Cambridgeshire - Wimpole

Wimpole Hall

WimpoleHall.jpg - 1927 Bytes

A spectacular country house in the Classical Style, largely built at a time when the great emphasis was placed on making a house and its setting look like a landscape painting by Claude Lorraine, Wimpole hall was built in several stages. The original house, now hidden behind a later facade was begun in 1640 for Sir Thomas Chichley. The house was extended between 1689 and 1710 for its then owner the Earl of Radnor, in 1710 he sold the house to the Duke of Newcastle who subsequently died a year later in 1711. The property passed to his daughter, Henrietta, on his death. Henrietta married Edward Harley, later Earl of Oxford, and he was responsible for futher changes in 1719-21 carried out by the architect James Gibbs, who added a library, a chapel and a front garden. The chapel walls and ceiling were painted by Sir James Thombill in 1724. From 1740 the house was in the Yorke family. Charles Yorke, first Earl of Hardwicke and Lord Chancellor, refaced the entrance; his architect was Henry Flitcroft, who carried out most of his work between 1742-45. Further work was undertaken by the architect Sir John Soane about 1793. The picturesque setting of the house was elaborated over the years by Sanderson Miller who built the ruin of a sham castle in the grounds about 1772, Lancelot 'Capability' Brown who, among other things, from 1767 to 1773, built serpentine fish ponds, and Humphrey Repton from 1801-9. The house was given to the National Trust in 1978 and is open to the public.

Follow this link to the Wimpole Hall site.

Follow the link to the
NationalTrust.gif - 16819 Bytes

Follow this link for an early photographic archive site for the Parish of Wimpole.

Return to Locations and Buildings page

Comments and Other Information

Last Updated on: 12 July 2000
For comments about this webpage, please email Martin Edwards.
©1999. EnglandGenWeb and WorldGenWeb Project.