Bade, Edwin (page 571), a prominent farmer of Lake Township, was born in section 36, this township, November 14, 1893, son of Henry E. and Adeline (Haase) Bade. His education was acquired in the district school and he subsequently had a year's training in the Minnesota agricultural College, which added to the knowledge he had already gained in practical farm work while associated with his father. After the father's death in April, 1914, the entire management of the home farm fell into his hands, and he has since operated it on a profitable basis, his mother for a while keeping house for him. This is one of the best farms in the northern part of the county and contains 327 acres, of which 240 are in Lake Township and the remainder in West Albany Township. Two hundred and forty acres are under the plow, and the farm is well stocked with Shorthorn cattle and Duroc-Jersey swine. The residence is a two-story modern frame house, consisting of an upright and wing, and the farm buildings include a frame barn 40 by 80 by 18 feet, with a full basement of 9 feet and cement floor; a granary 24 by 36 by 10, containing an elevator; a buggy shed, engine house, machine shed, and well house, and new 32 by 20 hog house, all substantial structures, most of which were erected by himself and his father. The house contains nine rooms, including bath and toilet; is wired for electric light, and furnished with hot and cold water. Mr. Bade's equipment includes a five-passenger auto car. Enterprising and industrious, he is making good progress, having a fine record behind him which he is trying to excel. Politically he is a member of the Non-Partisan League. Mr. Bade was married in 1916 to Elsie, daughter of Peter and Mary Palmer, of Lake Township, and he and his wife are the parents of three children: Mildred Adeline Mary, born May 3, 1917; Elenore Agnes, born May 13, 1918, and Agnes Frances, born June 19, 1919. The family are affiliated religiously with St. John's Lutheran church of Lake City.
Bade, Fred F. (page 746), of the firm of Bade & Johnson, proprietors of Trout Brook Stock Farm, located in Trout Brook Valley, Glasgow Township, was born in West Albany Township, July 2, 1871, son of Louis and Sophia (Haase) Bade. The parents were natives of Germany who came to the United States in the late fifties, settling at Galena, Ill., whence in 1869 they came to Wabasha County, Minnesota. Fred F. Bade was educated in Lake city, attending first the common school and then the high school, from which he was graduated in the English course in 1893. After that he taught school for nine years in Wabasha County, spending his vacations at home. Towards the end of that period he became interested in politics, and, having made many friends and acquaintances throughout the county, in 1902 was elected county auditor, taking office January 1, 1903, and serving four years. While still holding that position Mr. Bade began activities in farm work. During the years 1915, 1916, and 1917 he was employed as bookkeeper in the Dwelle Telephone office in Lake City,. In 1918 he relinquished all other work but farming, beginning the active development of his present place, where his family joined him in the fall of the following year. This business was begun in a small way in 1913, Br. Bad placing "Trout Brook King," a pure blood Shorthorn sire, at the head of his cattle stock, with a pure blood cow and heifer. He operated the business alone until October 1, 1919, when William S. Johnson became associated with him as partner, and they have since continued together. Mr. Bade's farm consisted of 304 acres of good land in the valley, while Mr. Johnson's, adjoining, contained 162 acres, and the two estates have been combined to form the Bade & Johnson Stock Farm. Their present herd numbers 64 head. In 1918 Mr. Bade added 25 head, mostly cows, to the herd. In January the firm placed in the herd a pure blood sire, "British Lex," purchased of Leslie Smith & Sons of St. Cloud at a cost of $4,100, but this investment proved unfortunate, as they lost the bull in five weeks after the purchase. A more recent addition to the herd is "Irish Poplin" No. 899597, imported in January, 1920, which they purchased in March of William Hartnett, Chicago, at a cost of $10,000. This animal, which is a three-year-old, sired in England, is now at the head of the herd. He took sweepstakes as champion in 1919 at Belfast, Ireland, and the first prize and a blue ribbon at the Minnesota State Fair in 1920. The firm have also several young cows that are regarded as coming winners. Well appointed quarters for the herd have been provided on the Bade premises, and a modern stock barn has been erected, 44 by 80 by 14 feet, with a full stone basement and full steel equipment. It is provided with running water and is electrically lighted. The farm is beautifully situated in a fertile valley about eight miles southeast of Lake City and about the same distance southwest of Wabasha, and is in direct charge of Fred McNichol, a native of Scotland and a herdsman of long experience. In 1917 Mr. Bade began breeding pure blood Durog hogs, and though this branch of the business is still in its infancy it has a promising future. Some general farming is also done, the product of the land being fed to the stock. Mr. Bade was married September 1, 1903, to Mable Johnson, who was born in Glasgow Township, May 1, 1877, daughter of Knute and Laura (Steenerson) Johnson. Of this union two children have been born: Allan F., October 15, 1904, and Donald J., May 22, 1911. Both Mr., and Mrs. Bade were reared in the faith of the Lutheran church.
Bade, Henry E. (page 570), a man who took a worthy part in the development of Wabasha County along agricultural lines, was born in Galena, Ill., July 6, 1863, son of Louis H. and Sophia (Haase) Bade. The father, Louis H. Bade, was born in the German state of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, January 28, 1836, and was the son of a farmer. He attended school in Germany, and at the age of 17 began an apprenticeship to the wagon-maker's trade, at which he subsequently worked as a journeyman. In October, 1859, he came to the United States and remained here for over two years, going back to Germany on a visit in the spring of 1861. There he was married in March, that year, to Sophia Haase, a native of the same part o f Germany as himself, and in 1862 he returned to the United States, accompanied by his wife, and located in Galena, Ill. When their first child, Henry E., was two years old, the family came to Wabasha County, Minn., and rented the John Haase farm in West Albany Township. They had practically no money, but were energetic and industrious, and with the aid of an ox team they operated that farm for two years. They then bought 160 acres of wild land in West Albany Township, built a log house, and some pole shacks for stock, and grubbed and cleared the land, and it was on that farm that Henry E. was reared to the age of 11. Then in 1874 Louis H. Bade sold the place and bought 340 acres of partly improved land, though mostly bluff, in section 36, Lake Township, not far from his first place. Here he built a comfortable frame house, a barn, and other necessary structures, residing on the place until 1905, when he retired and moved to Lake City, where he is now living at the age of 83 years, and in good health except for a lameness resulting from a broken hip which he sustained in 1917, which obliges him to use a crutch and cane. His wife died January 1, 1915. They had six children: Henry E., whose name forms the caption of this sketch; Edward, who was killed in an Idaho mine; Louis, now in Big Timber, Mont.; Amelia, wife of Fred Lange, of Lake City; Frederick, a farmer in Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, and Augusta, who married James Warner of Lake City and is now deceased. After his father left the farm, henry E. Bade took up its operation, having previously worked on it since his boyhood, and during his career as its active proprietor he made many valuable improvements, including the erection of substantial buildings for every branch of the farm work. At last his health began to fail and for three years he became more and more of an invalid, until he finally passed away April 15, 1914. He had continued to work until three days before his demise. Henry E. Bade was of quiet and retiring disposition, industrious and upright, and was a man highly respected. He was a director in the Wabasha County Fire Insurance Company, and served for some years as township clerk. He was married November 19, 1891, to Adeline Haase, who was born in West Albany Township, this county, October 21, 1879, daughter of John and Wilhelmina (ng) Haase. Of this union three children were born: Edwin W., born November 14, 1893, now operating the home farm; Luella, born May 14, 1896, who is the wife of Fred Stahmann of Section 35, Lake Township; and Mabel, born February 15, 1905, who is a student in the Lake City high school. After her husband's death Mrs. Henry E. Bade remained on the farm until 1917, when she took up her residence in Lake City, where she is now managing the home for Louis H. Bade.
Baker, Thomas F. (page 698), familiarly known as "Tom" Baker, for years a prominent representative of the farming industry in Mazeppa Township, but now living retired in Mazeppa village, was born at Farm Hill, Olmsted County, Minn., November 9, 1867, son of Stephen H. and Maria (Butterfield) Baker. The parents were natives of New York state who came to Minnesota in the early sixties and settled in Zumbro Township, where they were engaged in farming until the death of Mrs. Maria Baker on October 21, 1890. After that event Mr. Baker lived with his son, Tom, until his death, September 30, 1899. He was a man held in high regard for his public spirit and helpful qualities in the community, being always ready to aid a good cause, and for some years served as supervisor on the town board. He and his wife were affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal church. They had five children, Alonzo S., William G., Edwin S., Thomas F and Carrie S., the last mentioned of whom is now deceased. "Tom" Baker was educated in the city of Rochester, attending the ward school, and being a pupil for one year in high school. After that he worked for his father until 1891, in which year he rented a farm in Olmsted County, which he operated for five years. In 1896 Mr. Baker bought 160 acres in Zumbro Township, Wabasha County, a farm which he greatly improved by the erection of new set of buildings. He resided there engaged in general farming and stock raising until 1904, and then rented out the farm (which he afterwards sold), and moved to Zumbro Falls. In that village he lived for five years, engaged in the farm machinery business and also in buying cream. In 1909 Mr. Baker went to Montana, where he took a land claim and remained one year. Then returning to Mazeppa Township, Wabasha County, he purchased his present farm of 360 acres in sections 5 and 6. This he improved by the erection of one of the best barns in Wabasha County, a cow barn 36 by 110 feet in ground dimensions, provided with the West Bend barn equipment. As a general farmer and dairyman Mr. Baker met with much success and accumulated a competence. He is now serving in his third year as a supervisor on the town board, and is a man of influence in the community. He belongs to the Masonic order and the Modern Woodmen of America, and is religiously affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal church. On November 24, 1890, Mr. Baker was united in marriage with Cora Morrisey, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James Morrisey. He and his wife had been the parents of 12 children, who were born as follows: Viola E., November 15, 1891; Fannie, August 12, 1893; Hattie, April 10, 1894; Floyd, August 23, 1897; Thomas, May 10, 1899; Cora and Clara (twins), June 14, 1902; Ethel, October 9, 1904; Julia and John (twins), June 1, 1906; Esther, August 30, 1907; and Stanley, June 25, 1912. Fannie is now Mrs. Fred Knaup of Zumbro Township. Hattie is the wife of Ray Bowers. Thomas (Tommie) died when a little over a year old, on May 18, 1900. Ethel died at the age of four months and one day on February 10, 1905. Floyd was drafted into the United States service October 21, 1918, but owing to the termination of the war soon after, saw no active service. James Morrisey, father of Mrs. Baker, was born in Canada and same to Minnesota in 1876, settling in Zumbro Township, Wabasha County, where he resided until two years before his death. He died in Olmsted County, May 1, 1889, and his wife, who was a native of Pennsylvania, on September 19, 1880. They were members of the Catholic church. They had three children: Cora, John and Clara.
Baker, George W. (page 423), manager of the Bottsford lumberyard at Elgin, was born in Blue Earth, Minn., August 15, 1888, son of Fremont and Rhoda (Robinson) Baker. The father was a mason by trade, came to Minnesota from Indiana about 1858, the time when Minnesota became a state. After following his trade for a number of years, he engaged in farming in Martin County, and is now in the same line of occupation at Pine City, Pine County. He and his wife, who is still living, have been the parents of six children, three sons and three daughters: William H., residing at Pine City; Hazel, who married Sam Warner and lives in Minneapolis; Mona, wife of Fred Warner, residing on a farm; Mamie, wife of Will Schubert, living on a farm at Moneta, Ia; Gordon L., of Pine City and George W. of Elgin. George W. Baker acquired his elementary education in the district school and was graduated in 1907 from Sherburn high school. He worked on his parents' farm and also taught three terms of district school, after which he took a commercial course in a business college at Mankato, Minn. In 1911 he entered the employ of the Bottsford Lumber Company, and for three months was stationed at Jackson, Minn. After that he spent nine months in the company's yard at Wauseca, then four and a half years at Rochester, then a year at Sherburn as manager, coming to Elgin in the same capacity January 22, 1919. Mr. Baker saw service in the world war, enlisting in the Signal Corps of the United States army at Sherburn, and serving eleven months in the West, being located at Vancouver Barracks. He received an honorable discharge December 29, 1919, shortly before he came to Elgin. He is a member and vice president of Post No. 179 of the American Legion, which has about 200 members. He also belongs to the Masonic order and the Odd Fellows.
Baker, Jacob (page 625), the developer of one of the good farms of Glasgow Township, now deceased, was born in Prussia about 1841. About 1870 he came to Minnesota with his parents, who settled in Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, on land located in section 12. Jacob resided with his parents here until 1875, when, being discontented, and wanted to return to his native land, his father started him on 160 acres in section 18, Glasgow. In the same year he married Mary Reiland, daughter of Bernhardt and Susan Reiland, of Mazeppa, this county. She was born in Germany and came to this country with her parents at the age of 12 years. When young Baker came into possession of the farm which he subsequently bought, only 25 acres had been improved and the buildings were poor. During his active career on the place he cleared and developed 115 acres, and in 1895 began the erection of a comfortable residence, when death called him and he passed away on July 20, before his new house was completed. It was finished by his widow and sons, who also erected a good barn and other buildings, besides, clearing ten additional acres, and 150 are now under the plow. The farm, which Mrs. Baker has continued to conduct with her sons' aid, consists of productive land, and is well stocked with cattle and hogs, all of good grade, the Baker brothers-Benjamin, Charles and William-giving particular attention to the breeding of full blooded Duroc swine. Their nearest market is Theilman, three miles away. Mr. Baker was a well known and respected citizen of his township, which he served in various offices for a number of years, also serving on the school board of his district. A hard worker and a good citizen and neighbor, his loss was deeply regretted. He and his wife were the parents of 15 children, who were born as follows: Susan, February 22, 1876; Benjamin, July 14, 1877; Charles, February 9, 1879; Katherine, January 23, 1881; Frank, November 14, 1883; John, March 31, 1885; Mary, February 25, 1886; Margaret, May 1, 1888; Nicholas, December 6, 1889; William, June 7, 1891; Elizabeth, April 24, 1892; Lena and Anna (twins), January 17, 1896; and two who died in infancy. Susan is now Mrs. Frank Wohlwend of Lake City. Benjamin, Charles, William, John and Nicholas are all on the home farm. Katherine is now Mrs. Nicholas Krebsbach, residing in North Dakato where her husband is engaged in farming, banking and the sale of agricultural implements. Mary, who is unmarried, is in the employ of the Kuehn Mercantile Co. of Wabasha. Margaret is now Mrs. John Schwartz of West Albany Township. William was inducted into the United States service September 5, 1918, and became a member of a machine gun division, training at Camp Grant, Ill., and Camp Hancock, Ga. He was not sent overseas, and was honorably discharged February 28, 1919. Elizabeth is now a trained nurse, being a graduate from the Lake City Hospital. Lena and Anna are both residing on the home farm. The Baker family is members of the Catholic church, belonging to St. Joseph's parish at Theilman.
Barnes, James (page 357 ~ photo available), now living retired in the village of Millville, has been a resident of Wabasha County for nearly 60 years. He was born in County Armagh, Ireland, February 5, 1839, son of Robert and Isabelle Barnes, who were natives of that country, where they died. There James attended the common school, and remained until he was 17 years old, when he came to the United States, being the only member of his family to do so. After arriving in this country he spent 18 months in New Jersey, and from that state went to Livingston County, N. Y., where, until 1861, he was engaged in farming. He was married there in 1861, to Catherine Shannon, daughter of Alexander and Mary Shannon, natives of Ireland, and in April, that year, he came with his wife to Wabasha County, Minn. From Reed's Landing they struck out for Hyde Park Township, where they bought a farm of 125 acres, or rather, a tract of land covered with timber, on which he began improvements by erecting a log house. The Indians were numerous but gave them no trouble, and Mr. Barnes worked early and late in clearing his land and developing a farm, gradually erecting all necessary buildings, and also in time buying an additional tract of 75 acres, so that he finally found himself in possession of a good 200-acres farm. There he carried on general farming and stockraising, with the assistance of his sons, and in particular, of his son, Francis, until 1917, when he retired and moved to Millville. During his active career he served in various town offices, being for some time chairman of the town board, assessor, and school director of his district. He and his family are members of the Catholic church. Mr. and Mrs. Barnes have had a family of nine children, eight sons and one daughter, namely: John, Francis, Alexander, James, Arthur, Robert, Henry, William and Isabelle. James, Arthur and John are now deceased. Two of the sons are in Canada, one in Bemidji, Minn., and one in Minneapolis. Isabelle married William McGuigan and resides in Butte, Mont. She has one child, a daughter. Francis Barnes, who was born on the home farm in Hyde Park Township in 1864, was associated in agricultural work with his father until 1917, when he, too, moved to Millville, where he is now living. He was educated in the district school, and like the other members of the family, belongs to the Catholic church. He lives with his father, the household being presided over by Grace Bush, a cousin, whose parents are both deceased.
Bartholome, Rev. John N. (page 385), pastor of St. Felix Catholic church, Wabasha, was born in Chester Township, Wabasha County, Minn., December 22, 1876, son of Nicholas and Catherine (Jacobs) Bartholome. The parents were natives of Luxemburg but were married in this country. Nicholas Bartholome came to America in 1851, taking a claim of 100 acres of wild land in Chester Township, Wabasha County, which he proceeded to develop. By 1861, having made considerable progress, he returned to Europe for his relations and brought back with him his father and brothers and sisters, besides his wife's relatives-in all a colony of 40 or 50 souls, who settled in the vicinity of Chester. One sister, Margaret, had died in Luxemburg, but among those he brought over were his brother Dominick and his sisters, Catherine and Susan. Catherine, who became the wife of J. J. Reiland, is now deceased. Susan became Mrs. Dominick Schmitz. She is also deceased. The marriage of Nicholas Bartholome to Catherine Jacobs took place in this county previous to the advent of the other members of the two families, his wife's parents being residents of Chester Township. Nicholas Bartholome was a man of strong characteristics. He was prominent in civic, church and educational matters in his community, being particularly careful to give his children good educational advantages, and in business matters was very successful. He and his wife had had a large family, including the following children: Peter (first), who died young; Dominick, now living on the old home farm in Chester Township; John N., the direct subject of this sketch; Anna, now Mrs. M. Hart of Mazeppa; Elizabeth, who is the wife of F. P. Lippert, of McVille, N. D.; Justine, wife of G. J. Dobner, of Faribault, Minn.; William of Spokane, Wash.; George, residing in Aneta, N. D.; Nicholas, a twin brother of George, resides at Dickinson, N. D.; Catherine, now Mrs. John Hunneke, of Malta, Mont.; and Peter (second). Peter, the last mentioned, was born in Chester Township, April 1, 1892. He took a classical and philosophical course at Campion College, Prairie du Chien, Wis., subsequently entered St. Paul's Seminary at St. Paul, Minn., and is now a professor in St. Mary's College, at Winona. John N. Bartholome in his boyhood attended the parochial school in Chester Township, and later became a pupil in St. Francis Seminary at Milwaukee, where he took a classical course. From there he went to St. Paul's Seminary at St. Paul, where he graduated in his philosophic and theological course. In the summer of 1902 he took his first charge at Worthington, Minn., where he was stationed for one year. In 1903 he assumed the duties of his second charge, at Fulda, Minn., and remained there until 1919. During that period he increased his parish from 350 to 1,000 members, built a fine $75,000 church, and a $60,000 school. From Fulda he came to St. Felix parish, Wabasha, succeeding the Rt. Rev. Max Wurst, and has since devoted his time and attention to this charge, working earnestly and faithfully, and with gratifying results. He has made a favorable impression on the people of Wabasha, regardless of religious affiliations, and the parish is flourishing under his care.
Bartz, Robert W. (page 771), proprietor of an up to date plumbing establishment in Elgin village, was born in Elgin, August 4, 1886, son of Julius and Amelia (Radle) Bartz. The father, born in Germany, came with his parents to the United States when eight years old, locating in Potsdam, Minn. After his marriage here he and his wife took a farm in Elgin Township, Wabasha County, on which they spent 20 years of their lives. Julius Bartz died in 1914 and his widow is now living in the village of Elgin. They had twelve children, all of whom are now living, namely: Herman, August, Julius, Edward, Alfred, Robert, Emma, Alvina, Amelia, Bertha, Otellia and Luella. The father was a Civil War veteran, having enlisted at the age of 15 years and served two years. Robert W. Bartz was reared on the home farm, attending the district school and the Elgin high school. He remained at home until 24 years old, and then for five years operated a rented farm on his own account. Coming to Elgin at the end of that period, he engaged in the plumbing business with his brother Herman. This was in 1915, and in 1918 Robert purchased his brother's interest and has since conducted the business alone. He handles a full line of plumbing and heating equipment, employing a journeyman assistant, and enjoys a monopoly of the trade here, his place being the only plumbing establishment in town. Mr. Bartz was married in 1911 at Pine Island, Minn., to Anna Radke whose parents came from Germany, locating on their farm in Pin Island in 1900. Their children, four daughters and two sons, are all now living. Mr. and Mrs. Bartz are members of the Lutheran church, and industrious and useful members of the community. Mr. Bartz's brother Alfred served 28 months in the U. S. navy during the recent World War.
Baskin, George K. (page 742), station agent at Hammond for the C. M. & St. P. Railway, was born in Eau Galle, Wis., in February, 1870, son of William and Margaret A. (Kirk) Baskin. The parents were natives of the same town or district in the Province of Quebec, whence the father came as a single man to Eau Galle, Wis., at an early date. For a number of years he was employed in a sawmill by the well known lumber firm of Carson & Rand. The rest of his life subsequently was spent in farming in Dunn County, except the last few years, after his retirement, when he resided in Menomonie, Wis. They were the parents of 12 children, five of whom are living: Burt, of Hudson, Wis.; Garfield, of Minneapolis; Clayton, of Newberg, N. D.; Ella, residing at home with her mother, and George K., of Hammond, Minn. Those deceased are Will, Thomas, Harold, Edward, Mary, Bertie and Maggie. George K. Baskin was reared on his parents’ farm and acquired his education in the district school. He remained on the farm until the age of 19, and then entered the lumber trade, working in the woods in winter and in sawmills in summer. In 1906 he came to Millville, Minn., as station agent fort the C. M. & St. P. Railway, and remained there two years. Tat the end of that time he came to Hammond to take his present position as station agent here, which he has filled for 12 years in a manner satisfactory to the company and also to the patrons of the road, among whom he is popular. Fraternally he belongs to the Beavers (in Wisconsin) and to the O. R. T. He has served as trustee on the village board for the last six years. Mr. Baskin was married in 1903, at Wabasha, Minn., to Lena Heise, daughter of Christ and Bertha Heise. Her parents were natives of Germany who settled on a farm in Wabasha County, near Lake City, but are now living: Fred of Read Wing; Ella, wife of Mr. and Mrs. Baskin are the parents of five children: Evelyn, Lawrence, Raymond, Howard and Harold. All are residing at home except Lawrence, who is attending high school in Wabasha.
