Old Courthouse Museum
103 West Cherry Street
Watseka, IL 60970-1524
LEVI O. LOCKWOOD, a physician of La Hogue, was born at Denmark, Lee County, Iowa, May 7, 1849. He is a son of Hiram L. and Hannah (Smith) Lockwood. The progenitors of the Lockwood family came from Scotland and settled in Massachusetts. The grandfather, Timothy Lockwood, was a Vermont farmer, and in that State the father as born. When a young man be went to Cincinnati, Ohio, where he married Miss Smith, who was born in Clermont County, Ohio. He was a builder by trade and also a millwright, which occupations he followed for many years. In 1847 they came by way of the rivers to Ft. Madison, Iowa, locating in Lee County, where Mr. Lockwood built mills and carried on farming. In 1877 the family removed to Hollyrood, Ellsworth County, Kan., where the parents still live. The father has now reached the age of seventy-nine years and the mother seventy-eight. Politically, the father was an Abolitionist, and later a Republican. Both he and his wife are consistent members of the Congregational Church. They had a family of six children, of whom two sons and two daughters are now living.
Our subject is the fifth child in his father's family, and was reared on a farm. Since fifteen years of age he has been working for himself. Having attended the district schools of his native county until thirteen years of age, he entered Denmark Academy, working his way to pay his tuition. When about sixteen he began teaching school, at which he engaged for some eight years, using the means thus acquired to obtain a higher education. After graduating from the academy he spent a year at Beloit College, at Beloit, Wis., and a year at Hillsdale, Mich., having read medicine with Prof. J. M. Angear, the professor of the Keokuk Medical College, now practicing in Chicago. He also studied with Dr. R. W. Barr, of Ferris, Ill. He entered the Keokuk Medical College in 1874, taking two courses of lectures, and in 1875 began practicing with Dr. Barr, at Ferris. In 1876 he removed to Hollyrood, Kan., and four years later was graduated from the Keokuk Medical College, but continued to practice in Kansas until 1882. The following February he located at La Hogue, where he has an extensive practice and is accounted a physician of good ability and experience.
In Burlington, Iowa, Dr. Lockwood led to the marriage altar Mrs. Susan Maynard, the ceremony being performed August 17, 1880. She is a daughter of Daniel and Eliza J. (Logan) Edmonds, natives of New York and Indiana respectively. In early life they emigrated to Henderson County, Ill., where they became acquainted. Mr. Edmonds in former days used to go to Wisconsin, get out lumber and shingles, raft them down the river, and sell them the river towns. He furnished much of the lumber used in building the Mormon Temple at Nauvoo, Ill. His accumulations he invested in land and became an extensive landowner. He was a Republican in politics, and for a term held the office of County Judge. About 1858 his wife died, and subsequently he married again. By his first wife he had three sons and a daughter, and by his second marriage a daughter. Mrs. Lockwood is a native of Henderson County, Ill. Of her first marriage she had two children, Lucy and Hattie. Unto Dr. Lockwood and his wife have been born three children: Ella M., Edmond and Winnefred. Politically, the Doctor affiliates with the Republican party. For three years he held the position of Postmaster at Hollyrood, Kan. While there he belonged to the Central Kansas Medical Association. He has extensive landed interests, with his wife owning five hundred and thirteen acres in Iroquois County, and three hundred and twenty acres in Kansas. They are both active members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is both Steward and Trustee. Dr. Lockwood is a successful physician and an enterprising citizen, and is very extensively known and much respected throughout the county.
JOHN HALL B1SHOP, undertaker and dealer in furniture, is the pioneer representative in his line of business in the county. He established business in Watseka in 1862. His life record is as follows: He was born in Westminster, Windham County, Vt., March 5, 1818, and is a son of Timothy and Ruth (Hall) Bishop. His father was a soldier of the War of 1812, and was descended from an old New England family of English origin. His death occurred in Rockingham, Windham County, Vt., in 1840. The mother of our subject was born in Walpole, N. H., and died in Saxon River, Vt.
John H. Bishop was reared at that place and was educated in its public schools. After attaining to mature years, he was married, on the 14th of February, 1842, in Grafton, Vt., to Miss Elizabeth M. Colby, who was born in that place and was a daughter of James Colby. Mr. and Mrs. Bishop have one son, Frank, and an adopted daughter, Gertie M., now the wife of Charles Edinger, of Watseka. Frank married Miss Tude Reese, and is connected with the Chicago stock yards.
In 1843, Mr. Bishop removed with his family to Worcester, Mass., where he was employed in agricultural shops, having previously served a regular apprenticeship in Rockingham, Vt., to the cabinetmaker's trade. In September, 1856, he removed from Worcester to Middleport, Iroquois County, Ill., where he worked at the trade of carpentering and house-building until 1862, when he bought out Mr. S. M. Hogle, who had started in the furniture business there in 1854. Mr. Bishop carried on business in Middleport until 1864, when he removed to Watseka, where he has carried on business continuously since. In Middleport, he was associated with H. P. Laroche and the partnership was continued after the removal to Watseka and up to the time of Mr. Laroche's going to California. Recently, Mr. Laroche has rejoined his old partner and is manager and foreman of the shops. In 1889, Mr. Bishop was burned out and suffered much loss, but resumed business at once, and since the completion of the Herschler Block has occupied one of the stores on the ground floor for a sales-room and has built up a good trade.
On the 14th of February, 1882, Mrs. Bishop was called to her final rest. She was a member of the Baptist Church, was a consistent Christian and an exemplary wife and mother. On Thanksgiving Day of 1884, Mr. Bishop was again married, his second union being with Mrs. Marian M. Blue, widow of John Blue, and a daughter of Benjamin Hill. She is a native of Lockport, N. Y. She belongs to the Methodist Church and is a highly esteemed member of the society.
Mr. Bishop is also a member of the Methodist Church. Socially, he belongs to Iroquois Lodge No. 74, I. O. O. F., of which he has been Treasurer for twenty-six years; and to Iroquois Encampment No. 81. He is also a member of Watseka Lodge No. 446, A. F. & A. M., of which he has been Tyler for twenty-four years, and is a member of Watseka Chapter No, 114, R. A. M., and Kankakee Commandery No. 33, K. T. In politics; he is a stanch Republican and has been an Alderman of the Watseka Common Council for twelve years and City Treasurer for two years.
Mr. Bishop has now been a resident of Watseka and Middleport for thirty years and is esteemed by its citizens as an upright and honorable man. Modest and unassuming in manner, but always reliable, he has never sought distinction, but his brethren of the three links and those of the square and compass have shown their regard for him by keeping him continuously in office for upwards of a quarter of a century.
|ISAAC WHITTED , a self-made man and well-to-do farmer residing on section 26, Artesia Township, claims North Carolina as the State of his nativity. He was born in Chatham County on the 24th of August, 1822, and is a son of Jonathan and Nancy (Clark) Whitted, both of whom were natives of North Carolina. Their family numbered thirteen children, including Isaac, Elbridge, Mary Ann, Enoch, Sarah Jane, Andrew Jackson, William, Caroline, Rosella; Hezekiah, who died when about seven years of age; John Thomas, who died in the prime of life; and two who died in infancy. Seven of the family are yet living.|
It was in 1834 that Jonathan Whitted removed with his family to Indiana, and took up eighty acres of Government land. He soon afterward went to Annapolis, Ind., and in Parke County followed his trade of coopering, which he had learned in early life. He there resided for many years, but died in Vermillion County, Ind., in 1867. His wife passed away ten years previous, her death occurring in Iowa.
In the State of his nativity, Isaac Whitted spent the first twelve years of his life, and then accompanied his parents on their removal to Indiana, where he was reared to manhood. Farming has ever been his principal occupation. On the 16th of January, 1845, he was first married, the lady of his choice being Miss Mary Pierson, daughter of William and Mary (Anderson) Pierson, of Indiana. Five children was born of this union: Andrew J., born October 25, 1845; Rebecca Ann., August 14, 1849; Lydia Ellen, December 24, 1852; Charles Sumner, February 11, 1857; and William Allen, June 26, 1860. These are all now deceased. Rebecca Ann grew to womanhood, and became the wife of Allen Nulin, of Artesia Township, by whom she had two children, Andrew M. and Clara A., who are still living. Our subject's first wife died on the 23d of May, 1862, and Isaac Whitted was again married, on the 21st of May, 1863, his second union being with Miss Emily Stafford, daughter of Thomas and Edith Stafford, who were then residents of Indiana, but came originally from North Carolina.
Unto our subject and his second wife were born seven children: Nancy Estella, born June 3, 1864, is the wife of William Baker, a resident of Buckley, by whom she has two children, Arta and George; Edith Adella, born September 12, 1866; Mary Effie, March 22, 1868; Perly G., November 18, 1869; Fred Elbridge, August 21, 1871; Cora Avis, April 13, 1873; and Birdie L., April 20, 1875. Perly died in infancy, and Edith A. died March 31, 1889. She was the wife of Joseph Stevens, and at her death left a son, Isaac Leroy. The other five children are all yet living, but the mother of this family was called to her final rest on the 4th of August, 1875.
Mr. Whitted left Indiana in 1865 and came to Illinois, purchasing a farm of two hundred acres of land on section 15, Artesia Township, where he made his home for seventeen years. He was industrious and enterprising, and as the time passed and his financial resources were increased, he added to his possessions until he owned five hundred and twenty acres of well-improved hand, which yielded to him a golden tribute in return for his came and cultivation. In 1882, he removed to his farm on section 26, where he purchased one hundred and twenty-seven acres of land adjoining the corporation limits of Buckley on the east, and he here now makes his home. In politics, he is a supporter of Republican principles, his first Presidential vote being cast for Henry Clay. Mr. Whitted started out in life empty-handed, with nothing but a young man's bright hope of future and a determination to succeed, but relying upon his own energies, he has worked his way upward by his ability and good management, and has now a comfortable competence as the reward of his own labors. His example is worthy of emulation, and may well serve to encourage others who, like himself, have to depend merely upon their own resources.
HYPOLITI P. LAROCHE, one of the early settlers of Middleport and Watseka, who has been prominently identified with the undertaking and furniture business of those places for many years, is now associated with J. H. Bishop in that line of trade in Watseka. Mr. Laroche was born in Montreal, Canada, on the 12th of December, 1837, and is a son of Hypoliti and Sophia (Favralu) Laroche, both of whom were natives of Montreal.
In 1855, our subject came to Illinois with his parents and the family settled in Kankakee, where they spent a year. They then removed to Middleport, Iroquois County, but three years later, in 1869, the parents returned to Kankakee. The mother died in 1879, and the father, who survived her, passed away in Watseka in 1882. From the time when he came with his parents our subject has been a resident of this county. On locating in Middleport, he worked with Henry Hogle, a wagon-maker, until the death of his employer in 1858, after which he engaged with Mr. Barnham, a cabinet-maker, under Leander Hogle as foreman. In 1860, he bought out his employer and conducted the business until 1861, when he sold out and formed a partnership with Mr. Hogle in the same line of trade. In 1864, John H. Bishop bought out the interest of Leander Hogle and the business was continued by the firm of Bishop & Laroche until 1868, when our subject sold out and went to California. He spent two years on the Pacific Coast in California and Oregon and then returned to Watseka. His next venture was to buy an interest in the furniture store of his former partner, Mr. Bishop, with whom he was associated until 1880, when he again sold out and went to Colorado. He then spent two years in mining speculation in that State, returning to Watseka in 1882. Once more he engaged in business, and through giving too much credit lost heavily and closed out. Afterward he once more formed a connection with J. H. Bishop in the old line, that of furniture and undertaking, acting as foreman, which connection has continued until the present time. Their relations have always been of the pleasantest kind and are characterized by mutual confidence.
On the 1st of January, 1861, in Middleport, Mr. Laroche was united in the holy bonds of matrimony with Miss Celanier La Bonty, who died on the 6th of March, 1868. In his social relations, he is a member of Watseka Lodge No. 446, A. F. & A. M.; Watseka Chapter No. 114, R. A. M., Iroquois Lodge No. 74, I. O. O. F.; and Iroquois Encampment No. 81, of the same order, all of Watseka. In politics, Mr. Laroche is a Republican and has served two years as Alderman in the City Council. It is no flattery to say of him that he enjoys the confidence and respect of his fellow-citizens in a marked degree, for they esteem him highly as an upright and honorable man.
WILLIAM S. BARNES, junior member of the firm of Doolittle & Barnes, who operates a large creamery and is a successful business man of Onarga Township, has the honor of being a native of Illinois, his birth having occurred in Du Page County on the 20th of August, 1849. His parents, Horace and Louisa (Seeley) Barnes, were both natives of the Green Mountain State, and a sketch of their lives appears elsewhere in this work. They were numbered among the early settlers of Du Page County, and our subject spent the greater part of his boyhood and youth upon his father's farm in that locality. During the winter months he attended the public schools and in the summer season worked in the fields. With the family he came to Iroquois County in 1867, and has here since made his home. Though not sixteen years of age, he enlisted in April, 1865, in Company H, One Hundred and Forty-first Illinois Infantry, and served about six months.
Mr. Barnes was united in marriage December 16, 1871, with Miss Ella Harper, daughter of Samuel H. and Mary (Lehigh) Harper, of this county. Their union has been blessed with two children, both daughters, Louisa J. and Florence.
In 1884, Mr. Barnes formed a partnership with Elkanah Doolittle, who is a resident of Onarga. Our subject manages the business and is the resident partner. They own a large creamery with a capacity of one thousand pounds of butter per day. This is located on the farm of Mr. Doolittle, which comprises three hundred acres of land in Onarga Township. The farm, however, is controlled by Mr. Barnes, who has had charge of it for fifteen years. The firm owns about fifty head of milch cows, and an excellent quality of butter is manufactured, the product of their creamery being shipped to the New Orleans market, where it finds a ready sale. Socially, he is a member of W. A. Babcock Post No. 416, G. A. R., of Onarga. In his political affiliations, Mr. Barnes is a supporter of Republican principles, and in religious belief he is a Presbyterian, holding membership with the church in Onarga. He possesses good business ability, is enterprising and industrious, and as the result of his well-directed efforts has met success in his undertakings.
JOHN McCAFFERTY, who owns and operates three hundred and twenty-five acres of valuable land in Artesia Township, pleasantly situated about a mile from Buckley, was born near Crawfordsville, in Montgomery County, Ind., May 16, 1843, and is one of seven children, whose parents were David and Martha (Canine) McCafferty, the former a native of Ohio and the latter of Kentucky. Grandfather McCafferty emigrated from the Highlands of Scotland. In 1855, David McCafferty removed with his family to this State, locating in Gridley Township, McLean County, near the present site of Gridley. The farm which he purchased contained two hundred and fifty-five acres of land, and to its cultivation and improvement he devoted his energies until his death, which occurred in 1874. His wife had died previously. The children of their family were Richard, Sarah Ellen, John, Mary Melissa, Anna, James K. and William S.
Mr. McCafferty, whose name heads this record, spent the first twelve years of his life in his native State, and then came with his parents to Illinois, where he was reared to manhood in the usual manner of farmer lads. He was well trained in the labors of the field, and his educational privileges were those which the common schools afforded. After attaining his majority he was united in marriage with Miss Margaret Snyder, daughter of Jacob and Elizabeth (Schultz) Snyder, their union being celebrated on Christmas Eve of 1868. Mrs. McCafferty was born in Brown County, Ohio, on the 1st of August, 1845. Her parents had two children who were born in Germany. Coming to America, they spent most of their lives in Ohio, where her father carried on farming and dairying. Both died in Ohio. Mrs. McCafferty is one of a family of nine children, of whom eight are still living. Unto Mr. and Mrs. McCafferty have been born four children, three daughters and a son, as follows: Carrie Ann is now the wife of Wesley Lock a farmer residing about two miles from Gridley, Ill.; Mary Josephine, a graduate of the State Normal School, of Normal, Ill., is a teacher by profession; Florence E. and John Albert are still at home.
It was about the year 1865 that Mr. McCafferty began farming for himself on an eighty-acre tract of land in McLean County, where he resided from that time until the spring of 1892. He then came to Iroquois County, Ill. In the meantime he had added to his original farm arid extended its boundaries by additional purchase until he owned two hundred acres of valuable land, which he sold on coming to this county. For several years he engaged extensively in the breeding of hogs, but now devotes his time and attention principally to farming. In the winter of 1891-92, he purchased his present farm, to which he removed in the spring. It is a well-improved place and already shows the impress of the owner's industry and enterprise, which are numbered among his chief characteristics. Viewed from a financial standpoint, Mr. McCafferty's life has been a successful one. He is a man of good business ability, and by well-directed efforts he has acquired a handsome competence, which classes him among the successful farmers of the community. His life has been well and worthily spent, and his upright character has won him high regard. All the family are members of the Christian Church, and are numbered among the best citizens of the community. In politics he is a supporter of Democratic principles. Socially, he is a Mason.
THOMAS JOHN has the honor of being a native of Iroquois County and is a representative of one of the early families. His father, Lemuel John, was born in Adams County, Ohio, May 8,1807, and was a son of Thomas and Nancy John. He grew to manhood upon a farm and acquired his education in the common schools, but his advantages were limited. When a young man of twenty-four years he emigrated to Illinois, in 1831, and cast his lot with the early settlers of Milford Township, Iroquois County, where he entered land from the Government. Subsequently, he sold that claim to Mr. Vennum and removed to Belmont Township. He was married in that township about 1836 to Miss Catherine Williamson, a native of Adams County, Ohio, and unto them were born the following children: William, who died in childhood; Sarah, wife of George Wilson, of Nebraska; Nancy, wife of Robert Clifton, a resident farmer of Ash Grove Township; Thomas, of this sketch; and Samuel, who is living retired in Woodland. When Lemuel John came to this county he was in limited circumstances, but by industry and enterprise he worked his way upward and gained a comfortable home. His death occurred in Belmont Township, November 30, 1847, at the age of forty-one years. His wife survived him twenty years, passing away on the 10th of May, 1867. They had experienced all the privations and hardships of pioneer life, and at the time of the Black Hawk War were forced to leave their home and flee to the fort in Danville for protection.
The subject of this sketch was born on the old homestead in Belmont Township, October 29, 1841, and was reared amid the wild scenes of frontier life. As soon as old enough to handle the plow, he began farming, and at a very early age the management of the homestead fell upon his young shoulders. With the assistance of his mother, he carried on the home farm and attended to all of the business interests. Throughout his entire life, he was engaged in agricultural pursuits and stock-raising. The old homestead is now in his possession and he owns four hundred and fifty-five acres of arable land. His home is a handsome and commodious residence which is supplemented by good barns and all other necessary outbuildings, and these are surrounded by waving fields of grain which yield abundant harvests as the reward for the care and cultivation bestowed upon them. The farm is one of the desirable places in Belmont Township.
On the 23d of October, 1867, Mr. John was married in Milford Township to Elizabeth V. Webster, a native of Ohio and a daughter of Robert and Mary J. Webster, with whom she came to Illinois from Indiana. Her parents are now residents of Milford. Unto Mr. and Mrs. John have been born the following children: Catherine Edith, wife of Isaac W. Kirby, a farmer of Belmont Township; Lillian and Elizabeth V., both of whom are engaged in teaching school; Eloise, who was educated in Hoopeston and is now keeping house for her father; Sarah M. and Lemuel, at home. The children were all born and reared on the home farm. The mother of this family died March 30, 1891, and her loss was mourned by many friends as well as her immediate family, for she was a lady of many excellencies of character and won the love of all who knew her. She died in the faith of the Methodist Episcopal Church, her membership being in Woodland.
Although not a member of the church, Mr. John has contributed liberally to its support; neither is his aid withheld from any enterprise calculated to prove of public good. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and of the Odd Fellows' society. In 1860, he east his first Presidential vote for Stephen A. Douglas and has since been a supporter of the Democratic party on questions of State and National importance, but at bear elections he supports the man whom he thinks best qualified for the office, regardless of party affiliations. Mr. John has had to make his own way in the world, but by his perseverance, enterprise and good business ability he has secured a handsome competence and become a successful and leading farmer of the community. He is numbered among the leading and influential citizens of Belmont Township, where he has made his home for the long period of fifty-one years and is held in universal respect.
Mr. and Mrs. Dixon
HAMPTON S. DIXON, a representative citizen, and leading farmer of Douglas Township, carries on a farm on section 6. His birth occurred in Chester Township, Meigs County, Ohio, January 23, 1831. He is a son of Thomas and Mary (Northrup) Dixon. His paternal grandfather emigrated from Virginia to Meigs County, Ohio, where the father was born and reared. The mother's father, when thirteen years old, while playing at Point Pleasant, on the Ohio River, was captured by the Indians, who still frequented that part of the country, and was held captive by them for eight years. He learned their language and habits during that time, and it was with difficulty that he was induced to leave them. The mother of our subject was born in Gallia County, Ohio.
After the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Dixon, they lived for some five years in Meigs County, but in 1835 emigrated by way of the Ohio, Mississippi and Illinois Rivers to La Salle County, Ill. By trade Mr. Dixon was a boat-builder until coming to Illinois, after which he carried on farming. Politically, he was a Whig and later a Republican. Both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Their deaths occurred within twenty-four hours of each other in Oskaloosa, Iowa, in March, 1880, and they were buried in the same grave in, La Salle County, Ill. They were much respected and esteemed throughout the section in which they dwelt. Of their family of five sons and three daughters, only three are now living: Francis Marion, a member of Company H, Twentieth Illinois Infantry, was killed in the battle of Shiloh. Charles H., who was in the same company and regiment, served thirty-eight months and then re-enlisted in Hancock's Veteran Corps. He died of smallpox at Washington, D. C. The living members of the family are Hampton S.; James W., a farmer of Iroquois County; and George W., a farmer of North Dakota.
Our subject is the eldest of the family. He was only four years of age when with his parents he came to La Salle County. He was reared on his father's farm and received a very limited education in the old-time schools. When twenty years of age, he taught for one term, boarding around, as was the custom in those days.
Mr. Dixon remained at home until his marriage, on the 5th of November, 1852, his bride being Nancy J. Tullis, a native of Ohio who emigrated with her parents to La Salle County in 1835. Of their union, seven children were born: Hannah died when seventeen years of age; Mary died at the age of eighteen; Essie, wife of A. S. Sherwood, Jr., resides at Filley, Neb.; Alice, wife of J. C. Howe, Jr., resides in Denver, Col. Charles H., bass singer in the Du Pauw Quartet, he entered the University of Chicago at its grand opening October 1, 1892, to remain until his graduation in the classical course. He expects to take up the procession of a minister. He led to the marriage altar, July 26, 1892, Miss Mary David, daughter of the Rev. Charles David, of Onarga, Ill., and they reside in Chicago. George, a farmer of Beatrice, Neb.; and Jennie, a teacher of Filley, Neb. All of the children, with the exception of George and Mary, have been teachers, and nearly all of them attended the Onarga Seminary.
On the 26th of July, 1881, Mr. Dixon was again married, the lady of his choice being Mrs. Carrie V. Jayne, nee Wright, who was born near La Porte, Ind., December 21, 1841. She is a daughter of Joseph Y. and Tabitha (Evans) Wright. Her paternal grandfather, Benjamin Wright, came from England to Pennsylvania, where he married a German lady, and later emigrated to Meigs County, Ohio. There Mrs. Dixon's father was born. Her mother was born across the line in West Virginia, though of Welsh extraction, her father being a native of Wales. At an early day Mrs. Dixon's parents removed to Indiana, living for a time at Terre Haute, then in Porter County, and later in La Porte County, where the father died at the age of sixty. The mother lived to be ninety-one years old. They were both members of the Methodist Church until after the father's death, when the mother joined the Christian Church. Mr. Wright was a well-to-do farmer, and was politically a Whig.
Mrs. Dixon is the youngest of twelve children, of whom nine are still living. She was reared on a farm and her early education was such as the district afforded. She received instructions from C. P. Snow, brother of Col. Snow, at present Congressman. She supplemented her education by a course of fifteen months' schooling at the Valparaiso Normal School, then under the auspices of the Methodist Episcopal Church. When sixteen years of age, she taught her first school. In 1861, she came to Livingston County, Ill., and began her successful career as a teacher. In 1865, she entered Eureka College, from which she was graduated the following year. For some twenty-five years she followed teaching in Livingston County. A year of that time she taught in Major College, at Bloomington, also a year in the Gibbon schools and a year in Gilman. She was first married in Livingston County, December 25, 1868, to Milton O. Jayne, of Ohio, and a teacher by profession. That calling he followed for a number of years, and died July 18, 1876, in Ford County. Mrs. Dixon still owns a farm of one hundred and sixty acres in that county. Mr. and Mrs. Dixon have one child, Carrie Maud.
Until thirty-eight years of age, our subject followed farming as an occupation, and at that time again turned his attention to teaching. He began his school without a certificate, with the understanding that he would teach without remuneration if he was not able to get the same. It is needless to say that he did not teach for nothing, for after the first term he received a first-grade certificate and continued to hold one as long as he taught. In March, 1875, he came to his present home. The place was unimproved, only fourteen acres of it having been broken. He now owns one hundred and sixty acres, which are thoroughly tiled. For several years he has assisted J. W. Zea in his grain office. He has been doing a real-estate business, renting and looking after farms for their owners. Mr. Dixon was a teacher for over twenty years in La Salle, Ford and Iroquois Counties.
Politically, Mr. Dixon is a Republican, his first Presidential vote having been cast for Gen. Scott, and his succeeding ballots have been given in support of the Republican nominees, he is a member of the Central Committee from his district. In La Salle County he was Deputy Sheriff for four years, Constable sixteen years, and Township Clerk for a year. He is now a member of time Board of Commissioners for La Hogue Drainage District. Both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church of La Hogue, he having been a Steward and Trustee since the organization of the church. He has also been the Sunday-school Superintendent for many years. Socially, he is a member of the Masonic fraternity. Since coming to this county, Mr. Dixon has written considerable for the local papers of the county.
On the anniversary of the eleventh wedding day of Mr. and Mrs. Dixon, their friends gave them a pleasant surprise. Coming en masse, they spent the day and remembered them with a fine dinner set. Messrs. Tullis and Mace presented them with silver knives and forks, and his children gave to Mr. Dixon a gold-headed cane. He has seen all the phases of pioneer life. When his father brought his family to La Salle County, there were nine in the family to care for, and on his arrival there he had but $5 in money. Until a log house could be erected, they were obliged to live in a tent. In those days shoes and clothing were made at home. The father would often work a whole day for a bushel of corn, afterward carrying it a distance of three miles on his back to the mill in order to have it ground. He owned no team at first, but later had an ox-team. At one time for nearly four months the family had to live on pork and hominy as they were not able to get any corn ground. Mr. Dixon has been Vice President and Superintendent of the agricultural department of the Ford County Agricultural Association since its organization.
A. C. JOHNSON, a prominent citizen and honored pioneer of Iroquois County, who is now living retired in Woodland, well deserves representation in this volume, for during almost half a century he has been connected with the history of this community. A native of Ohio, he was born in Columbus, January 12, 1822. His father, Isaac Johnson, was a native of Virginia, but during his boyhood emigrated with his parents to the-Buckeye State. His father was a Revolutionary hero, and died in Ohio. Isaac served in the War of 1812 under Gen. William Henry Harrison, and participated in the battles of Ft. Meigs and Themes. In Columbus he married Nancy Tucker, a native of Virginia. Her father, a native of Delaware, also wore the blue and buff, and served throughout the War for Independence. The family also had its representatives in the Mexican War. James and Edward, brothers of our subject, enlisted in the Fourth Ohio Regiment under Col. Bruff; the former died in Vera Cruz, but Edward served throughout the entire struggle.
We now take up the personal history of A. C. Johnson, who is the only surviving member of the family of seven children. He was reared in an old log cabin, and was educated by the light of the fire-place in the subscription school. His advantages were very limited, and, as he was the eldest son in the family, at the age of twelve years he took charge of the home farm, which he operated until the death of his mother, which occurred on the 1st of March, 1846. In 1843 Mr. Johnson made a trip to Illinois, where he spent the winter and located land, but did not make a permanent settlement until 1847. He secured forty acres of unimproved land from the Government on section 19, Belmont Township, and upon the farm which he there developed made his home until November, 1891. In connection with general farming, he also engaged in teaching school for some years in this county, and followed the carpenter's trade for some time.
On the 14th of September, 1849, Mr. Johnson was joined in wedlock with Miss Mary M. Body, a native of Fountain County, Ind., who at the age of ten years came to this county with her parents. Her father and mother were both natives of Pennsylvania, and were of German descent. Ten children were born unto our subject and his wife: Laura, now the wife of Joseph Stevens, a farmer of Kansas; Susan, wife of Frank Hillis, of Ash Grove; Emory, who is engaged in farming in Kansas; Serelda, wife of E. S. Sperry, of Vermilion County; Josie, deceased, wife of Jonas M. Rush; Chase A., an attorney at law, of Albuquerque, N. M.; Mahlon, a real-estate dealer of Winfield, Kan.; Serena, now Mrs. Fairchild, of Danville, Vermilion County; Frank, who graduated from the State University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor; and Rosa, at home. The children were all provided with good educational advantages, attending the public schools and the Normal College of Valparaiso, Ind.
Mr. Johnson and his wife are members of the United Brethren Church. He has ever taken quite a prominent part in public affairs. He cast his first Presidential vote for J. P. Hale, and was one of the original Abolitionist. He was a warm friend of Lovejoy, and his home was a station on the famous Underground Railroad. When the Republican party was formed to prevent the further extension of slavery, he at once espoused the cause and aided in its organization in this county. He has often served as delegate to its conventions, and has ever been a prominent worker in its interests. He held a number of offices of honor and trust. For sixteen years he served as Justice of the Peace, was also Assessor and Township Clerk, discharging his duties with promptness and fidelity which won him the commendation of all.
In his business career Mr. Johnson won success, and he has now a handsome property as the result of his own well-directed efforts. He owns three hundred and twenty acres of land, which was transformed from a tract of wild prairie into a valuable and fertile farm by his own industry. In the early pioneer days he raised all his grain by hand and harvested with a sickle. He is familiar with the pioneer history of this county, having located here before the introduction of the railroad, and when many of the now flourishing towns and villages had not sprung into existence. His market in those days was Chicago. He aided in the organization of the township, and no man has done more for its upbuilding than our subject. He is now living retired in the enjoyment of a well-earned rest, and in his declining years is surrounded by many warm friends who hold him in the highest esteem.
JOSEPH GALLOWAY is a member of the hardware firm of Galloway & Doan, of Wellington, and is one of the leading farmers of the township, his residence being on section 1, Lovejoy Township. He is also an honored veteran of the late war. More than a quarter of a century has elapsed since he came to Iroquois County, and as a pioneer and valued citizen he has become so widely known, that he needs no special introduction to our readers.
Our subject was born in Fountain County, Ind., October 19, 1840, and is the third in a family which numbered three sons and five daughters. The parents were Samuel and Prudence (Manning) Galloway. The father was born in the Empire State, about 1813, and died in 1883. He was reared amid the Shakers of Ohio, and was an agriculturist. He was also a mechanic and cabinet-maker. In early life he exercised his right of franchise in support of the Whig party, and took an active part in the campaign of "Tippecanoe and Tyler, too." At the organization of the Republican party he joined its ranks. His wife was born in Pennsylvania in 1817, and is still living on the old homestead in Warren County, Ind. Of their children seven are yet living: Lorinda, wife of D. W. C. Adsit, a farmer of Lovejoy Township; Joseph of this sketch; Matilda, the wife of Charles Jinks, a farmer of Lovejoy; Martha, wife of William McCoy, an agriculturist of Canada East; Samuel, who is married and follows farming in Vermilion County; David E. J., who is married and resides on the old homestead in Indiana; and Frances, who is the wife of Fremont Messmore, of Vermilion County.
Our subject spent the greater part of his boyhood days upon his father's farm in Warren County, Ind., and was educated in the common schools, by private instruction, and by self-culture. Ere attaining his majority, he offered his services to the Government, enlisting as a member of Company K, Thirty-third Indiana Infantry, under Capt. Niederauer and Col. Coburn, of Indianapolis. He was mustered in September 12, 1861, responding to the first call for three hundred thousand volunteers. The company joined the regiment at Camp Dick Robinson, Ky.; and orders soon afterward came to proceed the battle of Wild Cat, Ky. This was the first engagement fought in Kentucky. Subsequently the Thirty-third Indiana went to London, Ky., in pursuit of the rebels, and there was stationed for a time, the troops all being ill with the measles. They then retreated to Crab Orchard Hospital, and thence went to Lexington. Mr. Galloway was taken sick with typhoid fever, resulting from cold contracted when he had the measles, and was confined in the hospital for six long months. He there endured the hardships of illness away from home, but through the kindness of the Ladies' Aid Society, he received competent medical aid, and at length recovered, he owes his life to those "Angels of Mercy." Afterward the regiment went to Cumberland Ford, Ky. In April, 1862, it was ordered to take Cumberland Gap. About the 20th of May they removed across the Cumberland Mountains to Rogers Gap, and, finding the rebels had evacuated, took possession. The enemy then came up in the rear, surrounded our troops, and after about two months they were forced by a failure of supplies to cut their way out which took seventeen days.
In February, 1863, the command to which Mr. Galloway belonged was ordered to Louisville, and embarked on a transport bound for Ft. Donelson, on the Cumberland River. They participated in the second battle at that place, and from there went to Nashville, Tenn., and later to Franklin, where the brigade was sent out on a reconnoitering tour against Gen. Van Dorn. They met the enemy in battle on the 4th of March, and the following day moved on to Thompson's Station, where the battle was fought. The Union army was led into ambush, and, valiantly fighting for six hours, were finally captured, for their ammunition gave out, and they were only eleven hundred against eighteen thousand. They were sent to Libby Prison at Richmond, where Mr. Galloway remained for about a month, when he was paroled. He then went to City Point, and afterward to Fortress Monroe on a flag-of-truce boat, and later to Annapolis, Baltimore, Columbus (Ohio), and on home, where he remained until he was exchanged on the 1st of July, 1863. He rejoined the forces at Nashville, and did guard duty from Chattanooga to Christiana, where he remained until January 26, 1864, when he veteranized and returned home on a thirty-day furlough. On the expiration of that period he rejoined his regiment at Chattanooga, Tenn., and entered upon the famous Atlanta campaign. His regiment was a part of the Third Division, Second Brigade, Twentieth Army Corps, commanded by Gen. Joe Hooker, and the second engagement was at Resaca, Ga. They were under almost constant fire for one hundred and four days, participating in the battles of Dallas Wood, Kenesaw Mountain, Marietta, and in all the engagements in that campaign. He was actively engaged in the battle of Peach Tree Creek, where for two hours they met the enemy in a hand-to-hand conflict, many of the boys on both sides fighting for the last time. On this occasion Samuel Williams, a comrade of our subject, and an honorable, brave soldier was killed. The mess had just made their coffee and passed in their canteens, and as the company was entering the battle, Williams remarked to his cousin that he was going to be killed or badly wounded, and gave him his pocket-book and day-book. His comrades asked him to keep back, but he bravely replied that he might as well go as any, and marched on. In a half-hour his body was found, pierced through both shoulders, and through the head from the front. Mr. Galloway was by his side when the poor fellow was killed.
