into a home at a new site. The nearest community was the hamlet of Ordale.
- CAMEO SCHOOL DISTRICT 2603. The Jack Pine Vally residents came together for a meeting held in the spring of 1910 and determined that the school building should be located on the South west corner of the south east quarter of section 28 township 49 range 4 west of the third meridian. As this was approved by the land owner, the JACK PINE SCHOOL building opened for classes April of 1911 under Miss Poppy for summer school. The Shell River school fairs were a huge success in the Jack Pine Valley region. In the fall of 1919, it was decided that a new school building was required, and by 1923 the new school was erected on the south west corner of the south east quarter of section 28 township 49 range 4 west of the third meridian. On January 7, 1959 in coincidence with the arrival of the railway, the school house name changed from JACK PINE VALLEY to CAMEO SCHOOL DISTRICT 2603. The school remained open until the end of April 1957, the last teacher being Miss Sonenburg and the school building was kept for community functions.
- HILLDROP SCHOOL DISTRICT 1348. In 1904, "a grant from Dominion Land was given tot he Saskatchewan Valley Land Co. Ltd. ...which included the SW 1/4 13-16-5 west of the 3rd meridian."(page 533) The community petition was sent to the Department of Education in February of 1905. In 1906, the school building was erected on the aforementioned legal land location, and the trustees received title to the land in 1912. Classes commenced in 1906 with Miss Mary Bird. Mrs. Alva Senum was the last school teacher in 1959. The school house was restored during the Celebrate Saskatchewan project for the provincial 75th anniversary in 1980 and has become a landmark on Highway 3.
- HONEYWOOD SCHOOL DISTRICT 1905-1953 located on north west quarter of section 32. township 47 range 4 west of the third meridian. Residents communicated with the Commissioner of Education in 1904 for the need of a school in the area. The first school building proposed was a log school in 1904, and money for improvements was requested in 1906 and 1907. The first records for classes in PARKSIDE SCHOOL were for the fall of 1907 under Miss Mary McCusker. A new frame school building was erected in 1916, and the school changed names from PARKSIDE to HONEYWOOD. As mentioned under the PARKSIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1445 entry, with the coming of the railway, the Parkside store and post office which were located across from the school at SE 6 48 4 W3 put them at a distance of four miles south and one mile west of the new railway. The store and post office moved away, the location astride the rail tracks became the new site for Parkside. The school remained where it was serving students in the rural area, and the school district region became known as HONEYWOOD. HONEYWOOD closed its doors in 1953 following the school year end in June, and students bussed into Parkside to attend the Shell Lake Larger School Unit a part of the Parkland School Division. The school building was sold for Pentecostal Church services and renovated.
- ORDALE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2233. 1912-1954. Ordale school building was located on the southern half of the south east quarter of section 17 township 49 range 5 west of the third meridian according to the school district map.
- SPRUCE GLEN SCHOOL 2911. 1914-1951.Spruce Glen school house located on the south east corner of the south west quarter of section 22 township 48 range 5 west of the third meridian opening April 1, 1914 under the tutelage of Helen Anderson. In January of 1952, students went into Parkside for classes, Beverly L. Nesland was the last teacher and Spruce Glen closed.
Cordwood and Courage 1911 - 1982 Paddockwood Beaton, Chesley, Chiefswood, Dorothy I-II, Elk Holme, Elkrange, Birchbark, Howard Creek, Melba, Moose Lake, Pine Valley, Surrey Compiled and published by Paddocwood and District History Book 1982. ISBN 0-88925-407-9. Friesen Printers. Altona, MB.
The village of Paddockwood locates at section 25 township 52 range 25 west of the second meridian and the village of Christopher Lake at township 52,53 range 26 west of the second meridian.*
A Century of History. Compiled and published by Elaine Virgin and Gail Shurgot.
- PADDOCKWOOD SCHOOL DISTRICT 3713. The first communication to the Department of Education was in 1915 to establish a school. ASHMORE School District 3713 school house was erected on the north west corner of section 23 township 52 range 25 in 1919. No teacher was found for that fall. In 1920 the school name changed to Paddockwood and opened. In 1949, a new school was erected in the village of Paddockwood. As the neighbouring one room schoolhouse closed, the pupils were bussed into Paddockwood.
- CHESLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT 4032 community held the firt meeting in 1920. The school was erected, it is thought to be on NW section 4 township 53 range 24, and by 1921 opened under Miss Olive Freeman. For the 1959-1960 school year the CHESLEY school house was moved to the PADDOCKWOOD school yard for another classroom.
- ELD RANGE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4416 sent a letter to the Department of Education in 1920. The schoolhouse was erected in 1923 in the north east section 11 township 52 range 26, and opened in March 1924 under Mrs. William Frost. The school Closed in 1955.
- MELBA SCHOOL DISTRICT 4654 held their first meetings in 1926, and the school opened in 1928 under Violet Fisher. In 1929, after the school district was enlarged, the school housed was moved to the south west corner of section 15. The school closed in 1958, and in 1959, pupils were conveyed to Paddockwood.
