Search billions of records on

Available Sources

1875 A. T. Andreas Atlas
1880 Dubuque County History
Honorable William B. Allison
Eugene Anderson
Sanford A. Atherton
Honorable Isaac W. Baldwin
Dickson Beatty
F. E. Behrens
Henry Bockenstedt
John Bomacke
General Caleb Hoskins Booth
Nicholas Bray, M. D.
William Bray, M. D.
Edward Brown
John D. Bush
Edward Butler
Cascade Biographies
Dr. Rodolphus Clark
Bernhard Claus, Jr.
Frank W. Coates
Honorable Dennis Nelson Cooley
Reverend Mark Cooney
Hugh Corrance
Patrick F. Cunningham
Mell H. Cushing
Peter Dawson
John Driscoll
Charles Henry Eighmey
Jesse P. Farley
George Fengler
Mrs. Catherine Fries
Albert Gasser
Henry Gehrig
A. P. Gibbs
Theodor Goerdt
John R. Goldthorp
Honorable Julius Graves
Charles H. Gregoire
Ezra Gregory
Daniel Hallahan
Nicholas Hansen
Honorable Thomas Hardie
Henry Henkels
Rev. James Hill
Nancy R. Hill, M. D.
Asa Horr, M. D.
James Howie
Edward R. Jackson, M. D.
Francis Jaeger
Henry J. Jecklin
Reverend Clement Johannes
Evan E. Jones
General George Wallace Jones
John Kantlehner
Joseph K. Kaufmann
James Kelly
John Kleinschmidt
F. H. Klostermann
A. R. Knight
Honorable Frederick M. Knoll
Paul Lattner
Honorable Wendelin Lattner
Thomas Lochner
Christian Loetscher
Norton J. Loomis
Delos E. Lyon
J. E. Maguire, M. D.
W. A. Manhart
George Marshall
M. H. Martin
Honorable James McCann
Benjamin McCluer, M. D.
Susan Ann McCraney
A. S. McDermott
James and Martha McGee
James McGrath
M. F. McNamara
Jacob Michel
Charles Miller
Adam Mink
George Mollart
William J. Morgans
James Mullin
Dorrance Dixon Myers
Nicholas P. Nicks
Frederick R. Nitzsche, M. D.
J. J. E. Norman
Honorable Peter Olinger
Bernard J. O'Neill
John P. Page
Frank Paley
John Palmer
Rev. Frederick William Pape
Thomas Phillips
Joseph Platz
Andrew Rahe
Honorable James Rowan
Reverend Roger Ryan
George Salot
Colonel C. J. W. Saunders
John Sauser, Jr.
Joseph Schemmel
George Schmitt
Short Biographies
Joseph Simones
John F. Sloan
Charles F. Smyth
Johanna (Baker) Specht
Ralph Spensley
Daniel Stallard
J. Peter Stendebach
Honorable William W. Stewart
Oren Stuart, M. D.
James Sweeney
John Tibey
Paul Traut
Matthew Tschirgi
Hon. Christian Anton Voelker
Chester H. Walker
William Watson, M. D.
F. W. Wieland
Louis Witter
Jacob Zollicoffer

You are free to use the information found on Dubuque Genealogy for research purposes. It is not for resale.

Dubuque Genealogy Coordinator


Logo by Ginger Cisewski

Biographies of Cascade, Iowa Residents
From Faith and Fortunes: An Encyclopedia of Dubuque County, by Randy Lyon, p. 234

James H. Devaney (Dec. 23, 1870-Monticello, IA, Oct. 9, 1957) Bank president. Devaney, the operator of a furniture, hardware and finally an undertaking business, held the office of vice president of the Cascade State Bank for forty-eight years. he was secretary of the Dubuque County Fair Board for three years and chaired Cascade's reconstruction committee following the disastrous flood of 1925. Devaney promoted the community as the first president of the Commercial Club. He was also one of the organizers of the Cascade Council of the Knights of Columbus and served as its first grand knight. In 1917, Devaney was elected state deputy at Council Bluffs and served two terms. Chosen the supreme director for Iowa at a meeting in Philadelphia in 1926, he served eighteen years as a member of the Supreme Board of Directors of the Knights of Columbus.

Peter A. Koob (Cascade, IA, July 5, 1876-Monticello, IA, Oct. 31, 1954) Funeral director. One of Iowa's oldest morticians, holding license 101, Koob was a former president of the Iowa Funeral Directors' Association. For twenty years, he was a partner with J. H. Devaney, Sr. in the firm known as Koob & Devaney.

Site maintained by Julia Krapfl | Copyright 1996-2004 | Page updated 5 October 2004
Designed by Kelly Krapfl