Search billions of records on

DAR Insignia



Hoopeston, Illinois

Regent: Carol Hicks


History of Barbara Standish Chapter

On March 16, 1905, a formal notice was placed in the Hoopeston, IL, Chronicle that "summoned all members of the NSDAR to meet in the Ladies' parlor of the Commercial Club." Eleven women responded. Mary Hall Hamilton was appointed Organizing Regent by State Regent, Mrs. Deere. Mary then led the ladies through the intricate pattern of organizing a new chapter. At this time Alliance Chapter, Champaign-Urbana, was the only chapter in eastern Illinois outside of Bloomington and Chicago.

Twelve members were required to apply for a charter. The eleven members worked hard to find that twelfth member. It was not an easy task, but finally twelve ladies were approved.

At this first meeting Barbara Standish, second wife of Captain Miles Standish, was the name chosen for this new chapter. In August, word was received that Barbara Standish was not considered a legally recognized chapter. Over the next two months, Barbara Standish, now with eighteen members, sent in their paperwork five times. Finally, at the October 12, 1905, meeting, Barbara Standish Chapter displayed its new Charter No. 677, dated October 4, 1905. Officially, Barbara Standish Chapter became the 32nd chapter in the State of Illinois and first organized chapter in Vermilion County.


Other Officers:
Vice Regent: Linda Williams
Recording Secretary: Carol Livingston
Treasurer: Nancy Thorn
Registrar: Eileen Layden


Revolutionary War Ancestors:

John Amonette, VA
Nathan Bostwick, CT
Frederick Burgett, VA
John Campbell, SC
Robert Cowne, VA
Benjamin Cronwell, CT
Walter Davis, VA
Isaac Duke, MD
John Finley, PA
David Garrigues, NJ
Lewis Gooden, VA
Hezekiah Green, CT
Pvt. John Gritton, PA
Daniel Guthrie, PA
John Hamilton, PA
Capt. Andrew Hatfield, VA
John (James) Hawkins, NJ
George Hempleman, PA
Anthony Hinkle III, PA
Derrick Hoagland, VA
Samuel Hurd, NH
Simon Hurd Sr., MA
Nicholas Judy, Sr., VA
Peter Leonard, NC
Thomas Lewis, VA
Caleb Litchfield, MA
Jacob Lowell, NH
Joseph McCartney, PA
Daniel McFarland, PA
Henry Miller, PA
Abram Moore, VA
Daniel Northrup, RI
Frederick Parrott, VA
Paul F. Randolph, PA
Josiah Record, DE, PA, VA
Zacharia Robertston Sr., MD
John (Johannes) Schnee, PA
Michael See Sr., VA
Pvt. David Shields, VA
Jacob Shoemaker, DE
John Skidmore, VA
William Stitt, PA
John Thorne, NJ
Joseph Tomlinson Jr., VA
Lawrence VanDerVeer, Dr., NJ
Johannes Vreelan, NJ
Zacheus Waldo, CT
John Wyman Jr., MA
Stephen Yoeman, NY


General Information

The usual meeting day is the second Friday of the month from September to June, unless designated in the yearbook.

For further information about joining our chapter or visiting a meeting, please

Contact: Carol Hicks Email:



US flagUS flagUS flagUS flagUS flag

Visit Illinois NSDAR


Webmaster: VIS Team

Web page last updated July 9, 2015.

DAR Recognized Site

The DAR Insignia is the property of, and is copyrighted by,
the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution.

Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR,
the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.