- DOROTHY SCHOOL DISTRICT 4565 began their organisational meetings in 1922. The school house was erected on the north west corner of the southwest quarter of section 23 township 53 range 25. Muriel C. Piercy was the first teacher in January of 1926. In 1942, the school closed. In 1947 DOROTHY SCHOOL DISTRICT #2 4565 made use of a vacant homesteaders home east of the first school yard located on the north east quarter of section 13 township 53 range 25. The school was moved into Paddockwood Village to be used as a teacherage, and pupils from both DOROTHY schools attended PADDOCKWOOD in 1953.
- ELKHOLME SCHOOL DISTRICT 4466 sent in their petition to the Department of Education in 1922. The school house site chosen was the south west corner of section 6 township 53 range 25, however it was not until 1931 that the school house was built. Miss Torrington was the first teacher. The school closed twenty years later, and the building moved to Christopher Lake and re-purposed as a teacherage. The pupils were conveyed into Christopher Lake in 1951 when the school closed its doors.
- HOWARD CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT 3143 came together in 1928 to form a school district. Meeting with the neighbouring school districts MELBA and SURREY, boundaries were allocated, for HOWARD CREEK, and the other two were re-organised. Miss Alma Young became the first teacher in 1931 after the school building was erected. HOWARD CREEK closed in 1957, and the school building was sold.
- SURREY SCHOOL DISTRICT 4693 sent in a letter in 1927 to the Department of Education, and they were incorporated that same year. The school building went up in 1931 on the north east quarter of section 4 township 52 range 23, and opened under Edith Buchanan in 1932. In the fall of the following year, the school building was moved to the south east quarter of section 8 township 52 range 23. The school closed in 1951.
- CHIEFSWOOD SCHOOL DISTRICT 5024 community members came together in 1931 in organising their school district. A log school house was constructed on the north west quarter of section 6 township 52 range 21, and classes opened under Miss Lamming. A new school was constructed near Foxford siding in 1935.
- BEATON SCHOOL DISTRICT 5049 sent in their petition in 1934. The school house was constructed on the south west quarter of section 25 township 53 range 26 and opened under Miss Odegard in 1935.
- MOOSE LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4930 requested a school district in 1931. That summer, the Department of Education recommended a schoolhouse be constructed of logs on the south east corner of the north east quarter of section 17 township 54 range 25. The next MOOSE LAKE school was erected on the south east quarter of section 16 township 54 range 25 in 1951, this schoolhouse was a portable school. The school opened in 1934 under Miss K.B. Lockhart. In 1961, the school closed, and pupils were conveyed to Paddockwood.
- PINE VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT 5060 cam together in 1933 to form a school district in their area. The first school house built of logs was erected in 1934 on the north east corner of the north west quarter of section 23 township 52 range 23. Classes began in 1935 under Margaret Rose Ross. A new school was erected some ten years later located one and a half miles west of the first site.
- BIRCHBARK SCHOOL DISTRICT 5167 residents wrote to the Department of Education in 1939 to form a school district. In 1940, a homesteaders home was purchased, and moved to the school site at north west section 18 township 52 range 22. Classes opened in 1941 under Mrs. Catherine Forest. BIRCHBARK school closed in 1956, and pupils went into Weirdale for classes.
- NORTHSIDE PUBLIC SCHOOL used an empty school house which was moved from the rural school yard into the hamlet of Northside for classes which commenced in 1951 under Mrs. Evelyn Miller. Classes continued until 1955, when the pupils were bussed to Christopher Lake. The school house similarly was moved into Christopher Lake and became a teacherage.
An "Opportunities for Youth" project. (Milligan Creek, Fishing Lake area) Near the place names of Sheho section 9-township 30-range 9-West of the 2nd meridian, Latitude - Longitude : 51º 35' 8'' N, 103º 12' 43'' W, Tuffnell 33-30-10-W2 51º 38' 33'' N, 103º 22' 17'' W, Foam Lake 32-30-11-W2 51º 38' 28'' N, 103º 32' 22'' W, Leslie, and West Bend 6-29-12-W2 51º 29' N, 103º 41' W 84 This book delves into the school trustee names and committee members.
- FISHING LAKE SCHOOL first teacher Mrs. Frank Stevens in a log school house about 1899/1901 teaching the pupils of the Fishing Lake Reserve.
- ASHDOWN SCHOOL DISTRICT 2382 was petitioned in 1909.ATHLONE SCHOOL DISTIRICT 1554 was established in 1906, and classes opened under Miss Myra Wilson the following year. ATHLONE closed in the 1950s
- BERTDALE SCHOOL DISTRICT 504 was petitioned in 1889 and the school house went up on the lake shore under the name of FOAM LAKE. Due to school district boundary changes, the school house was relocated to a more central location. In 1915, the name changed to BERTDALE, giving up the name of FOAM LAKE to the village school.
- BRIERMOUND SCHOOL DISTRICT 1273 first sent in a petition for a school district for the area requesting the name of SIMPSON.