Note From Webmaster: Recently I had the privilege of communicating with Harold Baskin, mentioned above and son of George K. Baskin, subject of this biography. Harold recently celebrated his eighty-third birthday. He mentioned that he would have enjoyed starting a web site for Hammond, but too few of the possible subscribers to a Hammond mailing list had computers! I suspect that there is no moss growing near Harold.
Bateman, John D. (page 323), for some years a highly esteemed resident of Plainview, to which place he retired after a long and successful career in agriculture, was born in Winona County, January 14, 1863, son of Hill and Frances C. (Carpenter) Bateman. The parents were early settlers in Winona County, where they lived until 1870, when they removed to Olmsted County, and the rest of their lives were spent in farming there until their retirement in 1891. Both are now deceased. John D. Bateman acquired his education in the public schools of Winona and Olmsted Counties. After removing to the latter county he remained at home on his parents' farm in Quincy Township until their retirement in 1891, at which time he purchased the place-a beautiful farm of 269 acres. Progressive and enterprising, he accomplished good results, doing a prosperous business, and making extensive improvements, including the erection of two large barns and other out-buildings. His achievements and character marked him out as one of the leading men of his township, and his fellow citizens held him in high esteem. In 1912, on account of impaired health, he retired and moved to Plainview; but his active disposition would not permit him to remain idle, and so, from time to time, he rendered assistance in the various stores and hotel, whenever a shortage of help gave him the opportunity of being useful. His pleasant manner and willingness to assist others made him a general favorite with all. None knew him but to love him, and one of his chief aims in life was to make the world a happier place for others to live in. In his family he was an ideal husband and father; his life blessed those with whom he came in contact, and his span of years of earth was worthily spent. It ended April 9, 1917, but his memory will long be enshrined in the hearts of his family, his friends, and all who knew him. Mr. Bateman was interested in public affairs, but took no delight in the hurly-burly of politics, though as a public spirited citizen, he filled with credit a number of school and township offices. With his genial temperament it was natural that he should take delight in fraternal life, and his lodge affiliations included membership in the Masonic order, in which he had advanced as far as the Chapter, R. A. M.; the Odd Fellows, including the Rebekah lodge; the Modern Woodmen of America, the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and the Equitable Fraternal Union, in all of which he took an active part. Mr. Bateman was married, July 1, 1888, to Clara M. Diedrick, who after some years of married life, died leaving four children: Lillian M., now Mrs. Paul Wilson, of Olmsted County; Mary E., wife of Ervin Vermylia, of Olmsted County; Earl L., who married Laura Bouton and resides in Plainview; and Frances L., now Mrs. Arthur Sasse, of St. Charles. On April 25, 1895, Mr. Bateman married Mrs. Lillian R. Clark, who was born at Piasa, Macoupin County, Illinois, January 31, 1867, daughter of Frank and Jane (Andrews) Bateman. Her parents, who were natives of England, were early settlers at Piasa, arriving there about the close of the Civil War, and being subsequent residents for over 40 years, Frank Bateman being a prominent merchant. Both have passed away. By her first husband, Elmer J. Clark, Mrs. John D. Bateman had two children: James H., who while serving in the marine force took influenza and died October 2, 1918, at Rexham Hospital, Nova Scotia; and Leroy, who died in Illinois at the age of one and a half years. Mrs. Bateman is a member of the Rebekah lodge, in which she occupies the position of vice grand, and right supporter, and also of the Order of the Eastern Star. She is an active member of the Christian church, as was also Mr. Bateman.
Bayley, Emery H., M.D. (page )(page 333), a medical and surgical practitioner of long experience and recognized ability who has followed his profession in Lake City for the last 25 years, was born at Vernon, Waukesha County, Wis., November 5, 1865, son of Herbert O. and Emma A. Bayley. The father, who was born in 1848, became a farmer and is still following that occupation at Lake Beulah, Wis. The mother died December 5, 1865; when her son, Emery, was but one month old. Emery H. Bayley acquired his elementary education in the common schools of Vernon, which he attended until the age of 15 years. He then spent one winter at Carroll College, Waukesha, Wis., and afterwards for three years the Greeley high school at Greeley, Colo., graduating in 1885. He then entered the University of Colorado, from which he was graduated with the B. L. degree in 1890. His graduation from Rush Medical College, Chicago, took place in 1893, and he subsequently served as interne in the Ashbury M. E. Hospital at Minneapolis. He then came to Lake City, opened an office, and has since built up a large practice and won a high reputation both as a physician and as a useful and interested citizen. For a number of years he has been president of the City Board of Health. He is also president of the Wabasha County Board of Health; president of the Wabasha County Tubercular Sanatorium at Wabasha; president of the Lake City Board of Education, and vice president of the Citizens Bank of Lake City, in all of which positions he has proved himself an energetic and capable man of affairs, with an eye for the public good. Politically he has always been a Republican. In the Masonic order he has advanced as far as the Commandery, and belongs also to the Modern Woodmen of America, the Ancient Order of United Workmen, and other societies, being examining physician for several benefit orders. Dr. Bayley was married, January 3, 1896, to Catherine Covell, who was born at Roscoe, Ill., December 27, 1867, daughter of G. W. and Jennie Covell, then of Maquoketa, Ia. She was a graduate of the Rockford Seminary, at Rockford, Ill., and for 4 years previous to her marriage was principal of the high school at Lake City. Dr. and Mrs. Bayley are the parents of three children: Emery Covell, born February 13, 1899, who was graduated from the Lake City high school and is now a student of Carleton College, at Northfield, Minn.; Anna Pauline, born May 5, 1902, now a student in the Lake City high school; and Ralph, born April 4, 1905, who is attending school in Lake City. The family occupies a neat and comfortable residence on High street, which the doctor purchased some years ago. They are members of the Congregational church and among its most active workers.
Becker, Arthur E. (page 254), one of the partners in the Becker Bros. Music Co., of Plainview, is a business man of high reputation, who, although still young, has an enviable record. He was born at Charles City, Iowa, June 18, 1887, son of Herman and Anna (Lippe) Becker. He acquired his literary education in the schools of Charles City and Mitchell, Iowa, and the public and high school of Elgin, Minn., to which place he accompanied his parents in 1897. After that he was actively associated with his father in the furniture and undertaking business, and ultimately obtained licenses as undertaker and embalmer at Minneapolis. In 1906 he went to Plainview, where he was employed for eleven years as manager of the furniture department of Koenig Bros. & Co., at the same time conducting an undertaking business in conjunction with that concern. In 1916 he erected the Becker building on Broadway and established the Becker furniture and undertaking business, which he conducted until September, 1919, when he sold the building and furniture business to M. V. Foley. For some years Mr. Becker has been one of the partners in the Becker Bros. Music Co., he looking after the Plainview business while his brother and partner, Emil, conducts the Elgin store. This is quite an extensive and widely known concern, having a large trade in various musical instruments, including especially pianos, piano-players, and Edison phonographs. In addition to these activities, Mr. Becker is secretary and treasurer of the Posz Motor Co., of Plainview, handling the Chandler, Dodge Bros., and Cleveland motor cars. He has also been very active in building and selling houses in Plainview, in which line of enterprise he undoubtedly holds the record with respect to the number of houses thus added to the village. For two years Mr. Becker was president of the Southern Minnesota Funeral Directors’ Association, and in 1912 he was a delegate from the State Association to the National Convention held at Chattanooga, Tenn. He is a Scottish Rite Mason, and also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, the Modern Woodmen of America, and other fraternal societies, in which he takes an active interest. For four years also he served as county coroner, and is now a member of the Plainview village council, and of the Business Men’s Club of the village. In all these various activities he has shown himself a “live wire,” bringing a keen intelligence, backed by practical experience, upon every problem presented, and seldom failing to discern the right method of handling it. The acquirement of wealth has been for him a comparatively easy task, and he now enjoys a high financial standing, while socially he is popular and numbers among his friends practically all the leading citizens of Plainview and the vicinity. The Republican party claims his political allegiance. Seven years ago Mr. Becker assumed the responsibilities of domestic life, when on July 9, 1913, he was united in marriage with Ella Schwantz, of Plainview, who was born September 13, 1888. Of this union there is one child, Emogene, who was born July 2, 1919. Mr. And Mrs. Becker are sincere and useful members of the Congregational church.
Becker, Emil A. (page 395), one of the leading business men of Elgin, proprietor of an up-to-date furniture store, undertaker and music dealer, was born at Charles City, Iowa, June 12, 1882, son of Herman and Anna (Lippe) Becker. He acquired his education in the public schools of Charles City and of Elgin, Minn., to which latter place he came with his parents when 12 years old. At the age of 15 he began his business career as clerk in a store in Elgin, and was thus occupied until 1909. He then went to Appleton, Minn., where he became sales manager in the furniture and undertaking department of the Leader Department Store, holding that position subsequently for five years. With the experience thus gained, he returned in 1914 to Elgin and purchased the furniture and undertaking business of his father, which he has since conducted with a gratifying measure of success, his stock being large and complete. He is also a partner with his brother, Arthur E., in the Becker Bros. Music Co. having stores at Elgin and Plainview, he attending to the Elgin branch of the business while his brother looks after that at Plainview. In 1908 he took a course of embalming at the Johnston School of Embalming in Philadelphia. One of the progressive men of the village, he is interested in whatever concerns its prosperity and advancement and is regarded as a reliable and whole-souled citizen. His fraternal society affiliations are with the Masons, Modern Woodmen of America and the Modern Brotherhood of America. Mr. Becker was married June 20, 1906, to Myrtle Connery, who was born in North Dakota, November 20, 1887, daughter of Thomas and Emma (Behrns) Connery. Two children have blessed their union: Arthur, born June 3, 1907, and Lawrence, born February 19, 1918.
Becker, Herman (page 254), a former merchant of Elgin, where he established and conducted a prosperous furniture business, was a native of Germany who came to the United States at the age of 18 years, landing at New York City. From there he came west to Iowa, which state he reached with only five cents in his pocket. In some way he obtained temporary assistance, and soon found work as a carpenter, though a cabinet-maker by trade. He was married in Iowa to Anna Lippe, and for 13 years they resided in Charles City, that state, Mr. Becker being employed in a furniture factory. A good musician, and skillful player on the cornet, he organized and led a number of bands, both in Charles City and at Mitchell, Iowa, where he subsequently bought and for two years conducted a furniture store. In 1897 he came with his family to Elgin, Wabasha County, Minn., and here engaged in the furniture and undertaking business, erecting a fine store, of which he was proprietor for 17 years, or until his death in October, 1914. His widow is still residing in the village. They had nine children: Emil, Clara, Arthur E., Alfred, Hattie, Anna, Frances, Helen and Margaret.
Becker, John W. (page 665), a prominent representative of the agricultural interests of Watopa Township, was born in the town of Belvidere, Buffalo county, Wis., February 19, 1866, son of Henry and Mary (Moore) Becker. The parents were natives of Germany, the father of Baden, and came to the United States probably about 1860. After their marriage they settled in La Crosse, Wis., where Henry Becker for two years kept a saloon. After that he was engaged in farming in Buffalo County, Wis., until his death in 1872. In 1873 his widow married Charles Fetting and now lives at Bruce, Wis. By her first marriage, with Henry Becker, she had three children: John W., the subject of this sketch; and Frank and George, who reside in Buffalo, Wis. Of her marriage with Mr. Fetting six children were born: Charles, Mary, Kate, Emma, William and Raymond. John W. Becker was reared in Houston county, Minnesota. He remained at home until 16 years old and then began working out on farms, continuing as a farm laborer until he was twenty-two. He then entered the employ of the Mississippi Logging Co., for whom he worked 17 years as paymaster. At the end of that time he began farming for himself, renting a farm for seven years in Wabasha county. In 1914 he bought his present farm of 320 acres in section 34, Watopa Township, and 44 acres in Winona County directly south. Here he is prosperously engaged in general farming and stock raising, giving his particular attention to Durham cattle and Chester- White hogs. He is connected fraternally with the Equitable Fraternal Union and the Modern Woodmen of America, and religiously with the German Lutheran church. Mr. Becker assumed the responsibilities of domestic life on September 2, 1891, when he was united in marriage with Bertha Lawrence, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ignatz Lawrence, her father being a native of Holland and her mother of Pennsylvania. They came to America in 1872, settling in Buffalo City, Wis., where Mr. Lawrence worked at the shoemaker's trade until 1881. After that he followed farming until 1895, and then located in Weaver, Minn., working for one year as a railroad section hand. He died July 26, 1906. In 1913 his widow married William Achenbach and is still residing in Weaver. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence were Bertha, Alvina, Anna, Louis, Charles, Addie, George and Harry. Mr. and Mrs. John W. Becker have been the parents of five children: William J., born March 20, 1893; Alvin L., December 23, 1894; Mildred M., August 29, 1896; Gordon E., August 9, 1902; and Ronald B., December 16, 1911. William J. is now a resident of Minneapolis. Alvin L. resides in Winona, Minn. Mildred M. is the wife of John Angelberg of Winona. The other two children are residing at home.
Befort, John (page 722), a representative farmer of Chester Township, where he has resided all his life, was born here March 30, 1869, son of William and Anna (De Ville) Befort. The parents were natives respectively of Germany and France who came to this country in the early sixties, and who, after residing in New York State for several years, came west to Wisconsin, thence to Goodhue County, Minn., and later to Chester Township, Wabasha County, where they spent the rest of their lives in farming. The mother died in 1908 and the father in 1909. They were members of the Catholic church. Their children were William, Mary, Anna, John (first), John (second), Katherine, Frank, Lena and Agnes. The first John died in infancy and Katherine is also now deceased. The subject of this sketch, who was the second child of his parents to be named John, was educated in the district school and learned agriculture on the home farm, working for his father until 1895. Then for four years he operated 80 acres of land which he rented of his father. In 1899 he moved to the main part of the home farm, which consisted of 160 acres in section 30, and which he afterwards purchased, improving the property by the erection of a barn and outbuildings. Here he has since carried on general farmin, raising good stock. For eight years he has served as clerk of the school board of District No. 91, and still holds that position. He is a member of the Catholic church and also belongs to the Catholic order of Foresters. Mr. Befort was married April 23, 1895, to Rose Redie, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Redie of Mazeppa. She was one of two children, having a sister Mary. Mr. and Mrs. Befort are the parents of five children, who were born as follows: Mary, November 16, 1896; Annie, June 19, 1899; Viola J., December 7, 1901; William R., December 3, 1904, and Caroline G., July 6, 1908. Mary is now the wife of Joseph Reuter and Annie the wife of Theodore Manthei.
Befort, William J. (page 726), who owns and operates in Chester Township one of the best farms in Wabasha County, was born in Wisconsin, January 2, 1862, son of William and Anna (De Ville) Befort. The father was a native of Germany and the mother of France. They came to America in the early sixties, and, after remaining several years in New York state, settled in Wisconsin. Subsequently they removed to Goodhue county, Minn., and still later to Wabasha County, taking a farm in Chester Township, on which the father died in 1909 and the mother in 1908. They were Catholics in religion. Their children were William J., Mary, Anna, John (first), John (second), Katherine, Frank, Lena and Agnes. John (first) and Katherine are deceased, the first mentioned dying in infancy. William J. Befort was educated in the district school, and worked for his father until 1891. He then rented the home farm for two years. In 1893 he began buying land, his first purchase consisting of 80 acres. Then, in 1895, he bought 80 acres more, and in 1899 an additional tract of 40 acres, making a total of 200 acres in sections 19, 20, and 29, Chester Township. In 1919 he contracted to buy the John Philley farm of 186 acres in section 30, and now owns and controls a fine farm of 466 acres, on which he has erected all the buildings, which are substantially constructed and of modern type. His barn measures 46 by 90 feet and is furnished with a full Louden equipment. He has installed electric lights on his place, and his general farm equipment is very complete, including tractors and a threshing-machine. In short, Mr. Befort has shown himself to be one of the most progressive farmers in his township and the results of his enterprise are fully manifest in the fine condition of his farm and the prosperity he is now enjoying as a general farmer and stock raiser. He has served for 36 years on the school board of his district, No. 91. He has recently enjoyed more leisure than formerly, having turned over the active management of the farm to his sons, Stephan and Lewis. Mr. Befort was married April 7, 1891, to Mary Reding, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Stephan Reding. Her parents were natives of Belgium who emigrated to Minnesota many years ago, settling in Goodhue County, where the father died in 1904 and the mother in 1908. They had ten children, of whom six are now living, namely: Henry N., Frank P., Mary, Sarah C., Fred H., and Anna J. Those deceased are: Stephan J., Albert J., Clara and John. Mr. and Mrs. William J. Befort are the parents of five children, all residing at home, and who were born as follows: Stephan W., January 16, 1892; Isabella S., June 7, 1894; Lewis J., March 15, 1896; Nicholas H., February 7, 1901; and Lawrence W., January 12, 1903. Lewis J. enlisted June 24, 1918, and served in the 78th Division in France for about one year, in the Argonne and St. Mihiel sectors. He was discharged at Camp Dodge in May, 1919. The Befort family is one of high standing in Chester Township. Its members are Catholics in religion.
Behrns, Julius A. (page 449), a well known and respected citizen of Oakwood Township, engaged in general agriculture and stock raising on a farm of 310 acres in section 19, was born on his father’s farm in section 30, this township, August 28, 1874. His parents were Hans and Margaret (Schacht) Behrns, natives of Germany, who came to this country when young, the father at the age of 18 years and the mother at that of eight. They were married in Olmsted County, and in 1862 settled on a farm in section 30, Oakwood Township, Wabasha County. The farm contained 160 acres, to which Hans Behrns added until he had 280 acres. He retired in March, 1920, and took up his residence in Minneapolis, where he is now living on Thomas street. Julius A. Behrns acquired his elementary education in the Bremen District School, and later attended the Rochester High School. Until the age of 23 years he remained on his parents’ farm, and then went to Lac Qui Parle County, 2where he bought a farm of 160 acres, which he operated for four years. He then sold it and moved to a farm of 146 acres belonging to his father in section 9, Elgin Township, which he worked for 15 years, or until the fall of 1919, when he took possession of his present farm of 310 acres in section 19, Oakwood Township. He follows general farming, including the raising of sugar beets, and stock breeding, keeping pure-bred Hampshire hogs. He belongs to the Elgin Shipping Association, and his operations are being conducted on a successful basis, redounding to his own benefit and identifying him as a factor in the agricultural development of the county. Mr. Behrns was married January 20, 1892, to Bertha Hein, of Elgin Township, the issue of the marriage being five children, namely: Elenora, born in Lac Qui Parle County, November 4, 1899, who is the wife of Leslie Wood, of Winona; Ezra E., born July 22, 1900; Delbert, March 5, 1902; Sylvia, January 23, 1906, and Arthur, May 19, 1908. The Behrns family are affiliated religiously with the Lutheran church.
Bennett, Benjamin (page 262), now living retired in the village of Weaver, has been a resident of Wabasha county for nearly 54 years, and during his active career contributed his share toward the development of its agricultural resources. He was born in Kentucky, and came to this county in 1866. He married Mary E. Peterson, who had arrived here ten years before him, their wedding, however, taking place in Minnesota. About the time of his marriage, or soon after, Mr. Bennett took a homestead of 80 acres in section 31, Watopa Township, and began the arduous task of developing a farm from wild and heavily timbered land. The labor involved in cutting down the trees, grubbing and breaking the land, and erecting necessary buildings, is but little appreciated by the present generation, but was all too familiar to the early settlers of the county who laid the foundations of its present prosperity. In this work Mr. Bennett had his share, but he also reaped his reward in a fine farm of 440 acres, with good buildings, he having purchased more land from time to time, as he made progress with the development of that previously purchased. There he farmed until 1892, when he went to Nelson, Wis., where he remained four years. Returning subsequently to Wabasha County, he took up his residence in a neat little cottage on the outskirts of the village of Weaver, where ne is now living at the advanced age of 83 years. His wife died on the farm in Watopa Township in 1892. They had a family of ten children, namely: James, of Highland Township, this county; Frank L., a real estate dealer of Plainview; Charles, residing in Winona; Cyrus, who died in 1900; Byron, now on the home farm in Watopa Township; Guy, who died at the age of eight years; Herbert, who is farming in Montana; Florence, deceased; and Harry, who is engaged in the business of well digging. [The biography only lists these nine children ~ webmaster]
Bennett, Frank L. (page 262), a prosperous and well known business man and real estate dealer of Plainview, was born in Watopa Township, Wabasha County, Minn., June 11, 1872, son of Benjamin and Mary E. (Peterson) Bennett. His education was acquired in District School No. 82, this county, and he resided on his parents’ farm until reaching the age of 18 years. From that time until he was 21 he followed various occupations ~ whatever might furnish him with a livelihood. Deciding finally that farming offered the best opportunity of making financial progress, he rented a farm in Plainview Township, which he operated for two years, at the end of that time renting the home farm in Watopa Township. This he operated for 13 years, or until 1909, in which year he came to Plainview village and engaged in the real estate business, which he is still carrying on, handling farm lands and town property, with profitable results. He has widened the scope of his operations, and besides having a one-fourth interest in the home farm established by his parents, he owns two 10-acre tracts which his son operates as truck farms; owns a small farm in the Rio Grande Valley, Texas; has a house and three acres in Wabasha, and a nice residence in the Village of Plainview, and also owns an interest in the Dewey Theatre here. These holdings are the reward of long-continued work and good business foresight, and all his transactions have been conducted on an honest and equitable basis. He is a member of the Masonic order, also of the Odd Fellows, including the Rebeckah lodge, and of the Woodmen. Formerly he served as assessor of Watopa Township, and also as enumerator of both Watopa and Plainview townships. Mr. Bennett was married March 31, 1896, to Edith Dittrich, who was born in Mt. Vernon Township, Winona County, Minn., March 30, 1875, daughter of Ernest and Lucy (Reish) Dittrich. Her father and mother were natives respectively of Germany and Switzerland, and on settling in Winona county they engaged in farming. In 1893 they located with their family in Watopa Township, Wabasha County, where Mr. Dittrich is still living. His wife, mother of Mrs. Bennett, died in 1917. Mr. and Mrs. Bennett have two children: Percy F., born February 22, 1898; and Floyd C., born December 6, 1903, the last mentioned of whom is now a student in the Plainview high school. Percy F. Bennett, who is engaged in truck farming, married Phyllis Gorrell. During the recent war he entered the Great Lakes Training School as a common seaman, and after nine months’ service was discharged as first class musician. He plays the trombone in both orchestra and band. Mr. Bennett and his family are affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal church. In politics he is a Republican.
