Click here to RETURN to the Cook Cnty ILGenWeb USGenWeb HOME page

Cook County ILGenWeb Genealogy User Submitted Data

                                      ADVICE: HOW-TO...
                         Learn More About the STATE CENSUS FOR ILLINOIS
                                    Cook County, Illinois


Information contributed for use in Cook County ILGenWeb (from Cook-Co-L mail-list)
        with permission from original submitters
        by Cook COunty ILGenWeb Coordinator(s), May 2001

What Years Are Available for the ILLINOIS State Census?

The ILLINOIS State Census was taken between the years 1825 and 1865.

The breakdown of ILLINOIS State census records by counties for each year is as follows:

1825: Edwards and Fulton Counties

1830: Morgan County

1835: Fayette, Fulton, Jasper, and Morgan Counties

1840: Adams, Alexander, Bond, Boone, Brown, Carroll, Champaign, Clark, Coles, DeKalb, 
      DeWitt, Edgar, Calhoun, Clay, Effingham, Franklin, Fulton, Hardin, Jo Daviess, 
      La Salle, Whiteside, Clinton, Cook, Jasper, and Stark Counties
1840: Calhoun, Clay, Effingham, Franklin, Fulton, Hardin, Jo Daviess, La Salle, and 
      Whiteside Counties
1840: Green, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Iroquois, Jackson, Jefferson, Jersey, Johnson, 
      Lawrence, Lee, Monroe, Scott, Shelby, St Clair, Tazewell, Wabash, Warren, 
      Washington, Wayne, White, Will ,and Winnebago Counties

1845: Cass, Putnam and Tazewell Counties

1855: Adams County
1855: Alexander, Bond, Boone, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Cass, Christian, Clark, 
      and Clay Counties
1855: Clinton, Coles, and Cook Counties
1855: Crawford, Cumberland, DeKalb, DeWitt, DuPage, Edgar, Edwards, and Effingham Counties
1855: Fayette, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, and Hamilton Counties
1855: Hancock, Henderson, Iroquois, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Kane, and Jersey Counties
1855: Jo Daviess County
1855: Kankakee, Kendall, Knox, and La Salle Counties
1855: Lawrence and Lee Counties
1855: Livingston, Logan, McDonough, and McHenry Counties
1855: McLean, Macon, Macoupin, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Mason, and Massac Counties
1855: Menard, Mercer, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, and Ogle Counties
1855: Peoria, Perry, Piatt, Pike, Pope, Pulaski, and Putnam Counties
1855: Randolph, Richland, Rock Island, St Clair, Saline, and Sangamon Counties
1855: Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stephenson, Tazewell, Union, Vermilion, and Wabash Counties
1855: Warren, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White, Whiteside, and Winnebago Counties

1865: Adams, Bureau, Edwards, Ford, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Grundy, 
      and Henderson (part) Counties
1865: Boone (part), Champaign, Christian, Clark, Clinton, Crawford, and Cumberland Counties
1865: Coles (part), Calhoun, Cass, Clay, Greene, and Edgar (part) Counties
1865: Cook (part), Richland (part) and Randolph (part) Counties
1865: Cook County, city of Chicago, wards 1 - 11
1865: Crawford (part), Carroll, DeWitt, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Brown, and 
      Coles (part) Counties
1865: Edgar (part), Jasper, Pike, Hardin, Jefferson, and Jackson (part) Counties
1865: Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Grundy, Henderson, and Rock Island (part) Counties
1865: Henderson (part), Fulton, Jo Daviess, Pulaski, Alexander, Bond, and 
      Boone (part) Counties
1865: Iroquois (part), Kankakee, Knox, and Jersey (part) Counties
1865: Jackson (part), Johnson, Henry, Hancock, Hamilton, and Iroquois (part) Counties
1865: Jersey (part), Kane, Kendall, and Logan Counties
1865: Lake, Lawrence, Lee, Livingston, and Madison (part) Counties
1865: Madison (part), Macon, Menard, Morgan, Pope, and Richland (part) 
      Counties [Best Copy Available]
1865: Marion (part), Massac, Moultrie, Shelby, Stephenson, Schuyler, and Stark Counties
1865: Marshall, Peoria, Piatt, Pulaski, Perry, Putnam, Edwards, and Ford Counties
1865: McHenry, Macoupin, Mongomery, and Ogle Counties
1865: Randolph (part), Saline, Mercer, McDonough, and McLean Counties
1865: Rock Island (part), Sangamon, St Clair, Tazewell, and Vermilion (part) Counties
1865: Scott, Union, Wayne, White, Woodford, and Washington (part) Counties
1865: Vermilion (part), Will, La Salle, and Marion (part) Counties
1865: Williamson, Winnebago, Wabash, Whiteside, and Warren Counties

Most records are available at the Newberry Library in Chicago or you can check with 
your local Family History Center.

In addition, microfilm rolls can be purchased or rented from Heritage Quest. 
(not an endorsement, just an "FYI")

COPYRIGHT NOTICE: These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any
format for profit or presentation by other organization or persons.
Persons or organizations desiring to use this material, must obtain
the written consent of the submitter or their legal representative,
and must contact the listed Cook County ILGenWeb Coordinator(s)
with proof of this consent.

Contact the Cook County ILGenWeb County Coordinators for written permissions.

Click here to return to the Research & Links page OR use your {BACK} icon on your browser...

Click here to return to the User Submitted Data page OR use your {BACK} icon on your browser...

This USGenWeb site is generously
Hosted by RootsWeb
Hosted by RootsWeb
© 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001
by the Cook County ILGenWeb County Coordinators.   All rights reserved.
This PAGE was last updated: 19 May 2001 by the Cook County ILGenWeb County Coordinators.