Search billions of records on

In Days Gone By

Kittson County Enterprise

15 July 1998

1898 - 100 years ago

The latest established post office in the county is Deer and the postmaster is Christian Haugland, a merchant of that place.

Messrs. O. P. and H. P. Nordby of Fargo, came down to visit their sister, Mr. O. J. Anderson. The boys made the trip on their bicycles in two days.

Get your citizen second papers on July 23 so you will be able to vote this fall. Judge Ives will be here for that purpose and the fee will only be one dollar.

The party who borrowed Knute Pearson's cushion from his wagon without permission is hereby notified to return same at once to prevent trouble. The party is well known and a reasonable time is allowed him to return the property.

Among those who took in the Winnipeg fair from Hallock were W. F. Kelso, Gus. Peterson, T. M. George, Adolph Swanson, Nellia Joliff and Mr. and Mrs. E. A. McLeod.

Mrs. Frank Nelson and little children are on a visit in the southern part of the state, and Frank is taking advantage of the absence of his wife by having a good time taking in the circus and - Well guess we'll keep mum this trip, but see that you behave yourself from now on, Frank.

S. C. Johnson, J. S. Lindgren, S. P. Almquist, B. E. Sundberg, John Estlund, and C. E. Hall were among the prominent farmers who did business at the county seat this week.

1948 - 50 years ago

The Lake Bronson midgets baseball team took top honors at Thief River Falls by defeating Warren 15-3, Thief River 10-9 and Stephen 9-8 to capture the region eight title. These victories allow them to go to Minneapolis and the state tourney.

Little Wayne Holmgren had to throw all three games for his teammates because of some eligibility rules regarding the registration of players before games start. The Bronson team includes: Dennis Collins, Wayne Holmgren, ElRay Fertig, Junior Vagle, Jim Shablow, Bob Anderson, Lowell Vagle, Harris Hallgren, Dale Johnson, Wally Pearson, Gene Pederson, Gerald Vagle, Wayne Sele, Effert Wangen, and coach Cecil Bigelow.

Mr. and Mrs. C. A. Erickson, Hallock, were honored on their golden anniversary at a celebration in the Hallock Lutheran Church. Mr. and Mrs. Erickson were married June 29, 1898 and have four sons: Lenus, Billings, Mont., William, Schenectady, NY, Stanley and Franklin, Hallock.

Gloria Florence Haattvedt, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Haattvedt, Karlstad, and Walter Bedard, son of Mr. and Mrs. Chas. Bedard, Northcote, were joined in marriage June 20 in Eidsvold Lutheran church, Halma.

Mr. and Mrs. R. C. Nelson and little son, Duffy, have taken a cottage at Detroit Lakes where they will spend their vacation.

1973 - 25 years ago

A business transaction was completed where Betlach, Inc. became the local International Harvester farm equipment and truck dealership. Owners of the new firm are Doug E. Betlach and E. F. Quade.

Cathy Nowacki and Beverly Nowacki, daughters of Mr. and Mrs. Hilary Nowacki, Hallock, graduated from the Area Technical Institute of Thief River Falls. Cathy and Beverly completed their LPN training.

Mr. and Mrs. Dick Nicholson and Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Homstad visited with the Ray Nicholson family in Casper, Wyo. Crystal, Colleen, and Cindy Nicholson have been staying with their grandparents, the Billy Wilebskis, while their parents are gone.

1988 - 10 years ago

Hazel Ahlgren and Melvin Blomquist were crowned Kittson County Queen and King at the fair. Algren is from Hallock and Blomquist is from Lake Bronson.

Joanne Quiner was the winner of the Kittson County Bake-Off during the Kittson County Fair. Quiner's daughter, Melinda Vollmer, placed second among 62 entries in the filled cookie competition.

1993 - 5 years ago

Paula Kovash and Darrin Johnson, both of Phoenix, announce their engagement. Their parents are Otto and Arvella Kovash, Bottineau and LaMar and Shelby-Jean Johnson, Kennedy. A July 31 wedding is planned.

Rebecca Johnson was crowned 4-H Clothing Queen. Her court of honor included Renae Klopp, Rachel Klopp, Jaimee Johnson, Siri Folland and Valerie Swenson.

Demolition Derby winners were first place feature, Kevin Klein, Hallock, second place feature, Jeremy Sovde, Greenbush; first place grand slam, Vern Anderson, Hallock; second place grand slam, Kevin Swenson.