Search billions of records on



National Society Daughters of the American Revolution

Carthage, Illinois

Regent: Ms. Diane Baxter


Contact for Membership Requests: Mrs. Joyce Buckert

or Ms. Diane Baxter


Chapter History

On April 6, 1896, a group of ladies met in the home of Laura Miller Noyes in Carthage, Illinois for the purpose of organizing a chapter of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution.  They chose to name their chapter after the first governor of Illinois, Shadrach Bond.  Governor Bond served from 1818 to 1822 and was the only governor to sit in the original Illinois capital at Kaskaskia.  Halfway through his term, the capital was moved to Vandalia where it remained for 20 years.  His term began on October 6, 1818, about two months before Illinois became the 21st state to enter the union. The state's population at the time was about 52,000.  Bond was a former judge and ran unopposed as a Democrat.


The Shadrach Bond NSDAR Chapter was granted on January 19, 1897.  The thirteen charter members were: Laura Miller Noyes, Regent; Julia Ferris; Miss Sue A. Williams; Elizabeth Tillapaugh; Alice Ferris Martin;  Ellen L. Carey Mack; Ellen B. Capron; Mary Bacon Johnson; Julia Ferris Hubbs; Miss Ina Elder;  Amanda E. Shults and Miss Ellen Jarya Cherrill.



Chapter Officers 2015-2016


Ms. Diane Baxter


Mrs. Betty Hunter

Vice Regent

Mrs. Ila Anguish


Mrs. Keela Ernst


Mrs. Joyce Buckert


Please contact us for meeting location.



Our Patriot Ancestors

William Applegate (NJ)

Daniel Applegate (NJ)

Jeremiah Atwater (CT)

Henry Bishop I (VA)

Benjamin Bonsall (PA)

John Collier, MA

Joseph Crockett (VA)

John Dye (PA)

Peter Egenbroat (NY)

Benjamin Gittings (MD)

Peleg Gorton (NY & RI)

Samuel Gould (ME)

Patrick Gracey (NC)

Richard Hakes (CT)

Job Hamblem (VA)

Lenard Helmers (NY)

Jonas Hobart (NH)

Jacob Hoover, Sr. (NY)


Samuel Huston/Houston (PA)

Conrad Knappenberger (PA)

Laban Landon (NJ)

Nathaniel Main (CT)

Amos Marney (VA)

Peter Melich, Sr. (PA)

Ichabod Palmer (CT)

William Pangburn (NJ)

John (Johannes) Petrie (NY)

John Henry Symmonds (PA)

Elias Veatch (MD)

James Wadsworth (CT)

James Wall (NC)

Joseph Wilkinson (MD)

Daniel H Williams (NC)

William Wiltse, NY

Martin  Yetter (PA)



Our meetings are held the third Friday of each month,
except February which is on Saturday.

For information about membership
or attending a meeting, please contact:

Mrs. Joyce Buckert


Visit Illinois NSDAR



Web page last updated August 12, 2015.

The DAR Insignia is the property of, and is copyrighted by,
the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution.

Web hyperlinks to non-DAR sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR,
the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.