- COLERAINE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4447 community came together in 1921, and a petition for a school was sent off for the HALLICH district.
- DUNLOP SCHOOL DISTRICT 1369 community members came together in 1905, and the school building was erected the following year.
- DEER CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT 1275 was petitioned for in 1912 under the name of WASILOFF school district.
- DUNROBIN SCHOOL DISTRICT 3110 was initiated in 1913.
- ECHO LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2108 community sent in their petition in 1908.
- EDMORE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2179 was petitioned in 1908, and the school opened in 1909, and closed in the 1960s
- FEDKOWICH SCHOOL DISTRICT 3164 came together in 1913, classes opened under Miss Sady Geinen, and the school closed briefly in 1922, to re-open and finally close in the 1950s
- FIREFLY SCHOOL DISTRICT 5098 opened in the spring of 1925 under Miss Myrtle Dock.
- FISHING LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 326 opened in 1894, and it burned to the ground in 1898 in a prairie fire. About 1901 it was rebuilt, however teachers were hard to find. In 1926 the school building was relocated into Edfield, and the school name was changed to EDFIELD.
- FOAM LAKE SCHOOL DISRICT 1885 had its first school house built under the name of ADAMSON SCHOOL DISTRICT. In 1907, a request was sent for a name change to FOAM LAKE or SOUTH FOAM LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT, as the school building was standing in the village of Foam Lake. IN 1908 a brick school house was built. In 1915 the rural school house named FOAM LAKE changed its name to BERTDALE, and ADAMSON SCHOOL DISTRICT became FOAM LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT in the village. In 1921, the school house was expanded, and in 1930 a five room school house was erected, making way for a composite school in 1944 which accepted students from the rural school districts, when their school houses were closed.
- FOSTI SCHOOL DISTRICT 1700 came together in 1906, and closed in the 1960s
- FOUNTAIN SCHOOL DISTRICT 237 organised in 1899, classes opened under the first teacher, Miss Daisy Hunter, and the school house closed in 1959.
- GILBERT SCHOOL DISTRICT 1707 came together in 1906 to petition for a school district, which was built the following year, opening with W. Vanderburg as the teacher
- HANSEN SCHOOL DISTRICT 1550 held its first classes under Grace Kramer.
- HAZEL SCHOOL DISTRICT 633 came together in 1912, who brought in Miss Jeannie Railt as the first teacher.
- HORSE LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1249 school trustees came together in 1905 to organized for a school district in the area.s
- KELVIN GROVE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2221 trustees proposed the name of SKALHOLT, however the name chosen by vote was KELVIN GROVE. The school building was erected in 1909, and the earliest school records account that Miss Annie Collins was the first teacher. In the 1950s, the school close
- KRASNEY SCHOOL DISTRICT 1121 was first formed in 1912.
- KRISTNESS SCHOOL DISTRICT 1267 was created in 1905, and opened for classes under T. Jackson.
- LADSTOCK SCHOOL DISTRICT 415 school committee came together in early 1905, and classes were first held in the Ladstock Hall while the community waited for the erection of a school building.
- LESLIE SCHOOL DISTRICT 445 community held their first meeting in 1910 and contemplated using the WEST SIDE SCHOOL building, however, it made the distance to travel to school to long for the pupils on the far side of the WEST SIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT, so it remained open. LESLIE school was built, and remained open until 1966.
- MALBY SCHOOL DISTRICT 1015 school building was built and originally named WONDERVILLE.
- MOUNT HECLA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1561 trustees met in 1906. A new school was needed in 1920, and classes continued until 1958.
- NEWBORN SCHOOL DISTRICT held their first meeting in 1907, and the first teacher at NEWBORN was Miss M. Hope
- OSLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT 4394 was created in 1921, taking pressure off of KRISTNESS, FISHING LAKE and FOAM LAKE schools which were becoming crowded. The OSLAND school remained open until 1958.
- QUILL VALLEY SCHOOL DISTRICT 996 sent in their petition for a school in 1904.
- RIVINGTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 2156 closed in the 1960s.
- RUNNYMEADE SCHOOL DISTRICT sent in their petition for a school district in 1917. The school was still open in 1963 having overcome many hurdles.
- SHEHO SCHOOL DISTRICT 953 organised in 1903, and the school building was erected in 1904. At the time of book publication, Sheho public school was still operational, however high school students went into Foam Lake for classes.
- STONEY VIEW SCHOOL DISTRICT 254 opened for classes under James McKnight.
- TUFFNELL SCHOOL DISTRICT 237 erected a high school, while FOUNTAIN SCHOOL DISTRICT 237 continued with the elementary school students. In 1937, school was taught at the hall, and in 1946, all pupils attended a new two room school at TUFFNELL.
- WEBSTER SCHOOL DISTRICT 227 community came together to organize a school district which was created, however the school building was never erected. The area was just to the west of Sheho Lake.
- WEST BEND SCHOOL DISTRICT 5181 petitioned for a school district in 1935 to take some overcrowding off of COLERAINE SCHOOL DISTRICT. Classes opened under William Kuprowski.
