Observer Building Museum
Originally constructed as a tenement in 1854, the Observer Building became the home of Piscataquis County's oldest weekly newspaper in the early 20th century. In 1995, the building was deeded to the Historical Society and became its flagship museum building and headquarters.
The Observer Building's unique prow-shaped roof was reportedly built by ships' carpenters imported especially from the coast of Maine to make the building fit its small, flat-iron shaped lot.
Today, the Observer Building houses an eclectic collection of artifacts, photos, memorabilia, and historic objects. Under construction is a research library where genealogists and historians will be invited to delve into the Society's substantial collection of historic records and its extensive photo collection.
The Observer Building is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Observer Building Museum is located in the heart of downtown Dover-Foxcroft, Maine.
Summer Hours for 2009
Thursdays: 1:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Fridays: 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.
Or by appointment:
Call (207) 564-0820 or (207) 564-3576 to schedule
For More Information, contact
Jack and Nancy Battick, Co-Curators
Phone: (207) 564-3576
Want to revisit some past exhibits?
Click on the exhibit you would like to visit.
We are proud of our museum and our collection of historical artifacts, but our museum is best seen in person, so stop on by!