Christian Chapel (Union Township).—This society was organized at the Beech Grove Church, Hensley Township, in January, 1876, by Elder A. Elmore. The original membership was eighteen; present membership about 125. In the fall of the above year a frame house of worship was erected in Union Township, and since that time the congregation has been in prosperous conditions, with a steadily increasing membership. The first officers were I. L. Ragdale, Benjamin Thompson and Frank Vandiver, deacons. Benjamin Thompson was also treasurer, and James Davis, secretary. The officers at this time (1888) are as follows: Elders: John J. Vandiver, Robert Vandiver and Isaac Tumy. Deacons: J. K. Badgley, Harvey Miller, James B. Paris and Millard F. Kennedy. Treasurer: M. V. Taylor. Secretary: Rosalia A Vandiver.

Transcribed by Lois Johnson

Banta, D. D. History of Johnson County, Indiana. Chicago, IL: Brant & Fuller, 1888, page 863.