Search billions of records on

Georgia Loyalist Banishments and Confiscation
Contributed by: J. G. (Jerry) Braddock Sr.; Charleston, SC.
Author of Wooden Ships - Iron Men; Web site

Format by C. W. Barnum
Return to Georgia Military Index
229 Names

The Georgia Assembly passed an Act of Attainder and Banishments and Confiscation on August 19, 1783. This meant in effect that property of British Loyalist would be taken for the State Treasury. The individuals would be banished from Georgia. Their Civil Rights under the law were attained or voided. The list was published The Assembly of the State of Georgia in the Savannah newspaper, (Georgia Gazette). See newspaper story at the bottom of the page.

The List of names has been placed in alphabetical order for easy research
as opposed to how it originally appeared in the public notice.

Last Name First Name
Aarons George
Alexander Ja.
Ashton Edward
Bailey Richard
Bailleu Isaac
Baillie George
Balfour Will.
Barnard Tim
Beatty Thomas
Blyth John
Blyth Peter
Bonnell Elias
Brantley Benj.
Brisbane James
Brown John
Brown (Col.) * T.
Butler James
Cameron Don.
Carson James
Carney jun. Ar. **
Carter Alexan.
Clark William
Cooper William
Cooper jun. H.
Cooper sen. H.
Coppinger John
Corker John
Corker William
Cornals Joseph
Cowper Basil
Crighton Alex
Cuthbert Geo.
Dampier Steph.
Dawson Will
Deas Peter
Delegal jun. Ph.
Delegal sen. Ph.
Dell James
Dell Philip
Delyon Issac
Demere jun. R.
Douglass John
Douglass Sam.
Downing Isaac
Durgan Will.
Edwards Peter
Farley Joseph
Farley Samuel
Ferguson John
Flyming Tho.
Folliot (D.) F.
Forbes Thomas
Foulis John
Fox George
Fox jun. John
Fraser Donald
French Robert
Fulton Isaac
Furlow John
Gibbons Tho.
Glenn John
Goldsmith Tho.
Gordon James
Graham James
Graham John
Green David
Grierson (Col.) J.
Gruber Ulrick
Hall Nathaniel
Hammond W.
Henderson John
Henderson Ro.
Herbert James
Herriott James
Hevelstine Ph.
Hewat Andrew
Howard Benj.
Howard John
Howard Tho.
Howel Daniel
Hume James
Hume John
Hunt James
Inglis Alexan.
Ingram James
Jackson (Augusta) James
Jamieson John
Johnston And.
Johnston John
Johnston John
Johnston Joseph
Johnston Will.
Johnston Wm.
Johnston jun. L.
Johnston sen. G.
Johnston sen. L.
Jollie Martin
Jones (Sav.) **** W.
Kelsall Roger
Kemp. Soloman
Kincaid George
Kirkland Moses
Kitching John
Knox William
Lightenstone J.
Love John
Love William
Lucena John C.
Lyford William
Lyle James
Lyle Matthew
Mackinea C. W.
Mangrum Wil.
Manson Tho.
Manson Will.
Marshal Joseph
Martin (Jekyl) John
Maxwell John
McCormick P.
McCormick R.
McCormick J.
McDonald Cha.
McDonald Don.
McDonald John
McGillivray J.
McGillivray L.
McGillivray W.
McGirt Daniel
McGirt James
McGoun Alex.
McIntosh D. B.
McIntosh Rod.
McIntosh (Indian Trader) Will.
-McKay (St. Andrews) (St. Andrew´┐Żs)
McLean Alex.
McLeod Daniel
McNatt Will.
McNielly Acd.
Miller Robert
Miller William
Mincey Absal.
Mobley Lud
Montgomery S.
Moore Andrew
Moore James
Moore Matthew
Moore Philip
Moore Samuel
Moss William
Mullryne John
Munro Henry
Munro Simon
Murray John
Oates William
Pace sen. James
Panton William
Paterson Simeon
Philips Daniel
Philips George
Pig John
Polhill Nathan.
Polson John
Porteous Robert
Proctor John
Randel J. Bead
Reid Robert
Ried ** Thomas
Ried ** William
Robertson And.
Robertson Ja.
Robertson John
Rose Alexan.
Rose William
Ross Thomas
Russel David
Rutherford Th.
Scott Thomas
Seymour (RJ) J.
Sharp Cordy
Sharp Henry
Sheftal Levi
Shepard Samuel
Sherral Reuben
Simpson of Sabine Fields John
Skinner Tho.
Spalding James
Stewart Mat.
Storr John
Tallemach T.
Tattnall J. M.
Tattnall Josiah
Taylor (D.) T.
Telfair William
Thomas John
Thomson Alex.
Tidwel William
Triebner Ch. F.
Tucker William
Waters Thomas
Watson Jacob
Watts Charles
Weatherford C.
Weatherford J.
Weatherford M.
Wells Absalom
Westley John
White William
Wilkins Abr.
Wilkins Jonath.
Wilkins Samuel
Williams Henry
Williams J. W.
Williams Sam.
Willis William
Wolfington Ro.
Wood John
Wright Alex.
Wright Jermyn
Wright (Major) James
Wright (barrister) Sir J.
Wright sen. C.
Wright son of James C.
Wylly Campbel
Wylly William
Yonge jun. H.
Young Thomas
Young William
Zubly John J.
Zubly jun. Dav.


