This site is available for adoption.  If you are interested in adopting this site please contact the State Coordinator.

As a proud part of the USGenWeb Project, this site is full of online records, research helps, and other resources to further your genealogical research in

Please keep in mind that I do not live in Magoffin County, and am unavailable to answer lengthy personal research questions.  If you have data relating to Magoffin County, Wisconsin please consider contacting me about contributing them to the website.  

Always check the update page to see what new things have been added to the website since your last visit.  If you need any assistance with navigating the site, or have items to donate feel free to contact me at  I hope you enjoy your stay here in Magoffin County!

 The seat of Magoffin County, is located on the Licking River. A settlement was established in 1794, but the settlers were subsequently driven off by Indians and didn't return until 1800. The original settlement was known as Prather's Fort, for one of the settlers, and Licking Station. It was later renamed Adamsville for William Adams, a prominent local citizen, and renamed again as Salyersville, for Samuel Salyer, after the formation of Magoffin county.

The post office opened as Burning Spring in 1829, was moved and renamed Licking Station in 1839, moved and renamed Adamsville in 1849, and was finally renamed Salyersville in 1861. The population of Salyersville in 1990 was 1,917.

Magoffin was established in 1860.
Magoffin County was named for: Beriah Magoffin (1815-1885)

Births Cemeteries
Census Churches
County Info Courts
Deaths Family Group Sheets
Links Lookups
Marriage Memorials
Military Newspaper
Obits Pictures
Surnames Wills


 Mail List

USGenWeb Archives

Last Update Monday, 31-Jan-2011 17:12:49 MST

 KYGenWeb State Coordinator

KYGenWeb State Coordinator:  Sherri Bradley
KYGenWeb Asst. State Coordinator:
Bill Utterback
KYGenWeb Asst. State Coordinator:
Jeff Kemp

Copyright © 2009 by the KYGenWeb Team. All
rights reserved. Copyright of submitted items
 belongs to those responsible for their authorship or
creation unless otherwise assigned.