Behrns, Julius A. (page ),
Benike, Gustav (page 422), now living retired in the village of Elgin, is a man with a good record as agriculturist and citizen. He was born in the province of Brandenburg, Germany, November 12, 1834, son of Ludwig and Anna (Draekarnt) Benike, who were natives of the same province. The year 1853 saw him on his way to America, and on his arrival in this country he located first in Marquette County, Wis., where he found employment at farm labor. In 1865 he came to Olmsted County, Minn., and bought 160 acres of partly wild land in section 23, Farmington Township. The task of developing it into a good farm was a long one, but Mr. Benike was the man to handle it, and he erected buildings, cultivated the soil, and added to his land area until he had 480 acres. There he farmed successfully until 1903, when he retired. Since then he has resided in Elgin, except for a brief period of two years during which he lived in Plainview. He is now living with his son William. Mr. Benike was married June 29, 1859 to Pauline Stresey, and in 1909 they celebrated their Golden Wedding. In the following year of 1910 she passed away, leaving behind the memory of a woman who had been faithful in all the duties of life. Mr. and Mrs. Benike were the parents of ten children, two of whom died in infancy. The others were: Tillie, now Mrs. August Stephen, of Plainview; Albert, a farmer in Olmsted County; William H., of Elgin; Bertha, now Mrs. Julius Stephen, and resident of Bradley, S. D.; Emil, a resident of Owatonna, engaged in buying hides on the road; Edward, deceased; Louisa, who married Edward Hampel and lives in Farmington Township; and Laura, wife of Theodore Gerths, a butcher in Rochester.
Benike, William H. (page 422), proprietor of the Commercial Hotel, at Elgin, is a man whose business career has been marked by energy and perseverance, and who seems to have found the right groove for the development of his native enterprise in the position he now occupies. He was born in Marquette County, Wis., Oct. 24, 1863, son of Gustave and Pauline (Stresey) Benike. In 1865 he was brought to Olmsted County by his parents, who located in Farmington Township, and there he attended district school. Until he was 25 years old he remained on his parents' farm, acquiring a practical knowledge of agriculture. Then he started farming on his own account, buying an 80-acre farm in Farmington Township which had but poor and limited improvements. He rebuilt the house, erected barns and outbuildings, and by the purchase of 80 additional acres, doubled its area. After seven years on the place, crowded with work but crowned with success, he sold it and went to Potsdam, a village in the same township, where for 18 years he conducted a hotel and saloon. At the end of that time he sold out and moved to Elgin Village, where in 1911 he built his first residence, and sold it to Ferd. Hample, one year after he built another and sold to Henry Werner. During the next five years he traveled through Minnesota, Wisconsin, North and South Dakota and Montana, conducting a merry-go-round, for one year of this time being with the T. I. Cash Carnival Co. Then returning to Elgin, he built the Commercial Hotel, of which he has since been proprietor. It is one of the best hotels in southeastern Minnesota, built of brick and tile, with full basement, and provided with a large and pleasant office, lighted through two large plate glass windows on the side of the main street, one window light measuring 9 by 10 feet, and the other 9 by 11 feet. The office is neatly finished with oak fixtures, and furnished with swivel chairs, comfortable to the tired traveling man. The hotel contains 14 rooms upstairs, neat, clean and sanitary, with bath and toilet on the upstairs floor. The best commercial rooms are furnished with hot and cold running water, are all heated and are always warm and comfortable. In fact, everything is homelike from the basement to the garret, while Mr. and Mrs. Benike are sociable and accommodating in every way. The hotel is noted for its hospitality and its "good eats." While living in Farmington Township, Mr. Benike served on the town board and was constable at Potsdam for seven years. Mr. Benike was married, December 6, 1888, to Ida C. Reinke, who was born in Elgin Township, August 30, 1868, daughter of Charles and August (Breise) Reinke. He and his wife are the parents of five children: Theodore, born November 8, 1890; Oscar, October 28, 1891; Alvin, April 11, 1896; Violet, June 12, 1901; and Leonard, December 28, 1907. Theodore, who resides in Minneapolis, married Lydia Dunbar of Isanti County, Minn. Oscar, who is now a carpenter in Rochester, Minn., married Helen Reiter of Wabasha County, and has one child, Margaret. Alvin is a carpenter and joiner. Violet is the wife of Earl Lehnertz of Plainview, Minn., and lives in Milwaukee. Leonard is residing at home with his parents. The family are members of the Lutheran church.
Benn, Martin W. (page 572), proprietor of the Benn Hardward Co., of Wabasha, was born near Rollingstone, Winona County, Minn., February 3, 1876, son of Louis and Anna (Rogue) Benn. His parents were farmers, and he was the eldest of five children, the others being: Ferdinand, now a practicing physician in Minneapolis; Helena, now Mrs. Schmidt, of Bemidji, Minn.; Albert, who is traveling auditor for the Great Northern Railway Co., and resides in Vancouver, B. C., and Edward, of Milton, Ore., who is in the United States military service. In 1879 Mr. and Mrs. Louis Benn removed with their family to Cass County, N. D., locating on a farm near Casselton, where they remained until 1894, when the parents moved to Milton, Ore. Martin W., who was only three years old on his arrival in Cass County, subsequently attended school there up to the age of 18 years, and when not engaged with his books assisted his father on the farm. In 1894, instead of accompanying his parents to Oregon, he began to learn the tinner's trade with Herman Strehlow, of Casselton, N. D., and was with him for four years, returning to Minnesota in 1898. In the fall of that year he took employment as tinner with John Tritch, a hardware merchant of Alma, Wis., with whom he remained for about eight years. In September, 1906, Mr. Benn came to Wabasha City and entered the employ of Julius Schmidt, a hardware merchant in the Jewell Block. With him he remained for seven years, or until 1913, when he engaged in the same business for himself on Pembroke street. In 1915 he bought the stock and business of Julius Schmidt, his former employer, and has since operated the concern under the firm name of the Benn Hardware Company, dealing in general hardware, and also doing plumbing and tinsmith work. A master of his trade, he is enjoying a good patronage and increasing in prosperity. For some years he has served as chief of the Wabasha Fire Department. Politically he is a Republican, while his fraternal affiliations are with White Oak Camp, No. 2077, M. W. A. and the EquitableFraternal Union, both of Wabasha. Mr. Benn was married in September, 1896, to Catherine, daughter of Michael Damm, of Buffalo City, Buffalo County, Wis., where she was born August 24, 1876.
Berktold, Engelbert (page 439), now living retired in Lake City, is a man well known and highly esteemed throughout the northern part of Wabasha County, of which he was a pioneer settler. He was born in the Austrian Tyrol, May 1, 1845, son of John and Chassens Berktold. His parents were poor and he had but little schooling, notwithstanding which handicap he has played a worthy part in the battle of life. In 1859 the parents, with their family, emigrated to Minnesota, he being then a boy of 14 years. For ten years thereafter he was in the employ of a Mr. Girard at Frontenac, Goodhue County, and during this period, in 1866, he married Anna Daniels, who had come to this section when about seven years old, with her parents, who, like the Berktolds, were in poor circumstances. For two years after his marriage Mr. Berktold remained at Frontenac. Then, in 1868, he bought 80 acres of wild prairie land in section17, Mt. Pleasant Township. This marked the beginning of his independent career, full of hard labor, but producing results at which he can look back with pride. For his first residence on his property he erected a board shanty, which measured only 12 by 12 feet, but which gave him and his wife enough room to turn around in, and for a few years afforded them sufficient shelter. With an ox team he broke and cultivated his land, being ably assisted by his wife, who, after children came, not only cared for her family during the day, but after supper went out and shocked grain until long after dark, and proved a worthy helpmate in every way. The little 80-acre farm proved only a nucleus for Mr. Berktold's property acquistions, and insufficient to give scope for his superabundant energies, for, from time to time, he kept buying land until he was the owner of 480 acres, 240 lying in sections 17 and 7 and the other 240 in section 27. Each tract constituted a separate farm, and these two farms he made among the best in Pleasant Township. In September, 1906, Mr. Berktold retired from agricultural work, and bought a nice residence at No. 204 North Prairie Avenue, Lake City, where he and his wife are now enjoying a well earned leisure, provided with all the reasonable comforts of life. In 1914 he sold the old home farm in sections 7 and 17 to his son, Ted. Mr. Berktold has always been a Democrat in politics. He was too busy during his active career to take an active part in governmental affairs, but served seven years as treasurer of the district school board. He and his family are Catholics in religion, and he can remember the time when he drove ten miles to church, sitting on a board laid across his wagon box. During those early years he and his family suffered privations, but endured their lot with fortitude, and made themselves useful as factors in the development of this section. To Mr. and Mrs. Berktold eight children were born: Edward, who is deceased; Catherine, now Mrs. John Mueller, of Goodhue County; John, who is on the home farm in section 27, Mt. Pleasant Township; Frank, deceased; Minnie, now Mrs. George Marchessault, of South Minneapolis; Theodore, a prosperous farmer of Mt. Pleasant Township; Mary, who married Edward Gregorie, of North Dakota, and Rose, wife of A. Giles, of Chicago. Though Mr. Berktold had a successful career and accumulated much of this world's goods, he and his wife were not selfish, but were always ready to help others, and their generosity is remembered by many of the present residents of the county, who also had their early struggles, and with timely assistance were enabled to conquer success.
Berktold, John M. (page 438), who holds a high place among the active and successful farmers of Mt. Pleasant Township, was born on a farm in section 7, this township, April 5, 1872, son of Engelbert and Anna (Daniel) Berktold. The father was born in German Tyrol and the mother in Luxemburg. They came separately to the United States, Engelbert Berktold coming in 1858, when single, and Anna Daniel a little later, their marriage taking place in this country. They settled in section 7, Mt. Pleasant Township, where they established a farm, on which their son, John M., worked hard from an early age, though he attended district school during the sessions until he was fifteen. He remained on the home farm until he was 26 years old, and was then married, June 22, 1898, to Mary Horrigan, daughter of John and Mary Horrigan, of Mt. Pleasant Township. They began home making in section 27, Mt. Pleasant Township, on their present farm of 240 acres, situated seven miles southwest of Lake City. All the land is now under the plow and is very productive, the farm being one of the best in the county. It has a fine set of buildings, the residence being a frame structure, a story and a half in height and containing twelve rooms. The barn measures 42 by 80 by 18 feet, and has a full stone basement; and there are, in addition, a tool shed, 22 by 30 by 12, with a lean-to 18 by 30; a granary house, garage, work shop, scale house, and a steel windmill with a large reservoir. All the buildings are in fine condition and the farm is beautifully located. Mr. Berktold operated it successfully as a grain and stock farm, having large herds of high grade Shorthorn cattle, Duroc Jersey swine and Shropshire sheep. For each herd he has full-blooded sires. His equipment, besides an adequate amount of modern machinery, includes 15 good work horses. Enterprising and industrious, he is getting results, and is one of the most prosperous citizens of his township. Mr. Berktold and his wife are the parents of six children: Edward Leroy, born April 13, 1899, who is working on the farm with his father; Irene Helen, born August 12, 1900, who is a graduate of the Lake City High School and the Winona Normal School, and is now engaged in teaching; Harry Mathias, born December 24, 1901; John Bernard, born March 7, 1905; Irma Mae, born June 22, 1906; and Frances Margaret, born September 11, 1911. The family are members of the Catholic church, attending St. Mary's at Lake City. In politics Mr. Berktold is a Republican.
Berktold, Theodore A. (page 440), a farmer of section 7, Mt. Pleasant Township, comes of a good pioneer family, and in his personal career has emulated his parents' virtues and is meeting with a similar reward. He was born on the farm on which he now lives, May 4, 1880, son of Engelbert and Anna (Daniels) Berktold, and the scenes of his childhood are those by which he is now surrounded, except that of the old familiar faces some have passed away beyond earthly recall, and others have dispersed and no longer brighten the old home. But in their place new ones have come which are no less dear, and the work of the world must go on and men and women must do it. Among others, Mr. Berktold is doing his share. His mental preparation was made in the district school, which he attended up to the age of 15 years. His industrial experience has been more prolonged, and has been in that line of industry which is most necessary to mankind, and which has been the chief factor in the development of Wabasha County and the increase of its wealth. Both as boy and man he assisted his father in the work on the farm, learning something every day and in time becoming a good practical farmer. The farm on which he now lives, containing 240 acres, formed one half of his parents' estate, and it became his by purchase in 1914. Every foot of ground was familiar and he, himself, had aided largely in bringing it to its present high state of cultivation, all the land being now under the plow, and producing abundant crops of grain and other farm products. The buildings include a good eleven-room frame house, a barn, 40 by 72 by 16 feet, with a full stone basement of nine feet; a granary 20 by 32 by 10, together with a hog house, shop and tool shed, poultry house, and machine shed, all of adequate dimensions. There is also a good equipment of tools and machinery, including an auto car. Mr. Berktold follows general farming and stockraising, keeping Shorthorn cattle and Duroc-Jersey swine, with full blooded sires for each herd. With such resources Mr. Berktold is making good and has taken high rank among the leading farmers of his township. He was married September 26, 1905, to Anna Catherine Giles, who was born in Goodhue County, Minn., November 1, 1883, daughter of George W. and Mary (Guenter) Giles. He and his wife are the parents of one child, Engelbert John, who was born July 29, 1917. Mr. Berktold and his family are members of the Catholic church and of the Belvidere congregation. Politically he is a Democrat, and served as clerk and treasurer of the school board for seven years.
Best, Andrew (page 489), a former resident of Elgin Township, where for a number of years he was engaged in agriculture, but who is now living retired in Rochester, was born in Honey Creek Township, Sauk County, Wis., March 24, 1856, son of Sebastian and Margaret (Martz) Best. In his boyhood he attended school in Sauk City, where he was later employed in a sash and door factory, also for a while following the same occupation in Eau Claire, Wis. In 1876 he came to Wabasha County, Minn., and entered the employ of William Cook, a farmer of Elgin Township, whose son-in-law he subsequently became, being married to Esther M. Cook (daughter of William and Anna B. Cook), September 3, 1879. She was born on her father's farm in section 31, Elgin Township, March 9, 1861. After his marriage Mr. Best, accompanied by his wife, went back to Sauk City, Wis., where he remained about a year. In 1880 he returned to Elgin Township, Wabasha County, Minn., and rented his father-in-law's farm, on which he carried on general farming until 1894. He then bought 80 acres of Mr. Cook, which he farmed until his retirement and removal to Rochester in 1908. Mr. Best had a successful career as an agriculturist and acquired a competency. In Elgin Township and the vicinity he was widely known and popular. He is affiliated with the Modern Woodmen of America and the Modern Brotherhood of America. His religious affiliations are with the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. and Mrs. Best have been the parents of five children: Eva M., born July 24, 1880, lived less than a year, dying March 18, 1881. The others, who survive, are: Bertha E., born January 13, 1884, now Mrs. John Westover of Grantsburg, Wis.; William A., born February 27, 1886, who is a general contractor in Rochester, Minn.; Addie E., born September 14, 1889, now a dressmaker in Rochester; and Edwin L., born March 8, 1894, who, like his brother William, is a contractor in Rochester.
Betcher, Edward L. (page 517), one of the best known among the younger farmers of Lake Township, was born March 6, 1893, in Mt. Pleasant Township, son of Frederick and Mary (Ehlers) Betcher. He was reared on his parents' farm, and in his boyhood attended district school up to the age of 14 years. On his parents' retirement in 1915, and removal to Lake City, they left the farm in his hands, and he is the owner of the stock and operating equipment. The stock includes from 30 to 40 head of a good grade of Shorthorn cattle, and a herd of 20 to 30 Chester-White swine, not to mention an adequate number of good work horses; while in addition to the usual farm machinery, all of modern type, Mr. Betcher owns a five-passenger Chevrolet car. Two hundred acres of the total farm area of 260 are under cultivation. Enterprising and industrious, Mr. Betcher is doing a good business with the goal of a comfortable fortune not far in the distance. For some years he has served as treasurer of School District No. 6, Lake Township. On June 10, 1914, Mr. Betcher was married at Lake City to Olive Revling, daughter of Olaf and Charlotte Revling, of Pope County, Minn., and who was born at Starbuck, that county, January 15, 1891. Mr. And Mrs. Betcher have two children: Dorothy L., boren December 10, 1915, and Donald F., born September 12, 1918. He and his wife are members of St. John's Lutheran congregation at Lake City.
Betcher, Frederick (page 516), a well known and respected resident of Lake City, now retired, was born in Pommern, Germany , July 25, 1850, son of Ludwig and Dorothy Betcher, who were farmers. He attended school in his native land, but relinquished his studies at the age of 15 to work on a large farm, and was subsequently employed as a farm hand there until reaching the age of 22. On October 29, 1872, inspired by a letter received from a brother who had previously settled in the United States, he, himself, resolved to seek his fortune in this country, set out and in due time was landed among a crowd of immigrants at Castle Garden, New York. Thence he came directly to Goodhue County, Minn., where his brother, William, had arrived in 1870. With little trouble he found work as a farm hand, being employed largely in grubbing, fencing and teaming, and at the end of 13 months found himself in possession of $200 not a very large sum for that much work, but in those days farm labor was cheap, as also were farm products. For a number of years Mr. Betcher continued working for others, taking care not to squander his money, and at last felt himself able to establish a home and work on his own account and more directly for his own benefit. To secure the home a wife was necessary, and his affections were already engaged to Mary Ehlers, of Lake City, daughter of Martin and Elaine (Moult) Ehlers. She was born in Germany, December 24, 1855, and was 28 years old when she came to the United States. His marriage with her took place August 1, 1884, and they began housekeeping on the Berchtol farm in Mt. Pleasant Township, where they remained five years. Their next home was on the Petsinger farm in the same township, where three years were spent. From there they moved to the Al Maybe farm in that township, which proved a more permanent location, as they remained there 14 years. Mr. Betcher then bought the Reade farm in sections 21 and 22, Lake Township. This was an old improved place of 260 acres, with 180 acres under the plow, and situated four miles south of Lake City. Mr. Betcher increased the tilled area to 200 acres, rebuilt the house, making it a good frame structure of eight rooms, rebuilt the barn, and added other buildings. The barn measures 38 by 70 by 16 feet, having a full basement, and among the other buildings, mostly the product of Mr. Betcher's enterprise, are a machine shed 24 by 40 by 10, a granary 24 by 40 by 10, a double corn crib 18 by 24 by 10, a stone poultry house 18 by 30, and a steel windmill. There he carried on general farming with profitable results until 1915, when he rented the farm to his son, Edward L., and retired, buying a residence in Lake City, which he and his wife now occupy. During his active career he served as school director and for some years was treasurer of Lake Township. In politics he is a Republican, while his religious affiliations are with St. John's Lutheran congregation at Lake City. Mr. And Mts. Betcher are the parents of five children: Catherine, born March 14, 1886, now Mrs. George Von Helmst, of Lake City; Margaret, born June 14, 1889, wife of Reinhardt Kuyath, a farmer of Lake Township; Anna, born April 27, 1890, wife of Charles Miller, residing near Zumbro Falls, this county; Edward, born March 6, 1893, who is on the home farm; and Emma, born February 15, 1897, who is the wife of George Peters, manager of Dr. Shores' stock farm in Goodhue County.
Beyer, Frank H. (page 770), manager of the Oelkers & Frisch general store at Elgin, was born in Hammond, Minn., January 16, 1897, son of Herman and Dora (Summers) Beyer. Both the father and mother came from Germany with their respective parents, and Herman Beyer has followed general blacksmithing in Hammond for the last 25 years. Their children are: Robert, who lives in Austin, Minn.; Norton, residing in Hammond; Frank H. of Elgin; Carl, of Millville; Fred, who lives on a farm near Hammond; Delia, who is taking an educational course in La Crosse; and Elsie, residing at home. Frank H. Beyer was educated in the Hammond school and the Winona high school. He began industrial life as his father's assistant in the blacksmith shop, and after leaving school worked three years as clerk for Tom McGuigan of Millville. In October, 1918, he enlisted in the 126th U. S. Engineers, and was in the service in this country until discharged at Camp Dodge in June, 1919. After his return home he re-entered the employ of Mr. McGuigan at Millville, remained there four months, and then, coming to Elgin, went to work for Harry Engel. The latter subsequently sold his store to Oelkers and Frisch, who made Mr. Beyer manager, which position he is now filling to the satisfaction of the employers. The concern has added a complete line of dry goods and men's furnishings to their original stock, and are now operating one of the best general stores in this part of the county. Mr. Beyer has joined the new patriotic order of the American Legion, belonging to the post at Plainview, which has about 200 members. He also belongs to the Millville camp of Modern Woodmen of America and the Red Men's lodge at Millville. A young man of 23 years, he has already shown business ability and has associated himself with a large and patriotic organization which includes a considerable percentage of the young men who fought, or offered their services to fight, for their country in the great World War.
