Search billions of records on

   Towns / Jamestown
   Historical Societies
   Funeral Homes


   Tax Lists
   Land Records

   Look-Ups / Queries
   Gen Data

County Formation

The eighty-first county in order of formation, Russell County is located in south-central Kentucky and is bordered to the north by Casey, to the east by Pulaski, to the southeast by Wayne, to the south by Clinton, to the southwest by Cumberland, and to the northwest by Adair counties.

Russell County, which has an area of 250 square miles, was formed December 14, 1825, from portions of Adair, Wayne, and Cumberland counties. It was named in honor of Col.William Russell, a Revolutionary War officer who fought in the Battle of Kings Mountain.

Russell County is located in the Pennyrile region of the state. The elevation in the county ranges from 530 to 1140 feet above sea level. In 1990 the county population was 14,716 in a land area of 253 square miles, an average of 58.2 people per square mile.

The topography is hilly, with fertile, level bottom land along the Cumberland River and along Alligator, Carrey, Goods, and Greasy creeks. Farms occupy 62 percent of the land area. The county ranks forty-seventh in the state in agricultural receipts, 70 percent of them from poultry and livestock. Crops include hay, corn, tobacco, peppers, and tomatoes.

Copyright 2001-2015. All files on this website are copyrighted by their submitter and creator. They may be linked to, but may not be reproduced on another website or in any other form, without specific permission of the submitter, owner, publisher and this site moderator. Although public records are as such not copyrightable, the manner in which they are presented, including the notes, comments, etc. are. The information on this site is provided free of charge, by volunteers, for your personal use only.