Friskney Church History
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
- Portions of the structure date back to the Norman period.
- The church tower dates back to the 12th century.
- Much of the church was rebuilt in the 15th century.
- The parish church boasts a circa 1320 painting, now much faded and damanged by time, of The Last Supper.
- Traces have been found of the mooring posts near the north side of the church which were used by Fenmen to tie up their boats while attending church services.
- A clock was purchased for the tower in 1841.
- The church was restored in 1879.
- A photograph of the outside of the church is available from Geoff Bradley.
- Another photograph of the Anglican church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
- Here is a photo of the church, taken by (and copyright of) Norma Clare.
- Here are two photos of All Saints Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):
Last updated on 19-February-2007
Click here to send any questions and/or comments about this site to the Lincolnshire County Coordinator.
© 2007 EnglandGenWeb Project