Biever, Sr., John (page 391), one of the pioneer
settlers of Pepin Township, was born in Luxemburg, April 29, 1837. He attended
common school to the age of 14, served in the German army three years, and
was industrially associated with his father, who was a granite worker. In
1858 he came to the United States and for some time was a common laborer in
Dubuque, Ia. From there he went to Menominee, Wis., where he worked as a farm
hand until he enlisted as a substitute for service in the Civil War, and was
a soldier for 14 months. After his return from the army he came to Wabasha
county and for a time worked here as a farm hand. At last he resolved to start
in for himself and at the same time to take a life partner, and accordingly
he was married at St. Felix church, Wabasha, by Bishop Trobec, to Mary Jacobs,
like himself a native of Germany, and they began housekeeping on a purchased
tract of 80 acres of wild land in section 22, Pepin Township. There was a
small frame house of two rooms and some straw sheds for cattle, and the situation
was elevated, overlooking Read’s Landing. With such surroundings and no money
Mr. and Mrs. Biever began the battle of life together, both grubbing and clearing
the land, and she, a strong woman, doing her full part. More land was bought
in time until they owned 400 acres and had a flourishing farm with good buildings.
Often they drove in a lumber wagon, with a board seat, or went on foot, to
Read’s Landing or Wabasha, to church or for trade. In the early days they
had to look out for rattlesnakes, and the Indians were quite as numerous,
though not hostile. To Mr. and Mrs. Biever five children were born: Mary,
October 15, 1867, who now resides with her mother; John C., residing in Pepin
Township; Anna, who married Matt Marks of Mazeppa and is now deceased; Nicholas,
residing at home; and William, now a farmer in Pepin Township. Mr. Biever
died September 24, 1905, after a long life of activity crowned with worldly
success. He was a man of quiet disposition, a good husband and father, and
held in esteem by his fellow citizens. In politics he was a Democrat, and
he and his family members of the Catholic church, and of St. Felix parish.
Mrs. Biever, who was born in Luxemburg in August, 1846, is still living, strong
and well at the age of 74 years.
Note: Only one child’s birth date is given.
Biever, William (page 392), an enterprising and prosperous farmer of section 22, Pepin Township, was born in this section and township March 11, 1886, son of John and Mary (Jacobs) Biever. He has always remained on the home farm, which he helped his parents to develop, and as a boy he acquired his education in the district school and at Read’s Landing. He leased the farm in 1910, and is engaged in general agriculture, raising both grain and stock with profitable results. He has a good operating equipment and his industry, thrift and good judgment have placed him among the successful men of his township, where he also stands high as a citizen. Mr. Biever was married December 14, 1910, to Hazel Dorse, daughter of Marion and Lilly (Davidson) Dorse, of Read’s Landing, this county, which was her birthplace, her father being an employ of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway, in the bridge building department. Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Biever: Mabel, December 23, 1911; Lucille, August 9, 1918; and Hazel, August 5, 1920. The family are members of the Catholic church, attending St. Felix church at Wabasha.
Bievers, John C. (page 376), a prosperous general
farmer residing in section 24, Pepin Township, was born on his parents’ farm
on Pepin Hill, section 22, this township, February 7, 1870, son of John and
Mary (Jacobs) Bievers. In his boyhood he attended the common schools, but
his working hours were longer than those of study or play, and he had to relinquish
his books at the age of thirteen. From that time until 1899 he worked with
his father, helping to grub and improve the homestead. Then in the year last
mentioned he moved onto a farm of 125 acres belonging to his father in section
24, the one he now occupies, and which came into his possession. It was unprovided
with buildings, and the present set were erected by him and include a comfortable
one and a half story frame house, a frame barn, 32 by 40 by 14 feet, with
full stone basement. The farm is located four and a half miles west of Wabasha
and has an elevated situation, overlooking the Mississippi and Chippewa valleys.
It is well cultivated and yields excellent crops and Mr. Bievers has become
one of the prosperous citizens of his township. In early days he assisted
in building some of the first roads and bridges in this part of the county.
He and his wife are the parents of nine children, all living, namely: Margaret
Veronica, born April 27, 1903, now a student in St. Felix high school at Wabasha;
Gertrude Catherine, born September 3, 1905; John Michael, September 21, 1907;
Elizabeth Lena, July 8, 1909; Anna Hazel, December 24, 1912; Nicholas Joseph,
February 10, 1915; Cecelia Clara, July 7, 1917, and Franklin Peter, February
17, 1920. The family are Catholics in religion, being members of St. Felix
Note: Only eight children are listed in the book and no information concerning the wife is given.
Beigelow, Francis M. (page 482), an early settler in Wabasha County, and a joint owner with his son of considerable land in Elgin Township, though now residing in Rochester, Minn., was born in the village of Portland, Chautauqua County, New York, September 25, 1843, son of Lawson T. and Mary (Hill) Bigelow. The founders of the Bigelow family in this county were John and Mary (Warren) Bigelow, who were among the early settlers of the Massachusetts colony in the early part of the seventeenth century. The parents of Francis M. were farmers, and he was early trained to agricultural pursuits, acquiring his education in the common schools. In 1864 he joined the stream of emigration to Minnesota, taking a farm of 160 acres in Elgin Township, Wabasha County. Later he bought 320 acres in section 29, Elgin Township, and after that 160 acres in Haverhill Township, Olmsted County, where he resided and was engaged successfully in general farming, stock raising, and the raising of small fruits and apples, his orchard at one time being the largest in the state. He resided on the farm till 1902, when he moved to Rochester. In 1904 he bought 210 acres in Rochester Township, all of which is now platted for city property, except three acres, on which tract he is living retired, and very well to do. During his career on the farm he became well known as a breeder and importer of high grade cattle. Politically he is staunch Republican. Mr. Bigelow was married July 4, 1863, to May D. Hopson, by whom he has had nine children, namely: Albert W., born April 14, 1864, who died in 1916; Frank E., born April 4, 1866, who died in 1914; Arthur A., born January 20, 1868, now a resident of Claremont, Minn.; Schuyler, born November 27, 1869, who is on the farm at Haverhill, Minn.; Maude A., born December 29, 1871, now Mrs. E. Parker, of Shovel Lake, Minn.; Hattie L., born April 21, 1874, who is the wife of John Harvey of Rochester; Stella E., born February 19, 1876, now Mrs. Frank Titterington, of Marion Township, Olmsted County; Alfred W., born January 19, 1878, who lives in section 3, Rochester Township, Olmsted County; and Howard H., born May 4, 1880, who is residing on the old home farm in Elgin Township, where in association with his father he owns 600 acres of land. Mr. Bigelow is a member of the Masonic order and of the Methodist Episcopal church. He also belongs to the Old Settlers' Association of Elgin. He was one of the builders of this county, where he still has many friends, and his record as a Minnesota pioneer, successful farmer, and exemplary citizen is one in which his family can take pride.
Bigelow, Howard H. (page 763), is a respected citizen and prominent farmer of Elgin Township, was born in this township, May 4, 1880, son of Mr. and Mrs. F. W. Bigelow. He was educated in the schools of the village and township, and until 21 years of age remained on the home farm, where he gained skill in agriculture. On coming of age he rented 200 acres of the farm from his father, which he operated on his own account until 1911. In that year he bought his first 80 acres, and has since purchased some land each year, now owning 400 acres in sections 28 and 29, Elgin Township. His improvements have kept pace with his land purchases and his place is well developed, the land productive and the buildings in good condition. As a general farmer he is adding to his own wealth and is a useful factor in the agricultural improvement of his township. In religion he is a Catholic, and belongs fraternally to the Knights of Columbus and the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Bigelow was united in marriage, October 7, 1908, with Matilda Schad, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Christian Schad. Six children are the issue of this marriage, namely: Leo H., born April 8, 1912; Frank C., March 25, 1913; Charles E., in November 1914; Louis, June 25, 1916; Lucile M., and Irene A., the latter born March 17, 1919.
Binner, Andrew (page 763), of Greenfield Township, who is engaged in mixed farming, including the raising of garden produce and stock, was born in this township December 7, 1885, son of Matt and Bridget (Weber) Binner. He was educated in the district school and spent his early years on his parents’ farm, working for his father, during which period he acquired a good practical knowledge of agriculture. In 1905 he changed his occupation, going to work at the carpenter’s trade, which he followed for a while. After that, for six winters, he was engaged in operating a jig-saw, while in the summers he conducted a dray line in Caledonia, Minn., in partnership with Keating and Clifford. In 1907 he bought a team and did some farming near Wabasha village, and during the following three years did team work in the village. In 1915 Mr. Binner again turned his attention to farming, this time on a more extensive scale and on his own account, renting 202 acres of land in Greenfield Township known as the Amerland farm. At the end of four years he bought the place, which he is still operating, and which he has improved by the erection of a chicken-house, garage and other buildings. He raises good stock and is doing a paying business. As a good citizen he is alive to the general interests of the community, and has rendered service on the school board of district No. 30. Mr. Binner was married September 3, 1913, to Margaret Grass, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Grass of Wabasha village. Her parents were both born in this county. Mrs. Frank Grass died June 13, 1898, and Mr. Grass subsequently married for his second wife Mrs. Mary Tuma. To Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Binner three children have been born: Franklin A. January 15, 1916; Joseph M., September 29, 1917, who died October 18, the same year; and Dorothy T., born November 19, 1918. Mr. Binner and his family are members of the Catholic church, and he also belongs to the Knights of Columbus and the St. Joseph Society.
Binner, Matt (page 441), a prosperous citizen of Greenfield Township, engaged in agriculture, was born in the Duchy of Luxemburg, March 27, 1858, son of Andrew and Anna (Arens) Binner. His parents, who were natives of the same country, resided there all their lives. He was there educated and remained until arriving at the age of twenty years, when, in 1878, he came to Minnesota, locating in Caledonia, Houston County. After remaining there a year he came to Wabasha County, where he resided two years. He then spent some time in Wabasha County, where he resided two years. He then spent some time in traveling through the West, finally returning to Wabasha County, and in 1888 he settled down to farming, buying 100 acres in sections 8 and 9, Greenfield Township, which is his present farm. He has erected all the buildings on it and put up fences, and is engaged in mixed farming including the raising of garden truck for the market. In addition, he breeds a high grade of hogs, keeping a full-blooded sire, and is making satisfactory financial progress. For ten years he has served on the school board of district No. 5. Mr. Binner was married January 28, 1884, to Bridget Weber, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. John Weber, her parents being natives of Germany who are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Binner have eight children, as follows: Andrew, born December 7, 1885; Barbara, born February 5, 1888, who is now Mrs. Edward Klug of Caledonia; Michael, born March 25, 1890, now residing in Greenfield Township; John, born March 5, 1892, also of Greenfield; Katherine, born March 15, 1894, now Mrs. Charles A. Carrels of Wabasha; Millie, born March 27, 1896; Emil, born October 19, 1897, and Martin, born September 29, 1901. Mr. Binner and his family are members of the Catholic church.
Binder, Henry F. (page 270), a well known business man of Plainview, which village he is now serving as mayor, was born in Elgin Township, Wabasha County, November 2, 1876, son of August and Julia (Wagner) Binder. The parents, who settled in this county 50 years ago, followed farming for a while in Elgin Township, and then removed to Highland Township, where they bought a farm and were engaged in agriculture until about 1907. In that year they retired and took up their residence in Plainview, where August Binder is still living. His wife died in September, 1910. Henry E. Binder, who was educated in the district and public schools, remained at home until reaching the age of 23 years. He then entered the mercantile store of F. J. Cornwall & Co. as clerk, and has since been closely identified with the business, at the present time being cashier, bookkeeper and assistant manager, entrusted with the general buying. This position he has attained by good head work and close application to his duties, and has gained experience which places him among the efficient and practical business men of the village. As such his services have been called into requisition in public affairs. In 1914 he became a member of the village council and being subsequently elected mayor, took office in 1919. He and his family are members of the Lutheran church. On March 29, 1906, Mr. Binder was united in marriage with Clara Kitzman, of Farmington, Olmsted County, MInn., and who was born August 5, 1883. Their home circle has been enlarged and brightened by the birth of three children: Velva F., born September 24, 1907; Lucille, November 28, 1910, and Maxine A., January 15, 1912.
Blattner, Edward (page 725), for a number of years a well known and popular member of the agricultural community of Oakwood Township, was born on his father's farm in this township November 24, 1892, son of John and Amalia (Hartle) Blattner. He acquired his education in District School No. 44, Oakwood Township. His industrial career has followed agricultural lines, and he always remained on the old homestead, of which he bought 120 acres in 1916, and until 1919 was engaged in mixed farming, keeping dairy cattle. He has fenced his part of the farm, built a garage, and made other general improvements, and is in prosperous circumstances. In 1920 he sold the farm and now resides in Rochester, Minn.
Blattner, John H. (page 725), a well known farmer of Oakwood Township, was born on his parent's farm in section 32, this township, a part of which he now occupies, on January 4, 1888, son of John and Amalia (Hartle) Blattner. He was educated in District School No. 44, and remained at home until 23 years old, at which time he rented a farm in Viola Township, Olmsted County, which he operated for one year. He then returned to the home farm, of which he later came into possession of 120 acres. To that area he added 40 acres adjoining, all in section 32, making a farm of 160 acres which he is now operating. He has some good stock, consisting chiefly of grade cattle and Duroc-Jersey hogs, raising cattle both for market and dairy purposes. His improvements include the erection of a good house, and the fencing of most of the farm, which is now in good condition and yielding a satisfactory profit. Mr. Blattner was married December 20, 1911, to Martha Hoffman, who was born in Oakwood Township March 28, 1889. He and his wife have three children: Harold, Myrtie and Francis.
Blattner, Sr., John (page 726), one of the early pioneers of Wabasha County who settled in Oakwood Township in 1858, was a man of sterling worth, who by hard work and frugality gained a competence and the respect of the community. He was born in Switzerland and acquired a good education. In early life he learned the science of agriculture. His first consisted of 120 acres of wild land in section 32. This he broke and developed and in time erected substantial buildings, also adding by degrees to his land until his farm contained 360 acres. On this farm he followed diversified agriculture and stock raising for many years. He was a man of domestic tastes, and his home and fireside, where he was surrounded by his wife and children, were his comfort. A man of strong and ambitious character, he gathered his share of the world's goods and at the time of his death left a goodly inheritance to his children. During his early years on the farm he experienced all the hardships of pioneer life and lived to see the reward of his labors. Honest and upright in all his business transactions, he gained a place in the hearts of his fellow townsmen, was a true American and a good, true Christian. Mr. Blattner was twice married, first to Ernestina Shiebe, by whom he had six children, namely, Louisa, Herman, Henry, Julius, Lena and William. His second marriage was to Amalia Hartle and took place at Plainview. By her he had the following children, who are living: Fred, of Rochester, Minn., August, of Little Falls, Minn., John H., of Oakwood Township, and Edward, of Rochester. Mrs. Amalia Hartle Blattner was a woman who proved a faithful wife and loving mother, and was a great help to her family circle. She died March 13, 1915. Mr. Blattner survived her but a few months, passing away June 12, the same year.
Blattner, Julius B. (page 373), an industrious and well to do farmer of Oakwood Township, operating 200 acres in sections 20 and 21, was born on Long Creek, this township, October 11, 1869, son of J. H. And Ernestina Blattner. He was educated in the rural schools and followed agricultural pursuits on his parent's farm until attaining his majority, at which time he bought his present farm. On this he has made a number of improvements, including considerable fencing, and is carrying on diversified farming with much success, raising grade Shorthorn cattle and Chester-White swine. He belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America, and religiously to the Methodist Episcopal church. Politically he is a Democrat and formerly served in the office of constable. In 1914 he had the misfortune to lose his left leg as the result of blood poisoning. Mr. Blattner was married June 1, 1881, to Amanda Polson, daughter of Emric and Sophie (Johnson) Polson. He and his wife have been the parents of ten children: George, Ella, Henry, Elmer, Lester, Eli, Julius, Jr., Arthur, Lulu and Vera. Ella is the wife of William Rosenberg, a shoemaker of Plainview. Henry is operating a farm of 160 acres in section 9, that was bought by his father in 1903. Elmer is now conducting the home farm. Lulu is a resident of Rochester, Minn.
Blattner, William L. (page 329), a representative citizen of Oakwood Township, of which he is one of the officials, was born in Long Creek in this township, September 16, 1875, son of John Henry and Lena Blattner. He received such education as was afforded by the district schools of his day, and then took up farming at home, where he grew to manhood. At the age of 21 years he branched out for himself, purchasing a farm of 80 acres in section 20, Oakwood Township, on which there were few or no improvements in the shape of buildings. He at once set to work with a stout heart and strong hands, and soon the appearance of the place began to improve with the erection of buildings, and is now an ideal farm, with a fine residence, large and commodious outbuildings for the housing of his crops and stock. In addition, he has erected a new, large barn, with a full basement of hollow tile, 36 by 90 feet in dimensions. Aside from his original 80 acres he has 50 acres more which he rents and works with the rest of his farm. As a general farmer he is meeting with good success, breeding Shorthorn cattle of good grade, Chester-White hogs and Shropshire sheep. As a citizen he is known and respected throughout the township, and in 1919 was elected a member of the Oakwood town board. Twenty-four years ago Mr. Blattner assumed the responsibilities of domestic life, being united in marriage April 8, 1896, with Emma Schuchart, who was born at Millville, Wabasha County, Minn., April 10, 1880, daughter of John and Atillia (Lehman) Schuchart. Her father died January 12, 1912, and her mother is now a resident of Millville. To Mr. And Mrs. Blattner eight children have been born: Walter, March 4, 1898; Frank, April 14, 1901; Clara, February 3, 1903; Andrew, October 28, 1905; Anna, July 19, 1907; Alfred, September 19, 1909; William, Jr., March 8, 1912, and Irene, May 17, 1916. All the children are residing on the home farm. Mr. Blattner and his family attend the Methodist Episcopal church.
Blee, Bernard C. (page 686), who is prosperously engaged in truck farming near the village of Kellogg, was born in County Tyrone, Ireland, in 1866, son of Bernard and Ellen (Mullen) Blee, and a member of a family of eight children. The parents always resided in their native land, where Bernard C. attended school. In 1886 he came to the United States and directly to Wabasha County, where at first he found employment at farm work. Later he bought 120 acres of rough land, which he cultivated for a while, but afterwards sold, and in 1906 bought 54 acres of land just outside the village of Kellogg, and devoted himself to truck farming, in which occupation he has since continued with profitable results. He has a good frame house of eight rooms, barns and store-house. Politically a Democrat, he is also a member of the Catholic church and of the Ancient Order of Hibernians. Mr. Blee was married April 26, 1898, at Wabasha, Minn., to Mary Hughes, daughter of Anthony and Mary (O'Hara) Hughes. Her parents, natives of Galway, Ireland came to the United States about 1881. Mrs. Mary Hughes died in 1914, but Mr. Hughes is still living. They had eight children, of whom six survive. Nine children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Blee, seven of whom are living, namely: Sister Serenus, now in a convent at Rochester; James, Bernard, Joseph, Anna, Margaret and John. Arthur and Michael are deceased. The survivors, except "Sister Serenus," reside with their parents, those of suitable age attending school.
Blohm, Henry H. (page 692), who is profitably engaged in agriculture in section 4, Gillford Township, was born in West Albany Township, Wabasha County, Minn., August 18, 1860, son of Christian Joachim and Maria Anna (Yarcho) Blohm. The parents were natives of Mecklenburg, Germany, where they were married in 1854, and immediately set out for the United States, the journey to this country taking the place of a honeymoon trip. After four years' residence at McKino, now included within the limits of Chicago, in 1858 they came to Wabasha County, Minn., settling in West Albany Township, on section 21, on a tract of wild land, on which he erected a log house 14 by 16 feet size. In this little house they took up their abode and in time enlarged it by building additions, and Christian J. Blohm began the development of his farm, keeping up the work for seven or eight years, or until his death on January 17, 1868. By that time he had what was then considered a good house and other buildings. His widow continued on the farm until May, 1900, when she took up her residence with her son, Henry H., who was then living in Lake City. On August 28, 1917, she died on his farm in Gillford Township. Mr. and Mrs. Christian J. Blohm had four children, all sons: William H., born in Illinois, who is living in section 1, Gillford Township, Wabasha County; Frederick W., who is a farmer at Asheville, New York; Henry H., of Gillford Township, and Frank G., who was a teacher and died at Wilmot, S. D. April 24, 1890. The three younger sons were born in West Albany Township, Wabasha County. Henry Blohm was educated in the district school in West Albany Township, and resided on his parents' farm until 1892. For some years he taught school in Wabasha, Norman and Marshall counties, Minn. On September 23, 1893, he married Mathilde E. Blom, who was born in Norway, March 3, 1876, daughter of Peter and Else Blom, afterwards residents of Lake City, Minn., but now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Blohm began housekeeping in Lake City, where he was employed by the C. E. Hinckley Furniture and Undertaking establishment until the fall of 1907. He had previously, in 1895, bought a farm of 160 acres in sections 3 and 4, Gillford Township, which in the meanwhile, while working in Lake City, he had rented out, but in the fall of 1907 he took up his residence on it with his family and has since made it his home. It is one of the best farms in the township and, it may be said, in the county, and is all under cultivation. Mr. Blohm carried on diversified farming with profitable results. He is a successful breeder of pure blooded Hereford cattle, Shropshire sheep and grade hogs, and has good operating equipment. In 1914 he built a modern two-story stucco residence of ten rooms, equipped with hot water heating plant, and his other buildings include a good barn, 30 by 50 by 18 feet, with an "L" 20 by 20 by 12; a granary 20 by 30 by 14; machine shed 14 by 30; sheep barn 24 by 36 by 16; a tile silo 13 by 36, with a capacity of 110 tons, and a steel windmill. The barn and house are electrically lighted, and as a part of his modern outfit Mr. Blohm has an Overland car. He is a stockholder in the Farmers Co-operative Elevator in of Zumbro Falls and in the Farmers and Merchants State Bank of Zumbro Falls. He was also one of the organizers of the Oak Center Creamery and was its vice president for four years, and he helped to organize the Farmers' Shipping Association of Zumbro Falls and the Farmers' Co-operative elevator of Lake City. Mr. Blohm belongs to several fraternal orders, including the modern Woodmen of America, in which he has held the office of adviser for a year and a half; the Royal Neighbors, and the Modern Brotherhood of America. He and his wife are the parents of a son, Ralph H., who was born November 29, 1897, and who was educated in the common school and the School of Agriculture at St. Paul, and is now associated with his father in the operation of the farm. The family are religiously affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal church at Oak Center, which Mr. Blohm is serving as steward, He may be termed a pioneer of the county by reason of his early birth here, and his parents were among the actual pioneers, arriving here poor with an ox team from Illinois, accompanied by John Schmidt and Henry Schmuser, who, like themselves, are now deceased.
