Search billions of records on

You Are Here >Indiana Home > Shelby County, Indiana Trails To The Past

Shelby County Is Up For Adoption!

Map of Shelby County

Shelby was established on December 31, 1821, it's county seat is Shelbyville. It was named for Gen. Isaac Shelby, Governor of Kentucky.

This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in adopting the county or if you have data you would like to submit for this site, please contact me by clicking on the link "Contact Me" in the top menu above []. Becoming a county administrator is very rewarding.

There are many kinds of data you can submit, both large amounts and small. Any thing from a complete database to just a family group sheet of your own family. Bibles, bios, cemetery, church records census, land, military, newspaper snippets, obits, school materials, or vital records are welcome. There are many other types of records that I probably am missing right now, but all would be a much appreciated addition to this county.

Neighboring counties are: Hancock County, Rush County, Decatur County, Bartholomew County, Johnson County and Marion County.

Cities, towns and unincorporated places: Blue Ridge, Boggstown, Edinburgh, Fairland, Flat Rock, Fountaintown, Geneva, Gwynneville, Marietta, Meiks, Morristown, Mount Auburn, St. Paul, Shelbyville, Sugar Creek and Waldron.

Shelby County Townships are: Addison, Brandywine, Hanover, Hendricks, Jackson, Liberty, Marion, Moral, Noble, Shelby, Sugar Creek, Union, Van Buren and Washington.

RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List - Message Board
Chapman Cemetery Cunningham Cemetery Powell Cemetery