Welcome to Traverse County, Minnesota

home for

Genealogy and History Resources

  banner (14000 bytes)  

Traverse County history

 Traverse County takes its name from Lake Traverse, located just west of Wheaton, which has been the county seat since 1886. Traverse County was organized in 1862 and in 1870 the Homestead Act opened the territory to European immigrants who successfully farmed Traverse County's rich soil.

 Traverse County Recorder
702 2nd Avenue North
Wheaton, MN 56296-1460


Arthur Clifton Croke Dollymount Folsom
Lake Valley Leonardsville Monson Parnell Redpath
Tara Taylor Tintah Walls Windsor

County History Town Histories / Township Map 1882 history
Graceland Cemetery Pleasant Hill Cemetery 1883 Traverse Co. Pensioners
Surname Researchers Family Links Biographies
13 Mar 2015
Post Queries Archived Queries - 1999-2001 Traverse County Message Board
Resources Links Lookups
Minnesota, USGenWeb Archives Minnesota Vital Records Minnesota Places Location Finder
Railroad Stations Dakota Language
County mailing list MNGenWeb USGenWeb


You are Traverse county's visitor [an error occurred while processing this directive] since January 4, 1998
This page last updated Friday, 13-Mar-2015 00:16:32 MDT

If you have any suggestions, please e-mail
webmaster Tim

© 1997 - 2007 C. LaRue

© 2014-2015 Tim Stowell