Search billions of records on

You Are Here >Indiana Home > Montgomery County, Indiana Trails To The Past

Montgomery County Is Up For Adoption!

Map of Montgomery County

Montgomery was established on December 21, 1822, it's county seat is Crawfordsville. It was named for Gen. Richard Montgomery.

This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting the county or if you have data you would like to submit for this site, please contact me by clicking on the link "Contact Me" in the top menu above []. Becoming a county administrator is very rewarding.

There are many kinds of data you can submit, both large amounts and small. Any thing from a complete database to just a family group sheet of your own family. Bibles, bios, cemetery, church records census, land, military, newspaper snippets, obits, school materials, or vital records are welcome. There are many other types of records that I probably am missing right now, but all would be a much appreciated addition to this county.

Neighboring counties are: Tippecanoe County, Clinton County, Boone County, Hendricks County, Putnam County, Parke County and Fountain County.

Cities, towns and unincorporated places: Alamo, Balhinch, Bowers, Browns Valley, Cherry Grove, Crawfordsville, Darlington, Deer's Mill, Elmdale, Garfield, Ladoga, Lake Holiday, Linden, Linnsburg, Mace, New Market, New Richmond, New Ross, Parkersburg, Shannondale, Smartsburg, Waveland, Waynetown, Wesley, Whitesville, Wingate and Yountsville.

Extinct places are: Beckville, Binford, Fredericksburg, North Union and, Troutman.

Montgomery County Townships are: Brown, Clark, Coal Creek, Franklin, Madison, Ripley, Scott, Sugar Creek, Union, Walnut and Wayne.

RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List - Message Board
Oak Hill Cemetery - Willhite Cemetery