Peach County Historical Society
The McArthur-Saxon house is located on the corner of Miller Street and Central Avenue in the historic district of Fort Valley. The house was built originally around 1850 by Charles Zollicoffer McArthur with Victorian additions in the latter part of the century.
The house's wide heart pine flooring accented with simple wainscoting on the inside and the beautiful wrap-around porch on the outside make it a classic example of the eras it represents.
Mr. McArthur was born in 1863 and died in 1929. He was a graduate of the Atlanta Dental College, served on the State Board of Dental Examiners, and practiced in Fort Valley. He was also a farmer and peach grower.
His daughter and her husband, Mr. and Mrs. Saxon, later owned the home.
In 1987 the property was given to the historical society by Mrs. Ann S. Johnson and Mr. John Saxon in memory of their grandfather, Charles Zollicoffer McArthur. Over the years the external and interior renovations have been done through generous donations and fundraisers.
The restoration plans envision a multiple use facility. One room will be dedicated to a permanent display of Peach Festival memorabilia dating from the 1920's to the present. Another room will be available for varying community interests. Space will also be devoted to recognition of the contributions of Fort Valley State College and the black citizens of Peach County to our local heritage. Use of the facility will be rounded out by offices and meeting space fo the Historical Society as well as a caretaker's apartment.
# 6 on map
Pineola Farms, a Victorian style house, was built in the mid 1800's by the
Stephen E. Bassett family as their plantation home to manage the farm of several thousand acres. The Victorian trim work, porches and rooms at the rear of the house were added after the Civil War. The Bassett family retained ownership of the property from 1829 until the estate was sold in 1973. The property was given the name Pineola by Henriette Bassett because of the majestic longleaf pines in the front yard.
www.pineola.com Paul & Delise Knight
# 1 on map
The Fincher House was built in 1882 by J.L. Fincher, Mayor of Fort Valley (1890, 1904-1910), a jeweler by profession. He and his son, George, built the first automotbile in town. Their home was the first dwelling to receive electricity.
The Queen Anne style in this showplace is evident in the multi-pane stained glass windows, turned porch elements, and asymmetrical entry and unique ropework on gable.
The triangle downtown containing the bandstand is named Fincher Park in his memory.
# 3 on map
A.J. Evans, known as the "Peach King" in 1911, was the original owner of the property. The eclectic architectural style features Colonial Revival influenced porches and Craftsman influenced eaves and windows. Decorative brick bonds accent the firt floor windows from the surrounding stretcher bond pattern of the house. Be sure to notice the carved stone fireplace in the parlor and the many original lightin fixtures. This home is now a working Bed & Breakfast Inn.
# 5 on map
This Spanish Revival style home was built in the 1930's by Bill Marchman after spending time in China. As an intersting note, this house was visited by Malcom Forbes and his wife who was Mrs. Marchman's sister. As you enter this home, note the unique decorating style.
# 2 on map