- WEST SIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT held their first meeting in 1905, the the first teacher hired on was Miss Thora Sigurdson. The school closed in 1961.
- WHITESAND SCHOOL DISTRICT 4333 petitioned for a school in 1920, however no school building was ever erected.
- WINTHORPE SCHOOL DISTRICT 277 held their first meeting in 1909, and the first school name put forward was McMURRAY. The classes began in 1915 under MIss Joan Hay..
- WOLKOWETZ SCHOOL DISTRICT 1730 school trustee meeting was held in 1906, and classes began in 1907.
The Past To The Present. Algrove, Archerwill, Barrier Lake, Bradgate, Dahlton, Echo Park, Everton, Felton Grove, Loring, Marneau Lake, Newgate Park, Nobleville, Nora, Port Arthur. Compiled by Archerwill and district historical society. 1984. Turner Warwick Publications Inc.
- ALGROVE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4977 erected 1931-1932 on the north east corner of the north east quarter of section 36 township 40 range 14 west of the 2nd meridian [location according to the map within the book] and opened in the spring of 1932. The school was disorganized in the end of the school term in 1971.
- ARCHERWILL SCHOOL DISTRICT 4639 Classes commenced in the spring of 1926 in temporary quarters utilizing a building on the main street in Archerwill. It was in 1926, that the first permanent school building was built on the present day school grounds. On the map it appears that the school may have been located on t5he south east corner of the south east quarter of section 18 township 40 range 13. This school became the consolidated school for the area, and as rural one room schoolhouses closed, pupils were bussed into Archerwill from Algrove, Bradgate, Barrier Lake, Dahlton, Echo Park, Everton, Felton Grove, Loring, Marneau Lake, Newgate Park, Nobleville, Nora, and Port Arthur. Echo Park one room schoolhouse and Marneau Lake's school house were both moved into town to provide extra classrooms for Archerwill School
- BARRIER LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4119 held their first meeting in 1918 establishing a school district with the intent to build a school house on the north west corner of the northwest quarter of section 14 township 39 range 15 which was raised in September of 1919. Miss Roly Muzzy (later mrs. Cowell) was the first teacher. Barrier Lake school closed 1966, and the second schoolhouse [built 1946] was sold and converted into a home the first school was moved into town as additional classrooms before being bought by the Coop. Barrier Lake School District formally disorganized in 1973.
- BRADGATE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4866 came together in 1928-1929. Mr. Massey taught over the first classes, in the Kelvinside School, a schoolhouse which had been moved from Kelvington to this area in 1930. Classes were held where the school house was bogged down in the spring muds outside the boundaries of the school district at about SE section 10 township 39 range 14 west of the 2nd meridian on the Budz quarter section. The building did not rest in the school yard until fall [the map seems to show the location at south east corner of the south east quarter section 22 township 39 range 14]. In 1958 Bradgate School District 4866 had a new school and the teacher listing continues until 1963. The school district disorganized following the school term of 1971.
- HIEMDAHL DAHLTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 394. In 1911 HEIMDAHL School District 394 was organized, and classes were held in a temporary location- a homesteader's home. The school location was the southeast corner of the north east quarter of section 15 township 40 range 15 west of the 2nd meridian. On February 1, 1946, the school changed names to DAHLTON school district 394. This same year HIEMDAHL-DAHLTON was included in the Wadena School Unit 46. In 1946, pupils were conveyed into Archerwill for schooling.
- ECHO PARK SCHOOL DISTRICT 4878 school house was erected on the north east corner of the northeast quarter of section 5 township 40 range 14. This school district was a part of the larger Wadena School Unit No. 46 in the 1945-1946 school year. In 1959 students were sent off to Archerwill for school, the schoolhouse was used as extra classrooms in Archerwill till it was sold and converted. Echo Park disorganized in 1971, and officially became part of Archerwill SD 46396
- EVERTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 4715 had their first classes under Miss Doris Misfeldt in 1927 in a log home located on the south east section 31 township 38 range 13 west of the second meridian. In the fall of 1933 the frame schoolhouse was erected one half mile north east of the log school house. Following classes ending June of 1959, pupils were conveyed into Archerwill.
- FELTON GROVE SCHOOL DISTRICT 5081 divided up land belonging to MARNEAU LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4845 and MAREAN LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4999 to accomodate children who could not access either of these schools due to a swamp on the one side, and the Red Deer River on the other side. FELTON GROVE was so situated between swamp and river for those pupils and families homesteading between these water ways. The first meeting was held in the winter of 1934, and the school was built in 1937 on the south east corner of the southeast quarter of section 29 township 40 range 12 west of the second meridian and lasted until it closed its doors in 1962.
- LORING SCHOOL DISTRICT 4513 was organised in 1923 for their first meeting, and classes commenced in the new school on the north east quarter of section 16 township 41 range 15 west of the second meridian in the winter of 1924. LORING remained open until June of 1959, and the school district disorganized in June of 1971.