Blowers, Archie G. (page 227), a representative farmer of Plainview Township, was born in Olmsted County, Minnesota, September 21, 1882, son of Morris L. and Lottie A. (Brink) Blowers. When two years old he moved with his parents across the line into Wabasha County, and subsequently became a pupil in the Woodland district school. He grew to manhood on his parent's farm, on which he has always remained. On his father's death in July, 1912, he became it's manager and has since operated it very successfully, having made some decided improvements on it. The property now comprises 152 1/2 acres, consisting of the old home farm of 105 acres, 65 of which are in Plainview Township, and 40 in Quincey Township (Olmsted County), and 47 1/2 acres which he owns in Quincey Township. Mr. Blowers is following general diversified farming according to modern and scientific methods, and with good pecuniary results. He keeps a good grade of stock, including Poland-China swine, and is a member of the Farmers' Shipping Association. His fraternal affiliations are with the Modern Woodmen of America, while politically he is a Republican. He was married February 26, 1913, to Mary Viola Duerrwaechter, daughter of William and Sarah Duerrwaechter, farmers of Plainview Township. He and his wife are affiliated with the Methodist church.
Blowers, Morris L. (page 227), who for many years was a well known and respected citizen of Wabasha County, was born in Oneida County, New York, January 2, 1856. When nine years old he was brought by his father, John Blowers, to Minnesota, who settled on land in Quincey Township, Olmsted County. There Morris attended the rural schools and was trained to agricultural pursuits. In 1880 he began farming on his own account, in Olmsted County, whence he removed in April, 1884, to Wabasha County, buying a farm of 105 acres, 40 acres of which lies over the line in Olmsted County. Here he succeeded in building up a good farm and establishing a comfortable home. He became prominent in agricultural circles and was always ready and willing to support every good cause that stood for right and justice. His untimely death, on July 22, 1912, when he was killed by one of the animals on his farm, caused great sorrow in the community and was a severe blow to his loving wife and children. The farm is now operated by his only son, Archie G. Mr. Blowers was married September 21, 1880, to Lottie A. Brink, who was born in Quincey Township, Olmsted County, Minn., May 21, 1862, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Ira Brink who settled in that county in 1862. The issue of this marriage was two children: Archie G., born September 21, 1882; and Sarah E., born November 15, 1885. Both reside on the home farm with their mother.
Boatman, Henry (page 394), a retired farmer residing in Lake City, was a pioneer of Minnesota and an early settler in Wabasha County, taking part in the development of its agricultural resources. He was born in Germany, August 9, 1845, son of Frederick and Lena Boatman. At the age of nine years, in 1854, he came with his parents to the United States, the family locating first at Ottawa, Ill. There Mrs. Lena Boatman died, and her husband, Frederick, placed his son, Henry, in the care of an American family, Mr. and Mrs. Sylvanus Crook, and came to Minnesota, homesteading 160 acres of land in Hay Creek Township, Goodhue County. Henry remained with the Crooks until the spring of 1865, when he enlisted in the Unites States' service and was sent to Memphis, Tenn., where he was stationed at the time President Lincoln was assassinated. He was mustered out at Springfield, Ill., in September, 1865, and returned to Ottawa, where he remained until the spring of 1867. He then came to Goodhue County, Minnesota, to visit his father, whom he had not seen for eleven years, and for whom he worked two years, subsequently returning to Ottawa, Ill., where he found a wife in the person of Nellie Elizabeth Mosher, daughter of Merwin and Sophronia Mosher, their marriage being celebrated July 22, 1871. In the fall of 1873 he and his wife located in Stillwater, Minn., where they resided for two years. Then in the fall of 1875 Mr. Boatman bought 80 acres of improved land in section 3, Mt. Pleasant Township, Wabasha County. The only building on the land was a small shanty, in which Mr. and Mrs. Boatman lived for two or three years. In 1878 he bought a second tract of 80 acres adjoining on the west; and in 1881 a third tract of the same size, thus coming into possession of a farm of 240 acres. From the beginning he had been working hard in improving the place, and about 1880 built a substantial two-story, ten-room frame house. He also erected a barn and other necessary buildings, and beautified his house, planting his front yard with maple trees, carrying the young trees on his back from Hay Creek, a distance of nine miles, his farm being located four and a half miles west of Lake City. Through industry and economy he conquered success, and having acquired a competence, in 1912 he retired to Lake City, where he bought a nice residence, since occupied by himself and wife and daughter Ella May. On his retirement he leased his farm to his son, Merwin, who in 1918 bought the 120-acre tract on which the buildings stand, and is operating the entire 240 acres. Mr. and Mrs. Boatman have had five children: Wesley, of section 2, Mt. Pleasant Township, who was born May 9, 1874; Ella May, born March 19, 1876; Ida S., born July 30, 1879, now Mrs. John Kennedy of Lake City; Merwin Howard, born April 18, 1886; Ray Mosher, born July 23,1889, a farmer in West Florence Township, Goodhue County; and two children, Carrie and Edwin, who died in childhood. Mr. Boatman and wife are prominent members of the M. E. church at Lake City. Politically he is a Democrat and for a number of years was a member of the school board.
Boatman, Wesley H. (page 394), who is prosperously engaged in agriculture in section 2, Mt. Pleasant Township, was born in Hay Creek Township, Goodhue County, May 9, 1874, son of Henry and Nellie (Mosher) Boatman. He was only four or five years old when he accompanied his parents to section 2, Wabasha County, and here he subsequently attended the district school up to the age of 14 years. His industrial activities were expended on the home farm, which he helped his father to improve, and they were associated together until 1903. October 10, that year, Mr. Boatman married Lillian Elizabeth Thimijon, daughter of early immigrants from Germany. Mr. Boatman and wife already had a home prepared, he having bought, in the fall of 1902, the farm on which he and his family are now living. This was known as the Granville Clark farm, and contained 160 acres, of which 125 were under the plow. It is now one of the best farms of its size in the township, the soil being good and highly cultivated. The house, which Mr. Boatman has improved, is a six-room frame structure, gas-lighted. He has also improved the other buildings, has a good operating equipment, and owns a large touring car. Owing to the difficulty of obtaining satisfactory help on reasonable terms, he operates but one-half of his farm, renting out the balance, but in spite of this limited activity, is doing a satisfactory business. He is a Democrat in politics, and he and his wife attend the M. E. church at Lake City.
Boehlke, Charles A. (page 489), who is successfully engaged in general farming and stock raising in Plainview Township, where he is a well known and respected citizen, was born in Elgin Township, Wabasha County, Minn., August 15, 1884. His education was acquired in the district school and the Plainview high school, his knowledge of agriculture in its various branches being gained on his parents’ farm of 143 acres. After his father’s death he rented the farm from his mother, and has since been engaged in its cultivation, also operating 30 acres of his own. Besides raising the usual grains, he keeps a good grade of stock, improving the breed with blooded sires, and he is now numbered among the prosperous citizens of his township. Aside from his direct farm interests he has an interest in the local creamery. Mr. Boehlke was married November 3, 1908, to Julia W. Zirbel, who was born in Minnesota City, Winona County, Minn., June 29, 1887. Two children are the issue of this marriage: Lucille H., born Oct. 31, 1915; and Dorothy La’ Von, born August 3, 1918. Mr. Boehlke and his family are members of the Lutheran church, and are popular in the community for their good neighborly qualities.
Boehlke, Gustav E. (page 627), a prominent farmer of Watopa Township, was born in Elgin Township, Wabasha County, Minn., April 3, 1875, son of John and Christine (Reiter) Boehlke. The parents came to the United States from Germany in 1872. Gustav E. acquired his education in his native township, and in a German school at Potsdam, Minn., where he studied for a year and a half. He remained at home and worked for his father until 1898, and then rented different farms in Highland Township. Subsequently he came to Watopa Township, where for eight years he has resided on and operated the Howe farm in section 29. He was married November 19, 1900, to Minnie Binder, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. August binder. Her parents were born in Germany and came to this country in 1873, locating in Highland Township, Wabasha County, Minn., where they both rented and owned farms, Mr. Binder retiring from active work in 1908. He is still living in Highland Township, and is a member of the Old Settlers’ Association of Wabasha County. Mrs. August Binder died in 1911. She was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church, to which her husband belongs. They had six children: Henry, Anna, Minnie, Julia, George and Augusta, of whom Julia is now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Gustav E. Boehlke are the parents of four children: Loretta I., born April 4, 1902; Charles R., July 31, 1903; Reuben C., November 30, 1905; and Ella U., January 12, 1908. The religious affiliations of the family are with the Lutheran church.
Note from Fellow Genealogist: I’m looking for a Gustav Boehlke who was married to Pauline Tedrahn. If you have information, please contact Diane.
Boehlke, John (page 261), formerly an active and successful farmer in Elgin and Plainview Townships, but now deceased, was born in Germany. He married Justine Reiter, also a native of that country, and in 1872 they located near Potsdam, Minn., where they resided two years. Then coming to Elgin Township, Wabasha county, they rented farms until 1888, in which year they bought a farm in Plainview Township, also renting in addition a tract of 480 acres, of which, four years later, they bought 150 acres. There they remained and built up a fine farm, Mr. Boehlke adding to its area until it contained 400 acres. After a useful and successful career, he died in the year 1902. Mrs. Boehlke is still living in Plainview.
Boehlke, J. L. (page 261), manager of the Gilchrist & Co. elevator at Plainview, was born in Elgin Township, this county, March 30, 1880, son of John and Justine (Reiter) Boehlke. He acquired his education in the district school, and remained on his parents’ farm until 1901. In that year, on August 15, he became an employee of the elevator company as the second man in charge, and occupied that position until April 1, 1902, when he returned home. On August 8, the same year, he resumed his position in the elevator, being second man until March 1, 1903, when he was promoted to be manager of the elevator belonging to the company then known as the American Malting Company. With them he remained until 1905, when the elevator was turned over to the Western Elevator Company, after which he was continued in the management by the new owners until 1915, when the property was bought by Gilchrist & Co., of McGregor, Iowa, in whose employ he has since remained. The company handles grain, fuel and seeds, and do quite a profitable business, Mr. Boehlke exercising careful supervision over every detail. Aside from his business interests in this direction, he is holder of some valuable farm lands in the Dakotas, and owns a nice residence in Plainview. As a citizen interested in the welfare of the community, and conversant with its needs, he has cheerfully devoted a part of his time to the public service, for three years formerly being a member of the board of education, and mayor of Plainview for three years, from 1916 to 1918, inclusive. He was also re-elected to the latter position in 1919, but was obliged to decline service owing to the demands of his increasing business. On October 21, 1903, Mr. Boehlke was married to Bertha C. Kitzman, who was born in Olmsted County, Minn., in May, 1880, daughter of Michael and Augusta (Reinke) Kitzman. Mrs. Boehlke died November 22, 1908, leaving one child, Maurice G., who was born June 18, 1905. Since his wife’s death Mr. Boehlke’s household has been presided over by his sister Emma. The family are members of the Lutheran church.
Bolton, John F. (page 257), of the firm of Bolton
Brothers, druggists, Plainview, is descended on both sides of the house from
the earliest Greenwood Prairie settlers, and is well known throughout the
community for his active interest in the development of the region in the
history of which his relatives have had so important a part. He was born in
Plainview, April 15, 1881, son of Thomas G. and Ella (Foster) Bolton, and
has here spent his life. He passed through the graded schools and in 1900
was graduated from the Plainview High School. In 1905 he entered the University
of Minnesota and two years later was graduated from the course in pharmacy,
a profession with which he had been more or less connected with since early
boyhood. He was also for a time associated with his father in several other
ventures, including the Plainview News. In 1907 he became associated with
his brother, Miller T., in the drug business, known as the Bolton Drug Store,
a popular and well patronized concern, to which he has since devoted his time
exclusively. He is a substantial figure in Plainview business life. Fraternally
he is associated with the Odd Fellows.
Mr. Bolton was married September 1, 1910, to Vera M. Saxe, born at Plainview, September 22, 1888, daughter of Theodore Saxe, at that time a well-known photographer of Plainview, who moved to Inglewood, California, in 1910. Mr. and Mrs. Bolton have three children: Roger V., born October 5, 1912; Philip L., born November 15, 1915, and Lorine V., born May 13, 1917. The family faith is that of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Bolton, Thomas G. (page 258), business man, agriculturist, druggist, editor and city official, for many years exerted a strong influence upon the affairs of Plainview and the surrounding territory. As a business man he was ever alive to Plainview’s best interest; as a druggist he was accurate, courteous and obliging; as a newspaper man he labored constantly for the progress of the village; as an official he succeeded in introducing a number of municipal improvements; and as an agriculturist he foresaw the future and ever urged the breeding of better stock and the adoption of constantly improving methods. He was born in Logan, Ohio, November 12, 1843, the son of Graham and Nancy (Miller) Bolton. The father was born in county Derry, Ireland, in 1816, and died in 1852. He was married in New Jersey, in 1837, to Nancy Miller, who, like himself, was a native of County Derry, Ireland, and born in the same year, on April 19, 1816. She had come to America as a girl and met Mr. Bolton for the first time in New Jersey. In 1842, accompanied by their two first born children, Ruth and John, they settled in Logan County, Ohio. Later two other children were born to them, Thomas G. and Martha. After Graham Bolton’s death his widow removed with her four children to Cleveland, Ohio, and in 1855 brought them to Wabasha County, Minnesota, settling in Wabasha. She spent a long and useful life here, and died at the home of her son, Thomas G., at Plainview, September 12, 1898. Thomas G. Bolton came to Wabasha with his mother and the other members of the family, when that city consisted of a few buildings on the banks of the Mississippi river. When about fourteen years of age, he spent two years as a cabin boy on a Mississippi steamboat. In 1861 he commenced his long business career as a druggist in the employ of James Crowley, of Wabasha, and in 1863 he assumed the management of the first drug store in Plainview, opened as a branch of the Wabasha store. Two years later he returned to the Wabasha store for a short time, but soon started a drug store of his own in Eyota, where he lived several years. In 1874 he returned to Plainview for a permanent residence, again engaging in the drub business, this time as a partner of George S. La Rue, whom he later bought out. This, however, was only oneof many business activities. For a while he was Plainview agent for the Laird-Norton Co. of Winona, and for some time he was an implement dealer. He also found time for the development of a fine farm on the site of the old village of Greenville, one of the deserted store buildings of that village being used by him as a sheep shed. He was one of the most progressive farmers of the county, at a time when scientific farming was not so common as at present, he being one of the first to introduce superior breeds of blooded stock on Greenwood Prairie. He was editor of the Plainview News, which was the development of smaller papers which he had previously published in Plainview and Eyota. He held several important city offices, and was a leader in all the progressive movements for advancing the welfare of the community one of the most beneficial being the organization of the Electric Light co. of which he was manager until his illness. Not only in the business world was his influence strongly felt, but also in the social and religious life of the city. His ready humor, inexhaustible fund of stories, reminiscences of his travels, practical wisdom and literary tastes, made him a delightful companion, and the generous hospitality of his home, gathered about him a large circle of friends, by whom he is still sadly missed. Mr. Bolton’s life exemplifies strongly the fact that hardships of pioneering tend to develop all one’s latent powers, for probably considerable of his ability as a leader, resourcefulness and power of initiative were gained during those early years of our country’s history. He took an active part in the Greenwood Prairie Old Settlers’ Association, regretting exceedingly that he could not attend the 1917 meeting, the last meeting before his death. Although he had received but a common school education he was a life-long student, reading extensively and gaining a wealth of valuable information from various sources, as well as by keen observation. For many years he was a prominent member and officer of the Methodist Episcopal church, a fine Bible student, and a Sunday school worker. He was a member of the Masonic brotherhood, and the Order of Odd Fellows.
Mr. Bolton was married September 1, 1869 to Ella Foster, only child of A. P. and Harriet (Thompson) Foster, and this union was blessed with four children: Alonzo C., Miller T., Mary L. and John F. Mrs. Ella Foster Bolton died October 7, 1884. Alonzo G. was born June 15, 1870, and died November 15, 1887. He was a high school student and deeply beloved for his upright life and engaging qualities. Miller T. and John F. are Plainview druggists. Mary Lee was born July 1, 1874, was educated in the Plainview schools, enlisted in the service of the W. F. M. S. (most likely the Women's Foreign Missionary Society of Methodist Episcopal Church), was sent to France, where she did notable work in the war, and in the devastated regions after the war, and returned to America in November, 1919.
Bolton, Miller T. (page 257), of the Bolton Drug Store Company, Plainview, is one of the active men in the affairs of the village, and is doing his share toward the general prosperity of the country. He was born in Eyota, Olmstead County, this state, October 27, 1871, son of Thomas G. and Ella (Foster) Bolton. He was brought to Plainview by his parents as an infant, and here passed through the public schools, graduating from the Plainview High School in 1888. In the meanwhile he had spent much of his spare time in his father’s drug store, and early became imbued with the idea of following his father’s profession. Accordingly in 1892 he entered the University of Minnesota and pursued the regular course in pharmacy, being graduated from that course in 1894. Then returning to Plainview, he associated himself with his father in the drug business. In 1907 the firm of the Bolton Drug Store was formed with Miller T. and John F. as partners, and this firm has since continued to do a prosperous business. The brothers have a neat store, well equipped, and carry a good line of drugs, stationery and novelties. Fraternally Mr. Bolton is a member of Illustrious Lodge No. 63, and of the Odd Fellows. He was married August 28, 1901, to Myrtle L. Mallory, of Plainview, who was born November 10, 1877, the daughter of J. W. Mallory, who died in 1902. Mr. and Mrs. Bolton have four children: Ella M., born October 17, 1902; Ruth E., born January 1, 1907; Mary E., born May 17, 1911, and Mallory T., born March 30, 1915.
Borst, Horace (page 486, transcribed by Cathy), who owns and operates a good farm of 100 acres in section 30, Pepin Township, six miles southeast of Lake City, was born in Oswego County, New York, October 26, 1857, son of James and Charlotte (Reynolds) Borst. The parents came to Wabasha County, Minnesota, when Horace was a babe, locating at Lake City, and the father was engaged there for many years in the occupation of lime burning. Later he and his wife moved to Plum City, Wisconsin, where both subsequently died. Horace Borst was reared to manhood in Lake City. He had but little schooling, and began industrial life as his father's assistant, being subsequently associated in the lime business with him until 1877. In that year he married Lucinda, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Schmidt, of Pepin Township. To the newly wedded bride her father gave 100 acres of improved land in section 30, without buildings, and this land constitutes Mr. and Mrs. Borst's present farm, Mr. Borst having erected a good house, barn and outbuildings. The farm is very productive and is ably worked and managed, Mr. Borst practicing diversified farming. His wife has proved a good helpmate and together they have climbed the hill of prosperity until have attained a fair altitude, and are now numbered among the substantial people of their township. Mr. Borst is a Democrat in politics, and a member of M.W.A. Lodge of Lake City. He and his family are members of the Catholic church and of St. Mary's Parish, Lake City. Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Borst, namely: Mabel Susannah, April 22, 1884, now Mrs. Alfred Fick of Frontenac, Goodhue County; Laura and Blanche, who are deceased; Gladys, born April 22, 1890, now Mrs. Leo Witte of Glasgow Township, Wabasha County; Anna Carrabella, born August 1, 1891, who is the wife of Douglas Brown of Glasgow Township, Wabasha County; Joseph Emery, born September 1, 1897, who resides on the home farm with his parents. Mr. Borst is a member of the Farmers' Elevator Company of Lake City.
Boss, Andrew (page 706), an early settler in Gillford Township, and at one time one of the leading citizens of Wabasha County, was born in Kinloss, Scotland, July 6, 1835, and came to America at the age of 17 years. For two years he remained in New York City, being employed as a clerk in a drug store. He then came west and at Janesville, Wis., about 1859, he met and married Jeanette Nesbit. In 1863 Mr. Boss came with his wife to Wabasha County, Minnesota, buying a homestead claim on section 15, Gillford Township. The place was but slightly improved, only a small part of the land being broken, the house being a shack, and straw sheds in use as a substitute for stables. Mr. Boss at once started to develop a good farm, erecting a substantial house and other buildings. For a long period he served as town clerk, and in time acquired such local popularity that he was elected to the state legislature, in which he served for two year, in politics being a Democrat. He died on the farm August 22, 1897, and was survived by his wife, who passed away in 1905, also on the old homestead. Their children were as follows: Marcia, now Mrs. A. H. Lamb of Oak Center; Jean, wife of J. E. Knight of Sherwood, Ore.; Andrew, an instructor in the Minnesota Agricultural College at St. Paul; William, who holds a similar position there; James, of Zumbro Falls, Minn.; Alexander, of Sherwood, Ore.; David, now proprietor of the old home farm in Gillford Township; John, who is deceased, and two others who died in infancy.
Boss, David (page 645), who is traveling the road to fortune along agricultural lines in the township of Gillford, was born in this township August 6, 1883, son of Andrew and Jeanette (Nesbit) Boss. His parents, natives of Scotland, were among the Wabasha County pioneers of 1863. He was reared on the home farm and in his boyhood attended district school No. 88, continuing his studies up to the age of 17. In 1901 he was graduated from the Minnesota Agricultural College, and in 1908 he bought the home farm, on which he has always resided, and is now operating it as a general farmer and stock raiser. Mr. Boss breeds pure blooded Hereford cattle, having now a herd of about 50, and raises about the same number of pure blood Poland- China hogs annually, together with a good grade of Shropshire sheep. He has greatly improved the buildings on his farm and has built a tile silo and other necessary structures. He has also provided himself with a first class operating equipment. His business interests are not entirely confined to his farm, he is a stockholder in the Farmer's Shipping Association of Zumbro Falls, the Farmers' Elevator Co. of the same place, of which he is an officer; the Farmers and Merchants State Bank of Zumbro Falls, the Zumbro Falls Farmers' Telephone Co., and the Terminal Packing Co. of Newport, Minn. A Democrat in politics, he has served as town clerk for the past three years and is a member of the school board of his district. He has a wide acquaintance throughout this part of the county and is universally respected.
Boss, James (page 707), a prosperous farmer residing in section 31, Gillford Township, was born in this township, October 12, 1876, son of Andrew and Jeanette (Nesbit) Boss. He acquired his education in the school of district 88, and subsequently for one year attended the Minnesota Agricultural College. He remained on the home farm until the spring of 1896, and the summer and fall of that year he spent in Crookston, Minn., working on the State Experimental Farm. Then returning to Wabasha County, he remained on the home farm until 1901. That fall he began farming for himself on a rented farm at Oak Center, where he remained two years. He then bought an 80 acre farm in Gillford Township which he operated three years, and then sold, at the end of that time renting a farm of 260 acres in Gillford Township adjoining the old homestead. His next move was to Zumbro Falls, where he lived for two years employed as a rural mail carrier. In 1913 Mr. Boss bought his present farm of 120 acres in section 31, Gillford Township, adjoining the village of Zumbro Falls, it being an old improved farm with a good house and other buildings, and he has since been profitably engaged in its operation. He has 108 acres under the plow, has a good tile silo, and an adequate equipment, and does general farming. His stock consists of grade Shorthorn cattle, Poland-China hogs and Shropshire sheep. In addition to his work on the farm, for the last five years he has been manager of the Farmer's Shipping Association of Zumbro Falls. He is also a stockholder in the Farmers Elevator Co., The Zumbro Falls Telephone Co., and the Farmers Co-operative Creamery of Zumbro Falls. Mr. Boss was married October 29, 1901, to Media Ann Claflin, who was born in Big Stone, Minn., April 5, 1883, daughter of William H. and Adda M. Claflin of Zumbro Falls. Her parents, who were among the early settlers in Gillford Township, are now living at Sweet Briar, N.D. Mr. and Mrs. Boss are the parents of two children: Beth Mary, born November 29, 1903, who is attending the Zumbro Falls high school; and Clifford James, born November 20, 1907, who is a student in the seventh grade of the common school.
World War ~ Homefront Worker
Boss, John (page 729), late county auditor of Wabasha County, and for a number of years before his death one of the foremost citizens of the county, was born in the Town of Gillford, Wabasha County, Minn., March 4, 1884, son of Andrew and Janet (Nesbit) Boss. His parents were pioneers of this locality and he spent his boyhood days on the farm where he was born. After attending the public schools he took a course in the Minnesota School of Agriculture, from which he graduated in the class of 1902. He subsequently engaged in agriculture and resided on his farm near Zumbro Falls until the fall of 1914, when he was elected county auditor and took up his residence in Wabasha. As a public official he proved able and faithful and left behind him a record worthy of emulation. An intensely loyal American, when his country engaged in war to defend the rights of American citizens and the cause of world democracy, he rendered it his whole-hearted service. True, he did not wear the uniform of the army, but he was in a very real sense a soldier of the United States, and faithfully and efficiently performed his strenuous duties as secretary of the local draft board from the time of its organization. While his name will not be printed in the casualty list of those who gave their lives for their country, it surely deserves to be, for it was undoubtedly his close application to the duties of his office and his war work which caused the loss of vitality the want of which rendered him unable to effectively resist the disease that caused his death. An attack of the then prevailing influenza was followed by pneumonia, from which he suffered for a week, and which terminated in his death at about 12 o'clock on the night of Saturday, October 26, 1918. His wife and children, besides other relatives, and a host of personal friends were left to mourn his untimely demise. The funeral, which was necessarily private, was held on Monday, the remains being taken to Lake City and interred in the cemetery there. Rev. E. D. Gallagher had charge of the services, and the Masonic fraternities of which the deceased was a member attended at the grave. In the death of Mr. Boss the community and the entire county lost one of its most useful and esteemed citizens. He was a man of great strength of character, and when once convinced he was on the right course could not be swayed from it. In a word, he was a clean living, right-thinking, honest man whose friendship and association were highly prized by those who knew him best. His life's work was short, but he accomplished more in the time allotted to him than many who lived much longer. Though he passed on before, his memory will long remain as an inspiration to the living. Mr. Boss was united in marriage, at Lake City, Minn., with Louise F. Koehler, who was born February 22, 1888, daughter of Henry J. and Ida (Kuehn) Koehler. They had four children, all of whom are now living, namely: Jean Louise, born August 20, 1908; Amy Jannette, January 10, 1910; Lloyd John, May 21, 1911, and Forest, May 21, 1913. Mr. Boss also left five brothers and two sisters; Mrs. J. H. Lamb, and James and David Boss, of Gillford; Andrew and William Boss of St. Paul; Mrs. J. E. Knight, of Sherwood, Ore., and Alex Boss, who lives in Washington.
Bremer, Claus (page 680), who died on his farm in section 2, Mt. Pleasant Township, December 19, 1913, was for a number of years a well known and respected citizen of theat township, and had done useful work as a developer of farm land. He was born in Hanover, Germany, March 5, 1866, son of Henry and Anna (Luetjen) Bremer, and came to the United States with his parents when about 15 years of age, the family settling in Goodhue County, Minn. Claus had acquired a common school education in his native land and attended school for some time here. After arriving in Minnesota he found work as a farm hand, which occupation he followed for a number of years. By 1896, through industry and economy, he had accumulated about $2,000, and in the fall of that year he bought 230 acres of land in section 2, Mt. Pleasant Township, of which 100 acres were under the plow. There were no buildings, and so his first task was to erect a small house. Being now in a condition to enjoy domestic happiness, he married, July 25, 1897, Marie Catherine, daughter of Paul and Marie (Dohrmann) Cordes of Mt. Pleasant Township. She was born in Hanover, Germany, August 18, 1869, and came to America with her parents in 1883, they settling in Goodhue County. Mr. Bremer went to work at once to improve his farm by erecting good buildings, including a house, a good barn 36 by 60 by 16 feet, with an 8-foot basement, and equipped with steel stanchions, also with a lean-to 14 by 36; a granary 18 by 24, a poultry house, and machine shed. Since Mr. Bremer's death his widow has built a triple-walled silo and a circular hog-house with cement floor, and with the help of her two sons has conducted the farm successfully. It is well stocked with grade Shorthorn cattle, the herd numbering from 30 to 35, of which 12 to 15 are milch cows; also a herd of 13 to 30 Chester-white hogs. The farm is will tilled and very productive. Mr. Bremer was a thrifty and industrious man and highly respected. He served as treasurer of his school district for seven years and always took an interest in the welfare and progress of the community. Politically he was a Republican. He was a member of the German Lutheran church, he and his family worshiping with Emanuel congregation at West Florence. Mr. and Mrs. Claus Bremer were the parents of five children: Walter Paul, born June 3, 1898, who died January 8, 1911; Edna Marie and Edwin Frederick (twins), born September 18, 1899; Clarence Christian, born March 24, 1902, and Alma Marguerite, born August 24, 1906. All the surviving children are residing on the home farm with their mother. They were educated in the district school, and Edna Marie, in addition, attended the Minnesota Agricultural College.
Bricher, Nicholas E. (page 471), cashier and director of the Theilman State Bank, and a man who has had a long and honorable business career, was born in Highland Township, Wabasha County, Minn., March 3, 1878, son of John and Mary Bricher. The father and mother were natives respectively of Luxemburg and Bohemia. The former, John Bricher, came to Wabasha County in 1855 among the pioneers, locating on a tract of wild "script" land. In early days, besides improving his property and building up a farm, he taught school for some time. His career was a very successful one. He erected good buildings on his place and developed an excellent farm, and for four years served the county as register of deeds, during that period in Wabasha. He died in Kellogg, Minn., in March , 1915. His wife, Mary, came to America as a young girl with her parents, the family settling in Glasgow Township, close to the Bricher home in Highland Township. She is now living with her two daughters in Pasadena, Cal. Mr. and Mrs. John Bricher had ten children: Elizabeth, now Mrs. John Klein of Highland Township; Frank, who is engaged in the truck farming business at Kellogg; Joseph, who is conducting a fruit farm at Cottage Grove, Ore.; Mary, wife of Andrew McDonough of Highland Township; John D., of Kellogg, who is president of the Minneapolis firm of Lydon, Bricher Manufacturing Co., manufacturers of table pads; Anna, now Mrs. Coleman Lydon, of Pasadena, Cal.; Susan B., wife of Thomas Lydon, of the same place; Nicholas Edward, of Theilman, Minn.; Catherine, wife of John Schneider of Pasedena, Cal.; and Christopher C., a member of the Lydon Bricher Co., of Minneapolis, where he resides. Nicholas Edward Bricher acquired his elementary education in the common school, and was subsequently a student at the Wabasha high school and the La Crosse Business College. About 1896 he became manager of the New Wabasha Lumber Co.'s business at Theilman, and was with that company for four years. Then in the spring of 1900 he went with the American Malting Co., of Winona, as manager of their business at Theilman. After a while, however, that company sold their Theilman interests to the Western Grain & Elevator Co. of Winona, and Mr. Bricher was manager of the Theilman interests of the latter company up to 1911. In June of the year last mentioned he became cashier of the Theilman State Bank, of which institution he was one of the organizers and incorporators, and this position he has since retained. The village of Theilman has found in him an active and useful citizen, mindful of its interest. He owns a good home here and he and his family enjoy social popularity. Mr. Bricher was married July 19, 1904, to Mary J. Kinsella, who was born in Oakwood Township, May 27, 1862, daughter of Matthew and Catherine (Finley) Kinsella, now of Theilman. He owns a good home in the village. He and his wife are members of the Catholic church. For three years he was treasurer of the school board, and for several years was a member of the board of directors of the Lydon, Bricher Manufacturing Company of Minneapolis, of which he is a stockholer. He is always ready to support any practical project for the welfare and advancement of the community in which he resides.
Brinkman, Cord (page 599), now living retired in Lake City, after acquiring a competence through agricultural effort, was born August 10, 1864, in Hanover, Germany, son of Claus and Margaret (Hoefle) Brinkman. The parents owned a small farm, but the father worked as a laborer. Young Cord was educated in the common schools, which he left at the age of 14, then worked as a farm hand until he was 20, and after that spent three years in the German army. On May 23, 1887, he married Anna Meyers, who was born in Hanover, June 15, 1863, daughter of Claus and Elizabeth Meyers. Three days later he and his bride started for America, and after landing in New York, came direct to Wabasha County, Minnesota, arriving here with $300 capital. Locating in Gilford Township, Mr. Brinkman found work as a farm hand, and was thus occupied for five years. In the fall of 1892 he rented the farm of John Brinkman, his second cousin, located in the same township, which he operated for three years. After that until the fall of 1901 he worked the Claus Meyers farm, also in Gilford. He then bought 40 acres of improved land in the same township, which he operated until the fall of 1914, when he sold it, buying a 320-acre farm on sections 14 and 23, Lake Townshp, three and a half miles southeast of Lake City. Of this farm 145 acres were under the plow, the balance being in timber and pasture, and there was a two-story frame house, a frame barn and other buildings. There he devoted himelf to general farming, keeping a good grade of stock, and having a good operating equipment, until 1917. By that time, his wife being in poor health, he made up his mind to retire, which he could well afford to do, having met with financial success, and accordingly bought a nice residence at Central Point, Lake City, where he and his wife have since made their home. At the same time he leased the farm to a son-in-law, Herman Kreutz, who is now operating it. Mr. Brinkman became a citizen in 1893, and has since voted the Republican ticket. Mr. and Mrs. Brinkman are members of St. John's Lutheran congregation at Lake City. They have six children, namely: Margaret, born November 14, 1888, who married John Barttles of Zumbro Falls, and has two children, Laura and Margaret; Anna E., born April 27, 1890, who is residing at home; Martha C., born September 17, 1891, now Mrs. Harry Viete of Zumbro Falls; Bertha M., born April 1, 1893, now Mrs. Herman Buesler, of Lake City; Dora M., born February 19, 1895, now the wife of Herman Kreutz, and the mother of one child, Dorothy; and Albert H., born March 6, 1903, who lives at home and is a student in the Lake City high school.
Brinkman, Henry (page 680), a thriving representative of the farming interests of Mt. Pleasant Township, residing in section 16, was born in Belvidere Township, Goodhue County, Minn., December 12, 1870, son of John and Engel (Martens) Brinkman. He was educated in the district school and was associated in agricultural work with his father until 30 years of age. In the year 1900 he came to Mt. Pleasant Township, Wabasha County, and bought his present farm of 240 acres in section 16, seven miles west of Lake City. Of its total area he has 230 acres under the plow, and, the soil being very productive, he is raising large quanitiies of grain and other farm products. He has from 40 to 50 head of high grade Shorthorn cattle, and from 25 to 40 Duroc-Jersey swine, with full blooded sires for each herd, and as a general farmer has achieved a pronounced success. He is a stockholder in the Farmers Elevator and Lake Pepin Creamery Association, both of Lake City, and is a member of the school board of District No. 11. Since taking possession of his farm Mr. Brinkman has made some valuable improvements on it, having fenced most of it, sunk a 260-foot drilled well and erected a steel windmill and a double corn crib, 38 feet long, with a driveway through the center. Mr. Brinkman assumed the responsibilities of domestic life in April, 1913, when he was married to Emma Henning, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Peter Henning of Mt. Pleasant Township. Their home circle includes three children: Luella, born June 15, 1914; Ray, born May 25, 1916, and Roy, a stepson, born April 10, 1904. Mr. Brinkman and his family are members of the Belvidere congregation of the German Lutheran church.
Brown, Douglas (page 740, transcribed by Cathy), a prosperous farmer of Glasgow Township, who is associated in agricultural work with his brother, John C., was born near Dumfries this township, July 5, 1885, son of John E. and Nancy (McFarland) Brown. He was educated mainly in the common school, but also spent one winter in a business college. Up to 1912 he remained on his parents farm, and then in that year went to Callaway, on the Blue Earth Reservation, near Detroit, Minn., where he established himself in the elevator business, buying and shipping grain. There he remained four years, when he sold out and returned to Glasgow Township, Wabasha County, and became associated with his brother, John C., in the operation of their father's farm one mile west of Dumfries. The farm is operated under the name of "Brown Bros." and they are breeders of pure blooded Shorthorn cattle, besides doing general farming. They are enjoying a successful career and are prominent citizens of Glasgow Township. Douglas Brown was married January 15, 1911, to Karibel Borst, who was born in Pepin Township, this county, August 1, 1891, daughter of Horace and Charlotte (Schmidt) Borst. They have one child, Eleanor, who was born December 18, 1915. Mr. Brown is a member of Wapahasa Lodge, No. 14, A. F. & A. M., at Wabasha. In politics he is a Republican.
Brown, John C. (page 740), who with his brother, Douglas, operated his father's farm, formerly known as the Tobin Farm, one mile west of Dumfries, in Glasgow Township, was born in South Dakota, November 18, 1883, son of John E. and Nancy (McFarland) Brown. He acquired his elementary education in the common school and subsequently attended the Lake City Business College for a year, from 1902 to 1903. In 1909 he homesteaded 160 acres near Shelby, Montana, a property which he still owns. In that state he remained until 1914, when he returned to Glasgow Township, Wabasha County. He resides on the farm with his brother, Douglas, where they have separate residences. They operate their father's farm, giving special attention to the raising of pure blooded Shorthorn cattle, though they also raise other stock and corps. The farm is a good one, adequately supplied with buildings and operating equipment and the "Brown Bros." are prosperous. John C. Brown was married February 15, 1913, to Ethel Eickmeyer, daughter of Elmer and Amelia Eickmeyer of Kalispell, Mont. He and his wife have two children: Lawson, born August 15, 1915, and Helen, born October 24, 1916. Mr. Brown and his family are affiliated religiously with the Federated Congregation of M. E. churches, Wabasha, Minn. Politically he is a Republican.
Brown, John E. (page 739), who settled at an early day in Glasgow Township, where he developed several good farms, was born in England. He came to America with his parents in the sixties, when about nine years of age. His father died in this country. The mother had but little money, but was able to buy 160 acres of wild land and build a small log house, where John E. spent his youthful days, growing up on the farm. He learned from necessity how to do the various farm chores and as he grew older became a practical farmer, acquainted with all the mysteries of crop production and stock raising. In time he became his own master, and started out on an agricultural career which proved very successful, becoming the owner of several farms in this section which, to a large extent, he developed. He also took a prominent part in the affairs of his township and county, in politics being aligned with the Republican party. Religiously he was affiliated with the Presbyterian church of Wabasha. In the winter of 1914-1915 Mr. Brown moved to Long Beach, Calif., where he has since made his home. He was married in Lake City to Nancy McFarland of Plum City, Wis., by whom he had 12 children, namely: Anna, William (first), Mary, John C., Douglass, Margaret, Jeanette and William (second), who were twins, Walter, Lou, Ruth and Corine. The first William died at the age of nine years and William second at the age of ten. Margaret died at the age of 18.
Bucher, Nicholas (page 396), a pioneer merchant of Hammond, where he is still carrying on business, was born in the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg, January 16, 1851, son of John and Susan (Ley) Brucher. The parents were farmers who spent their lives in their native land, the mother dying in 1869 and the father in 1881. Their family numbered ten children, only three of whom are now living, namely: Mary, still residing in Luxemburg; Elizabeth, a resident of Cashton, Wis., and Nicholas. The others were: John, who died in Kellogg, Minn., in 1916; John (second), who died in Luxemburg; Peter, who died in Paris; Catherine, who died in the United States in 1876; Peter (second), who died in Kansas in 1895; Nicholas (first), who died in Kellogg, Minn., in 1915; and Margaret, who died when young. John, the first son thus named, was a pioneer of Wabasha County, coming here in 1855. He was for many years engaged in farming, finally retiring to Kellogg, where he died, as above mentioned. Nicholas Brucher in his boyhood attended school in his native land. He subsequently learned the cabinet-maker's trade, which he followed until he purchased the business from an uncle. For three years he was thus occupied, after which for several years he again worked at his trade, spending one year in London. In 1870-71 he was in Paris during the siege, and saw and endured many hardships. In 1877 he emigrated to the United States, first locating at Kellogg, Wabasha County, Minn., where he engaged in carpenter work. He came to Hammond in 1879, and in the spring of the following year opened a general store which was practically the first store started here, and since then he has continued in mercantile business and prospered, being known far and wide as a reliable merchant, keeping a good stock and honest in his dealings. He was the first president of the village, an office in which he served for a number of years, and he also served as recorder and a member of the school board. Fraternally he belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Brucher was married in 1883, in the town of Highland, Wabasha County, to Mary A. Schouweiler, daughter of John and Anna (Mumper) Schouweiler, who came to this country from Luxemburg about 1860, settling in Highland Township, this county, where they engaged in farming. Both Mr. and Mrs. Schouweiler are now deceased, and so also are five of their ten children. The others, Nicholas, George, Bartel, John and Mary, are all residing in Wabasha County. Mr. and Mrs. Brucher are the parents of eight children: Anna, wife of A. P. Hilger, of Mazeppa; Nicholas Peter, who resides in Hammond; Edward John, also of Hammond; Lucille, wife of Norton L Beyer, of Hammond; George H., who is a traveling salesman; Walter M., who is a student in the high school at St. Paul; Charles, attending school in Hammond; and Rosella, who is residing at home.
Brueshaber, Christian (page 329), proprietor of a well-equipped and productive farm in section 2, West Albany Township, and a man well known and respected, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, December 16, 1850, son of Frederick and Louise Brueshaber, the father being owner and operator of a 200-acre farm, on which young Christian was brought up to agricultural work. At the ate of 15 he left school. Three years of his subsequent life were spent in the German army, after which he returned to the parental farm. At the age of 25 he was superintendent on a large farm in Germany, where he spent four years. The next four years were spent on the home farm. Then in 1883 he came to America, landing at New York September 12. Near Buffalo resided an uncle of his, Christ Brueshaber, with whom he spent a year and a half. Then coming west, he reached Lake City, Wabasha County, Minn., April 9, 1885. Employment was soon found, and for a year and a half he worked on the farm of Ed Wise in Mt. Pleasant Township, and for John Danckwart in West Albany Township. On September 29, 1886, Mr. Brueshaber married Ida Haase, born September 5, 1865, daughter of John and Minnie (Lange) Haase of West Albany Township, and rented the Gotleib Moechnig farm in West Albany, where he and his wife resided four years. He next rented and moved to the farm on which he still lives in section 2, West Albany, a farm of 120 acres, which he bought after a two or three years' residence on it. It has been improved by him to a considerable extent, the improvements including the rebuilding of the house, which is now a good dwelling of eight rooms; the erection of a frame barn, 56 by 60 by 16 feet, with full 8-foot basement; and a machine shed, 22 by 40 feet. The farm has now a good set of buildings, and is pleasantly situated, the surroundings being beautified by evergreens set out by Mr. Brueshaber. It is six and a half miles southeast of Lake City. Mr. Brueshaber raises both stock and grain, his cattle being of the Shorthorn variety. He has been a hard worker, and has accomplished gratifying results; but he has never been robust and owing to his somewhat indifferent health, he now leaves the active operation of the farm to his eldest son Henry, who was born June 15, 1887. The other children are as follows: Laura Wilhelmina, born May 31, 1890, now Mrs. Frank Vomastic of Lake City; Minnie Marietta, born May 31, 1893; Margaret Adeline, born May 18, 1900; Marie Emily, born August 8, 1901. The family are members of St. Johns German Lutheran congregation at Lake City.
