Union Christian Church (Nineveh Township). was organized June 12, 1853, Elder Richard Gosney officiating. The organization was the outgrowth of a series of meetings conducted by Elder Asa Holingsworth, during the progress of which a great religious awakening was experienced, resulting in the conversion of over thirty persons. The organization was effected with the following members: Clark Tucker, Sr., Margaret Tucker, Lydia Tucker, George Hargan, Benjamin Branch, Matilda Branch, Susan S. Branch, Mary Sattewhite, Henry Branch, Sarah A. Branch, Francis Branch, John T. Tucker, Jenette Ann Tucker, John Sattewhite, Paulina Branch, Delia M. Tucker, John H. Featherngill, Job B. Parkhurst, Mary Parkhurst, David F. Featherngill, Martha J. Featherngill, Thomas Branigan, Paulina Branigan, James Kimberun, George F. Featherngill, George Huston, Emily Beadles, James Townsend, John Morgan, James Lawhorn, Sarah Kerby, Joseph Lee, Sarah Duckworth, Mary A. Huston, Sarah J. Hunter, Samuel Brown, Mary G. Brown, Parthena Tucker, Loven G. Pritchard and Nancy Pritchard. The first church officers were Benjamin Branch, elder; Thomas Tucker and D. F. Featherngill, deacons. Meetings were first held in a log schoolhouse, but soon after the organization, a frame building was erected on land donated for the purpose near the line of Franklin and Nineveh Township. This was a substantial edifice, 30x40 feet in size, and served as a place of worship until 1869. In that year the present handsome brick structure was built at a cost of $9,000. It is a two-story building, 40x60 feet. The following preachers have ministered to the church at different times since its organization: Elders Richard Gosney, Asa Holingsworth, B. K. Smith, Uriah Watson, William I. Welsh, Henry R. Pritchard, John Brazzleton, ‐‐‐‐ Phillips, Perry Blankenship, R. T. Brown, Dr. Tingley, Mr. Couch, Samuel Piety and John C. Miller, the present incumbent. Present membership, 120. Whole number enrolled since organization, 442.

Transcribed by Cheryl Zufall Parker

Banta, D. D. History of Johnson County, Indiana. Chicago, IL: Brant & Fuller, 1888, page 859.