Search billions of records on

Welcome to Wabaunsee County

Trails to the Past

This site is available for adoption

Wabaunsee County was originally named Richardson county, for the pro-slavery member of the Territorial council William Richardson. Created as an original county in 1855, its name was changed to Wabaunsee County in 1859, for the Pottawatomie chief Wah-bahn-se. Wabaunsee County is located in the northeastern part of Kansas, and is surrounded by Pattawatomie county to the north; Shawnee county to the east; Osage county to the southeast; Lyon county to the south; Morris county to the southwest; Geary county to the west; and Riley county to the northwest. The county seat is Alma.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Wabaunsee County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

As noted above, Wabaunsee county is available for adoption. If interested in becoming the administrator for Wabaunsee county, email me at the address above.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
Photos Schools    

Wabaunsee County Links

Return to Kansas Main Page
This site was created on June 17, 2011
Copyright 2011