Search billions of records on

You Are Here >Indiana Home > Bartholomew County, Indiana Trails To The Past

Bartholomew County Is Up For Adoption!

Map of Bartholomew County

Bartholomew was established on January 8, 1821, it's county seat is Columbus. It was named for Lt. Col. Joseph Bartholomew.

This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting the county or if you have data you would like to submit for this site, please contact me by clicking on the link "Contact Me" in the top menu above []. Becoming a county administrator is very rewarding.

There are many kinds of data you can submit, both large amounts and small. Any thing from a complete database to just a family group sheet of your own family. Bibles, bios, cemetery, church records census, land, military, newspaper snippets, obits, school materials, or vital records are welcome. There are many other types of records that I probably am missing right now, but all would be a much appreciated addition to this county.

Neighboring counties are: Shelby County, Decatur County, Jennings County, Jackson County, Brown County and Johnson County.

Cities, towns and unincorporated places: Azalia, Burnsville, Clifford, Columbus, Corn Brook, Edinburgh, Elizabethtown, Garden City, Grammer, Hartsville, Hope, Jonesville, Lowell, Mount Healthy, Newbern, North Ogilville, Northcliff, Nortonburg, Ogilville, Old Saint Louis, Petersville, Rosstown, Rugby, Saint Louis Crossing, Stony Lonesome, Taylorsville, Walesboro, Waymansville and Waynesville

Extinct places are: Kansas and South Bethany.

Bartholomew County Townships are: Clay, Clifty, Columbus, Flat Rock, German, Harrison, Haw Creek, Jackson, Ohio, Rock Creek, Sand Creek and Wayne.

RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List - Message Board
- Garland Brook Cemetery
Columbus, Indiana