- MARNEAU LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4845 was established in the winter of 1930, and disorganised in the spring of 1971. Classes commenced in 1931 under Annie Fernival Pierce, and Mrs. Gladys Irene Gaudreau held the last classes in 1953. The school was situated on the south east corner of the south west quarter of section 25 township 40 range 13 west of the second meridian according to the map.
- NEWGATE PARK SCHOOL DISTRICT 4866 school house opened in the fall of 1952 on the north east corner of section 19 township 39 range 14 west of the second meridian allowing the following three school districts, Newdale, Bradgate, and Echo Park to be divided shortening the distance pupils needed to travel. Classes ended in 1965. The schoolhouse was relocated into Rose Valley and re-purposed. Bradgate SD 4866 was the second school in the district.
- NOBLEFILLE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4894 opened in the fall of 1931 under Marie E. Corriveau. [Cannot ascertain school location from map in this case] NOBLEVILLE closed for classes in June of 1963, and students bussed into Archerwill. The school house was sold to a farm to be re-purposed as a granary.
- NORA SCHOOL DISTRICT 4615 was organised in April of 1925, and the frame schoolhouse was constructed within the hamlet of Nora. According to Canadian Geographical Names, Nora was located at section 20- township 39-range 13-West of the 2nd meridian Latitude - Longitude : 52ΒΊ 23' N, 103ΒΊ 50' W (decimal) : 52.3833327, -103.8338268. Classes were held until 1967, when the school closed, and students attended either Archerwill or Rose Valley. The school district disorganised in the spring of 1971.
- PORT ARTHUR SCHOOL 4191 schoolhouse was built on the southeast quarter of section 39 range 13 west of the second meridian in 1918. The map shows the land of George Olson who donated part of his farm land for the school to be in township 39. The school district included sections in both of township 39 (the north part) and township 40 (the southern portion). The first teacher appears to be Purdy Louden Johnstone in 1920, and the final classes were held in 1955. The school district was offically organised in the spring of 1919 with the Department of Education (now the Ministry of Education), and disorganised in the spring of 1971.
"Along the Old 29" Histories of Drummond Creek and Cleveland School Districts. Compiled by Drummond Creek and Cleveland History Book Committee. This book includes school and class photos, pupil and teacher lists, and school days history, as well as pioneer biographies.
CLEVELAND SCHOOL DISTRICT 2076 came together in a meeting in the spring of 1907 to assemble their petition for a school district. The schoolhouse was built on the north east quarter of section 36 township 42 range 18 West of the Third meridian ("about 12 miles south west of the historic town of Battleford") in the spring of 1909. Classes commenced under Miss Isabelle Gardiner, and a class listing is given for spring of 1910. Classes ended after the school term of 1957-1958. DRUMMOND CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT schoolhouse was organised January 11, 1909, and a petition put forward to the Department of Education. The school house was also built in 1909, on the south west corner of the south west quarter of section 5 township 43 range 18 on the correction line opening in July of 1910. In 1951, a new one room schoolhouse was built north of the old school, and the old school became then the teacherage. By 1956, DRUMMOND CREEK school accepted students from WILLOWVIEW school which had closed on the west side of the school district. A neighbouring school was FAIRYLAND SCHOOL which opened in 1917.
They Came from Many Lands. A History of Foam Lake and Area. Compiled by The Foam Lake Historical Society, 1985. Published by the Foam Lake Review, Foam lake, SK. This book includes school and class photos, pupil and teacher lists, and school days history, as well as pioneer biographies.
- ASHDOWN SCHOOL DISTRICT 2382 held their first meeting in the spring of 1909, and raised their school house on the southeast quarter of section 1 township 30 range 12 west of the second meridian. Classes started under C.P. Seeley, later principal of the Saskatoon teacher's college. ASHDOWN closed for classes in the spring of 1962.
- ATHLONE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1554 came together in May of 1906 to organise for their school district, and the school was built on the north east corner of the north west quarter of secton 2 township 29 range 12 west of the second meridian. Classes commenced in January 1907 under Miss Myra Wilson. In 1953, a new school house was erected in 1953 on a nearby site. In June of 1963 ATHLONE school closed.
- BANKEND SCHOOL DISTRICT 1425 formed their organisational committee in the spring of 1905. The land used for the school yard was a portion of section 18 township 29 range 13 west of the second meridian. Classes commenced in August of 1907.
- BRIARMOUND SCHOOL DISTRICT 1273 came together in the spring of 1904 to propose a new school district, and the school was erected on the north west corner of the northeast quarter of section 10 township 30 range 11 west of the second meridian. The first teacher was Samuel A. Wallace in June of 1907. The school closed in 1958.
- BERTDALE SCHOOL DISTRICT 504 pioneer committee gathered in the spring of 1899 for the purpose of submitting an application for a school district. The school went up on the north east quarter of section 36 township 31 range 12 west of the second meridian and opened under the name of FOAM LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 504. The first log school house soon became too small for classes and a frame school was erecteed on the south west corner of the south west quarter of section 5 township 32 range 11 west of the second meridian. Classes commenced that same year under Catherine Donald later Mrs. Milligan. On April 15, 1915, FOAM LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 504 changed names to BERTDALE SCHOOL DISTRICT 504, as the Foam Lake name was adopted for the school built in the town of Foam Lake.
