Search billions of records on


Carlow County - Ireland Genealogical Projects (IGP TM)

High Sheriffs of County Carlow

1583 - 1920

High Sheriffs of County Carlow

The High Sheriff of Carlow was the British Crown's judicial representative in County Carlow, Ireland from the 16th century until 1922, when the office was abolished in the new Free State and replaced by the office of Carlow County Sheriff. The sheriff had judicial, electoral, ceremonial and administrative functions and executed High Court Writs. In 1908, an Order in Council made the Lord-Lieutenant the Sovereign's prime representative in a county and reduced the High Sheriff's precedence. However the sheriff retained his responsibilities for the preservation of law and order in the county.

The usual procedure for appointing the sheriff from 1660 onwards was that three persons were nominated at the beginning of each year from the county and the Lord Lieutenant then appointed his choice as High Sheriff for the remainder of the year. Often the other nominees were appointed as under-sheriffs. Sometimes a sheriff did not fulfil his entire term through death or other event and another sheriff was then appointed for the remainder of the year. The dates given hereunder are the dates of appointment.

Elizabeth I (1558-1603 AD)

1583: George Carew, 1st Earl of Totnes

James I 1603 - 1625

1612: Sir Thomas Butler, 1st Baronet of Cloughgrenan

1622: Sir Thomas Butler, 1st Baronet of Cloughgrenan

Charles I 1625 - 1649

1650: Henry Prittie

Charles II 1660 - 1685

1662: Thomas Burdett of Dunmore

1670: Sir Thomas Butler, 3rd Baronet

James II 1685 - 1688

1686: William Brereton

William III 1688 - 1702 and Queen Mary II 1688 - 1694

1691: Sir Thomas Butler, 3rd Baronet

1701: Sir Thomas Burdett, 1st Baronet of Garryhill

Queen Anne 1702 - 1714

1706: George Brereton

King George I 1714 - 1727

1724: Samuel Burton

King George II 1727 - 1760

1730: Robert Burton

1737: William Brereton

1751: George Brereton

1754: Ralph Howard, 1st Viscount Wicklow

1760: Benjamin Burton

George III, 17601820

1770: Clement Wolseley

1775: Benjamin Burton Doyne

1794: William Browne

1800: Edward Eustace of Castlemore

1802: John Bennett

1803: Henry Colclough

1810: Benjamin Disraeli of Bettyville House, Carlow (uncle of British PM)

1813: James Eustace of Castlemore

1813: Beauchamp Colclough

1816: Benjamin Burton

1818: Sir Thomas Butler, 8th Baronet

1819: John Dawson Duckett

George IV, 18201830

1820: Sir Charles Burton, 3rd Baronet

1821: William Richard Steuart

1822: William Fitzwilliam Burton

1824: John Alexander, jnr. of Milford

1825: William Duckett

William IV, 18301837

1835: James Hardy Eustace of Hardymount and Castlemore

1836: Sir Richard Pierce Butler, 9th Baronet

Victoria, 18371901

1838: John George Brabazon Ponsonby, 5th Earl of Bessborough

1840: Horace William Noel Rochfort, of Clogrenane

1842: Hon. Somerset Richard Maxwell of Mountnugent

1844: Sir Robert Joshua Paul, 3rd Baronet of Paulville, Ballyglan

1845: Robert Stephen Doyne

1849: William Fitzwilliam Burton

1850: Beauchamp Bartholomew Newton

1851: Charles William Cuffe Burton, 5th Baronet

1852: Sir Clement Wolseley, 5th Baronet of Mount Wolseley

1853: Henry Bruen

1854: William Duckett

1856: John Newton

1857: Arthur MacMorrough Kavanagh, The MacMorrough

1859: William Clayton Browne-Clayton

1861: Sir John Richard Wolseley, 6th Baronet, of Castletown

1862: Hardy Eustace of Castlemore and Hardymount

1866: Sir Thomas Pierce Butler, 10th Baronet

1868: Robert Westley Hall-Dare

1869: Philip Charles Newton

1873: Steuart James Charles Duckett

1874: James Eustace of Newstown

1875: Charles Mervyn Doyne

1875: Peter George FitzGerald, 1st Baronet

1876: Thomas Kane McClintock-Bunbury, 2nd Baron Rathdonnell

1878: James Walter Milles Stopford, 6th Earl of Courtown

1879: Charles Edward Henry Duckett-Steuart

1880: John William McClintock-Bunbury

1886: Henry Bruen

1891: John Alexander of Milford House

1895: John James Hardy Rowland Eustace-Duckett of Castlemore and Hardymount

1896: Robert Westley Hall-Dare

1898: Edward Ponsonby, 8th Earl of Bessborough

1899: Thomas Herbert Robertson

1900: John Bonham

Edward VII, 19011910

1902: Dermot Henry Doyne

1904: Henry Philip Newton

1905: Sir Richard Pierce Butler, 11th Baronet

1909: Thomas Leopold McClintock-Bunbury, 3rd Baron Rathdonnell

1910: William Fitzwilliam Burton

George V 19101936

1911: Walter Henry Mountiford Westropp-Dawson

1920: Charles Richard Butler

Source: &

The information contained in these pages is provided solely for the purpose of sharing with others researching their ancestors in Ireland.
2001 Ireland Genealogy Projects, IGP TM By Pre-emptive Copyright - All rights reserved