Search billions of records on

You Are Here >Indiana Home > Johnson County, Indiana Trails To The Past

Johnson County Is Up For Adoption!

Map of Johnson County

Johnson was established on December 31, 1823, it's county seat is Franklin. It was named for John Johnson, first Chief Justice of the Indiana Supreme Court.

This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting the county or if you have data you would like to submit for this site, please contact me by clicking on the link "Contact Me" in the top menu above []. Becoming a county administrator is very rewarding.

There are many kinds of data you can submit, both large amounts and small. Any thing from a complete database to just a family group sheet of your own family. Bibles, bios, cemetery, church records census, land, military, newspaper snippets, obits, school materials, or vital records are welcome. There are many other types of records that I probably am missing right now, but all would be a much appreciated addition to this county.

Neighboring counties are: Marion County, Shelby County, Bartholomew County, Brown County and Morgan County.

Cities, towns and unincorporated places: Bargersville, Edinburgh, Franklin, Greenwood, New Whiteland, Princes Lakes, Trafalgar and Whiteland.

Extinct places are: Farwest.

Johnson County Townships are: Blue River, Clark, Franklin, Hensley, Needham, Nineveh, Pleasant, Union and White River.

RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List - Message Board
- Forest Lawn
Memorial Gardens