- DEER CREEK SCHOOL DISTRICT 1275 petitioners built the school house in 1912 on the south east corner of the southeast quarter of section 5 township 29 range 9 west of the second meridian. The first classes started under nick Bilokrely. DEER CREEK closed in 1964.
- DUNLOP SCHOOL DISTRICT 1369 came together in March of 1905 to organise a school district, and the schoolhouse built in 1906 was situated on the southwest quarter of section 14 township 31 range 11 west of the second meridian. Classes opened under Mary J. Frazer on January 7, 1909. DUNLOP school closed its doors in 1959.
- ECHO LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2108 held their first meeting in the spring of 1908. The first teacher recorded is Jenny Armstrong in 1908.
- FISHING LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 326 held their first school meeting March of 1894, and following this a log school house was built on the north west quarter of section 6 township 33 range 11. This school succumbed to flames. A new building went up on the north west quarter of section 29 township 32 range 11 across the road from the first school house. The name Fishing Lake was requested by the Fishing Lake hamlet in 1938, and FISHING LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 5127 was the name of the new school building within the hamlet boundaries. At this time the rural school, FISHING LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 326 became known as EDFIELD SCHOOL DISTRICT 326. EDFIELD closed in 1958, and the school building was sold.
- EDMORE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2179 community built their school on the south west corner of the south west quarter of section 33 township 29 range 12 west of the second meridian. Classes opened under Percy L. Sandford in 1909. The last records appear to be for classes continuing until June of 1959.
- FISHING LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 5127 petitioners met in March of 1934 to erect a school within Fishing Lake hamlet. The school building was situated on the south west corner of the south west quarter of section 11 township 33 range 12 west of the second meridian in 1937. FISHING LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 5127 closed in 1959, and the building sold. The rural school FISHING LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 326 is listed above and changed their names to EDFIELD SCHOOL DISTRICT 326.
- ADAMSON SCHOOL DISTRICT 1885 came together in May of 1907 to form a school district. A site on the north west corner of the south west quarter of section 32 township 30 range 11 was chosen for the school which opened under the name of ADAMSON SCHOOL DISTRICT 1885 within the town of Foam Lake. ON March 17, 1915, the name of the town school changed to FOAM LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT, and the rural school under the name of FOAM LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 504 changed its name to BERTDALE SCHOOL DISTRICT 504 to accommodate the town school naming. ADAMSON SCHOOL DISTRICT 1885 now known as FOAM LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1885 entered into Foam Lake School Unit and soon became composite school for the area as the rural schools started to close their doors.
- FOUNTAIN SCHOOL DISTRICT 237 of the NWT held their organisation meeting in April of 1892. The first log school house was erected on the south east corner of section 27 township 30 range 10. This log school building burned down in 1904, and a new school house was erected south west of the first school yard, the new school went up on the wouth west corner of the north west quarter of section 21 township 30 range 10, known in the area as Borson's Hill. By 1937, FOUNTAIN SCHOOL was too small, and the hall in Tuffnell was rented for a second classroom. IN 1945, a two room school building was raised in Tuffnell, opening in 1946. FOUNTAIN school closed in 1946. The name of FOUNTAIN SCHOOL DISTRICT 237 changed to TUFFNELL SCHOOL DISTRICT 237 on January 24, 1947. TUFFNELL closed in 1965, and students were driven to Foam Lake for classes.
- HAMPSTEAD SCHOOL DISTRICT 2540 opened for classes in February of 1911 under Ivan Sanford. HAMPSTEAD was located on the north west quarter of section 11 township 29 range 11 west of the second meridian. Foam Lake was about nine miles to the south west of the school yard. HAMPSTEAD closed following the 1955-1956 school term in June.
- HAZEL SCHOOL DISTRICT 633 committee members came together in February of 1912. The school building was built on the south east corner of the south west quarter of section 3 township 29 range 11 west of the second meridian. HAZEL closed in October of 1962.
- HORSE LAKE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1249 of the North West Territories held their first meeting in April of 1905. A building was constructed on the south east quarter of section 15 township 28 range 12 west of the second meridian. The last teacher on record is for 1963. Following the school closure, HORSE LAKE school was moved into the town of Foam Lake and has served as library, museum, and Senior Citizen's Centre.
- KELVIN GROVE SCHOOL DISTRICT 2261 committee met in July of 1908. The school site chosen was the north east corner of the south east quarter of section 21 township 30 range 12 west of the second meridian. Foam Lake was located about five miles to the north east. KELVIN GROVE closed its doors in June of 1957.
- KRISTNES SCHOOL DISTRICT 1267 petitioners came together in July of 1904. The school building went up on the north west corner of the north west quarter of section 21 township 32 range 12 west of the second meridian under the name of AKRA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1267. Miss Thorstena S. Jackson held the first classes in August 1 1905. The school district received the name KRISTNES SCHOOL DISTRICT 1267 in 1907. OSLAND school opened nearby in 1921, and the school districts divided the student population. KRISTNES closed in 1959.
