County & Local History


Itasca County was formed in 1849 and originally included portions of present day eastern North & South Dakota, and MN counties of Cook, Lake, Saint Louis, Koochiching, eastern Lake of the Woods, eastern Beltrami, northern Aitkin, and northern Carlton.

county history

  • Map showing the original 9 counties of the Minnesota Territory, click on image for a larger view.

local history

  • Grand Rapids is the county seat and was founded about 1872, and incorporated as a village on June 9, 1891.

off-site history links







Page Last Updated 03.20.2015