Home GenWeb Boards Links Local Info Military Records Other Info Help... Search Site Map

Paulding New Era  May 8, 1884

Paulding New Era

8 May 1884

Transcribed by: 

Waldrop, W.C. appointed administer of Milton Waldrop estate.

Turner, Rober A filed will of Elias Busby.

Wigley, O.M. appointed administer of estate of John Wigley.

Turner, John H. appointed administer of Martin Shelton estate.

Matthews, Mrs. Terry baptized into Baptist Church by Rev. J.R. T. Brown.

Dale, W.R. will be ordained a minister at Baptist Church.

Mrecer L. Tatum, age 4 can answer 65 bible questions.  Son of James Tatum.

Quarterly Meeting of the Paulding County Sunday School Association. (note: I have condensed this article)  The Paulding county Sunday School Association met at Bethel Church, Saturday, May 3rd, 1884 the Rev. B.F. Payne, President, presiding.  The exercises were opened with a song, after which the reading of several passages of scripture and a talk on the object of the Association, by the President, and prayer by Rev. Miles Norton.  The Secretary begin absent, W.I. Fain was elected Secretary pro tem.  The calling of the several Sunday schools, their officers and delegates.  Present:  BETHEL -- Superintendent :S.P. Arnold;  Delegates: W.A. King, J.R. Ritch, J.B. Watson and J.H. McLarty.  (J.B. Dorris also Superintendent.  School has 105 scholars)  NEBO: W.J. Austin, Superintendent; Delegate W.A. Norton (6 officers & teachers, 70 scholars, one death).  FLINT HILL:  W.R. Lang, Superintendent, Delegates, some present (6 officers, 40 scholars, no deaths).  DALLAS:  W.K. Fielder, Superintendent, Delegates A.M. Parker, W.I. Fain, Mrs. Dr. S. Robertson and Mrs. Nannis Duncan; alternates Miss Nannie Roberts and Mrs. Emma George (13 officers and teachers, 130 scholars, 3 deaths).  NEW CANAAN:  W.A. Ragsdale, Superintendent, Delegates Stephen Parris, Joe Atchison and J.C. Williams, represented by W.P. Wigley, proxy (6 officers and teachers, 51 scholars).  NEW HOPE: H.S. Williams, Superintendent, Delegates J.J. Denson, John Phillips, Jackson Cooper, by W.P. Wigley, proxy (10 officers & teachers, 102 scholars).  MT. TABOR: J.R. Atchison, Superintendent.  Delegates, Dr. J.M.T. Smith (7 officers and teachers, 35 scholars).  GRANGE SCHOOL HOUSE: John Mize, Superintendent.  Delegates, B.H. Smith (scholars 75, A.E. Driskell Asst Superintendent, M.D. Coursey Secretary, A.M. Timmons, teacher bible class, Jane Marlow and Miss Alice Driskell female teachers.) SHADY GROVE: B.T. Drake, Superintendent.  Delegates S.E. Owen and N.S. Morris (total membership 54, B.S. Drake Secretary).  MT. MARIAN:  Thomas Thurman, Superintendent.  Delegates W.G. Crumpton and John Wilts (6 officers and teachers, 50 pupils).  POPLAR SPRINGS: John Rakestraw, Superintendent.  Delegates, W.R. Kyle and L.S. Bookout (Mary A. Phillips Secretary. 4 teachers, 48 students).

Thank you Rootsweb for hosting our website. 

If you have information that would benefit other researchers, please email to and it will be published on this website.

The information contained on this website is not intended for commercial use.
Unauthorized use of content in this website is strictly prohibited.

Georgia GenWeb Project, Paulding County Coordinator:
Georgia GenWeb Project State Coordinator:
©Copyright 2004 - 2008
Last updated: Monday, 19-Mar-2007 20:57:58 MDT