History of Bibb County

Bibb County, Georgia was created in 1822 and named after William Wyatt Bibb (1781-1820).  
Bibb served as a member of the Georgia state house of representatives; a Senator from Georgia;  
Governor of Alabama Territory; Governor of Alabama.  Bibb County, AL is also named for him. 
The parent counties from which Bibb County was organized from were Jones, Monroe, Twiggs 
and Houston.  U.S. Census reports are available for this county from 1820 to 1930.  The county 
seat is Macon.

Historical Information: