Baptist Church (Colored), Franklin, was constituted about the year 1872 or 1873, with eight members, a number which has since increased to ninety-three.  The first deacons were Samuel Elkins and Squire Moore.  The following ministers have sustained the pastoral relation: Revs. Mr. Singleton, Thomas Robinson, Mr. Winyard, Ephraim Tyler, William Harris, George Smith, and the present incumbent, Rev. David Slaughter.  A frame house of worship was built on West Madison Street, in 1878, and formally dedicated the same year.  The officers of the congregation are: M. Clark, Anderson Beaty, and Edward Blakemore, deacons, and H. Clark, clerk. Mr. Blakeman is also superintendent of the Sunday school.

Banta, D.D.. History of Johnson County, Indiana 1888 . Chicago, IL: Brant & Fuller, 1888.
Transcribed by Cheryl Zufall Parker