Search billions of records on

You Are Here >Indiana Home > Brown County, Indiana Trails To The Past

Brown County Is Up For Adoption!

Map of Brown County

Brown was established on February 3, 1836, it's county seat is Nashville. It was named for General Jacob Brown.

This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting the county or if you have data you would like to submit for this site, please contact me by clicking on the link "Contact Me" in the top menu above []. Becoming a county administrator is very rewarding.

There are many kinds of data you can submit, both large amounts and small. Any thing from a complete database to just a family group sheet of your own family. Bibles, bios, cemetery, church records census, land, military, newspaper snippets, obits, school materials, or vital records are welcome. There are many other types of records that I probably am missing right now, but all would be a much appreciated addition to this county.

Neighboring counties are: Johnson County, Bartholomew County, Jackson County, Monroe County, Morgan County.

Cities, towns, and small unincorporated places: Bean Blossom, Belmont, Camp Roberts, Christiansburg, Clarksdale, Cornelius, Elkinsville, Fruitdale, Gatesville, Gnaw Bone, Helmsburg, Lanam, Mount Liberty, Nashville, Needmore, Pikes Peak, Point Idalawn, Spearsville, Stone Head, Story, Taggart, Trevlac and Waycross.

Extinct places: Beck, Beveridge, Buffalo, Cleona, Cooper, Elkinsville, Gent, Kelp, Lock, Marble, Marshall, Ramelton, Sherman and Youno.

Brown County has 4 Townships: Hamblen, Jackson, Van Buren and Washington.

RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List - Message Board