Woolsey Baptist Church

115 Hampton Road, Fayetteville, GA (Address of original church)

242 Hampton Road, Fayetteville, GA 30215 (Address of new church)


Southern Baptist Church

Originally named Harmony Grove Baptist Church, changed to Woolsey Baptist in 1904.

Constituted August 26, 1888.

Presbytery - Elders T. S. Allen, W. N. Prichard, Harry Wells, I. G. Woolsey.

Charter Members - E. K. Fortson (Deacon), Miss Quilla Fortson, Alice McLean, Exor McLean, Mary A. McLean, Lewis McLean, Mollie McLean, L. E. Roberts, Mr. M. J. Roberts, Sallie Roberts, L. T. Roberts, Obediah Smith, Abigail Smith, Mrs. Sophia Smith, Mr. J. F. McLean (Deacon), Elder I. G. Woolsey (Deacon), Mrs. E. F. Fortson, Mrs. J. T. Lewis, J. T. Lewis, Mrs. A. F. Woolsey, I. G. Woolsey, Jr., Mrs. Jimmie Woolsey, Mrs. Martha E. Callaway.

Pastors - I. G. Woolsey, E. W. Hammond, Tom Brown, T. J. Bledsoe, Lemuel Hooten, R. F. Smith, W. H. Robinson, H. H. Hargrove, L. P. Glass, C. L. Foote, W. W. Arnold, J. W. Witherington, J. T. Widner, J. W. Clark, C. M. Claud, H. C. Johnson, T. W. Gilstrap, Wilson Walker, E. A. Daniel, Charles Rush, George Lewis, George Britt, Tom Scoggins, Eddie Gilstrap, Argin Floyd, Millard L. Jones, Cecil Dix, W. A. Moss, Olin D. Mullinax, Thad Persons, Lane Patrick, Ed Banks, Gary Hately.

View Transcription of Cemetery Burials

View Photos of Church & Cemetery

View Photos of Church

View WMU Meeting Minutes 1938

View Woolsey News 1946

View Personal Church Letter of L. C. McLean - 1923

GPS Coordinates - 332142N 0842448W Brooks

Fayette County Churches

Home Page

This Page was last updated on -01/31/2010

Compilation Copyright Linda Blum-Barton

 2010-Present - All Rights Reserved.