This GAGenWeb county is available for adoption Home | Contact Us | Search

How to Order Vital Records

This is the most current contact information I have for obtaining certified copies of vital records.  Please email me with any corrections or additions so I can keep this page up to date.


Birth or Death Records (County)

To Obtain Birth and Death Records from the County:

Washington County Health Dept.
P.O. Box 271
Sandersville, GA 31082-0271
(478) 552-3210

Contact the Health Department for current costs and ordering information


Birth Records (State)

Obtain Birth Certificates from the State

Birth records are available from 1919 to the present. Georgia law and Department of Human Resources regulation require that all requests for vital records include the signature of the requestor and the proper fee. Access to birth records is limited to:

  • the person named on the certificate
  • the parents shown on the birth record
  • an authorized legal guardian or agent
  • grandparents of the person named on the certificate
  • an adult child of the person named on the certificate
  • an adult sibling of the person named on the certificate
  • the spouse of the person named on the certificate

The person requesting a certified copy of a birth record must provide a signed request form, and a photocopy of your valid photo ID, such as: driver's license, state issued ID card, or employer issued photo ID. You may provide the information in three ways:

Go to Georgia Dept of Human Resources where you can find a downloadable form or include a letter with all of the required information below:

  • Full name of person shown on the birth certificate (last name at birth if female)
  • Date of Birth (month, day, year)
  • Place of Birth (city, county)
  • Current age
  • Sex
  • Race (optional)
  • Full name of mother (include mother's maiden last name)
  • Full name of father
  • Relationship to the person named on the birth certificate requested
  • The number of certificates requested

Standard Filing Fees

Georgia law requires pre-payment before a record or a service can be provided. Fees are not refundable after a service has been provided. Records are sent first class mail.

Search Fee (includes one certified copy, if the record is found on file) $10.00
Additional certifications of same record ordered at the same time (full size copies only) $ 5.00
Multi-year search (every three years or portion thereof) $10.00

Special Filing Fees (Does not include the $10.00 search fee which must also be included.)

Delayed certificate of birth $10.00
Amending birth certificates because of adoption, paternity acknowledgment, legitimation or court order $10.00

No special filing fee is required during the first year of birth to amend a birth record. This includes all types of amendments.

Where to Request a Birth Certificate

Mail your request, fee and photocopy of valid photo ID to:
Vital Records
2600 Skyland Drive NE
Atlanta, GA 30319-3640

Methods of Payment:

Fees may be paid by one of the following methods (make certified checks and money orders payable to Vital Records):

Certified check
Money order
Credit card through VitalChek only (Additional fees apply)
Note: Please do not send cash in the mail.


Death Records (State)

Obtain Death Certificates from the State

Certified copies of death records are available from 1919 to the present. Death certificates are available to the general public.

Required Information

The person requesting a certified copy of a death record must provide the following information and a signed request:

  • Full name of deceased,
  • Date of death (month, day, year),
  • Place of death (city, county),
  • Age of deceased at death,
  • Sex,
  • Race (optional),
  • The number of copies requested.
  • Relationship to deceased.

Fees

Georgia law requires that payment must be received before a record or a service can be provided. Prepayment of the fee is necessary at the time the service is requested and fees are not refundable. Records are sent first class mail.

The fee includes one certified copy, if the record is found on file $10.00
Additional certifications of same record ordered at the same time $ 5.00
Multi-year search (every three years or portion thereof) $10.00

Where to Request a Death Certificate

Go to Georgia Dept of Human Resources where you can find a downloadable form or include a letter with all of the required information below:

Fill out a form online, print it, sign it, and mail it to Vital Records
You may download a PDF version of the Death Certificate Request Form, which you may print out. Please fill it out completely, and mail it to the State Vital Records Office. Or, you may write out the information required (see Required Information, above) on a sheet of paper and mail it to the State Vital Records Office.

Mail your request to:
Vital Records
2600 Skyland Drive NE
Atlanta, GA 30319-3640

You may request a death certificate from the VitalChek website using your Discover, MasterCard, American Express or Visa charge card. (The VitalChek Network is not affiliated with the State of Georgia.) You may telephone VitalChek at 1-800-255-2414, seven days a week, 24 hours a day. If overnight delivery is requested you will be charged an additional fee for this service. There is an additional VitalChek charge to use your credit card to request a certified copy of a vital record by telephone or fax.