On the 22d and 28th of July occurred two hard battles at Atlanta, and the Thirty-third Indiana Regiment carried the first flag into the city after its surrender. A month later they started on the celebrated march to the sea, and Mr. Galloway was always with his command. At Savannah a slight skirmish occurred, and for two weeks the troops lived upon rice from the shock. After remaining there for about a month, the regiment reached Columbia, S. C., on the 17th of February, 1865. The town was burned by the rebels. History contradicts this, but the facts are fully substantiated by the soldiers who were present. From that place time troops made their way through North Carolina to Averysboro, where a battle was fought, March 16, 1865, and the Thirty-third lost heavily. They then went to Bentonville, N. C., where another battle occurred on the 19th of March, the rebels trying to cut off the troops who were acting as guards to the wagon trains, but they failed. They then went to Goldsboro, and afterward to Raleigh, where Gen. Joseph E. Johnston surrendered his forces, April 17, 1865. Later they marched to Richmond, and on to Washington, D. C., where the Thirty-third Indiana participated in the Grand Review, the most brilliant military pageant ever beheld in America. After about a month, Mr. Galloway went to Louisville, Ky., by way of Harper's Ferry, and on the 21st of July, 1865, was mustered out in Indianapolis, after almost four years of service. He was always found at his post of duty, valiantly defending the Old Flag, and of his army record he may well be proud. All honor is due to the noble men who wore the blue and saved their country from destruction. Our subject was promoted to the rank of Corporal and afterward made Sergeant.
Mr. Galloway returned home in poor health. He began herding cattle in Lovejoy Township, and after two years purchased his farm of one hundred and sixty acres, upon which he has since resided. The same year he married Miss Louisa Haines, daughter of Harvey Haines. Their union was celebrated April 28, 1867, and unto them have been born two sons and three daughters, all yet living: Ella, wife of Frank Johnson, a salesman in Pate's store, of Wellington; Wilbur U., who was graduated from the Commercial College of Terre Haute, Ind., is in the hardware business in Wellington; Hettie L., wife of William Lockhart, who resides in Prairie Green Township; Maggie E., wife of Henry Evans, of Lovejoy Township; and David A., at home. The mother of this family was called to her final rest, January 16, 1875, and on the 28th of March, 1877, Mr. Galloway married Miss Rebecca Doan, sister of Capt. W. V. Doan, of Wellington, and a daughter of Elisha and Mary Ann (Ward) Doan. They have two children, a son and daughter, John D. and Fannie.
In politics, Mr. Galloway is a stanch Republican, having supported that party since he cast his first Presidential vote for Gen. Grant. He has frequently been a delegate to the county conventions, and has held various public offices. He helped organize his township, and has been in some official position since. For ten years he has been the efficient Supervisor of Lovejoy Township, and is now Chairman of the Board. For eight years he was Town Clerk, for three years was Assessor, was Collector for one year, Highway Commissioner for twelve years, School Trustee for five years, and School Director for two terms. The promptness and fidelity with which he has discharged his duties have led to his frequent re-elections. Socially, he is a member of the Odd Fellows' society, of Wellington. He belongs to Harmon Post No. 115, G. A. R., of Hoopeston, and is Senior Grand Commander of the Eastern Illinois Department. His wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and he has given liberally to its support, and to all enterprises calculated to prove of public benefit.
The farm of Mr. Galloway comprises two hundred and eighty acres of valuable land. It is supplied with all modern improvements, and a beautiful country residence, which is the abode of hospitality. Mr. and Mrs. Galloway are prominent citizens of his community, and in social circles rank high. In summing up the life of our subject, we see that he was a valiant soldier, and an honored early settler, that he is a valued citizen, and that his excellencies of character and his sterling worth have brought him the confidence and high regard of all with whom he has come in contact.
LEMUEL B. RUSSELL, one of the well-to-do citizens of Ash Grove Township, who is now living retired at his pleasant residence on section 35, was born in Warren County, Ind., November 30, 1829, and is a son of William Russell. His father was a native of Virginia. In Ohio, he married Miss Fannie Hall, a native of the Buckeye State, and in 1828 they removed to Warren County, Ind., where, in the midst of the forest, he hewed out a farm. The mother died in Warren County, Ind., and the father also spent his last days there. Their family numbered eleven children, four of whom are yet living: Lawrence, a resident farmer of Wessington Springs, S. Dak.; Mrs. Nancy Jones, who is living in Attica, Ind.; Lemuel, whose name heads this sketch; and Mrs. Jane Rhodes, who resides in Warren County, near the old homestead.
The subject of this sketch was reared in the county of his nativity. His mother died when he was a lad of ten summers. His privileges, educational and otherwise, were very limited. He conned his lessons in a log schoolhouse with slab seats and a huge fireplace, and windows only on one side, but his training in farm work was not meagre. As soon as he was old enough to handle the plow, he began work in the fields, and at the age of sixteen he started out to earn his own livelihood, since which time he has been dependent upon his own resources. He worked as a farm hand at $12 per month, and when by his industry and perseverance he had acquired some capital, he purchased one hundred and eighty acres of land and made his home upon that farm for three years. In 1862, he came to Iroquois County and in Fountain Creek Township purchased two hundred acres of land, making his home upon that farm for twenty years. During the present decade, he has resided upon his present farm, and to general farming and stock-raising has devoted his time and attention until quite recently.
On the 29th of December, 1859, in Warren County, Ind., Mr. Russell wedded Miss Ann E. Hickman, who was born and reared in that county and is a daughter of Peter J. and Mary (Gullett) Hickman. Her parents were married over sixty years ago, and for forty years they resided upon one farm. In their family there was never a death until the father was called to his final rest. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Russell have been born four children, but Peter W., who was born in Indiana, died at the age of six years, and Lawrence died in infancy. The living are Charles E., whom we will mention later on; and Lemuel B., who is now attending Rush Medical College, of Chicago. The mother of this family is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church in Goodwine. Mr. Russell is liberal in his religious views, but his life has been one of honor and upright dealing in all business relations and has won him confidence and high regard. He cast his first Presidential vote for Franklin Pierce in 1852, and has since been a stalwart supporter of time Democratic party. He takes great interest in political affairs and has often been a delegate to his party's conventions. He is now living a retired life, enjoying a well-earned rest and the fruits of his former labor. His business career has been a remarkably successful one and by his well-directed efforts he has arisen to a position of wealth.
Charles Elbert Russell, who now operates the old home farm, was born on the homestead on section 36, Ash Grove Township, April 4, 1865, in a log cabin which still stands, one of the few landmarks of pioneer days that yet remain. His boyhood days were spent under the parental roof, and his early education, acquired in the public schools, was supplemented by study in the Wesleyan University, of Bloomington, and a course in the Onarga Seminary. He left school at the age of twenty-one and engaged in teaching for about five years during the winter season, while in the summer months he worked upon the farm. He was a successful instructor. On the 5th of April, 1887, near Pine Village, Ind., he led to the marriage altar Miss Anna M. Blind, who was born and reared in Warren County. Their union has been blessed with one son, Baxley B., born on the 28th of June, 1891.
For the past five years, Mr. Russell has been operating the old homestead. It comprises two hundred and sixty-five acres of valuable land, under a high state of cultivation and well improved. The place is complete in all its appointments and is considered one of the model farms in the community. Mr. Russell is a Democrat in politics and has served as a delegate to the county and congressional conventions. His wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of Goodwine. They are numbered among the leading young people of the community and rank high in social circles. Their home is a hospitable one. Mr. Russell is a worthy representative of a pioneer family and is a wide-awake and enterprising but mess man, who has proved himself a valued citizen of the community.
CLEMENT THOMAS is a representative of one of the first families to locate in Iroquois County, and for sixty-one years he has here resided. He was born in Adams County, Ohio, June 22, 1820, and is a son of Asa and Eleanor (Freeman) Thomas, both of whom were natives of Maryland. When quite a young boy, Asa Thomas lost his father, and a few years afterward removed with his mother to the Buckeye State. At the age of twenty-six he married Miss Freeman, and shortly afterward left home to enter the service of his county in time War of 1812. While in the war their eldest son, William, was born. After his return home, Mr. Thomas continued to reside in Ohio until 1829, when he moved to Tippecanoe County, Ind. In March, 1831, he emigrated to Illinois and preempted a tract of and three-quarters of a a mile northeast of Milford. About three years later he sold this and purchased a farm of one hundred and sixty acres a mile south of Milford. There he reared his large family.
Unto Mr. and Mrs. Thomas were born twelve children, six sons and six daughters, of whom the sons and one daughter are yet living: William married Mary J. Harness, and had eight children: America, Asa, George, Van Ransselaer, John, Sedessa, Madama and Frank. Allie is the wife of Elijah Sapp, of Iroquois County, and unto them were born nine children: William, Nellie, Benjamin, Mary, Sallie, Allie, Elijah, Joseph and Samuel. Nancy married Foster Moore, and they had seven children: Lucinda, George, John Asa, William Aaron, Sarah, Nancy and Jackson. Sarah, the fourth child in the father's family, became the wife of Michael Harness, by whom she had seven children: Sophira, Katie, Asa John, Phoebe, Benjamin, Ella and Nancy. Clement of this sketch is the next younger. Aaron married Barbara Jane Pancake, but has no living children. Asa wedded Jane Bragg, and unto them were born eleven children, eight of whom are yet living: Rue, Carrie, Benjamin, Rosie, Leroy, Lavina, Pearl and Ollie. Sarah the next younger of the Thomas family, married Catherine Pancake, by whom he had two children: Willard and Elmore. The mother died and he then wedded Mrs. Maria Wilson, and unto them have been born the following children, who are yet living: Ella, Flora, Belle, Leota, Eliza, Emanuel, Eddie and George. Benjamin F. married Miss Amanda A. Hoover, and is represented on another page of this work. Mary Jane, the tenth child, died when about twelve years old. Alonzo, the youngest of the Thomas family, died when a small boy; and one died in infancy.
The mother of this family died in 1835, and Asa Thomas was again married, his second union being with Mrs. Margaret (Robinson) Johnson. They had two children: Leroy and Delilah. His third wife was Mrs. (Tatman) Wilson, and unto them was born three children, but Josephine is the only one that reached maturity.
We now take up the personal history of our subject, Clement Thomas, who is widely known throughout Iroquois County. Upon his father's farm he was reared to manhood, experiencing many of the hardships and trials of pioneer life. In the winter of 1837-38, the most terrible winter known to the inhabitants of thus State, two gentlemen by the names of Frame and Hildreth tried to cross a fork of Fountain Creek, but finding the stream so greatly swollen they concluded to return to Bicknel's Point. Night, however, overtook them and as it was impossible to find their way they made such preparations as they could to spend the night in the snow. Fearing that they would freeze to death before morning, they determined to kill a horse belonging to Mr. Frame and warm their hands and feet in the blood, and when that should become cold they would take the life of the other horse. They killed the first but not the second. Mr. Frame froze to death with his hands and feet in the blood of the animal. Mr. Hildreth, however, was only badly frozen, and in the morning he mounted the remaining horse and forcing him across two dangerous ice gorges reached the house of Benjamin Burson. He received kind came and attention from Mr. Burson, and our subject and these gentlemen also helped to recover the frozen body of Mr. Frame. Mr. Hildreth at length recovered, but suffered the loss of his toes and fingers. Many other reminiscences of pioneer days can Mr. Thomas relate. He has been an eye-witness of the entire growth and development of the county, and its history is familiar to him from the days of its early infancy.
April 22, 1842, Mr. Thomas was first married, his union being with Mary Lewis, daughter of Benjamin and Mary Lewis. Unto them were born three children: Samuel, Lavina and Mary, but the last-named is now deceased. The mother died in 1848, and the following year Mr. Thomas married Martha Lewis, a sister of his first wife, by whom he had seven children, but Nancy, Sarah, Martha, Alice and Jesse are now deceased. Marcus and Emma yet survive. Mrs. Thomas was called to her final rest in 1870. For his third wife Mr. Thomas chose Mrs. Rosella Berket, daughter of Benjamin Raymond. They had two children but both are now deceased and the mother died in 1873. The lady who now bears the name of Mrs. Thomas was formerly Mrs. Nancy Peyton. Their wedding was celebrated in June, 1875.
Our subject has spent the greater part of his life in farming, but from 1852 until 1858 he engaged in the milling business in Milford. He then returned to the old homestead and engaged in agricultural pursuits for some time longer, but is now quietly living a retired life in Milford, resting in the enjoyment of the fruits of his former toil. In politics, he is a supporter of Republican principles, and has held several public offices, the duties of which he discharged within promptness and fidelity. Socially, he is a member of Milford Lodge No. 158, A. F. & A. M. As before stated, few have longer been residents of Iroquois County than Mr. Thomas. He is alike held in high regard by young and old, rich and poor, and we take pleasure in presenting to our readers the life record of this honored pioneer.
|SAMUEL WARRICK, Sr. , one of time most extensive land-owners of this county and a prominent and representative citizen, is now engaged in farming on section 17, Concord Township. He is also one of the earliest settlers of this community and for many years has been prominently identified with its history and upbuilding. As he is widely and favorably known, his sketch will prove of interest to many of our readers.|
Mr. Warrick was born in Warren County, Ohio, on the 17th of June, 1811. His father, Samuel Warrick, was a native of New Jersey arid was of English descent. His mother was born in the Keystone State and came of an old Pennsylvania Dutch family. Samuel was reared to manhood upon his father's farm and was early inured to labor in the field. His educational advantages were very meagre, for the schools near his home were very primitive. On attaining his majority, he began learning the carpenter's trade, and after serving an apprenticeship of a year and a-half began to take contracts. For twenty years he followed that tirade in Ohio and after coming to Illinois.
At the age of twenty-six, Mr. Warrick married Miss Delilah Jenkins, and unto them were born five children, but only one is now living, Absalom, who was born in 1840 and resides in Sheldon. The mother of this family died in 1846. In 1839, Mr. Warrick removed to Indiana and settled near Covington, where he purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land. There, in connection within work at his trade, he carried on farming for a period of seven years, or until 1846. That year witnessed his removal to Attica, Ind. While there he took stock in a railroad and by so doing lost about $1,000, which at that time was a great drawback to him. During his residence in Attica he was again married, his second union being with Miss Eleanor Clauson. They were married in 1848, and unto them were born ten children, the following of whom are living: John is now a resident of Center City, Neb., where he carries on farming; Mrs. Alice Fairman resides near La Fayette, Ind.; Daniel is a farmer of Concord Township; George is also an agriculturist of the same township; Samuel follows farming in Concord Township; and Mrs. Ella Cobb makes her home in St. Johns, Kan.
The year 1853 witnessed the arrival of our subject and his family in Iroquois County. He purchased two hundred and twenty acres of land and afterward entered some from the Government. With characteristic energy he began the development of a farm, and, as his financial resources have increased, has extended its boundaries until it now comprises eight hundred and forty acres in a body. He also owns an additional tract of one hundred and sixty acres. His first home was replaced in 1869 by his palatial residence of today. Many other excellent improvements have been made, and the place seems complete in all its appointments, being one of time model farms of the community.
|In 1869, Mr. Warrick was called upon to mourn the loss of his second wife, and on the 18th of March, 1873, he married Mrs. Lizzie Short, of La Fayette, Ind. She was born in New York City, March 27, 1832. Her father was Judge William Jenner, of Paterson, N. J., and her grandfather, William Jenner, was also a professional man. He was a son of Dr. Edward Jenner, who discovered the process of vaccination. He was born in Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, in 1749, and died in 1823. On the erection of his statue in England, all his descendants had half-fare tickets to attend, but Mrs. Warrick did not go. Her mother, who bore the maiden name of Sophia Deamies, was born in New York City, of Pennsylvania-Dutch ancestry. She came of a famous family of the Baptist Church.|
Her death occurred in DeSoto, Wis., in 1880. Mrs. Warrick was first married to John Short, in La Fayette, Ind., whither she had removed at the age of seventeen years. The death of her husband occurred in 1861. She continued to reside in La Fayette until her marriage to Mr. Warrick in 1873, and since that time they have resided in Concord Township. Unto them have been born three children: Pearl, born in this township, June 25, 1874, has attended St. Jo Seminary, at Kankakee, for five years, giving special attention to the study of music; Nita Lee, born March 13, 1876, also possesses considerable musical talent and for five years has been a student in St. Jo Seminary, from which she expects to graduate; James Jenner, the only son. was born October 23, 1879, and displays special aptitude in his studies, especially in mathematics.
Mr. Warrick has had eighteen children, ten of whom are yet living; thirty-one grandchildren, twenty-four yet living; and five great-grandchildren. The family is one of prominence in this community, and the Warrick household is the abode of hospitality. Its members rank high in social circles and their friends are many.
Mr. Warrick is a valued citizen of this community and has ever labored for the best interests of the town and county in which he resides. One act which he performed is especially worthy of mention. It was in 1872 that the township of Concord issued $25,000 worth of bonds, payable in ten years, at ten per cent interest. Our subject claimed the issue of those bonds to be unconstitutional, and as the result of his action in the matter there arose a strong case of litigation, which was carried through the county courts and then into time United States, Circuit and the Supreme Courts. The case was at last decided as Mr. Warrick had declared. The attorneys of the county seat (Watseka) informed Mr. Warrick that he was wrong in his decision, but, being thoroughly convinced that he was not, he pushed the matter to the end and the decision was given which saved the township a total of $50,000. The men who defended the case in favor of the township were Samuel Warrick, John B. Hill and George Wright, and they certainly deserve great credit for their labors along this line.
Mr. Warrick is a well-informed man, having acquired an excellent knowledge through extensive reading and observation. He east his first vote in 1832 for the Whig candidate and in 1856 he voted for John C. Fremont, the first candidate of the Republican party. Four years later, he supported Abraham Lincoln and since that time he has affiliated with the Democracy. He has long been a faithful member of the Christian Church, to which his wife and two youngest daughters also belong. We see in Mr. Warrick a self-made man. He has met with some obstacles and difficulties but has overcome these by industry, perseverance and a strong determination to succeed, and has steadily worked his way upward to a position of wealth and affluence. Fair and honorable in all his dealings, he has won the confidence of those with whom he has been brought in contact, and his life is well worthy of emulation.
EDWIN D. McNEAL, a wealthy farmer who makes his home on section 21, is one of the early settlers of Danforth Township. At the time of his locating here, this portion of the county was almost a wilderness; but little of it was improved and only a few families lived in this community. He is a native of the Green Mountain State, his birth having occurred October 21, 1843, in Caledonia County. He is a son of Daniel McNeal of the same county, as was also his grandfather, John McNeal. The family is of Scotch descent and came with a colony who were among the fist settlers in that portion of the State. The county was called by them Caledonia, after the name which is given to their native country.
The great-grandfather of our subject served in the War of the Revolution, and his grandfather participated in the War of 1812. The father of our subject grew to man's estate in Vermont, and then married Lydia J. Smith, of English descent, and who was also born in the same State. Mr. McNeal was a mechanic and after his marriage, worked at his trade. In 1855, he moved to Illinois, locating in La Salle County, at Ottawa. There he worked as a wheelwright and also as a wagon and carriage maker and did business in that place for a number of years. In 1862, he went to Seneca, where he also followed his occupation for several successive years. At the present time, he has retired from active life and in Seneca is enjoying a well-earned rest after his years of toil.
Our subject is the second in order of birth in a family of four sons, who came to Illinois with their parents in 1854. The eldest, Charles W., resides in California. He was a soldier in the late war and enlisted in the One Hundred and Fourth Illinois Infantry. While in the army he lost his health, and was discharged on account of disability. William W. is a merchant in Seneca, Ill., and was also a soldier of the late war, belonging to the Sixty-third Infantry. The youngest of the family, Milo P., is a painter by trade and makes his home in Florida.
The boyhood days of our subject were passed in Ottawa, La Salle County, where he received good common and High School Privileges. In 1861, responding to the call of his country for assistance, he enlisted in the Seventy-second Illinois Infantry and became a member of Company B. He entered the service for three years and served until his discharge at the close of the war. Starting as a private, he was promoted to the rank of First Lieutenant, but was not mustered in as such, but served as Orderly Sergeant. He participated in numerous battles, engagements and skirmishes, and never received serious injury. Among the battles in which he took part were those of Champion Hill, Big Black River, and the assault on Vicksburg, May 19 and 22, 1863, and the taking of that city on the 4th of July of that year. He was also in the battles of Spring Hill (Tenn.), Columbia, Franklin, Nashville siege of Mobile and Spanish Fort. During one of the engagements Mr. McNeal lost the hearing of one ear by the discharge of a cannon within about six feet of where he was standing. He was knocked over by the shock and was unconscious for about three hours. He was honorably discharged at Vicksburg, August 14, 1865, and returned at once to his home in La Salle County.
In his earlier life, Mr. McNeal had learned the wagon-maker's trade, and in this business he engaged for six years in Seneca, and also farmed for two years near that village. He came to Iroquois County in 1872 and purchased property, which he partly improved. Here he lived for about two years and brought his farm under a fair state of cultivation, but in 1874 again returned to Seneca, where he engaged in the wagon manufactory for a period of four years. In the spring of 1877, he came back to the farm and built on it a large and substantial residence good barns and other buildings, and has so improved and developed his property that he now has a valuable and desirable farm. At the time of his first settlement here the country was very wild and but little improved. He first purchased a tract of eighty acres, to which he has since added an adjoining forty acres. His farm is situated six miles west of Gilman.
In Seneca, on the 2d of June, 1867, occurred the marriage of Mr. McNeal and Miss Margery E. Rodgers, who was born in Cass County, Mich. She is a daughter of Samuel Rodgers, of Scotch descent and is a native of Virginia. Mrs. McNeal came to Illinois when a child of twelve years and was reared and educated in La Salle County, where she was afterward a successful teacher. The union of our subject and his wife has been blessed with five children: Frank, Mildred, Estella and Jessie are now living, while one child died at the age of two months. The family attends the Methodist Episcopal Church at La Hogue, and with it Mr. and Mrs. McNeal hold membership.
Our subject has been a supporter of the Republican party since he attained his majority. His first ballot was cast for Gen. U. S. Grant in 1868, and he has voted for every nominee of the party since that time. Mr. McNeal has never aspired to political or official positions, but has ever discharged his duties of citizenship in a faithful manner. he is a friend to education and a hearty supporter of the public-school system. He has served for several years as a member of the School Board, in fact, since the organization of his school district. Nearly his whole life has been spent in Illinois and over twenty years of this time in Iroquois County. He has won the esteem and confidence of all with whom he has come in contact, for his course has always been marked within honor to himself and credit to his friends.