Brunkhorst, William H. (page 373), the enterprising proprietor of a good farm in West Albany Township, was born in Belvidere Township, Goodhue County, Minn., March 10, 1881, son of John and Caroline (Holst) Brunkhorst. The father was a native of Hanover, Germany, born November 24, 1850. He came to America, and directly to Goodhue County, Minn., in 1868, landing at Red Wing, but soon took up his residence at Frontenac, and for some time worked out as a farm hand. He was married to Caroline Holst in Goodhue County about 1880, and they settled in that county on a farm, on which they are still living, though now retired from active work, the farm being under the management of their sons Clarence and Edward. They had in all six children, of whom William H. was the eldest, the others being Amelia, Richard, Clarence, Edward and Edna. All except William are now living in Goodhue County. William H. Brunkhorst, who was brought up on his parents' farm, attended country school up to the age of sixteen, at which time he began working out. He lived with his parents until 1913, in which year, on August 10, he was married to Anna Margaret Bruer, who was born in Mt. Pleasant Township, this county, August 5, 1890, daughter of John and Marie Bruer, of Lake Township. Her parents were natives of Germany. After their marriage Mr. Brunkhorst and his wife began housekeeping on her parents' farm in Lake Township, which they rented for three years. In the spring of 1916 Mr. Brunkhorst bought an improved farm, known as the Schmusser farm, of 160 acres, in section 4, West Albany Township. It was provided with a two-story brick house, and with fair barns and outbuildings. He also purchased 20 acres of timberland in section 34, in the same township; and thus provided with land and buildings, he has since pursued a successful career as a general farmer, now having 125 acres under the plow. He keeps a good grade of cattle and swine, and his operating equipment is up to date and adequate. The farm lies seven miles south of Lake City. Mr. Brunkhorst and his family are members of St. John's (Lutheran) congregation of Lake City. He and his wife are the parents of four children: Arnold John, Norman Lawrence, Evelyn Mary, and Wilbert Edward. Politically Mr. Brunkhorst is independent. As an industrious and capable farmer and good neighbor he stands high in the community.
Brunkow, Herman (page 362), whose untimely death at the age of 36 years deprived West Albany Township of one of its rising young farmers, was born in Gillford Township, Wabasha County, Minn., October 8, 1882, son of William and Frederica (Schuman) Brunkow. The parents were natives of Germany who settled in Gillford Township at an early day, and there the father died when the subject of this sketch was eleven years old, leaving his wife with nine children, all of whom grew up and married, and all of whom are now living but Herman. The survivors are: Matilda, now Mrs. Fred Pruder, residing on the old home farm in Gillford Township; Amelia, wife of Arthur French of Oak Center, this county; Ferdinand, of Hyde Park Township; Ida, now Mrs. Claus Heintz, living near Zumbro Falls; Elsie, wife of John Holst of Ryder, N. D.; Emma, now Mrs. Fred Holst, of Ryder, N. D.; and Henry, a resident of the same place. After her husband's death, Mrs. William Brunkow re-married and is now Mrs. Claus Holst of Lake City, Minn. Herman Brunkow was educated in the district school and remained on his parents' farm until his marriage on November 7, 1908, to Clara, daughter of John and Sophia (Horning) Danckwart, of West Albany Township. The young couple began housekeeping on a farm of 80 acres, near the old home on Oak Ridge, which Mr. Brunkow had previously purchased, and on which he erected a good set of buildings. He also worked 150 acres adjoining, and made good financial progress. In 1910 he sold the 80-acre farm and bought the John Burfeind farm of 160 acres in section 3, to which he and his family moved. It was provided with a comfortable house and other buildings, but he also erected others, including a frame barn, 32 by 60 by 16 feet in size, with full basement. He had a good operating equipment, and his stock was well kept, while his standing in the community was that of a prosperous and successful farmer, with bright future prospects. But man proposes and God disposes, and death called him from earth on January 15, 1919. He left his family in good circumstances, and his wife, who was born September 25, 1884, is now operating the farm. She has also succeeded her husband in the office of clerk of the school board, which he held at the time of his death. Three children were born to them: John William, November 21, 1913; William Frederick, January 20, 1916; and Edward James, January 14, 1918. The family are members of St. John's Lutheran congregation at Lake City.
Brusehaver, Charles F. (page 265 - family photo available), who owns and operates an excellent farm in section 5, West Albany Township, which was the home of his parents, was born in Gillford Township, Wabasha County, Minn., March 3, 1881, son of John and Sophia (Mahler) Brusehaver. He acquired his preliminary education in the district school, and subsequently attended lake City Commercial College during the winters of 1898-9 and 1899- 0. Since early childhood he has resided on the parental homestead, where he thoroughly learned the science of farming, an occupation which he has continued to follow with good financial results. He has made various improvements on the farm, now having an eight-room, two-story frame residence, gas-lighted; and in 1911, he built a fine circular barn, 70 feet in diameter, with 16-foot posts, and full 8-foot basement. Later he built a stave silo of 100-ton capacity, has a steel windmill, and owns a five-passenger car. His cattle are mostly high grade Guernseys, but he is also breeding some Guernsey registered stock, while his hogs are of the Duroc Jersey variety. His ample equipment includes a large tractor. In addition to his farming interests, he has held the office of school director for six years, he is a stockholder and for two years was treasurer of the Lake Pepin Co-operative Creamery Co. of Lake City, a stockholder in the Lake City Co- operative Elevator Co., and the Terminal Packing Company of Newport, Minn, and a stockholder in the Wabasha County Leader, of Wabasha, and is one of the organizers and directors of the new Farmers Milling Co., of Lake City. Mr. Brusehaver first married Anna Luetjen, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Christ Luetjen of Mt. Pleasant Township. She died in 1917, leaving five children, namely: Eugene John, born November 4, 1903; Lorinda Mary, December 1, 1904; Emma Henrietta, May 23, 1906; Fritz Frank, November 24, 1907, and Gladys Frances, April 3, 1911, all of whom are now residing at home. Mr. Brusehaver married secondly, October 8, 1919, Emma Priggs, daughter of Hein and Mattie Prigge, of Lake Township, Wabasha County. They have one daughter, Dorothy, born June 1, 1920. He is a member of the Non-Partisan League and of the German Lutheran church, he and his family worshiping with the Jacksonville congregation in Gillford Township, Wabasha County.
Brusehaver, John (page 265), who was the practical founder of what is now one of the fine farms of West Albany Township, situated in section 5, was born in Mecklenburg, Germany, where he grew to manhood and married Sophia Mahler. In the late seventies he came with his family to Minnesota, and settled first in Gillford Township, Wabasha County. After a while he bought the farm above mentioned, in section 5, West Albany, which contained 160 acres, but had a poor set of buildings. He at once set to work to improve it, a task that took him a number of years, but on which he made good progress, erecting new buildings, and cultivating the soil with profitable results until 1903, when he leased the place to his son Charles F. and took up his residence, with his wife, in Lake City. There he died March 23, 1908, and his wife on January 15, 1912. Their married life was tinged with joys and sorrows, in which the sorrow at one time seemed to predominate, as within one month, during an epidemic of diphtheria, they lost four of their five children, three sons and a daughter, the only survivor being Charles F., now the owner of the home farm.
Bryant, Curtis (page 507), a pioneer of Wabasha County who may be termed the founder of the Village of Elgin, was born in the Town of Middlesex, Washington County, Vermont, September 6, 1833. His early years were spent on his parents' farm, on which he worked, attending school during the winter. He also attended the academy at Barre, Vt., and taught school one term. In the spring of 1855 he started west, and on April 7, in company with George Bryant, Henry H. Atherton and George Farrar, after a tramp across the prairies from Winona, halted for the night on the banks of the Whitewater and made their camp on the village site of Elgin. They thought it a wonderful country and decided to go no further. Fifteen days later Mr. Bryant filed his claim on the northeast quarter of section 28, the farm later owned by C. H. Siem, which was the Bryant home for many years. He went to work immediately to build up the place, and in time developed it into a fine farm. He also acquired large tracts of land in South Dakota. Prior to the building of the railroad through Elgin in 1878, Mr. Bryant engaged in the general mercantile business as a member of the firm of Bryant Bros. & Johnson, and they built the first elevator in the village, marketing the grain with teams at Eyota. After the railroad was built, the elevator was placed on the siding, and is the one now owned by D. E. Earsley, who is doing a large business. Mr. Bryant had a successful business career, which however, was not without its drawbacks. In October, 1873, he had to the misfortune to be on a stock train which was wrecked on the North Western line near Chicago, owing to a broken rail. The cars went down a 15-foot embankment and Mr. Bryant sustained an injury to his spine which confined him to his bed for more than a year. In the cyclone of 1883 he sustained a loss of over five thousand dollars. Mr. Bryant survived these misfortunes, however, and lived to the age of nearly 83 years, passing away at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Frank Gillooly, on Friday, August 15, 1916. For a year or two previously he had been in poor health. He was an honored resident of this locality and a man who took a great interest in the progress of events. For a number of years he was president of the Old Settlers' Association of Elgin. He was also a charter member of Elgin Lodge, No. 115, A. F. & A. M., in which he retained his active interest. His faithful and loving wife, Mrs. Mary Colby (Bryant) whom he married August 1, 1861, had passed away some years previously, on March 9, 1907, at the age of nearly 65 years. She was born in East Orange, Vt., May 2, 1842, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jonathan Colby, and came to Minnesota in August, 1859. Before coming here she taught one term of school in Wisconsin, and afterward one term in Elgin. Her marriage to Mr. Bryant took place August 1, 1861, and they were the parents of three children: Nellie M., now Mrs. M. Frank Gillooly of Elgin; Charles L., deceased, married Ida McHugh of Viola, Minn, and left two children, Bernard, deceased, and Beulah, now the wife of George Pries of Viola, Minn.; and Lute E., of Clarkston, Wash., who married Mabel Richardson of Viola Township, Olmsted County, Minn. Mrs. Bryants' life was that of an earnest Christian woman, and as she lived, so she died, and it will be long e'er her memory will fade.
Bundy, Francis Foster (page 724), who owns and operates a good farm of 160 acres in section 5, Gillford Township, was born in Clearfield, Penn., September 1, 1863. His parents, William and Emelene (Hevener) Bundy, were farmers who came to Wabasha County in the spring of 1864, locating on the Russell farm in Mt. Pleasant Township. There Francis F. grew up and attended the common school. Later, his father owning a farm in Gillford Township, he was placed in charge and operated it, the only other son in the family, Wesley, having died in 1872. On October 5, 1888, Francis F. Bundy married Bertha Segar, daughter of George and Lucinda Segar of Mazeppa Township. She died in May, 1900, leaving two children: Lindsay F., born April 16, 1892, and Esther May, born October 15, 1898. Lindsay F. married Myrtle Horning of Mt. Pleasant Township and is now a farmer in Gillford Township. Esther May, who graduated from the normal course in the Lake City high school, has been a teacher for four years in the Wabasha County schools. On October 12, 1901, Francis F. Bundy married Lucy Whaley, who was born in Mazeppa Township, Wabasha County, February 5, 1879, daughter of Syrenus and Eliza (Soule) Whaley. Her parents dying when she was three years old, she was reared by Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin Boughton of Mazeppa Township. Of her parents' family of 13 children, nine are still living, six brothers and three sisters. To Francis F. and Lucy Bundy six children have been born: Marian F., September 5, 1902; Ruth Eva, November 15, 1903, June Emeline, September 9, 1906; William Benjamin, January 17, 1909; Florence Norine, October 3, 1915, and Beulah Belle, May 10, 1918. About the time of his second marriage Mr. Bundy bought and took possession of his present farm of 160 acres in section 5, Gillford Township, the land being all tillable. Here he is carrying on diversifed farming, keeping grade Holstein cattle (having 15 to 20 milch cows), and a herd of 40 to 50 grade hogs. He has made valuable improvements on his place by the erection of new buildings, which include a barn 38 by 66 by 16 feet; a granary 24 by 32 by 18 feet, two stories with an elevator; a poultry house and hog house. His farm lies ten miles southwest of Lake City, and in addition to his interests therein, Mr. Bundy is a stockholder in the Farmers' Co-operative Store at Red Wing, the Realty Company of Belle Chester, and the Oak Center Creamery. He is also a member of the local shipping association. Mr. Bundy is a skilled farmer and has natural ability as a mechanic. He has made good financial progress and he and his family are among the most respected residents of Gillford Township. For many years he has favored the cause of prohibition, and he is one of the two citizens of his township who voted the prohibition ticket in national elections.
Bundy, William M. (page 442), an early settler in Mt. Pleasant Township, was born in New York State in the second decade of the nineteenth century. He was married in Clearfield County, Pa., to Emeline Heabner, and with his family came west in 1864, to Wabasha County, Minn., locating on land in section 32, Mt. Pleasant Township. There were four children, all born in Pennsylvania, namely, Wesley, Savilla, Julia and Francis. During the Civil War period Mr. Bundy was drafted but sent a substitute. His land, when he first took it, was unbroken prairie, and his first dwelling, which he himself erected, a small board shack. He was poor, but had oxen, which were of great assistance to him in developing the farm. About 1896, owing to poor health, he retired and moved to Lake City, where he finally died at the age of 83 years, his wife dying at that of 74.(?) Their children were all given a common school education. Mr. Bundy was a successful man and a highly respected citizen, industrious and temperate. He and his wife were faithful members of the M. E. church at Lake City.
Buol, Peter (page 534), one of the leading representatives of the agricultural industry in Greenfield Township, was born June 3, 1858, in Switzerland, his parents being Christ and Katherine (Loitscher) Buol, natives of that country. Both father and mother are now deceased, the father dying in 1908 and the mother in 1877. They were members of the Reformed church. They had seven children: Peter, Bartley, John, Andrew, Barbara, Valentine and Dora. Andrew is now deceased. Bartley and John reside in California, Valentine in South Dakota, and Barbara and Dora are still in Switzerland. Peter Buol was educated in his native land and was there engaged in farm labor for a number of years. In 1880 he came to America, and to Minnesota, locating in the village of Wabasha, where he remained until 1882. For a year after that he worked in the pineries in the northern part of this state. Then, in 1883, he went to Pierre, S. D., where he remained ten years, being employed in a brickyard there for four years and farming the rest of the time. In 1893 Mr. Buol returned to Wabasha County, locating in the town of Greenfield, where he rented the Salzman farm of 185 acres, where he operated until 1898. He then bought 160 acres in section 16, Greenfield, on which farm he erected most of the buildings, besides doing general repairing. He there followed mixed farming and dairying, keeping Brown Swiss cattle, with a full-blooded sire at the head of his herd, and made good financial progress. In 1919 he sold that farm and bought one of 67 acres in section 15, Greenfield Township, where he is now engaged in truck farming and dairying, still keeping his Brown Swiss cattle. On his present place he has made valuable improvements, having built a modern 8-room brown stucco residence, a basement barn36 by 66 feet, with the James equipment, and several outbuildings. As a farmer Mr. Buol has been highly successful, and is reaping the reward of his industry and intelligent management. He has become a prominent citizen of his township, and also of Wabasha County, having rendered four years’ service as county commissioner, in addition to which he was for three years a member of the school board of District No. 30, Greenfield. He is fraternally affiliated with the Odd Fellows, Modern Woodmen of America, Equitable Fraternal Union, Red Men and Modern Samaritans, and religiously with the Reformed church. Thirty-six years ago Mr. Buol assumed the responsibilities of domestic life, being united in marriage, December 10, 1883, to Louisa Birckley, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Birckley. Her parents, born in Badan, Germany, came to America in 1856, locating first in St. Louis, Mo., where they remained for one year, after which, in 1857, they came to Wabasha County, Minn., and engaged in farming and stock raising in Greenfield Township. Mr. Birckley died, however, in 1859, and his widow subsequently married John Saltzman. By each husband she had three children, those of her first marriage being Sophia, Louisa and Bertha, and those of her second, Barbara, Mary and John, the last mentioned being now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Buol are the parents of seven children: Rosa K., born January 27, 1885; Louisa H., April 7, 1887; Christ P., August 15, 1889; John A., March 2, 1892; Lawrence P., November 23, 1894; Dorothy E., September 22, 1897; and Bartley B., July 8, 1900. Rosa K. is now Mrs. E. G. Ballard; the other children are residing on the home farm. Lawrence B. Buol was drafted for service in the late war, June 24, 1918, and became a member of Battery C, 331st Field Artillery. He sailed for France September 17, 1918, and was there six months, though without having an opportunity to get into action. On his return home he was discharged at Camp Dodge, Iowa, February 18, 1919.
Burchard, Rodman (page 314), one of the best known of the early settlers of Greenville, at one time a flourishing hamlet, but now only a memory, was born in Paris, Oneida County, New York, December 26, 1808. He there received such education as the neighborhood afforded and there grew to manhood. In 1845 he went to Wethersfield, Wyoming County, in the same state, and shortly afterward came westward to Michigan, where he planned to make his future home. But being stricken with the fever, and attributing his illness to the climate, he returned east, and took up his home at Gainesville, New York. There, December 23, 1847, he married Esther A. Davis. He still, however, had the pioneering spirit, and accordingly purchased a farm in a little developed portion of the state of Virginia. But already the Abolitionists were making themselves felt, and after all preparations were made to move his family to his new place, he decided that he did not care to share the troubles which he felt were in store for the slave States, so he disposed of his purchase, and turned his attention to the Middle West. Starting out with his family, he in due time reached the Mississippi and took a steamer up that river. At Wabasha he disembarked, loaded his goods on a team which he hired, and with his family started for the new village of Greenville, where former friends from the East had already settled. Upon his arrival there he formed a partnership with the Richards Brothers, and opened a general store in a log house, his family living on the upper floor, and accommodating such travelers as desired lodging and meals. Trade increased so rapidly that the firm was soon compelled to erect a larger building, and the Burchard family occupied all of the old store as a dwelling. There Mr. Burchard remained for many years, watching the decline of the village with sadness. His wife died June 10, 1866, and he moved his family to Plainview. Here, April 13, 1871, he married Margaret Crossen. Mr. Burchard died February 6, 1883. He was a man of good judgment, strong will, and great perseverance, a kindly neighbor, and a good husband and father. By his first wife, Esther, Mr. Burchard had one son and three daughters: Emily Adell, who married Elijah Roscoe Cornwell; Charlie Davis, now deceased, who married Selina A. McLaughlin, of Plainview; Florence Amanda, who married Alfred Darwin Perkins, of Windom, Minn.; and Mattie Ann, deceased, who was the wife of William McKinney. By his second wife, Margaret, he had one child, Fay R. Both mother and son are now deceased.
Burkhardt, Alfred G. (page 255), truck farmer and produce dealer, of Plainview, of which place he has been a resident for 24 years, was born in Pepin Township, this county, December 1, 1869, son of Rudolph and Barbara (Turvina) Burkhardt. He acquired his education in the public schools of Reed's Landing and Wabasha, and was subsequently associated with his father in the manufacture of brick and lime, also farming, at Wabasha until 1896, when he came to Plainview. Here he and his father established a brickyard and began the manufacture of brick. He also manufactured lime, having their kiln in the Township of Plainview, and did quite an extensive business, of which, in 1904, Alfred G. became the sole owner and manager. He continued in the business until 1910, and most of the later brick houses and business blocks were constructed of brick from his yard. He then engaged in the truck farming business, which he still follows, and in connection with it, for the past five years, he has also bought and sold produce. For a number of years he was interested with his brothers in the home estate at Wabasha, but has sold his interest in it to the other heirs. Mr. Burkhardt is a member of the Masonic order, the Yeomen, and the Odd Fellows, being a trustee of the last mentioned order. He is a progressive citizen, interested in the general welfare of the community, and conducts a flourishing business. He was married November 22, 1898, to Anna Petit, and has three children: Alfred A., now a student at Hamline University; Frances and Elizabeth.
Burkhardt, Henry (page 384), who passed away but a few years ago, was a notable pioneer of Wabasha County, for many years engaged in an important industry, for several years a state senator, and at various times an efficient servant of the people in local office. He was born in Switzerland, May 23, 1836, and came to the United States in 1854, at the age of 18 years, locating at Marine, Madison County, Illinois. There he married Elizabeth Burgher, who was, like himself, a native of Switzerland. Mr. Burkhardt's residence at Marine covered a period of about five years, during which he was engaged in farming, brickmaking, and also in the operation of a butcher shop. It is probable that none of these operations proved very profitable at that place, as in 1859 Mr. Burkhardt came with his family to Wabasha, Minnesota. Here he engaged in the meat business, for which he found a good opening, as he supplied boats plying on the Mississippi river, and also the logging companies operating on Beef Slough. In 1861 he changed the base of his operations by removing to Read's Landing, where he continued in the meat business, also buying and shipping livestock. A powerfully built man, he often shouldered a 200-pound barrel of pork and carried it from his shop to the river bank for boats. There he also held the office of chief of police, a job that was no sinecure, as many rough characters from the logging camps and elsewhere visitied the Landing, after being paid off, and as whiskey was both cheap and abundant, fights and disturbances were not infrequent. Mr. Burkhardt was a good man for the position, though strong and muscular, he was even tempered and not excitable, or inclined to "lose his head." Subsequently he returned to Wabasha, where he continued in the meat business, which he followed successfully until his death on January 30, 1915, when in his seventy-ninth year. In the accumulation of wealth, however, he was handicapped by an over-generous dispostion, as he lost considerable money by signing notes for friends. He was a widely known and highly esteemed citizen, of the type naturally looked to for public service. He was county commissioner from 1877 to 1881, and in the fall of the latter year was elected sheriff of Wabasha County, in which office he served with credit for five years. He was then elected to the state senate, serving therein from 1887 to 1895. While in the senate he introduced a bill providing for the manufacture of binding twine in the state prison at Stillwater, and the installation of machinery for the same, this bill being passed through his efforts, April 19, 1889. In politics Mr. Burkhardt was a Republican. He was faithful to every trust reposed in him, and with his passing away Wabasha County lost one of its old time citizens whose record forms an honorable page in its history. His wife died at Wabasha in August, 1905. They had come to this country with their respective parents on the same sailing vessel, and at the same time, landing together after a seven weeks' voyage, and after their marriage at Marine, Illinois, had lived in happy wedlock for half a century until separated by death. They were the parents of ten children, Rudolph, Henry, Emil, Otto, Fanny, Anna, Bertha, Henry, Paul and Edwin. Rudolph, born December 27, 1855, is now a resident of Crookston, Minn., where he holds the office of deputy sheriff. Henry, Emil and Paul are deceased. Otto is now a prominent citizen of Wabasha. Fanny, born March 4, 1866, is the wife of Charles Collier, of Alberta, Canada. Anna, born March 24, 1868, is the wife of John McDonald, of Read's Landing, Minn. Bertha, born April 5, 1870, is the wife of Joseph Koehlmel, of Wabasha. Henry, born June 12, 1872, is a resident of Nashua, Montana. Edwin, born February 13, 1878, resides with his brother Otto in Wabasha. Henry Burkhardt, the father, was a charter member of Wapahassa Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and of the Royal Arch Chapter, No. 14, at Wabasha; also of the Odd Fellows lodge here. He and his family were members of the Swiss Lutheran church of Wabasha, to which the surviving members of the family here resident belong.