Note: It is not possible to request a death certificate via email. By law, vital record search requests must be signed and paid for.

Methods of Payment

Fees may be paid by one of the following methods: Please do not send cash in the mail. (Make certified checks and money orders payable to Vital Records.)

Certified check
Money order
Credit Card using VitalChek services
Fetal Death Certificates

Contact the state office at 404-679-4702 regarding certified copies of fetal death certificates.


Marriage Records (County)

Probate Court of Washington County
P.O. Box 669
Sandersville, GA 31082
Phone: 478-552-3304
Fax: 478-552-3304

Contact the Probate Court for current costs and ordering information


Marriage Records (State)

Information about marriage records is available at the state office from 1952 to the present. Copies of marriage records earlier than 1952 and after 1996 are only available from the county Probate Court where the license was issued. Certified copies of marriage licenses are available to the general public, but a certified copy of the marriage license application is only available to the bride and groom shown on the marriage license. Some Probate Courts also issue an attractive, framable copy of marriage documents. These copies are not available at the State Vital Records office.

Certified copies of marriage records may be obtained at the Probate Court in the county where the license was issued. The state office and all county offices have public walk-in service; however some county offices may be closed certain days of the week or some time during the day. The state office walk-in counter is open from 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. Directions are available.

Required Information

The person requesting a certified copy of a marriage record must provide the following information, a signed request and the appropriate fee (see below):

Groom's full name,
Bride's full name,
Date of marriage (month, day, year),
Place of marriage (city, county),
The number of copies requested

Fees

Georgia law requires pre-payment before a record or a service can be provided. Fees are not refundable after a service has been provided. Records are sent first class mail.

The fee includes one certified copy, if the record is found on file $10.00
Additional certifications of same record ordered at the same time (full size only) $ 5.00
Multi-year search (every three years or portion thereof) $10.00

Methods of Payment

Fees may be paid by one of the following methods (make certified checks and money orders payable to Vital Records):

Certified check
Money order
Note: Please do not send cash in the mail.

Mail your request to:
Vital Records
2600 Skyland Drive NE
Atlanta, GA 30319-3640
(404) 679-4702
phvitalrecords@gdph.state.ga.us

Note: It is not possible to request a marriage record via email. By law, vital records search requests must be signed and paid for.


Divorce Records (County)

Washington County Courthouse
132 West Haynes Street
Sandersville, GA 31082

Contact the Court for current costs and ordering information


Divorce Records (State)

The state Vital Records office will conduct a search to determine the occurrence of a divorce, but cannot issue a record. Certified copies of divorce decrees are only available from the Clerk of the Superior Court in the county where the divorce was granted.

Required Information

The person requesting a search for confirmation of a divorce must provide the following information, a signed request and the appropriate fee (see below):

Groom's full name,
Bride's full name,
Date of divorce (month, day, year),
Place of divorce (city, county),
The number of copies requested

Fees

Georgia law requires that payment must be received before a record or a service can be provided. Prepayment of the fee is necessary at the time the service is requested and fees are not refundable.

Fee includes the search & confimation of divorce event: $10.00
Multi-year search (every three years or portion thereof): $10.00

Methods of Payment

Fees may be paid by one of the following methods: PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH IN THE MAIL! (Make certified checks and money orders payable to Vital Records.)

Certified check
Money order
Mail your request to:
Vital Records
2600 Skyland Drive NE
Atlanta, GA 30319-3640


Social Security Application copy

When a person (or his parents) applies for a Social Security number, an application form known as an SS-5 must be completed. The information included on the application includes name, date of birth, address, parents' names, employer, and a number of other items. You may order a copy of your ancestor's SS-5 from the Social Security Administration (SSA). SSA has increased the price for a copy of this document effective 1 July 2001. You can generate a letter requesting a copy of the original SS-5 by going to the SSDI at Ancestry.com at SSDI at Ancestry.com

The price for a copy of the SS-5 if you have the SS# is $27.00. If you have only the name and birth date, the price is $29.00. Allow 6-14 weeks for delivery.


My Georgia Genealogy for Washington County


This Page was Created July 2008 | Last Modified Saturday, 26-Jul-2014 12:48:05 MDT