Harris County, Georgia History

Harris County Courthouse (old maps, also)

Historical Marker

Harris County was created on December 14, 1827 from Troup and Muscogee counties. This was land that was originally distributed by the 1827 Land Lottery and later by the 1832 Land Lottery. The new county was named for Charles Harris, a distinguished Savannah lawyer who died about the time the county was established. He was thought by many to be the best lawyer in Georgia at that time.

The county seat of Harris County is Hamilton, which was incorporated on December 20, 1828. It is located one mile south of Pine Mountain. Hamilton may have been named for Alexander Hamilton, the first Secretary of the Treasury in Washington's cabinet. But another theory has it named for George W. Hamilton, a prominent South Carolinian, Other towns in Harris County are: Whitesville, Pine Mountain Valley, Pine Mountain, Cataula, Rehobeth, Mulberry Grove, Ridgeway, Waverly Hall, and Ellerslie. Harris County is also home to beautiful Callaway Gardens.

Superior Court and Probate records are available beginning in 1828. The 1841 tax list and some earlier tax records are available. Federal Census Records for Harris County are available for the years 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, and 1920.

This page was last updated Monday, 21-Oct-2013 16:16:23 MDT

If this web site has helped you with your research, please consider sharing your research with other researchers.
E-Mail it to and it will be posted as soon as possible.

This page is a free service to all Family Historians who are currently doing research in the Harris County, Georgia area. It is not intended for commercial use.
This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated in any way without consent. All rights reserved! Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited!

Return to Home Page

Many thanks to Barbara Smallwood Stock for her hard work on this site over the years! 

Copyright © 1998 to 2013 by The GAGenWeb Project Team
Copyright © October 2013 - 2014 by