Search billions of records on

You Are Here >Indiana Home > Franklin County, Indiana Trails To The Past

Franklin County Is Up For Adoption!

Map of Franklin  County

Franklin was established on February 1, 1811, it's county seat is Brookville. It was named for Founding father Benjamin Franklin.

This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting the county or if you have data you would like to submit for this site, please contact me by clicking on the link "Contact Me" in the top menu above []. Becoming a county administrator is very rewarding.

There are many kinds of data you can submit, both large amounts and small. Any thing from a complete database to just a family group sheet of your own family. Bibles, bios, cemetery, church records census, land, military, newspaper snippets, obits, school materials, or vital records are welcome. There are many other types of records that I probably am missing right now, but all would be a much appreciated addition to this county.

Neighboring counties are: Fayette County, Union County, Butler County, Ohio, Hamilton County, Ohio, Dearborn County, Ripley County, Decatur County and Rush County.

Cities, towns and unincorporated places: Andersonville, Bath, Batesville, Blooming Grove, Brookville, Buena Vista, Cedar Grove, Drewersburg, Enochsburg, Hamburg, Highland Center, Klemmes Corner, Lake View, Laurel, Metamora, Midway, Mixersville, Mound Haven, Mount Carmel, New Fairfield, New Trenton, Oak Forest, Oak Tree Crossroads, Old Bath, Oldenburg, Palestine, Peoria, Peppertown, Raymond, Rockdale, Saint Peter, Scipio, Sharptown, South Gate, Stavetown, Whitcomb and Youngs Corner.

Franklin County Townships are: Bath, Blooming Grove, Brookville, Butler, Fairfield, Highland, Laurel, Metamora, Posey, Ray, Salt Creek, Springfield and Whitewater.

RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List - Message Board
- Maple Grove Cemetery -