The Forsyth County Historical & Genealogical Society
was founded April 9, 1971 by a small group of county citizens. When the first year was up there were
101 Charter members and 17 Honorary members.

Corporation Info

The society published and sold the above booklet consisting of 16 pages plus the covers and the inside covers.  1100 copies were printed by Amon Corn Printing and Office Supplies and Publication Costs were sponsored by Bank of Cumming, Forsyth County Bank and Home Federal Savings and Loan.  Text by Don Shadburn. Illustrated by Raine McGarey. Prints of the original drawings in the booklet were sold separately by the artist.


Officers for the year 1972 - 73

Don Shadburn, President
Garland C. Bagley, Vice - President
Mrs. J. Dean Barrett, Historian
Betty Stiner, Records Researcher
Ann Rogers Ferguson, Secretary
Donna Parrish, Asst. Secretary
Raine McGarey, Treasurer
Miss Jenny Ferguson, Asst. Treasurer

Executive Members
Forest C. Wade (Author, Cry of the Eagle)
B. B. Wallace, (Ordinary)
Charles Westray (Artifacts & Antiques)

Attorney for the Society
John M. Shinall

Cherokee Countryman   December 1974  Includes History of Friendship Church



   This Page is part of the Forsyth County GA History and Records