Search billions of records on



Carlow County - Ireland Genealogical Projects (IGP TM)

Clonmore Football Club

Co. Carlow

Club Name: Clonmore
As Gaeilge: Cluain Mhór
Location: Woodside, Clonmore Road, Hacketstown, Carlow. Website:

Clonmore team in 1948
J. J. Doyle in his playing days with the Clonmore team in 1948, one of the first team photos taken after the club was founded in December 1947.
Back row (from left): Tom Byrne, Bill McDonald, Paddy "Johnson" McDonald, "J" Connolly, Denis Cullen, Bob Tallon, J.J. Nelson.
Front - Mick Murray, Pakes Connolly, Andy McMahon, John J. Doyle, Billy Byrne, Matt Cullen, Paddy Wybrant.
Players missing who were on team that won Junior Championship in 1950: Mick Connolly, Ned McDonald, Jimmy Crowe, Johnny Kelly, Ned Kenny

Clonmore GFC – 1950 Carlow Junior Football Champions
Back L to R: John Doyle, Mick Connolly, “J” Connolly, Paddy “Johnson” McDonald, Benny Doyle, Jimmy Crowe, Denis Cullen, Johnny Kelly, Larry Kenny.
Front L to R : Matt Cullen, Bill McDonald, Paddy McDonald, Mick Murray, Jackie Anderson, Pakes Connolly, Billy Byrne. Score : Clonmore 2-3 Bagenalstown 1-4

1955 - Clonmore GFC - Senior Championship Winning Team

In 1955, Clonmore beat O’Hanrahans by 2-10 to 0-7 in the 1955 final and beat the Blues again in the 1956 final by 2-8 to 0-4.

Back Row (Left to right): Willie Rooney, Tom Looby, John O’Toole, Jimmy Crowe, Bill McDonald, Denis Connolly, Martin Molloy, Andy McMahon, Denis Cullen, Benny Doyle, Paks Connolly, Paddy McDonald, Mick Connolly, Paddy Doyle, John Doyle, Seamus Doyle, Denis Dalton.

Front Row (Left to right): Paddy Duffy, Bernard O’Reilly, Tom O’Reilly, Patsy Molloy, Eamon Bolger, Jim Fogarty, Ned McDonald, Larry Molloy, Matt Cullen, Liam Bolger.

    The greatest team ever to represent Clonmore and one of the finest club teams ever seen in Carlow. Paks Connolly, Martin Molloy and Jim Fogarty were on the Carlow team beaten by Mayo in the 1954 NFL Final at Croke Park, the only time Carlow ever reached a NFL Final. Mick Connolly and Denis Cullen too were regulars on the county team while Paks Connolly and Martin Molloy were also selected to represent Leinster.

1965 Senior Team County Finalists
Clonmore's last appearance in a County Senior Football Final was in 1965 when we lost to Eire Og by 2-7 to 1-2.
This photo is of a Clonmore team from 1965/66:
Back (LtoR); Mick "Brainy" Doyle, Tom Purser, Tony Doheny, Denis Connolly, Jim Byrne, Paks Connolly, Tommy McCarney, PJ Conway.
Front: Fay McCoy, Ned McDonald, Jim Boland, Tom Boland, Peadar Daly, Pat Bowe, Tommy Kehoe.

1977 - Clonmore GFC - SFL Division 2 Champions
Team which defeated the Fighting Cocks by 2-10 to 0-2 in the 1977 SFL Div 2 Final:
Back (LtoR): John Tallon, Mick Doyle, Connie Byrne, Mick Byrne, Tony Kelly, Joe Byrne, John Doyle, Des Kelly, Sean O'Toole.
Front: Mick O'Sullivan, Declan McCarthy, Tommy Kehoe, Jimmy Lawlor, Frank Donnelly, Pat Doyle, Kevin Tallon.

1978 - Clonmore GFC - Under 12 A County Champions
 The first Clonmore team to win the County under 12 A Championship in 1978.
Back (left to right): Bobby Connolly, (name missing from photo), Brendan Cullen, John Doyle, Brian Fagan, Michael Farrell, Brian Barrett, Michael Kealy, Michael Scanlon, Paul Byrne, Eddie Coughlan.
Front: Thomas Doyle, Nigel O’Connor (RIP), Ger Byrne (RIP), Anthony Sheeran, Eddie Forde (Captain), John Tallon, Fergal Doyle, Donal McGrath, Martin Doyle.

1980 ICF Champions
Team which defeated Nurney by 0-10 to 2-3 in the 1980 Intermediate County Final:
Back (L to R); Tom Boland, Declan McCarthy (Captain), Mick Byrne, Des Kelly, Joe Byrne, Mick Doyle, Frank Donnelly, John Connolly, Larry O'Brien.
Front: Jimmy Lawlor, Kevin Tallon, Richard McCall, Tom Doyle, Tommy Kehoe, Pat Coughlan.

Martin Molloy

The information contained in these pages is provided solely for the purpose of sharing with others researching their ancestors in Ireland.
© 2001 County Carlow IGPTM