Search billions of records on

You Are Here >Indiana Home > Posey County, Indiana Trails To The Past

Posey County Is Up For Adoption!

Map of Posey County

Posey was established on November 11, 1814, it's county seat is Mount Vernon Winamac. It was named for Thomas Posey, governor of Indiana Territory.

This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting the county or if you have data you would like to submit for this site, please contact me by clicking on the link "Contact Me" in the top menu above []. Becoming a county administrator is very rewarding.

There are many kinds of data you can submit, both large amounts and small. Any thing from a complete database to just a family group sheet of your own family. Bibles, bios, cemetery, church records census, land, military, newspaper snippets, obits, school materials, or vital records are welcome. There are many other types of records that I probably am missing right now, but all would be a much appreciated addition to this county.

Neighboring counties are: Gibson County, Vanderburgh County, Henderson County, Kentucky, Union County, Kentucky, Gallatin County, Illinois and White County, Illinois.

Cities, towns and unincorporated places: Barrett, Blairsville, Bufkin, Bugtown, Caborn, Cynthiana, Dead Mans Crossing, Erwin, Farmersville, Grafton, Griffin, Hepburn, Heusler, Hovey, Lippe, Marrs Center, Mount Vernon, New Baltimore, New Harmony, Oak Grove, Oliver, Parkers Settlement, Philip Station, Poseyville, Prairie, Rapture, Savah, Solitude, Springfield, St. Philip, St. Wendel, Stewartsville, Upton, Wadesville, Welborn Switch and West Franklin.

Posey County Townships are: Bethel, Black, Center, Harmony, Lynn, Marrs, Point, Robb, Robinson and Smith.

RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List - Message Board