- LADSTOCK SCHOOL DISTRICT 415 was erected in 1911 on the center of a C.P.R. section of land. In a township, the C.P.R. lands were all odd number sections and the desiganted school district lands were sections 29 and 11. Sections 26 and 8 were Hudson Bay company lands, and the even number lands were available to homesteaders. The school lands could be sold by the community to raise money to build a school. Classes commenced under Miss Dowkes. LADSTOCK closed in 1965. LESLIE SCHOOL DISTRICT 445 ratepayers organised in the spring of 1910 to form a school district for the village of Leslie and surrounds. The petition stated the location for the school building was the south east quarter of section 36 township 31 range 13 west of the second meridian. Classes opened under Miss A.G. Jackson in 1912.
- WONDERVILLE SCHOOL DISTRICT 1015 was operational under this name 1905-1916, thence it became MALBY SCHOOL DISTRICT 1015 between February 21, 1916-1958. WONDERVILLE was the first title, and later the school forms show the spelling of WUNDERVILLE. They sent in their petition on October 24, 1903. MALBY school closed in June of 1958, and the school district disorganised in the spring of 1972.
- MOUNT HECLA SCHOOL DISTRICT 1561 settlers met in April of 1907 to form a school district. The first log school house was erected on the north east quarter of section 23 township 30 range 13. In 1921, a new school was erected in the school yard. MOUNT HECLA remained open until 1962 when students went by bus into Foam Lake.
- NEWBURN SCHOOL DISTRICT 1920 was formed in 1907 by homesteaders in the area. The first school house was replaced by a portable building in the 1940s. When NEWBURN closed, pupils went to Foam Lake and Sheho for classes.
- OSLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT 4394 ratepayers held their meeting in November of 1920, and the chosen school site was the north east corner of the south east quarter of section 22 township 32 range 12 west of the second meridian. Mrs. P.A. Hower opened classes in the fall of 1921. OSLAND closed following the 1956-1957 school year, and students were conveyed to Foam Lake.
- RIVINGTON SCHOOL DISTRICT 2156 settlers petitioned for a school in 1908. The records show the last teacher recorded was for the 1958-1959 school years.
- ROSE VALE SCHOOL DISTRICT 4163 held their first meeting in April of 1919. The school yard was located on two acres on the south east corner of the south east quarter of section 5 township 32 range 13, and the first teacher was Minnie Ireland in August of 1919. ROSE VALE closed on June 30, 1954.
- RUNNEYMEADE SCHOOL DISTRICT 3985 held their first meeting in December of 1916. The school Building was erected on the north east quarter of section 18 township 28 range 10 west of the second meridian. William Johnston Mather, was the first teacher in 1917. RUNNEYMEADE remained open until June of 1965.
- SHEHO SCHOOL DISTRICT 953 wrote for a school district in September of 1903. The building was to be erected in the town of Sheho on section 9 township 30 range 9 west of the second meridian upon Harold Street. In 1916, a new two room school was built on the east of town, and in 1928, a new four room brick school was needed. The 1954-1955 school year was the last year for the grades 6 to 8, these upper grades went into Foam Lake for school.
- SHEHO SCHOOL DISTRICT 217 residents met in February of 1892 to petition for a school district. The school site was a portion of Mrs. Caroline (Ruffertshofer) Powell's land. In 1903, four pupils went to FOUNTAIN SCHOOL, and the other family with three children relocated to Foam Lake. This meant there were no children attending this school house. By October 23, 1913, SHEHO SCHOOL DISTRICT 217 dissolved as there were no more children living within the school district boundaries.
- WALHALLA SCHOOL DISTRICT 2062 was first erected around 1908-1909 on the south west quarter of section 21 township 13 range 13. Classes opened under Miss Margaret Johnson. The next school yard was located one and a half miles south of the first school yard just off of highway 35. In 1936 this school house burned down. A new school was built the following spring.
- WEBSTER SCHOOL DISTRICT 227 held their first school meeting in March of 1892. The school building went up on the north west quarter of section 19 township 30 range 9 west of the second meridian, when the area was still a part of Assiniboia, North West Territories. There were no longer children in the area in 1909, and the WEBSTER school district was disorganised in August of 1913.
- WEST BEND SCHOOL DISRICT 5181 settlers came together when the village of West Bend formed in November of 1944. First classes were held in the hall under Mr. Bill Kuprowski until the school was completed. The first school in the rural area near the village of West Bend was GILBERT SCHOOL DISTRICT 177 built about 1905, and COLERAINE school district 4447 was also nearby. The school building at COLERAINE SCHOOL DISTRICT was moved to the west to more centrally situate itself to the rural children west of the village. In 1967 WEST BEND doors closed.