JAMES H. ALLEN, of the firm of Parker Allen, bankers, of Gilman, is one of the early pioneers of Iroquois County, and is well known to most of its citizens. He was born in Preble County, Ohio, on the 24th of January, 1832. His grandfather, James Allen, when about twelve years of age emigrated from Ireland to America with his parents, who settled in South Carolina. After his marriage, he removed to Ohio, among the early pioneer settlers. In that State, Andrew Allen, the father of our subject, was born February 9, 1808. On reaching maturity, he married Miss Sophia Bennett, who was a native of Pennsylvania. She died when our subject was a lad of about eight years old, leaving three children, only two of whom are now living: James H., and S. S., who is a merchant of Frankfort, Ind. After the death of his first wife, the father married Elizabeth Morton, who had three daughters. In 1841, Mr. Allen emigrated to Clinton County, Ind., where he devoted himself to clearing and developing a farm. He died in 1855, with typhoid fever. In polities, he was a Whig. In earlier life, he belonged to the Associate Reformed Church, hut later became identified with the Methodist Church.
James H. Allen, like most of the boys who grew up in the State of Indiana at an early day, enjoyed such limited educational advantages as were afforded by the old-time schools, Being the eldest child, he was early inured to hard labor. Until his father's death, in 1855, he remained on time farm. At that time, leaving the old home, he and his brother engaged in the dry goods business at Williamsport, Ind. There, on the 12th of April, 1859, Mr. Allen was joined in the bonds of matrimony with Laura C., daughter of Robert Chandler, who emigrated from New Jersey to Williamsport in the early history of that locality and became a prominent lawyer at that place. Mrs. Allen was born in Williamsport, April 5, 1840. Unto our subject and his wife have been born four children, of whom two are living: Robert C., editor and proprietor of the Gilman Star, mentioned elsewhere in this beautiful volume and Elsie.
In 1861, Mr. Allen and his brother disposed of their interest in the store in Indiana and came to Middleport, Iroquois County. Here they entered into partnership with George B. Joiner and carried on business a short time. Then our subject, within Mr. Joiner, purchased time brother's interest, he locating in Terre Haute, Ind. About six years later, they moved their store up the railroad, where the young town of Watseka was starting, though it had not yet assumed that name. Having purchased his partner's interest, Mr. Allen continued merchandising in Watseka until 1868, when he started in the dry-goods business in Climax. In this line he continued successfully for five years. In July, 1873, he joined D. L. Parker in the banking business, they buying out the interest of Wilson & Son, who had been running a bank there for some time. The title of the new firm was Parker & Allen, which firm name has never been changed.
Until 1884, Mr. Allen was a stanch Republican, having cast his first vote for John C. Fremont. Since the date named he has affiliated with the Prohibition party. He and his worthy wife are active workers in the Methodist Episcopal Church, where he holds the offices of Steward and Trustee. In addition to his banking business, Mr. Allen is interested in farming land and town property. He began life near the bottom round of the ladder, financially considered, and his accumulations have been the result of close application to business and judicious investments. Mr. and Mrs. Allen rank high in the regard of the people of this county, and their pleasant home is the abode of hospitality and happiness. He bears the reputation of being a man of strict integrity, whose word is as good as his bond.
HOWARD LYON, one of the representative and progressive farmers of Onarga Township, who owns and operates four hundred and ten acres of land, is one of the early settlers of the county. He was born in Stockbridge, Windsor County, Vt., on the 1st of March, 1831, and is a son of Amasa and Polly (Barnes) Lyon, both of whom were natives of the Green Mountain State. Four children were born unto them, three of whom are yet living.
In the State of his nativity, our subject spent the days of his boyhood and youth, and after attaining to mature years he was married on the 22d of April, 1856, to Miss Betsy Brown, daughter of Robert Brown. In the fall of the same year, they removed to Illinois, settling in Iroquois County, west of Onarga. In December, 1857, while returning on a visit to her old home, Mrs. Lyon was drowned while crossing the river at Detroit, Mich. After the death of his wife, Mr. Lyon remained for eighteen months in Vermont, and then returned to this State, in the spring of 1859, locating on a farm four miles south of Onarga, where he has since resided. He had at first rented a farm in connection with his brother.
On the 14th of February, 1864, Mr. Lyon was again married, his second union being with Mrs. Caroline Sanders, widow of Richard Sanders. There were five children born of that union, all sons: James, born March 29, 1865; Edward, October 17, 1867; William, November 22, 1868; Perry, December 15, 1869, and Robert, July 17, 1871. One is married, Edward, who wedded Miss Sadie Hiller, daughter of George and Mary Hiller, and they have a little child, Howard. The mother of this family was called to her final rest on the 12th of May, 1879. Mr. Lyon was again married, March 3, 1880, the lady of his choice being Mrs. Eveline Libhart, widow of P. T. B. Libhart. The lady was born in Bainbridge, Chicago County, N. Y., December 22, 1833. Her parents, Isaac and Eliza (Miller) Dalton, were both natives of Pennsylvania. In childhood, they emigrated to New York in 1845, they moved to Wisconsin and a few years later returned to New York. In 1861, they moved to Iroquois County, and there the father spent his last days, dying in 1877, aged about sixty-three years. His widow lives near Gilman, aged seventy-eight years. After thirteen years of age, Mrs. Lyon lived with her relatives in Michigan, where shine married October 23, 1853, Mr. Libhart. In the fall of the same year, Mr. Libhart moved to Del Rey, where he ran a sawmill. He died in Buckley in 1873. By her former marriage Mrs. Lyon had five children, as follows: Hubert C., born September 18, 1854, married Miss Dora Hayhurst, and resides in Momence, Ill., with his wife and daughter Leo. Julietta, born August 6, 1856, is the wife of Andrew Camp, a resident of Monona County, Iowa, and they have six children, namely: Helen D., Hosea, Fred, Annie, Agnes and Josie. Mary Alice, born April 20, 1858, is the wife of Alfred Vanordstrand, by whom she has three children: Mabel E., Hubert R. and Mildred, and they reside near Momence, Ill. William R., born April 8, 1859, wedded Miss Mary Beatle, daughter of Abraham and Elizabeth Beatle, and resides in Sycamore, Ill., with their four children: Coila, Frank, Myrtle and Marx. Estella B., born January 2, 1861, is the wife of James Nichols and their home is near Lake Village, Ind. They have four children; Floyd, Fay, Beulah and Eunice.
As before stated, Mr. Lyon has resided upon his present farm since 1859, and now owns and operates four hundred and ten acres of land, which is under a high state of cultivation and well improved. In connection within general farming, he has also paid considerable attention to stock-raising, and by his industry, perseverance and good management has acquired a handsome competence. Mr. Lyon is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church and his wife holds membership with the Presbyterian Church. In politics, he is a supporter of Republican principles and is a valued citizen of the community. For more than a third of a century, he has here made his home, has watched the growth and development of the county, has aided in its upbuilding, and well deserves mention among its pioneers.
WILLIAM McCLAVE, a successful and enterprising farmer of Artesia Township, was born on the 24th of July, 1834, in Clermont County, Ohio, near Cincinnati, and is descended from an old New England family. His father, Stevenson McClave, was born in the town of Lyme, N. H., and after arriving at years of maturity he married Miss Sarah Banghart, a native of New Jersey. They became the parents of eight children: John, William, Susan, Sarah, Michael and Robert are yet living, and Martha and David are deceased. The father of this family died on the 4th of November, 1888, at the ripe old age of eighty-two years. His wife was called to her final rest in March, 1878, more than ten years previous to the death of her husband.
No event of special importance occurred during the boyhood of our subject, which was quietly passed in the State of his nativity. On the 6th of October, 1856, he was married to Miss Sarah E. Muchmore, daughter of Garrett and Elizabeth (Hickson) Muchmore, of Hamilton County, Ohio, where Mrs. McClave was born October 6, 1838. Seven children were born unto them, as follows: Lee, who was born August 19, 1857; May, born May 1,1859, is now the wife of Jesse T. McClave, a farmer residing about three miles northwest of Buckley; Amer T., born April 8, 1861; Mattie, born December 22, 1863, became the wife of George Baker, who was killed by lightning April 26, 1888, in Minnesota, leaving two children: Lela and William, who reside with their mother, in Onarga, Ill.; Robert, born January 29, 1866, married Miss Emma Holz, daughter of Matthew Holz, and unto them has been born a son, Stanley Bee; Sybil, born October 14, 1868, is at home; and Zoe, born February 2, 1871, is the wife of Walter Birchenough. The first child died when about a year old, but the others are all yet living.
About two years after his marriage, Mr. McClave came to Illinois, in 1858, emigrating from Ohio. He settled on a farm in Iroquois County, about a mile and a-half northwest of the present site of Buckley, and has since there made his home, devoting his time and attention to agricultural pursuits. His home farm comprises one hundred and sixty acres of land under a high state of cultivation and well improved, and he also owns another farm of one hundred and sixty acres three miles east of Buckley. He has given considerable attention to stock-raising, but now devotes the greater part of his time to the improvement of his land. He is recognized as a practical and progressive farmer, and the neat appearance of his place judicates his thrift and enterprise.
Mr. McClave has been called upon to serve in several official positions of honor and trust in the township, having for five years held the office of Supervisor of Artesia Township. Socially, he is a member of Buckley Lodge No. 634, A. F. & A. M, and in politics is a supporter of Republican principles. His duties of citizenship are ever faithfully performed, and he takes a commendable interest in all that pertains to the welfare of the community and its upbuilding. Mrs. McClave is a member of the Methodist Church.
CHARLES H. COMSTOCK, one of the enterprising and substantial business men and influential citizens of Ashkum, is a dealer in grain, lumber, live stock and farm implements at that place. He is a native of Massachusetts, and was born in Berkshire County, his birth occurring in the town of Adams, on the 22d of April, 1839, in the same house in which his mother was born. He is a son of Amos Comstock, a native of the Empire State, and who grew to maturity there. The grandfather of our subject was born in New England. Charles H. Comstock is of the seventh generation of the Comstock family who have lived in the United States. Two brothers of that name settled in New England in the early days of Rhode Island. They were of English descent, and our subject's grandmother and his relatives belonged to the Society of Friends, and originally settled in Rhode Island.
Amos Comstock, after reaching man's estate, married in the town of Adams, Berkshire County, Hannah Upton, daughter of Isaac Upton, who was also a member of the Society of Friends. After his marriage he located in Eastern New York, where he engaged in agricultural pursuits for a number of years. Later, he returned to Massachusetts, settling near Adams, where he engaged in farming and stock-raising. He carried on business for a number of years successfully, but later met with reverses and then went to Michigan, where he located in Lapeer County. This was about the year 1850, and in what was almost a wilderness he opened up a farm, on which he lived until death claimed him in 1855. His wife survived him for several years, and after her husband's death she returned to the East, where she resided for a few years, and then made her home with a son at Grand Rapids, Mich. She departed this life in 1865, leaving many to mourn her loss. She was an active member of the Society of Friends.
Of a family of nine children, eight of whom grew to mature years, Upton, who died at the age of fifteen years, was the eldest; Anna died in 1841; Julietta died in 1889, at the age of seventy years; Rev. William resides at Allendale, Mich., and is a minister of the Wesleyan Methodist Church; David B. was a prominent merchant of Grand Rapids, Mich., for a number of years, and died there in 1874; Phoebe Jane and Hannah Maria, twins, the former of whom died in infancy, and the latter of whom is married and makes her home in Adams Township, Berkshire County, Mass.; Isaac U. lives in Michigan and is a natural mechanic and jeweler by trade; and our subject is the youngest of the family.
