Carlow County - Ireland Genealogical Projects (IGP TM)

Carlow Football

Source: Carlow Nationalist 2007

Sent in by 'Carloman'


Carlow Football Champions 1949

(Click on Image to enlarge)
Back row: Martin Kavanagh, Tom Rice, Frank Dulton. Dinny Kelly, Dinny Hyland, Brendan Delaney, Ned Doogue, T Parker, Lai Murray, Billy Hutton, Pat Horphan, Jim Bacon, Jack Cahill, George Hyland.
Middle: Timiny Horohan, Ned Horonan, Jamcsy Hennessy, Maurice Doogue, Jimma Rea, John 'Buller' Moore, Seamus Grant.
Front: Johnny Jones, Neddy 'Giantie' Kehoe, John Joe Lambert

THE SHAMROCKS, an old Carlow town club, bristling with outstanding footballers, romped into senior ranks with a smashing 0-16 to 1-6 victory over St Andrew's in the 1949 Carlow JFC final, a game played in Dr. Cullen Park in the Spring of 1950.

"Speed gave the Shamrocks their greatest claim to superiority" stated the Nationalist report.  Jimma Rea was in rare form; he sparked every other move and was always content to 'part' with the ball at the right moment.  John 'Buller' Moore was resourceful and energetic and he seemed certain of numerous scores when the 'Mountie' tactics of 'always get your man' was applied by the backs"!

The merit of this ploy was non-existent when the Shamrocks had a place kicker like Ned Doogue. He notched nine points off well judged frees. Doogue played a great game at centre-field and added a brace of points from play to bring his total to an electric eleven (0-11).

Maurice Doogue was a powerful pivot He held danger-man Dooley well in 'check', Seamus Grant and Dinny Hyland, later to rise to fame as an All-Ireland pole-vault champion, completed a dominant half-back line.

The Cahill brothers, who worked on the Railway, played against each other in that '49 final, John in the Shamrock's full-back line, Paddy at the opposite end of the field for the Bagenalstown men.

The Shamrocks lost narrowly to Palatine (1-8 to 0-9) in the opening round of the 1950 SFC, their last championship fixture as in early 1951 the club agreed to amalgamate with O'Hanrahan's (beaten 1-11 to 0-1 by Leighlinbridge in the 1950 SFC) and this proved an immediate hit with the new O'Hanrahan's, with seven of the Shamrocks forty-niners, winning the 1951 Carlow SFC title.

By Leo McGough
  • The information contained in these pages is provided solely for the purpose of sharing with others researching their ancestors in Ireland.

    Search billions of records on

    2001 Ireland Genealogy Projects, IGP TM