Search billions of records on

Please email me your records for this site!

Taylor County History

Taylor County was created from Macon, Marion, and Talbot Counties in 1852, the 98th county organized. The county was named after Zachary Taylor, who won a victory at Buena Vista in the Mexican War and later became the 12th President of the United States.

The county had two municipalities: Butler, the county seat, and Reynolds. Butler was named for General William Orlando Butler, another hero of the Mexican War.

This page was last updatedFriday, 24-Nov-2006 18:14:13 MST

Copyright © 2003 - 2007   G.T. Hart Webmaster
All Rights Reserved

Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited.
This site may not be duplicated in any way without consent.

Back to Taylor County AHGP