Mr. Comstock whose name heads this record removed to Michigan with his parents when a had of fourteen. He received good common-school advantages and worked on a farm during the summer season. Since arriving at man's estate he has received a good business education and is well-read and informed and keeps posted in general literature, science, and the affairs of the Government. After his father's death he removed to Vermont and assisted his brother-in-law, who was a millwright and carpenter. In Massachusetts, he learned the carriage-maker's trade, and in November, 1859, came to Illinois. He located at Manteno and started a carriage manufactory, in which business he was quite successful. He next engaged as manager of a grain elevator and took charge of that business for a cousin, G. P. Comstock. In the spring of 1865, our subject went to Peotone and there engaged for himself in the grain business for a period of about three years; he later removed to Chebanse, where he built the first elevator in that town. After two years of business in that place, he sold out to F. J. Taylor, after which he continued in business for about one year. During that time he introduced a patent end gate of his own invention. In 1871, Mr. Comstock located in Ashkum and there built an elevator and extensively engaged in the grain business in partnership within his cousin, G. P. Comstock, of Chicago, who remained a member of the firm for several years, but has since died. Our subject for twenty-one years has been actively engaged in the grain business in this village and has had several other lines of business in addition to this. Since 1872, he has handled wagons and farm implements. Mr. Comstock's patent has been a source of great revenue to him, and from it for many years he has received about $4,000 per annum, and all of the wagons which he handles he has received in partial payment for the use of his patent gate.
In Peotone, Ill., Mr. Comstock was united in marriage with Adelia Kellogg, November 13, 1866. The lady was born at Lyons, Ill., and is a daughter of Solomon Kellogg. Mr. and Mrs. Comstock are the parents of seven children: Louise A., Alice S., Carrie A., Mae R., Clinton C., William H., and George K. They a1so had two daughters who died in infancy.
During his life, Mr. Comstock has met with a number of narrow escapes from death. Three times falling timbers fairly grazed his head in their descent. Politically, he is identified within the Republican party. He has never aspired to official positions but has given his attention to his extensive business interests. He ships from four to five hundred cars of grain per year and also has an extensive lumber trade. During his long residence in this and adjoining counties, Mr. Comstock has made many friends both in a business and in a social way. He is a man of superior inventive talent and has shown enterprise and industry excelled by few.
FRANK M. CRANGLE, County Superintendent of Schools for Iroquois County, has held the position since December 1, 1891. He is a native of Illinois, his birth having occurred in Grundy County, January 3, 1861. His father, James Crangle, was born in County Down, Ireland, March 17, 1837, and with his parents emigrated to America when nine years of age, the family settling near Morris, Grundy County, Ill., where he engaged in farming.
Mr. Crangle, Sr., was married in Brookfield, La Salle County, Ill., November 29, 1855, to Miss Bridget Farrel, who was born in Ottawa, Ill., of Irish parentage. Unto them were born six sons and seven daughters, ten of whom are yet living: Peter W., a farmer at home; John, also at home; Frank M., of this sketch; James, who died in infancy in Rock Island; Mary A., who is teaching school in Buckley; Ellen, who died September 17, 1889; Sarah; Alice Cary, who is teaching at Danforth, Ill.; Jessie, at home; Lucy, who is attending school in Crescent City; Charles, who died November 24, 1889; James P. and Edna, who complete the family.
Mr. Crangle, Sr., enlisted for the late war on the 10th of August, 1862, as a member of the Seventy-second Illinois Infantry, under Col. Fred Staring, that being the first regiment fitted out by the Board of Trade in Chicago. He participated in the battle of Champion Hill and in the charges on Vicksburg, May 19 and 22. He also engaged in the battle of Franklin and in several skirmishes, making a good record as a brave and gallant soldier. He is a Democrat and has been chosen to various public positions of honor and trust. He was first elected Justice of the Peace in Grundy County and held the office for eight years. On the 4th of March, 1869, he removed from Grundy to Iroquois County, and settled in Ash Grove Township, where he has since resided. He purchased a fine quarter-section of land, which he now has under a high state of cultivation. In the spring of 1878, he was elected Supervisor for Ash Grove Township, and has been re-elected to the same office several times since. His first majority was one hundred and two, the largest ever cast in his town; the issue being the enjoining of the payment of the railroad bonds and to him is due the honor of settling the railroad bonds so satisfactorily to a majority of the citizens of his town. The parents of Mr. Crangle both returned to Ireland to spend their remaining days, where the father died in 1850, and the mother in 1856.
Frank M. Crangle was reared on his father's farm. During the summers of 1874-75 he was his father's cowboy, herding cattle on the prairies. His horse and book were his sole companions, and awhile the cattle grazed quietly he was storing his mind with useful knowledge. He attended the district schools and subsequently took a course of study at Grand Prairie Seminary. In the spring of 1876, having passed a satisfactory examination, he was awarded a teacher's certificate and taught his first school the following autumn in the Search Underwood District, although not then seventeen years of age. During the succeeding six years he attended the Grand Prairie Seminary and taught in his home and adjoining schools: Pleasant Hill, Fairview and Schwer. A notable thing is that he taught for eight years in the four districts in the vicinity of his home, which attests his popularity and success as a teacher where he was best known. In 1886, he was employed by the School Board of Crescent City, and successfully taught its graded school for four years. He then engaged as teacher of the Buckley school, but resigned that position after three months to accept the office of County Superintendent of Schools, to which he was elected in the fall of 1891. While the usual Republican majority in this county had previously been seven hundred and fifty-eight, he, as a Democrat, received five hundred and ninety-one majority, making a change of thirteen hundred and forty-nine votes.
Socially, Mr. Crangle is a member of Standard Lodge No. 607, I. O. O. F., of Crescent City; Crescent Camp, M. W. A.; Mon Ami Lodge, K. P.; and Watseka Camp, Sons of Veterans. Since his election to the office of County Superintendent of Schools, Mr. Crangle has made his home in Watseka. He has an interest in a farm in Hayes County, Neb., but does not anticipate a removal from Iroquois County, which has so long been his home. An experienced and practical teacher himself, Mr. Crangle possesses a thorough education in all branches taught in the public schools, and has proven a most successful officer, having performed the arduous duties of his position with ability and fidelity. Some idea of the responsibility, attached to the office of Superintendent of Schools in Iroquois County may be formed when it is known that the county maintains two hundred and thirty-four schools, employs three hundred and six teachers, and the school records show an enrollment of sixteen thousand seven hundred and eighty scholars. Mr. Crangle is a young man possessed of superior ability, unquestioned integrity, and is blessed with a genial, cordial manner and whole-souled good-fellowship that have won him hosts of friends.
Mr. and Mrs. Eyrich
STEPHEN EYR1CH, who is the owner of a fine farm of two hundred and forty acres on section 39, Beaver Township, Iroquois County, is a native of Germany. He was born in Saxe-Coburg, in the town of White Hansen, February 14, 1841, and is a son of Joseph and Marguerite (Geuther) Eyrich. The first sixteen years of his life were spent in his native land, and he then determined to make his home in America. Crossing the broad Atlantic, he came at once to Will County, Ill., where his elder brother, Nicholas Eyrich, was then living. He there began to work by the month, and was thus employed until his marriage.
On the 1st of November, 1866, Mr. Eyrich was joined in wedlock with Miss Emily Deininger, of Will County, who was born in Wurtemberg, in the town of Saxon Hansen, Germany, on the 10th of March, 1849. When four years of age, she was brought by her parents to this country, and her education was acquired in the public schools. Previous to his marriage, Mr. Eyrich purchased forty acres of land, and the young couple began their domestic life upon that farm. At length, he sold out in Will County and came to Iroquois County, where he purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land at $12.50 per acre. This was a raw tract, but he at once began placing it under the plow and soon abundant harvests rewarded his labors. He has since purchased an additional eighty-acre tract and now has a fine farm. In fact, it is considered one of the model farms of the county, being complete in all its appointments. His home, a pleasant, commodious residence, is supplied with water furnished by a force pump and windmill. His well is one hundred and seventy-nine feet deep and furnishes a never-failing supply of pure water. His large barn, with a basement; is built in modern style, and his outbuildings are all models of convenience.
The Eyrich family numbers six children, and they lost three who died in infancy. In order of birth they are as follows: Nicholas, born August 20, 1867; John, July 18, 1869; Minnie, June 23, 1871; Philip, September 30, 1873; Joseph, August 30, 1875; and Maggie, June 28, 1879. The children have all received good educational advantages, and Miss Minnie has successfully engaged in teaching for about two years, beginning at the age of seventeen.
Mr. Eyrich exercises his right of franchise in support of the Democratic party, and his first vote was east for Horace Greeley in 1872. Himself and wife were reared in the faith of the Lutheran Church, but are now members of the Christian Church, to which their children also belong. They are highly respected people, and the Eyrich household is the abode of hospitality and this members of the family rank high in social circles. Mr. Eyrich has erected a beautiful two-story residence on his eighty acres on section 31, which is a model residence. On the premises is a superb well, one hundred and forty-two feet deep, which has a never-failing supply of water. Our subject is a worthy and valued citizen, and his success in life is due to his own efforts. We take pleasure in presenting to our readers this record of his life work.
JOHN NELSON, the efficient Postmaster of Donovan, is of Swedish birth, born in the southern part of Sweden, on the 5th of August, 1844. His parents were Swan and Christina (Johnson) Nelson. His father was a farmer, and in the usual manner of farmer lads the days of his boyhood and youth were passed. His education was acquired in the public schools, and at the age of seventeen he left the fields to accept a position as clerk in a mercantile establishment.
When a young man of nineteen years, Mr. Nelson determined to seek a home in the New World, of whose advantages and privileges he had heard so much. On crossing the Atlantic he at once went to Chicago and from there took a trip to the South, but eventually returned to Illinois and made a location in Beaver Township, Iroquois County, where he began to work as a farm hand. He worked by the month and for himself until 1872, when he again began clerking, this time being employed in Iroquois. He afterward secured a position as salesman in Sheldon. Later, he removed to Donovan, where he embarked in business. He has since been closely connected with the welfare of the place and is recognized as one of its prominent and influential citizens.
On the 10th of August, 1874, Mr. Nelson led to the marriage altar Miss Anna Sophia Jansen, of Watseka. The lady was born in Central Sweden and came to America with her grandfather, who died in Buffalo, N. Y. Her father is still living in the land of his nativity. Unto our subject and his wife have been born four children: Charles August Ernest, John Walter, Oscar Lyle and Neva Josie.
On becoming an American citizen, Mr. Nelson joined the ranks of the Republican party, and has since been one of its stalwart supporters and a warm advocate of its principles. His fellow-citizens, appreciating his worth and ability, have called upon him to serve in various positions of honor and trust. He has filled the office of Township Clerk and Collector, was Assessor for eight terms and Supervisor for two terms, discharging his duties within promptness and fidelity, showing that time confidence reposed in him was not by any means misplaced. He was appointed Postmaster of Donovan by President Arthur, and during President Harrison's administration he was re-appointed. He is a popular officer who fills the position within credit to himself and to the satisfaction of his constituents. He has served his party as a delegate to the county and State conventions. Mr. Nelson is an active member of and faithful worker in the Swedish Methodist Episcopal Church of Beaver Township, and belongs to the Masonic lodge of Donovan, in which he has held the position of Secretary. He has a wide acquaintance throughout the community and is held in the highest regard by all who know him for his sterling worth and straightforward business dealings.
HUGO ROUGK is proprietor of a machine shop in Sheldon and deals in all kinds of machinery. He is doing an excellent business at this place, where he has carried on operations for about three years. His life record is as follows: He was born in Saxony, Germany, December 17, 1856, and with one exception is the youngest in a family of four children. His parents, William and Wilhelmina (Froman) Rougk, are also natives of Germany. His father has been an engine-builder and a large manufacturer, and by good business ability, industry and perseverance, has accumulated a large property. He is now a well-preserved old gentleman of seventy. For the past fifteen years he has lived retired, and is now resting in the enjoyment of a good fortune acquired through his own efforts.
