Search billions of records on

You Are Here >Indiana Home > Marion County, Indiana Trails To The Past

Marion County Is Up For Adoption!

Map of Marion County

Marion was established on December 31, 1821, it's county seat is Indianapolis. It was named for Gen. Francis Marion.

This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting the county or if you have data you would like to submit for this site, please contact me by clicking on the link "Contact Me" in the top menu above []. Becoming a county administrator is very rewarding.

There are many kinds of data you can submit, both large amounts and small. Any thing from a complete database to just a family group sheet of your own family. Bibles, bios, cemetery, church records census, land, military, newspaper snippets, obits, school materials, or vital records are welcome. There are many other types of records that I probably am missing right now, but all would be a much appreciated addition to this county.

Neighboring counties are: Hamilton County, Hancock County, Shelby County, Johnson County, Morgan County, Hendricks County and Boone County.

Cities, towns and unincorporated places: Beech Grove, Clermont, Crows Nest, Homecroft, Indianapolis, Lawrence, Meridian Hills, N. Crows Nest, Rocky Ripple, Southport, Speedway, Spring Hill, Warren Park, West Newton, Williams Creek and Wynnedale.

Marion County Townships are: Pike, Wayne, Decatur, Washington, Center, Perry, Lawrence, Warren and Franklin.

RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List - Message Board
Big Run Cemetery Crown Hill Cemetery Crown Point Cemetery
Ebenezer Cemetery Lick Creek Cemetery Southport Cemetery