Search billions of records on

You Are Here >Indiana Home > Jennings County, Indiana Trails To The Past

Jennings County Is Up For Adoption!

Map of Jennings County

Jennings was established on December 27, 1816, it's county seat is Vernon. It was named for Jonathan Jennings, the first Governor of Indiana.

This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting the county or if you have data you would like to submit for this site, please contact me by clicking on the link "Contact Me" in the top menu above []. Becoming a county administrator is very rewarding.

There are many kinds of data you can submit, both large amounts and small. Any thing from a complete database to just a family group sheet of your own family. Bibles, bios, cemetery, church records census, land, military, newspaper snippets, obits, school materials, or vital records are welcome. There are many other types of records that I probably am missing right now, but all would be a much appreciated addition to this county.

Neighboring counties are: Decatur County, Ripley County, Jefferson County, Scott County, Jackson County and Bartholomew County.

Cities, towns and unincorporated places: Brush Creek, Butlerville, Graham Creek, Hayden, North Vernon, San Jacinto, Sand Creek, Scipio and Vernon.

Jennings County Townships are: Bigger, Campbell, Center, Columbia, Geneva, Lovett, Marion, Montgomery, Sand Creek, Spencer and Vernon.

RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List - Message Board