Search billions of records on

Kittson County Enterprise

May 27, 1998


Another disaster plagues Kittson County


Gov. Arne Carlson announced five counties in northwesternMinnesota have been declared agricultural disaster areas by the U.S. Departmentof Agriculture (USDA).

The declaration is in reponse to a request from Carlsonfiled after severe flooding, heavy rains and crop disease combined to spoilfarm production in Norman, Beltrami, Clearwater, Pennington and Kittsoncounties during 1997 and into this spring. USDA declared all five countiesprimary disaster areas.

The declaration makes farmers in the counties eligiblefor low interest emergency loans from USDA's Farm Service Agency.

"With last year's spring floods, wet weather, andwidespread crop diseases, northwestern Minnesota farmers are going througha very difficult time," Carlson said. "We have a responsibilityto do what we can to help, and this disaster declaration will assist farmersin getting back on their feet."

Minnesota Department of Agriculture Commissioner Gene Hugosonthanked USDA Secretary Dan Glickman for recognizing the plight of farmersin the northwest corner of the state, and he noted the USDA declartationis one portion of a joint state and federal effort to help northwesternMinnesota farmers recover from disaster.

"Combined with the recently approved state crop insuranceassistance and ongoing wheat scab research at the University of Minnesota,this disaster declaration reminds farmers that their state and federal governmentsare behind them." Hugoson said. "We can't stop the rain or floods,but we can help them recover."

In addition to declaring the five counties primary disasterareas, USDA declared Becker, Cass, Clay, Hubbard, Itasca, Koochiching, Lakeof the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau counties tobe contiguous disaster areas.

As a result, farmers in those counties will also be eligiblefor loan assistance.

Each FSA disaster loan application will be considered onits own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available,repayment ability, and other eligibility requirements.

For more details, farmers should contact the local FSAoffice.

ers should contact the local FSAoffice.