- WESTSIDE SCHOOL DISTRICT 124 arranged for their schoolhouse in the fall of 1905. The building went up on the south west corner of the south west quarter of section 29 township 31 range 12 west of the second meridian. When LESLIE SCHOOL DISTRICT opened in 1911, the school building was relocated to the south east corner of the southeast quarter of section 29 township 31 range 12 west of the second meridian which placed it on a hill overlooking Foam Lake. Classes at WESTSIDE closed following the 1956 school term.
Prairie Echoes. A History of Aspenshaw, Nolin (Hamlin), McMillan School Districts plus a small rural area north and adjacent to North Battleford, Saskatchewan Compiled by the Hamlin Community History Book Committee. 2009. ISBN 978-0-9864768-0-8. Ultra Print Services. North Battleford, SK. Note Chisholm Town was the original settled community predating North Battleford. This book includes school and class photos, pupil and teacher lists, and school days history, as well as pioneer biographies.
- ASPENSHAW SCHOOL DISTRICT 4745 sent in their petition for organisation on April 11, 1927. The school house was erected on the north west corner of the north west quarter of section 11 township 44 range 16 west of the third meridian. The school was closed in 1944 and the school house was moved to the MOUNT HOPE SCHOOL DISTRICT as a replacement for their school house which had succumbed to fire.
- McMILLAN SCHOOL DISTRICT 2527 (1910-1968) school house was erected on the north west corner of the north east quarter of section 22 township 45 range 17 west of the third meridian. A new school was needed in 1930, and the new school yard was the north east corner of the north west quarter of section 22 township 45 range 17 west of the third meridian.
- NOLIN SCHOOL DISTRICT 903 sent in their petition on July 27, 1903. A log school house was erected to the dividing line betwixt sections 17 and 18 on the south east corner of Jhn Hamilton's land In 1923-24 the school house was moved west away from Saskatchewan Highway 4. The building was sold and moved away in 1958. LAVIGNE SCHOOL house 2324 was moved to the north east quarter of section 9 township 48 range 18 west of the third meridian in the summer of '58 becoming the secong NOLIN school house. The last teacher record is for 1967. A four room school was built at Jackfish named ST. LEON, the rural one room school pupils from LAVIGNE, JACKFISH CREEK, NESS and ST MICHAEL were all bussed in to Jackfish for classes at ST. LEON.
From Bush to Grain. "A history of Albertville, Meath Park and District" Compiled by Meath Park History Committee. Brigdens Photo Graphics Ltd. Regina, Saskatchewan ISBN 0-919781-28-4.
Lumsden. The Hills of Home. A History of Lumsden and district as compiled by the Lumsden Homecoming '71 Book Committee. Printed by Estevan Mercury. Estevan, SK.
- ALBERTVILLE SCHOOL 3420 first teacher recorded was in 1915, a Mr. Joseph Olivier. In 1935, The Sisters of the Child Jesus taught in the new school between 1935-1960.
- EMILEBURY SCHOOL DISTRICT 3421 held their first meetings in 1915 for a school district. Miss Monbourquette taught the first classes after the school was completed in 1917. Before this Mrs. Desjardins held classes in her home. Between 1944 and 1955, the school was a two roomed school.
- MELBA SCHOOL DISTRICT was operational between 1928 and 1958, constructed on Eric Nerpen's homestead. Children were conveyed to Paddockwood for classes.
- RISING SUN SCHOOL DISTRICT 5252 proposed to erect a school on the north west corner of the north east quarter of Aurele Brulé's (Gaspar) land.
- JANOW SCHOOL DISTRICT 2842 pioneers came together in 1913 to make plans for a school district. In August of 1914, classes commenced in the new school under Nicholas Michasiw. The final classes were following the 1958 school year. JANOW SCHOOL was close to Meath Park originally known as Sucker Creek.
- MEATH PARK PUBLIC SCHOOL children attened SURREY SCHOOL before MEATH PARK SCHOOL was erected. The Presbyterian Church was rented in 1935 for classes. Classes opened in 1937 in a new one room school house under Nils Buchanan. By 1947 a new school was needed, and by 1948 a new four roomed school was built. In 1984, a new school was erected.
- LUMSDEN SCHOOL DISTRICT (1897-1971) classes commenced in a room above Binning's Store under Miss Rothwell (Mrs. Scott). The community pioneers held their first meeting in the spring of 1897, and this same summer a school school was built. A two room school was built in 1900 which needed two additional rooms in 1908. In 1916, a new one room cottage school was built to the north of the first school. The red brick school house burned in the summer of 1967.
- DUNDEE SCHOOL DISTRICT 3396 was erected on the south west corner of the south west quarter of section 30 township 20 range 21 west of the second meridian. The school was built in 1915 and closed in 1942. The school re-opened between 1955 to 1963. Following this, pupils were conveyed to Lumsden Schoool. The old DUNDEE school was sold and dismantled.
Thank you for stopping by # 33211
Web Page title: Footnotes.html
Copyright Web Publish Date: Tuesday, 29-Jul-2014 11:29:09 MDT All Rights Reserved
E-mail Webmaster ... Important Notice