When a lad of eleven years, our subject heft home and sailed for America, locating in Hartford, Conn., where he served an apprenticeship to the trade of a machinist in the Woodruff & Beech Iron Works. On the expiration of his four years term of service, he was employed as oiler and water-tender on an ocean steamer and to that work devoted his energies for the succeeding three years. After leaving the ocean steamer, he entered Brat's Institute, of Brooklyn, N. Y., a school of mechanics, from which he was graduated. Subsequent to this he served for a period in the United States Navy. Later he passed an examination given by the United States Inspector of Steamboats and received a license from the Government to run tug boats on the river at New York City. Subsequently we find him in Galveston, Tex., and in other points in the South. In 1879, Mr. Rougk went to South America, and there remained for nine months, being located in Rio Janeiro, Brazil, after which he returned to Hartford, Conn. He worked in the machine shops in that city for a time, and then going to Aspinwall, Panama. He there held the position of master mechanic for a few months, after which he went to the Cape of Good Hope on what proved a fruitless attempt to secure a fortune in the diamond fields of Africa.
Mr. Rougk returned by a Goodrich steamer, and after a short time spent at home started on a trip to the Friendly Islands, where he spent five months. He next went to San Francisco, Cal., and was there engaged as engineer on some of the largest boats that put into that port. On the "City of Sidney" he sailed from the Golden Gate to Sidney and Melbourne, Australia, a distance of seven thousand miles. He made this trip fourteen times, serving as second engineer. Afterward, he sailed to Yokohama, Japan, where he was employed for nine months under the Japanese Government. While at that place, he became thoroughly conversant with the Chinese language. Ere his return to San Francisco, Mr. Rougk went to San Jose and entered the employ of Joseph Ernight & Son, as a builder of engines. Ten months later, we find him in Los Angeles, where he was sent to put in the electric-light plant. Afterward he returned to San Francisco and entered the steamboat business, but this venture did not prove a success by reason of strong competition, and Mr. Rougk lost several thousand dollars. In company with his brother, he next went to Mexico, riding mules to that place, and thence to Ft. Worth, Tex., where he and his brother separated and Hugo made his way to Galveston, the same State. A few months afterward, he arranged to meet his brother in Chicago, where he expected to find employment. On reaching that city, he had only twenty-five cents. His brother secured a position at once, but it was three months before our subject was as fortunate. He then obtained work with the Knickerbocker Ice Company in setting up engines.
It was in 1887 that Mr. Rougk left Chicago and came to Iroquois County, locating in Watseka, where he went into the machine business. He afterward sold out and engaged in time work of repairing engines, etc., which he followed for a few months, when he entered the employ of A. B. Roub & Co., with whom he remained five years. He then embarked in business for himself. His capital was small and he had but few tools but his business rapidly increased and in order to meet the growing demand he constantly enlarged his facilities and built a new shop. In 1891, he removed his business to Sheldon, where he built a large factory and filled it within the best machinery and ever facility for attending to the extensive trade which is his.
In 1890, Mr. Rougk was joined-in wedlock with Miss Maggie Milhouser, and unto them has been born a son, Charlie. Although they have been residents of this community but a short time, they are widely and favorably known and are held in high regard by their many friends. Few if any residents of Iroquois County have traveled more extensively than our subject, who has been from the Orient to the Occident and has visited many points of note and interest. In his travels, he has learned many tongues and can fluently speaks the German, English, Spanish and Chinese languages.
Mr. Rougk votes the Democratic ticket but takes no active part in political affairs, preferring to devote his entire time and attention to his business interests. He is recognized as one of the busiest men of the county. We have seen that in his life he has met with some reverses and obstacles, but has overcome these by perseverance and industry, and since eleven years of age has made his own way in the world. Working his way steadily upward, he has secured an excellent business and his labors have brought to him a comfortable competence. He is truly a self-made man and his example in many respects is well worthy of emulation.
D. H. CHAPMAN, who resides on section 33, Lovejoy Township, has for almost a quarter of a century made his home in this county, and is recognized as a citizen of sterling worth and strict integrity and one of the leading agriculturists of the community. As he is widely and favorably known, we feel assured that this record of his life will prove of interest to many of our readers. A native of Connecticut, he was born in New Haven County, March 25, 1836, and was the eighth in order of birth in a family of fourteen children, numbering five sons and nine daughters. The parents were Peter and Eliza (Harding) Chapman. His father was also a native of the Nutmeg State, born in New London County, December 31, 1803. His education was acquired in the common schools, and throughout the greater part of his life he followed agricultural pursuits. For many years he supported the Democratic party, but his last ballot was cast for Gen. U. S. Grant. With the Baptist Church he held membership. His death occurred in Iroquois June 7, 1880, at the age of seventy-seven years. The mother of our subject was born in Linn, Conn., October 4, 1805, and was called to her final rest August 20, 1879.
D. H. Chapman, the subject of this sketch, remained in Connecticut until seventeen years of age, and for a time earned his own livelihood by working in a lock factory. He started out in life empty-handed, with no capital save a pair of willing hands and a determination to win success. He is truly a self-made man, both financially and from an educational point of view. Perseverance and enterprise buoyed him up when discouragement or difficulties threatened to engulf him. He now occupies an enviable position among the substantial citizens of the community. Hoping to be benefited by a removal to the West, he bade good-bye to his old home in 1855 and emigrated to Winnebago County, Ill. Here he began work as a farm hand at $15 per month. Although his wages were then low he kept steadily at his work, was faithful to his duty, and fortune at length crowned his efforts.
Mr. Chapman has been twice married. On December 4,1863, he was joined in wedlock with Miss Lucy S. White, and by their union were born three children, two sons and a daughter: Frank L., who was educated in the Paxton Collegiate Institute and Greer College, of Hoopeston, is one of the leading young men of the community; Howard R., who still makes his home under the parental roof, is now a student in Shurtleff College, where he has pursued his studies for four years. He is taking a classical course, preparatory to entering the work of the ministry. He expects also to take a two-year theological course. He is an intelligent young man, well fitted for the calling he has chosen. Lena B., who has successfully engaged in teaching in Iroquois and Vermilion Counties, and was a student in the Paxton Collegiate institute, is now the wife of E. S. Wakeland, a resident farmer of Bolivar, Polk County, Mo. In 1871, Mr. Chapman was called upon to mourn the loss of his wife, who died on the 7th of January, and was laid to rest in the Hoopeston cemetery. She was a member of the Baptist Church, and an estimable lady who had many warm friends throughout the community. On May 5, 1875, Mr. Chapman was again married, his second union being with Miss Jennie M. Patterson, a native of Rockford, Ill., born March 22, 1840, and a daughter of Alex and Helen (Gordon) Patterson. Three children, two sons and a daughter, have been born unto them, but all are now deceased. Mrs. Chapman spent her girlhood days in Rockford, was educated in the common schools, and became a teacher of recognized abilities in Winnebago County.
In 1870, Mr. Chapman came to Iroquois County, purchasing one hundred and sixty acres of raw land on section 33, Lovejoy Township, and began the development of a farm. The county then was not far advanced in the way of progress, and he purchased all of his supplies in Watseka. His first home was a boarded-up shanty, which still stands upon his farm, although it has long since given way to the present residence. Mr. Chapman can remember the days when wild game was plentiful in this county. He can also remember the prairie fires, which caused much loss and were a source of terror to the settlers. At the time he located here, Hoopeston, Wellington and Cissna Park had not yet sprung into existence. In the work of upbuilding and progress in the county he has ever borne his part, faithfully performing his duties of citizenship. He now owns one of the fine farms of the community, well improved and under a high state of cultivation. His land was purchased at $9 per acre, but is now worth many times that amount. Over four miles of tiling have been laid upon it, and other improvements have been made until it is now a valuable and desirable place.
Mr. Chapman cast his first Presidential vote for the honored and lamented Lincoln, of whom he was an ardent admirer. He continued to support the Republican party for a number of years, but now exercises his right of franchise in support of the Prohibition party. The cause of temperance finds in him a warm friend, and he does all in his power to promote its growth. No man in this community has done more for the educational interests than our subject, who for a long period has been officially connected with the schools, having served as Director for twenty-one years. He believes that good schools make good citizens, and that to secure the former competent teachers should be hired. He has in his possession the record of the first school meeting held in his district. This convened at his own residence, June 5, 1871, and seven legal voters were present. The following Board of Directors were, duly elected: D. H. Chapman,, Clerk; Cyrus Sellers, Sr., and Cyrus Sellers, Jr. The schoolhouse was located on the Southwest corner of section 28, but afterward changed to the northwest corner of section 33 on Mr. Chapman's land, where it now stands. The school was opened September 1, 1873, with an enrollment of six pupils, and Miss Mollie Skidmore was engaged as teacher at a salary of $25 per month. There are now two schoolhouses in the district, the government, however, being under one Board of Directors. The second was built during the summer of 1877, and James Stephenson was employed as the first teacher, at a salary of $50 per month. Certainly the community owes a debt of gratitude to Mr. Chapman for his untiring labors in behalf of education.
Our subject is also an ardent member of the Baptist Church of Hoopeston, and has served as one of its officers since its organization. His wife is a member of the Presbyterian Church. From the beginning he has filled the position of Church Clerk, and has also been Trustee and Deacon. In the work of the Sunday-school he takes a very active part, was its first Superintendent, in 1879, and has served in that capacity for a number of years. The school enrolls one hundred pupils, and has an average attendance of between seventy-five and eighty. Mr. Chapman has lived an upright, honorable life well worthy of emulation, is held in the highest confidence by all who know him, and well deserves representation in this volume.
GEORGE M. BIRELINE, one of the early settlers of Iroquois County, who now carries on general farming and stock-raising on section 17, Artesia Township, was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, on the 11th of November, 1832, and is one of a family of eight children, whose parents were Thomas and Catherine Bireline. Three of the children are still living, as follows: Louis, George M. and Regina.
The subject of this sketch acquired a good common education in his native land, where, in accordance with the laws of the country, he attended school until fourteen years of age. He then learned the weaver's trade, which he followed continuously until his emigration to America. It was in 1851, when a young man of nineteen years, that Mr. Bireline bade adieu to the scenes of his boyhood and took passage for America in a sailing-vessel which, after a voyage of forty-nine days, reached the harbor of New York. Our subject did not tarry long in the Eastern metropolis, but went at once to Ohio, locating in Circleville. He secured employment in a woolen factory, and there remained for about nine months, after which he began working on a farm by the month. He was thus employed in the Buckeye State for six months, when he left Ohio and removed to Warren County, Ind., where two succeeding years of his life were passed. He there engaged in farming and in carrying on a butcher's shop.
The year 1856 witnessed the arrival of Mr. Bireline in Illinois. He pre-empted one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 17, Artesia Township, Iroquois County, and upon this farm has since made his home, with the exception of three years spent at West Lebanon, Ind. He broke prairie during the summer and worked out by the month during the winter season. His own land he placed under a high state of cultivation, and the once unbroken prairie soon yielded to him a golden tribute in return for the care and cultivation he bestowed upon it. In 1872, Mr. Bireline removed to West Lebanon, Ind., where he spent three years, being engaged in business as a partner in a flouring-mill for about ten months, when the mill burned down. He then returned to his farm, where he has since continued to reside. He now owns three hundred and twenty-three acres of good land, which represents his own hard labor. His fields are now well tilled, and he raises a good grade of stock. The many improvements upon the place and its neat appearance all indicate the thrift and enterprise of the owner.
April 27, 1863, Mr. Bireline was united in marriage with Miss Louise Harnock. She was born in Prussia, Germany, May 15, 1845, and, when twelve years old, came to this country with her parents, J. and Dorothy (Dryer) Harnock. Her father still lives near Loda, but her mother died years ago. By the union of our subject and wife have born eight children, three sons and five daughters, namely: George F., Emma L., Carrie S., Ella D., Lula E., Frank L:, Loretta J. and Adolph P. The family is widely and favorably known in this community, and its members rank high in the social circles in which they move.
In politics, Mr. Bireline is a supporter of Republican principles. For the long period of thirteen years he has held the office of School Director and is the present incumbent. With the Methodist Church all the family hold membership. Public-spirited and progressive, he takes an active interest in all that pertains to the welfare of the community, and does all in his power for the up-building of those enterprises calculated to prove of public benefit.