Search billions of records on



Carlow County - Ireland Genealogical Projects (IGP TM)

St. Columba's National School

Tullow. Co Carlow

St. Columba's National School

The failure of Robert Doyne to transfer the ownership of the school to St. Columba's was to have strange consequences. Again we return to St. Columba's Vestry Minute Book where according to Revd. Drapes extract, "the late J.B. Johnstone, Rector of Tullow (1832-1860) ceased to visit the school for some years, as the teachers refused to recognise his authority."

St. Columba's National School

Revd. Drapes continues, "The late Charles Henry Doyle told me that they had a bad teacher for some time, who kept possession of the house and that he, Mr. Doyne, recovered possession of it by getting a bailiff in through the window."

Charles Henry Doyne, not a man to be trifled with, took matters into his own hands. Again Revd Drapes tells us "that thence forward he took the management into his (own) hands, appointed a new master and acted as Treasurer, Revd. J.B. Johnstone, being absent at the time. Even after Mr. Johnstone returned to the Parish, Mr. Doyne acted as Treasurer until his death on March 19th 1867."

Tangible evidence of the Doyne family connection with St. Columba's N.S. is on view at the school for all to see. Every day pupils, parents and teachers alike pass by under the watchful photographic portrait of James Walter Chaloner Doyne (1851 - 1898) of St. Austin's Abbey, Tullow. It was his grandfather who founded St. Columba's N.S.

James Walter Chaloner Doyne (1851 - 1898)

James W. C. Doyne was born on April 25th 1851 son of Robert Stephen Doyne and Sarah Emily Tynte. He was a Justice of the Peace for County Wicklow and was High Sheriff of County Carlow in 1881. He died unmarried on March 22nd 1898.

Other members of the Doyne family were to continue to have an active interest in the fate of St. Columba's National School. Mrs. Georgina Louisa Doyne wife of Charles Henry Doyne left a substantial bequest to the school in her will when she died in 1893.

Her bequest reads, "I give and bequeath out of my pure personality the sum of five hundred pounds to the Representative Body of the Church of Ireland upon trust to invest the same and apply the income arising there from for the purpose of providing Scriptural Instruction according to the principles of the Protestant Church of Ireland during times permitted by the National Board of Education at Tullow (County Carlow) National School No.2 and for the purpose of providing instruction of Needlework to be taught to the girls at the same school."

The legacy of 500 was reduced to 447.14.8 on the payment of 50 Legacy Duty and costs of advertisement of 2.5.4.


The Corporal Punishment Book reveals that William McCullagh was not averse to enforcing discipline in the school. On June 5th 1905, 6th class pupil Herbert Mitchell was caught pelting a bird's nest in the playground and for his troubles received two slaps on the hand with a cane.

Jack Willoughby received two slaps with the cane on the hand for annoying other boys in the classroom. Walter Ryan received the same punishment when he annoyed the other boys in class by daubing them with ink.

The Class of 1888

The Roll Book of St. Columba's National School began on Monday 2nd April 1888 when 56 children attended the school.

Infant Class (13) - James Henderson, Arthur Thompson, James Henderson, William Hopkins, John Smith, Henry Byrne, Harriet Percy, Emma Burgess, Ellen Hopkins, Sarah Caldbeck, Maggie Thompson, Louisa Tyrrell, and Frances Byrne.

First Class (10) - James Hopkins, Albert Smith, Thomas Bolton, James Hopkins, Lily Burland, Margaret Percy, Ada Smith, Lily Leslie, May Caldbeck, and Anne Hopkins.

Second Class (5) - Lames Sunderland, Charles Tyrrell, Charles Dowse, Anna Bolton and Mary A. Lucas.

Third Class (13) - Thomas Dagg, Robert Dagg, Michael Tyrrell, John Dowse, John Burgess, Mary Hopkins, Alicia Hopkins, Matilda Percy, Sarah Thompson, Sarah Hopkins, Frances Dagg, Mary Smith, and Anna Smith.

Fourth Class (3) - William Percy, Thomas Tyrrell and Herbert Baulke.

Fifth Class (12) - John Bolton, Thomas Smith, Ben Hopkins, William Gilbert, Thomas Gilbert, Joseph Smith, Frances Burgess, Bessie Thompson, Mary Gilbert, Maggie Burland, Mary Percy and Jane Bolton

The above are extracts from St. Columba's National School  website - 175 Years of Education in Tullow by William F. Paton, M.A.

Tullow Boys School 1929,
Back Row : J. Shore, J. Neavyn, J. Roche, PJ. Brophy, K. Carthy, J. O'Brien, J. Bolger, J. Hanrahan.
3rd Row: M. Kehoe, J. Carroll, T. Holohan, M. Cullen, G. Brophy, Lawson?, J. Fox, Tom Roche.
2nd Row: J. Meaney, J. Dwyer, D. Nicholson, J. Bailey, V. Fenlon, T. Butler, J. Murray.
Front Row: M. Green, J. Ralph, B. Shore, L. Murphy, F. Byrne, Billy Meaney, P. Kane.

 Source: Alan McGrath

[ St. Austin's Abbey ] [ TULLOW NS ]
The information contained in these pages is provided solely for the purpose of sharing with others researching their ancestors in Ireland.
2001 Ireland Genealogy Projects, IGP TM By Pre-emptive Copyright - All rights reserved