Burkhardt, Otto (page 383), proprietor of a well equipped moving-picture theatre in Wabasha city, known as the Princess, where he owns valuable real estate, is a man who has achieved prosperity through his own energy, talent, and business ablilty. He was born at Read's Landing, this county, March 28, 1864, son of Henry and Elizabeth (Burgher) Burkhardt, his parents having settled in the county five years previous to his birth. He acquired a common school education, and when old enough became associated in the meat business with his father, of which for some years he was the manager, up to 1898. From 1881 to 1886 he also served as deputy sheriff, under his father, who was then sheriff. In March, 1898, Mr. Burkhardt moved to Crookston, Minn., where he entered into the meat business. He also became proprietor of the "Cleveland Hotel" there, which he conducted on a profitable basis for 16 years, having from 75 to 80 steady boarders, and also leasing a number of outside rooms to accommodate his overflow guests. He owned a fine residence opposite his hotel, as well as the building in which he carried on his market. At the same time he was actively interested in the musical life of the city, organizing the Crookston Brass Band, a fine organization, in which he played trombone or baritone, as the occasion required, and his connection with the band lasted for three years. Through these various fields of activity he became well known and one of the prominent and respected citizens of Crookston. But finally he determined to return to Wabasha County, which he did in July, 1913, selling his Crookston interests. Buying the Charles Read property in West Wabasha, formerly Reads, he was there engaged in market gardening until 1919. He also purchased two adjoining business blocks on Pembroke street, Wabasha, in one of which he started his sons, Irvin and Harry, in business, and in the other building, in 1914, he opened a moving-picture house, which has since operated, and which is supplied with a fine orchestra from members of his own family. To this enterprise he now gives his chief attention and is conducting a prosperous business. He belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in which he rose to the office of grand master, and also to the camp of Good Samaritans in Wabasha. For two years formerly he was trustee of the village of Read's Landing. In politics he is a Republican. Mr. Otto Burkhardt married Sophia, daughter of Jacob and Mary Burkhardt, of Read's Landing, and he and his wife have been the parents of six children, of whom three are now deceased. The record in brief is as follows: Irvin, born September 27, 1885, now engaged in business in Wabasha; Charles, born July 20, 1887, deceased; Harry, born February 28, 1889, in business in Wabasha; Cornelia, born December 1, 1891, deceased; Glendora, born July 26, 1894, died at Crookston, Minn.; Elizabeth, born April 7, 1896, who is residing with her parents. Mr. Burkhardt and his family are members of the Swiss Lutheran church.
Burkhardt, Rudolph (page 255), a very early settler in Wabasha County, who was for a number of years engaged in agriculture, and later in manufacturing industries, was born in Switzerland, was a babe when he came to America with his parents. After reaching maturity he was married in Wabasha to Barbara Turvina, like himself a native of Switzerland, who had come to this country at the age of 16 years. In early days Mr. Burkhardt was engaged in the butcher's business at Reed's Landing. He also purchased land and engaged in farming. Later he became interested in the manufacture of brick and lime, and this industry he followed in Wabasha and Plainview until 1904, when he retired. His death took place in August, 1917. For a year and nine months he had been a widower, his good wife having passed away in November, 1915. In the Civil War period Mr. Burkhardt showed his American spirit by joining Company G, First Minnesota Heavy Artillery, and in civil affairs he was equally patriotic and useful, becoming a very influential citizen among the early settlers. Both he and his wife were highly esteemed. They had in all a family of 13 children, of whom seven are now living, namely: Alfred G., now engaged in the produce business in Plainview; Anna, wife of Charles Jacobs, of West Albany Township; Rudolph, who is living on the old home farm in Pepin Township; Sophia, wife of Thomas Gilford, of Wabasha; Mary, residing on the farm; Lillie, now Mrs. Rocks, a widow; and Walter, who is on the farm.
Burnham, George Henry (page 299), a worthy pioneer, was born at Derry, Rockingham County, N. H., May 20, 1837, son of George and Eliza Ann McNiel Burnham, the father being of English descent and the mother of Scotch-Irish blood. He was seventh in direct descent from Den John Burnham, the founder of the family in this country who came from Norwich, Norfolk County, England, early in 1835 and settled at Ipswich, Mass.; and fifth in direct descent from Major John Burnham, one of the original members of the Society of the Cincinnati, who served from the Battle of Bunker Hill until the surrender of Cornwallis at Yorktown, as an officer in the Revolutionary War. The subject of this sketch received a good education in his native village, having the advantages of a course at the Barre Academy. In 1857 he came to Wabasha County, following his brothers, John W. and William, who had come the year before. He secured a preemption of 160 acres in Highland Township, but two years later returned to the East with his brother William. A short time afterward, however, he again came to Minnesota, and took a claim on section 17, Highland, where he erected a cabin, and underwent all the rigorous experiences of pioneer life. To this cabin, in 1863, he brought a bride. A few years later they moved to section 33, a mile west of their former home, and on this he spent the remainder of his life. From a wild tract of land with primitive buildings, he developed it into a fertile, profitable estate, well cultivated and well equipped, and beautified with a substantial set of farm buildings. After a long and useful life, Mr. Burnham died May 13, 1911, and his death was sincerely mourned. Of hardy lineage, Mr. Burnham was a man endowed with marked strength and ability. He was gifted by nature with a bright and vigorous intellect. His attainments surpassed those of many who possessed the advantages of long and intense training in the institutions of higher learning. This was due to his wide reading and keen observation, his readiness to seize opportunities for improvement, and his natural turn of mind, which was accurate, discriminating and logical. He always sought after those things which were of real value and worth-while. His judgment of right was almost instinctive, and he strove to instill into the minds of his children the highest principles of truth, honesty, and uprightness which he himself possessed to a high degree. But not only was he devoted to his family and home, for his interests and sympathy extended to the whole community, and especially to those in need. He never refused an appeal for help, even when the rendering of succor meant a sacrifice of his own comfort and ease. His fine reserved nature led him from the seeking of prominence, and his life was consequently somewhat secluded. His desire was not so much for outward seeming as it was for sincerity and truth, and he was a man in the fullest meaning of the word. The world is better that such as he has lived. Mr. Burnham was married March 3, 1863, to Mary E. Gaylord, born at Ganesville, N. Y., daughter of Elijah and Huldah (Alvord) Gaylord. This union was blessed with ten children: George M., Frank A. and Fred G. (twins), Dottie, William H., Mary E., Margaret L., John S., Charles A., and Elsie I. George M. was born August 17, 1864, married Carrie B. Hurd January 6, 1892, and lives in Rochester, Minn. Frank A. married Clara Hunis October 5, 1907, and lives in Chelan, Wash. Dottie was born March 12, 1870, and died August 19, 1870. William H. was born July 19, 1871, was married October 5, 1909, to Bessie Zeisinger, and died June 27, 1918. Mary E. was born July 4, 1874, was married October 15, 1907, to Edward B. Skinner, and lives in Sioux Falls, S. D. Margaret L. was born April 4, 1876, and was married June 23, 1897, to J. Henry Eggers, of Plainview (Everett B. Eggers, June 26, 1904). John S. was born November 25, 1878, was married March 10, 1906, to Clara Knode, and lives at Pendleton, Oregon. Charles A. Burnham was born November 1, 1880, at Plainview, Minn. Elsie I. was born December 8, 1882, and is now general secretary of the Y.W.C.A. at Rochester.
Burnham, Capt. John W. (page 298), one of the most eminent of the men who have made Greenwood Prairie their home was born in Derry, New Hampshire, Nov. 19, 1829, son of George and Eliza Ann (McNiel) Burnham. He came to Minnesota Territory in April, 1856, with his brother, William, and engaged in farming, taking up a quarter section in section 3, Plainview Township, by buying a settler's rights for $200.00. In October of that year he was elected justice of the peace, and as such married the first couple, held the first court, and approved the first postmaster's bond on Greenwood Prairie. For a short time he was engaged in the mercantile business at Greenville, the first town laid out on Greenwood Prairie, and now only a memory of the past. In those days there was considerable doubt as to the rights of settlers on the Half Breed Tract, so-called, which embraced the greater part of Wabasha County. But in time, by the payment of $4.50 an acre, Mr. Burnham managed to secure the title to 80 acres of land which he had improved. In 1862 he secured 160 acres more by preemption, paying the preemption fee with a soldier's land warrant, which he purchased for $90.00. In 1858 he was elected to the legislature but the session to which he was elected did not convene, and in 1859 he was reelected, serving two years. During his term in the legislature he had the honor of introducing a school land law, which was the means of bringing millions of dollars into the school fund of the state. Under this law, in 1861, Mr. Burnham, with I. C. Seeley of Mazeppa, and Lawrence Tracey, of West Albany, were appointed a board of appraisers of the school land in this county. In August, 1862, he enlisted in Co. C. 10th Minn. Vol. Inf. as a private. When the regiment was organized he was appointed a sergeant. The company was mounted, and served on the Minnesota frontier until February, 1863, when they went into winter quarters at Le Sueur. From May until October, 1863, he was with General Henry Sibley's expedition in the Dakotas, marching thirteen hundred miles, fighting four pitched battles in addition to skirmishes, and suffering much from hunger, thirst and fatigue. Subsequently the regiment was sent south, and for a while did duty in guarding the military prison there. In May, 1864, the regiment was sent to Kentucky, and thence to Tennessee and Mississippi. While absent on a sick leave he was commissioned second lieutenant August 18, 1865, and assigned to the 125th U. S. Colored Infantry, being promoted to first lieutenant, December 26, 1865. Soon after this, on January, 1866, he was married to Ada J. Lawrence, daughter of Benjamin and Jerusha Lawrence. At the close of the war his regiment was ordered to Fort Union, N. M., which was reached by taking a steamboat to Leavenworth, Kansas, and marching overland from there to their destination. From Fort Union, Companies H. and G. marched 500 miles more to Fort Bliss, Texas, a total distance of 1, 200 miles in 100 days. There they remained a year, guarding the frontier against the Indians and half breed Mexicans. While there, Lieutenant Burnham was detailed as member of a court martial at Albuquerque. The trip lasted three days and three nights of steady riding by stage. The trial lasted over two months, thirteen officers being tried on various charges. In the fall of 1866 his company marched to Ellsworth, Kansas, the nearest railroad station, and went from there by rail to Jefferson Barracks, Mo., where he was mustered out, October 31, 1867, after a service of five years and eighty days. Captain Burnham then returned to Plainview, where he still owned land, purchased more,and settled in Highland Township, where he again engaged in farming. In 1877 he sold his farm in Highland Township, and moved to Plainview Village, where he lived until October 1878. He then moved to Wheatland, Cass County, in Dakota Territory, and filed on two claims. In 1887, again in 1889, he was elected to the territorial legislature, North Dakota becoming a state during his last term. In 1897, after the death of his wife, Ada, he returned to Plainview, where in 1900 he married Lydia (Bly) Reed, of Ripon, Wis., daughter of George and Caroline M. Bly, and widow of Hiram B. Reed. They resided in Plainview until 1911, when they went to Fargo, N. D., and took up their residence with Captain Burnham's daughter, Mrs. Joseph Matters, at whose home he died January 5, 1912. Captain Burnham was a member of the Society of the Cincinnati and of the Minnesota Commandery of the Loyal Legion. He was for many years a member of the Congregational church. He was a distinguished lawmaker of two states, a true builder of the Northwest, a man of distinguished attainments and powerful influence. In private life he was a devoted husband, a kind father, and respected by all who knew him. By his first wife, Mrs. Ada J. Burnham, he had four children: Lizzie, wife of Joseph Matters, of Fargo, N. D.; Benjamin L., of Wheatland, N. D.; Ida M., wife of William Hunter, of Moscow, Ida; and Ella J., of Moscow, Ida.
Burnham, William (page 299), was born at Derry, New Hampshire, March 31, 1832, son of George and Eliza Ann (McNiel) Burnham. In 1856 he came to Minnesota with his brother, John W., and took up a quarter section of land in section 33, Highland, bordering Plainview Township. Later, when his brother, George H., followed and had bought the homestead adjoining, the two brothers carried on the work together. With his brother, William, he spent the greater part of his life until his death, February 21, 1911. At that time the newspapers said of him: "As an early settler he was always interested in the people and events of the vicinity. He was possessed of a remarkable memory and never fortot any person or incident that touched his life. He had a high sense of honor and moral right, and those who knew him will alwasy remember him as a good and upright man. The keynote of his life is well summed up in the words of his favorite hymn:
"Change and chance are busy ever,
Man decays and ages move,
But his mercy waneth never;
God is mercy, God is love."
Burnham, William Henry (page 297), in former years an agriculturist, and later for several years until his death one of the prominent figures in the business world of Plainview having connection with farm enterprises, was born July 19, 1871, in Highland Township, this county, son of George H. and Mary E. (Gaylord) Burnham. He acquired his education in the Plainview schools, including the high school, and for three years subsequently was a teacher of the county. He then became his father's assistant on the home farm in Highland, and was thus occupied until October 5, 1909, when he bought a farm of 160 acres adjoining the home place, and began an independent career as agriculturist. While it lasted he greatly improved the place, but after some years his health began to fail, and accordingly in April,1916, he rented the farm to a tenant and moved to Plainview, residing on High street. In the spring of that year he was elected manager of the Plainview Shipping Association, while at the same time he was president of the Plainview Co-operative Creamery Association, having been elected to that office in 1912; and in the spring of 1918 he was elected its manager and secretary. The latter position he held but a short time when death called him. The heart weakness with which he was afflicted became gradually worse, and on June 27, 1918, he passed away, leaving behind him the memory of a true Christian gentleman, honest in all his dealings, patient under affliction, helpful to others, and faithful to every duty as husband, father, man and citizen. A local journal truly said of him: "Of a supremely conservative, modest and sincere nature, he was not a professor, but rather a liver of the highest and truest in life. Those who knew him best realized his deeply religious thoughts and beliefs, and knew that he always received the blessings which came into his life with a prayer of gratitude to the Giver of all good gifts, and that he never undertook the tasks of his daily business life without a prayer for guidance in the right." For several years he had served as clerk of his school district. He was a Master Mason, and while his funeral serviced were conducted at the home by the Rev. H. J. Hill, of the Church of Christ, the impressive burial service of the Masonic order was read at the grave, and he was laid to rest with its last solemn rites. Mr. Burnham was an ardent lover of nature, and when a robust young man, whether at work or play, liked to be out in the open air, the beauty of the fields, with their varied flowers, and the song of the birds, striking sympathetic chords in his breast. As a boy he had ambitions looking toward a higher education, but his parents needed his assistance, and at the call of duty he relinquished them, and made the best of such opportunities as he had. His talents were not wasted, and doubtless to him the Master has already said, "Well done, good and faithful servant." Mr. Burnham was married October 5, 1909, to Mrs. Bessie Zeisinger, who was born at Durand, Wis., April 7, 1876, daughter of John and Mary (Austin) Wilkinson. She was educated in the schools of Durand and after graduating from the high school, entered the Northern Illinois Normal School, where she took a musical course, both vocal and piano, being graduated in the class of 1895. She also took a course in public school music at Detroit, Mich., but abandoned this line of effort in favor of private teaching, which she has followed continuously, and did so even during her residence on the farm, having a large class in town. She is now confining her labors to piano instruction, and has a class of thirty pupils. In May, 1919, Mrs. Burnham sold her farm and in the fall of the same year purchased her present home on the corner of High street. One child was born of her marriage with Mr. Burnham, namely, Mary Elizabeth, on March 3, 1912. By her first husband she has another daughter, Rachel, who resides with her. For a number of years Mrs. Burnham has been organist in the Church of Christ, and is now holding that position, as well as that of choir leader. Aside from her musical ability, she is a lady of general culture, and a favorite in social circles.
Busse, Jr., Fred (page 703), engaged in agriculture in Mazeppa Township, was born in Olmsted County, Minnesota, April 1, 1880, son of Fred and Johanna (Heimke) Busse. The father came to the United States from Germany in 1872, after service in the Franco-German war, and after a year's residence in Wisconsin, settled in Olmsted County, Minnesota, whence he came with his family to Mazeppa Township, Wabasha County, in 1880. Since then he has been one of the township's most prominent farmers. Fred Busse, Jr., was a babe when he was brought by to his parents to this township. His education was acquired in the district school, and he subsequently worked for his father until 1904. He then began farming for himself, buying 20 acres in section 19, Mazeppa Township, and on his land erected a set of buildings. He later bought 15 acres more, thus bringing his farm up to an area of 35 acres, on which he is raising pure-bred Duroc-Jersey hogs, high grade Durham cattle, full-blood Rose Comb and Brown Leghorn chickens, and Bourbon Red Turkeys. Mr. Busse is also manager of the Mazeppa Live Stock Shipping Association, to which position he was elected in 1917, and is also secretary of the Mazeppa Creamery. For the last 14 years he has held the office of town clerk, and for 16 years has been a member of the school board of District No. 76. He is fraternally affiliated with the Masonic Order. On August 22, 1905, Mr. Busse was united in marriage with Edna Mack, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Dan Mack of Mazeppa, where Mrs. Mack now resides, the husband and father being deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Mack were the parents of three children, Fred, Edna and Lottie. To Mr. and Mrs. Busse five children have been born: Leona J., October 25, 1906; Ruth H., July 6, 1908; Manley M., April 8, 1911; Freda E., September 18, 1912, and Lottie L., January 30, 1915.
Busse, Sr., Fred (page 698), a well known farmer and respected citizen of Mazeppa Township, was born in Posen, Germany, March 11, 1846. He was educated in his native land and, like all German youths, was obliged to serve in the army, in which he spent three and a half years, including service in the Franco-German war of 1870-71. In the following year, 1872, he emigrated to the United States and for one year was a resident of Wisconsin. In 1873 he settled in Olmsted County, Minn., where he spent 7 years, coming to Mazeppa Township, Wabasha County, in 1880. Here he bought a farm of 175 acres in sections 17, 20 and 29, and has since made many valuable improvements on it. Besides clearing most of the land, he has erected fences, and a fine set of buildings, and has set out trees and a good orchard. He is engaged in general farming and is raising Shorthorn and full-blooded Swiss cattle, besides other good stock, and has taken rank among the prosperous farmers of his township, which he served two years as supervisor. He has also been a member of the school board of his district for 20 years. For 35 years he has been appraiser for the Rochester Fire Insurance Company. Mr. Busse has turned over the active management of his farm to his son, Leon, who operates it on shares. On June 8, 1879, Mr. Busse was united in marriage with Johanna Heimke, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Carl Heimke. Her parents, formerly residents of Wisconsin, are both now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Busse are the parents of three children: Fred, Jr., born April 1, 1880, who is a farmer in Mazeppa township; Ella, born October 9, 1881, who is now Mrs. John Larson and resides at Colorado Springs, Colo., and Leonhart, better known as "Leon," born March 16, 1883. "Leon" Busse was married June 10, 1913 to Ida Freise, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Gottfried Freise, prominent farmers of Goodhue County. To Mr. and Mrs. Leon Busse have been born four children: Lenora F., July 8, 1914; Hubert L., November 26, 1915; Norman F., April 10, 1917; and Erma M., October 14, 1919.
Butts, James J. (page 359), one of the pioneers of Plainview Township, who left a fine record as a farmer and public spirited citizen, being, among other things a benefactor of the Village of Plainview, was born in Brookfield, Ohio, July 28, 1828, son of Jonathan and Eleanor (Brannon) Butts. He was educated in the district schools of his native town, and remained in that locality until the winter of 1856-57, when he came to Wabasha County, Minn., as a pioneers, taking a claim now known as the Feigert farm in section 6, Plainview Township. It contained 160 acres and he proved it up in 1860. On it he erected a house, barn and outbuildings and started to develop a farm, whith the help of oxen. To obtain his first team of oxen he traded his gold watch, together iwth $40 in cash, as he had not enough money to pay for them. Industrious and persevering, he made good progress and watched every opportunity to better his condition. After awhile he sold the 160 acres which he had proved up and bought the Hugh Wiley farm of the same area. Later he also purchased 320 acres in section 18 and 19, Plainview Township, making a total of 480 acres of which he found himself the owner. A part of his property included the site of the present Plainview cemeteries, and this he finally sold. Later he sold the rest of his property except 52 acres in the village of Plainview, which he deeded to his grandson, Robert J. Smith. Mr. Butts was a highly enterprising and successful man, and his success was well merited, for he worked not alone for himself but for others. He was ever ready to take part in charitable work, to help his neighbors, and to comfort and aid the sick. He planted the large tree that now stands in front of the parsonage of the Christian church in Plainview Village, and deeded to the village the land on which the high school stands, with the stipulation that it should be used only as the site for a school. In addition to the tree above mentioned, he also planted many others in and around the village, which have since grown to be fine large shade trees, useful and ornamental. He was physically strong and active, and on one January day, between sunrise and sunset he cut nine and a quarter cords of wood, a feat rarely, if ever, equaled. Universally respected and esteemed, he lived the life of an exemplary man and citizen, and his death on May 15, 1916, was an event deplored by the entire community. Mr. Butts was married in 1852 to Dorcas A. Aldeman, and they were the parents of two children: Lucy B., born March 28, 1853, who is the wife of Myron Smith, of Huron, S. D.; and Addie L., born March 24, 1863, who is the wife of John Doherty of the same place. Mr. Butts' religious affiliations were with the Christian church of Plainview. He belonged to the Odd Fellows' lodge in Plainview, of which he was a charter member. His wife Dorcas Butts was a woman of rare business ability and of many womanly virtues, a good wife and neighbor, and a great helpmeet to her husband and family. She died in 1910 and her death was mourned by her large circle of friends.