Webmaster's notes:

* Brown (Col.), T. was the notorious Tory, Colonel Thomas Brown.
** Ar. Carney may be Arthur Carney.
*** Spelled as "Ried" in the newspaper.
**** Sav. may mean Savannah.

sen. means Senior.
jun. means Junior.

From J. G. (Jerry) Braddock Sr.

Georgia Loyalists

Georgia Revolutionists were fierce in keeping the British at bay in Georgia. My 4th great-grandfather, Capt. John Cutler Braddock, as a galley commander was one of the fiercest. There were many other Georgians, however, who, by dictate of conscience, chose to remain Loyal to the Crown.

You may be surprised to learn that Benjamin Franklin's son was a staunch Loyalist. They paid dearly for their loyalty.

On August 19, 1783, the Assembly of the State of Georgia passed an Act of Attainder, Banishments and Confiscation that took from all known Loyalists, property they held in Georgia and banished them from the state. Most fled to the British province of East Florida and from there to England and to British held islands in the Caribbean, primarily the Bahamas. Notice of the Act was published in the Georgia Gazette followed by a list of 229 names of Georgia Loyalists.

The list included the last Royal Governor of Georgia, Sir James Wright, Lt. Gov. John Graham, and members of their council along with all other officials of the displaced government. Many on the list went on to become successful leaders in their places of exile. One such man was William Lyford Jr., uncle to the aforesaid John Cutler Braddock. He received several large grants in the Bahamas for his service to British naval operations in the Southeast and for being one of the planners and participants of Col. Andrew DeVeaux's famous raid that drove the Spanish from Nassau in 1783. The exclusive residential resort Lyford Cay, home of international best-selling author Arthur Hailey and actor Sean Connery, is located on one of the Grants.

List of Loyalists Banished from Georgia-1783

The Assembly of the State of Georgia published a list of men banished from the state in the Savannah newspaper, now back to its old name the Georgia Gazette. The notorious McGirt brothers, who appear in many accounts of Revolutionary War action in the South as being instrumental in thwarting Georgian and Continental attempts to invade Florida some accounts spelling it McGirth are on the list. Strangely, some few on it were on lists published earlier by the British:

GEORGIA,House of Assembly, 15th July, 1783
ORDERED,  That his Honour the Governor and Council be recommended and requested to transmit to the Executive and Legislative Powers or Departments,
in every State on the United States, a List of Persons named in their Laws so that, by this correspondence, each State may know,  or be informed from Time
to Time, what is done by each State relative to those Persons so proscribed.
Extract from the Minutes,

(Signed)  JOHN WILKINSON, Clk. G. A.
In Council, Savannah, 19th August, 1783.

PURSUANT to the foregoing order of the Honourable the House of Assembly, passed at Augusta on the Fifteenth July last past, the following Persons are named within our Act of Attainder, Banishments and Confiscation, and stood proscribed on that Day.
By Order of his Honour the Governor in Council,
D. REES, Sec'y. Ex. Council

A LIST of Persons on the Bill of Attainder, Banishment and Confiscation, passed at Augusta, in the State of Georgia, on the Fourth Day of May, which was in the Year of our Lord One Thousand Seven hundred and Eighty Two, and of our Sovereignty and Independence the Sixth, to wit:

End of Exhibit. The material presentation was edited for this format style.

This webmaster is grateful to receive this data from Mr.  Braddock .
To learn more about this historic period please read his book,  Wooden Ships - Iron Men